All SQLite Reviews

1-25 of 115 Reviews

Sort by

Reviews are by default sorted by Recommended to software buyers, driven by our proprietary algorithm reflecting the depth and quality of the review, recency of experience, and other factors. As a neutral reviews platform, the star rating of the review is not considered in the "Recommended" ranking, and there is currently no voting mechanism that would allow site visitors to influence the ranking.
User Profile

Ramindu

Verified reviewer

Computer Software, 10,000+ employees

Used weekly for more than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra
This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

4

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

2

FUNCTIONALITY

3

Reviewed November 2019

The best solution for small, pre-packaged databases

We included SQLite alongside web and mobile applications where a small database was needed with minimum latency. Most commonly, this use case involved storing dynamic configuration values and user preferences.

PROS

SQLite is a great database solution when you have a small database that you need to package alongside an application, for example a database that stores user preferences. As it is local to the application, it bypasses issues you would have with other, larger database servers in terms of network latency. Its conformity (in the large part) to MySQL syntax and features make it easy to use as well.

CONS

While SQLite's lack of scaling features is forgivable (that wasn't what it was built for after all) some SQL features that are not implemented make it a hassle to write queries to SQLite databases in some instances.

User Profile

Anderson

Verified reviewer

Information Technology and Services, 201-500 employees

Used daily for less than 12 months

Review Source: Capterra
This review was submitted organically. No incentive was offered

OVERALL RATING:

4

EASE OF USE

3

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

3

FUNCTIONALITY

2

Reviewed November 2018

Easy to become a problem

On a Windows Forms app we used to query services thousand times for data that does not change so frequently. We also had to store some business information (imagine as storing a wizard progress) and that used to be handled using TXT files (and it was a mess). We changed to SQLite and it worked almost like a charm but as the app grew and we decided to create an architecture similar to Google Chrome (multiple processes) it became a major problem for all of them to both read and write at it (we had to create a proxy app to write).

PROS

Integrates nicely with .NET (specially Windows Forms) applications, it's really easy to use (specially if you're already familiar with SQL Server) and deployment is really easy (copy/paste required files).

CONS

It's locking architecture enables only a single process to write at a time so building a more complex application may cause hard-to-solve problems.

Pablo

Information Technology and Services, 5,001-10,000 employees

Used weekly for less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra
This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

OVERALL RATING:

3

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

FUNCTIONALITY

4

Reviewed September 2019

My Own Experience working with SQLite

My overall experience using SQLite is good, but it is based on small projects, always working locally and with little information. If you are thinking of working on large-volume information projects, I recommend other applications related to somewhat better, more visual databases, and with more functions to generate code and store queries or procedures.

PROS

The best thing about SQLite is undoubtedly that you can work with it for free. In addition with SQLite we can perform any type of query that we would perform with another program.

CONS

What I like least about SQLite is undoubtedly nothing visual. The way to work with SQLite is through the console, and this may seem silly, and when you are accustomed it may not matter, but for people who begin to familiarize themselves with database environments, it is really useful for tables, and which is done with them, be fully visible. When displaying results by console, unless you print them in an external table, such as an Excel workbook, it will be quite complicated to see and analyze large results (Tables over 10k rows for example)

Reasons for switching to SQLite

I just needed it because I was working with large volumes of information.

User Profile

Nera Joy

Verified reviewer

Used daily for more than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra
This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

OVERALL RATING:

4

EASE OF USE

4

VALUE FOR MONEY

3

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

3

FUNCTIONALITY

2

Reviewed June 2018

A good choice for storing small and local data

PROS

I love how SQLite is so portable, and can be used in different platforms. I doesn't need any bulky installation for me to use. It is so lightweight and there is no learning curve when you came from MS SQL.

CONS

Maybe when opening a large sqlite file around 1GB above, it hangs up and sometimes fails to load. But maybe that's my fault because SQLite is not intended for storing large data. Good product anyway.

User Profile

Rahul

Verified reviewer

Information Services, 11-50 employees

Used weekly for less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra
This review was submitted organically. No incentive was offered

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

5

FUNCTIONALITY

5

Reviewed January 2019

A lightweight relational database management system especially for offline mobile applications and d

We have used SQLite in developing many mobile apps, mostly Android App and as a database at back end we integrated this light weight DB system. The processing speed of queries is exceptionally fast. All the databases are working well.

PROS

SQLite is object based relational query language which keeps and maintained the whole databases in a very light weight, usually within 500kb to 1mb size, depending on size of databases. This database system has everything which a standard databases must have like relationships, events, all operations, etc. SQLite is very helpful in building application for Mobiles which stores databases in locally.

