User Reviews Overview

Ratings Breakdown

5 stars

(198)

198

4 stars

(100)

100

3 stars

(6)

6

2 stars

(1)

1

1 stars

(0)

0

Feature Ratings

Ease-of-use

4.5 / 5

Value for Money

4.5 / 5

Customer Support

4.0 / 5

Functionality

4.5 / 5

Browse PostgreSQL Reviews

Filter by:

Sort by:
 

Showing -49 - 0 of 303 results

June 2021

User Profile Picture

Janne from Telia Company AB

Verified Reviewer

Company Size: 10,000+ employees

Industry: Telecommunications

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

4.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

3.0

Functionality

5.0

June 2021

One of the best overall databases in the market

For overall backend database purposes I would currently not choose anything other than PostgreSQL. Widely known, easy to hire talent for, secure and reliable.

Pros

PostgreSQL is well supported by backend frameworks like Django. Getting into the command line of PostgreSQL database isn't necessary that often, but when a must, it works very robustly.

Cons

Not suitable for some data types as well as some of the competition, like time series data, that is becoming more and more important via IoT use cases.

Reasons for Choosing PostgreSQL

Best direct support from backend frameworks such as Django.

Reasons for Switching to PostgreSQL

Generational leap in web development, a new product was launched.

June 2020

User Profile Picture

Adolfo from Ministry of Health, Gouverment of El Salvador

Verified Reviewer

Company Size: 10,000+ employees

Industry: Government Administration

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

4.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

3.0

Functionality

5.0

June 2020

Very complete and stable database

I have very good experience installing and configuring databases with PostgreSQL. Once installed and configured it is very stable, almost without errors and one can rest assured that the data is fine

Pros

It is very complete for any type of project or application. It is stable, easy to use and can handle a lot of structured data. It is free software and is very well documented It is very popular and has a very varied community around the project

Cons

Its installation and configuration can be a bit complex at first. Being free they are not obliged to provide support Requires specific tuning for each possible scenario

Reasons for Choosing PostgreSQL

For its flexibility for all types of projects, its price, and its stability.

Reasons for Switching to PostgreSQL

To handle more data and guarantee its integrity.

July 2021

Anonymous

Verified Reviewer

Company Size: 501-1,000 employees

Time Used: Less than 12 months

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Functionality

5.0

July 2021

Open source database with advance features

We have deployed 100 of PostgreSQL instances as the back-end for state owned LMS. Databases are well performing and never receive any complaints regarding performance after the GO-LIVE. We have deploy PostgreSQL for simple web application to the enterprise grade internet banking app.

Pros

+ Install is very easy + Support almost all platform + Data aggregation is fast + Good documentation from vendor and community + Highly stable + Secured

Cons

+ Working with JSON etc. is not easy comparable to other products + Poor data compression mechanisms + Bit resource hungry

Reasons for Choosing PostgreSQL

The main reason is performance.

March 2018

Albernes from MppTT

Verified Reviewer

Time Used: Less than 12 months

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

4.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

1.0

Functionality

3.0

March 2018

easy to use and understand

It can operate on platform specifications, including Linux, Windows, Unix. Large storage capacity Good scalability since it is able to adjust to the number of CPU and the amount of available memory optimally, supporting a greater number of simultaneous requests to the database correctly. It supports the types of data, clauses, functions and commands of standard type SQL92 / SQL99 and extended own of PostgreSQL ..

Pros

its graphic environment and considerable savings in operating costs: PostgreSQL has been designed to have a maintenance and adjustment lower than the products of commercial suppliers, while retaining all the characteristics, stability and performance. Stability and reliability: There have been no drops in the database

Cons

That Compared to MySQL is slower in insertions and updates, since it has intersection headers that do not have MySQL Support online: There are official forums, but there is no mandatory help It consumes more resources than MySQL .

March 2021

User Profile Picture

Jorge from Gatoware, LLC

Verified Reviewer

Company Size: 2-10 employees

Industry: Computer Software

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

5.0

March 2021

PostgreSQL - A World Class DBMS that you can have for free

I have used PostgreSQL for Windows since 2008 and it has been a pleasure. Some DBs have tables with more than 1 million records and performance seems not to be affected.

Pros

It is free although there are some paid options that include support and special configurations. It is very stable, I have not had any critical situations like data loss. As a ASP.NET developer, it integrates easy using ADO.NET Data Providers for which there are many choices. Concurrency control is included which is very useful for data integrity. Versions for Linux, Mac, Solaris and BSD are available which increases the integration power. A huge number of third party add-ons (paid and free) can be found. PostgreSQL is being continuously improving, there is a well defined plan of maintenance and new versions are coming out regularly.

Cons

I have not found anything against this DMBS product. I have accomplished all of my goals successfully.

Reasons for Choosing PostgreSQL

A professional friend of mine recommended it. Additionally and after doing some research, I found PostgreSQL origins date back to 1970´s as a successor of Ingres developed at University of California Berkley. This definitely called my attention and I decided to try as a first option. I felt in love with PostgreSQL.

June 2021

Abbas Yusufzai from Bahria University Islamabad

Company Size: 51-200 employees

Industry: Oil & Energy

Time Used: Less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

4.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

5.0

June 2021

Postgre SQL.. Best 2D spatial database tool for geologists.

It's a pretty reliable database manager that provides for excellent data management and a very comprehensive security implementation, as well as the installation of procedures that make data integrity easy to maintain.

Pros

One of the advantages of this manager is that it is simple to install and has a free license for various distributions and operating systems. It also allows you to configure the manager according to the team requirements. Other capabilities include the ability to run read-only queries while in recovery mode. pg-Admin, for example, is a graphical application that allows us to simply administer our database. It is a great resource distribution for complex queries, very adjustable, allowing it to be tailored to the needs of individuals who use it, Allows you to limit the number of incoming connections to avoid timeouts caused by developers.

