All Adit Reviews

1-25 of 75 Reviews

Sort by

Reviews are by default sorted by Recommended to software buyers, driven by our proprietary algorithm reflecting the depth and quality of the review, recency of experience, and other factors. As a neutral reviews platform, the star rating of the review is not considered in the "Recommended" ranking, and there is currently no voting mechanism that would allow site visitors to influence the ranking.

Hussein

Health, Wellness and Fitness, 2-10 employees

Used daily for more than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra
This review was submitted organically. No incentive was offered

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

5

FUNCTIONALITY

5

Reviewed March 2023

Great software for dental office

We used to have a different software that we used only for appointment reminders and confirmations. With Covid and the use of patient screening forms, ADIT was able to combine the functionality of the previous software with additional features.

PROS

Appointment reminders and medical forms. Connected with PMS for automatic notifications.

CONS

Synching with PMS can be slow sometimes.

Reasons for switching to Adit

More features with Adit

Carson

Hospital & Health Care, 11-50 employees

Used daily for more than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra
This review was submitted organically. No incentive was offered

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

4

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

5

Reviewed March 2023

Experience with adit over several years

Great support and monthly help meetings

PROS

They have build many products under one roof that I used to have to get from several different vendors.

CONS

I like to customize much more than most so even more customization would be nice for me

Reasons for switching to Adit

More products in one house

Ryen

Medical Practice, 11-50 employees

Used daily for less than 12 months

Review Source
This review was submitted organically. No incentive was offered

OVERALL RATING:

1

EASE OF USE

1

VALUE FOR MONEY

2

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

2

FUNCTIONALITY

1

Reviewed November 2022

Disappointed by a subpar program

The amount of complaints I've had over this system is enough to fill a book on why you should not install the Adit program. From patients receiving inaccurate dates & times, to some not receiving messages at all, there is a plethora of problems. I have patients getting messages that are not meant for them, I have missing voicemails in the system & some patients even reschedule their appointments only for them to be notified three to four ties that they have an appointment on the day they've already rescheduled. That is only the surface of it. I'm sure nothing will be done as nothing has ever been solved so far. Terrible program.

PROS

- Sends new patient packet forms to new patients (sometimes)

CONS

- Patients receiving inaccurate appointment times- Phones recording calls despite manager requesting that our calls are not to be recorded for patient confidentiality - Patients either being spammed with reminders, or not receiving reminders at all

Vendor Response

Hi Ryen, we sincerely apologize that you and your team experienced these issues with our software. Your feedback is hard to swallow because we go out of our way every day to ensure our customers' needs and concerns are addressed asap. We heavily invest in our world class support team and meticulous processes to ensure that our customers have their issues resolved immediately or within 24 hours of reporting them. However, we appreciate your review as it helps us strive to always be better than we were yesterday. In addition to our support team and in-app Knowledge Base, we've recently launched Adit Academy, which is a free training module that offers continuing education (post onboarding) to help teams flesh out their Adit skills which has shown to dramatically reduce the number of errors that cause some of the issues you indicated. We hope you and your awesome team were able to find a solution that fits your needs and wish you all the best! -The Adit Team

Replied January 2023

Adam

Hospital & Health Care, 11-50 employees

Used daily for less than 12 months

Review Source: Capterra
This review was submitted organically. No incentive was offered

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

5

Reviewed September 2021

Shasta Dental Services Software Review

By combining multiple operational components of a dental office, I can go to ADIT for most of the practices basic needs. I don't have to go through several companies to run a dental office. I can login into my ADIT app and access all the data I need to continue to drive growth and performance with staff. The onboarding takes some work but once it gets off the ground, ADIT is a product I highly recommend.

PROS

Easy to communicate with patients, view phone records, keep communication with patients, reminders and confirmations. I also like that we go to ONE single software for multiple uses. In additional the ablove benefits, it also includes our SEO and digital marketing services. Their Customer Support is TOP NOTCH

CONS

Text to pay features are not currently available. Their VOIP product is a work in progress. Hard to transfer calls between phones and access voicemails from patients.

Reasons for switching to Adit

More features including SEO and digital marketing services.

Vendor Response

Hi Adam, Thank you for taking the time to leave us such a detailed review! We're so glad that our platform can be your one stop shop for all your practice's needs! We're also happy to announce that our latest module, Adit Pay, launched on December 10, 2021 and it's fully equipped with that text to pay feature you've been waiting for along with so many other features. Learn more here: https://adit.com/dental-billing-software Thanks again for your kind words!

