All Percona Server Reviews

1-25 of 25 Reviews

Sort by

Reviews are by default sorted by Recommended to software buyers, driven by our proprietary algorithm reflecting the depth and quality of the review, recency of experience, and other factors. As a neutral reviews platform, the star rating of the review is not considered in the "Recommended" ranking, and there is currently no voting mechanism that would allow site visitors to influence the ranking.
User Profile

Douglas

Verified reviewer

Marketing and Advertising, 201-500 employees

Used daily for more than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra
This review was submitted organically. No incentive was offered

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

5

Reviewed October 2020

High Performance and Availability with Percona Server for MySQL

Percona Server for MySQL is being used across our whole organization. We are running 50+ primary instances in our data center with DR replica's running on compute instances inside GCP in 2 different regions. Percona Server for MySQL solves our need for well-tested and stable MySQL instances with Percona doing additional testing to the upstream releases which gives that added level of stability that we need for the massive volumes of processing as well as the required performance in sharded instances.

PROS

Performance Stability Additional Variables for in-depth monitoring Easy migration path to Percona XtraDB Cluster Community Support Return on Investment: Percona Server for MySQL is open source with no hidden licensing costs which gives us huge savings on the high number of instances that are required on premise and in the cloud.

CONS

No option for a distributed database yet in order to scale writes, but Percona Server for MySQL has exceptional performance when using sharding.

Reason for choosing Percona Server

Percona Server for MySQL remains fully compatible with the upstream release and therefore there is no vendor lock-in when migrating to Percona Server for MySQL. You are able to replicate into and out of Percona Server for MySQL from the upstream releases. We have many clusters that sometimes requires a different solution and being able to easily integrate with Percona Server for MySQL is key.

Reasons for switching to Percona Server

Performance and stability sets Percona Server for MySQL apart from the rest. Percona embraces the upstream version and contributes towards the upstream version making MySQL stronger on two fronts and thus having a much larger community. Many quality contributions have been made by Percona into the base code. Percona provides great tools to support Percona Server for MySQL and this makes the monitoring and management easier.

Francisco Miguel

Health, Wellness and Fitness, 10,000+ employees

Used daily for more than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra
This review was submitted organically. No incentive was offered

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

5

Reviewed October 2020

Free MySQL Enterprise

MySQL is a great product but when you use it in professionally you notice that some enterprise features are missing from the community version. Percona Server for MySQL includes all the enterprise features you could need by free, while being the same MySQL version you can find with the original vendor. This is a huge advantage, a true 100% drop-in replacement that has enterprise grade capabilities for no cost. If you are not using it, you should! Opinions expressed here are my own and not the opinions of my employer.

PROS

Percona Server for MySQL includes enterprise grade features like: - Encryption - Audit - Data Masking - AD/LDAP authentication - Physical backups

CONS

New version take some time to come out, so you will always be one version behind Oracle. Not the best thing if you need to comply with security patches. For this you would need to complete this with Percona Support services, where they can help you with critical security backports if needed.

Reason for choosing Percona Server

Best relation between features, compatibility and cost.

Reasons for switching to Percona Server

MariaDB is not a drop-in replacement for Oracle MySQL. It's getting more and more different with each version. While this could be a good thing, it's not if what you want is just MySQL.

Anonymous

201-500 employees

Review Source: Capterra
This review was submitted organically. No incentive was offered

OVERALL RATING:

4

EASE OF USE

4

VALUE FOR MONEY

3

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

4

FUNCTIONALITY

5

Reviewed October 2020

Percona Server for MySQL can beat old SQL servers.

PROS

MYSQL server acts as root of the organization and it should be best comprising of various features like scalability, deployement, logging and compatibilty. Percona product provides all these factors in best form so that MYSQL server delivers extremely high-performance and reliability to more of the enterprises that drive businesses online. Personal experience, i have heard alot about percona server from my colleagues too and its worth trying because of its awesome features.

CONS

In my opinion pricing can be the issue in percona server as it sounds lil bit expensive for me and will be getting charged if server is in use or not.

Thomas

Information Technology and Services, 11-50 employees

Used daily for less than 12 months

Review Source: Capterra
This review was submitted organically. No incentive was offered

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

FUNCTIONALITY

5

Reviewed November 2020

A great alternative to stock Oracle MySQL

We're using it at our test and production servers, after migrating from MariaDB. Overall, it has been a very positive experience! :)

PROS

Seamless installation in relation to Oracle MySQL, good performance, better metrics when using it together with Percona Monitoring Tools.

