User Reviews Overview

Feature Ratings

Ease-of-use

4.5 / 5

Value for Money

4.5 / 5

Customer Support

4.0 / 5

Functionality

4.5 / 5

Ratings Breakdown

5 stars

(176)

176

4 stars

(86)

86

3 stars

(6)

6

2 stars

(1)

1

1 stars

(0)

0

  • Pros

  • "I like it is very easy to install and very light weight"

  • "Has a great performance and have extensions like postgis that are great"

  • "Excellent and reliable database, it can work with small dB really easy also with bug data Great experience using it my since the first time"

  • Cons

  • "For implementing it with other software, it takes some time to go through the steps to get it up and running. There is a lot of documentation on the web, so it is not too much of an issue."

  • "PostgreSQL has some difficult administration tools, and while it's worth learning, the commands are somewhat obscure."

  • "Again since the software has so much to offer it can be sometime hard to learn all the features.Other than that there is no cons as such"

Browse PostgreSQL Reviews

Filter by:

Sort by:
 

Showing -49 - 0 of 269 results

March 2020

Tigran from Information Technology and Services

Verified Reviewer

Company Size: 11-50 employees

Industry: Information Technology and Services

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

5.0

March 2020

PSQL databse.

Overall this is good software to use when you in a large applications.

Pros

This is one of the best database software I’ve used. It has a lot of features/functions that are usable for Big projects. One of them I've use is the PSQL vector search that is not widely used but very important feature that built in PSQL, beside that it has a tons of usable functions to do operations inside database and then get the result for example timezone adjusting, manipulation with data, string function and etc.

Cons

Trully telling there should be few cons in this software. I've used this for over 4 years sometimes find to difficult to configure it it linux environments compared with mysql.

June 2020

Adolfo from Ministry of Health, Gouverment of El Salvador

Verified Reviewer

Company Size: 10,000+ employees

Industry: Government Administration

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

4.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

3.0

Functionality

5.0

June 2020

Very complete and stable database

I have very good experience installing and configuring databases with PostgreSQL. Once installed and configured it is very stable, almost without errors and one can rest assured that the data is fine

Pros

It is very complete for any type of project or application. It is stable, easy to use and can handle a lot of structured data. It is free software and is very well documented It is very popular and has a very varied community around the project

Cons

Its installation and configuration can be a bit complex at first. Being free they are not obliged to provide support Requires specific tuning for each possible scenario

Reasons for Choosing PostgreSQL

For its flexibility for all types of projects, its price, and its stability.

October 2020

Anonymous

Verified Reviewer

Company Size: 2-10 employees

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

4.0

Value for money

4.0

Customer support

3.0

Functionality

5.0

October 2020

Powerful database

Excellent database engine with a lof of features and great overall performance. It has a very huge community so you could get help very easily. I'd recommend to use it.

Pros

Highly recommended. It's the most powerful database engine I ever worked with. It has a lot of features that I used and worked very well: postgis for spatial searches, full-text search, partitions, etc.

Cons

At some point, we start having problems with very slow queries, and after some debugging we discover postgres decided to use the wrong index to perform the query plan. Probably because of bad stats but from time to time the problem happens again.

March 2018

Albernes from MppTT

Verified Reviewer

Time Used: Less than 12 months

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

4.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

1.0

Functionality

3.0

March 2018

easy to use and understand

It can operate on platform specifications, including Linux, Windows, Unix. Large storage capacity Good scalability since it is able to adjust to the number of CPU and the amount of available memory optimally, supporting a greater number of simultaneous requests to the database correctly. It supports the types of data, clauses, functions and commands of standard type SQL92 / SQL99 and extended own of PostgreSQL ..

Pros

its graphic environment and considerable savings in operating costs: PostgreSQL has been designed to have a maintenance and adjustment lower than the products of commercial suppliers, while retaining all the characteristics, stability and performance. Stability and reliability: There have been no drops in the database

Cons

That Compared to MySQL is slower in insertions and updates, since it has intersection headers that do not have MySQL Support online: There are official forums, but there is no mandatory help It consumes more resources than MySQL .

October 2020

Mark from MedSurvey (formerly Ricca Group)

Verified Reviewer

Company Size: 11-50 employees

Industry: Market Research

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

5.0

October 2020

Solid database that won't break the bank and won't let you down

We have never lost data, never paid too much and never looked back. PostgreSQL is at the hear of our organization and our trust has paid off in the long run. Running it on top of a managed stack such as AWS RDS is they way to go as this is the hardest part of using PostgreSQL and you don't want to waste time re-learning what has already been learned. It's worth the cost to use these services in the long run. Rapid prototyping can be done locally and is free so your price to start is always zero!

Pros

PostgreSQL is and always has been one of the most feature rich and solid databases available. Its price / performance / feature set is simply unmatched in the industry today.

Cons

There is a lot of old information on the internet that is no longer relevant to current versions and you must sift through this in some cases to find the modern and elegant solutions. It was touted as "slow" compared to MySQL in the early 2000's and much of that information is wrong due to lack of user experience with the product or no longer the case today.

Reasons for Choosing PostgreSQL

Stability and price

May 2020

Anonymous

Verified Reviewer

Company Size: 201-500 employees

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

4.0

Value for money

4.0

Customer support

3.0

Functionality

4.0

May 2020

The right database for 95% of use cases

Postgres is there for you whenever you need to store and retrieve simple tabular data. Whether that's your app user's name, email, and settings, or the projects and project content that they've created. As long as you're not dealing with over 10k transactions per second, it's cheap to use and extremely easy to set up. Oh, and it's also not great but just okay for advanced searching such as full-text search.

Pros

- Postgres is just soooo reliable, it's hard to corrupt or lose data unless you go in and manually edit or delete the data. - Battle-tested ACID transactions to make sure you only update the data when it makes sense to have saved me so much time. - The SQL interface is easy to use once you've mastered SQL (which it isn't; it's the simplest of all the languages I've learned). - Newer versions even has support for advanced use cases such as arrays and JSON objects. - The best thing is that 90% of the backend software developers know Postgres (or MySQL which is pretty dang similar) so help is never too far away!

Cons

The only real reason to not use Postgres is that it is pretty hard to scale. If your software requires over 10k transactions per second, you're gonna have to put in some serious work make Postgres scale. This is where Postgres becomes a pain to optimize. Postgres provides poor support for identifying the queries that are running really slowly. e.g. you have to install a buggy plugin and then query a funky poorly documented table. Trying to do master-slave replication is also quite difficult as you often run into consistency issues and will have to modify app logic. In these cases, it's better to go with NoSQL obviously.

Reasons for Choosing PostgreSQL

I picked Postgres over MySQL is not as battle tested and was behind Postgres in terms of JSON object support. I picked Postgres over MongoDB because it's easier to set up, didn't have anyone else on the team that knew how to use it (whereas all 5 of my teammates have Postgres experience), and because Postgres can handle our traffic currently.

April 2020

Moris from Corte Suprema de Justicia

Verified Reviewer

Company Size: 5,001-10,000 employees

Industry: Government Administration

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

5.0

April 2020

PostgreSQL - Robustes y Seguridad en Bases de Datos

La fasilidad de hacer BKs configurar Jobs, analizar querys y definir data tables, triggres, referencias, entre otros hace del uso y experiencia de utilizar y administrar PostgreSQL muy satisfactoria.

Pros

PostgreSQL ofrece un potente motor de bases de datos que brinda una robustes para la administración de BD ademas de una devirsificación de herramientas para trabajar con los Data Tables, triggers, punteros, etc, el análisis de querys permite al administrador porder determinar los aspectos donde deben mejorarse los querys.

Cons

Las opciones de configuración y personalización que nos ofrece PostgreSQL si bien son muchas, hay algunas de mayor importancia y hay que configurarlas o setearlas hasta finalizado el proceso de instalación, siendo que podria incluirse en este proceso para que no se invierta tiempo en hacer estas personalizaciones o configuraciones minimas.

Reasons for Choosing PostgreSQL

Mayor relación Calidad - Precio, soporte por la comunidad internacional, robustes y seguridad

April 2020

Abdelhakim from Faculté des Sciences et Techniques Settat

Verified Reviewer

Company Size: 2-10 employees

Industry: Education Management

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

4.0

Functionality

5.0

April 2020

The best user tailored db experience.

I use PostgreSQL with almost every endeavor nowadays. Both at work and with personal projects, it is very robust when used in my research field which is optimization and operations research, but also flexible enough to help me quickly deploy web apps.

Pros

PostgreSQL is by far the most user friendly and most advanced database system out of the top 5 popular choices. It's inherently relational making it easily compatible with ORMs, has many smaller quirks like jsonb storage, the WITH keyword, and a vast amount of data types. It's also one of the most dynamic DBMS as it releases major changes more than once a year, with an ecosystem that consistently adapts to these versions.

Cons

Extensions in pgsql could use a bit of streamlining (extensions like pg_cron or similar), which was a bit complicated to do in with CI. Another concern would be some stability issues with the latest pgAdmin database interface, but in all fairness that isn't directly an issue with pgsql.

February 2020

Danilo from VAGAS.com

Verified Reviewer

Company Size: 51-200 employees

Industry: Internet

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Functionality

5.0

February 2020

Best database ever!

Best database management system: plenty of plugins (data visualization, backup, performance, etc), easily expandable, incredibly powerful configuration options.

Pros

PostgreSQL is the most flexible database management system out there. It has a lot of plugins (data visualization, backup, performance, etc), which make it very expandable too, incredibly powerful configuration options, etc. It has almost any type of column that your system will ever need.

Cons

I really don't found any PostgreSQL problem until now, so I would recommend that you use it without any fear.

Reasons for Choosing PostgreSQL

Price and flexibility, besides the experience working with it.

September 2020

Anil from Cast Software India PVT LTD

Company Size: 201-500 employees

Industry: Information Technology and Services

Time Used: Less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

4.0

Value for money

4.0

Customer support

4.0

Functionality

4.0

September 2020

Best open source SQL

We use PostgreSQL for our project to store data, It really helps our work to go smooth.

Pros

PostgreSQL is fast and secure, easy to execute SQL, and handles a very large set of data. PostgreSQL is easy to set up and its support in another operating system

Cons

consume lot of memory for a large set of data, and bit slow for very large set of data, except that everything is fine.

July 2018

Nairoby from CANTV

Verified Reviewer

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Value for money

2.0

Customer support

3.0

Functionality

4.0

July 2018

It's free!

In my very particular opinion I feel comfortable working with Postgres for more than 10 years, it is reliable and safe, the best thing is that it is free, which allows you to save on licenses, it is ideal for any type of development. I totally recommend it

Pros

- Free code database manager, which is not used for licensing. - Easy to install and configure in any operating system. - Ideal for relational databases. - It has a large community in which you can share doubts. - It is stable and reliable, scalable and secure with the correct user management. - Can work with small and large databases. - Handles the SQL language. - Being free software, it is compatible with several graphic tools that help administration and database design. I particularly recommend working with PgAdmin in its latest version for postgres 9.6.6 onwards. - Easily works as a cluster, can be configured as active-passive or active-active which improves performance - It allows to perform maintenance, recovery of databases. - I have tested the installation and use in Windows 7 operating system and Debian version 6 to 8 and works without problems. - Likewise I have worked in postgres since its version 8.1 to 9.6.6 and a positive change has been noticed and performance improvements, but I insist on the point at which the databases should be fine designed.

Cons

- Many people declare it as slow in insertions and updates compared to others Managers, however, that will depend on how well designed the database is. - For some, not having support online or with an official help center can be a big disadvantage. - It is advisable to have command knowledge to work on consoles and terminals to perform a good configuration

July 2018

Aníbal from Banco Bicentenario, Banco Universal C.A.

Verified Reviewer

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

3.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

3.0

Functionality

5.0

July 2018

PostgreSQL is powerful and robust, it fits perfectly in large projects

With PostgreSQL I have been able to perform my work satisfactorily on multiple occasions, my bosses and I are happy with the results we have obtained, saving hardware investment costs because we have focused on the database, I hope to have future benefits to the use it in projects for own clients.

Pros

I really like PostgreSQL I have used it several times for large projects in my previous works and in the current one it is used as a database for the web page of the institution, the power of PL / pgSQL is excellent, it allows me to program commercial layers in the database without any problem this improves the response times of the final applications and allows investments in hardware in the database servers instead of in the application, the management of schemes is perfect. It is important to mention that it is free software that implies having a large database without licensing costs. A feature of PostgreSQL is the multiversion concurrency control that allows transactions consistent with time, which provides great performance advantages. PgAdmin is a graphical tool with which I can manage different databases easily and intuitively, execute SQL statements, as well as create backup copies or perform maintenance tasks. Another thing that I like about PostgreSQL is that it is available for many platforms, it is possible to install it from the repositories of the Linux version that I use. It should be noted that the PostgreSQL user community is one of the most active in the market

Cons

There are some things that I do not like about PostgreSQL, permissions allowance per user can be annoying, I have had to work many times on this and it is difficult, it is also relatively slow when I insert and update small databases. The official support does not have telephone or online support, although there are official forums available where users can express their doubts to which other users of the community respond. The syntax of some of your commands or statements may not be intuitive if you do not have a medium level of knowledge in the SQL language. I have had problems migrating from a PostgreSQL version to a higher one. Compatibility is sometimes relative.

September 2018

Maryury from Banco Bicentenario, Banco Universal C.A.

Verified Reviewer

Company Size: 10,000+ employees

Industry: Banking

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

3.0

Value for money

4.0

Customer support

4.0

Functionality

4.0

September 2018

Database Manager PostgreSQL

In my experience using the software I really liked that it allows adding custom functions developed using different programming languages. The integrity of the data and the referential integrity of the foreign key are maintained. It has allowed me, in an easy and secure way, the asynchronous replication of the databases for an alternative center in case of disasters. I did not like it is that when I have any doubt about an error presented in the system where the database is working, I can not clarify it because there is no specific place to which, because and com solve the error.

Pros

PostgreSQL allows to control high concurrency, offering security by domain definitions, who can access the database server, the backup copies of the database can be made completely or only a table, according to the request, restorations and tasks maintenance, in addition to replicate in case of disasters. It also allows to activate triggers to execute in tables or views in special cases or eventualities. It has a friendly graphical interface for the administrator, through which they can be done from the creation of the database, to execute query querys and updates of the data, if necessary, you can have details with the status tool of the server referring to the queries that are executed in the DB (if there are locks, duration, etc.). It allows the development of robust and efficient Databases

Cons

There is no online or telephone support. Only official forums are available where users expose their doubts that other users of the community respond to, ademas it consumes many resources

September 2019

Diego from Lacuna Solutions

Verified Reviewer

Company Size: 2-10 employees

Industry: Market Research

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

4.0

Value for money

5.0

Functionality

5.0

September 2019

The database everyone should be using

PostgreSQL is an incredibly powerful piece of software that should be the RDBMS in every software project instead of less powerful but more famous alternatives. Personally it will be my choice for every future project.

Pros

PostgreSQL is so powerful, complete and stable. This should come with no surprise given the long history behind it. At the same time it's incredibly modern and supports new paradigms (like NoSQL, JSON data types) and it's also very simple to familiarize with.

Cons

It's unbelievable how PostgreSQL is not as well-known as one of his competitors (MySQL) notwithstanding the fact that is so much more powerful.

January 2020

Anonymous

Verified Reviewer

Company Size: 10,000+ employees

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

4.0

Functionality

4.0

January 2020

PostgreSQL is the best open source database

I used another database for a large Brazilian bank. It was not a free database. The migration was excellent.

