All PyCharm Reviews

1-25 of 343 Reviews

Sort by

Reviews are by default sorted by Recommended to software buyers, driven by our proprietary algorithm reflecting the depth and quality of the review, recency of experience, and other factors. As a neutral reviews platform, the star rating of the review is not considered in the "Recommended" ranking, and there is currently no voting mechanism that would allow site visitors to influence the ranking.

Michael

10,001+ employees

Used less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra
This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

OVERALL RATING:

4

Reviewed May 2023

Great for pure Python code, but Visual Studio Code is superior for multiplatform code

User Profile

Ilaria

Verified reviewer

Aviation & Aerospace, 5,001-10,000 employees

Used daily for more than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra
This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

FUNCTIONALITY

4

Reviewed December 2021

The best environment for Python developers

My experience with PyCharm has been very positive. The interface is pleasant, it is easy to open new files from the same directory, any folder can be opened as a PyCharm project and every extension can be opened, such as readmes. PyCharm has auto-saving, which is useful in case of crashes, and automatically re-opens the last project I was working on when I restart it which decreases the time taken before I can start working. The integration with GitHub makes collaborating really easy. Overall, I would recommend it, as it greatly simplifies the job of a developer and makes it pleasant.

PROS

My favourite parts of this IDE are the integration with GitHub, which is simple and immediate, with the possibility to right away download a project from a shared repository. Furthermore, the interface is pleasant, installing new packages is easy to do within the interface without the use of pip install, and now there is also the new option for collaborating live - which is promising, although I have not tried it yet. The suggestions for code completion are relevant and greatly speed up the job of writing code. Import statements are sometimes imported automatically from previous code pieces. Having a JetBrains account makes it easy to keep changes across OS and computers.

CONS

One of the least intuitive things with PyCharm is starting a virtual environment for every code that needs to be run, and making the packages available to each python file: every time a new python file is created in a new directory, the virtual environment needs to be imported from a previous instance (or re-created, but this involves re-installing the packages). It could be nice to make the virtual environment available to every file by default, such that packages are always available. In some cases, it is also hard to install the latest version, thereby an older version has to be installed. This is not beneficial.

Anonymous

10,000+ employees

Used daily for more than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra
This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

OVERALL RATING:

4

EASE OF USE

4

VALUE FOR MONEY

3

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

2

FUNCTIONALITY

5

Reviewed August 2022

One stop solution for Python enthusiasts

It was a great experience for me to use Pycharm so far. I have been using this IDE for my day-to-day tasks as a data science professional. The only issue I had with it is the high RAM usage which slows down my work often.

PROS

I found its user-friendly UI self-explanatory, making it easier to navigate. It gives the flexibility to install packages, build ML models and deploy.

CONS

Too much resource hungry and consumes up a lot of RAM during use.

Reason for choosing PyCharm

Pycharm is more suitable for my data science-related work.

Reasons for switching to PyCharm

Pycharm is the clear choice considering my work related to data science

Akshat

Computer Software, 51-200 employees

Used daily for less than 12 months

Review Source: Capterra
This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

OVERALL RATING:

3

EASE OF USE

3

VALUE FOR MONEY

2

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

4

FUNCTIONALITY

3

Reviewed January 2023

Coding Platform for beginners

Overall experience is not very good but yes, For a beginner to learn and explore different software this can be an option.

PROS

The customer support is quite appreciable here, Also it has some special environment which helps in deploying some software codes.

CONS

The price for the software is quite high, Also the UI is of poor quality and very less functionalities are offered.

Anonymous

2-10 employees

Used weekly for less than 12 months

Review Source: Capterra
This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

4

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

FUNCTIONALITY

5

Reviewed March 2021

Best Python IDE with support for other languages

I don't use Python as much as R, but I appreciate having an excellent IDE to make my projects more efficient, better scripted, and more robust.

PROS

The layout and features are excellent for data science and data analysis projects. The GUI is clean and user friendly. The pricing structure is fair and allows for perpetual ownership of a version of the software even if you stop subscribing (within certain requirements). Extra addons and third party plugins make it even better. It also now includes R support too, so it can be a single IDE for all data projects.

CONS

On first opening the software, the screen can feel and look pretty cluttered. It can feel a little overwhelming, but once you get used to it, the interface is really well designed.

Reasons for switching to PyCharm

Visual Studio is a wonderful software but it is really designed for pure code not data work. PyCharm is for data work.

