All Travis CI Reviews

1-25 of 129 Reviews

Sort by

Reviews are by default sorted by Recommended to software buyers, driven by our proprietary algorithm reflecting the depth and quality of the review, recency of experience, and other factors. As a neutral reviews platform, the star rating of the review is not considered in the "Recommended" ranking, and there is currently no voting mechanism that would allow site visitors to influence the ranking.
User Profile

Ian

Verified reviewer

Internet, 2-10 employees

Used monthly for more than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra
This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

4

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

FUNCTIONALITY

5

Reviewed February 2020

CI tool that has a lot of value for the money

I started using Travis initially because I needed a way to have consistent builds of our desktop software (built on Electron). Travis has just the tools I needed to make this happen. Doing local builds of the software was processor intensive, I had to go check the status of the build and I was always changing software on my local machine so sometimes builds would fail because I changed something. Travis has completely containerized build machines so you get the same result every time. We now use it for building all our software. I don't know what we'd do without it.

PROS

* Affordable (it's priced based on users/seats) * Documentation is solid and easy to follow. I've never needed to contact support. There's good online Q&A since Travis has a large user base. * Versatile (whatever software you're building, there's a recipe for it) * Github integration : you get realtime build status RIGHT in Github which is awesome, once you get your system set up, you rarely ever visit Travis again. It just works.

CONS

There's really nothing I didn't like about Travis. Some of the quirks of Electron were the trickiest things to figure out, but that's not Travis's fault. There's a little learning curve when you go from building locally to building remotely with Travis where you need to understand how to set environment variables and retrieve those values in your config/script.

Reason for choosing Travis CI

We didn't look at other options. Circle CI would have been the likely comparison but I don't think at the time we made the selection there was much online about Circle CI supporting Electron builds. It may have been possible, but the Electron community was definitely more affiliated with Travis CI. We knew we wanted something hosted, so we didn't look at Jenkins (which, I think, requires you to host and manage it yourself).

Nicholas

Education Management, 1 employee

Used daily for more than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra
This reviewer was invited by the software vendor to submit an honest review.

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

3

VALUE FOR MONEY

3

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

1

FUNCTIONALITY

5

Reviewed February 2021

Easy-to-use product but support for OSS failing

PROS

I like how easy it is to deploy and get up and running with this software and configuration files, etc (e.g. it's essentially just a commandline which is nice). It was also really nice for all of my open-source projects while travis-ci.org was still running. I could deploy and have builds run without having to worry about money.

CONS

Ever since the move to travis-ci.com, support has been terrible and I've used up all of my free trial credits on my open-source web application's Cypress integration tests (https://github.com/tutorbookapp/tutorbook). I contacted support 5 days ago and still haven't heard back about getting more open-source credits for my account. I seriously miss travis-ci.org (though I completely understand the problems with cryptocurrency mining, etc).

Reasons for switching to Travis CI

I had used TravisCI earlier for building and deployments so I already knew how to use it. I decided to switch back to using TravisCI because CircleCI's configuration just took waaaaay too long to learn and implement correctly.

Jason

Computer Software, 2-10 employees

Used daily for more than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra
This reviewer was invited by the software vendor to submit an honest review.

OVERALL RATING:

3

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

2

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

4

FUNCTIONALITY

4

Reviewed February 2021

Pricing Changes, Botched Rollout

Overall, beyond the pricing switch, I had been very happy with Travis CI. But, after this pricing change without any notice, I have become unhappy with it. At $85/mo to build two projects without any concurrency (it's slow), I'm become less interesting in staying a customer.

PROS

I liked the ease of use getting Travis setup, the caching, and the build matrix.

CONS

I think the concurrency model is terrible. Sometimes when I want to deploy code to staging and production, I have to wait for each PR and commit to build before the push happens. Sometimes this takes 20 minutes for all branches to finish building before a push can happen. Also, I'm very unhappy with the pricing changes roll out. I have been paying for Travis for a couple years now. All of a sudden, my iOS team said they didn't think our builds were working any longer. There were a bunch of builds that didn't go through, saying we didn't have enough credits. Digging in, I realized your pricing model changed. So our builds have not been going through for close to a couple months now. I never received an email that you would be changing the pricing which would then break our builds. This to me is a botched roll out. You should have specifically told me that my iOS builds would stop working. In our dashboard, it just shows that our last build was successful 2 months ago. Not that no more builds were happening. This is unacceptable. So much so, that I am actually now reading the Travis CI to Circle CI migration document. Circle CI seems like a cheaper option for us now.

Reason for choosing Travis CI

I believe I will be switch back. Travis seems like the expensive option now.

Reasons for switching to Travis CI

Circle CI seemed to be more friendly to my Ruby on Rails projects. When I switched to a Python project, it seemed like more of the open source python tools that I saw were using Travis CI. So I switched to Travis for this new project.

EMANUELE

Information Technology and Services, 2-10 employees

Used daily for less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra
This reviewer was invited by the software vendor to submit an honest review.

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

4

VALUE FOR MONEY

4

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

5

Reviewed February 2021

CI / CD in a simple way

I'm very happy about Travis, until now I found always an answer for each need I had

PROS

1. Documentation, maybe the most important value 2. Configuration flexibility in particular GIT SSH custom keys, env variables with sensitive information, build trigger (with inline configuration... very useful for testing configurations), machine SSH encrypted keys, configuration imports, custom scripts 3. Easy integration with GitHub

CONS

Permissions check (it's not so clear understand who can build, who can view build history, who can edit configuration).

Reason for choosing Travis CI

I already knew TeamCity but there wasn't a cloud version when I choosed Travis. Ionic has a ready to use mobile app configuration and we use it. I never had enough time to setup a Travis configuration build successfully a ionic app.

Duncan

Research, 1 employee

Review Source: Capterra
This reviewer was invited by the software vendor to submit an honest review.

OVERALL RATING:

4

EASE OF USE

4

VALUE FOR MONEY

2

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

3

FUNCTIONALITY

4

Reviewed March 2021

Too Expensive For Individuals ($69/month) - No Option To Buy Private Repo Credits

Overall decent experience with the product. But it seems like when they switched from .org to .com and changed their pricing plans it really threw people for a loop.

PROS

Really easy to use, workflow was easy and UI is nice for debugging. No complaints about the product.

CONS

Too darn expensive. $69/month is too expensive for me and the one-time credit allowance would only get me so far before I have to switch. There needs to be some way to purchase minutes/credits on a pay as you go plan or a monthly allotment on a $5-10 a month plan.

Reason for choosing Travis CI

I originally chose TravisCI because it was used in an online tutorial. But I feel forced to choose a different product after learning of their available usage plans. I can only afford a $5-10 plan and other companies offer better than that.

Anonymous

51-200 employees

Used daily for more than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra
This reviewer was invited by the software vendor to submit an honest review.

OVERALL RATING:

3

EASE OF USE

3

FUNCTIONALITY

4

Reviewed July 2021

Lots of features, sometimes build issues, a bit slow

It was a good choice at the time. But I am not sure if there are now better alternatives. I would especially check for a docker based build system.

PROS

Travis has a lot of features which can be setup easily using configuration files. It is free for open source products and not to expensive for company projects.

CONS

Quite often builds are stuck which leads to a huge stop in developments in hour company because we pretty much rely on it. Also the builds starts quite slow.

Reasons for switching to Travis CI

At the time we had other stacks as well which was not supported

Anonymous

201-500 employees

Used daily for more than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra
This reviewer was invited by the software vendor to submit an honest review.

OVERALL RATING:

4

EASE OF USE

5

FUNCTIONALITY

4

Reviewed July 2021

Nice GitHub Integration

PROS

I like that I can see the live status from GitHub and that the UI is very simple. I can easily find everything. The console output is colorized (it's not in other CI software I've used).

CONS

Sometimes parts of log output is collapsed, which has hidden an error for me before. It took a while, but my team figured it out.

User Profile

Dimitrios-Iason

Verified reviewer

Computer Software, 2-10 employees

Used daily for more than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra
This review was submitted organically. No incentive was offered

OVERALL RATING:

4

EASE OF USE

4

FUNCTIONALITY

4

Reviewed July 2021

All good -- minor suggestions for improvement.

PROS

The product is easy to use -- even non-technical people in our team are able to have a look at it and understand why a test failed. It is good that it provides much info about each step it runs

CONS

The dev documentation can be improved -- we had some hard time setting up our acceptance test infrastructure as it wasn't clear to us where to set environment variables. Sometimes it takes a long time for Travis to indicate that a GitHub PR is being tested by displaying the orange dot -- not sure if this is a Travis or Github issue, though.

User Profile

Richard

Verified reviewer

Internet, 11-50 employees

Used weekly for more than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra
This reviewer was invited by the software vendor to submit an honest review.

OVERALL RATING:

4

EASE OF USE

4

FUNCTIONALITY

4

Reviewed November 2021

Travis-ing

PROS

It works. Which is always a good thing. Other tools exist, but Travis always seemed the simplest to implement with GitHub.

CONS

Seemingly no reason to change things but reworking the domain. Not exactly sure what the whole point was.

Reasons for switching to Travis CI

Compulsory due to domain name change.

User Profile

Manuela

Verified reviewer

Computer Software, 51-200 employees

Used daily for less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra
This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

OVERALL RATING:

4

EASE OF USE

3

VALUE FOR MONEY

4

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

3

FUNCTIONALITY

4

Reviewed June 2021

Robust platform

I have used it for deployments, software integration, and testing.

PROS

You can deploy and make integrated development environments with this. This facilitates testing and integration of software.

CONS

It is complex to set up. You have to read the documentation that is not too easy to follow. You could get better results following other tutorials.

Julian

Renewables & Environment, 2-10 employees

Used daily for more than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra
This reviewer was invited by the software vendor to submit an honest review.

OVERALL RATING:

4

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

3

FUNCTIONALITY

5

Reviewed February 2021

Good CI

Travis builds, tests and deploys our software to staging and production environments. It is immensely useful, and critical to our software development pipeline.

PROS

Generally very reliable, customizable, extensible. Easy to debug. Is a workhorse.

CONS

Sometimes you'll get builds that won't debug, or builds stuck in the queue forever. This is generally because of some piece of travis infrastructure that has suddenly stopped, but there are no notifications, nor status indications that anything is wrong. Customer service can take the better part of a week to respond, or not at all.

Reasons for switching to Travis CI

Simpler, cloud hosted.

Eric

Research, 2-10 employees

Used daily for more than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra
This reviewer was invited by the software vendor to submit an honest review.

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

5

Reviewed July 2021

Hard to beat such an offer when in academia

The reproducibility trend is gaining momentum within the academical research community. CI usage, now a must have for software engineering concerns, can easily be stretched to address reproducibility issues and is thus being rapidly adopted.

PROS

- navigating the smooth and complete interface (with a nice github integration) - logs are detailed, thorough and hosted for a long time - jobs don't get to wait for long delays once triggered - great (and generous) customer support - nothing to install on premises

CONS

Every CI offer must face quite technical challenges to address specific/advanced services like dealing with credentials or managing sophisticated job workflows. Travis CI does the job quite nicely on such issues yet the learning curve can be quite steep at first. Yes, Travis CI does offer a thorough documentation, yet getting all the tidbits properly aligned can be a tedious task at first (your mileage may vary).

Reason for choosing Travis CI

Travis CI is really mature (complete APIs), highly customizable in its usage, reliable and seamlessly hooked-up with github hosted repositories.

M. Serhat

E-Learning, 501-1,000 employees

Used daily for more than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra
This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

OVERALL RATING:

3

EASE OF USE

5

FUNCTIONALITY

4

Reviewed April 2020

One of the pioneers of CI/CD

I would say 'yes' for TravisCI 2 years ago, but nowadays there are better alternatives to this product, such as Github Actions. My overall experience with TravisCI started quite positive but ended negatively because of the unreliable service they are providing at the moment. If you are running a critical business with 0 tolerance to downtime, TravisCI wouldn't be a wise choice nowadays.

PROS

TravisCI did a great job for many years, across different CI/CD tools, by providing a rich feature set and well-documented functionality.

CONS

Unfortunately, TravisCI is not very reliable. It's having constant downtimes for many months. TravisCI announced the deployment API v2 for a long time ago, but never released the stable version. On the other hand, after the recent acquisition of Idera, many talented developers have left the company. Therefore their development speed and shipment of the important features seem to be delayed.

Kitsune

Computer Software, 2-10 employees

Used more than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra
This reviewer was invited by the software vendor to submit an honest review.

OVERALL RATING:

2

EASE OF USE

3

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

1

FUNCTIONALITY

3

Reviewed June 2021

Lackluster in features and updates recently, dumping the open source community last year

It was pretty much ok, even though the CI infra stayed behind the competition in terms of software used in builder images, and also available features. Perhaps that was the reason the company started struggling at some point in time - with GitHub and GitLab seriously upping the game, and Circle CI having started quite long ago and moving around faster than Travis CI - it was more inertia and a bit of simplicity that kept me around. And then the company simply ghosted its open source users for something like 4 months, stopping the free service (despite previous promises they wouldn't) and saying nothing on what to expect. Needless to say, for CI it was a complete dealbreaker. I went away and never looked back.

PROS

Back when I started, the onboarding was very straightforward, as long as you used GitHub. Fairly reliable for my low-profile usage. Simple and direct user interface.

CONS

It grew worse when the company behind Travis CI got sold; downtimes became more frequent, builder image upgrades didn't really get up to speed - but the worst was to leave an extremely short runway to the free tier for open source users with no prior announcement. That's not so much about the software, it's about the company. Free tier or not, in CI segment you just can't afford such things.

Timothy

Information Services, 1,001-5,000 employees

Used daily for more than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra
This reviewer was invited by the software vendor to submit an honest review.

OVERALL RATING:

3

EASE OF USE

2

FUNCTIONALITY

2

Reviewed July 2021

why is a title required?

PROS

Its easy to use by default in new Ember web apps.

CONS

All configuration goes in a single monolithic travis.yml file, and the syntax of this file is very mysterious. Understanding what a particular configuration does is difficult, and its difficult to figure out how to satisfy new requirements. In contrast, github actions allow for the separate configuration of many different workflows, and offer comparatively much better documentation. We mostly continue to use travis because we've already figured out how to configure it for our basic needs with a few projects, and our company has already purchased a plan. Its difficult to switch to another system, largely due to company politics.

Aldo

Education Management, 201-500 employees

Used daily for less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra
This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

4

VALUE FOR MONEY

4

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

4

FUNCTIONALITY

5

Reviewed October 2022

Review for Travis

PROS

I like the ease to setup the CI for automating the deployments in the different applications

CONS

probably the cost if you can start to use it and don't have an idea of estimate cost

Reason for choosing Travis CI

for use the open source applications

Tim

Computer Software, 2-10 employees

Used daily for more than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra
This reviewer was invited by the software vendor to submit an honest review.

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

4

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

FUNCTIONALITY

4

Reviewed February 2021

Wolf Software Travis Review

We have had a very positive result with Travis and we implement it on ALL of out projects from simple link checkers to fill docker build pipelines, it gives us single point of reference and consistency in all of our projects.

PROS

One of the key things was the direct integration with github making the running of jobs seamless to the developers. The wide variety of tools and language support are also very important.

CONS

The config files can be tricky to write when trying to adopt new features.

James

Transportation/Trucking/Railroad, 2-10 employees

Used more than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra
This reviewer was invited by the software vendor to submit an honest review.

OVERALL RATING:

4

EASE OF USE

3

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

4

FUNCTIONALITY

4

Reviewed February 2021

Not really sure what I'm doing still

PROS

Travis CI is great when it works. I can develop, pass my local tests, then push to github, etc and Travis CI will make sure that my tests pass on a variety of different virtual machines. That is great. I also like the rainbow flags.

CONS

I am perpetually confused when things break. On the good side there is fairly extensive documentation. However, a lot of times it is still chewing gum and duct tape. Big sticking point is interacting with services like coverage and code quality tools. I also never quite figured out what the deal was when they switched from Travis.org for open source accounts to travis.com. The transition was super janky, and I still have projects that I think are in the old system, despite trying to bulk transfer all of them.

Simon

Sports, 11-50 employees

Used daily for more than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra
This reviewer was invited by the software vendor to submit an honest review.

OVERALL RATING:

4

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

3

FUNCTIONALITY

3

Reviewed July 2021

Easy with limit

Globally is good but it's necessary to use two CI software.

PROS

Easy to run and find some example No breaking change

CONS

1 hour limit for iOS build. You must use two software ... Not a lot of new feature

Reasons for switching to Travis CI

iOS build take more than one hour. Just the build ...

Carlo

Computer Software, 1 employee

Used daily for more than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra
This reviewer was invited by the software vendor to submit an honest review.

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

5

FUNCTIONALITY

5

Reviewed February 2021

Open Source Software

PROS

I used to like your approach to give back to the open source community.

CONS

That you changed your approach to giving back to the open source community.

Reason for choosing Travis CI

I'm actually reconsidering to continue using travis.

Jared

Design, 11-50 employees

Used daily for more than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra
This reviewer was invited by the software vendor to submit an honest review.

OVERALL RATING:

2

EASE OF USE