All Open Dental Reviews

1-25 of 77 Reviews

Sort by

Reviews are by default sorted by Recommended to software buyers, driven by our proprietary algorithm reflecting the depth and quality of the review, recency of experience, and other factors. As a neutral reviews platform, the star rating of the review is not considered in the "Recommended" ranking, and there is currently no voting mechanism that would allow site visitors to influence the ranking.

Anonymous

Used weekly for more than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra
This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

5

Reviewed March 2018

Open Dental is an amazing piece of software, with excellent support and customization

Much, much less time on hold for support. Much less reason to even call support. This program is incredibly well made, and just works. It's super easy to install, and it integrates with pretty much all of the imaging software that's out there. Make no mistake - you can not go wrong with Open Dental.

PROS

Being that this is an open source program for dental practice management, there are a wide variety of plug-ins and customization that are out there. Also, the support is amazing. Many of our clients use Open Dental, and we support it in our business. When you call for support, they'll remember your name, and there's barely any hold-time when comparing to Schein or Patterson, which can have 30+ minutes of hold time at times. Open Dental has a lot of reports that you can run as well, and it's easier in comparison to some of the competitors. This is by far our favorite dental practice management software, and we use and support all of them. The cost is fair as well. This software has incredible value.

CONS

There's not much I don't like about this software, since it's so easy to install and to use. I would say the biggest con, is that when people are changing software to open dental, there's a bit of a steep learning curve. However, that's true of all dental practice management software.

Jennifer

Hospital & Health Care, 11-50 employees

Used daily for less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra
This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

4

FUNCTIONALITY

4

Reviewed February 2021

User Friendly and Completely Customizable

Switching programs has allowed us to expand the digital aspect of our patient's charts, completely eliminating the need for paper charts at all!

PROS

Open Dental promotes itself as completely customizable and that's absolutely correct. If there's a feature they don't have, you can pay to have it created, or if enough people vote to have it created, their developers will add the feature! You can run a Query (custom report) for just about any possible scenario, and save it as a favorite for future use. It's incredibly user friendly, between the customer support team, online manual, and YouTube video tutorials, you'll feel like a pro in no time at all! You can set up additional training and their team is always friendly and approachable. Very happy to have found this software at a decent price!

CONS

Features can sometimes take a while, especially if you're just trying to vote on them. Occasionally things are labeled or located in areas you wouldn't expect, or called something unusual. For instance, if you want to add a user, you have to go into "security", which took me FOREVER to find!

Reason for choosing Open Dental

Price, ease of use, and multiple features

Reasons for switching to Open Dental

Recommendations from other doctors, Perio Vision is an older program and did not have many of the features Open Dental has.

Vendor Response

Thank you for the great review, Jennifer - we're happy to play in role in helping you be paperless! For quick questions like you had with adding a user, please feel free to use online chat to get a quick answer right away. We look forward to continuing to help you maximize all the tools in the software.

Replied February 2021

Heather

Medical Practice, 2-10 employees

Used daily for less than 12 months

Review Source
This review was submitted organically. No incentive was offered

OVERALL RATING:

1

EASE OF USE

1

VALUE FOR MONEY

1

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

1

FUNCTIONALITY

1

Reviewed March 2023

Look somewhere else..

Customer Service NEVER fixes the issue, they always do the same routine and nothing is ever done. You GET NO training on accounting, billing, claims, or anything. If you want help or training its $50/hour

PROS

I do not like anything about the product or Open Dental Customer Service team

CONS

Almost everything....with Open Dental Cloud the glitches are more than multiple times a day!!! I have to close out and everything btw patients and calls

Michelle

Hospital & Health Care, 11-50 employees

Used daily for more than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra
This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

5

Reviewed October 2020

Open Dental Review

My overall experience with Open Dental has been great. The software is easy to use and reliable. The accounting section is full of every report you could ever need and, if by chance there’s a report that you want that isn’t on the list, Open Dental will create it for you. I feel as if Open Dental has been a huge part of the success of our practice.

PROS

Open Dental is so easy to use. I like how clearly the process of entering a patient’s information, insurance, etc. is. Each part of a patient’s chart is clearly separated into easy-to-identify sections for each part of a dental office…hygiene, restorative, billing, etc. I especially like how clearly Open Dental processes insurance and insurance payments. The software designers are forward-thinking, and because they are open to customers’ ideas and suggestions, they are always bringing in new and exciting features. Best of all, their customer service is easily reachable by several different options and is fast and fantastic.

CONS

I don’t feel as if there is anything I don’t like about using Open Dental. It is so much more user-friendly than any other software I have ever used.

Stanislav

Medical Practice, 11-50 employees

Used daily for more than 2 years

Review Source
This review was submitted organically. No incentive was offered

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

5

Reviewed January 2019

My Server Crashed and Open Dental came to my rescue!!

So, my physical server just crashed this past Tuesday the 1st of January 2019. The 2 of the 3 hard-drives on the server were corrupted, last one barely had accessible data. The other backup, the "Cloud" back up would not sync, there was an issue with the password that could not be recovered. I was dead in the water. I got on the phone with rep from Open Dental. This guy is top rate IT man, he knows the software, the code, etc. An emergency data recovery team was able to get rep a semi corrupted, semi correct version of my data and he put it all back together for the office. Rep and his team worked hard and now i'm back up and running. I could not have asked for better customer support. By the way, the only way Rep was able to allocate his resources towards my project was an OK from the CEO, so rep was literally on the phone with the CEO and who okay his staffs' time. So the company has an empathetic leader, who allowed the allocation of much of his resources to rebuild my database. I would have lost all my patient's data, the appointments, the amount the they paid me, the existing treatment plans, the previous work done, it would have just been a disaster for my business, literally starting over with nothing. public service announcement: just because you run back ups doesn't mean you shouldn't physically test them to make sure you have access to the data. Back to Open Dental, the CEO and IT team lead by rep and saved my business, I'm extremely grateful. Again, Open Dental is a top notch company with top notch staff!!!!

PROS

Amazingly easy to use and constantly being updated with latest versions, you don't need to wait for a new full release, like some other dental software programs. Open dental techs just update your software with new features when they develop them. The software is free and the monthly IT fee is 110% worth it.

CONS

Its really difficult to find any cons with a software that is personalized. If you do find an issue, the IT team calls you back withing 10mins and there is almost nothing that they can't work out for you by use of screen sharing etc.

Robert

Health, Wellness and Fitness, 2-10 employees

Used daily for more than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

5

Reviewed February 2017

OUTSTANDING; SUPERB; FIRST RATE; TERRIFIC; NUMERO UNO. OPEN DENTAL IS THE BEST!!!

We have been using Open Dental since 2009 and love the program. It is incredibly robust and does everything we need and more. Open Dental enabled us to become a paperless, chartless practice. Customer support is second to none. They are extremely attentive to their customers needs. Updates are continually being released, not just once every year or more. True story. I once called the customer support line. I reached their voice mail and since it was almost closing time I didn't bother to leave a message, I figured I would call back the next day. Well I'm sitting at my desk and the phone rings and I see it is area code 503. So I pick up and the person says, "This is Open Dental. How can we help you? I was blown away. I asked him how he know I called and he said he saw my number on their caller ID. Well, how many companies call you back even when you DIDN'T leave a message? That is how dedicated they are to customer satisfaction. Another time, I had a serious problem after a windows upgrade and couldn't get OD to work. They spent hours remotely working on my machine and escalated it to their top techies. And it was really a problem with Windows not Open Dental that caused the problem. No where else would you get that kind of service. I was so grateful for all their efforts I found a pizza place near them on the internet and ordered several pizzas and had them delivered. I don't know anybody who uses Open Dental who doesn't love the company and the software.

PROS

Extremely customizable. You can create queries and get just about any information you want out of the database. You can be truly paperless and chart-less. It doesn't take long to learn the ins and outs. The software is constantly being improved. They take suggestions and advice from their users and try to implement what the users ask for. They even have a system where you can vote on feature that you and other users post, and the ones with the most votes get the top priority. It is not expensive.

CONS

The are growing so fast I worry that they will lose some of the feeling of being a small, intimate company. So far that hasn't been a problem.

Diane

Medical Practice, 2-10 employees

Used daily for more than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra
This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

5

Reviewed October 2023

A PMS you can rely on with wonderful support

I have enjoyed learning Open Dental as a clinical user and Practice manager. It is easy to navigate and customize to our practice needs. I LOVE the customer service they provide when I'm stumped or want to learn more!

PROS

Open Dental has many customizable features compared to other PMS systems. You also have endless access to "how to" tutorials or you can call their pleasant customer service for assistance!

CONS

To navigate some areas there can be a lot of extra clicks to get there, but overall not a major downfall.

Vendor Response

Thank you for the kind words, Diane! We're glad you're enjoying Open Dental's customization features and friendly support! Our technicians are here for you anytime, and we encourage you to plug into our YouTube channel and opendental.blog for more learning opportunities! Welcome to the Open Dental community :)

Replied October 2023

Kat

Cosmetics, 1 employee

Used daily for more than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra
This review was submitted organically. No incentive was offered

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

4

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

5

Reviewed July 2023

Great dental software

Great- been using this software for 8 years

PROS

Very user friendly, excellent customer and IT service. Even for a novice this software is very easy to learn. I like that it’s customizable to an extent as well and there are hundreds of available queries to meet the practices needs

CONS

Occasional latency when opening images, occasional issues opening radiographs

Jennifer

Hospital & Health Care, 2-10 employees

Used daily for less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra
This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

5

Reviewed December 2019

Love open dental!

Open Dental is one of the least expensive practice management softwares while also being the most thorough. Reports can be modified to your specifications and the software is very easy to use and learn.

PROS

Open dental is one of the most comprehensive practice management softwares for dental available. Everything for each patient is one one screen (unlike many others that have the medical history separate).

CONS

A lot of set up can be involved in order to make autonotes. While this is time consuming it is very worth it and saves time in the long run.

Anonymous

2-10 employees

Used daily for less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra
This review was submitted organically. No incentive was offered

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

4

Reviewed December 2018

Ease of patient care

Open dental has helped keep positive patient experiences, and has helped with the flow of work. I was able to learn how to navigate this software in a week!

PROS

This software keeps patients information mostly in one location. It is easy to navigate compared to other dental software.

CONS

If you are using another software for patients to update their medical history, it does not sync well.

Susan

Health, Wellness and Fitness, 2-10 employees

Used daily for less than 6 months

Review Source: Capterra
This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

5

Reviewed May 2021

VERY user friendly. Great software.

Great.

PROS

We transitioned to this software after our practice was sold to a new dentist. I was very scared about changing software but after about two weeks (without any training) we were using it like we had been using it for years. It is so user friendly. I was very happy with patient check in, check out, adding insurances, and making treatment plans. I would definitely recommend this software. I know that is integrated quite easily with our existing digital xray system though I was not involved in getting that set up. I just know the transition was very smooth.

CONS

I can't think of any problems other than our particular doctor did not provide training. I am not sure if Open Dental providers training. Maybe Youtube video tutorials at the minimum. But again it is so user friendly, it did not take long to figure out.

Reasons for switching to Open Dental

Practice was sold to new doctor.

Vendor Response

Thank you for the kind words, Susan - we're so glad you were able to make the switch easily and have learned things so quickly! We have loads of training videos on our YouTube Channel if you would like to enhance your learning, and our support team is always just a call or chat away if you have any questions :)

Replied May 2021

Kayla

Medical Practice, 51-200 employees

Used daily for more than 2 years

Review Source
This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

5

Reviewed November 2020

User Friendly

Overall I’m pretty satisfied with my daily use of opendental and the user friendlyness of the program overall

PROS

I really love how user friendly open Dental is on the administration side with the accounts. It’s easy to see clearly and understand

CONS

Some times looking at the software, it could look a bit outdated compared to other dental programs.

Mary

Medical Practice, 2-10 employees

Used daily for less than 6 months

Review Source: Capterra
This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

OVERALL RATING:

4

EASE OF USE

5

FUNCTIONALITY

4

Reviewed May 2022

Very User Friendly

PROS

Very easy to learn and implement. Very user friendly

CONS

I would prefer the ability to have multiple windows open at the same time to be able to go back and forth.

Reasons for switching to Open Dental

New Job

Vendor Response

Thank you for the review Mary! To have multiple windows open, simply open multiple instances of Open Dental. To do this, just open the program, then open it again, and again, etc. - each copy of the program can be re-sized so you can work in multiple windows simultaneously. Feel free to reach out to our support team for any other questions!

Replied May 2022

Lauren

Health, Wellness and Fitness, 11-50 employees

Used daily for more than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

5

Reviewed January 2017

Open dental

I have enjoed the customization of this tool. The tech support has been better then I have experienced. My favorite aspect is that open dental is open source which makes it very flexible and robust in it's capacity.

PROS

Customization

CONS

So many functions I could use more training

Anonymous

2-10 employees

Used daily for more than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra
This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

OVERALL RATING:

4

EASE OF USE

4

VALUE FOR MONEY

4

FUNCTIONALITY

4

Reviewed November 2018

Solid and easy to use!

Haven’t had any problems and it runs smooth!

PROS

It’s easy to find my way around. It integrates well w Dexis.

CONS

W this last update there is a pop up that shows up when leaving a pts chart that is annoying.

Amber

Medical Practice, 2-10 employees

Used daily for less than 12 months

Review Source
This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

5

Reviewed November 2017

We love what OpenDental offers!

We tell people to make the switch to OpenDental all the time!

PROS

Everything—the support is awesome. The software is always adapting to what dentists need in ways that actually benefit them and the program isn’t bloated with a bunch of “features” that aren’t useful.

CONS

I hate to complain because there’s not too much to complain about... but we don’t love that you can’t edit the hours on the schedule to only start at 6 or 7 AM and end at 6 PM. Again... petty.

Kathy

Medical Practice, 1,001-5,000 employees

Used daily for less than 2 years

Review Source
This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

4

VALUE FOR MONEY

4

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

4

Reviewed June 2018

Open dental is a good product

PROS

Easy to use and understand. Easy to learn the functions. User friendly and color coded well. Easy to access all patient information with a few clicks.

CONS

Slow at times, and can be glitchy. Some functions have too many steps to get to hat you need to do.

ASHLEY

Medical Practice, 1,001-5,000 employees

Used more than 2 years

Review Source
This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

5

FUNCTIONALITY