Cons

Indexing is some times very slow. Also database syncing or importing and exporting database is some time a headache. Apart from that, I don't see any major shortcoming in it.

Reasons for Switching to PostgreSQL

It is a more comprehensive and equipped tool than mySQL and offers a lot more features and funtions and features than it.

March 2020

User Profile Picture

Tigran from Information Technology and Services

Verified Reviewer

Company Size: 11-50 employees

Industry: Information Technology and Services

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

5.0

March 2020

PSQL databse.

Overall this is good software to use when you in a large applications.

Pros

This is one of the best database software I’ve used. It has a lot of features/functions that are usable for Big projects. One of them I've use is the PSQL vector search that is not widely used but very important feature that built in PSQL, beside that it has a tons of usable functions to do operations inside database and then get the result for example timezone adjusting, manipulation with data, string function and etc.

Cons

Trully telling there should be few cons in this software. I've used this for over 4 years sometimes find to difficult to configure it it linux environments compared with mysql.

Reasons for Switching to PostgreSQL

It has a lot of features/functionalities I've mentioned above that Mysql does not have.

July 2021

User Profile Picture

Juanito from Work Corp

Verified Reviewer

Company Size: 11-50 employees

Industry: Computer Software

Time Used: Less than 12 months

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

3.0

Functionality

5.0

July 2021

Un gran rendimiento para proyectos robustos

Pros

Me encanta que es una de las mejores base de datos relacional del mercado, usamos PostgreSQL para nuestros proyectos de desarrollo web, ofrece estabilidad y escalabilidad.

Cons

Un poco confusa la instalación, tuve algunos percances en su despliegue, pero fue más por mi desconocimiento.

Reasons for Choosing PostgreSQL

Su mejor rendimiento en proyectos que demandan estabilidad y escalabilidad.

Reasons for Switching to PostgreSQL

Ofrece mejor soporte para proyectos más robustos.

June 2021

KARTHEKEAN from TTS

Company Size: 5,001-10,000 employees

Industry: Information Technology and Services

Time Used: Less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

4.0

Functionality

5.0

June 2021

Perfect open source relational DB

Overall experience with PostgreSQL is great and it had very little learning curve in moving away from other proprietary DBs.

Pros

This is perfect replacement for any proprietary relational data bases as it provides most of the features from traditional relational DBs. It helps us in data storage and retrieval with good level of flexibility and performance.

Cons

Not much as this is used as free or opensource alternative the performance matches very closely to it's paid competitors. Adding in more GUI support tools could be helpful.

Reasons for Switching to PostgreSQL

PostgreSQL provides very comparable or sometimes better performance compared to other alternatives which cost more.

July 2021

James from Chatterfy

Company Size: 1 employee

Industry: Internet

Time Used: Less than 6 months

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Functionality

5.0

July 2021

PostgreSQL - Ideal for user app !!!

I am truly grateful that I came across this program. I am in the middle of working on a chat application and PostgreSQL really came in and saved the day.

Pros

I really PostgreSQL becuase how its an open source project , and you can structure PostgreSQL to be both object-oriented and/or relational database functionality. I also like the fact, that a developer (me) can create complex queries.

Cons

PostgreSQL is alittle more complex database handler out on the market, but its really worth it once you know how it operates. It makes database manipulation fun for large scale projects that involve a lot, fast, and complex queries.

Reasons for Choosing PostgreSQL

Its fast and preform more ideal to large scale projects that require massive amount of querying, DB operations and DB complexities.

Reasons for Switching to PostgreSQL

While MySQL is not a bad product and it has its strong movements, I looked at PostgreSQL because of more data handling and manipulation a developer can achieve .

July 2021

User Profile Picture

Muhammad Adil from Khushhali Microfinance Bank

Verified Reviewer

Company Size: 1,001-5,000 employees

Industry: Information Technology and Services

Time Used: Less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

4.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

4.0

Functionality

4.0

July 2021

PostgreSQL

One of the best open source relational database in the market. Large support of data types make it powerful and lots of storage of less schema data. ACID compliant and lock management support.

Pros

PostgreSQL has a wide support of server operating system e.g. windows, UNIX, Solaris, Linux, FreeBSD, Open BSD and OS X. Large support of APIs like ADO.NET, JDBC, ODBC and native C library which makes it easy to connect with any module. Good support of programming languages as well i.e. C, C++, JAVA, .NET, PHP and Python.

Cons

Wide support from community but some times its difficult to track any issue and get support. Reading speed is bit low as compared to other DBMS. Documentation is only available in English.

May 2020

Anonymous

Verified Reviewer

Company Size: 201-500 employees

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

4.0

Value for money

4.0

Customer support

3.0

Functionality

4.0

May 2020

The right database for 95% of use cases

Postgres is there for you whenever you need to store and retrieve simple tabular data. Whether that's your app user's name, email, and settings, or the projects and project content that they've created. As long as you're not dealing with over 10k transactions per second, it's cheap to use and extremely easy to set up. Oh, and it's also not great but just okay for advanced searching such as full-text search.

Pros

- Postgres is just soooo reliable, it's hard to corrupt or lose data unless you go in and manually edit or delete the data. - Battle-tested ACID transactions to make sure you only update the data when it makes sense to have saved me so much time. - The SQL interface is easy to use once you've mastered SQL (which it isn't; it's the simplest of all the languages I've learned). - Newer versions even has support for advanced use cases such as arrays and JSON objects. - The best thing is that 90% of the backend software developers know Postgres (or MySQL which is pretty dang similar) so help is never too far away!

