All Carousel Reviews

1-25 of 35 Reviews

Sort by

Reviews are by default sorted by Recommended to software buyers, driven by our proprietary algorithm reflecting the depth and quality of the review, recency of experience, and other factors. As a neutral reviews platform, the star rating of the review is not considered in the "Recommended" ranking, and there is currently no voting mechanism that would allow site visitors to influence the ranking.

Anonymous

501-1,000 employees

Used weekly for more than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra
This review was submitted organically. No incentive was offered

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

4

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

4

Reviewed November 2021

Great tool for managing digital media displays

PROS

I feel like we barely scratch the surface of what Carousel can do, but we get some big benefits--we are able to stream live video from our auditorium to viewers in other areas, we have easily adaptable lunch menu options and daily announcements, and we display a variety of content for special occasions. All of our players have highly customized content for the areas where they are used.

CONS

The UI is a bit clunky at first. If I use the product regularly, I am able to become more efficient with it.

Vendor Response

As part of the Customer Success team, I would like to thank you for taking the time to review Carousel. If you would like to schedule a meeting to discuss your school's digital signage strategy, please email csm@carouselsignage.com. Once our team has an understanding of your strategy, we could provide some helpful tips and/or recommendations that could help you utilize the built-in features. Please reference this review when you reach out to us. Thanks again!

Replied December 2021

Mark

Primary/Secondary Education, 51-200 employees

Used daily for less than 6 months

Review Source: Capterra

OVERALL RATING:

4

EASE OF USE

4

VALUE FOR MONEY

4

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

3

FUNCTIONALITY

3

Reviewed January 2021

Carousel High School Implementation

We are generally pleased with our Carousel experience to this point. If there is one complaint, it would be that our initial support in on-boarding has been disappointing. I have no idea why there is a 60-day cap on access to learning academy resources. It seems like you would want customers to get the most possible out of the system to increase their ROI. Having the 60-days begin right as you enter your contract means a good number of those day are likely wasted anyway. We didn't even get the custom channel released to us until about day 15 of that period. Also, it has been almost impossible to talk with someone in person when we have requested it. In one instance, I exchanged a dozen emails with someone after initially and repeatedly asking early if we could talk to someone in person. It took far more time to email communications to try and resolve the issue than it would have to just talk with someone briefly. I have plenty of experience in this area to know that some companies simply cannot provide phone support as a practice, but for the annual cost of the system this should be a support service.

PROS

The software is easy to deploy and generally easy to administrate for someone who is familiar with other similar school technology system. I was also easy to additional content contributors and the training for them can be made quite minimal. I think the Carousel is priced about right for the features and capabilities it offers.

CONS

Use of AppleTV creates some frustrating limitation, which are mostly in part to the limitations or restrictions of the AppleTV (e.g. not including a web browser, YouTube videos don't work). The diversity or general lacking when it comes to dynamic content choices is disappointing. It would be nice if there were more widgets/apps that you could utilize and configure (e.g. a single weather display option).

Reason for choosing Carousel

It's integration with AppleTVs and JAMF deployment/management.

Chad

Higher Education, 1,001-5,000 employees

Used daily for more than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

5

Reviewed June 2024

Carousel Digital Signage Was Our Top Choice

PROS

Carousel meets the needs of our community including user role management, CAP EAS integration, active directory/SAML integration, unlimited user accounts, clean end-user and admin user interface, continual software development and response to user requested features, and integration with various hardware options.

CONS

There is not much to dislike. There is some lack of social media integration mostly caused by the platforms themselves continual changes in development. Other minor dislikes have mostly all been addressed by Carousel through feature requests that have been implemented into the UI.

Vendor Response

So glad you have enjoyed using our software. We're happy you're happy! Thank you for your review.

Replied June 2024

Michelle

Education Management, 51-200 employees

Used less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra
This reviewer was invited by the software vendor to submit an honest review.

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

1

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

4

FUNCTIONALITY

4

Reviewed December 2020

Great product but very pricy!

This product is good to work with, once you get some hands-on experience. However our problem is the cost. It is way too expensive to use in a school district for providing signage in all classrooms plus common areas. It has become where we cannot justify the cost. We are actively looking for another solution for the next school year.

PROS

Integrated easily with Apple TV. No additional software needed to create content and pushes out quickly!

CONS

Cannot live stream from YouTube with out purchasing another 3rd party product & the cost!

Reasons for switching to Carousel

Hardware was out of date and wanted a product that worked with existing Apple TVs.

Vendor Response

Dear Michelle, Thank you for your review. We're sorry to hear Carousel doesn't fit your budget. We hate to lose you as a customer. The good news is that YouTube bulletins no longer need 3rd party software to work, as there is now a dedicated dynamic bulletin to pull in that type of content. Let us know if there is anything we can do to help bring more value to your visual communication strategy in your school.

Replied March 2021

Eric

Non-Profit Organization Management, 201-500 employees

Used weekly for less than 12 months

Review Source: Capterra

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

3

VALUE FOR MONEY

4

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

4

Reviewed June 2024

Carousel is fine

Carousel is pretty good; once it's set up and running, it's solid. I do dread having to make any changes to the environment (ESPECIALLY creating new content) and pity people who have to learn Carousel for the first time as it is complex.

PROS

I appreciate that once you have it configured and running, it's very solid. Any outage or downtime has been the result of a hardware player going offline, not Carousel's service being unavailable. Support is friendly, knowledgable and expedient.

CONS

Our use case is pretty simple - we have some full screen videos that we display on a number of TVs 24/7. I find that the admin dashboard is overly complicated in the context of how we use Carousel. Zones, channels, hubs, etc., it's all a bit much for me. I'd appreciate a simpler "choose the device you want to config -> choose the content you want to display" admin experience.

Derek

Primary/Secondary Education, 201-500 employees

Used daily for more than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

4

Reviewed February 2021

BTPS Review

Really easy web based management keeps things simple. I don't need any special on the users end to have them edit channels.

PROS

Ease of use. It is very easy to take a photo or video and get it uploaded and running on the system.

CONS

I wish it would integrate with the web better. Display webpages better, youtube support.

Reason for choosing Carousel

One time fee. New installs purchase player/tv/license and are set. No monthly or annual cost.

Stephen

Education Management, 1,001-5,000 employees

Used daily for less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra

OVERALL RATING:

4

EASE OF USE

3

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

4

FUNCTIONALITY

4

Reviewed February 2021

Carousel Digital Signage

The experience so far has been overall positive. They have been responsive with questions or problems in regards to billing or working with their product. It has allowed us to put some important information front and center in some of our remodeled school spaces. The students can see at a glance what is happening in school as they go through passing periods.

PROS

We went with the Carousel Cloud option and have been happy so far. We use Jamf to manage a fleet of 1:1 iPads in K-12 education so we already had Apple TVs and the management for them. Setting up an Apple TV for Carousel was very simple and they have documentation on how to get everything setup as well. We also recently purchased a CAP system that integrates into Carousel. Which will allow us to send messages in the event of emergencies to all of our TVs running signage. The Carousel system is also being updated with new features once a month. Having the ability to use multiple players is also great, chrome books, Apple TVs, Brightsign.

CONS

The only downside we have had to the software so far is teaching users how to manage the signage. There are so many customizations and setting up zones that we find we end up having to setup everything and give them a specific section to edit. Most of our users do not want to take the time to learn all the design aspects and creating zones, schedules, etc.

Reason for choosing Carousel

The customization with Carousel was more robust than with KitKast. The price for players was also cheaper.

Shiva

Information Technology and Services, 1,001-5,000 employees

Used daily for more than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

5

Reviewed April 2021

Digital Signage

We display weekly and daily events and news of the campus.