Replied December 2021

Kim

Hospital & Health Care, 2-10 employees

Used daily for more than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra
This review was submitted organically. No incentive was offered

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

5

Reviewed February 2023

A game changer!

PROS

Adit - the software and the team - has been key to our improved organization and growth. The analytical data has helped us to make better decisions and the team approach has meant that we have ally’s to help us along the way. We are so thankful and wonder how we ever made it without them!

CONS

Everything is user friendly and occasional glitches are quickly addressed.

Reasons for switching to Adit

We were encouraged to make the move by a consultant whom we trusted. While hesitant at first to make the change, we quickly realized that it was the right choice. With Adit we actually have a team of people who know us and care about us and our growth.

Mayra

Health, Wellness and Fitness, 51-200 employees

Used daily for less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra
This review was submitted organically. No incentive was offered

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

5

Reviewed March 2023

Easy, Friendly Use!

Easy to use, friendly.

PROS

The most I liked about Adit is the Practice analytics, texting feature.

CONS

I wish Adit was integrated with Open Dental.

Reasons for switching to Adit

Adit had more features

Susan

Hospital & Health Care, 2-10 employees

Used daily for more than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra
This review was submitted organically. No incentive was offered

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

5

Reviewed October 2021

Great team

PROS

Great marketing team. [SENSITIVE CONTENT] is always very thorough and friendly. Gives great suggestions for marketing. Always giving ideas and tips to improve and grow the practice. [SENSITIVE CONTENT] is very thorough on the recap emails. Harsh makes sure all details are added on the website. Love the phone app.

CONS

Syncing dates and appointments on phone app

Vendor Response

Hi Susan, Thanks for taking the time to leave us a review and for your kind words! We also appreciate Harsh's attention to detail and we're excited to share this review with him. It's great to know that the mobile app is a hit! Please feel free to reach out to support@adit.com if you have any questions about syncing data in the mobile app. Thanks again!

Replied December 2021

Anonymous

11-50 employees

Review Source: GetApp
This review was submitted organically. No incentive was offered

OVERALL RATING:

3

EASE OF USE

2

VALUE FOR MONEY

3

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

1

FUNCTIONALITY

1

Reviewed April 2022

Sold to us with a guarantee of customer service, only to be worse than weave

A waste of time, a waste of training hours, and a waste of staff moral being willing to change our protocol only to have it be sloppy and never get a hold of customer service.

PROS

Nothing is exceptional compared to weave or demand force, the selling point was the low price point and the promise of customer service.

CONS

The functionality of the product is not comparable to Dentrix patient forms, nor weave patient management. The integration is sloppy and the customization is non-existent. There was no follow through after the initial sales and onboarding call, they just take your money send you phones and then nothing. The customer service promise of a 5 minute wait gets you to an untrained call service which then puts you on an hours long call back que after wasting your time on hold. But they "answer in less than 5 minutes."

Reasons for switching to Adit

Customer Service promise

Ashima

Health, Wellness and Fitness, 2-10 employees

Used daily for more than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra
This review was submitted organically. No incentive was offered

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

5

Reviewed March 2023

User friendly platform

Adit has allowed us to have a greater digital footprint and made it easier to attract patients to our practice.

PROS

Platform offers users a multitude of features that are easy to use, deploy and that help manage their appointments and patients.

CONS

Not fully integrated with our scheduling software, which prevents us from using all of the features that are included.

Allen

Hospital & Health Care, 11-50 employees

Used daily for less than 12 months

Review Source: Capterra
This review was submitted organically. No incentive was offered

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

5

Reviewed October 2021

Excellent Service and Sofrware

Overall we love that we went with Adit. The software is very user friendly and helps up monitor and grow our business. 5 Stars!

PROS

We use the platform for any aspects and really enjoy the communication between the office and patient. The reports and audio recordings help us coach and train to ensure we are providing the best patient experience.

CONS

The only thing I would change is being able to provide a more up to date reporting system.

Vendor Response

Hi Allen, We're giving your review 5 stars too! Thanks for your detailed feedback. We've found that our reporting and audio recordings are our client's secret weapons for training, accountability and growth. We're so happy to hear that they've helped you with coaching your team to give your patients a gold star experience. We'd love to hear more about how you think we can improve our reporting system. Please reach out to our product team at product@adit.com with your suggestions or if you ever have any issues our support team is ready to lend a hand. Thanks again!

Replied December 2021

Tonya

Hospital & Health Care, 2-10 employees

Used daily for less than 6 months

Review Source
This review was submitted organically. No incentive was offered

OVERALL RATING:

1

EASE OF USE

1

VALUE FOR MONEY

1

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

1

FUNCTIONALITY

1

Reviewed November 2022

Terrible

PROS

I thought the phones but they only work half the time!!!!

