User Reviews Overview

Feature Ratings

Ease-of-use

4.5 / 5

Value for Money

4.5 / 5

Customer Support

3.5 / 5

Functionality

4.0 / 5

Ratings Breakdown

5 stars

(45)

45

4 stars

(31)

31

3 stars

(6)

6

2 stars

(1)

1

1 stars

(0)

0

  • Pros

  • "Compact Fast Easy to use Preinstalled in most platform"

  • "* Really easy to install. * It has compatibility with different operating systems. * It can be used in many programming languages. * The command line is easy to use."

  • "1. It is free 2. Easy to set up and connect 3. Multiple person can use simultaneously which we cann't do in CSV"

  • Cons

  • "Maybe when opening a large sqlite file around 1GB above, it hangs up and sometimes fails to load. But maybe that's my fault because SQLite is not intended for storing large data. Good product anyway."

  • "It's locking architecture enables only a single process to write at a time so building a more complex application may cause hard-to-solve problems."

  • "1. Integration with some other tools is not so much easy 2. Loading time for existing tables is little high 3. No stored procedure can be written"

Browse SQLite Reviews

Filter by:

Sort by:
 

Showing -49 - 0 of 83 results

March 2019

User Profile Picture

Stephen from Stargrade Group Nigeria

Verified Reviewer

Company Size: 11-50 employees

Industry: Computer Software

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

4.0

Functionality

5.0

March 2019

Perfect database tool for embedded software

I work a lot with SQLite as it is the primary medium of local storage in Android devices (and by extension, Android applications) which I work with on a daily basis, and SQLite is just perfect for the purpose it serves on these devices. It's lightweight so you don't have to worry most times about how much of the user's storage space your database is going to take up. There's not much difference between the standard SQL commands and those used in SQLite, and many have reported that SQLite is a good starting and training resource for SQL in general.

Pros

Doesn't need a separate server. Lightweight and portable. Integrates most of the commands, functions and syntax of other SQL software. Optimized for use on devices that need to store data locally. Large user base and community (support).

Cons

All operations are locked to a single process, so it's not suitable for large scale database operations (which is not what you should be doing locally on a device anyway).

November 2019

User Profile Picture

Ramindu from Virtusa Corporation

Verified Reviewer

Company Size: 10,000+ employees

Industry: Computer Software

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

4.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

2.0

Functionality

3.0

November 2019

The best solution for small, pre-packaged databases

We included SQLite alongside web and mobile applications where a small database was needed with minimum latency. Most commonly, this use case involved storing dynamic configuration values and user preferences.

Pros

SQLite is a great database solution when you have a small database that you need to package alongside an application, for example a database that stores user preferences. As it is local to the application, it bypasses issues you would have with other, larger database servers in terms of network latency. Its conformity (in the large part) to MySQL syntax and features make it easy to use as well.

Cons

While SQLite's lack of scaling features is forgivable (that wasn't what it was built for after all) some SQL features that are not implemented make it a hassle to write queries to SQLite databases in some instances.

April 2019

User Profile Picture

Chaya from Scienter Technologies (Pte) Ltd

Verified Reviewer

Company Size: 51-200 employees

Industry: Computer Software

Time Used: Less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

3.0

Value for money

3.0

Customer support

2.0

Functionality

3.0

April 2019

SQLite - compatability at it's best level

SQLite has become more and more popular among the users because of its easy installation and easy accessing . As it is compatible with most of the programming languages and its light weight it is more popular among mobile application developers

Pros

SQLite is a light weighted data base which could be embedded with any software. Due to the light weightage of the product the data base is more popular In mobile application development. With it’s light weight it is also fast. SQLite is almost 35% faster than any other file system. SQLite is easy to use and there is not special installation or configurations needed to be done in order to use the product. All user have to do is download the libraries and run them in the computer. It is compatible which is why the product can be used with many programming languages with out any issues. Users are given a chance to extend their data base in future by adding new tables or new columns to the existing tables which is a great help for the ongoing projects.

Cons

SQLite is not a multi-user platform where the users can handle concurrent writes. There for SQLite is not good for intensive applications with rapid data logging. If the system has concurrent transactions where lot of users keep accessing the same set of data simultaneously then SQLite is not a good choice for the project. SQLite data bases are restricted to maximum of 2GB in most of the cases.

February 2021

User Profile Picture

Guilherme from Dngx

Verified Reviewer

Company Size: 11-50 employees

Industry: Computer Software

Time Used: Less than 12 months

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

5.0

February 2021

A solução para os meus problemas

Eu estava com muitas dificuldades para encontrar qual dado nao estava sincronizando offline no meu device, e, com a ajuda do sqlite consegui meio que debugar os valores que estavam passando incorretamentes e virar a chave do meu sistema. Muito bom!

Pros

Proporciona com uma facilidade enorme a consulta de dados, para quem é desenvolvedor é uma ferramenta essencial para validações, alterações à nível de banco, ou seja, a praticidade do software é extremamente agradável.

Cons

Deveriam existir mais documentações de uso, eu, quando estava iniciando tive muita dificuldade para conseguir extrair um banco de dados de um dispositivo para enfim importá-lo no sqlite. Mas de resto, é o simples que é funcional.

January 2019

User Profile Picture

Rahul from DealsShutter

Verified Reviewer

Company Size: 11-50 employees

Industry: Information Services

Time Used: Less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Functionality

5.0

January 2019

A lightweight relational database management system especially for offline mobile applications and d

We have used SQLite in developing many mobile apps, mostly Android App and as a database at back end we integrated this light weight DB system. The processing speed of queries is exceptionally fast. All the databases are working well.

Pros

SQLite is object based relational query language which keeps and maintained the whole databases in a very light weight, usually within 500kb to 1mb size, depending on size of databases. This database system has everything which a standard databases must have like relationships, events, all operations, etc. SQLite is very helpful in building application for Mobiles which stores databases in locally.

Cons

1. No dedicated server required. 2. Very light weight and easy to follow commands with knowledge. 3. Large community support makes learning this language even more fast and easy 4. Easy to keep backups as the whole database stored in single file. 5. Easy to implement and integrate.

September 2019

Pablo from Everis

Company Size: 5,001-10,000 employees

Industry: Information Technology and Services

Time Used: Less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Value for money

5.0

Functionality

4.0

September 2019

My Own Experience working with SQLite

My overall experience using SQLite is good, but it is based on small projects, always working locally and with little information. If you are thinking of working on large-volume information projects, I recommend other applications related to somewhat better, more visual databases, and with more functions to generate code and store queries or procedures.

Pros

The best thing about SQLite is undoubtedly that you can work with it for free. In addition with SQLite we can perform any type of query that we would perform with another program.

Cons

What I like least about SQLite is undoubtedly nothing visual. The way to work with SQLite is through the console, and this may seem silly, and when you are accustomed it may not matter, but for people who begin to familiarize themselves with database environments, it is really useful for tables, and which is done with them, be fully visible. When displaying results by console, unless you print them in an external table, such as an Excel workbook, it will be quite complicated to see and analyze large results (Tables over 10k rows for example)

Reasons for Switching to SQLite

I just needed it because I was working with large volumes of information.

October 2020

User Profile Picture

Gustavo from Xaver

Verified Reviewer

Company Size: 2-10 employees

Industry: Program Development

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

3.0

Functionality

2.0

October 2020

Excelente base de datos de desarrollo

Es muy fácil de configurar y empezar nuevas aplicaciones sin tener que instalar nada más o montar un docker con postgres o mysql es muy cómodo, sobre todo para principiantes. Las funcionalidades que provee son las básicas pero en general suficientes cuando tienes que desarrollar prototipos o "aplicaciones de laboratorio" destinadas a aprender. Al guardar los datos en un fichero es muy fácil llevarlo junto con el código para tener guardada una configuración inicial para el proyecto.

Pros

Cuando comienzas un proyecto en Ruby on Rails, sqlite viene por defecto como motor de base de datos, por lo tanto su configuración para guardar los datos en un fichero es muy sencilla y de este modo es fácil comenzar a desarrollar un nuevo proyecto. Es fácil de configurar y muy efectivo como base de datos de desarrollo.