Anonymous

201-500 employees

Used daily for less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra
This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

4

FUNCTIONALITY

5

Reviewed July 2019

Best Python IDE

Great for general Python programming

PROS

This is the de facto standard Python IDE.. it's great. There is both a free version (community) and paid (enterprise). The UI is super slick and it just helps me so much in general productivity with a lot of built in features for automatically doing things like setting up virtual environments, downloading python modules, amazing code completion.. etc. Also has great integration with git repos and pushing code easily.

CONS

Would be nice if it handled writing custom code documentation a bit better.. but this is not really a fault of pycharm but more python/python's PEP itself

Reason for choosing PyCharm

Better integration with the Python environment over a general text editor

Anonymous

11-50 employees

Used daily for more than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra
This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

FUNCTIONALITY

5

Reviewed March 2021

Everything you need in One IDE

Satisfactory and boosts productivity for me and people I've recommended it to

PROS

Great thing I love about PyCharm is 1. Easy to manage your virtual Environments 2. Services - Control your docker, vagrant services 3. Version Control - You can view history on any highlighted text 4. Manage your remote connections

CONS

The memory hog is one thing, but then it requires at least a 8GB ram. You can easily do a RAM upgrade

Reasons for switching to PyCharm

I need to install everything I need one after the other

Anonymous

51-200 employees

Used daily for less than 12 months

Review Source: Capterra
This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

5

FUNCTIONALITY

5

Reviewed January 2022

A newly-found favorite IDE on mine. Simple and user-friendly.

PROS

1. Simple 2. Well-integrated with CI/CD tools 3. User-friendly 4. Free to use! 5. Credible and widely-known 6. There are many forums and training out there

CONS

1. None for me. I have been using PyCharm for several months now and I have no complaints about this. I can see myself using this for the next years to come in my test automation.

Reason for choosing PyCharm

1. Compare to Eclipse, I find PyCharm easier to manage and easier to see. 2. Fewer features to worry about in PyCharm. You can only manage what you really need and the rest is well-taken care of by the app.

Anonymous

1 employee

Used weekly for less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra
This review was submitted organically. No incentive was offered

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

4

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

5

Reviewed August 2021

My opinion on PyCharm after 2 years of using it as student and 6 months as a professional

I loved developing python scripts with PyCharm, it saved me a lot of time, an easy to get the hang of it due to its simple UI

PROS

What I really like about PyCharm is the ability to separate the output of the script and the debugging terminal, also the auto-complete feature is great it saved me a lot of time

CONS

It is not lightweight software, and it produces a huge amount of junk files that eats the space on your PC you will need to delete those files every week if your PC has no enough space

Reasons for switching to PyCharm

what made me switch is that PyCharm provides better features to work with python, specially if you are developing automation scripts, the ability to see the code output in different terminal is huge plus, it eases your debugging process

Anonymous

1 employee

Used weekly for less than 6 months

Review Source: Capterra
This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

FUNCTIONALITY

5

Reviewed May 2022

Great software development tool, particularly for beginners

Never ran into major issues, it was good to use with the group for teaching and developing. Its friendly interface made everything smooth.

PROS

It's extremely user-friendly, with great UX/UI, good features, and good supporting material online. It's a very nice tool, particularly for beginners who can edit, debug, and run their code in one single platform, without having to run separate software/commands. Very easy to download and install, it didn't require major updates or anything.

CONS

I used it for about 4 months over a university term, I don't have any complaints. It was a very nice tool for the applications we were using (simple Python coding).

Reasons for switching to PyCharm

I used both, actually. I made the switch for a particular course I was teaching so that all student could have access to a very complete IDE they could run tests with their codes without having to run a separate terminal.

User Profile

George Rex

Verified reviewer

Information Technology and Services, 2-10 employees

Used monthly for less than 12 months

Review Source: Capterra
This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

OVERALL RATING:

4

EASE OF USE

3

FUNCTIONALITY

4

Reviewed September 2019

A Good Tool For Lovers of Python

I particularly am using PyCharm to horn my skills in coding with the python programming language. Apart from the fact that I get to wait a long time for the software to load, and I cant multitask with other jobs on my laptop, PyCharm is really a wonderful tool for both newbies and experts to build wonderful python programs. And the fact that the Django framework is embedded makes it even better for optimal utility.

PROS

This software is quite intelligent and a wonderful masterpiece. Its pack of libraries and easy intelligent code recognition and indentation makes me always want to continue my coding practice in python.

