Review Highlights

Overall Rating

4.63

Ratings Breakdown

Secondary Ratings

Ease-of-use

4.5

Customer Support

4

Value for money

4.5

Functionality

4.5


Pros and Cons

  • icon"What I liked most about this product was the ease of use with the little bit of information that was provided with it."
  • icon"The fact of having this kind of DBMS available on OpenSource is very good for organizations that needs to save some money in IT platform."
  • icon"It's flexibility and ability to handle different data types. Being able to handle JSON data in a RDBMS is powerful and priceless."
  • icon"It is a web App and lags a lot. I face problems in multitasking in version 4 that is not the case with version 3."
  • icon"Sometimes the connection to the database drops (internal server error 500), and it is necessary to connect again. When the query has many records, the data return is slow."
  • icon"Lot of features are missing from it as compared to the other products in the market."

Have you used PostgreSQL and would like to share your experience with others?

Write a review

All PostgreSQL Reviews

1-25 of 357 Reviews

Sort by

Reviews are by default sorted by Recommended to software buyers, driven by our proprietary algorithm reflecting the depth and quality of the review, recency of experience, and other factors. As a neutral reviews platform, the star rating of the review is not considered in the "Recommended" ranking, and there is currently no voting mechanism that would allow site visitors to influence the ranking.
User Profile

Janne

Verified reviewer

Company size: 10,000+ employees

Industry: Telecommunications

Time used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra

This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

EASE OF USE

4

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

3

FUNCTIONALITY

5

June 2021

One of the best overall databases in the market

For overall backend database purposes I would currently not choose anything other than PostgreSQL. Widely known, easy to hire talent for, secure and reliable.

Pros

PostgreSQL is well supported by backend frameworks like Django. Getting into the command line of PostgreSQL database isn't necessary that often, but when a must, it works very robustly.

Cons

Not suitable for some data types as well as some of the competition, like time series data, that is becoming more and more important via IoT use cases.

Reasons for choosing PostgreSQL

Best direct support from backend frameworks such as Django.

Reasons for switching to PostgreSQL

Generational leap in web development, a new product was launched.

Anonymous

Company size: 201-500 employees

Time used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra

This review was submitted organically. No incentive was offered

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

FUNCTIONALITY

5

June 2022

Best open-source RDBMS out there

Overall, we have a very productive experience with PostgreSQL. Whenever we need a backend database for any of the apps we deploy, we use PostgreSQL. It never fails us.

Pros

I like how easy it is to set up and deploy a PostgreSQL database. It has a rich ecosystem of tools and a great open-source community behind it.

Cons

I don't have anything I dislike about PostgreSQL.

Reasons for choosing PostgreSQL

Out of many open-source tools we deploy, PostgreSQL is the most widely supported DB backend among others. So we decided to use PostgreSQL whenever applicable.

Reasons for switching to PostgreSQL

For some tools we deployed, we naturally needed to scale up and handle more complex workloads. So we changed our backend database.

Albernes

Verified reviewer

Time used: Less than 12 months

Review Source: Capterra

This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

EASE OF USE

4

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

1

FUNCTIONALITY

3

March 2018

easy to use and understand

It can operate on platform specifications, including Linux, Windows, Unix. Large storage capacity Good scalability since it is able to adjust to the number of CPU and the amount of available memory optimally, supporting a greater number of simultaneous requests to the database correctly. It supports the types of data, clauses, functions and commands of standard type SQL92 / SQL99 and extended own of PostgreSQL ..

Pros

its graphic environment and considerable savings in operating costs: PostgreSQL has been designed to have a maintenance and adjustment lower than the products of commercial suppliers, while retaining all the characteristics, stability and performance. Stability and reliability: There have been no drops in the database

Cons

That Compared to MySQL is slower in insertions and updates, since it has intersection headers that do not have MySQL Support online: There are official forums, but there is no mandatory help It consumes more resources than MySQL .

Anonymous

Company size: 501-1,000 employees

Time used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra

This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

4

FUNCTIONALITY

4

July 2022

Java developer on PostgreSQL. A look back after several years.

I have been using PostgreSQL for 6 years in most of the applications I write. It is my default choice for a relational database.

Pros

PostgreSQL is a database that every programmer is familiar with. I value its versatility and universality. It's easy to implement it production-wise with not much scale.

Cons

Great for simple applications, when it comes to scaling/replication problems begin.

Reasons for choosing PostgreSQL

PostgreSQL was easier to learn for most team members.

Reasons for switching to PostgreSQL

I changed jobs and the new job used PostgreSQL.

Osman

Company size: 1,001-5,000 employees

Industry: Computer Software

Time used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra

This review was submitted organically. No incentive was offered

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

1

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

1

FUNCTIONALITY

5

July 2022

Postgresql_02-07-2022

Pros

Postgresql is the best database system to store data.

Cons

The most usaged features is an extensions. I think that this features should include to standard postgresql distribution.

Reasons for choosing PostgreSQL

It is very famous and it has great and large community.

Reasons for switching to PostgreSQL

Postgres is fast and great if you design your application correctly.

Vin

Company size: 2-10 employees

Industry: Information Technology and Services

Time used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra

This review was submitted organically. No incentive was offered

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

FUNCTIONALITY

5

April 2022

Fully tried and tested.

Really well supported by the open source community.

Pros

Easy to setup development wise (Postgres.app), Very well supported by primsa DB. (orm client).

Cons

Cloud pricing tend to be more expensive vs mysql option.

Reasons for choosing PostgreSQL

Ease of scaling the system, we can easily without too much cost overhead spin up read replicas to increase performance to our clients.

User Profile

Fernando

Verified reviewer

Company size: 11-50 employees

Industry: Computer Software

Time used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra

This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

4

FUNCTIONALITY

5

April 2022

Powerful database

We use PostgreSQL as database tool for all our healthcare software products

Pros

PostgreSQL is eaiser to maintenance and to install than other RDBMS like ORACLE. PostgreSQL is open source so is cheaper than other RDBMS. It takes less learrning time than other RDBMS

Cons

We do not have any cons about PostgreSQL

Reasons for switching to PostgreSQL

PostgreSQL is more simple and cheaper than ORACLE

User Profile

Jonathan Alexander

Verified reviewer

Company size: 1,001-5,000 employees

Industry: Hospital & Health Care

Time used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra

This review was submitted organically. No incentive was offered

EASE OF USE

4

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

4

FUNCTIONALITY

5

May 2022

A robust database engine for your web projects and platforms

I have used this database to carry out web projects in the health sector and it has been of great help to manage processes and data in a very efficient way and with the best performance that I have seen.

Pros

What I like most about this database engine is its security, scalability and high performance for the development of platforms and web applications, easy to maintain and manage

Cons

That I did not like the product, its difficult or complex syntax, sometimes the very tedious query error

Reasons for switching to PostgreSQL

Because of the security, the performance and how efficient this database engine can be for more complex projects that require a higher level of transaction and data handling.

Anonymous

Company size: 2-10 employees

Time used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra

This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

EASE OF USE

4

VALUE FOR MONEY

4

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

3

FUNCTIONALITY

5

October 2020

Powerful database

Excellent database engine with a lof of features and great overall performance. It has a very huge community so you could get help very easily. I'd recommend to use it.

Pros

Highly recommended. It's the most powerful database engine I ever worked with. It has a lot of features that I used and worked very well: postgis for spatial searches, full-text search, partitions, etc.

Cons

At some point, we start having problems with very slow queries, and after some debugging we discover postgres decided to use the wrong index to perform the query plan. Probably because of bad stats but from time to time the problem happens again.

Reasons for switching to PostgreSQL

We used to work with PHP and mysql, so when starting developing in ruby on rails, we prefered to use postgres because we considered it powerful than mysql.

User Profile

Juanito

Verified reviewer

Company size: 11-50 employees

Industry: Computer Software

Time used: Less than 12 months

Review Source: Capterra

This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

3

FUNCTIONALITY

5

July 2021

Un gran rendimiento para proyectos robustos

Pros

Me encanta que es una de las mejores base de datos relacional del mercado, usamos PostgreSQL para nuestros proyectos de desarrollo web, ofrece estabilidad y escalabilidad.

Cons

Un poco confusa la instalación, tuve algunos percances en su despliegue, pero fue más por mi desconocimiento.

Reasons for choosing PostgreSQL

Su mejor rendimiento en proyectos que demandan estabilidad y escalabilidad.

Reasons for switching to PostgreSQL

Ofrece mejor soporte para proyectos más robustos.

Sanchit

Company size: 10,000+ employees

Industry: Computer Software

Time used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra

This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

4

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

5

October 2019

One of the best to manage DB connections

Pros

We have been using this software for a couple of years after we faced a lot of issues and freezes in MySQL. This is comparatively much much more smooth and handles multiple DB connections and inter-switching with no lags or hangs.

Cons

We were more accustomed to the MySQL interface so found a few minor UX improvements that can be done here but overall it's still good.

Reasons for switching to PostgreSQL

MYSQL use to hang up a lot on our MacBooks all the time. It was quite frustrating while resolving production issues when time was of the essence.

Anonymous

Company size: 11-50 employees

Time used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra

This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

FUNCTIONALITY

5

December 2019

Nothing but praise for *the* SQL DBMS

We are running tens of Postgres databases and we have no reason to switch.

Pros

It's been reliable beyond all expectations. Put your data in Postgres, you know you'll find them when you need them.

Cons

VACUUMs are a big performance penalty, and the default auto-vacuum settings aren't always optimal for all use cases.

Reasons for choosing PostgreSQL

It's more performant, stable and has more features.

KARTHEKEAN

Company size: 5,001-10,000 employees

Industry: Information Technology and Services

Time used: Less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra

This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

4

FUNCTIONALITY

5

June 2021

Perfect open source relational DB

Overall experience with PostgreSQL is great and it had very little learning curve in moving away from other proprietary DBs.

Pros

This is perfect replacement for any proprietary relational data bases as it provides most of the features from traditional relational DBs. It helps us in data storage and retrieval with good level of flexibility and performance.

Cons

Not much as this is used as free or opensource alternative the performance matches very closely to it's paid competitors. Adding in more GUI support tools could be helpful.

Reasons for switching to PostgreSQL

PostgreSQL provides very comparable or sometimes better performance compared to other alternatives which cost more.

User Profile

Nairoby

Verified reviewer

Time used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra

This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

2

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

3

FUNCTIONALITY

4

July 2018

It's free!

In my very particular opinion I feel comfortable working with Postgres for more than 10 years, it is reliable and safe, the best thing is that it is free, which allows you to save on licenses, it is ideal for any type of development. I totally recommend it

Pros

- Free code database manager, which is not used for licensing. - Easy to install and configure in any operating system. - Ideal for relational databases. - It has a large community in which you can share doubts. - It is stable and reliable, scalable and secure with the correct user management. - Can work with small and large databases. - Handles the SQL language. - Being free software, it is compatible with several graphic tools that help administration and database design. I particularly recommend working with PgAdmin in its latest version for postgres 9.6.6 onwards. - Easily works as a cluster, can be configured as active-passive or active-active which improves performance - It allows to perform maintenance, recovery of databases. - I have tested the installation and use in Windows 7 operating system and Debian version 6 to 8 and works without problems. - Likewise I have worked in postgres since its version 8.1 to 9.6.6 and a positive change has been noticed and performance improvements, but I insist on the point at which the databases should be fine designed.

Cons

- Many people declare it as slow in insertions and updates compared to others Managers, however, that will depend on how well designed the database is. - For some, not having support online or with an official help center can be a big disadvantage. - It is advisable to have command knowledge to work on consoles and terminals to perform a good configuration

Anonymous

Company size: 1 employee

Time used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra

This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

EASE OF USE

3

FUNCTIONALITY

5

September 2021

Solid database, but not user (or even admin) friendly

Pros

It's a solid database tested over the years by half of the world. Whatever features you need it has it.

Cons

You'll often need to Google for the exact command you need to run, the docs are very dry and the syntax is unconventional. You'll suffer greatly trying to write code to access the database. If you want to upgrade, scale, or do anything significant with a large production database you're probably best off hiring a specialized consultant - it's risky and not easy.

Goran

Company size: 11-50 employees

Industry: Information Technology and Services

Time used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra

This review was submitted organically. No incentive was offered

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

FUNCTIONALITY

4

September 2022

Best open source database for enterprises

We use PostgreSQL as RDMS for our custom made solution for customers\projects without dedicated enterprise RDMS.

Pros

It supports advanced database features like partiotions, scalability, optimized concurrency management, security. It is offered under MIT-style license.

Cons

It is difficult to troubleshoot PostgreSQL. Not as widely used as My SQL for example, not as active community

Reasons for choosing PostgreSQL

PostgreSQL is more advanced and offers more

Reasons for switching to PostgreSQL

PostgreSQL is more advanced and offers more

Ashish

Time used: Less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra

This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

EASE OF USE