Cons

Al ser una base de datos basada en un fichero, su performance no es muy buena, y si debes realizar pruebas de performance te recomiendo utilizar el motor de base de datos que tengas en producción. Por otro lado, hay algunas funcionalidades como columnas array o hstore no están disponibles por lo que en ese caso no podrás utilizarla.

August 2020

Umut from Playable Factory

Verified Reviewer

Company Size: 11-50 employees

Industry: Entertainment

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

3.0

Functionality

4.0

August 2020

Fast Embedded database

Pros

Compact Fast Easy to use Preinstalled in most platform

Cons

Do not support nosql features Do not support multi client

June 2020

Zach from Cisco

Company Size: 10,000+ employees

Industry: Computer Networking

Time Used: Less than 12 months

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

4.0

Functionality

4.0

June 2020

fast flexible database with robust features

SQLite works great for our specific use case as we prefer performance over HA / concurrency.

Pros

Extremely portable and fast ACID store. SQLite is very battle tested and highly performant. There are many bindings for various programming languages which makes it easy to get started with. If you couple SQLite with fast SSD, the performance is incredible (since it's just a file). Backup and restore is super easy and fast.

Cons

SQLite is for a very specific use case and there are no distribution properties or guarantees. Designed to be very simple so not a lot of tuning for SQLite. If you want high availability and concurrency, you may want to look at a different solution.

January 2021

Sadia from Infotech

Verified Reviewer

Company Size: 201-500 employees

Industry: Computer Software

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

4.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

4.0

January 2021

Lightweight, Easy to integrate

Pros

If the application is not an ERP sort of then Sqlite is the best choice, it's easy to integrate and fast if the data is small. Best choice for beginners as well.

Cons

Its performance is really impacted if the data gets large overtime. Not a good choice for applications with many users.

September 2019

Gareth from IO

Company Size: 11-50 employees

Industry: Computer Software

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

4.0

Functionality

4.0

September 2019

A standard for testing

SQLite allows us to setup and test all our database structures, it's quick and easy to get going and it stays out of your way. Most of the time you'll forget that it's even part of your tech stack.

Pros

I like that SQLite for the most part stays out of your way. As soon as you have your desired config set up, you can transfer it with ease to most other projects and it just works. We use SQLite for testing purposes as it speeds up the entire process. You can either spin a local instance up or have it run in-memory to speed up your tests. The fact that it's usage is so ubiquitous, finding help or answers online isn't an issue at all.

Cons

If I had to fault it at something, there is an edge case with how it builds your database structure, especially with how it handles foreign keys. It's easily handled by adjusting your test setup structure. That's the only hiccup we ever had and resolved with ease.

December 2019

Thang from Virta Ltd.

Company Size: 51-200 employees

Industry: Information Technology and Services

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Value for money

5.0

Functionality

4.0

December 2019

Reliable and battle tested database engine

I had been using it for Windows, iOS, backend and Android for many purposes. The support for sqlite always straight forward. I would recommend sqlite for tasks which not use joins nor store procedures. Native security is quite weak without supporting encrypt particular table or column.

Pros

Lightweight relational database, works on many platforms and has gain support from popularity in community. The toolkit for developing is great and easy to understand the concept. Integration to mobile is a nicer experience compare to other db engine. The speed and datasize is good for mobile as well.

Cons

We need to define data structure first before actually implement features, any mismatch in database scheme must be resolved using migration. The locking architecture only allow a single process to write at a time - no high volume transaction - and it isn’t able to scale to hundreds of users nor store large amount of data.

April 2019

Anonymous

Verified Reviewer

Company Size: 11-50 employees

Time Used: Less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

4.0

Value for money

4.0

Customer support

4.0

Functionality

4.0

April 2019

No server required, used for standalone application and less configuration

We are using SQLite for java and android application. SQLite is use for small and mid level organization as well because its cost affordable for any one. There is no required to back up every time because SQLite make a file for backup .

Pros

SQLite is very faster then other database as performance wise. we are using SQLite for mobile application and desktop application. Mose imp feature i like in SQLite is at the time of deployment on production it not required any space. SQLite is lightweight. select query is very faster in standalone application.

Cons

There is no reporting functionality in SQLite. At the time of multiple insert query perform in queue that its goes slow for some time. There is administration in SQLite,so its very difficult to manage for multiple user.

October 2019

Anonymous

Verified Reviewer

Company Size: 2-10 employees

Time Used: Less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Functionality

3.0

October 2019

Great Database For Smaller Loads

This is definitely a great option when we are working on smaller projects that require and embedded database rather than the whole database setup. You quickly get up and running but security is definitely a concern when working on more sensitive work

Pros

It doesn't required installing an extra software. Provides the essentials in terms of structured query language which is often better than having to use a text file, especially when relations are involved. It is very cross-platform from mobile, desktop etc which makes life easier.

Cons

When it comes to systems that may have a lot of concurrent actions it, in my experience, often tends to lock up. It doesn't give much in terms of allowing to tune performance for more complex scenarios. There is no user management in place thus there are not permissions, it may not be the best option for more sensitive data Last I checked there was no date data type which means enforcing that date formats conformity is often on the developer's side.

Reasons for Choosing SQLite

SQLite felt like it had less requirements and MS Access is obviously paid unlike the free SQLite

November 2018

User Profile Picture

Anderson from Questrade Financial Group

Verified Reviewer

Company Size: 201-500 employees

Industry: Information Technology and Services

Time Used: Less than 12 months

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

3.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

3.0

Functionality

2.0

November 2018

Easy to become a problem

On a Windows Forms app we used to query services thousand times for data that does not change so frequently. We also had to store some business information (imagine as storing a wizard progress) and that used to be handled using TXT files (and it was a mess). We changed to SQLite and it worked almost like a charm but as the app grew and we decided to create an architecture similar to Google Chrome (multiple processes) it became a major problem for all of them to both read and write at it (we had to create a proxy app to write).

Pros

Integrates nicely with .NET (specially Windows Forms) applications, it's really easy to use (specially if you're already familiar with SQL Server) and deployment is really easy (copy/paste required files).

Cons

It's locking architecture enables only a single process to write at a time so building a more complex application may cause hard-to-solve problems.

December 2019

Mehak from To The New

Company Size: 1,001-5,000 employees

Industry: Computer Software

Time Used: Less than 12 months

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

4.0

Functionality

3.0

December 2019

Free and quick to setup and use.

The use-case I used SQLite was fairly simple I had to set up some small application quickly so this was the best possible solution for me.

Pros

The fact that it requires no installation makes it suitable for a quick application setup. It's a very lightweight tool that makes it useable across many systems. SQLite does not require a separate location that can be on the same server location which makes the I/O processing really fast and reliable.

Cons

Due to the lightweight, there ought to be some restrictions one of them is that a large number of concurrent access might let to a system crash. One more issue is that is works with whole DB lock while performing a write operation so all the write operations are sequential.

June 2018

User Profile Picture

Nera Joy from Datahold Phils. Inc.

Verified Reviewer

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

4.0

Value for money

3.0

Customer support

3.0

Functionality

2.0

June 2018

A good choice for storing small and local data

Pros

I love how SQLite is so portable, and can be used in different platforms. I doesn't need any bulky installation for me to use. It is so lightweight and there is no learning curve when you came from MS SQL.

Cons

Maybe when opening a large sqlite file around 1GB above, it hangs up and sometimes fails to load. But maybe that's my fault because SQLite is not intended for storing large data. Good product anyway.

March 2019

Anonymous

Verified Reviewer

Company Size: 11-50 employees

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Value for money

5.0

Functionality

5.0

March 2019

The perfect landscape to train and test SQL

Integrates well with SQL learning tool. Followed many guides in my quest to learn SQL and almost all suggested SQLite. This is mostly for training and testing.

Pros

About as simple as it gets -- as the name suggests. Made learning SQL easy knowing I wouldn't be affecting my own database.

Cons

I truly enjoyed using the product although I never use it anymore. It sits dormant on my computer now that I have a grasp of SQL.

August 2019

George from AlgorX, Inc.

Company Size: 2-10 employees

Industry: Computer Software

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

4.0

Value for money

4.0

Functionality

4.0

August 2019

Great choice if you use it correctly

Pros

SQLite is a fantastic database for resource-constraint systems or for those cases where full-blown SQL client-server system is not required. SQLite has been probably implemented for any platform. It even exists for microcontrollers. When used properly, SQLite makes programmers life easy.

Cons

There is nothing that I dislike about SQLite.

February 2019

Carl from Self-Employed

Company Size: 1 employee

Industry: Computer Software

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Value for money

5.0

Functionality

5.0

February 2019

Great for simple persistent storage

Pros

SQLite is great because it is really easy to interface with a number of languages, my preference being C#. This allows me to create persistent storage for my applications or Unity games. SQLite is also great because it does not require an installation, either on the developers side nor the players side, it is a simple DLL which can be embedded into the application with ease. It also has great support with database management GUIs allowing me to debug the database very quickly.

Cons

Off the top of my head, there are no glaring issues with SQLite. However it is important to know when a system like this is needed as opposed to another simple storage option such as XML/JSON etc.

August 2019

Luis Miguel from Intel

Company Size: 10,000+ employees

Industry: Computer Software

Time Used: Less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

5.0

August 2019

Great tool to have lightweight data bases.

I was a part of team developing micro-services in python, and we used SQL Lite to store persistent information on each microservice. It is a great option because the setup it's really simple.

Pros

* Really easy to install. * It has compatibility with different operating systems. * It can be used in many programming languages. * The command line is easy to use.

Cons

* It's a light weight database if you are trying to save too much data you will face some problems.

June 2019

Kaleb-John from Spirent

Verified Reviewer

Company Size: 201-500 employees

Industry: Computer Networking

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

4.0

Value for money

4.0

Functionality

4.0

June 2019

Exactly what the name says SQL lite

Whenever I need a database, SQLite is always a top option. Local storage is needed in most projects and the ability to use SQLite on almost any platform in almost any language means I always have the ability to execute the project with ease.

Pros

SQLite is a go to for when I need a quick lite weight database. It provides the ability to create local storage with the ability to integrate into most programming languages. It uses the familiar SQL structure and doesn't require any administration.

Cons

There are some areas where it deviates from using SQL language, but it is usually easily fixed by a quick Google search.

July 2018

User Profile Picture

Yngrid from Universidad Politecnica Territorial de Aragua

Verified Reviewer

Time Used: Less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

3.0

Functionality

5.0

July 2018

Database manager very functional, fast and easy to use for different programming languages

It is a public domain tool that when created with the C ++ language gives those who have experience in programming the facility to adapt it to their requirements, SQLite is independent of the platform. The operations are carried out very efficiently with a single library and a small memory

Pros

This Database Manager is really very functional, transactions are fast and its simple interface makes it easy to use, you can work with different programming languages such as PHP and phyton. It is much less complex than other handlers such as Postgres or MySQL

Cons

It is not recommended for systems that use a large amount of data, rather for medium-sized applications or for websites whose number of transactions is very high. It also does not support systems under the client-server platform

April 2019

Anonymous

Verified Reviewer

Company Size: 11-50 employees

Time Used: Less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

5.0

April 2019

A very efficient way to store certain kinds of data.

We use it for storing certain data.

Pros

You get all the benefits of using sql statements without having to set up a sql server online.

Cons

SQL syntax varies between the different versions of sql so the syntax you are familiar with may or may not be available in sqlite.

April 2019

Anonymous

Verified Reviewer

Company Size: 2-10 employees

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

4.0

Functionality

3.0

April 2019

Open Source solution for local persistence

Pros

It’s lightweight, it complies most simple SQL language, it does not need a server process working and it’s free. These make SQLite a good option to store information locally in your application without running any extra application. For example, you can use it in a wide set of scenarios: mobile apps, embedded apps, or even desktop apps where you do not need intensive data change. It is Open Source and widely used, what makes it a plus for the community support.

Cons

It is not a good option for heavy load work. The lock mechanism that SQLite uses means that multiprocess applications will have to look for potential concurrency issues. Also it does not have the high end benefits of RDBMS, you can find problems working with big files or intensive use of data.

April 2018

User Profile Picture

Ashok from SkyTesters

Verified Reviewer

Company Size: 11-50 employees

Time Used: Less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Value for money

4.0

Customer support

4.0

Functionality

3.0

April 2018

To store small data perfect solution

Pros

1. It is free 2. Easy to set up and connect 3. Multiple person can use simultaneously which we cann't do in CSV

Cons

1. Integration with some other tools is not so much easy 2. Loading time for existing tables is little high 3. No stored procedure can be written

July 2019

User Profile Picture

Mohamed from Hostinger

Verified Reviewer

Company Size: 201-500 employees

Industry: Information Technology and Services

Time Used: Less than 12 months

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Functionality

4.0

July 2019

Used it for a small python project, and It was great

Pros

It's in the name, it's very light and easy to run, but what I like most is the interface, it's simple and doesn't need a learning curve.

Cons

Some features aren't available, like some sql commands and also when a lot of people are updating the db, this may cause a data crash.

July 2018

ARIEL from Aim Corporation

Company Size: 2-10 employees

Time Used: Less than 12 months

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

3.0

Functionality

3.0

July 2018

Was easy to install and to install on customer machine

Is free, but same time is good enough for programming very fast.

Pros

Easy to learn, no complicated database definitions. Can use only Varchar variable for everything.

Cons

Hard programming for multi-user. I have to create my own system to avoid database crash when more than one computer is assessing the database.

May 2019

Ali from Crenno

Company Size: 11-50 employees

Industry: Information Technology and Services

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

4.0

Value for money

4.0

Customer support

4.0

Functionality

4.0

May 2019

Small, Fast And Efficient RDBMS

Pros

SQLite is a great RDBM solution if you need a database for embedded devices, IoT, websites or cache management. It is small, fast and efficient. It doesn't require any setup or administration. It provides easy to use APIs.

Cons

if what you need is a client-server database, it's not for you.

April 2018

Anonymous

Verified Reviewer

Company Size: 51-200 employees

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

5.0

April 2018

You need a small database without problems? the answer is: SQLite

Pros

small, easy, no complicated stored procedure. You choose how to use and STOP. SQLite is ok if need a database for your application . No problem with a lot of datas: I've managed SQLite database with Millions of records.

Cons

Use only for storage information. No other features are available: No native stored procedure. So internal procedure are impossible.

September 2020

Filip from NCR

Company Size: 10,000+ employees

Industry: Information Technology and Services

Time Used: Less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

3.0

Functionality

4.0

September 2020

Good way of storing your app data

I'm extremely satisfied with the SQLite. I've used it to store my web app data, and it has been performing flawless ever since.

Pros

It has great integrated features that are compatible with multiple languages. Ease of access and connection to the SQLite database are a big plus when working with data.

Cons

It has some limitations when it comes to the size of the data your'e working with. It's not designed to store and manipulate large sets/chunks of data (big data).

April 2019

Anonymous

Verified Reviewer

Company Size: 10,000+ employees

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Customer support

2.0

Functionality

5.0

April 2019

Depends on how you store your data

Pros

If you are storing variable data that resemble objects, use this instead of MySQL! There are also a lot of libraries built for accessing and manipulating SQLite databases now.

Cons

It takes up much more space and memory compared to conventional databases like MySQL

July 2018

John D. from BTC Consulting, LLC

Verified Reviewer

Time Used: Less than 12 months

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

5.0

July 2018

SQLite made pulling, manipulating and evaluating data from multi-relational databases a breeze!

Ease of accessing data for Ad-Hoc reports.

Pros

Linking SQLite to the internal database was quite simple; setting up authorized users was as well.

Cons

SQLite could be finicky on my company's database, I would sometimes switch over to Sandbox to run quicker queries.

April 2019

Dennis from Massive Interactive

Company Size: 51-200 employees

Industry: Information Technology and Services

Time Used: Less than 12 months

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

4.0

Value for money

5.0

Functionality

5.0

April 2019

Lightweight and easy to use.

Perfect for small project and easy to setup.

Pros

It's really well design and easy to connect to database, and best of all it is free.

Cons

It's not really good for large databases it can be quite slow, but perfect for small projects.

May 2018

Danoosh from University of Alberta

Time Used: Less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Functionality

3.0

May 2018

A suitable light weight for small applications (and learning)

Pros

I use this for teaching SQL and databases to beginners. It is very easy to setup and navigate (command line and DB browser). It has reasonable power to deal with mid-range databases for developing and supporting small applications

Cons

If you are working with enterprise scale data (even small in enterprise realm), it will crash on you quite easily. You can not have multiple connections and it does not have many features of free MySQL

April 2019

Julio from PushStart

Company Size: 11-50 employees

Industry: Computer Games

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

4.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

4.0

April 2019

Database on the go!

Pros

SQLite is a great solution when your application needs a small footprint database with all the powers from relational SQL. It integrates with any language you need and is available in any platform!

Cons

Being a smaller library, it misses some features from bigger database systems.

September 2018

Jimcarl from Accenture

Company Size: 1,001-5,000 employees

Industry: Information Technology and Services

Time Used: Less than 12 months

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

4.0

Value for money

4.0

Customer support

4.0

Functionality

4.0

September 2018

Good choice for portable database

Pros

I like how SQLite offer T-SQL despite of being a portable database. I can create moderately complex queries and still runs fine.

Cons

There's nothing I really don't like with SQLite. It's free and does the job.

June 2019

Rita from Andela Uganda

Company Size: 501-1,000 employees

Industry: Computer Software

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Value for money

4.0

Customer support

4.0

Functionality

4.0

June 2019

Invaluable offline database

Pros

SQLite is great for rapid applications development and testing out how your application works without having to connect to a server. It serves as a decent local cache of data.

Cons

Understandably not suitable for large data content

September 2019

Anonymous

Verified Reviewer

Company Size: 5,001-10,000 employees

Time Used: Less than 6 months

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

4.0

Value for money

4.0

Customer support

4.0

Functionality

4.0

September 2019

Best relational database system for embedded applications.

Bets choice to choose SQL for store data on embedded application instead of connecting Server and get data.

Pros

SQLite support almost ANSI standard SQL, If you know PostgreSQL it is very much easy to adapt SQLite, Best thing it supports ACID properties.Its embedded database software so its faster than client-Server databases.

Cons

As it's a lightweight database software , it works perfect when your database size is smaller , but your Database size is more you can see performance issues.

June 2018

User Profile Picture

Elcenir from IVSS

Verified Reviewer

Time Used: Less than 6 months

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

4.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

4.0

June 2018

Lightweight, easy and powerful at the same time

learn to consult views and functions in the tool

Pros

is a lightweight and powerful database manager to store data from a web and mobile project, it is within relational databases, its installation is very simple, I use it to make simple querys of a project that I am currently carrying

Cons

one more difficulty of software is of knowledge of the SQL language, since there are very complicated queries that I must do and sometimes the tool remains frozen and I have had to restart my machine

December 2018

Anonymous

Verified Reviewer

Company Size: 11-50 employees

Time Used: Less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

4.0

Value for money

4.0

Customer support

3.0

Functionality

4.0

December 2018

A must for BI

Used SQLite for querying a relational database at work. Once you learn the basic syntax, it becomes fairly easy to use.

Pros

Once you figure out syntax, there is no better language for writing queries to a relational database. SQL is the measuring stick

Cons

Like any language, there is a learning curve (albeit not as bad as most others)

December 2019

Denis from USP

Company Size: 1 employee

Industry: Research

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Value for money

5.0

Functionality

4.0

December 2019

Very good for studying SQL, small projects and local storage

Sometimes I use it as a stand alone application to make queries in the terminal or as a driver/library that is easily embedded into some of my software.

Pros

Very small footprint and overhead, battle-tested in real-world applications (which indicates that it’s pretty reliable) and well supported by several major companies. It’s also very good for people learning SQL due to its simplicity.

Cons

Cannot handle very large datasets well. It’s not ideal for concurrently running or distributed software.

March 2019

User Profile Picture

Jesse from education

Verified Reviewer

Company Size: 1 employee

Industry: Computer Software

Time Used: Less than 6 months

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

4.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

5.0

March 2019

Easy to use Database

Overall I'd say my experience with using SQLite in school has been fantastic. It's easy to pick up and use, lots of features, easy to use software that allows you to connect and create databases as well.

Pros

SQL is pretty easy to understand. The syntax is common words so you can figure out what the code is trying to accomplish very easily.

Cons

Learning the language can be confusing sometimes if you don't know where to go.

January 2020

Barton from HSI

Company Size: 51-200 employees

Industry: Computer Software

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Functionality

4.0

January 2020

My favorite file-based database

Pros

Reliable SQL relational database meets file-based database. Those cases where you need some modest relational data access, but don't need or can't accommodate a full RDBMS server instance. The small footprint and portability makes SQLite a great choice for small applications.

Cons

Can't be as feature rich as a full blown server application. More of a trade-off than a con.

March 2020

User Profile Picture

Wechuli from Andela

Verified Reviewer

Company Size: 1,001-5,000 employees

Industry: Computer Software

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

1.0

Functionality

3.0

March 2020

Good but Limited Use

I use it to quickly test applications that need some form of data storage without needing to install database software.

Pros

- Very lightweight database products that you can quickly set up to without needing to install complicated tooling so can be used in mobile forms or embedded devices.

Cons

- Does not support the full features of SQL - SQLite does not have support for multi-client concurrency access and can't be used in applications that need this. - Validation of data to input fields is limited

September 2018

Sahil from trigma solutions pvt ltd

Verified Reviewer

Company Size: 11-50 employees

Industry: Information Technology and Services

Time Used: Less than 6 months

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Value for money

4.0

Customer support

3.0

Functionality

4.0

September 2018

Sqllite

I solve my problem in window application to sync the server data and local storage data by adding local storage entries SqlLite.

Pros

Excellent creation to store relational data in local storage, that is helpful for mobile and desktop application so they do not need server to store the data.

Cons

Product look and feel needs to be change and it should be great if it has intelligence.

May 2018

Kyle from K12 Systems

Company Size: 11-50 employees

Industry: Education Management

Time Used: Less than 6 months

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

5.0

May 2018

Small Scale Sql Engine

Side projects with a SQL database engine.

Pros

SQLite is a great option for those that are looking for an low level database management system that doesn't require licensing which makes it a very good choice to use in small scale projects that don't require the enterprise level features that regular SQL has to offer. Available for many different platforms, good for small development teams that want to use professional database software. It is also extremely fast, as I've never personally had issues with the speed of retrieving data regardless of the platform I am using.

Cons

Not good for large scale or data warehousing. I would recommend only for small projects or personal use for side projects.

September 2020

Cam from MBS

Company Size: 1 employee

Industry: Education Management

Time Used: Less than 6 months

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

3.0

Functionality

4.0

September 2020

High learning curve

I'm still learning how to use it. I've found it very powerful but also challenging to learn.

Pros

It allows complex database management through a somewhat simple environment. Great when complemented with SQLite Studio or similar.

Cons

Requires significant amounts of time to learn and master. Many functionalities use complex syntaxis.

December 2019

User Profile Picture

Esther from Self-Employed

Verified Reviewer

Company Size: 1 employee

Industry: Information Services

Time Used: Less than 6 months

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

3.0

Functionality

3.0

December 2019

Readily-Available Database Solution, But With Significant Limitations

SQLite is best-known for its near-universal availability in many operating systems and programming languages, but this comes at a certain cost. It is possible to implement it in a variety of use cases, and it is simple to set up and get running quickly. On the other hand, it does tend to have some significant differences from other solutions in this area, and this can make it difficult to transition away from SQLite when expansion options are needed. If a simple database and engine is needed, SQLite is perfect, but once anything more advanced is required it can be frustrating to adapt existing tools and software to the existing database. Keeping these limitations in mind are key, and it may be worth considering if the ease of setup is a fair trade-off for the lack of transition pathways.

Pros

Widely available for a variety of use cases, easy to implement in various software packages, extensive documentation available

Cons

Rather limited feature set, functions do not always transfer particularly well to other use cases, a universal solution that often sacrifices features

Reasons for Choosing SQLite

Useful for specific use cases that need easy-to-setup database engines

June 2018

Nestor from Sites SA de CV

Time Used: Less than 12 months

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Value for money

4.0

Customer support

4.0

Functionality

4.0

June 2018

When the small is really big.

Pros

It's fast, simple and fun. The learning curve is very comfortable. Although it is a small database it is capable of storage up to 2 terabytes of information.

Cons

The tables are not related. The relationships are logical (We have to program this logic). There are no DATE type columns. This hinders operations between DATES.

Displaying 1 - 50 of 83 reviews