All ACE Dental Reviews

1-25 of 108 Reviews

Sort by

Reviews are by default sorted by Recommended to software buyers, driven by our proprietary algorithm reflecting the depth and quality of the review, recency of experience, and other factors. As a neutral reviews platform, the star rating of the review is not considered in the "Recommended" ranking, and there is currently no voting mechanism that would allow site visitors to influence the ranking.

Tammy

Health, Wellness and Fitness, 2-10 employees

Used daily for more than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

4

Reviewed July 2017

The ease of this program is exceptional

PROS

Ease of program and great customer support. Always timely and very helpful. Anyone in the office could learn this program and the tutorials are very helpful as well

CONS

Would like to see a tooth chart printed out on patient estimate sheet. With that the patient could go home and be able to tell what teeth were discussed and where in the mouth they are

Vendor Response

Thank you so much for the positive review! We try our best to keep the software as easy as possible, while keeping advance features for managing the day to day of a dental practice. Also, you can already see the tooth chart on the tx plan estimate, please give us a call and we would be happy to show you how. Please call the support department at your convenience and we will get your treatment estimate set up the way you prefer..

Replied July 2017

Roger

Hospital & Health Care, 2-10 employees

Used daily for less than 12 months

Review Source: Capterra

OVERALL RATING:

4

EASE OF USE

4

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

5

Reviewed August 2016

Our Experience with Ace Dental Software and Support

Ace has everything and the best support I've experienced in any business, ever! My wife and her staff have used Ace Dental Software at our dental office for just about half a year now. We are under the fully licensed $4,000 model. I am writing this review to give an honest and positive review of their software and support. I will begin by recalling and responding to a comment from a dentist that explained that the coders at Ace don't know their own software or offer good support it. Here is why this is false. When we began using Ace, we had a frustrating experience where the program wasn't functional for us. I have a PhD and work in coding in the field of bio-informatics. Prior to contacting Ace about the issue, I investigated every part of the program that any typical technician or computer programmer would suspect to be a problem. When, I contacted John I forewarned him that we were experiencing a problem that he wasn't going to be able to explain. Over several days and nights John and his coders repeated the same tests I did on my PC, and they arrived at the same conclusion; the issue stemmed from some aspect of graphics processing, but defied logic. John and his coders worked continuously in the evening and on weekends with tweaking features within Ace and on our computers to pinpoint the problem. After recruiting some equally perplexed engineer friends at NVidia to run Ace across many different GPU's we were able to pinpoint the problem to being tied to our office using an advanced GPU architecture that most consumers and businesses won't begin to adopt for another couple of years. After spending many hours inside and outside of their normal business hours, the Ace team didn't ask me to swap out $10,000 worth of graphics cards necessary for my work, for cheaper consumer models. Instead they spent many more hours over several weeks to re-write and re-compile a new program that would function in the architecture. I can GUARANTEE you that absolutely no software company would do that for a consumer. Over the 1.5-2 months it took all of us to identify the program and Ace to redevelop the program, it is likely that it came as a loss to Ace with respect to what we paid in our support and licensing fees. I am happy to write this review for Ace because of their willingness to offer a high quality and affordable product to dentists, and for their willingness to go above and beyond for their customers.

PROS

Ace is one of two reasonably priced software programs (other being Open Dental), and discloses its pricing. The key to Ace remains its support and kindness, whether a user has complex questions or simple ones. True Story - When we purchased our office from a retiring dentist I gave a receptionist (~50) a mouse to walk her through using Ace and dental software for the first time. She held the mouse with her laser facing toward her palm. After 4-5 months of using the software they are both able to enter patient information, payments and insurance, print statements, check out patients, and schedule them, but if I ask them to minimize or close out a screen they don't understand what I mean. How is it that they don't know the most basic of computer tasks, but can manage to use the software. Well there is an ongoing joke at the office, "Just call Jackie". Stopping by the office, I have caught our receptionists twice call Jackie when they thought there was a problem in Ace. The circumstances of these calls led me to realize they were calling her so much that she was basically their "elementary computer teacher." 1) I caught them calling Jackie when they accidentally minimized Ace and couldn't figure out where it went or how to get it back. 2) Dental Exchange (completely different program) froze and they tried to call Jackie for help. I can only imagine all of the calls she has had to hear from them, but she's always happy with them. They really are great receptionists though.