CONS

I know PyCharm is useful in creating a GUI feel for python codes, but the product is quite heavy and resource consuming especially when running on earlier versions of Windows operating system; this makes the loading and initialization time to take long.

Reasons for switching to PyCharm

Netbeans was becoming too complicated to use, especially on the fact that am not so friendly with consoles and command lines.

Zach

Real Estate, 2-10 employees

Used daily for less than 12 months

Review Source: Capterra
This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

OVERALL RATING:

4

EASE OF USE

3

VALUE FOR MONEY

2

FUNCTIONALITY

4

Reviewed October 2021

Good choice if you are looking for a heavier, feature-oriented Python IDE

Overall, it was a slow text editor for me, and I wasn't able to get all of the advanced features to work well in my environment. In other environments or if one decides to spend a lot of time in the configuration, it might eventually pay off. However, I'm personally more interested in a slimmer code editor.

PROS

There are a lot of features built into PyCharm. The code completion which is like an intellisense is very handy. There are nice contextual features like jumping to a definition of a variable, method, class, etc.

CONS

All of the features makes the software bulkier and ultimately a slower experience. I also never got to use some of the more advanced features because they didn't play well with my environment. I use projects based on buildout, and although there is buildout support built in, I found it too hard to set up and work out all of the kinks, so I ended up not even using most of those advanced features.

Reasons for switching to PyCharm

I received a 6 month trial as part of a package that I bought.

Maha

Computer Software, 501-1,000 employees

Used daily for more than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra
This review was submitted organically. No incentive was offered

OVERALL RATING:

4

EASE OF USE

4

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

3

FUNCTIONALITY

5

Reviewed August 2023

PyCharm: One of the Best IDEs for Serious Python Development

Amazing features in code completion, debugging, package importing, and virtual environment management.

PROS

I have developed several AI/ML applications with the help of PyCharm. Very intuitive IDE that provides easy code completion and debugging for my Python projects. I tried several other IDEs including the reference IDLE implementation but PyCharm is way ahead. Easy importing of packages for scientific computing, machine learning, client/server programming, and database connectivity. Virtual Runtime environments can also be managed very easily in the project settings.

CONS

A bit of lagging performance on Mac from time to time. I checked and this might be due to the use of several virtual python environments on my system. Not an issue as the features available makes it really appealing for long development hours in Python.

Anonymous

1 employee

Used daily for less than 12 months

Review Source: Capterra
This review was submitted organically. No incentive was offered

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

4

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

5

Reviewed April 2022

Why Pycharm is the Best Python Editor ?

I've been using it for a few months now and feel comfortable working with it, I started in university when I started learning Python it was with a different editor which is Spyder, but when I finished the basics and started progressing, everyone advised me to use Pycharm.

PROS

I am going to talk now and tell you why this editor is my favorite among the other editors in the Python language. You should know first that it is an advanced editor than the other editors . So why is it better? This is due to the fact that it provides you with some tools that will save you time when writing the code, and as we programmers know the importance of time for us, I used it for months and I am now very comfortable working with it, I spent a year before that in the Spyder editor,after that I decided to move forward and use other editors, and after going deeper, everyone told me that PyCharm is a superb editor, and indeed, after what I personally used, I was convinced why it is so. It is also nice that there is a free and paid version of it for those who want to get other advantages, the editor is working on Linux / macOS / Windows. I also advise beginners to start using it, for the beginning is to take the basics and not build large projects, if you use the editor ؛PyCharm or the editor Spyder will not differentiate this topic.

CONS

One of the negatives that I encountered is the slowness when running, not very slow, but it is rather noticeable, also when using it for the first time you need to adjust the default settings unlike the Spyder editor, its use is direct and very easy.

User Profile

Pawan

Verified reviewer

Computer Software, 1 employee

Used weekly for more than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra
This review was submitted organically. No incentive was offered

OVERALL RATING:

4

EASE OF USE

4

VALUE FOR MONEY

4

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

4

FUNCTIONALITY

5

Reviewed March 2021

Best IDE for Python

So when it comes to the Python programming language, Pycharm is the best choice considering both its great collection of features and some cons it has.

PROS

I use Pycharm most of my time for doing Python programming and I use it in both my Windows and Linux as its cross-platform. It has integration with version control, anaconda, ipython, pylint, and others which makes it easier for programmers like me. It has an intelligent code editor which enhances code readability by color schemes for keywords, functions, classes, syntax, and error highlighting. Also, it provides error identification and quick fixes for it where the error occurs. I love debugging the python code with its powerful debugger tool. I usually use the rename refactoring feature which makes my programming faster. Also, I love the autocompletion feature with the Django web framework and Flask. It has a lot of plugins and also selectable light and dark theme to switch for day and nighttime. It has integration with Git and I can run git commands in the Pycharm terminal or perform Git operations with its GUI. It has support for multiple projects so I can switch from one project easily and also good database support.

CONS

It is a great IDE with a huge collection but it needs memory more than other IDE available so it may lag sometimes. The community edition is available for free but it's only for pure python development so it would be best if its Pro version is available for a better price as it's expensive.

Anonymous

11-50 employees

Used daily for more than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra
This review was submitted organically. No incentive was offered

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

5

Reviewed January 2022

The IDE that change your coding habbits

The fact that PyCharm is a user-friendly software and contains many features has accelerated problem solving in my business life.

PROS

I was using vscode before I started using Pycharm. Actually everything seems good. But vscode is not a IDE. Features like better debugging, code completion, remote ssh pushed me to use Pycharm. I was able to use these features with extensions. But Pycharm is a more user-friendly software to use.

CONS

I think, there is no cons about this software. I've used it for many years and never see better IDE.

Irina

Computer Software, 51-200 employees

Used daily for more than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra
This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

5

FUNCTIONALITY

4

Reviewed July 2019

The best framework for writing and running Python code

I am a data scientist and a statistician, and all codes I write are in Python. I tried various frameworks like iPython, and it was very bad. PyCharm provides the best experience if you need to write, debug and run serious Python codes.

PROS

1) Easy to use, good prompt, all necessary features available, including debugging and Git sharing. Easiness to rename a function or a variable in all occasions simultaneously. 2) Terminal feature allowing to try small chunks of code inline 3) Possibility to incorporate a lot of statistical (SciPy, NumPy), graphical (PyPlot) etc. packages, allowing to do literally everything withing Python.

CONS

More autocorrection and highlighting than I would like (can be switched off, but it's difficult and not for all options). Rather difficult to install additional packages which Python may need (again, not crucial, all most common packages like NumPy or SciPy are installed easily, the problem is only with some fancy packages).

Yogesh

Computer Software, 51-200 employees

Used daily for less than 12 months

Review Source: Capterra
This review was submitted organically. No incentive was offered

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

5

FUNCTIONALITY

4

Reviewed June 2022

Best IDE For Python related stuff.

Overall, when I want to work on mostly python related stuff I will definitely use this IDE as it accelerates progress more but when I will be working on mostly frontend code and not much python-based backend I would not use this as it slows me a little.

PROS

Being specific to only Python-related development really helps this IDE. Ready to use Python frameworks project files. We can also manage virtual environments in a really good way using this. A really good interface for using Git and Github which makes it very good for VCS.

CONS

Not a cons but I was having to use another code editor/IDE for the frontend, I was not that much comfortable using frontend libraries and languages in this IDE.

Reasons for switching to PyCharm

I was looking for only python focused IDE.

User Profile

Yollanda

Verified reviewer

Information Technology and Services, 2-10 employees

Used daily for more than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra
This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

OVERALL RATING:

4

EASE OF USE

4

VALUE FOR MONEY

4

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

2

FUNCTIONALITY

3

Reviewed April 2021

Pycharm

Found it easy to use and helps a lot if one is learning to be a python programmer

PROS

As a python coder, its pretty much straight to the point and handy to python works and commands which mostly automatically link to code

CONS

Its a bit heavy if you have a small processor machine and consumes a lot of speed to itself slowing the machine down and even heating up the processor

Reasons for switching to PyCharm

pycharm makes work easier

User Profile

Kunule

Verified reviewer

Computer Software, 1 employee

Used daily for more than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra
This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

5

Reviewed August 2023

Pycharm, an IDE built for developers by developers.

Using Pycharm is a joy and a huge productivity boost. When mastered well you'll have no reason to pick another tool for your Python development even in this era of AI tools.

PROS

Pycharm is an intelligent code editor that offers a modern GUI with tons of customisations that make for a fruitful and efficient developer experience. It has a generous pricing model that places it within reach of all types of developers from the student, the hobbyist to the professional.

CONS

For old machines, it can be a memory hog. On large projects the indexing can be slow which is a pain.

Reasons for switching to PyCharm

Slow development and poor integration with the latest Python features.

Anonymous

2-10 employees

Used daily for less than 12 months

Review Source: Capterra
This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

OVERALL RATING: