User Review Highlights

Overall Rating

4.44

Ratings Breakdown

Secondary Ratings

Ease-of-use

4.5

Customer Support

3.5

Value for money

4.5

Functionality

4

  • icon"Lightweight relational database, works on many platforms and has gain support from popularity in community. The toolkit for developing is great and easy to understand the concept."
  • icon"Integration to mobile is a nicer experience compare to other db engine. The speed and datasize is good for mobile as well."
  • icon"You can either spin a local instance up or have it run in-memory to speed up your tests. The fact that it's usage is so ubiquitous, finding help or answers online isn't an issue at all."
  • icon"SQLite does not have support for multi-client concurrency access and can't be used in applications that need this. Validation of data to input fields is limited."
  • icon"No other features are available: No native stored procedure. So internal procedure are impossible."
  • icon"Hard programming for multi-user. I have to create my own system to avoid database crash when more than one computer is assessing the database."

Browse all SQLite Reviews

  • Have you used SQLite and would like to share your experience with others?
  • Write a Review

Apply Filters:

User Industry

Company Size

Time Used

User Rating

Showing 1 - 25 of 99 reviews

User Profile

Stephen

Verified reviewer

Company size: 11-50 employees

Industry: Computer Software

Time used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra

This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

4

FUNCTIONALITY

5

March 2019

Perfect database tool for embedded software

I work a lot with SQLite as it is the primary medium of local storage in Android devices (and by extension, Android applications) which I work with on a daily basis, and SQLite is just perfect for the purpose it serves on these devices. It's lightweight so you don't have to worry most times about how much of the user's storage space your database is going to take up. There's not much difference between the standard SQL commands and those used in SQLite, and many have reported that SQLite is a good starting and training resource for SQL in general.

Pros

Doesn't need a separate server. Lightweight and portable. Integrates most of the commands, functions and syntax of other SQL software. Optimized for use on devices that need to store data locally. Large user base and community (support).

Cons

All operations are locked to a single process, so it's not suitable for large scale database operations (which is not what you should be doing locally on a device anyway).

User Profile

Jonathan Alexander

Verified reviewer

Company size: 1,001-5,000 employees

Industry: Hospital & Health Care

Time used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra

This review was submitted organically. No incentive was offered

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

4

FUNCTIONALITY

5

June 2022

An excellent database for mobile projects

I have used this database for the development of mobile application projects and for the prototyping of web pages, which makes it a very good database, easy and agile when manipulating data

Pros

What I like most about this product or database is how easy it is to integrate with mobile projects in the creation of applications and its easy portability, as well as performance, agility and little space in its implementation that makes it unique when it comes to of mobile application projects

Cons

That for very large projects it is not so robust handling so many transaction threads

Reasons for choosing SQLite

Because of how easy it can be to have it within the application and above all because it can be portable

merve

Company size: 51-200 employees

Industry: Education Management

Time used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra

This review was submitted organically. No incentive was offered

EASE OF USE

4

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

3

FUNCTIONALITY

5

October 2022

Excellent option for quick and light needs.

What I appreciate best about SQLIte is how lightweight it is and how easily it can be used in Android applications. It appears to be designed to function on tiny devices with a minimal footprint. It is also open source. Because no server configuration is necessary, installation and setup take very little time.

Pros

SQLite was an excellent choice for us when we wanted to store a database for a basic utility that we were developing. The performance appeared to be excellent, and it was really steady.

Cons

It is not completely functional with all capabilities unless you purchase a professional version, which comes at a cost.

User Profile

Chaya

Verified reviewer

Company size: 51-200 employees

Industry: Computer Software

Time used: Less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra

This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

EASE OF USE

3

VALUE FOR MONEY

3

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

2

FUNCTIONALITY

3

April 2019

SQLite - compatability at it's best level

SQLite has become more and more popular among the users because of its easy installation and easy accessing . As it is compatible with most of the programming languages and its light weight it is more popular among mobile application developers

Pros

SQLite is a light weighted data base which could be embedded with any software. Due to the light weightage of the product the data base is more popular In mobile application development. With it’s light weight it is also fast. SQLite is almost 35% faster than any other file system. SQLite is easy to use and there is not special installation or configurations needed to be done in order to use the product. All user have to do is download the libraries and run them in the computer. It is compatible which is why the product can be used with many programming languages with out any issues. Users are given a chance to extend their data base in future by adding new tables or new columns to the existing tables which is a great help for the ongoing projects.

Cons

SQLite is not a multi-user platform where the users can handle concurrent writes. There for SQLite is not good for intensive applications with rapid data logging. If the system has concurrent transactions where lot of users keep accessing the same set of data simultaneously then SQLite is not a good choice for the project. SQLite data bases are restricted to maximum of 2GB in most of the cases.

uğur

Company size: 201-500 employees

Industry: Farming

Time used: Less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra

This review was submitted organically. No incentive was offered

EASE OF USE

4

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

3

FUNCTIONALITY

4

November 2022

Good for simple and fast database solutions

When I used it to store data for my online project, it exceeded my expectations, and it's been working great ever since. Now, we can use a server to retrieve data from apps that use SQL and save it on the embedded application.

Pros

This is an excellent tool because it's easy to use with several languages, my favorite of which being C#. We may create persistent storage for our applications using SQLite, which does not need any installation on the developers' end. I also want to emphasize the superior database management.

Cons

This is a lightweight database, so if you try to store too much data, you can run into some problems. The most prevalent issue is that it will significantly affect performance. Another issue is that this functionality isn't always simple, which is related to integration.

Reasons for choosing SQLite

Price and easy of use.

Steve

Company size: 11-50 employees

Industry: Electrical/Electronic Manufacturing

Time used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra

This review was submitted organically. No incentive was offered

EASE OF USE

4

FUNCTIONALITY

4

June 2022

Very good local database.

Pros

We use it in our software when we need little local database. The API with c# is very easy to learn. I recommand this if you need local database.

Cons

There is no data viewer include. You need to find an alternative.

Ali Emre

Company size: 2-10 employees

Industry: Computer Software

Time used: Less than 12 months

Review Source: Capterra

This review was submitted organically. No incentive was offered

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

5

November 2022

SQLite is a comprehensive open source platform

Pros

SQLite offers a highly advance database management solution with its open source structure.

Cons

There needs to be a better customer support behind SQLite platform.

Barış

Company size: 11-50 employees

Industry: E-Learning

Time used: Less than 6 months

Review Source: Capterra

This review was submitted organically. No incentive was offered

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

5

June 2022

Database easily with SQLite

I used this application to learn database systems. I transferred the excel data I had, created tables, and transferred this data to the external environment with an external connection.

Pros

The application is very easy to use. The interface is simple and user friendly. The convenience of the download process is amazing. Very little space on the computer

Cons

There is nothing wrong with the application, it is suitable for learning purposes.

Reasons for switching to SQLite

I wanted to use it for testing

User Profile

Manuel Eduardo

Verified reviewer

Company size: 1 employee

Industry: Computer Software

Time used: Less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra

This review was submitted organically. No incentive was offered

EASE OF USE

3

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

4

FUNCTIONALITY

5

June 2022

A complete and productive database manager

As a student, I have used SQLite in several projects, in which my experience has been good. Thanks to its interface, understanding all its specific functions was not so difficult for me and at the same time working with its tools is an effective and fast process.

Pros

Access to databases created in SQLite is fast and easy, because it works as its own independent server. Its connection and management with computer and mobile applications is one of the best, its interface is quite simple and easy to use for the user.

Cons

It seems to me the most complete program in its field of work, so I don't see any cons about this program.

Anonymous

Company size: 201-500 employees

Time used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra

This review was submitted organically. No incentive was offered

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

FUNCTIONALITY

3

June 2022

Great lightweight database for simple use cases

Overall, SQLite allows us to build tools more rapidly. We've had a productive overall experience with SQLite.

Pros

I like how easy it is to use SQLite. It allows us to have a database backend without the usual set up and configuration steps needed for more complex RDBMS.

Cons

I don't really have anything I dislike about SQLite. It does its job well on its intended use cases.

Gareth

Company size: 11-50 employees

Industry: Computer Software

Time used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra

This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

EASE OF USE

4

FUNCTIONALITY

4

September 2019

A standard for testing

SQLite allows us to setup and test all our database structures, it's quick and easy to get going and it stays out of your way. Most of the time you'll forget that it's even part of your tech stack.

Pros

I like that SQLite for the most part stays out of your way. As soon as you have your desired config set up, you can transfer it with ease to most other projects and it just works. We use SQLite for testing purposes as it speeds up the entire process. You can either spin a local instance up or have it run in-memory to speed up your tests. The fact that it's usage is so ubiquitous, finding help or answers online isn't an issue at all.

Cons

If I had to fault it at something, there is an edge case with how it builds your database structure, especially with how it handles foreign keys. It's easily handled by adjusting your test setup structure. That's the only hiccup we ever had and resolved with ease.

Thang

Company size: 51-200 employees

Industry: Information Technology and Services

Time used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra

This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

FUNCTIONALITY

4

December 2019

Reliable and battle tested database engine

I had been using it for Windows, iOS, backend and Android for many purposes. The support for sqlite always straight forward. I would recommend sqlite for tasks which not use joins nor store procedures. Native security is quite weak without supporting encrypt particular table or column.

Pros

Lightweight relational database, works on many platforms and has gain support from popularity in community. The toolkit for developing is great and easy to understand the concept. Integration to mobile is a nicer experience compare to other db engine. The speed and datasize is good for mobile as well.

Cons

We need to define data structure first before actually implement features, any mismatch in database scheme must be resolved using migration. The locking architecture only allow a single process to write at a time - no high volume transaction - and it isn’t able to scale to hundreds of users nor store large amount of data.

Carlos Hugo Martin

Verified reviewer

Company size: 11-50 employees

Industry: Computer Software

Time used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra

This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

EASE OF USE

5

FUNCTIONALITY

5

May 2021

Experience with SQLite

Describe your general experience with SQLite It is very useful for me to be able to store information and consume it from different sources without having to implement specific software to do so. Its portability capacity has allowed us to distribute work effectively.

Pros

The few resources you need and its portability. This allows us to use the stored data from any medium.

Cons

That there is no native way to make it multi-user. That there is no native way to merge files from the same database, when they have been modified by different users and platforms.

Reasons for choosing SQLite

SQLite, unlike SQL Server Compact, has greater ease of implementation, since it is handled by several programming languages, in addition to showing better performance.

Anonymous

Company size: 11-50 employees

Time used: Less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra

This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

EASE OF USE

4

VALUE FOR MONEY

4

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

4

FUNCTIONALITY

4

April 2019

No server required, used for standalone application and less configuration

We are using SQLite for java and android application. SQLite is use for small and mid level organization as well because its cost affordable for any one. There is no required to back up every time because SQLite make a file for backup .

Pros

SQLite is very faster then other database as performance wise. we are using SQLite for mobile application and desktop application. Mose imp feature i like in SQLite is at the time of deployment on production it not required any space. SQLite is lightweight. select query is very faster in standalone application.

Cons

There is no reporting functionality in SQLite. At the time of multiple insert query perform in queue that its goes slow for some time. There is administration in SQLite,so its very difficult to manage for multiple user.

Tigran

Company size: 11-50 employees

Industry: Financial Services

Time used: Less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra

This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

EASE OF USE

4

FUNCTIONALITY

4

July 2021

Nice for small solutions

Pretty good for quick tests and development experiments, especially when you like SQL, not great for large production-grade datasets.

Pros

It is serverless, needs no configuration, easy to start working with and use in development, especially when fixing/improving some legacy software. When used correctly, especially with limited amount of data, allows for fast queries.

Cons

It is not built for large-scale applications. Another thing is that it is not easy to predict performance for queries on large amounts of data, even if the user knows how that database is built. It is sometimes easier to design your own (customized) data structure rather than using the standard product.

Reasons for choosing SQLite

Compatibility with legacy software

Anonymous

Company size: 2-10 employees

Time used: Less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra

This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

EASE OF USE

5

FUNCTIONALITY

3

October 2019

Great Database For Smaller Loads

This is definitely a great option when we are working on smaller projects that require and embedded database rather than the whole database setup. You quickly get up and running but security is definitely a concern when working on more sensitive work

Pros

It doesn't required installing an extra software. Provides the essentials in terms of structured query language which is often better than having to use a text file, especially when relations are involved. It is very cross-platform from mobile, desktop etc which makes life easier.

Cons

When it comes to systems that may have a lot of concurrent actions it, in my experience, often tends to lock up. It doesn't give much in terms of allowing to tune performance for more complex scenarios. There is no user management in place thus there are not permissions, it may not be the best option for more sensitive data Last I checked there was no date data type which means enforcing that date formats conformity is often on the developer's side.

Reasons for choosing SQLite

SQLite felt like it had less requirements and MS Access is obviously paid unlike the free SQLite

User Profile

Anderson

Verified reviewer

Company size: 201-500 employees

Industry: Information Technology and Services

Time used: Less than 12 months

Review Source: Capterra

This review was submitted organically. No incentive was offered

EASE OF USE

3

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

3

FUNCTIONALITY

2

November 2018

Easy to become a problem

On a Windows Forms app we used to query services thousand times for data that does not change so frequently. We also had to store some business information (imagine as storing a wizard progress) and that used to be handled using TXT files (and it was a mess). We changed to SQLite and it worked almost like a charm but as the app grew and we decided to create an architecture similar to Google Chrome (multiple processes) it became a major problem for all of them to both read and write at it (we had to create a proxy app to write).

Pros

Integrates nicely with .NET (specially Windows Forms) applications, it's really easy to use (specially if you're already familiar with SQL Server) and deployment is really easy (copy/paste required files).

Cons

It's locking architecture enables only a single process to write at a time so building a more complex application may cause hard-to-solve problems.

Prince

Company size: 2-10 employees

Industry: Computer Software

Time used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra

This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

1

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

1

FUNCTIONALITY

4

June 2021

Best Lightweight Relational Database for Small Applications and Websites.

We always use SQLite as our database when building software and web application prototypes and when deploying basic websites and apps that are not data-intensive.

Pros

SQLite does not run on a server like MySQL but is part of the end application thus making data storage and retrieval very fast.

Cons

It is not reliable when deploying it with applications with multi-user access to database. With websites, SQLite can only handle sites with low to medium traffic.

User Profile

Ramindu

Verified reviewer

Company size: 10,000+ employees

Industry: Computer Software

Time used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra

This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

EASE OF USE

4

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

2

FUNCTIONALITY

3