CONS

Release versions tend to be slightly lower than the Oracle ones. But that is expected, since Percona needs to patch and test it before releasing. So, not a big issue.

Reason for choosing Percona Server

Better integration with Percona Management and Monitoring Tool

Reasons for switching to Percona Server

MariaDB would deliver less performance compared to standard MySQL (for our specific needs). We had the choice to go back to Oracle MySQL, but then we started using Percona Management and Monitoring Tool, which seems to interact better with Percona MySQL Server. After testing the technology and approving it, we decided to switch.

User Profile

Anshika

Verified reviewer

Computer Hardware, 51-200 employees

Used daily for less than 12 months

Review Source: Capterra
This review was submitted organically. No incentive was offered

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

5

Reviewed February 2022

Review for Percona Server

Very Satisfying product

PROS

It is very easy to use and fully compatible. It enhances the performances and most important is its in the field of open source. There is no hidden cost of licensing. It gives us huge amount of savings on numerous perfoperformances.

CONS

In somewhat what i donot like is pricing I think its might be little bit expensive.

Reason for choosing Percona Server

It has good monitoring tool and management of percona server is good.

Reasons for switching to Percona Server

With every changing of version its features too changes thats confusing.

hussain

Information Technology and Services, 10,000+ employees

Used daily for more than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra
This review was submitted organically. No incentive was offered

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

5

Reviewed October 2020

Percona is a great drop in replacement for MYSQL

I have been using percona software since past 7 years. Have deployed it in production setups and it works great. I have also used percona tools for monitoring . Percona xtrabackup and Percona xtradb cluster. They all work great. Its a good replacement for MySQL and offers enterprise level features.

PROS

Its faster, easier to deploy, opensource. Percona offers several tools to diagnose MySQL issues.

CONS

replication could be better like mongodb replicaset .

Reasons for switching to Percona Server

Good support and xtradb cluster works great for master master setup

Udbhav

Information Technology and Services, 501-1,000 employees

Used daily for less than 12 months

Review Source: Capterra
This review was submitted organically. No incentive was offered

OVERALL RATING:

4

EASE OF USE

4

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

4

FUNCTIONALITY

3

Reviewed October 2020

Integration with MySQL

It was great so far, while using for office purpose

PROS

I have used this software from a couple of months and to me it is quite easy to handle as compared to the other variants that are available in the market.

CONS

The thing I like about the least is the marketing strategy around the third world countries

Reasons for switching to Percona Server

It's looks quite impressive and I guess we shouldn't stick to one tool

User Profile

Medline

Verified reviewer

Information Technology and Services, 11-50 employees

Used less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

5

Reviewed May 2020

Percona Server scalibility is excellent for larger databases

Overall, I think Percona server is one of the best open-source server for MySQL!

PROS

There are many things that I love about the Percona server. It provides additional counters and diagnostics to assess performance and also has a massive amount of scalability for clients with larger databases.

CONS

After using this server on and off for several clients I have not run into any issues thus far.

Reason for choosing Percona Server

I chose Percona Server because it has additional tools besides the database engine such as the XtraDB Cluster that makes everything work more efficiently.

Vendor Response

Thank you very much for your feedback.

Replied May 2020

User Profile

Harjit

Verified reviewer

Computer Software, 201-500 employees

Used daily for more than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra
This review was submitted organically. No incentive was offered

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

5

Reviewed October 2020

Great MySQL database server from Percona

Percona provide great software. I woulld highly recommend them. Obviously look at what your needs are and check that you get all the functionality you require.

PROS

Very easy to install and and use. Well documented. Easy to upgrade. Enterprise standard. Paid support available if needed.

CONS

WIthout paid support you have to google any issues so takes a bit longer to resolve.

User Profile

Musa

Verified reviewer

Used daily for less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra
This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

4

VALUE FOR MONEY

4

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

4

FUNCTIONALITY

5

Reviewed July 2018

Looking for a clustering solution and first found percona Xtradb cluster and feel in love.

It simplified database administration for my organization and helped us scale our applications to handle spikes in traffic.

PROS

I like the fact that it was way easier than I thought to setup and migrate our databases over. Also, with automated backups and reports, I get a bird's eye view of our whole database infrastructure with respect to health, performance and resources.