Pros

PostgreSQL has several advantages. It is lightweight and reliable. Search filters are very easy to understand. People who know the basics of the SQL language can do several queries, since PostgreSQL assembles selects. I can change it within the table itself, so I don't need to do the update command. On top of that, it's free and open source!

Cons

Sometimes the connection to the database drops (internal server error 500), and it is necessary to connect again. When the query has many records, the data return is slow. They are the only negative points of this tool.

November 2018

Khelvyn from Compañia Anónima Nacional Teléfonos de Venezuela (CANTV)

Verified Reviewer

Company Size: 10,000+ employees

Industry: Telecommunications

Time Used: Less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

4.0

Functionality

5.0

November 2018

One of the best database managers for the world.

From my point of view postgreSQL I consider it one of the most powerful database managers, since I use it daily, from my role as a database administrator, as well as a web developer, since it allows to manage environments put into production easily, with an acceptable and intuitive configuration.

Pros

1164/5000 -Easy installation and configuration in other environments. - Pgadmin management interface of the databases, very intuitive and complete with the necessary to a few clicks, I recommend keeping the graphical tool for the stability it offers. -It has a connection balancer, known as pgpool that allows to manage the cluster structure well. -Principles of replication between active-active or active-passive servers Variety of console-level command options for restore or backup tasks and maintenance tasks -principal manager for developers for the scalability and stability it offers. -Management of free access, which allows the use of it without any problem, without any cost -Ideal manager for the management of relational databases -Allows the management of different versions on the same server with multiple database intentions with different listening ports.

Cons

- Poor documentation - Functional technicians commonly report a slowness at the BD level, but that depends on how the DB is structured and especially if good database practices are applied

December 2019

Arik from Highnet Systems

Company Size: 2-10 employees

Industry: Computer Software

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

4.0

Functionality

5.0

December 2019

PostgreSQL as application database

We use PostgreSQL as our system database for the software we develop, we find it reliable, robust and with great performance, we use both PHP and C++ to access the dataabse.

Pros

PostgreSQL is a full featured SQL server solution. it is free and open-source, PostgreSQL can be installed on many different platform like Linux, Windows, macOS and other. being open-source if has lots of contribute tools from the open-source community providing wide range solutions, PostgreSQL is also available in the cloud from all the major providers.

Cons

Management is less comfortable and some settings needs to be done in PostgreSQL configuration files, also database schema management tool is not so comfortable, but you can use 3rd party tools for that also

Reasons for Choosing PostgreSQL

Being free and open-source give us better control over platform selection, it also allow us to give our customers solution at lower costs, as the customer looks at the overall cost of the solution and the need to buy database server license cause the solution to cost much more. scaling is also simpler from license perspective.

January 2018

Ashish from Metacube Software Pvt Ltd

Time Used: Less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

4.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

4.0

Functionality

4.0

January 2018

Open source object-relational database management system for Web Developers

Pros

PostgreSQL or simply Postgres implements the SQL and advanced SQL standard very well. It can handle workloads ranging from small web applications to large data warehousing with many parallel users. Postgres provides a easy to use tool called pgAdmin to interact with and manipulate database. It provides support for complex data types like (multi-dimensional) Array, Json, user-defined types. PostgreSQL provides higher number of connections at cheap price. It support all types of indexing for faster retrieval of data. In my company we replaced our database server from MySQL to PostgreSQL because of PostgreSQL higher db connections connections in cheaper price as compared to MYSQL. It is also available free of cost till 10,000 rows on Heroku.

Cons

PostgreSQL query syntax for some complex queries like array, json, string functions and case operator are bit complicated to write . Installation and configuration of PostgreSQL is not as easy as MySQL. Documentation is not as good as compared to MySQL and it is bit harder to search for help regarding some complex queries and database functions on google. Replication is not yet as well implemented as in MySQL.

October 2019

Sanchit from Visa

Company Size: 10,000+ employees

Industry: Computer Software

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Value for money

4.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

5.0

October 2019

One of the best to manage DB connections

Pros

We have been using this software for a couple of years after we faced a lot of issues and freezes in MySQL. This is comparatively much much more smooth and handles multiple DB connections and inter-switching with no lags or hangs.

Cons

We were more accustomed to the MySQL interface so found a few minor UX improvements that can be done here but overall it's still good.

August 2019

Wechuli from Andela

Verified Reviewer

Company Size: 1,001-5,000 employees

Industry: Computer Software

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Customer support

3.0

Functionality

5.0

August 2019

Best Database System Ever !

Postgres provides everything I need in a Relational Database System, I have been using it for a while and I swear by it.

Pros

- Completely and absolutely free - Open-source, so you can look at the code - Every feature you might want in a database is there - Convenient PostgreSQL admin for the management of DB servers

Cons

- Making replication across several distributed regions can be quite challenging if you haven't done it before.

March 2020

Paul from Carecode

Company Size: 2-10 employees

Industry: Computer Software

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Value for money

5.0

Functionality

5.0

March 2020

The best database offering available

Excellent. The documentation is complete and well-written.

Pros

PostgreSQL is standards compliant, performant, high-quality, easy to use, well documented, innovative and feature-complete.

Cons

Replication still has a way to go compared to some competing offerings, but additional software can be used to fill in the missing features.

Reasons for Choosing PostgreSQL

firebird seems to be very slowly developed these days

July 2019

Petr from ATS Praha

Verified Reviewer

Company Size: 11-50 employees

Industry: Computer Software

Time Used: Less than 12 months

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

3.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

4.0

Functionality

4.0

July 2019

Object-relational open source database

We use PostgreSQL mainly for heavy load projects because to high write performance due to its MVCC approach, it largely eliminates the need for locking, and that the database effectively meets ACID principles.

Pros

Supports functions where the results are suitable for use as with tables. We can define own aggregate and window functions on that. Includes built-in support for B + tree, hash, GiST, GiN and custom index types. Support access using a system known as Multi-Version Concurrency Control (MVCC). Native support for many data types including XML support for Xpath queries or UUID. User defined objects, posibility to create new types of almost all objects in the database.

Cons

Possible worse performance in read operation.

December 2019

Anonymous

Verified Reviewer

Company Size: 11-50 employees

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Value for money

5.0

Functionality

5.0

December 2019

Nothing but praise for *the* SQL DBMS

We are running tens of Postgres databases and we have no reason to switch.

Pros

It's been reliable beyond all expectations. Put your data in Postgres, you know you'll find them when you need them.

Cons

VACUUMs are a big performance penalty, and the default auto-vacuum settings aren't always optimal for all use cases.

Reasons for Choosing PostgreSQL

It's more performant, stable and has more features.

October 2019

Aekansh from Goomo

Company Size: 201-500 employees

Industry: Computer Software

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Functionality

5.0

October 2019

Great SQL db

Pros

Free and open source database Ease of scaling the database Easy to work with date, time and timezone jsonb type is really great so we don't need to use non relational database like mongodb fast queries

Cons

I have yet not found a great admin tool for postgres. pgadmin is ok but It is not as good as phpmyadmin or others.

September 2020

Sanskriti from F1soft International Private Limited

Verified Reviewer

Company Size: 201-500 employees

Industry: Information Technology and Services

Time Used: Less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

4.0

Functionality

5.0

September 2020

Managing DB with PostgreSQL works fine.

PostgreSQL can process complex queries in relatively less time, and data can be accessed seemingly faster with non-key attributes. Since we deployed PostgreSQL at work we are delighted to see its flexibility and the better performance for our most common use cases.

Pros

Implementing the database in PostgreSQL is quick and efficient. PostgreSQL is much quicker with use-cases. Setting prototypes for development is relatively easier with PostgreSQL. It is a simply a relational database, and stores the data in tables, and supports complex transactions. Accessing data and attribute is faster in PostgreSQL especially when searching for an attribute that is not indexed. So it is great for sorting data in a relatively short period of time.

Cons

PostgreSQL is not flexible to JSON objects, even the nested documents or arrays are not handled with Postgres. It is slow when it comes to processing queries that use nested references, so we had to deal with more complexities at work.

March 2020

Danny from Abitab S.A.

Verified Reviewer

Company Size: 501-1,000 employees

Industry: Financial Services

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

4.0

Functionality

5.0

March 2020

PostgreSQL is a free and robust relational database management system

With PostgreSQL we can manipulate our databases that contain large volumes of data. The main benefit is that it is completely free. Also, there is no limit amount for users that can be added in the administration of the database. Another benefit is that it is compatible with different programming languages.

Pros

I like PostgreSQL for different reasons: - It has flexible implementation options. - Large volume databases can be stored. - It is possible to have multiple databases on a single server and have different configurations for them. - PostgreSQL is completely free. - Its base language is SQL, making it very easy to manipulate. - It has excellent administration toolkits.

Cons

I dislike PostgreSQL for different reasons: - I don't like that the more detailed documentation is only available in English. - It has a high CPU consumption.

July 2018

Jugraj from Paxcom India Pvt. Ltd.

Time Used: Less than 12 months

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

5.0

July 2018

Best Database Management System with wide range of Features

Pros

PostgreSQL is one of the best from the range of DBMS i used in my career. Features like Stored Procedures is one of the reason i prefer this tool. It helps me take off a huge amount of workload from the API server as same data need to format differently for different APIs. Along with it the availability of builtin functions like JSON functions, Regex Functions etc helps a lot in the data processing field. Connectors support for various languages is one of the main reason for using this tool. Connection Pooling helps me execute multiple queries without slowing the system and losing any data.

Cons

It is not suitable for beginners. Designing a efficient and effective Database workflow need a skilled DB Admin so a beginner need some time to get to familiar with the system. Another drawback is its management tool pgAdmin 4. Its a disaster compare to pgAdmin 3. It is a web App and lags a lot. I face problems in multitasking in version 4 that is not the case with version 3. I Hope someday somebody provide backward compatibility of PostgreSQL 10+ with pgAdmin 3.

July 2020

John from Internet

Company Size: 2-10 employees

Industry: Railroad Manufacture

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

5.0

July 2020

Amaing SQL Dialect and Database

Having PostgresSQL has enabled me to streamline development of many data pipelines. Not having to fumble over function parameters because of PostgresSQL's intuitive operations has improved my ease of work.

Pros

Love this dialect. I find many of the built in function improve experience but simplifying the needs for cryptic code. For example, changing from data type to another data type, one can use the :: operator. This operator is quick and easy to understand.

Cons

Unfortunately, sometimes code needs to be translated to more standard SQL that would work across multiple dialect. While the built in functions of PostgresSQL has improved my easy of use and because some of these functions are not standard SQL, I find myself having to continue using more cryptic, yet standard, SQL.

August 2019

George from AlgorX, Inc.

Company Size: 2-10 employees

Industry: Computer Software

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

4.0

Functionality

5.0

August 2019

The most advanced open-source database management system

We use PostgreSQL in most of our projects as a primary backend and our experience has been positive.

Pros

PostgreSQL is one of the most feature-rich, powerful and advanced open-source database management systems. Though this power comes at a cost. Using PostgreSQL in the best possible way takes some time. PostgreSQL is a real beast and it takes time before one becomes fully familiar with it.

Cons

Even with all the power that PostgreSQL gives, there are certain things that are missing. For example, until the latest versions there was no support for partitioning. Lack of a great graphic admin tool is a con in my opinion. Yes, it's possible to use (and we do) third party tools like DBeaver but a great database system must simply have its own admin GUI.

September 2019

Paolo from Information Technology and Services

Verified Reviewer

Company Size: 1 employee

Industry: Information Technology and Services

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Functionality

5.0

September 2019

Best ever open source RDBMS

Pros

I love the power and scalability of this wonderful open source software. If like me use it to develop geospatial application you can use the beautiful PostGIS spatial extension.

Cons

Replication and backup tools could be improved.

April 2019

Anonymous

Verified Reviewer

Company Size: 501-1,000 employees

Time Used: Less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Value for money

4.0

Customer support

4.0

Functionality

4.0

April 2019

Best SQL for Analytics and in terms of speed.

By using PostgreSQL as backend database for our large applications which uses large amount of data then selling that applications to customers we are getting benefits.

Pros

PostgreSQL is the best I can say. Its performance is very fast in terms of getting data and inserting data. Means if we are inserting entries in bulk then it would do it in a good speed as compared to other databases. It is very good for Analytics and it has good tooling than other databases. It supported many other features like using of arrays which is not in MySql so I would say it is good database to use to make applications.

Cons

The big disadvantage is it takes more memory than other databases if you have many connections and replication is bit difficult in PostgreSQL which might get easy in future updates else it is a good software.

February 2020

Juan Carlos from Empower Data

Verified Reviewer

Company Size: 11-50 employees

Industry: Computer Software

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Value for money

4.0

Customer support

3.0

Functionality

5.0

February 2020

The open source db for bussines

I implemented a Solution on Infonavit the biggest credit giver on México they needed to save AND process data about their clients so I saved all the data on PostgreSQL everything worked like a charm ok PostgreSQL side

Pros

Free to use Robust technology Reliable Full compatibility with most integrations of AWS , Azure , Google , IBM Gasto , secure Not so hard learning curve Great community Constant upgrades

Cons

It feels a little bit overwhelming at the beginning Sometimes can be difficult to enable ok servers for the PDO driver

Reasons for Choosing PostgreSQL

Experience with the db

December 2018

Trey from Church Community Builder

Verified Reviewer

Company Size: 51-200 employees

Industry: Program Development

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Value for money

5.0

Functionality

5.0

December 2018

Best RDBMS

PostgreSQL is my favorite database management system by a long shot. I've professionally used MySQL, Maria DB, MS SQL Server, SQLite, MS Access, and several NoSQL options and Postgres is the best by far. It has a great community around a great product. The official docs are very approachable and I learn new things every time I use it. They built a strong core around consistency and reliability and ever since 9.0 they've made the system really really fast. I can't recommend this software enough!

Pros

Very strong consistency and reliability Feature set is growing rapidly Very fast and efficient Very developer friendly Very extensible

Cons

There are lots and lots of configuration options and the defaults aren't right for modern hardware

June 2018

Samantha from IT Solutions Consulting, Inc.

Verified Reviewer

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

4.0

Value for money

4.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

4.0

June 2018

The best SQL and open source database.

Because range queries are integrated, it is much less effort to query compared to MySQL.

Pros

 It is fast and reliable, manages inserts and updates of tens of thousands of lines impeccably. PostgreSQL implements SQL standards very well and supports advanced SQL stuff, the PostSQL database works very well with hibernation HPA and we have been using it extensively together with the Spring framework, the consistency is also very good, you will never lose data or lose data. JSON support in the latest version has made things easier for us now, since we do not need to migrate the schema as always before.  Finally, the backup methods through pg_dump are easy to use and ensure that you can always back up before any major changes.

Cons

It is not very intuitive, in my opinion, and I think those problems must be solved before I can get the kind of traction that MySQL has, also more open sources admit mysql but not postgres. These are some of the problems with postgres.

March 2019

Jorge from Carrilho Engineering

Verified Reviewer

Company Size: 11-50 employees

Industry: Telecommunications

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

4.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

4.0

Functionality

5.0

March 2019

Rock-solid and high performance database engine

We've been relying in PostgreSQL as the main relational database for many of our projects, and it has never let us down. Besides, it just keeps getting better version after version.

Pros

High availability through streaming replication; High levels of parallel query execution introduced in latest release (v11); Lots of data types supported, including JSON; Transactions support in Stored Procedures; Very stable and reliable; Great community plugins available (like Timescale for TSDB and GIS for geo data)

Cons

Native tooling has room for improvement, but there's lots of 3rd party alternatives available; Documentation has room for improvement;

June 2019

debasis from Ericsson

Verified Reviewer

Company Size: 10,000+ employees

Industry: Telecommunications

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

4.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

3.0

Functionality

4.0

June 2019

postgres review

Pros

I like it is very easy to install and very light weight

Cons

It does not scale horizontally so it is difficult to handle large DBMS system

December 2019

Trang from FPT Software

Verified Reviewer

Company Size: 1,001-5,000 employees

Industry: Computer Software

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Value for money

5.0

Functionality

5.0

December 2019

Best ORDBMS with full support of stored procedures and triggers

We use PostgreSQL as the main database in our system which we need in our system to processing and does an additional task at the database level and frequency need to use complex SQL which needs to join between the table and View. With PostgreSQL we could store the whole of our JSON object instead of breaking down to field like other sequence databases

Pros

PostgreSQL provides the complex functions in its stored procedures and triggers. PostgreSQL also works well in the JSON file, it allows us to store, search and index by JSON content data. It provides privileges at the object level to User and Role to make data more secure. It has many advance SQL command like Table joins, Subquery and Views, the performance of PostgresSQL is greate when we need to execute complex SQL command

Cons

It does not cache the Query execution plans so sometimes cause a delay when we need to run SQL repeatedly. Its UI tool, PgAdmin's is not good compared with other tools that lack some function of the search or Scrolling.

June 2018

Alvaro from Koombea

Verified Reviewer

Company Size: 51-200 employees

Industry: Internet

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

5.0

June 2018

Best database for RoR apps

Pros

- Scalability is a key factor in a database and PosgreSQL handle this large amounts of data without breaking a sweat. - Rich text queries runs smoothly as well. - The integration with ActiveRector is awesome!! - I think is the most famous free database in the market right now, so that means that when an error happen you will have a good community that will have your back.

Cons

- There isn't many thing to say about PosgreSQL, I will say that the most traumatic part is the installation but once you have it up and running this should be a walk in the park for a developer to use.

June 2018

ritesh from COVIAM

Verified Reviewer

Company Size: 201-500 employees

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

5.0

June 2018

Wanted to use an open source object-relational database for our project and postgres worked well

Pros

1)Easy installation with good user guide 2)Scales pretty well for big applications 3)Support for high availability can be easily implemented by going through the documentation 4)Have yet to find any database related issues in our application since the time application was launched 5)Good Java-sql mapping of data types 6)Works wonders with JPA implementations 7)Postgresql's query optimiser is one of the best i have seen so far

Cons

Again since the software has so much to offer it can be sometime hard to learn all the features.Other than that there is no cons as such

December 2018

ravi from OATI

Verified Reviewer

Company Size: 501-1,000 employees

Industry: Computer Software

Time Used: Less than 12 months

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

4.0

Functionality

4.0

December 2018

Very simple yet powerful

It has helped us to remove unnecessary distractions and focus on the main task of reducing time taken for queries. It is very fast and reliable with it's transactions. It helped us with high volumes of data. Postgres FDW was used to connect our existing SQL server databases.

Pros

It has a clean interface and does not tries to get an attractive UI for you. It has very less query time. It provides a good architecture for code first approach projects. We set it up on Linux and it does behaves pretty nice on it. We get to see what what we need to see while querying. It is quiet easy to edit the datatypes and design your schema. Also it provides some nice mining tools which can operate on our data. And the best thing about it is source code availability. We can do whatever we want.

Cons

It is slow for small database sizes but the issue erodes with database size increase. Also it has different syntax which might look complex to some.

August 2018

Srikanth from SALESFORCE COM INC

Company Size: 10,000+ employees

Industry: Information Technology and Services

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

4.0

Value for money

4.0

Customer support

4.0

Functionality

4.0

August 2018

Very good open source database

Pros

One of the best open source RDBMS database. Easy to integrate with services and works in high read/writes env. Advanced features like master slave replication are easy to implement and doesn't take too long for training or implementation. Used across the software industry, so it has good forums and blogs to support any issues.

Cons

It is very difficult to install postgres on production servers that doesnt have access to internet. Earlier versions of postgres doesn't support upsert functionality. Doesn't have a good database client. Doesn't have a good monitoring mechanism

June 2017

Phil from Self Employed

Company Size: 1 employee

Industry: Computer Software

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

4.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

5.0

June 2017

Runs a 150GB DB containing a quarter million records without breaking a sweat

Pros

Pretty much everything, although there are a few features from commercial databases that I'm hoping will make it in. After having used it for several years, and a certain "M" competitor for several years prior, I can confidently say that it's really hard to go wrong in recommending PostgreSQL to anyone with even a small amount of technical knowledge.

Cons

- Setting up replication can be a bit tricky - There isn't really a good repository for an up-to-date (or per-version) list of common tips, tricks and queries. Often can be some googling to track down what you're looking for

March 2019

Gedson from Carrilho Engineering

Verified Reviewer

Company Size: 11-50 employees

Industry: Telecommunications

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

4.0

Value for money

4.0

Customer support

4.0

Functionality

4.0

March 2019

A solid and reliable relational database

We've used PostgreSQL as a RDS in several projects, with great results. Its very reliable and robust, which are the best facets you look for in a database.

Pros

PostgreSQL has great support for many data types, including JSON. This makes it a very flexible RDB, because you can integrate schema-free documents in your tables, query on the and select their properties. PG 11 also brought a high performance parallel query engine, which greatly boost it's performance.

Cons

Security and encryptions features have room for improvement, but you can count on some 3rd party plug-ins to fill the gap.

December 2019

Cristian from Swapps

Verified Reviewer

Company Size: 11-50 employees

Industry: Telecommunications

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Functionality

5.0

December 2019

The best relational database out there. Period.

We use postgreSQL whenever we can. In our projects in python or elixir we use it as our relational database of choice, and it has not disappointed. It has some domain specific features that can help you keep everything centralized, like document support (json) or full text search (search engine). If you have not tried it, go ahead and do it!

Pros

Stable, resilient, fast. It has everything you could need from a relational database plus more. We have worked on really big databases with no issues when using postgresql.

Cons

There are some differences in syntax to other SQL databases, but overall they are not hard to understand and learn.

February 2019

Jordan from Computer Software

Company Size: 1 employee

Industry: Computer Software

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

5.0

February 2019

PG is the future

Pros

PG is about as good as it gets. It's a fantastic database solution with every and any feature you could need. It's extensible and very reliable. PG is extremely fast and predictable. If you can get PG offered as a service while hosting your app in the cloud it's a no brainer.

Cons

I don't really have any complaints about PG. It can be difficult to upgrade between versions as it's quite strict with how it handles versioning and data, but this can be seen as a pro and not necessarily a con in tight infrastructure scenarios since it is so strict.

October 2018

Cristiano from movendo srl

Verified Reviewer

Company Size: 2-10 employees

Industry: Information Technology and Services

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Value for money

5.0

Functionality

5.0

October 2018

Very reliable database

PostgreSQL is a very reliable, stable and quick RDBMS. In my experience it has no problems managing hundreds of millions of records. From a DBA point of view, has a very low TCO since once configured it seldomly needs further intervention by the DBA. It comes with PostGIS plugin, so it is very easy to manage geographical data types

Pros

A very powerful RDBMS at the best price point: free Integrated with spatial extension PostGIS Very quick and stable, it manages flawlessly hundreds of millions of records

Cons

Table partitioning is limited Multimaster replicas are available only through a third party distribution

December 2018

Anonymous

Verified Reviewer

Company Size: 501-1,000 employees

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Functionality

5.0

December 2018

Easy to setup and configure...

Very positive. It's a lightweight DB suite that has a ton of power and flexibility.

Pros

I really love how easy it is to setup PostgreSQL without having a ton of knowledge about the product. Setting it up on Windows is a breeze (even easier than Microsoft SQL), and you're up and running within 10 minutes. There are also some graphical tools that you can install that allow you to easily manage your PostgreSQL instances via a GUI if you prefer that over a command line interface.

Cons

Sometimes it can be tough due to version differences to get the proper ODBC connector installed on your Windows box. You end up with multiple connectors that all have slightly different versions, and your application must be sure to specify the exact correct version otherwise it could throw errors. It would be nice if the connectors just stuck with major versions that supported all of the minor releases in that branch.

April 2019

Matt from Mara Technologies, Inc.

Company Size: 51-200 employees

Industry: Electrical/Electronic Manufacturing

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

4.0

Functionality

4.0

April 2019

Post-Postgres

We have issues with data corruption on our postgres machines that requires full re-installation of the software. I have not experienced this issue with other platforms, luckily this is more "blue moon" type of consistency, and isn't a problem that we need to deal with very often.

Pros

PostgresSQL is a fine database manager, and has come as part of an application that we are using every day. As far as configuration on our end, it's literally as simple as installing it - the rest of it basically took care of itself.

Cons

Not very intuitive, and it runs a little slow compared to other offerings.

September 2018

Priyansh from The Alpha Developers

Company Size: 11-50 employees

Industry: Computer Software

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

5.0

September 2018

JSON+RDBMS = Perfect Database

Pros

PostgreSQL is a very special kind of database, it lets you store data in tables in rows and columns form, while giving you flexibility to JSON data types to make your application flexible. It provides support for a large number of complex data types say JSON, JSONb, Text Array, Integer Array, thus giving you a very powerful database tool.

Cons

It gives very good performance for the first few million record in database, but after that you will need to write your SQL queries very carefully as performance is not that good.

August 2018

Morgan from Praekelt Consulting

Verified Reviewer

Company Size: 51-200 employees

Industry: Information Technology and Services

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

4.0

Functionality

5.0

August 2018

De facto RDBMS for the Internet

We have run many sites on PostgreSQL with Django at high performance. We use NoSQL where appropriate, but in every case we have still used Postgres for the main data store, and used the key value stores for caching and queueing.

Pros

PostgreSQL is open source. We use it for pretty much every site or system we build. It scales well and needs a minimum of tuning. We only fall back to MySQL when absolutely necessary.

Cons

We still encounter software which can only run on MySQL, especially PHP applications. For those we'll tolerate MySQL but otherwise we would prefer PostgreSQL support.

Displaying 1 - 50 of 269 reviews