What are Scala users saying about the software?

Read what people like you have said about using Scala software through verified user reviews

User Review Highlights

4.55

11 Reviews

5
7
4
3
3
1
2
0
1
0
4

Ease-of-use

out of 5
4

Customer Support

out of 5
4

Value for money

out of 5
4.5

Functionality

out of 5
  • icon"Easy to use...stabile and perfect playback of content."
  • icon"The customer facing UI is excellent and allows simple building and scheduling of playlists and displays."
  • icon"This software helps employees and employer to create the best brand to the company and promote the company through creating awareness to the people."
  • icon"Scala can also be difficult to navigate, especially for the newly initiated."

Jump to:

Browse all Scala Reviews

  • Have you used Scala and would like to share your experience with others?
  • Write a Review

Apply Filters:

User Industry

Company Size

Time Used

User Rating

Showing 1 - 11 of 11 reviews

User Profile

jason

Verified reviewer

Company size: 2-10 employees

Industry: Computer Software

Time used: Less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra

This review was submitted organically. No incentive was offered
5

Ease-of-use

out of 5
5

Value for money

out of 5
1

Customer support

out of 5
5

Functionality

out of 5

July 2022

Scala reviews 2022

Provides optimum programming facilities and best for static programmers.

Pros

Scala is a best fit for programming aspirants if you ask me. Unlike other popular programming tools, It is suitable for functional programming since it's object-oriented and also provides a huge library of useful components.I like its simplicity, ease of use and affordability. Anyone with any experience-level can use Scala and there are several learning resources included with the app.

Cons

Poor support services. It takes almost an eternity before you get help on discord. I don't enjoy it.

Gavin

Company size: 51-200 employees

Industry: Information Technology and Services

Time used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra

This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.
3

Ease-of-use

out of 5
4

Value for money

out of 5
3

Customer support

out of 5
5

Functionality

out of 5

November 2021

Powerful Digital Signage Platform

Pros

We have used Scala for 13+ years now, it's probably the most proficient Digital Signage platform available, allowing you to create everything from simple displays showing screens to fully interactive displays, triggering from external sources, rateboards, flight boards, etc. The customer facing UI is excellent and allows simple building and scheduling of playlists and displays.

Cons

The power of Scala means that it's not easy to just pick up, for most of the complex stuff I would always advise getting the experts in to help you build and implement the project.

Patrick

Time used: Less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra

This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.
3

Ease-of-use

out of 5
3

Value for money

out of 5
3

Customer support

out of 5
3

Functionality

out of 5

June 2018

Scala can be a great platform depending on your use case.

Pros

The Scala platform (Designer, Content Manager, Player) provides a great deal of out-of-box functionality for a variety of uses. Its main pros are flexibility, user interface, and scalability. Scala Designer gets you started quickly with creating and publishing content with support for many file types and a large library of built in transitions and clip art. Content manager allows you to easily organize and create advanced frame sets for playback. This flexibility makes Scala great for a variety of applications such as large video walls, menu boards, or standalone displays. Another pro of Scala (Content Manager) is its user interface. It is divided into logical sections making it easy to navigate and make changes, however, you will become best friends with your mouse as there is a lot of clicking involved (see cons). Lastly, the scalability of the software makes it ideal for small or large deployments. Adding additional players is seamless allowing you to expand your network with little effort.

Cons

Make sure you have a solid use case and understand what Scala can do out of the box and what you will need to develop to achieve your desired functionality. Scala provides functionality that can serve a variety of use cases, however, some will require more work than others. Basic video walls and simple signage (1 media item to the next) are well suited for Scala out of the box. However, more advanced playback behaviors (think if this then that kind of behavior) will certainly require custom script development which can be a challenge as ScalaScript is nowhere near as universal as developing in other languages. As mentioned in the pros, Scala Content Manager provides a logical user interface, however, nearly every setting requires and enormous number of mouse clicks to get things done.

Daniel

Company size: 201-500 employees

Industry: Construction

Time used: Less than 12 months

Review Source: Capterra

This review was submitted organically. No incentive was offered
5

Ease-of-use

out of 5
3

Value for money

out of 5
5

Customer support

out of 5
4

Functionality

out of 5

February 2021

The ideal programming for the specialized beginner

There are a large number of stages accessible for advanced signage. The battle is discovering one that addresses the issues for all specialty units in a venture. I've worked with a few signage organizations that offer bits of highlights, that must be conduit taped together to make a whole usable bundle. Scala appears to have everything under one rooftop, without being needed to acquire different equipment and programming suppliers to make everything work.

Pros

Scala is by all accounts one of the favored stages that our computerized media group employments. This makes it a simple choice when searching for an answer. Our group knows about the stage to such an extent that I have implicit help and usage help previously, during, and after the business cycle with the client. We're likewise ready to give configuration administrations to our clients, for those that might not have an in-house group to do this.

Cons

Nothing that I have found up until this point. I have had a few chances to create and propose Scala as a total advanced signage arrangement. The solitary thing that has been a drawback for me to date is that I haven't locked in my neighborhood Scala accomplice rep more. I realize that are a superb wellspring of data. I will make an objective to interface with my nearby rep/accomplice to make that relationship.

Kelvin

Company size: 201-500 employees

Industry: Transportation/Trucking/Railroad

Time used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra

This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.
5

Ease-of-use

out of 5
4

Value for money

out of 5
4

Customer support

out of 5
4

Functionality

out of 5

December 2018

Scala is very good for managing digital signage

My overall experience with Scala has been very positive. Very easy to use, easy to learn, and gets the job done right. We have not had issues and will continue to use this service for our agency.

Pros

We have been using Scala for our agency to manage digital signage on our digital displays for over a year now and it is a very good program. The layout is easy to learn and use, has all the functions you need, and makes managing displays very easy. We can upload media files, transport them to specific channels (displays), and set the schedule of when they will run. Very good product overall.

Cons

Not much to dislike about Scala. Our marketing and IT teams have used this program for over a year and there are no issues or complaints about the program.

Ryan

Company size: 11-50 employees

Industry: Marketing and Advertising

Time used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra

3

Ease-of-use

out of 5
4

Value for money

out of 5
4

Customer support

out of 5
5

Functionality

out of 5

July 2017

Used Scala Enterprise for work at a Digital Signage Company

I've worked for a digital signage company and Scala Enterprise made it really easy to upload and manage videos and playlists for a lot of different customers

Pros

It's a really rich and deep application, with lots and lots of features for all kinds of needs in digital signage

Cons

Some features might need some time getting used to, or not be too easy to find. It's user interface is solid, but could be better

Caique

Company size: 2-10 employees

Industry: Marketing and Advertising

Time used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra

4

Ease-of-use

out of 5
4

Value for money

out of 5
5

Customer support

out of 5
5

Functionality

out of 5

May 2017

One of the most robust Digital Signage systems out there

If really made digital signage managing for a big number of differente clients a lot easier and streamlined

Pros

There's so much you can do. It really gives you a complete workplace with a bunch of different tools for all kinds of situations

Cons

It can get a little complicated to find what you want, since there's a lot of different resources in it

kresimir

Company size: 11-50 employees

Industry: Marketing and Advertising

Time used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra

5

Ease-of-use

out of 5
5

Value for money

out of 5
5

Customer support

out of 5
5

Functionality

out of 5

October 2016

best digital signage on the global market!!!

Working with SCALA DS for last 17 years and it is the best solution that i have ever work with. Great support, friendly based interface...stabile, scalabile...perfect.

Pros

easy to use...stabile and perfect playback of content.

Cons

we need more features in designer

Stanley

Verified reviewer

Company size: 11-50 employees

Industry: Computer Networking

Time used: Less than 12 months

Review Source: Capterra

This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.
5

Ease-of-use

out of 5
5

Value for money

out of 5
5

Customer support

out of 5
5

Functionality

out of 5

February 2021

Great app

Pros

This app has Little issues associated with it, and it's documentation is very self explanatory and easy to use.

Cons

I think the user interface can be improved on more. Great app for me though.

User Profile

Michael

Verified reviewer

Company size: 501-1,000 employees

Industry: Higher Education

Time used: Less than 12 months

Review Source: Capterra

This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.
3

Ease-of-use

out of 5
4

Value for money

out of 5
3

Customer support

out of 5
4

Functionality

out of 5

January 2018

Higher than average quality

Pros

Scala incorporates into various signage solutions and brings a power engine to bear in content sharing.

Cons

Scala can also be difficult to navigate, especially for the newly initiated. Keep a help guide handy.

James

Company size: 2-10 employees

Industry: Human Resources

Time used: Less than 12 months

Review Source: Capterra

This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.
5

Ease-of-use

out of 5
5

Value for money

out of 5
5

Customer support

out of 5
5

Functionality

out of 5

February 2021

Scala

It has helped my business through encouraging youth to the company

Pros

This software helps employees and employer to create the best brand to the company and promote the company through creating awareness to the people I say thank you to this software and give it a five star

Cons

It promotes the company I like it due to its improvement

Showing 1 - 11 of 11 reviews
Scala

Scala

4.55/5 out of 11 reviews
Visit Website