CONS

There were many components to choose from depending on what your needs are and that can daunting to a first time username.

Igor

Information Technology and Services, 2-10 employees

Used daily for more than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra
This review was submitted organically. No incentive was offered

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

FUNCTIONALITY

5

Reviewed October 2020

Igor's review of Percona Server for MySQL

Very satisfied with using Percona Server for MYSQL and the features it allows as community version.

PROS

The best about using Percona Server is that you get enterprise features in community version software. Many MySQL enterprise features like audit plugin, some global variables are free in Percona server. Even many improvements in things like flushing, compression, extended slow query logging exists.

CONS

The software might have option to include monitoring agent that will be native in installing and configuring with PMM. A matter of enable_monitoring() function on the mysql engine instead of having to setup separate agents and users.

Reason for choosing Percona Server

It's drop in replacement for MySQL Oracle

Reasons for switching to Percona Server

More enterprise like features that come for free

Craig

Photography, 2-10 employees

Used daily for more than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

3

FUNCTIONALITY

5

Reviewed June 2020

Superb Product -

Definitely a huge speed improvement query and content delivery. To date no database corruptions on multiple websites served.

PROS

Speed improvements Reliability Low maintenance

CONS

Outdated documentation on website, such as "how to", sometimes quite old and sometimes longer relevant to current versions. Configurations on new versions tricky and becoming more complicated, especially for the "weekend warrior admin". Occasional server restarts with memory "leaks" but honestly these are likely not the server but poorly coded client side connections and calls (and/or hacking attempts on webserver)

Reason for choosing Percona Server

Based on reviews and experiences of other users, independent of Percona

Reasons for switching to Percona Server

Speed and better resource management

Piotr

Information Technology and Services, 2-10 employees

Used daily for more than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra
This review was submitted organically. No incentive was offered

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

4

FUNCTIONALITY

5

Reviewed October 2020

Good MySql alternative

PROS

Compatibility with vanilla MySql including software drivers and SDKs

CONS

None so far. Overall the product is rock solid

Sergio

Online Media, 51-200 employees

Used daily for more than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra
This review was submitted organically. No incentive was offered

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

5

FUNCTIONALITY

4

Reviewed October 2020

A terrific MySQL server implementation

Really good experience and as I already said, when you have the option is really easy to go with percona.

PROS

If you can choose which MySQL version you will use it's easy to go with Percona: Lot of really time-saving options for the admin and really good changes / patches incorporated on top of the std-issue MySQL.

CONS

Not so easy to install depending on which distribution you are using.

Maximiliano

Education Management, 501-1,000 employees

Used daily for more than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra
This review was submitted organically. No incentive was offered

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

5

Reviewed October 2020

Percona for high performance databases

PROS

This software allows you to generate high-performance applications in an accessible and productive way, thanks to its ease of use and scalability ensured with integration with kubernetes

CONS

Lack of horizontal scalability and workbench bugs.

Reason for choosing Percona Server

Performance and scalability

Cihan

Information Technology and Services, 11-50 employees

Used daily for less than 6 months

Review Source: Capterra
This review was submitted organically. No incentive was offered

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

5

Reviewed June 2021

Better than MySQL

I choose Percona server because I trust Percona's developers and their community. If you have any questions, community is ready to help. And you will get more customized MySQL at hand. Stongly recommended.

PROS

Percona has its own development team on MySQL, Percona Server is more flexible, secure and have very usefull community than MySQL.

CONS

Differences between MySQL and Percona Server might be defined more clearly to choose it. It has additional softwares that you might want to use, it might bundle with it.

Miklos

1 employee

Used daily for more than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

5

Reviewed December 2016

Percona Server makes my life as a DBA way easier

All the tweaks and performance improvements that come with Percona Server help my daily life as a DBA a lot. Percona Server offer data about important - but otherwise hidden - MySQL metrics (on a more granular scale).

PROS

- expose a lot of useful metrics to monitor - performance and stability improvements

Simon

Retail, 51-200 employees

Used daily for more than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

4

FUNCTIONALITY

4

Reviewed July 2020

Best in class

PROS

Ease of integration and improvement on features

CONS

More comprehensive documentation would be good, especially around usage and tweaking

Jishnu

Construction, 51-200 employees

Used daily for less than 6 months

Review Source: Capterra
This review was submitted organically. No incentive was offered

OVERALL RATING:

4

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

3

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

4

FUNCTIONALITY