CONS

EVERYTHING! We have had nothing but problems.

Reason for choosing Adit

Regretting that we did!

Reasons for switching to Adit

wanted more from the software

Vendor Response

Hi Tonya, we are so sorry you and your team had a negative experience with our platform and services. It's never easy to hear that a customer regrets choosing us, not just because we did not live up to expectations, but because it means we inconvenienced you. At Adit, we believe in transparency and doing the right thing even when it's hard. This includes taking feedback like this and using it to fuel our collective mission to make life easier for practices and teams like yours. We hope you were able to find a software that exceeds your expectations and is a good fit for your awesome team. All the best to you! - The Adit Team

Replied January 2023

Abby

Medical Practice, 2-10 employees

Used daily for more than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra
This review was submitted organically. No incentive was offered

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

5

Reviewed September 2021

Best marketing company

PROS

We love the confirmation texts, emails and new patient paperwork that's sent out to the patients. Also the website is user friendly.

CONS

We love everything about Adit!! We would not change anything at all.

Vendor Response

Hi Abby, Thanks for leaving us such a great review! We're so glad that you find our tech so useful. We also wanted to say that it means everything to us that you've trusted us with your practice for the past 2 years. We hope to keep earning your praises for many years to come!

Replied January 2022

Javed

Health, Wellness and Fitness, 11-50 employees

Used daily for less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra
This review was submitted organically. No incentive was offered

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

5

Reviewed March 2023

The best industry support software to Eaglesoft

I have been in the Industry for 30 year and I am tech savey. Adit is an Excellent software which encompasses all the aspects of the practice effectively with least over head. More over the entire support team is deligent

PROS

Every Module or feature is perfect as I wanted.

CONS

So far so good. and Trying to tie loose ends

Reasons for switching to Adit

Software functionality was impression and flowless

Felicity

Health, Wellness and Fitness, 2-10 employees

Used weekly for more than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra
This review was submitted organically. No incentive was offered

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

5

Reviewed October 2021

Adit is amazing for our marketing and lead generation

We love Adit! Easy to use and great customer service!

PROS

We love the prompt customer service Adit offers as well as helping us to stand out as leaders in health care in our community.

CONS

It didn’t integrate with our software which is why we weren’t able to utilize many of Adit’s other features.

Reason for choosing Adit

Great price for website management and SEO.

Vendor Response

Hi Felicity, Adit loves you and your team too! Thanks for taking the time to write us a review. You and your team are the superstars and it's a pleasure to be a part of your success in your community. Adit is growing and scaling like never before and we hope that someday soon our integrations will expand to work with software outside the dental industry. Until then, thank you for trusting us with your marketing, website and lead generation needs!

Replied December 2021

Jazlyn

Hospital & Health Care, 51-200 employees

Used daily for less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra
This review was submitted organically. No incentive was offered

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

5

Reviewed September 2021

Extremely Helpful!

PROS

Adit goes above and beyond to help our office communicate with our patients from online appointments, appointment reminders, accessible texting communication, online paperwork, and so much more!

CONS

Nothing Adit is great! Even if you have a small issue their support team reached out and will fix any problem very quickly!

Vendor Response

Hi Jazlyn, Thank you for going above and beyond to leave us a review! We're so happy to hear that our platform and customer service are 5-star worthy! Thanks for for your positive feedback.

Replied January 2022

Rima

Medical Practice, 2-10 employees

Used daily for more than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra
This review was submitted organically. No incentive was offered

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

4

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

4

Reviewed December 2021

Adit friend

very good

PROS

The website and patient ease of making appointments seeing reviews

CONS

not sure will leave it blank for now .

Reasons for switching to Adit

Better price and better features

Vendor Response

Hi Rima, Thanks for your review! We're so glad to hear that your patients find it easy to book appointments. Thanks for trusting us with your practice for the past 2 years!

Replied December 2021

Amy

Hospital & Health Care, 2-10 employees

Used daily for more than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra
This review was submitted organically. No incentive was offered

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

5

Reviewed February 2023

5 stars

PROS

Easy to use, one platform and customer support is amazing.

CONS

So far, nothing negative to report on this product

Reason for choosing Adit

Customer service and the number of services provided for the price on one platform.

Reasons for switching to Adit

Wanted to be on one platform

Eliana

Health, Wellness and Fitness, 51-200 employees

Used daily for less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra
This review was submitted organically. No incentive was offered

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE