User Review Highlights

Overall Rating

4.56

Ratings Breakdown

Secondary Ratings

Ease-of-use

4.5

Customer Support

4

Value for money

4

Functionality

4.5

  • icon"This is the easiest database client GUI I have ever used, configuration is easy, the controls are straight forward, and it handles all the different platforms that you might be using."
  • icon"It has a great autocomplete for SQL query and can manage migration really well. I also like a backup system I can use before doing a dig into a database to make sure I don't end up without data."
  • icon"The GUI, the ability to split window panes, and the intuitive way to change data/table structure are all great. On top of that, the dark mode is very helpful."
  • icon"Regardless of database, I rarely have the ability to kill a query."
  • icon"Establish connection with mysql directly , not to create the db in mysql admin then use it in tablePLus."
  • icon"Also the backup function is a little confusing to use."

Browse all TablePlus Reviews

  • Have you used TablePlus and would like to share your experience with others?
  • Write a Review

Apply Filters:

User Industry

Company Size

Time Used

User Rating

Showing 1 - 25 of 27 reviews

User Profile

Milos

Verified reviewer

Company size: 2-10 employees

Industry: Information Technology and Services

Time used: Less than 12 months

Review Source: Capterra

This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

4

FUNCTIONALITY

5

August 2021

Modern, fast and easy to use database client

I would recommend TablePlus to anyone looking for solid database client.

Pros

TablePlus is super easy and intuitive to use, looks good and works without issues.

Cons

Free version is a bit limited which is annoying but understandable.

Reasons for switching to TablePlus

I didn't like the fact that pgAdmin runs as a local server. I was constantly asked to upgrade to newer version. The UI is a bit outdated.

David

Verified reviewer

Company size: 51-200 employees

Industry: Public Relations and Communications

Time used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra

This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

3

FUNCTIONALITY

5

September 2020

Most flexible database UI for MacOS

Wonderful. Before discovering TablePlus I used a bunch of different database UI tools for various databases but TablePlus allowed me to have a single go-to tool for all of them.

Pros

Nice and user-friendly UI. Native support for pretty much all the popular databases. Easy to use. Quite powerful freemium functionality so you can try before you buy and might not have to buy at all depending on use-case.

Cons

Supporting a wide range of databases mean that it's hard to create a cohesive UI experience for all of them. The UI is probably most suited for relational databases like Postgres / MySQL while simple key value stores like Redis might not be as fitting.

Reasons for switching to TablePlus

Postico has a nice UI but only supports Postgres. I wanted something that supported other databases such as Redis / MongoDB etc.

Anonymous

Company size: 11-50 employees

Time used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra

This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

4

FUNCTIONALITY

5

October 2022

Best GUI client for databases

Pros

It's simple, fast and just works. It offers everything you would expect in terms of searching, browsing, creating and editing rows in your database. The build-in custom query interface with auto completion is perfect for running more advanced queries while still offering the ability to export the results into a file. The fact that there is a native version for each platform means that it's fast and doesn't use an unnecessary amount of resources.

Cons

The Linux version is unfortunately still in alpha stage and has been for years. Although it works fine, it doesn't offer all of the features that the Windows and Mac OS versions offer.

Logan

Company size: 11-50 employees

Industry: Accounting

Time used: Less than 6 months

Review Source

This review was submitted organically. No incentive was offered

EASE OF USE

4

VALUE FOR MONEY

3

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

2

FUNCTIONALITY

2

March 2020

looks pretty but can't trust for my job

I only used this app in the first place because I hate how cluttered and ugly other apps, like data grip, are. At first I tested Tableplus on a local database and everything was awesome. I thought I had found my new sql editor and I was thrilled because this interface looks fantastic. However, when it came time to do actual work, this software is undoubtedly a pretender and not a contender. Or at this time, at least (March 2020). See reasons in the con section. Hopefully they figure it out, because they're on the right track visually, but I don't understand how other reviewers can reasonably give this software three stars given its limitations

Pros

- very aesthetically pleasing - query history is helpful - works well with local databases

Cons

when interacting with non-local databases: - all windows will randomly close. that is, even when my cpu is running fine and has more than plenty of memory, and other applications have no problems at all - regardless of database, I rarely have the ability to kill a query. during times when I somehow do have the option to kill a query, it will take many minutes to 'load' the query before you have the option of killing it. making it pointless. - they have only one person to contact for support, [SENSITIVE CONTENT HIDDEN], and he just doesn't have an answer for things that are very reasonably considered to be basic features in other sql clients (like why it works for me to *near instantly* kill queries with literally any other software (data grip, postico, etc) that I've downloaded) - they thought it was best not to include the file name in the ribbon of an open file, making it hard to edit multiple things at once - you can't create a new scratch within the same workspace without first opening up the left window pane to reveal the button to do so - other bs that makes it very easy to overlook the visual appeal of this gui

amey

Company size: 501-1,000 employees

Industry: Financial Services

Time used: Less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra

This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

EASE OF USE

3

VALUE FOR MONEY

4

FUNCTIONALITY

4

September 2022

Excellent database tool for Mac users

I'm using TablePlus to see the sql database for my iOS simulator application. I experimented with a lot of online tools before TablePlus. But among them, this is the best tool I've ever used.

Pros

Very Easy to handle and Light weighted ! Despite lacking many other features, Tableplus has worked well for me when it comes to organising databases and running queries. Large-volume queries are smoothly handled. Excellent tool for any iOS app developers. On the SQLite DB, queries are simple to run. Data visualisation is very user-friendly.

Cons

Nothing to complaint about except UI and Features. UI needs to be improved little bit as compared to Sqlite Manager. Trial version is having limited set of features - Limited tabs.

Reasons for switching to TablePlus

Support was not good. Not compatible for latest OS versions.

Aris

Verified reviewer

Company size: 2-10 employees

Industry: Consumer Services

Time used: Less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra

This review was submitted organically. No incentive was offered

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

FUNCTIONALITY

5

January 2021

The Sequel Pro of Windows

Managing and maintaining multiple production and local databases without having to worry about passwords or database details using a single and cross-platform database management software. It's easier, faster and more secure than using phpmyadmin or any other software.

Pros

The connection manager is the best of all features because I can group and color my connections based on the relevance and the use, for example group by customer, by server, by production or debugging etc. I like the fact that I can preview the SQL before I execute it, because some times I need to edit the code or copy it for multiple use. The fact that before I apply changes (which are highlighted too) I need to commit them makes me feel more secure. And I can even switch safe modes, e.g. asking for password to commit the changes. There are many times that I make changes by mistake and some are irreversible. The tabs make my work easier and faster because I can watch and compare my data switching tabs back and forth. I like the history tab where I can browser previous commands. Also I can save queries as favorites to reuse them and organize them into folders.

Cons

I cannot really point anything. I've noticed only some short freezes when there is a problem with a remote connection. Other than that it's great!

Austin

Company size: 1 employee

Industry: Financial Services

Time used: Less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra

This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

5

October 2019

I use at home, at work, and at coffee shops

Table plus makes development faster with it's well thought out UX for quick SQL queries and table visualization. It's an amazing tool to ramp up a junior on the fullstack as they have a better understanding of the data flow as they are developing. It's also a great means of managing in production data in case there is some sort of bug or issue from a poorly formatted column.

Pros

It's dead simple to use and to connect your databases. It's disgustingly cheap for how much they offer you in terms of features. It also took SQL db visualizers out of the 1990's as it looks modern and the UX was well thought out. There's no reason why visualizers need to look like they're made in Windows 98 anymore lol. Amazing quality software with equally amazing customer support via email, they have always responded within 24 hours.

Cons

They wouldn't send me a shirt after I've told them I've gotten them licenses into the last two companies I've worked for :)

Reasons for choosing TablePlus

none

Reasons for switching to TablePlus

the ui sucked; why pay money for something that is not kept up to date/poorly maintained lol

Anonymous

Company size: 1,001-5,000 employees

Time used: Less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra

This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

EASE OF USE

5

FUNCTIONALITY

4

June 2022

Simple DB Management tool for MySQL

I switched from MySQL Workbench to TablePlus to be using the same software as the rest of my development team, and the transition was pretty much seemless. Both are great tools for MySQL DBs

Pros

Setting up database access was very easy and simple. TablePlus allows for multiple tabs and remembers your querying tabs between sessions.

Cons

The Process List is a little hidden and less helpful than with MySQL Workbench

Reasons for switching to TablePlus

I changed companies and my new team was using TablePlus. TablePlus is very similar and there were no hiccups or regrets in switching over.

Tim Anthony

Company size: 11-50 employees

Industry: Information Technology and Services

Time used: Less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra

This review was submitted organically. No incentive was offered

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

1

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

3

FUNCTIONALITY

5

July 2022

I love it, but...

Very great, use it everyday, the price was very unpleasant, but I still bought it

Pros

Great software Runs smoothly on macOS, everything about the software is great!

Cons

The price is way too high for a product of this size. The product does not scale, so an expensive price is senseless. There is one year of updates after paying almost 100 dollars, after that you can renew in order to update the software... Horrible pricing structure.

Reasons for choosing TablePlus

It works perfectly fine

Isak

Company size: 11-50 employees

Industry: Information Technology and Services

Time used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra

This review was submitted organically. No incentive was offered

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

4

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

3

September 2022

Easy to use DB management GUI

Pros

Very easy to setup and connect to multiple databases. Good support for Postgres. Good intuitive user interface.

Cons

Using TablePlus for a key/value store like Redis leaves a lot to wish for. Some minor bugs are often present - but is fixed quickly in upcoming versions.

Mustafa

Company size: 2-10 employees

Industry: Information Technology and Services

Time used: Less than 12 months

Review Source: Capterra

This review was submitted organically. No incentive was offered

EASE OF USE

4

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

4

FUNCTIONALITY

5

December 2020

very good ui to handle the database

handling the database

Pros

easy to insert data into table and also to delete inserts

Cons

establish connection with mysql directly , not to create the db in mysql admin then use it in tablePLus

User Profile

Giuseppe

Verified reviewer

Company size: 2-10 employees

Industry: Information Technology and Services

Time used: Less than 12 months

Review Source: Capterra

This review was submitted organically. No incentive was offered

EASE OF USE

5

FUNCTIONALITY

4

April 2022

Easy to use and best performance compared to some competitor

Pros

Has a easy to use interface, and power backup and restore function. I migrate from another competitor software that are more expensive but has a lot of bugs. I’m very satisfied!!

Cons

Db performance analysis features such as MySQL workbench would be useful. I would improve the filter interface on tables.

Matej

Company size: 2-10 employees

Industry: Computer Software

Time used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra

This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

EASE OF USE

4

VALUE FOR MONEY

3

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

3

FUNCTIONALITY

4

June 2021

Not only MySQL visual editor

I hated the free tier as it was really limiting but paid plan works great.

Pros

It has a great autocomplete for SQL query and can manage migration really well. I also like a backup system I can use before doing a dig into a database to make sure I don't end up without data.

Cons

The free tier was really annoying to use. Also, I miss some shortcuts to switch between tabs on big projects.

Reasons for switching to TablePlus

Nice-looking UI, backup system and SQL query history + autocomplete.

Timothy

Company size: 1 employee

Industry: Internet

Time used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra

This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

FUNCTIONALITY

5

November 2020

Best database management tool for MacOS

I needed a quality database management tool for Postgres for MacOS, and I got that with TablePlus. Even there are free tools out there (note: TablePlus does have a trial edition), TablePlus is worth paying for.

Pros

The GUI, the ability to split window panes, and the intuitive way to change data/table structure are all great. On top of that, the dark mode is very helpful.

Cons

Even though I have updates selected to happen automatically, they rarely work as such, i.e. I have to manually check for updates.

Anonymous

Company size: 201-500 employees

Time used: Less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra

This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

EASE OF USE

4

FUNCTIONALITY

3

December 2019

Easy to use

Easy to run queries and read the results. Much better than most other free query platforms out there.

Pros

Easy to use overall. Nice UI for viewing table and schema contents, much better than other services I've used before. Can have multiple tabs open which is useful when writing complicated queries. Identifies the exact place that a query error occurs, which saves a ton of time.

Cons

Wish you got more tabs in the free version, but I might pay to upgrade soon now that I've tried it out for over a year.

Peter

Company size: 11-50 employees

Industry: Computer Software

Time used: Less than 6 months

Review Source: Capterra

This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

EASE OF USE

5

FUNCTIONALITY

5

April 2021

The best SQL client for MacOS

If you need GUI for SQL databases on MacOS, Table Plus is the way to go.

Pros

I've used many SQL clients for MacOS but TablePlus is by far the best one. Nice UI, many advanced funcionalities, optimized performance and decent pricing.

Cons

Sometimes the UX is not that intuitive (filters, submit buttons, etc..), but those are small nuances. The core functionalities and performance are great and that matters.

Reasons for switching to TablePlus

No possibility of filtering on free trial.

Anonymous

Company size: 51-200 employees

Time used: Less than 12 months

Review Source: Capterra

This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

4

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

4

FUNCTIONALITY

5

September 2019

Nice User Interface!

I enjoy writing the queries using this editor.

Pros

I like the user interface of the table plus the most. It's very simple and elegant and user-driven UI. It helps me write the queries with lot of fun. Also, apply the integrated filters.

Cons

It can be made open source, we have to buy the licensed version to make use of most of this software.

Reasons for switching to TablePlus

User Interface for this software is not that attractive compared to the tablePlus software.

Anonymous

Company size: 2-10 employees

Time used: Less than 6 months

Review Source: Capterra

This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

EASE OF USE

5

FUNCTIONALITY

5

December 2018

Great SequelPro alternative

Full-featured and fast MySQL (and more) administration tool!

Pros

TablePlus is a great MySQL administration tool. We used to use the free Sequel Pro, but it crashes on Macos Mojave and so we looked for an alternative. TablePlus seems to do the job perfectly and is much faster than SequelPro. After playing with the free version for 15 minutes, it was a no-brainer to purchase the full version. It's good to know that by paying we can help the developers to maintain and improve the software. The SSH tunnel option in TablePlus is an awesome feature, as I no longer have to do it manually on the command line myself.

Cons

So far, it seems to do everything well (after it having used for a day)

Vivek

Verified reviewer

Company size: 501-1,000 employees

Industry: Information Technology and Services

Time used: Less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra

This review was submitted organically. No incentive was offered

EASE OF USE

4

VALUE FOR MONEY

3

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

4

FUNCTIONALITY

2

July 2022

Lacking features

My experience with Tableplus is great for running queries and managing databses although it lacks many other features. Table-plus gracefully handles queries with large volume of data

Pros

The user interface of Tableplus has been great. The mode to switch between dark and light mode is very helpful and less strain for the eyes

Cons

Tableplus lacks a lot of feature, such as creating entity relation diagram, creating database schemas etc. And tableplus cost is on the higher side

Tony

Company size: 51-200 employees

Industry: Retail

Time used: Less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra

This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

EASE OF USE

5

FUNCTIONALITY

5

August 2020

Best database tool on macOS

Pros

I love the way TablePlus is integrated to macOS with Xcode like design and dark mode. Multi tabs is convenient.

Cons

There is nothing I don’t like, Table Plus does the job perfectly.

Reasons for switching to TablePlus

TablePlus is light and powerful

Raul

Company size: 1 employee

Industry: Computer Software

Time used: Less than 12 months

Review Source: Capterra

This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

EASE OF USE