Cons

The only real reason to not use Postgres is that it is pretty hard to scale. If your software requires over 10k transactions per second, you're gonna have to put in some serious work make Postgres scale. This is where Postgres becomes a pain to optimize. Postgres provides poor support for identifying the queries that are running really slowly. e.g. you have to install a buggy plugin and then query a funky poorly documented table. Trying to do master-slave replication is also quite difficult as you often run into consistency issues and will have to modify app logic. In these cases, it's better to go with NoSQL obviously.

Reasons for Choosing PostgreSQL

I picked Postgres over MySQL is not as battle tested and was behind Postgres in terms of JSON object support. I picked Postgres over MongoDB because it's easier to set up, didn't have anyone else on the team that knew how to use it (whereas all 5 of my teammates have Postgres experience), and because Postgres can handle our traffic currently.

July 2018

User Profile Picture

Nairoby from CANTV

Verified Reviewer

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Value for money

2.0

Customer support

3.0

Functionality

4.0

July 2018

It's free!

In my very particular opinion I feel comfortable working with Postgres for more than 10 years, it is reliable and safe, the best thing is that it is free, which allows you to save on licenses, it is ideal for any type of development. I totally recommend it

Pros

- Free code database manager, which is not used for licensing. - Easy to install and configure in any operating system. - Ideal for relational databases. - It has a large community in which you can share doubts. - It is stable and reliable, scalable and secure with the correct user management. - Can work with small and large databases. - Handles the SQL language. - Being free software, it is compatible with several graphic tools that help administration and database design. I particularly recommend working with PgAdmin in its latest version for postgres 9.6.6 onwards. - Easily works as a cluster, can be configured as active-passive or active-active which improves performance - It allows to perform maintenance, recovery of databases. - I have tested the installation and use in Windows 7 operating system and Debian version 6 to 8 and works without problems. - Likewise I have worked in postgres since its version 8.1 to 9.6.6 and a positive change has been noticed and performance improvements, but I insist on the point at which the databases should be fine designed.

Cons

- Many people declare it as slow in insertions and updates compared to others Managers, however, that will depend on how well designed the database is. - For some, not having support online or with an official help center can be a big disadvantage. - It is advisable to have command knowledge to work on consoles and terminals to perform a good configuration

July 2018

User Profile Picture

Aníbal from Banco Bicentenario, Banco Universal C.A.

Verified Reviewer

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

3.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

3.0

Functionality

5.0

July 2018

PostgreSQL is powerful and robust, it fits perfectly in large projects

With PostgreSQL I have been able to perform my work satisfactorily on multiple occasions, my bosses and I are happy with the results we have obtained, saving hardware investment costs because we have focused on the database, I hope to have future benefits to the use it in projects for own clients.

Pros

I really like PostgreSQL I have used it several times for large projects in my previous works and in the current one it is used as a database for the web page of the institution, the power of PL / pgSQL is excellent, it allows me to program commercial layers in the database without any problem this improves the response times of the final applications and allows investments in hardware in the database servers instead of in the application, the management of schemes is perfect. It is important to mention that it is free software that implies having a large database without licensing costs. A feature of PostgreSQL is the multiversion concurrency control that allows transactions consistent with time, which provides great performance advantages. PgAdmin is a graphical tool with which I can manage different databases easily and intuitively, execute SQL statements, as well as create backup copies or perform maintenance tasks. Another thing that I like about PostgreSQL is that it is available for many platforms, it is possible to install it from the repositories of the Linux version that I use. It should be noted that the PostgreSQL user community is one of the most active in the market

Cons

There are some things that I do not like about PostgreSQL, permissions allowance per user can be annoying, I have had to work many times on this and it is difficult, it is also relatively slow when I insert and update small databases. The official support does not have telephone or online support, although there are official forums available where users can express their doubts to which other users of the community respond. The syntax of some of your commands or statements may not be intuitive if you do not have a medium level of knowledge in the SQL language. I have had problems migrating from a PostgreSQL version to a higher one. Compatibility is sometimes relative.

September 2018

User Profile Picture

Maryury from Banco Bicentenario, Banco Universal C.A.

Verified Reviewer

Company Size: 10,000+ employees

Industry: Banking

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

3.0

Value for money

4.0

Customer support

4.0

Functionality

4.0

September 2018

Database Manager PostgreSQL

In my experience using the software I really liked that it allows adding custom functions developed using different programming languages. The integrity of the data and the referential integrity of the foreign key are maintained. It has allowed me, in an easy and secure way, the asynchronous replication of the databases for an alternative center in case of disasters. I did not like it is that when I have any doubt about an error presented in the system where the database is working, I can not clarify it because there is no specific place to which, because and com solve the error.

Pros

PostgreSQL allows to control high concurrency, offering security by domain definitions, who can access the database server, the backup copies of the database can be made completely or only a table, according to the request, restorations and tasks maintenance, in addition to replicate in case of disasters. It also allows to activate triggers to execute in tables or views in special cases or eventualities. It has a friendly graphical interface for the administrator, through which they can be done from the creation of the database, to execute query querys and updates of the data, if necessary, you can have details with the status tool of the server referring to the queries that are executed in the DB (if there are locks, duration, etc.). It allows the development of robust and efficient Databases

Cons

There is no online or telephone support. Only official forums are available where users expose their doubts that other users of the community respond to, ademas it consumes many resources

October 2020

User Profile Picture

Mark from MedSurvey (formerly Ricca Group)

Verified Reviewer

Company Size: 11-50 employees

Industry: Market Research

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

5.0

October 2020

Solid database that won't break the bank and won't let you down

We have never lost data, never paid too much and never looked back. PostgreSQL is at the hear of our organization and our trust has paid off in the long run. Running it on top of a managed stack such as AWS RDS is they way to go as this is the hardest part of using PostgreSQL and you don't want to waste time re-learning what has already been learned. It's worth the cost to use these services in the long run. Rapid prototyping can be done locally and is free so your price to start is always zero!

Pros

PostgreSQL is and always has been one of the most feature rich and solid databases available. Its price / performance / feature set is simply unmatched in the industry today.

Cons

There is a lot of old information on the internet that is no longer relevant to current versions and you must sift through this in some cases to find the modern and elegant solutions. It was touted as "slow" compared to MySQL in the early 2000's and much of that information is wrong due to lack of user experience with the product or no longer the case today.

Reasons for Choosing PostgreSQL

Stability and price

April 2020

User Profile Picture

Moris from Corte Suprema de Justicia

Verified Reviewer

Company Size: 5,001-10,000 employees

Industry: Government Administration

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

5.0

April 2020

PostgreSQL - Robustes y Seguridad en Bases de Datos

La fasilidad de hacer BKs configurar Jobs, analizar querys y definir data tables, triggres, referencias, entre otros hace del uso y experiencia de utilizar y administrar PostgreSQL muy satisfactoria.

Pros

PostgreSQL ofrece un potente motor de bases de datos que brinda una robustes para la administración de BD ademas de una devirsificación de herramientas para trabajar con los Data Tables, triggers, punteros, etc, el análisis de querys permite al administrador porder determinar los aspectos donde deben mejorarse los querys.

Cons

Las opciones de configuración y personalización que nos ofrece PostgreSQL si bien son muchas, hay algunas de mayor importancia y hay que configurarlas o setearlas hasta finalizado el proceso de instalación, siendo que podria incluirse en este proceso para que no se invierta tiempo en hacer estas personalizaciones o configuraciones minimas.

Reasons for Choosing PostgreSQL

Mayor relación Calidad - Precio, soporte por la comunidad internacional, robustes y seguridad

September 2019

User Profile Picture

Diego from Lacuna Solutions

Verified Reviewer

Company Size: 2-10 employees

Industry: Market Research

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

4.0

Value for money

5.0

Functionality

5.0

September 2019

The database everyone should be using

PostgreSQL is an incredibly powerful piece of software that should be the RDBMS in every software project instead of less powerful but more famous alternatives. Personally it will be my choice for every future project.

Pros

PostgreSQL is so powerful, complete and stable. This should come with no surprise given the long history behind it. At the same time it's incredibly modern and supports new paradigms (like NoSQL, JSON data types) and it's also very simple to familiarize with.

Cons

It's unbelievable how PostgreSQL is not as well-known as one of his competitors (MySQL) notwithstanding the fact that is so much more powerful.

Reasons for Switching to PostgreSQL

PostgreSQL hasn't got many of the limitations and quirkiness of MySQL, is much more complete and powerful and comes at the same price (zero) being open source. Also MySQL now is the hands of Oracle which is well known for his practices that sometimes look creepy (see Java for instance).

April 2020

User Profile Picture

Abdelhakim from Faculté des Sciences et Techniques Settat

Verified Reviewer

Company Size: 2-10 employees

Industry: Education Management

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

4.0

Functionality

5.0

April 2020

The best user tailored db experience.

I use PostgreSQL with almost every endeavor nowadays. Both at work and with personal projects, it is very robust when used in my research field which is optimization and operations research, but also flexible enough to help me quickly deploy web apps.

Pros

PostgreSQL is by far the most user friendly and most advanced database system out of the top 5 popular choices. It's inherently relational making it easily compatible with ORMs, has many smaller quirks like jsonb storage, the WITH keyword, and a vast amount of data types. It's also one of the most dynamic DBMS as it releases major changes more than once a year, with an ecosystem that consistently adapts to these versions.

Cons

Extensions in pgsql could use a bit of streamlining (extensions like pg_cron or similar), which was a bit complicated to do in with CI. Another concern would be some stability issues with the latest pgAdmin database interface, but in all fairness that isn't directly an issue with pgsql.

Reasons for Switching to PostgreSQL

Like I mentioned earlier, a few gotchas with MySQL like lacking the date data type with respective timezones, the WITH keyword that is used for subqueries, but ultimately it was because Postgres has the PostGIS extension which we needed at the time for geographical mapping.

October 2020

Anonymous

Verified Reviewer

Company Size: 2-10 employees

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

4.0

Value for money

4.0

Customer support

3.0

Functionality

5.0

October 2020

Powerful database

Excellent database engine with a lof of features and great overall performance. It has a very huge community so you could get help very easily. I'd recommend to use it.

Pros

Highly recommended. It's the most powerful database engine I ever worked with. It has a lot of features that I used and worked very well: postgis for spatial searches, full-text search, partitions, etc.

Cons

At some point, we start having problems with very slow queries, and after some debugging we discover postgres decided to use the wrong index to perform the query plan. Probably because of bad stats but from time to time the problem happens again.

Reasons for Switching to PostgreSQL

We used to work with PHP and mysql, so when starting developing in ruby on rails, we prefered to use postgres because we considered it powerful than mysql.

January 2020

Anonymous

Verified Reviewer

Company Size: 10,000+ employees

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

4.0

Functionality

4.0

January 2020

PostgreSQL is the best open source database

I used another database for a large Brazilian bank. It was not a free database. The migration was excellent.

Pros

PostgreSQL has several advantages. It is lightweight and reliable. Search filters are very easy to understand. People who know the basics of the SQL language can do several queries, since PostgreSQL assembles selects. I can change it within the table itself, so I don't need to do the update command. On top of that, it's free and open source!

Cons

Sometimes the connection to the database drops (internal server error 500), and it is necessary to connect again. When the query has many records, the data return is slow. They are the only negative points of this tool.

Reasons for Switching to PostgreSQL

My company opted for a free tool and open source.

November 2018

User Profile Picture

Khelvyn from Compañia Anónima Nacional Teléfonos de Venezuela (CANTV)

Verified Reviewer

Company Size: 10,000+ employees

Industry: Telecommunications

Time Used: Less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

4.0

Functionality

5.0

November 2018

One of the best database managers for the world.

From my point of view postgreSQL I consider it one of the most powerful database managers, since I use it daily, from my role as a database administrator, as well as a web developer, since it allows to manage environments put into production easily, with an acceptable and intuitive configuration.

Pros

1164/5000 -Easy installation and configuration in other environments. - Pgadmin management interface of the databases, very intuitive and complete with the necessary to a few clicks, I recommend keeping the graphical tool for the stability it offers. -It has a connection balancer, known as pgpool that allows to manage the cluster structure well. -Principles of replication between active-active or active-passive servers Variety of console-level command options for restore or backup tasks and maintenance tasks -principal manager for developers for the scalability and stability it offers. -Management of free access, which allows the use of it without any problem, without any cost -Ideal manager for the management of relational databases -Allows the management of different versions on the same server with multiple database intentions with different listening ports.

Cons

- Poor documentation - Functional technicians commonly report a slowness at the BD level, but that depends on how the DB is structured and especially if good database practices are applied

December 2019

Arik from Highnet Systems

Company Size: 2-10 employees

Industry: Computer Software

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

4.0

Functionality

5.0

December 2019

PostgreSQL as application database

We use PostgreSQL as our system database for the software we develop, we find it reliable, robust and with great performance, we use both PHP and C++ to access the dataabse.

Pros

PostgreSQL is a full featured SQL server solution. it is free and open-source, PostgreSQL can be installed on many different platform like Linux, Windows, macOS and other. being open-source if has lots of contribute tools from the open-source community providing wide range solutions, PostgreSQL is also available in the cloud from all the major providers.

Cons

Management is less comfortable and some settings needs to be done in PostgreSQL configuration files, also database schema management tool is not so comfortable, but you can use 3rd party tools for that also

Reasons for Choosing PostgreSQL

Being free and open-source give us better control over platform selection, it also allow us to give our customers solution at lower costs, as the customer looks at the overall cost of the solution and the need to buy database server license cause the solution to cost much more. scaling is also simpler from license perspective.

February 2020

User Profile Picture

Danilo from VAGAS.com

Verified Reviewer

Company Size: 51-200 employees

Industry: Internet

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Functionality

5.0

February 2020

Best database ever!

Best database management system: plenty of plugins (data visualization, backup, performance, etc), easily expandable, incredibly powerful configuration options.

Pros

PostgreSQL is the most flexible database management system out there. It has a lot of plugins (data visualization, backup, performance, etc), which make it very expandable too, incredibly powerful configuration options, etc. It has almost any type of column that your system will ever need.

Cons

I really don't found any PostgreSQL problem until now, so I would recommend that you use it without any fear.

Reasons for Choosing PostgreSQL

Price and flexibility, besides the experience working with it.

October 2019

Sanchit from Visa

Company Size: 10,000+ employees

Industry: Computer Software

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Value for money

4.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

5.0

October 2019

One of the best to manage DB connections

Pros

We have been using this software for a couple of years after we faced a lot of issues and freezes in MySQL. This is comparatively much much more smooth and handles multiple DB connections and inter-switching with no lags or hangs.

Cons

We were more accustomed to the MySQL interface so found a few minor UX improvements that can be done here but overall it's still good.

Reasons for Switching to PostgreSQL

MYSQL use to hang up a lot on our MacBooks all the time. It was quite frustrating while resolving production issues when time was of the essence.

April 2021

Sergio from Esc consulting

Company Size: 11-50 employees

Industry: Computer Software

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Functionality

5.0

April 2021

Il nostro db di riferimento

È da sempre il nostro db di riferimento per tutte le applicazioni che sviluppiamo.

Pros

Ha funzionalità che altri db non sempre supportano, è aggiornato con puntualità, ha funzionalità di ricerca fulltext molto performanti, non richiede di essere amministrato, è scalabile, è open source e gratuito e multipiattaforma.

Cons

La gestione di amministrazione pgmadmin potrebbe essere migliorata graficamente, ma non è questione fondamentale.

Reasons for Switching to PostgreSQL

Perché il DB2 ha spesso necessità di essere amministrato mentre postgresql non richiede alcun intervento.

January 2018

Ashish from Metacube Software Pvt Ltd

Time Used: Less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

4.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

4.0

Functionality

4.0

January 2018

Open source object-relational database management system for Web Developers

Pros

PostgreSQL or simply Postgres implements the SQL and advanced SQL standard very well. It can handle workloads ranging from small web applications to large data warehousing with many parallel users. Postgres provides a easy to use tool called pgAdmin to interact with and manipulate database. It provides support for complex data types like (multi-dimensional) Array, Json, user-defined types. PostgreSQL provides higher number of connections at cheap price. It support all types of indexing for faster retrieval of data. In my company we replaced our database server from MySQL to PostgreSQL because of PostgreSQL higher db connections connections in cheaper price as compared to MYSQL. It is also available free of cost till 10,000 rows on Heroku.

Cons

PostgreSQL query syntax for some complex queries like array, json, string functions and case operator are bit complicated to write . Installation and configuration of PostgreSQL is not as easy as MySQL. Documentation is not as good as compared to MySQL and it is bit harder to search for help regarding some complex queries and database functions on google. Replication is not yet as well implemented as in MySQL.

July 2021

Rajesh from Supreme Technologies

Company Size: 501-1,000 employees

Industry: Computer Software

Time Used: Less than 12 months

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

4.0

Value for money

4.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

5.0

July 2021

Review Of PostgreSQL

Overall PostgreSQL best in Market. They have better support and help their customers.

Pros

The PostgreSQL is best and most powerful RDBMS software in opensource platform. This PostgreSQL better in Data Storage, Data Dedupilication and Data Replication.

Cons

The PostgreSQL need some of security loop holes .

Reasons for Choosing PostgreSQL

Evaluation Purpose.

Reasons for Switching to PostgreSQL

Testing

February 2021

Pasquale from SUPSI

Company Size: 501-1,000 employees

Industry: Education Management

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

2.0

Functionality

5.0

February 2021

Spartan, robust

Using PostgreSQL is hard and sometimes frustrating but once set up it gives sys admins a great peace of mind.

Pros

I've been using PostgreSQL since 2002. It is not easy to install, deploy and manage compared to other relational database of its class. It is though rock solid, incredibly fast and there are a lot of great features.

Cons

A modern management system would be very welcome. There have been several attempt to make it more user friendly by honestly none has been successful so far.

March 2021

Paolo from Myself

Company Size: 1 employee

Industry: Information Technology and Services

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Functionality

5.0

March 2021

Best Open Source RDBMS by far

I am a web developer and geospatial analyst. I am using PostgreSQL daily to store spatial datasets using PostGIS, its powerful spatial extension

Pros

PostgreSQL has been on my tech stack since 2006. It is an impressive open source software, really reliable. I love its PostGIS spatial module, which enables powerful geospatial functions.

Cons

I like everything and I can't think of something which I don't like. This is by far the best open source RDBMS

August 2019

User Profile Picture

Wechuli from Andela

Verified Reviewer

Company Size: 1,001-5,000 employees

Industry: Computer Software

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Customer support

3.0

Functionality

5.0

August 2019

Best Database System Ever !

Postgres provides everything I need in a Relational Database System, I have been using it for a while and I swear by it.

Pros

- Completely and absolutely free - Open-source, so you can look at the code - Every feature you might want in a database is there - Convenient PostgreSQL admin for the management of DB servers

Cons

- Making replication across several distributed regions can be quite challenging if you haven't done it before.

March 2020

Paul from Carecode

Company Size: 2-10 employees

Industry: Computer Software

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Value for money

5.0

Functionality

5.0

March 2020

The best database offering available

Excellent. The documentation is complete and well-written.

Pros

PostgreSQL is standards compliant, performant, high-quality, easy to use, well documented, innovative and feature-complete.

Cons

Replication still has a way to go compared to some competing offerings, but additional software can be used to fill in the missing features.

Reasons for Choosing PostgreSQL

firebird seems to be very slowly developed these days

Reasons for Switching to PostgreSQL

Postgresql is just better

July 2019

User Profile Picture

Petr from ATS Praha

Verified Reviewer

Company Size: 11-50 employees

Industry: Computer Software

Time Used: Less than 12 months

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

3.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

4.0

Functionality

4.0

July 2019

Object-relational open source database

We use PostgreSQL mainly for heavy load projects because to high write performance due to its MVCC approach, it largely eliminates the need for locking, and that the database effectively meets ACID principles.

Pros

Supports functions where the results are suitable for use as with tables. We can define own aggregate and window functions on that. Includes built-in support for B + tree, hash, GiST, GiN and custom index types. Support access using a system known as Multi-Version Concurrency Control (MVCC). Native support for many data types including XML support for Xpath queries or UUID. User defined objects, posibility to create new types of almost all objects in the database.

Cons

Possible worse performance in read operation.

December 2019

Anonymous

Verified Reviewer

Company Size: 11-50 employees

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Value for money

5.0

Functionality

5.0

December 2019

Nothing but praise for *the* SQL DBMS

We are running tens of Postgres databases and we have no reason to switch.

Pros

It's been reliable beyond all expectations. Put your data in Postgres, you know you'll find them when you need them.

Cons

VACUUMs are a big performance penalty, and the default auto-vacuum settings aren't always optimal for all use cases.

Reasons for Choosing PostgreSQL

It's more performant, stable and has more features.

October 2019

Aekansh from Goomo

Company Size: 201-500 employees

Industry: Computer Software

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Functionality

5.0

October 2019

Great SQL db

Pros

Free and open source database Ease of scaling the database Easy to work with date, time and timezone jsonb type is really great so we don't need to use non relational database like mongodb fast queries

Cons

I have yet not found a great admin tool for postgres. pgadmin is ok but It is not as good as phpmyadmin or others.

September 2020

User Profile Picture

Sanskriti from F1soft International Private Limited

Verified Reviewer

Company Size: 201-500 employees

Industry: Information Technology and Services

Time Used: Less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

4.0

Functionality

5.0

September 2020

Managing DB with PostgreSQL works fine.

PostgreSQL can process complex queries in relatively less time, and data can be accessed seemingly faster with non-key attributes. Since we deployed PostgreSQL at work we are delighted to see its flexibility and the better performance for our most common use cases.

Pros

Implementing the database in PostgreSQL is quick and efficient. PostgreSQL is much quicker with use-cases. Setting prototypes for development is relatively easier with PostgreSQL. It is a simply a relational database, and stores the data in tables, and supports complex transactions. Accessing data and attribute is faster in PostgreSQL especially when searching for an attribute that is not indexed. So it is great for sorting data in a relatively short period of time.

Cons

PostgreSQL is not flexible to JSON objects, even the nested documents or arrays are not handled with Postgres. It is slow when it comes to processing queries that use nested references, so we had to deal with more complexities at work.

March 2020

User Profile Picture

Danny from Abitab S.A.

Verified Reviewer

Company Size: 501-1,000 employees

Industry: Financial Services

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

4.0

Functionality

5.0

March 2020

PostgreSQL is a free and robust relational database management system

With PostgreSQL we can manipulate our databases that contain large volumes of data. The main benefit is that it is completely free. Also, there is no limit amount for users that can be added in the administration of the database. Another benefit is that it is compatible with different programming languages.

Pros

I like PostgreSQL for different reasons: - It has flexible implementation options. - Large volume databases can be stored. - It is possible to have multiple databases on a single server and have different configurations for them. - PostgreSQL is completely free. - Its base language is SQL, making it very easy to manipulate. - It has excellent administration toolkits.

Cons

I dislike PostgreSQL for different reasons: - I don't like that the more detailed documentation is only available in English. - It has a high CPU consumption.

July 2018

Jugraj from Paxcom India Pvt. Ltd.

Time Used: Less than 12 months

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

5.0

July 2018

Best Database Management System with wide range of Features

Pros

PostgreSQL is one of the best from the range of DBMS i used in my career. Features like Stored Procedures is one of the reason i prefer this tool. It helps me take off a huge amount of workload from the API server as same data need to format differently for different APIs. Along with it the availability of builtin functions like JSON functions, Regex Functions etc helps a lot in the data processing field. Connectors support for various languages is one of the main reason for using this tool. Connection Pooling helps me execute multiple queries without slowing the system and losing any data.

Cons

It is not suitable for beginners. Designing a efficient and effective Database workflow need a skilled DB Admin so a beginner need some time to get to familiar with the system. Another drawback is its management tool pgAdmin 4. Its a disaster compare to pgAdmin 3. It is a web App and lags a lot. I face problems in multitasking in version 4 that is not the case with version 3. I Hope someday somebody provide backward compatibility of PostgreSQL 10+ with pgAdmin 3.

July 2020

John from Internet

Company Size: 2-10 employees

Industry: Railroad Manufacture

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

5.0

July 2020

Amaing SQL Dialect and Database

Having PostgresSQL has enabled me to streamline development of many data pipelines. Not having to fumble over function parameters because of PostgresSQL's intuitive operations has improved my ease of work.

Pros

Love this dialect. I find many of the built in function improve experience but simplifying the needs for cryptic code. For example, changing from data type to another data type, one can use the :: operator. This operator is quick and easy to understand.

Cons

Unfortunately, sometimes code needs to be translated to more standard SQL that would work across multiple dialect. While the built in functions of PostgresSQL has improved my easy of use and because some of these functions are not standard SQL, I find myself having to continue using more cryptic, yet standard, SQL.

August 2019

George from AlgorX, Inc.

Company Size: 2-10 employees

Industry: Computer Software

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

4.0

Functionality

5.0

August 2019

The most advanced open-source database management system

We use PostgreSQL in most of our projects as a primary backend and our experience has been positive.

Pros

PostgreSQL is one of the most feature-rich, powerful and advanced open-source database management systems. Though this power comes at a cost. Using PostgreSQL in the best possible way takes some time. PostgreSQL is a real beast and it takes time before one becomes fully familiar with it.

Cons

Even with all the power that PostgreSQL gives, there are certain things that are missing. For example, until the latest versions there was no support for partitioning. Lack of a great graphic admin tool is a con in my opinion. Yes, it's possible to use (and we do) third party tools like DBeaver but a great database system must simply have its own admin GUI.

February 2020

User Profile Picture

Juan Carlos from Empower Data

Verified Reviewer

Company Size: 11-50 employees

Industry: Computer Software

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Value for money

4.0

Customer support

3.0

Functionality

5.0

February 2020

The open source db for bussines

I implemented a Solution on Infonavit the biggest credit giver on México they needed to save AND process data about their clients so I saved all the data on PostgreSQL everything worked like a charm ok PostgreSQL side

Pros

Free to use Robust technology Reliable Full compatibility with most integrations of AWS , Azure , Google , IBM Gasto , secure Not so hard learning curve Great community Constant upgrades

Cons

It feels a little bit overwhelming at the beginning Sometimes can be difficult to enable ok servers for the PDO driver

Reasons for Choosing PostgreSQL

Experience with the db

Reasons for Switching to PostgreSQL

The servers that IBM allowed yo have

April 2019

Anonymous

Verified Reviewer

Company Size: 501-1,000 employees

Time Used: Less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Value for money

4.0

Customer support

4.0

Functionality

4.0

April 2019

Best SQL for Analytics and in terms of speed.

By using PostgreSQL as backend database for our large applications which uses large amount of data then selling that applications to customers we are getting benefits.

Pros

PostgreSQL is the best I can say. Its performance is very fast in terms of getting data and inserting data. Means if we are inserting entries in bulk then it would do it in a good speed as compared to other databases. It is very good for Analytics and it has good tooling than other databases. It supported many other features like using of arrays which is not in MySql so I would say it is good database to use to make applications.

Cons

The big disadvantage is it takes more memory than other databases if you have many connections and replication is bit difficult in PostgreSQL which might get easy in future updates else it is a good software.

June 2019

User Profile Picture

debasis from Ericsson

Verified Reviewer

Company Size: 10,000+ employees

Industry: Telecommunications

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

4.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

3.0

Functionality

4.0

June 2019

postgres review

Pros

I like it is very easy to install and very light weight

Cons

It does not scale horizontally so it is difficult to handle large DBMS system

December 2018

User Profile Picture

Trey from Church Community Builder

Verified Reviewer

Company Size: 51-200 employees

Industry: Program Development

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Value for money

5.0

Functionality

5.0

December 2018

Best RDBMS

PostgreSQL is my favorite database management system by a long shot. I've professionally used MySQL, Maria DB, MS SQL Server, SQLite, MS Access, and several NoSQL options and Postgres is the best by far. It has a great community around a great product. The official docs are very approachable and I learn new things every time I use it. They built a strong core around consistency and reliability and ever since 9.0 they've made the system really really fast. I can't recommend this software enough!

Pros

Very strong consistency and reliability Feature set is growing rapidly Very fast and efficient Very developer friendly Very extensible

Cons

There are lots and lots of configuration options and the defaults aren't right for modern hardware

December 2019

User Profile Picture

Trang from FPT Software

Verified Reviewer

Company Size: 1,001-5,000 employees

Industry: Computer Software

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Value for money

5.0

Functionality

5.0

December 2019

Best ORDBMS with full support of stored procedures and triggers

We use PostgreSQL as the main database in our system which we need in our system to processing and does an additional task at the database level and frequency need to use complex SQL which needs to join between the table and View. With PostgreSQL we could store the whole of our JSON object instead of breaking down to field like other sequence databases

Pros

PostgreSQL provides the complex functions in its stored procedures and triggers. PostgreSQL also works well in the JSON file, it allows us to store, search and index by JSON content data. It provides privileges at the object level to User and Role to make data more secure. It has many advance SQL command like Table joins, Subquery and Views, the performance of PostgresSQL is greate when we need to execute complex SQL command

Cons

It does not cache the Query execution plans so sometimes cause a delay when we need to run SQL repeatedly. Its UI tool, PgAdmin's is not good compared with other tools that lack some function of the search or Scrolling.

June 2018

User Profile Picture

Samantha from IT Solutions Consulting, Inc.

Verified Reviewer

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

4.0

Value for money

4.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

4.0

June 2018

The best SQL and open source database.

Because range queries are integrated, it is much less effort to query compared to MySQL.

Pros

 It is fast and reliable, manages inserts and updates of tens of thousands of lines impeccably. PostgreSQL implements SQL standards very well and supports advanced SQL stuff, the PostSQL database works very well with hibernation HPA and we have been using it extensively together with the Spring framework, the consistency is also very good, you will never lose data or lose data. JSON support in the latest version has made things easier for us now, since we do not need to migrate the schema as always before.  Finally, the backup methods through pg_dump are easy to use and ensure that you can always back up before any major changes.

Cons

It is not very intuitive, in my opinion, and I think those problems must be solved before I can get the kind of traction that MySQL has, also more open sources admit mysql but not postgres. These are some of the problems with postgres.

March 2019

User Profile Picture

Jorge from Carrilho Engineering

Verified Reviewer

Company Size: 11-50 employees

Industry: Telecommunications

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

4.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

4.0

Functionality

5.0

March 2019

Rock-solid and high performance database engine

We've been relying in PostgreSQL as the main relational database for many of our projects, and it has never let us down. Besides, it just keeps getting better version after version.

Pros

High availability through streaming replication; High levels of parallel query execution introduced in latest release (v11); Lots of data types supported, including JSON; Transactions support in Stored Procedures; Very stable and reliable; Great community plugins available (like Timescale for TSDB and GIS for geo data)

Cons

Native tooling has room for improvement, but there's lots of 3rd party alternatives available; Documentation has room for improvement;

December 2019

User Profile Picture

Cristian from Swapps

Verified Reviewer

Company Size: 11-50 employees

Industry: Telecommunications

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Functionality

5.0

December 2019

The best relational database out there. Period.

We use postgreSQL whenever we can. In our projects in python or elixir we use it as our relational database of choice, and it has not disappointed. It has some domain specific features that can help you keep everything centralized, like document support (json) or full text search (search engine). If you have not tried it, go ahead and do it!

Pros

Stable, resilient, fast. It has everything you could need from a relational database plus more. We have worked on really big databases with no issues when using postgresql.

Cons

There are some differences in syntax to other SQL databases, but overall they are not hard to understand and learn.

June 2018

User Profile Picture

Alvaro from Koombea

Verified Reviewer

Company Size: 51-200 employees

Industry: Internet

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

5.0

June 2018

Best database for RoR apps

Pros

- Scalability is a key factor in a database and PosgreSQL handle this large amounts of data without breaking a sweat. - Rich text queries runs smoothly as well. - The integration with ActiveRector is awesome!! - I think is the most famous free database in the market right now, so that means that when an error happen you will have a good community that will have your back.

Cons

- There isn't many thing to say about PosgreSQL, I will say that the most traumatic part is the installation but once you have it up and running this should be a walk in the park for a developer to use.

June 2018

User Profile Picture

ritesh from COVIAM

Verified Reviewer

Company Size: 201-500 employees

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

5.0

June 2018

Wanted to use an open source object-relational database for our project and postgres worked well

Pros

1)Easy installation with good user guide 2)Scales pretty well for big applications 3)Support for high availability can be easily implemented by going through the documentation 4)Have yet to find any database related issues in our application since the time application was launched 5)Good Java-sql mapping of data types 6)Works wonders with JPA implementations 7)Postgresql's query optimiser is one of the best i have seen so far

Cons

Again since the software has so much to offer it can be sometime hard to learn all the features.Other than that there is no cons as such

Displaying 1 - 50 of 303 reviews