CONS

As much as I love Ace Dental, and would choose it over any dental software, I am admittedly critical of several areas. I have let John and Ace know it in several e-mails, phone calls, and surveys. They are constantly making upgrades to the program and bringing in new and exciting features, but it comes at the cost of ignoring a very few basic aspects that would truly make the program perfect. Ace opens in two major boxes. All of the core screen is an independent box that sits inside a second box that has the menu information. There is no point to this and its a distraction. The general graphics are severely outdated and color is basically 6 color RGB. While its the most feature rich program, it has the feeling of being an outdated program from the 90s. We'd like to have a computer set up (or iPad) where patients can directly fill out and update patient information, but the enter patient data screen is bland with a 1990s look. We try to maintain a modern look since a big focus in our practice includes integrating the most advanced dental materials and equipment that assists us in conducting dental research as well. While relatively rare we also get the occasional patient that asks us if our dental software was ever updated to have any modern patient info protection features. We joke about the look with a patient that brings it up, but always have in the back of our mind that some patients secretly have similar reservations of it, but don't bring it up for us to explain.

Vendor Response

Dr. Brown, Thank you for your thorough and thoughtful review of our company and our software. We will continue to work hard to give you the best software and the best service at the best price. As for patient data entry, we have recently released our Online Patient Forms. New patients can enter data using any browser, either from home or using a tablet in the office. We value your input and we will be seeking it so we can work to make our software, as you say, "perfect".

Replied August 2016

Elizabeth

Hospital & Health Care, 2-10 employees

Used daily for less than 12 months

Review Source: Capterra

OVERALL RATING:

3

EASE OF USE

3

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

4

FUNCTIONALITY

3

Reviewed March 2017

ACE software: ok, I guess

My old (20 + years!) software was not being supported and I needed to replace it. ACE met our needs for an affordable product (we have a VERY small practice in a town of 600.) The new front desk administrator has become very adept at using the program and its cooperative insurance efiling program. Even I, the doctor, can eventually enter procedures, complete insurance info and file a claim for a patient. Still, it is very critical for the support line to be available! Thanks for your help.

PROS

the price

CONS

inability to customize reports

Vendor Response

Thank you for the feedback! We appreciate and welcome all comments. We do offer one on one training on-line. Since you ordered our most basic package, that may not have been included. In line with your comments, I would like to offer you an hour of training for free to help you learn some of those additional tricks lite the Report Writer. ACE has a report writer build into the software so you can customize reports on the fly. Furthermore, our support department is top notch, hold time are never longer than a couple of minutes, and someone is always available to answer calls. Once in a while the calls have to be prioritized in order to assist the most critical needs first.

Replied March 2017

Lydia

2-10 employees

Used daily for less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra
This review was submitted organically. No incentive was offered

OVERALL RATING:

4

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

4

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

3

Reviewed August 2017

with the excellent help from your technical team I found your soft ware is easy to navigate.

PROS

Your software is easy to use, the Insurance windows are very user friendly. I also like your technical people,they helped a lot when I first started here

CONS

The type, (fonts), even the largest one are still too small to read easily. I find the software to have glitches, where you have to go in and out of the schedule to get it to print out correctly and the new feature where you put appointments on hold it will say chair conflict when there is not one, so you have to go out of the appointment area and come back in to get it to place the appointment. Ends up taking more time to do these tasks then it should.

Vendor Response

Lydia- Thank you for the positive feedback! We would like to have a trainer help you out with the items in the software you have mentioned. Let's see if there are some adjustments we can make to your computer monitor to be sure the settings give you the larger font you would like to see. I have already asked my support department to reach out to you, in fact, you should have already heard from them. Since this is an unknown issue and never mentioned by you to date, we will look to resolve this immediately. We would like to be sure our software is always running optimally. Thank you again for your positive feedback and being a long time customer of ACE-Dental.

Replied August 2017

Nancy

Used daily for more than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra
This review was submitted organically. No incentive was offered

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

5

Reviewed August 2017

Product is very user friendly . If you do have a problem it is fixed in a matter of minutes.

PROS

How user friendly it is. Anyone coming into the office (temp.) picks up how to use software fast. Customer Service ROCKS!!!!! Have very few problems with this program.

CONS

Nothing - We have had very few problems with this program in all the years we have been using it. When we have had to use temp. employees they have found the software very easy to use compared to others.

Vendor Response

Thank you for the feedback, Nancy! We are glad to hear the proof, that anyone can pick up on how to use the software. It really is EASY-TO-USE! You can't beat the build in tutorials either. If someone now comes in, they can watch the videos and be ready to go very quickly. Thank you again for the feedback and being a long time customer of ACE-Dental!

Replied August 2017

Brooke

Medical Practice, 2-10 employees

Used daily for more than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra
This reviewer was invited by the software vendor to submit an honest review.

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

5

Reviewed August 2017

Very pleased with both the program and the support!

Accounting and insurance billing is a breeze with Ace!

PROS

The program is very user-friendly! It did not take long to get the hang of it. With the help of the support team any problem I had was resolved with a simple phone call, (by "problem" I mean something I did not understand):)

CONS

No complaints! I have not found any issues with this program. Everything task is very simple to complete.

Vendor Response

Thank you for the feedback Brooke! We really try to keep the software as easy to use as possible. There are so many moving parts in a dental practice, we should not have to worry about software difficulty. It shouldn't be difficult to manage a dental practice. Software needs to be easy and uncomplicated! We appreciate you being an ACE user!

Replied August 2017

C.

Used daily for more than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

5

Reviewed July 2017

This software is extremely easy to use but support is readily available if necessary.

PROS

Our patients love the eReminders . Since signing up for the eReminder option, we have very few, if any, No Show appointments now.

CONS

There is not much that I would change regarding this software package. I would like to be able to create a statement for a patient's balance when there are still outstanding insurance claims.

Vendor Response

Dr. Faillace, We do appreciate your feedback and positive review. We already have the feature you are requesting in the software. You can navigate to Statement Set up, under reports and check the box for "Delay Statements with Pending Insurance Claims." Please feel free to call us if you need assistance in setting this up. Again, thank you for being an ACE customer, we appreciate your feedback.

Replied July 2017

Kim

2-10 employees

Used daily for more than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra
This reviewer was invited by the software vendor to submit an honest review.

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

5

Reviewed August 2017

I learned to navigate Ace in a day! Easy, efficient program!!!

Having a software that I can depend on just makes my life easier and my day happier.

PROS

Ease of use - Also, if I have any problems, the support staff is wonderful! They are always happy to help even though I am woefully ignorant of computer terminology and they basically have to walk me through everything like I am 4 years old!!

Vendor Response

Thank you, Kim. The ACE-Dental team strives to keep the software up to date! Our programmers are top notch and keep a progressive mind set with the software, while keeping ease of use a top priority. Our support team is the best! I have never worked with a more professional, patient and knowledgeable support team!

Replied August 2017

Amalou

Used daily for more than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra
This review was submitted organically. No incentive was offered

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

5

Reviewed April 2018

So happy that we researched before we committed to getting ACE for our office. Best decision made!

PROS

It has everything we need to run our dental office; scheduling, charting, bridging our digital x-rays, employees time clock, claims, etc. They have great customer support, user friendly, and very affordable.

CONS

The dental images are not on clouds, so if I'm not in the office, I can't check my patients radiographs.

Vendor Response

Thank you for your great review! If you are using an Apteryx or a relabeled Apteryx product for imaging, you should contact them to get XVWeb. If not, talk to them about a conversions of your images. We expect the other image software companies to announce a web based product in the near future.

Replied October 2018

Belinda

Used daily for more than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra
This review was submitted organically. No incentive was offered

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

5

Reviewed September 2017

been using ace for about 15 years, love how easy it is to use and the tech support is awesome. thank

I have used other programs in the past. By far this is my favorite . Thank you Mr. Hastings and all the staff at Ace you make my life easy

PROS

easy to use and train new employees, love the reports menu with the ability to create a custom report I can most always get anything I need for both the doctor and the accountant

Vendor Response

Belinda- Thank you for your great feedback on ACE-Dental Software. We appreciate you being a long time customer of ours! Our support department is second to none, and the built in training videos make it incredibly easy to train new employees! Thank you again, Your ACE-Dental Team

Replied September 2017

Linda

Used daily for more than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra
This review was submitted organically. No incentive was offered

OVERALL RATING:

4

EASE OF USE

4

VALUE FOR MONEY

4

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

3

Reviewed August 2017

Overall ok.

PROS

Ease of use. The pros should not require that I send in 100 character minimum. There is nothing that stands out as far as the pros go. Ease of use. I should not be required to fill in 100 character minimum.

CONS

Least like the fact that the subscriber information on the insurance has to be entered as a separate profile if not the patient then linked in to the patient. We have a lot of inactives in our files for this reason.

Max

Medical Practice, 2-10 employees

Used daily for more than 2 years

Review Source
This review was submitted organically. No incentive was offered

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

5

Reviewed January 2018

Great Software

Have Been using ACE for a long time. The company has worked with me to make it affordable for more than one practice. Support is great. patient support staff ( needed for oldies like me!!!!)

PROS

Ease of use. Lots of features. Pick and choose which ones to use. Constantly upgrading. additional options available at minimal cost compared to outsourcing.

Teresa

Used daily for more than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra
This review was submitted organically. No incentive was offered

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

5

Reviewed August 2017

Jackie and Denika were patient and kind in helping me as an amateur! Thanks so much :))

PROS

Was pretty easy to learn what I needed to chart initially . I'm still learning features as I go and have greatly appreciated the help given when I've called ACE with with any difficulties.

CONS

Problems at times in treatment planning . Periodontal charting anything other than probe depths is complicated.

Johnnie

Used free trial

Review Source: Capterra

OVERALL RATING:

1

EASE OF USE

3

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

1

Reviewed June 2016

Not my experience

This is the worst piece if software I have ever used. It constantly logs me out and sign in is from the dark ages. I always get errors at login. Lastly, customer service has no idea how to troubleshoot. It is fine to be nice but you should know your tech cold. Very disappointing. I don't know what the problem is but it probably stems from the fact it is written from a different era. I guess if I had a 10 year old computer it might work.

Vendor Response

We are sorry you feel this way about your experience Dr. McNichols. In your case in particular, we feel your review is emotion based because you did not receive support as quickly as you wished. As you know, the subscription to our support service is optional. Even though you elected not to subscribe to our support service, we still want to help you. However, it is only fair that we take care of those customers who are paying for support before we help those who are not. Side note, software companies as a whole would not generally offer support unless it is paid for. When we tried to call you back, we could not reach you or leave a message as your voice mail box was full. I am told that when you called again, your issues were completely resolved. We have affordable software that does not break the bank and support is an option. Still, we truly apologize for this single experience that you had with our software and will offer you 30 days of support for free, we want to be sure

Replied June 2016

Rodger

Medical Practice, 11-50 employees

Used daily for more than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

5

Reviewed December 2016

I have used for 10 years and had great service.

I have used the software for over 10 years. It is easy to use and the service is the best is have seen by any software.

PROS

Easy to use and affordable. We have a multi doctor practice and works well for this.

CONS

We have not had any problems with the software.

Maria

Health, Wellness and Fitness, 2-10 employees

Used daily for more than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra
This reviewer was invited by the software vendor to submit an honest review.

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

5

Reviewed August 2017

Easy to use and affordable!

Easy to maintain patient accounts and history.

PROS

ACE Dental Software is super easy to use and works great for our practice needs. The knowledgeable staff is always on-hand for support and help with anything we may need.

Houssein

Health, Wellness and Fitness, 2-10 employees

Used daily for more than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

5

Reviewed December 2016

Ace software service - great stuff

Excellent customer service who are always there when you need them, and software has many features and simple to use. Simply great to have at the office.

PROS

Easy to use. Great customer service help when you need it.

CONS

None.

Regina

Used daily for less than 12 months

Review Source: Capterra
This review was submitted organically. No incentive was offered

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE