What are EDI Power Reader users saying about the software?

Read what people like you have said about using EDI Power Reader software through verified user reviews

User Review Highlights

4.56

57 Reviews

5
35
4
19
3
3
2
0
1
0
4.5

Ease-of-use

out of 5
4.5

Customer Support

out of 5
4.5

Value for money

out of 5
4.5

Functionality

out of 5
  • icon"We use several of their products. The customer support has always been great."
  • icon"It was so wonderful that I had to get it installed when I changed companies/positions. I love being able to change the formats of my files and change what columns that I want to see for each file."
  • icon"We enjoy the reader across the revenue offices primarily for its ease of use and functional simplicity in managing the multiple HIPAA transactions. For the users it is efficient and easy to utilize."
  • icon"It was difficult to understand how to use and the requirements to get it to work to meet our needs."
  • icon"The PLB segments or pass thru's are difficult to decipher with the power reader."
  • icon"The segment list with the field name and corresponding loop and segment is in an order that make it hard to find where a field was mapped from."

Jump to:

Browse all EDI Power Reader Reviews

  • Have you used EDI Power Reader and would like to share your experience with others?
  • Write a Review

Apply Filters:

User Industry

Company Size

Time Used

User Rating

Showing 1 - 25 of 57 reviews

User Profile

Alex

Verified reviewer

Company size: 10,000+ employees

Industry: Retail

Time used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra

This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.
5

Ease-of-use

out of 5
4

Value for money

out of 5
5

Customer support

out of 5
5

Functionality

out of 5

March 2019

Very useful product

We mostly use the software to read in 277 response files from payers and then distribute that data in Excel format to our A/R staff. But also use it to read in 837's, 835's, etc from time to time rather than looking at the raw files.

Pros

Very easy for myself and staff to use. Helps us tremendously with sending data to staff across the organization in a timely manner. Mostly used to read 277's and distribute the denials to A/R staff.

Cons

Not much to dislike other than I have ran in to a few errors when trying to export data to Excel but their customer support helped right away with that and got it fixed.

Anonymous

Company size: 501-1,000 employees

Time used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra

This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.
5

Ease-of-use

out of 5
5

Value for money

out of 5
5

Customer support

out of 5
4

Functionality

out of 5

December 2018

Behavioral Health Provider - Ability to quickly review and filter data using EDI Power Reader

Having a human readable format for the files received related to file submission/payments is critical for follow up. The ability to transfer the data from EDI format to Excel is a time saver to work denials and track denials for our agency. This was one of the best decisions for our agency in read and working with our file data.

Pros

How user friendly the system is with EDI data is the #1 reason we use this software. The ability to export and filter is a must for our agency to assist in managing claims data. EDI reader makes this possible in a user friendly manner. The flexibility to read multiple files types within one piece of software related to claims submission/payment is ideal for our agency.

Cons

Renewal process and the need for the certificate can be time consuming for the user. In an ideal world I want IT to handle this and in our situation the user's work station is needed to update the license for the product for the year. I would want this to be seamless and not involve my work station and the downtime for the change.

Beth

Company size: 501-1,000 employees

Industry: Mental Health Care

Time used: Less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra

This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.
1

Ease-of-use

out of 5
4

Value for money

out of 5
4

Customer support

out of 5
3

Functionality

out of 5

August 2019

EMS/EDI Power Reader

We purchased it based on what we saw it could do for us, but when it came time to staff utilizing the software, they did not find it easy to use or understand how to make it work to meet our needs so we did not get the benefit out of it that we were hoping for.

Pros

I liked that it could give us information in a human readable format and provide eligibility info.

Cons

It was difficult to understand how to use and the requirements to get it to work to meet our needs.

Reasons for choosing EDI Power Reader

N/A

Christopher

Company size: 501-1,000 employees

Industry: Hospital & Health Care

Time used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra

This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.
5

Ease-of-use

out of 5
3

Value for money

out of 5
3

Customer support

out of 5
5

Functionality

out of 5

December 2018

EDI Power Reader

I have had issues with this software randomly for the past year displaying the remits with shrunken Text and Enlarged text. Customer service was unable to assist me and left me hanging for months never responding to my email in a timely manner. They eventually said that the issue are due to a third party component in Windows and they were unable to do anything further and stopped responding to me which is not good business. When the program works it works great and when it doesn't it's very frustrating.

Pros

I really like this software's format compared to others that I have used. Its easy to read and not cluttered.

Cons

A downfall to this software is that it cannot display more then one denial reason per line on the actual EOB. You have to go into the details report to see the rest of the denial data and some insurance companies have issues with the EOB's we send them stating they are missing required data because of this.

Teresa

Company size: 11-50 employees

Industry: Hospital & Health Care

Time used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra

This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.
5

Ease-of-use

out of 5
5

Value for money

out of 5
5

Customer support

out of 5
5

Functionality

out of 5

August 2019

Essential tool for anyone doing billing

We run our 837's (billing files) and 835's (payment files) and merge them together with existing denial reviews we have completed for Ohio MCD and it drills down to the data so we can easily determine what needs work. Couldn't and wouldn't work without it.

Pros

The ease of use, export of the files we need, and the opportunities to utilize the data we pull through the reader are the reasons I love the EDI Power Reader. I couldn't do my job without it.

Cons

There is nothing I don't like. Occasionally, I will get an error if I try to run too big of combined files but it is very infrequent and I've learned my lesson.

User Profile

Christina

Verified reviewer

Company size: 501-1,000 employees

Industry: Mental Health Care

Time used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra

This review was submitted organically. No incentive was offered
5

Ease-of-use

out of 5
5

Value for money

out of 5
5

Customer support

out of 5
5

Functionality

out of 5

December 2019

Love this program!

The customer service with the program is amazing as all I have to do is email and I almost always get an immediate response!

Pros

The EDI power reader was one of my best friends at my last job. It was so wonderful that I had to get it installed when I changed companies/positions. I love being able to change the formats of my files and change what columns that I want to see for each file.

Cons

There wasn't really that much that I didn't like about this program. It is for specific functions and it does it well.

User Profile

Jackie

Verified reviewer

Company size: 2-10 employees

Industry: Information Technology and Services

Time used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra

This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.
5

Ease-of-use

out of 5
5

Functionality

out of 5

December 2018

A Lifesaver!

Reviewing our 837P files to all payers (especially MCOs) prior to submission. Verifying supervising/ordering fields are populated as appropriate. Verifying NPI is appearing correctly on claim. Again, a lifesaver with all of the changes in Ohio on January 1st, 2018 and again on July 1st, 2018.

Pros

Versatile and easy to use. I found the Power Reader to be a lifesaver with the dawn of Ohio BH Redesign as it allowed us to review our files (and make corrections) prior to 837 files being submitted, thereby avoiding time-consuming errors and denials.

Cons

The annual license renewal usually does not go smoothly for me, even when following the directions in the email. It may be my laptop settings, but I usually have to enlist an EMS staff member to help me get the new license applied correctly, and they are very responsive.

Anonymous

Company size: 201-500 employees

Time used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra

This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.
5

Ease-of-use

out of 5
5

Value for money

out of 5
5

Customer support

out of 5
5

Functionality

out of 5

December 2018

Cost Saver

When I know we are sending a clean claim out this generates quick turnaround for payments. This has saves us time and money.

Pros

This allows us to read a claim before it is submitted and correct any errors, this saves us time and money.

Cons

I have had some issues using the Tool Box but I think that is a learning issue not a software issue

PATRICIA

Company size: 10,000+ employees

Industry: Hospital & Health Care

Time used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra

This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.
4

Ease-of-use

out of 5
4

Value for money

out of 5
4

Customer support

out of 5
4

Functionality

out of 5

March 2019

GREAT TOOL

EVERY DAY USE IT'S A GREAT TOOL

Pros

EASY ACCESS TO PAYMENTS AND PULL UP REMITS SO WE CAN SEE THE PAYMENTS RECEIVE IN EITHER DISPUTING THEM WITH THE PAYORS

Cons

MORE OPTIONS FOR SORTING AND MAYBE SOME MORE DETAIL ON CHECK NUMBERS

Anonymous

Company size: 5,001-10,000 employees

Time used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra

This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.
5

Ease-of-use

out of 5
5

Value for money

out of 5
5

Customer support

out of 5
5

Functionality

out of 5

April 2019

Great software and company. Glad we found them.

We are using it to feed our Business Insight Software for denial reporting. I use it a lot when looking at our claim files and 835 for troubleshooting. We use it to report our HAF for Medicaid on our Financials. I have also used it for processing 834 files to get them in a usable format. I cannot say enough good things about the software!

Pros

The software is very easy to use. It easy to map and view data. We use several of their products. The customer support has always been great.

Cons

The yearly license process is a bit cumbersome, but we work through it.

Barb

Company size: 51-200 employees

Industry: Mental Health Care

Time used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra

This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.
5

Ease-of-use

out of 5
5

Value for money

out of 5
5

Customer support

out of 5
5

Functionality

out of 5

December 2018

Essential Tool

Anytime I have needed help with the Power Reader, the staff at EMS has been quick to respond, friendly and helpful. What I love most is that they are easy to talk to. Very often when working with computer experts they forget that they are talking to people who don't share there technical knowledge. These guys are very good at taking that in to consideration.

Pros

This product is easy to use. When we were sending/receiving 837/835 files directly with the insurance sites we were very dependent on the Power Reader for viewing our files. The ability to sort files and only print the columns we need is a great paper saver. We have since started using a clearinghouse that offers some of the features of the reader however, we still don't feel like we can give it up. The ability to view file information including the loops and segments is essential when trouble shooting errors.

Cons

One thing our clearinghouse offers that this software does not is the ability to convert the 837 file info to a viewable HCFA 1500 image. This is helpful when calling an insurance company's claims department since their reps are often looking at the claim via a billing form template. This way we can both talk "boxes" instead of loops and segments.

Eugene

Company size: 51-200 employees

Industry: Hospital & Health Care

Time used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra

This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.
5

Ease-of-use

out of 5
5

Value for money

out of 5
5

Customer support

out of 5
5

Functionality

out of 5

March 2019

Provider staff

The bottom line for our users is that the reader gives them a quick and efficient method to display transactions, primarily remits (835s) in detail. For m the best effect is that users readily rely on it.

Pros

We enjoy the reader across the revenue offices primarily for its ease of use and functional simplicity in managing the multiple HIPAA transactions. For the users it is efficient and easy to utilize. In addition, from my perspective it is easy to upgrade and install.

Cons

My main 'wish list item' is to enhance the ability to setup/ configure the column/ fields for a transaction by enabling a selection feature that would permit me to not only select a field to display but at that time to be able to number the selected fields that would have the effect of sorting the columns in the display of data based on the selection criteria.

Tim

Company size: 2-10 employees

Industry: Hospital & Health Care

Time used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra

This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.
5

Ease-of-use

out of 5
5

Value for money

out of 5
5

Customer support

out of 5
5

Functionality

out of 5

December 2018

Long time customer

We have been using the software for over ten years, creating customized remittance reports for our clients, and could not be happier. There are other options on the market, but year after year we feel that the EDI Power Reader continue to be the best choice for us.

Pros

The software is extremely powerful in letting you decide which data to display and customize how it is displayed. You can filter to show only the information most relevant for you.

Cons

Newcomers might find the long list of options overwhelming at first, but the software is relatively easy to figure out.

Elizabeth

Company size: 11-50 employees

Industry: Mental Health Care

Time used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra

This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.
5

Ease-of-use

out of 5
5

Value for money

out of 5
5

Customer support

out of 5
5

Functionality

out of 5

December 2018

A lot of information in a little time!

I'm impressed with how quickly I can access any piece of information in the Reader. This tool is fast, and easy to use. This eliminates the need to write and run timely reports- which only show information after the file is posted. Knowing what's in the file prior to posting is a wonderful tool.

Pros

The ability to easily view file information before it's posted.

Cons

I've asked for the name of the file to print on the page when 'print' is selected. As always, the team was interested in our thoughts and says they will make this upgrade.

Aldo

Company size: 501-1,000 employees

Industry: Health, Wellness and Fitness

Time used: Less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra

This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.
4

Ease-of-use

out of 5
5

Value for money

out of 5
5

Customer support

out of 5
4

Functionality

out of 5

March 2019

Excellent

We are mainly taking care of our 277 files, looking for rejections and generating the reports and send it to the propper parties. It's a very helpful software when it comes to auditing your IN and OUTS.

Pros

Easy to load files, easy to export reports.

Cons

the columns order setup...should be easier to just get a default order by the type of file. and another thing is that they should upgrade to a drag and drop loading mode. my humble opinion, the FILE + OPEN is so old school. Still works, but I think that a DRAG AND DROP the files would make things easier for user and at the same time would make the platform a little bit more user friendly.

Karen

Company size: 501-1,000 employees

Industry: Mental Health Care

Time used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra

This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.
5

Ease-of-use

out of 5
5

Customer support

out of 5
3

Functionality

out of 5

December 2018

The reader

I would say my overall experience is great. It is user friendly and good options for reporting.

Pros

My job is cash posting and reconciliation. The software is quick and efficient. I can read a file for payment documentation in minutes.

Cons

I think all the features are effective for the purpose. Maybe they could be compatible with other types of files. For example a insurance claim file.

Suzanne

Company size: 501-1,000 employees

Industry: Hospital & Health Care

Time used: Less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra

This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.
5

Ease-of-use

out of 5
5

Value for money

out of 5
5

Customer support

out of 5
4

Functionality

out of 5

December 2018

EDI Power Reader

Pros

This software allows us to convert 835 electronic posting files to PDF's. The PDF's are then uploaded automatically using a script into our document repository. This eliminates printing and manual scanning of each file.

Cons

The PLB segments or pass thru's are difficult to decipher with the power reader. We often go to another website to download a different version of the 835 remit in order to determine if the PLB's are actual take backs or an FYI only.

theresa

Company size: 201-500 employees

Industry: Mental Health Care

Time used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra

This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.
5

Ease-of-use

out of 5
5

Value for money

out of 5
5

Customer support

out of 5
5

Functionality

out of 5

April 2019

edi power reader

I use the EDI Reader everyday. it is easy to use and I like the fact that you can search, sort and get a summary. you can also export information into an excel spreadsheet.

Pros

I can search my 837 or 835. you can just see denials or paid claims. you can pull a summary of your 835.

Cons

there is nothing I do not like about it.

Marie

Company size: 1,001-5,000 employees

Industry: Hospital & Health Care

Time used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra

This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.
5

Ease-of-use

out of 5
5

Value for money

out of 5
5

Customer support

out of 5
5

Functionality

out of 5

March 2019

Power Reader is an excellent product!

We have used EDI Power Reader for several years at our facility and it has become an essential toolbox for completing our daily tasks.

Pros

Ease of use, customer support is unmatched, functionality

Cons

I really can't think of any negative input that I could say about this product

Latoya

Company size: 501-1,000 employees

Industry: Mental Health Care

Time used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra

This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.
5

Ease-of-use

out of 5
5

Value for money

out of 5
4

Customer support

out of 5
4

Functionality

out of 5

December 2018

CLINICAL BILLING REIMBURSEMENT COORDINATOR

It is very easy to use and it provides the information I need to effectively complete my job.

Pros

It promptly gives me the information I need to ensure timely and accurate billing

Cons

I have not encountered any cons while using the software.

Wendy

Company size: 1,001-5,000 employees

Industry: Mental Health Care

Time used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra

This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.
5

Ease-of-use

out of 5
5

Value for money

out of 5
5

Customer support

out of 5
5

Functionality

out of 5

December 2018

Reviewing EDI Power Reader

This product is very helpful in following up with our Medicaid rejections on the 835. It has made that process so much easier.

Pros

I appreciate the product because it is very user friendly, it allows you to sort your report so easily by selecting the column titles you prefer. The rejection codes are easily discernible and the ability to sort by different columns is a good feature.

Cons

Because there is so much in the rejection column, instead of just having the rejection code in one column, it is not that easy to sort by error code.

Michale

Company size: 1 employee

Industry: Health, Wellness and Fitness

Time used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra

This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.
5

Ease-of-use

out of 5
5

Value for money

out of 5
5

Customer support

out of 5
4

Functionality

out of 5

December 2018

EDI Power Reader Review

We use the Power Reader to validate our own 837 file creations and to verify data coming from our customers. We use it in conjunction with the Export Engine and also to review 999s and 277s coming back.

Pros

It interprets segments even if out of sequence and allows me to export data to spreadsheets or text files for further analysis.

Cons

The segment list with the field name and corresponding loop and segment is in an order that make it hard to find where a field was mapped from. A listing option, to text file or spreadsheet, would be nice.

Jill

Company size: 201-500 employees

Industry: Mental Health Care

Time used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra

This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.
4

Ease-of-use

out of 5
4

Value for money

out of 5
4

Customer support

out of 5
4

Functionality

out of 5

December 2018

software review

I have had good experiences with the power reader.

Pros

I liked the formatting of the site and the ease of use.

Cons

I don't have any dislikes for this software.

tracy

Company size: 1,001-5,000 employees

Industry: Mental Health Care

Time used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra

This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.
4

Ease-of-use

out of 5
5

Value for money

out of 5
5

Customer support

out of 5
4

Functionality

out of 5

December 2018

EDI reader review

Pros

Really functional when it comes to reading an 835 file.

Cons

Cannot convert a 999 file into specified sections

Marian

Company size: 1,001-5,000 employees

Industry: Mental Health Care

Time used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra

This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.
4

Ease-of-use

out of 5
4

Functionality

out of 5

April 2019

Works well, never a problem

Pros

The software is user friendly and there is ease of use.

Cons

Open with. I like the default mechanism.

Showing 1 - 25 of 57 reviews
EDI Power Reader

EDI Power Reader

4.56/5 out of 57 reviews