PROS

It is easy to deploy and very easy to use even for inexperienced users. Very effective tool to advertise and be seen by target clients.

CONS

The variety of options you have to display your content is the best. It satisfies every company's needs.

Reason for choosing Carousel

Price, and more user-friendly interface.

mark

Information Technology and Services, 5,001-10,000 employees

Used daily for less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

5

Reviewed January 2021

Professional Digital Signage with unlimited potential and excellent tech support

First Class Digital Signage with excellent reliability and support. Easy to deploy and configure. Users can have full control, limited control, or anywhere in between.

PROS

Carousel Software has all the features we wanted in Digital Signage. The ability to deploy content to hundreds of displays at once is great. The approval feature that allows other users to create slides that are not live until approved by an admin is invaluable. The limitless number of templates and widgets keeps our content fresh and innovative. We can create content now and have it scheduled to play in the future. Can't say enough about how well this platform works in the corporate environment.

CONS

Only minor issue that I would like see addressed is the addition of better tutorials. It would be nice if I could hover over a tool or feature and get a video box that describes that feature. Would also be great if Carousel University was available to all for free.

Corey

Higher Education, 10,000+ employees

Used daily for more than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra
This review was submitted organically. No incentive was offered

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

5

Reviewed November 2021

Excellent Platform

I cannot say enough good things about our move to Carousel Cloud. It works better, faster, and more stable with our BrightSign's than it ever did on premise.

PROS

Fast, stable, and Cloud hosted. No longer have to worry about server hosting, application upgrades, or database management. Features now come automatically, without requiring maintenance windows.

CONS

I think that if you would rename Bulletins to Assets, it would make more sense, especially to our Marketing folks who develop the content for our screens.

Reason for choosing Carousel

Cloud-based and integrates well with BrightSign

Vendor Response

Thank you, Corey, for taking the time to review our product and also offer some feedback on the interface. Much appreciated!

Replied December 2021

Jerry

Education Management, 501-1,000 employees

Used daily for more than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

5

Reviewed July 2024

Super Easy cloud based signage for multiple buildings and lots of players

We have over 40 signes spread over 8 buildings and we love it. We've been using versions of Carousel for 10 years and couldn't be happier.

PROS

Carousel is cloud based, making it easy to manage from anywhere and any device. Content is cashed on the displays, so they work when the internet is down and the sign design editor is very easy to use. The newest version even works with ChromeBox, so we can install the free Chrome OS Flex on any device and it is immediately a sign. Lots of media types and external sources can be added. We've been using Carousel for nearly 10 years and we have more than 40 signs over 8 schools and we love it.

CONS

Functionally, we couldn't really ask for more. Maybe a way to play Google Slides directly. The only negative I can see, just like most products today, the price is getting higher and schools are struggling with budgets, but the value is there.

Reasons for switching to Carousel

We needed something more integrated and centrally managed.

Vendor Response

Hello Jerry! Thank you for your review. We're happy that you are happy :) In regards to Google Slides ... you're in luck. We just released a new feature that allows you to easily bring your Google Slide content into Carousel. If you'd like to learn more about how this feature works you can click here: https://support.carouselsignage.com/hc/en-us/articles/26482041981076-Carousel-Cloud-and-Google-Slides

Replied July 2024

Luke

Education Management, 1,001-5,000 employees

Used monthly for more than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra

OVERALL RATING:

4

EASE OF USE

3

VALUE FOR MONEY

3

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

4

Reviewed July 2024

Carousel is Perfect for Managing Large Organizations

Overall good, Implementaion went well, training was easy. Some of the staff were a little too pushy and ungenuine and the critical feature upgrades did not come until 3 + years later ... but I would not say that had hindered the quality of product but rather reflects the organization.

PROS

It made it easy to produce, distribute, and manage content to 25 different buildings and give them a similar and easy experience

CONS

The rigidness of their templates are and how unfriendly it is to be creative with the stock they give you.

Reasons for switching to Carousel

Google stoped producing chromebits, which was essential to digital signage distribution

Vendor Response

Thank you very much for your feedback, we're happy to hear that onboarding and training went well and that you are able to service you campus. We understand there are always ways we can improve the product user experience and we are working on new ways to make things easier there as well. Please don't hesitate to reach out and let us know more about what you'd like to see!

Replied July 2024

Jon

Education Management, 10,000+ employees

Used daily for less than 12 months

Review Source: Capterra

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

4

FUNCTIONALITY

4

Reviewed April 2021

Great for our needs

When Covid started we needed something quickly that was easily implemented and able to be managed remotely. Since Carousel had pre built templets for Covid along with there cloud based service we were able to have this running in just a few days.

PROS

It is cloud based and had pre built templets for Covid.

CONS

The setup of playlist and the building of temples and the setup takes a little getting used to. With having to pay more for training it makes it a little more difficult on users.

Reason for choosing Carousel

We were able to get it deployed faster.

Kevin

Education Management, 201-500 employees

Used daily for less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

4

FUNCTIONALITY

5

Reviewed January 2021

Great signage product, exactly what we needed

We purchased this service in a pinch to quickly implement a signage solution throughout our school district and we've been happy with that choice. From a tech standpoint, we really haven't had to do anything since we got the system up and running other than create new users. It works everyday.

PROS

The biggest plus is its integration with Jamf Management that allows us to deploy and maintain using our existing Apple TVs. It is also very easy to create new bulletins that we can scope to different buildings as needed.

CONS

The startup learning curve was a little challenging but once we got the hang of it we were able to easily train new users to create and manage content.

Terence

Education Management, 51-200 employees

Used daily for less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

3

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

FUNCTIONALITY

5

Reviewed January 2021

Easy implementation of digital signage

Our overall experience has been fantastic. Carousel has allowed us to quickly establish our digital signage on campus in a meaningful way. The features and ease of use once you've learned the system allow us to easily update content which keeps people interested in viewing content displayed on our digital signage.

PROS

The ease of implementation and the compatibility with our existing infrastructure, namely Apple TV.

CONS

The learning curve to fully utilizing it's features. It differs from other similar software we've tried. If Carousel had been the first solution we tried it would have been much easier.

Reasons for switching to Carousel

Features and total cost for our site.

Katy

Education Management, 201-500 employees

Used weekly for less than 12 months

Review Source: Capterra

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

4

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

5

Reviewed April 2021

Great for School Districts

In general, it has been a great experience. The training was well done and informative. The design staff was super helpful in getting our initial channels set up as well.

PROS

My district loves that you can customize for screens in different areas (reaching students, parents, or staff). It has given us a great way to communicate our district and campus 'good news' and information. I especially like that we can have a consistent brand, but still have individuality shown on each campus. It is easy to bring new devices online and get them up and running quickly.

CONS

There are some features like RSS feeds that are still giving us issues. I wish the training videos were available for longer.

Reason for choosing Carousel

We are using Apple TVs to implement our signage, and JAMF Pro as our device management system. Consistently, we were told that Carousel was the clear choice to go with, and they have integrated seamlessly.

Vendor Response

Thank you for the great review! We are glad you are loving your signage. You can reach out to our training department at any time with questions or training extensions if needed. They are always there to help!

Replied April 2021

George

Research, 10,000+ employees

Used daily for less than 12 months

Review Source: Capterra
This review was submitted organically. No incentive was offered

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

5

Reviewed August 2022

Digital signage management made easy

PROS

Carousel is one of the most comprehensive digital signage solution that helps us in a quite efficient way.

CONS

Carousel's publishing and content management features could be developed in a more advance way.

David

Marketing and Advertising, 501-1,000 employees

Used more than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

4

VALUE FOR MONEY

4

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

4

FUNCTIONALITY