CONS

1. No dedicated server required. 2. Very light weight and easy to follow commands with knowledge. 3. Large community support makes learning this language even more fast and easy 4. Easy to keep backups as the whole database stored in single file. 5. Easy to implement and integrate.

User Profile

Kaleb-John

Verified reviewer

Computer Networking, 201-500 employees

Used weekly for more than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra
This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

OVERALL RATING:

4

EASE OF USE

4

VALUE FOR MONEY

4

FUNCTIONALITY

4

Reviewed June 2019

Exactly what the name says SQL lite

Whenever I need a database, SQLite is always a top option. Local storage is needed in most projects and the ability to use SQLite on almost any platform in almost any language means I always have the ability to execute the project with ease.

PROS

SQLite is a go to for when I need a quick lite weight database. It provides the ability to create local storage with the ability to integrate into most programming languages. It uses the familiar SQL structure and doesn't require any administration.

CONS

There are some areas where it deviates from using SQL language, but it is usually easily fixed by a quick Google search.

User Profile

Yngrid

Verified reviewer

Used weekly for less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra
This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

3

FUNCTIONALITY

5

Reviewed July 2018

Database manager very functional, fast and easy to use for different programming languages

It is a public domain tool that when created with the C ++ language gives those who have experience in programming the facility to adapt it to their requirements, SQLite is independent of the platform. The operations are carried out very efficiently with a single library and a small memory

PROS

This Database Manager is really very functional, transactions are fast and its simple interface makes it easy to use, you can work with different programming languages such as PHP and phyton. It is much less complex than other handlers such as Postgres or MySQL

CONS

It is not recommended for systems that use a large amount of data, rather for medium-sized applications or for websites whose number of transactions is very high. It also does not support systems under the client-server platform

User Profile

Manuel Eduardo

Verified reviewer

Computer Software, 1 employee

Used weekly for less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra
This review was submitted organically. No incentive was offered

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

3

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

4

FUNCTIONALITY

5

Reviewed June 2022

A complete and productive database manager

As a student, I have used SQLite in several projects, in which my experience has been good. Thanks to its interface, understanding all its specific functions was not so difficult for me and at the same time working with its tools is an effective and fast process.

PROS

Access to databases created in SQLite is fast and easy, because it works as its own independent server. Its connection and management with computer and mobile applications is one of the best, its interface is quite simple and easy to use for the user.

CONS

It seems to me the most complete program in its field of work, so I don't see any cons about this program.

User Profile

Ashok

Verified reviewer

11-50 employees

Used daily for less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra
This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

4

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

4

FUNCTIONALITY

3

Reviewed April 2018

To store small data perfect solution

PROS

1. It is free 2. Easy to set up and connect 3. Multiple person can use simultaneously which we cann't do in CSV

CONS

1. Integration with some other tools is not so much easy 2. Loading time for existing tables is little high 3. No stored procedure can be written

User Profile

Mohamed

Verified reviewer

Information Technology and Services, 201-500 employees

Used daily for less than 12 months

Review Source: Capterra
This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

5

FUNCTIONALITY

4

Reviewed July 2019

Used it for a small python project, and It was great

PROS

It's in the name, it's very light and easy to run, but what I like most is the interface, it's simple and doesn't need a learning curve.

CONS

Some features aren't available, like some sql commands and also when a lot of people are updating the db, this may cause a data crash.

Thang

Information Technology and Services, 51-200 employees

Used daily for more than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra
This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

FUNCTIONALITY

4

Reviewed December 2019

Reliable and battle tested database engine

I had been using it for Windows, iOS, backend and Android for many purposes. The support for sqlite always straight forward. I would recommend sqlite for tasks which not use joins nor store procedures. Native security is quite weak without supporting encrypt particular table or column.

PROS

Lightweight relational database, works on many platforms and has gain support from popularity in community. The toolkit for developing is great and easy to understand the concept. Integration to mobile is a nicer experience compare to other db engine. The speed and datasize is good for mobile as well.

CONS

We need to define data structure first before actually implement features, any mismatch in database scheme must be resolved using migration. The locking architecture only allow a single process to write at a time - no high volume transaction - and it isn’t able to scale to hundreds of users nor store large amount of data.

Tigran

Financial Services, 11-50 employees

Used daily for less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra
This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

OVERALL RATING:

4

EASE OF USE

4

FUNCTIONALITY

4

Reviewed July 2021

Nice for small solutions

Pretty good for quick tests and development experiments, especially when you like SQL, not great for large production-grade datasets.

PROS

It is serverless, needs no configuration, easy to start working with and use in development, especially when fixing/improving some legacy software. When used correctly, especially with limited amount of data, allows for fast queries.

CONS

It is not built for large-scale applications. Another thing is that it is not easy to predict performance for queries on large amounts of data, even if the user knows how that database is built. It is sometimes easier to design your own (customized) data structure rather than using the standard product.

Reason for choosing SQLite

Compatibility with legacy software

Steve

Electrical/Electronic Manufacturing, 11-50 employees

Used weekly for more than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra
This review was submitted organically. No incentive was offered

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

4

FUNCTIONALITY

4

Reviewed June 2022

Very good local database.

PROS

We use it in our software when we need little local database. The API with c# is very easy to learn. I recommand this if you need local database.

CONS

There is no data viewer include. You need to find an alternative.

Carl

Computer Software, 1 employee

Used weekly for more than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra
This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

FUNCTIONALITY

5

Reviewed February 2019

Great for simple persistent storage

PROS

SQLite is great because it is really easy to interface with a number of languages, my preference being C#. This allows me to create persistent storage for my applications or Unity games. SQLite is also great because it does not require an installation, either on the developers side nor the players side, it is a simple DLL which can be embedded into the application with ease. It also has great support with database management GUIs allowing me to debug the database very quickly.

CONS

Off the top of my head, there are no glaring issues with SQLite. However it is important to know when a system like this is needed as opposed to another simple storage option such as XML/JSON etc.

Luis Miguel

Computer Software, 10,000+ employees

Used daily for less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra
This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

5

Reviewed August 2019

Great tool to have lightweight data bases.

I was a part of team developing micro-services in python, and we used SQL Lite to store persistent information on each microservice. It is a great option because the setup it's really simple.

PROS

* Really easy to install. * It has compatibility with different operating systems. * It can be used in many programming languages. * The command line is easy to use.

CONS

* It's a light weight database if you are trying to save too much data you will face some problems.

User Profile

Drew

Verified reviewer

Transportation/Trucking/Railroad, 11-50 employees

Used weekly for less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra
This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

OVERALL RATING:

2

EASE OF USE

3

VALUE FOR MONEY

3

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

1

FUNCTIONALITY

2

Reviewed August 2018

Very Basic SQL engine for iPad

This is a budget choice for SQL on iOS if you're building some sort of mobile app that requires databasing. If you're looking for extensible support and lots of features, this ain't it. If you need basic databasing and are working to keep costs down, this may be a good choice, but I wouldn't recommend it outright.

PROS

Compatible on multiple versions of iOS across my environment. Works well with app it was designed to work for. Pretty stable and predictable performance. Management GUI is excellet.

CONS

It lacks some very basic features most mobile SQL engines would have. Stuff like importing DB's from external apps is just non-existent.

Anonymous

51-200 employees

Used more than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra
This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

5

Reviewed April 2018

You need a small database without problems? the answer is: SQLite

PROS

small, easy, no complicated stored procedure. You choose how to use and STOP. SQLite is ok if need a database for your application . No problem with a lot of datas: I've managed SQLite database with Millions of records.

CONS

Use only for storage information. No other features are available: No native stored procedure. So internal procedure are impossible.

Danoosh

Used weekly for less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra
This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

OVERALL RATING:

4

EASE OF USE

5

FUNCTIONALITY

3

Reviewed May 2018

A suitable light weight for small applications (and learning)

PROS

I use this for teaching SQL and databases to beginners. It is very easy to setup and navigate (command line and DB browser). It has reasonable power to deal with mid-range databases for developing and supporting small applications

CONS

If you are working with enterprise scale data (even small in enterprise realm), it will crash on you quite easily. You can not have multiple connections and it does not have many features of free MySQL

Jimcarl

Information Technology and Services, 1,001-5,000 employees

Used daily for less than 12 months

Review Source: Capterra
This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

OVERALL RATING:

4

EASE OF USE

4

VALUE FOR MONEY

4

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

4

FUNCTIONALITY

4

Reviewed September 2018

Good choice for portable database

PROS

I like how SQLite offer T-SQL despite of being a portable database. I can create moderately complex queries and still runs fine.

CONS

There's nothing I really don't like with SQLite. It's free and does the job.

User Profile

Dhruvil

Verified reviewer

Information Technology and Services, 11-50 employees

Used daily for less than 12 months

Review Source: Capterra
This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY