All ClearDent Reviews

1-25 of 112 Reviews

Sort by

Reviews are by default sorted by Recommended to software buyers, driven by our proprietary algorithm reflecting the depth and quality of the review, recency of experience, and other factors. As a neutral reviews platform, the star rating of the review is not considered in the "Recommended" ranking, and there is currently no voting mechanism that would allow site visitors to influence the ranking.

Shirley

Health, Wellness and Fitness, 2-10 employees

Used daily for more than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra
This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

4

VALUE FOR MONEY

4

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

4

FUNCTIONALITY

4

Reviewed August 2018

ClearDent

Help to keep track of appointment, patient information and treatment progresss. Basic functions are OK but there are still inconvenient issues that need to be addressed.

PROS

Charting. Schedule. These are easy to use and navigate. The charting graphics could be better though.

CONS

Ledger is confusing to read and use especially when we have a mixture of assignment and non-assignment patients - not easy to distinguish between the two types of patients ans entering insurance cheque payments is confusing for frontdesk. It does not keep track of total fees charged year to date in the ledger so we have to add by calculator! Digital imaging is not completely compatible with ScanX. And not sure how to transfer radiographs between patients when radiographs were scanned into the wrong patient. When we print out xray or email Xrays, the file doesn’t include patient name - very inconvenient.

Hor Tak

Hospital & Health Care, 2-10 employees

Used daily for more than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra
This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

OVERALL RATING:

4

EASE OF USE

4

VALUE FOR MONEY

3

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

4

FUNCTIONALITY

4

Reviewed August 2018

Pretty decent practice management software

Overall it has been working for us. We hardly use the support so the yearly cost for that is a bit high I find especially when you add it up over the years. A per call charge instead might be a good option for them to offer for the offices that rarely call for support.

PROS

I like that everything is integrated - digital charting, radiographs, ledger and is easy to work with.

CONS

I didn't like that the EDI claims weren't automatically handled by the software into the ledger, but I hear this has been incorporated in a more recent version. Also sometimes upgrading to the new version taxes older computers so hardware upgrading is needed. That seems related to inefficient programming since this type of software isn't normally CPU intensive I would think. Maybe the more current versions don't require the latest and greatest CPU power. I don't know.

Vendor Response

Thank you for the review Dr. Z. Great to hear feedback like this. ClearDent is a very large program, so there are some technical requirements in order to run it. We don't often hear that they are too high though, so there may be a simple fix that an IT professional can help you with if you want to upgrade to the latest version. And yes, EDI claims are automatically added into the ledger! Luckily EVERY update from ClearDent is completely free, so when you're ready to upgrade, just let us know.

Replied October 2018

Mena

Medical Practice, 11-50 employees

Used daily for more than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra
This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

OVERALL RATING:

3

EASE OF USE

3

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

4

FUNCTIONALITY

3

Reviewed August 2018

Cleardent Review

For the initial training not enough training in the ledger . Would of liked more training. Most of my learning was through trial and error and the support is wonderful.

PROS

Training videos and support. Patient chart, odontogram, perio charting, Linking the radiographs with specific teeth. Treatment planning from the odontogram

CONS

Medical history page: Would like a link for documents scanned with patient meds or something on the medical history page that allows to create a list of meds and update. The recare system: Need to have a 4.5 mos option. Would like the recall to update more effectively. The insurance company management is not ideal. There are a lot of limitations in many areas. From a dental prospective there could be improvement in several areas in managing information and retrieving information and linking information. Needs more input from dental providers especially when comparing other dental software. Options to color code font in certain areas. InAbility to color code statuses in treatment planning.

Vendor Response

Hi Mena, thank you for your review. Your comments are really thoughtful and I will be passing them on to our R&D team for consideration. Thank you for taking the time to give us great feedback.

Replied October 2018

Lakshmi

Hospital & Health Care, 2-10 employees

Used daily for more than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra
This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

OVERALL RATING:

4

EASE OF USE

4

FUNCTIONALITY

4

Reviewed August 2018

Great if you are new to paperless charts

Generally I'm please that we chose Cleardent. I hope it becomes more popular in Ontario as the majority of new staff are unfamiliar with it.

PROS

Ease of use. It was easy to transition from paper. All staff from different generations and experience were able to adapt quickly. I like that the digital xrays are integrated rather than using bridging.

CONS

Customer support is mixed. I have solved several of my own problems because they insist something is not possible, when I'm sure it is. Bugs that we find are not handled promptly.

Vendor Response

Thank you for your review, Dr. M. Sorry that our support team wasn't able to solve your problems. That is not typical, but they are human, so they will occasionally have off days. Hopefully next time they can get back to serving you perfectly. Also, you'll be glad to know that we are growing fast in Ontario, so you can expect more and more people to be familiar with our product there.

Replied October 2018

Edward

Health, Wellness and Fitness, 2-10 employees

Used daily for more than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra
This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

OVERALL RATING:

4

EASE OF USE

4

VALUE FOR MONEY

4

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

4

FUNCTIONALITY

4

Reviewed January 2019

User-Friendly Software

Their tech support is above average, although there's one particular guy I'd rather speak to most of the time (Vinod) because he handles call well & is really well-versed on the system. Do I get money's worth from using their software - it's an in-between of Yes & No? But I have no plans of switching to another software.

PROS

Easy to navigate menus. The software is well equipped and ready to interface with other applications.

CONS

I spoke to a tech support guy before, I was looking to generate a report (I just can't remember exactly what but it has something to do with cancelling appointments on schedule) but I was told that that item (detail) can't be generated. So I told him maybe you could suggest on your next meeting to have that included on the software for UAT. I don't know what happened since but I still can't get that report I was looking for.

benita

Hospital & Health Care, 11-50 employees

Used daily for more than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra
This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

4

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

5

Reviewed September 2018

Cleardent helps us onboard new staff and help our patients effciently

Ease of customer service and friendliness allows the staff to take the step to call - not wait to ask myself or the office managers.

PROS

As a dental staff trainer, I love the training tool online. The basic framework is clearly reviewed, and I and the staff can spend more time training on specific areas. I appreciate the ease of use and the reporting systems for our day and month end. Customer support is wonderful and the staff learn more each time they speak to someone. Great job!

CONS

I would like to have the lab codes not automatically have a check mark next to it in the treatment planning area. I create templates that sometimes needs codes removed and now when remove all checked items is clicked a lab code is removed that was auto checked

Sonya

Hospital & Health Care, 11-50 employees

Used daily for more than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra
This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

4

Reviewed August 2018

Very User Friendly Software

PROS

Our office has had many fill in staff over the last year (due to injury/accidents) and this software if very easy to teach to new users. It has a great workflow from start - patients being checked in and seated - to finish - receptionist checking the patient out and scheduling the subsequent visits. Since starting to use the emailing system for recall visits our hygiene department has started scheduling 3-4 months in advance and our cancellation list to fill appointments is longer than its ever been.

CONS

We wish that there was a greater ability for customization of dental charting and a more efficient way to input existing treatment when charting for a new patient to the practice.

Chris

Hospital & Health Care, 11-50 employees

Used daily for more than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra
This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

OVERALL RATING:

4

EASE OF USE

4

VALUE FOR MONEY

4

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

4

FUNCTIONALITY

5

Reviewed August 2018

Lots to offer

We have been using Cleardent for over five years. Still feeling like we are only touching the tip of the iceberg in terms of the potential to drive our business forward.

PROS

This software has it all. Great program for practice management for a complex office. Plenty of management tools and customizable.

CONS

It is a complex program so lots to learn to maximize its potential. You get out what you put in so make sure to be ready to adapt to updates.

Vendor Response

Hi Chris, thanks so much for your review. Very glad to hear that ClearDent has been working so well for you for over 5 years! If you ever want to learn more about how to use ClearDent (you're right, it can do a LOT), I hope you check out our training video section on our website: https://www.cleardent.com/free-tools/training-videos.php

Replied August 2018

Maria

Medical Practice, 11-50 employees

Used daily for more than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra
This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

4

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

5

Reviewed August 2018

Cleardent User Friendly Great Customer Support

One of the customer representatives is my number one support, he understands me sends me the info I need step by step emails He is the best but they are all very knowledgeable at Cleardent.

PROS

I have been using Cleardent for over 15years and it is very user friendly but the best is the support staff, I use it to the extreme. I call for assistance and love the call back program. I also email my favorite support members and get a response with in a timely fashion.

CONS

There are features that I would love to use but financially our office is not able to access them so if they put the features and increased the support a little so everyone can use them eg texting etc

Bailey

Hospital & Health Care, 11-50 employees

Used daily for more than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra
This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

4

Reviewed August 2018

Great Software

Using cleardent for 6 years, texting and email service is great. I'd like to see more features that we can use w/ the text and email.

PROS

Very colourful and like how graphic it is, (dentrix is to bland) very easy to use and I like that a couple suggestions I have made for the program have been added in the updates

CONS

when you remove secondary ins to remove primary and then put secondary so you can send a claim, all the fees constantly change. It'd be nice what you put in for primary/secondary stays the same so if a tx plan is added and you need to pre-d it but another part of the plan is already assessed it'd be great if the fees never changed.

Matt

Health, Wellness and Fitness, 2-10 employees

Used daily for more than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra
This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

OVERALL RATING:

4

EASE OF USE

4

VALUE FOR MONEY

4

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

4

FUNCTIONALITY

5

Reviewed August 2018

Review

Pretty good, except that we had to purchase another software to help reporting in some areas Cleardent didn’t cover.

PROS

It is innovative and they are looking for new ways to make it better and more user friendly.

CONS

More reporting so that it can serve more as a practice management tool. It is better than other software but there is still a lot of room to grow.

Vendor Response

Thanks for the review Dr. B. You're right, we are always working to make more improvements. And, our analytics is something that we are looking to improve as well. Our goal is to be more comprehensive as a business and dental solution, and analytics are an important part of that.

Replied October 2018

Lowell

Health, Wellness and Fitness, 2-10 employees

Used daily for more than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra
This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

OVERALL RATING:

3

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

3

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

3

Reviewed August 2018

okay software but could be better

PROS

real time compatibility with most insurances, especially with PBC

CONS

-quite rudimentary (ie: have to track items that are not covered by insurance manually) -some insurances only allow certain number of xrays or certain dollar value per year or they don't pay for fluoride or there's age restrictions

Vendor Response

Hi Dr. L. Thank you for the your honest review about our software, especially as it interacts with insurance carriers. We are always working to improve the areas that we can control. Glad to hear you're enjoying our support and ease of use so much!

Replied October 2018

Julia

Medical Practice, 11-50 employees

Used daily for more than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra
This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

OVERALL RATING:

4

EASE OF USE

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

4

Reviewed August 2018

Clearedent is easy to learn

PROS

Offers many features that make the day to day tasks much easier. Sends auto sms to clients, able to email X-rays directly from software, and allows for multitasking when working on multiple things at once.

CONS

Does not generate a lot reports needed to review progress of the practice.

Vendor Response

Hi Julia, thank you for your review! Great to hear how happy you are with ClearDent. If you're looking for more reports you may want to check out "ClearInsights," our native analytics add-on. It will have everything you want!

Replied October 2018

Wil

Medical Practice, 2-10 employees

Used daily for more than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra
This review was submitted organically. No incentive was offered

OVERALL RATING:

4

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

4

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

3

FUNCTIONALITY

4

Reviewed September 2022

Cleardent is the easiest dental software to use

I would choose Cleardent over any other dental software. Easiest to use.

PROS

The ledger and schedule is very flexible. You add appointments by hi-lite scheduler back ground. Can remove mistakes in ledger quickly and with-in a few clicks.

CONS

customer service is getting very slow. Can take hours for them to respond and help fix a problem. Need to hire more staff.

Sanjit

Medical Practice, 2-10 employees

Used daily for more than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra
This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

5

Reviewed August 2018

Most user friendly dental software

We are solving billing problems with cleardent and simplifying our charting process with new and existing treatment

PROS

The ease of use, simple and easy flow from treatment planning to billing. The scheduler links flawlessly with the billing. Charting is fully customizable with everything from perio to restorative making treatment planning simple

CONS

Colour coding in the charting section could be improved

Eric

Health, Wellness and Fitness, 2-10 employees

Used daily for more than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra
This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

OVERALL RATING:

4

EASE OF USE

4

VALUE FOR MONEY

4

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

3

Reviewed August 2018

Cleardent user

Still don’t feel paperless charting is achievable at the same quality and ease as paper charting. However, we are partially paperless and enjoy the charting and digital imaging.

PROS

Excellent customer service, easy updates

CONS

New requested features are rarely implemented and problems with software not always fixed.

Vendor Response

Thank you Dr.B. We appreciate your very positive review. Hopefully we will get to a point very soon where you will feel comfortable becoming completely paperless.

Replied October 2018

Andrea

Health, Wellness and Fitness, 11-50 employees

Used daily for more than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra
This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

5

Reviewed August 2018

Great Software

PROS

Easy to use Great Features Nice Graphics

CONS

Sometimes too many pop ups. Recare system is not as good as it could be.

Vendor Response

Hi Andrea, thanks for your fantastic review. We're very glad to hear you've been successfully using ClearDent for over 2 years. I'd love to hear your ideas about how to improve our recare system. If you don't mind sharing them, please email me at mark@cleardent.com and I'll make sure they get in front of the right people!

Replied August 2018

Alexander

Health, Wellness and Fitness, 2-10 employees

Used daily for more than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra
This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

OVERALL RATING:

4

EASE OF USE

4

VALUE FOR MONEY

4

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY