User Reviews Overview

Feature Ratings

Ease-of-use

4.0 / 5

Value for Money

4.0 / 5

Customer Support

4.5 / 5

Functionality

4.0 / 5

Ratings Breakdown

5 stars

(13)

13

4 stars

(8)

8

3 stars

(2)

2

2 stars

(1)

1

1 stars

(0)

0

  • Pros

  • "Easy to use and follow the menus. Very functional."

  • "Use the a/r program making calls and recording results mostly. Use it some for sales. Good features in both."

  • "There is so many thing you can do with this program as it relates to your business. Specifically with each customer, their orders, etc along with inventory."

  • Cons

  • "As mentioned above with so many options, the complexity and different ways to locate the same thing can be overwhelming and take time for those new to the program."

  • "Outdated and seems a bit de-emphasized by the software manufacturer."

  • "secondary processing still a little sluggish. "

Browse Epicor Prophet 21 Reviews

Filter by:

Sort by:
 

Showing -49 - -26 of 24 results

September 2018

Anonymous

Verified Reviewer

Company Size: 11-50 employees

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

3.0

Value for money

4.0

Customer support

4.0

Functionality

4.0

September 2018

Great option for distribution

Pros

It is widely used by distributors of all kinds of industries. The independent user group is an incredible resource of users that are very helpful to everyone in the group

Cons

Costs and resources needed. This is a very robust software package and will need your time to get it setup the way you want it for your business. The good news is that it can be setup for your business.

Response from Epicor Software

Replied September 2018

Thank you for taking the time to post a review. We appreciate all of the feedback you have provided. It is great to hear you are involved in the independent users group.

September 2019

Bruno from Manulift E.M.I. Ltd

Verified Reviewer

Company Size: 201-500 employees

Industry: Machinery

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

4.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

5.0

September 2019

Strong, robust and flexible

The application's flexibility allows us to tailor the application to very specific business needs and allow bringing creativity to address our needs

Pros

Deep functionalities in multiple areas Flexibility in term of technology (UDFs, business rules and screen customization capabilities)

Cons

A bit late on the market for bringing a web base version and as far as mobility is concerned

Reasons for Choosing Epicor Prophet 21

Our business model touches a lot of industry at the same time (Import, distribution, service & warranty, loght manufacturing, warehouse management and rental). The strong and multiple functionalities from P21 allowed us to address all aspects in a "deep enough" manner even though it is per definition a distribution software. We needed to implement fast and we were 2 keys employees who had already implemented P21 so this played also

Response from Epicor Software

Replied November 2019

Hi Bruno, Thank you for your feedback about Epicor Prophet 21. We're glad to hear the solution has been flexible for your business needs. Your feedback is invaluable, and if you would like to send us an email to CustomerReferences@epicor.com, we would be pleased to receive additional comments and tell you about our customer reference program. Sincerely, The Epicor Social Team

November 2019

Mark from BMK Solutions LLC

Verified Reviewer

Company Size: 51-200 employees

Industry: Information Technology and Services

Time Used: Less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

2.0

Value for money

3.0

Customer support

3.0

Functionality

3.0

November 2019

Mostly does what you need it to do

Customer service generally respond to tickets quickly, but oftentimes one representative will tell us something is impossible or not part of baseline functionality, only to have a different rep eventually tell us that it is possible and then show us how to do it. This has happened several times. When putting in a request for a custom script (as we are told to do for many requests), it takes weeks or months to get the issue resolved.

Pros

Through DynaChange, administrators have great control over which modules/screens their users can use. There are many ways to customize the various modules, either by groups of like users or user-specific. Once learned, the software contains everything needed to run the business; Accounting, Inventory Management, Order Processing, etc.

Cons

Not user-friendly. Users have complained there are many steps (more than is typical) needed to do basic tasks. This is only an 'out of the box' product for very basic use. There are many customizations needed to make the product do what the salesmen say it can do. Hosted software has several drawbacks, such as updates to forms sometimes not being pushed through properly, or having changes to forms revert because the changes did not properly propogate to all clustered servers. The same can be said about changes to printers on the network; settings will be updated and the next day they will revert to the old settings. When a data import has an error, it is not always easy to decipher what the error means.

Reasons for Choosing Epicor Prophet 21

Our previous company used a much older version of this product, the Epicor salesman sold this product as being able to do everything the previous software did, plus more. Without deep customizations, this is not true.

Response from Epicor Software

Replied November 2019

Hi Mark, Thank you for your feedback about Epicor Prophet 21. We're sorry to hear you have received mixed messages from support. We would like to learn more about the issue you are experiencing so we can deliver a solution quickly. Please send us an email to socialmedia@epicor.com with your contact information, so we can assist you. Again, we are sorry for the inconvenience you've experienced, and we look forward to resolving it quickly. Sincerely, The Epicor Social Team

March 2020

William from BenMark Supply

Verified Reviewer

Company Size: 51-200 employees

Industry: Wholesale

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source


Ease-of-use

5.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

5.0

March 2020

Will

The software has seriously helped us grow our business tremendously and keep a watchful eye on the inventory, accounting, and CRM.

Pros

Inventory control is a dream with advanced demand forecasting. Allows your employees to work on other aspects of your business. Extremely low barrier to entry for training new employees on the software. We think it is very intuitive.

Cons

Reporting has always lacked; however, there are many very good 3rd party tools out there.

Reasons for Choosing Epicor Prophet 21

Most complete inventory functionality

Response from Epicor Software

Replied March 2020

Hi William, thank you for your feedback about Epicor Prophet 21. We're glad to hear it is helping with inventory control. Your feedback is invaluable. Please email us at customerreferences@epicor.com to share additional comments and learn about our customer reference program.

September 2019

Brent from Ohio Tool Systems, Inc

Verified Reviewer

Company Size: 11-50 employees

Industry: Wholesale

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

3.0

Value for money

4.0

Customer support

4.0

Functionality

4.0

September 2019

Great Product - Great Staff

Have been a P21 "Partner" for over 22 years. I believe that it is the best software fro Distribution on the market, although not the cheapest. They work closely with Microsoft and innovative 3rd Parties as well as internally to continually provide innovation and better performance.

Pros

Information at your fingertips - inventory, orders, sales. Ease of use and scaleability. Ease of forms modification. Keeping up with modern innovations such as cloud and AI

Cons

Overall system speed. Base reporting. You can always get what you want in reporting IF you know your Crystal and/or SQL.

Reasons for Choosing Epicor Prophet 21

ROI, plain and simple, best product for the price. P21 tries to keep on the cutting edge of technological developments and innovation

Response from Epicor Software

Replied October 2019

Hi Brent, Thank you for your feedback about Prophet 21. We're glad to hear that you find it easy to use and scaleable. Your feedback is invaluable. Please email us at customerreferences@epicor.com to share additional comments and learn about our customer reference program. Sincerely The Epicor Social Team

September 2019

Rod from Price Engineering

Verified Reviewer

Company Size: 51-200 employees

Industry: Wholesale

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

5.0

September 2019

Prophet 21 Review

We have experienced a exceptional partnership with Epicor. There have been some bumps in the road but ultimately Epicor listens and responds. We have participated in all of the User Conferences and User Group Conferences. There is an awesome World Wide User Group (WWUG) that is very active and supportive. We have tried to take advantage and apply all of the P21 features that we can and see great return on that effort.

Pros

The application is loaded with features and benefits, particularly on the distribution side of the software. Our business consists of both Light Manufacturing (35%) and Distribution (65%) which is one of the key areas of the P21 functionality. You can search the market and find excellent distribution software and also search the market and find excellent manufacturing software, but try to find one that is excellent in both. P21 is the leader in this area and they are continuing to enhance both "sides" of the application. We also like the Windows environment which makes it very easy for new users to learn the navigation. Epicor has a lot of third party partners and providers that can bring volumes of additional resources and functionalities to the table. The SQL database is open which provides a ton of value when it comes to additional functionalities. I also love the ability to modify the baseline software appearance with Dynachange, and basic functional logic using Business Rules, and many other similar features.

Cons

P21 was built on an older database structure and has become limited in modifications such as lengthening the Item ID, or improving speed, and other core database structure. This can be limiting, however the solution most of these has been introduced with the Web enabled P21 application. Otherwise we have had a great experience.

Response from Epicor Software

Replied October 2019

Hi Rod, Thank you for your feedback on Prophet 21. We are glad you find it easy to use and rich in functionality and connectivity. We also appreciate your views on the partnership. Your feedback really is invaluable. Please reach out to us at customerreferences@epicor.com to share additional comments and find out more about our reference community. Sincerely The Epicor Social Team

September 2019

Anthony from ANEST IWATA-MEDEA, INC.

Verified Reviewer

Company Size: 11-50 employees

Industry: Arts and Crafts

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Customer support

4.0

Functionality

5.0

September 2019

P21

P21 has allowed us to track our production needs, while seemlessly helping us to control on hand inventory levels. Accounting has full visability of all transactions and can easily powerdrill into transactions for support.

Pros

Prophet 21 offers a complete package with accounting, inventory and light manufacturing modules to businesses of all sizes. The intuitive ease of use, and the ability to customize as needed has made this a very versatile software package.

Cons

This software package is so robust, it feels at times that it is impossible to learn about all of the features within the application. this forces me to depend on consultants and onsite engagements with Epicor employees to find new features that may be applicable to your business process. These engagements while incredibly useful are expensive.

Reasons for Choosing Epicor Prophet 21

Epicor's package was more comprehensive out of the box. Other systems could do the same work, but it would have required additional customized programming to achieve the same results.

Response from Epicor Software

Replied October 2019

Hi Anthony, Thank you for your feedback on Prophet 21. We are glad you find it robust and versatile. We also appreciate your comments on further learning. Please reach out to us at customerreferences@epicor.com to share further comments and find out about our reference community. Sincerely The Epicor Social Team

March 2020

Terry from ZUO

Verified Reviewer

Company Size: 51-200 employees

Industry: Wholesale

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source


Ease-of-use

4.0

Value for money

3.0

Customer support

3.0

Functionality

3.0

March 2020

Great ERP system for mid size company

Pros

Integration with credit card processing and sales tax software.

Cons

Flexibility to integrate with E-commerce environment.

Response from Epicor Software

Replied March 2020

Hi Terry, thank you for your feedback on Epicor Prophet 21. We're glad to hear credit card processing and the integration with sales tax software is working well for you. We note your comments on e-commerce integration. Your feedback is invaluable. Please email us at customerreferences@epicor.com to share additional comments and learn about our customer reference program.

September 2019

Marilyn from Bamal Corporation

Verified Reviewer

Company Size: 51-200 employees

Industry: Logistics and Supply Chain

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

4.0

Value for money

4.0

Customer support

4.0

Functionality

4.0

September 2019

Distribution Software

We use the software to run the business and it does fine, but we have to have a lot of other tools to allow us to do some of the critical pieces of the business like procurement . It is not designed to do a highly level analysis need in the supply chain.

Pros

The software is relatively easy to use and the on-line training making bring new staff on board easy.

Cons

The software needs to have a better ability to create custom reports and produce financial statements. The inventory module needs to have more stability to it. We find errors often. The purchasing system is not adequate for a high level supply chain.

Response from Epicor Prophet 21

Replied September 2019

Hi Marilyn, Thank you for your feedback about Epicor Prophet 21 We're glad to hear the solution has been easy to learn. However, we're sorry to hear the inventory module has not been stable. Please send us an email to socialmedia@epicor.com with your contact info so we can assist you in delivering a solution. Sincerely, The Epicor Social Team

March 2020

Wayne from Key Electrical Supply, Inc

Verified Reviewer

Company Size: 11-50 employees

Industry: Wholesale

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source


Ease-of-use

3.0

Value for money

4.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

4.0

March 2020

Good Review

overall very good.

Pros

Use the a/r program making calls and recording results mostly. Use it some for sales. Good features in both.

Cons

Not being able to print to my home printer when working remotely with forticlient.

Response from Epicor Software

Replied March 2020

Hi Wayne, thank you for your feedback on Epicor Prophet 21. We're glad to hear it is working well for you. Your feedback is invaluable. Please email us at customerreferences@epicor.com to share additional comments and learn about our customer reference program.

October 2019

John from Almeda Consulting Group

Verified Reviewer

Company Size: 11-50 employees

Industry: Wholesale

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Value for money

3.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

4.0

October 2019

Prophet 21

P21 is very good in managing my warehouse and all that is in it. The openness of the system allows for easy integration of other product that help make the overall management of the business

Pros

Windows

Cons

Reporting , General Ledger are not very robust.

Reasons for Choosing Epicor Prophet 21

flexibility

Response from Epicor Software

Replied October 2019

Hi John, thank you for your feedback about Prophet 21. We're glad to hear that the openness of the system is working well for you. Your feedback really is invaluable. Please email us at customerreferences@epicor.com to share additional comments. We would like to hear more about the general ledger and reporting and feed this back to the relevant teams. Sincerely The Epicor Social and Communities Team

September 2019

Teresa from Dudley C Jackson LLC

Verified Reviewer

Company Size: 51-200 employees

Industry: Wholesale

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

4.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

4.0

Functionality

4.0

September 2019

Solid system for distribution business

As a 12 year user I'm still learning functionality in P21. It's a good solid system for small to medium business and works well in and for single and multi-location businesses. Support could be a challenge at times but the solutions database and online training has a wealth of knowledge and most of my issues could be resolved there.

Pros

Automation of behind the scenes accounting functions (no more batch processing!!) Navigation is intuitive once you learn the function menus. User group and solutions database is extremely helpful for special applications. 3rd party apps for data query and CRM are easy to connect

Cons

Epicor is pricey on custom fixes/solutions Canned reporting is not as strong as I would like

Response from Epicor Software

Replied October 2019

Hi Teresa, Thank you for your feedback about Prophet 21. We are glad that you find it intuitive and easy to connect to. Your feedback regarding canned reporting really is invaluable. Please reach out to us at customerreferences@epicor.com to share additional comments and find out more about our reference community. Sincerely The Epicor Social Team

September 2019

Greg from Iowa Fluid Power

Verified Reviewer

Company Size: 51-200 employees

Industry: Wholesale

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

4.0

September 2019

Perfect for the Distribution Industry

We have been pleased with our choice of software and think Prophet21 is a good partner

Pros

Flexible and extensible Priced right Widely used in the Fluid Power Industry Good 3rd party support.

Cons

Production order scheduling is missing at the current time but on the roadmap.

Reasons for Choosing Epicor Prophet 21

Ability to access the data for reporting, the community of fellow distributors on the product, price, and ease of implementing.

Response from Epicor Prophet 21

Replied September 2019

Hi Greg, Thank you for your feedback about Epicor Prophet 21. We're glad to hear the solution is working well for your business. Your feedback is invaluable, and if you would like to send us an email to CustomerReferences@epicor.com, we would be pleased to receive additional comments and tell you about our customer reference program. Sincerely, The Epicor Social Team

October 2019

James from Meyer Gage Company Inc

Verified Reviewer

Company Size: 11-50 employees

Industry: Wholesale

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

4.0

Value for money

4.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

4.0

October 2019

15 year user

We manufacture and wholesale products and this software is very capable

Pros

Robust software that has high end integration modules. SQL platform allows custom integration.

Cons

Does not easily allow mail or email advertising integration. Has a electronic payment module for credit cards, but lacks integration for ACH, Wire Transfers or integration to your banking platform

Response from Epicor Software

Replied October 2019

Hi James, thank you for your feedback about Prophet 21. We're glad to hear that the integration modules are working well for you. Your feedback is invaluable. Please email us at customerreferences@epicor.com to share additional comments. We would especially like to hear about the electronic payments and email integrations in order to feed this back to the appropriate teams. Sincerely The Epicor Social Team

October 2019

Kevin from Hi-Tech Fasteners Incorporated

Verified Reviewer

Company Size: 11-50 employees

Industry: Wholesale

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

5.0

October 2019

Prophet 21 Since 2004

We incorporate more government regulation obstacles into the software. The software helps so we can plan our next strategic steps.

Pros

Adaptability makes the software current with economic trends. We can update with modern technology and still use with legacy equipment.

Cons

Glitches that occur during product revision updates. More proof testing, with novice and seasoned users prior to release date might expose issues before a release.

Response from Epicor Prophet 21

Replied October 2019

Hi Kevin, Thank you for your feedback about Epicor Prophet 21. We're glad to hear the software adaptability is working well for you. Your feedback is invaluable. Please email us at customerreferences@epicor.com to share additional comments and learn about our customer reference program. Many thanks.

September 2019

michael from Wholesale Auto Supply

Verified Reviewer

Company Size: 11-50 employees

Industry: Automotive

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Value for money

4.0

Customer support

4.0

Functionality

5.0

September 2019

User Friendly

Pricing and ordering guidelines are accurate and easily set up. Processing speed is good. Reports are easy to create.

Pros

Ease of use and almost no down time. Inventory, A/R, and pricing are all "real time".

Cons

Newer versions seem to jump around e.g. trying to open one application and getting another.

Reasons for Choosing Epicor Prophet 21

Ease of use and value

Response from Epicor Software

Replied October 2019

Hi Michael, Thank you for your feedback about Epicor Prophet 21. We are happy that it has been easy to use and set-up. However we would like to hear more about your issues with the newer versions. Please email us at socialmedia@epicor.com and we can assist you. We look forward to resolving it quickly. Sincerely The Epicor Social Team

September 2019

Miguel from Zuo Modern Contemporary Inc

Verified Reviewer

Company Size: 51-200 employees

Industry: Furniture

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Value for money

4.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

4.0

September 2019

Solid ERP, not great with customizing features

Pros

Is a solid system, can't remember the last time we had a problem in the last 3 years.

Cons

Is hard to find support outside of EPICOR and is not easy to customize.

Response from Epicor Prophet 21

Replied September 2019

Hi Miguel, Thank you for your feedback about Epicor Prophet 21. We're glad to hear the solution is working well for your business. Your feedback is invaluable, and if you would like to send us an email to CustomerReferences@epicor.com, we would be pleased to receive additional comments and tell you about our customer reference program. Sincerely, The Epicor Social Team

October 2019

Jeff from General Factory Supply

Verified Reviewer

Company Size: 51-200 employees

Industry: Wholesale

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Value for money

4.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

4.0

October 2019

P21

Pros

Easy to use and follow the menus. Very functional.

Cons

Weak on reporting capabilities. Can be difficult to deal with credit card payments.

Response from Epicor Software

Replied October 2019

Hi Jeff, thank you for your feedback about Prophet 21. Your comments really are invaluable. Please email us at customerreferences@epicor.com to learn about our customer reference program. We would especially like to hear more on the reporting and credit card payment issues in order to feed this back to the relevant teams. Sincerely, The Epicor Social and Communities Team

May 2018

Anonymous

Verified Reviewer

Company Size: 51-200 employees

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

3.0

Functionality

4.0

May 2018

A robust program with many different options

Pros

There is so many thing you can do with this program as it relates to your business. Specifically with each customer, their orders, etc along with inventory.

Cons

As mentioned above with so many options, the complexity and different ways to locate the same thing can be overwhelming and take time for those new to the program.

March 2020

James from All Integrated Solutions

Verified Reviewer

Company Size: 51-200 employees

Industry: Wholesale

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source


Ease-of-use

4.0

Value for money

4.0

Customer support

4.0

Functionality

4.0

March 2020

Supply chain efficiencies

Very focused on working with users to drive IT technology through the supply chain to help our customers, our people, and our suppliers.

Pros

wireless warehouse features, ease of use, user group focus.

Cons

secondary processing still a little sluggish.

Reasons for Choosing Epicor Prophet 21

Conversion ability from Faspac and organizational fit.

Response from Epicor Software

Replied March 2020

Hi James, thank you for your feedback about Epicor Prophet 21. We're glad to hear it is working well for you and driving supply chain efficiencies. Your feedback is invaluable. Please email us at customerreferences@epicor.com to share additional comments and learn about our customer reference program.

January 2019

Amanda from Walker Zanger

Verified Reviewer

Company Size: 10,000+ employees

Industry: Consumer Services

Time Used: Less than 12 months

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

4.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

4.0

January 2019

Epicor Prophet 21

I did learn the system really fast. I love the ease of access.

Pros

What I like most is how organized P21 is. It keeps all the orders organized and clean. It makes it easy to see what's happening with the order.

Cons

This software can be very glitchy at times. There are times where you can be in the middle of doing something and it will completely shut down on you and close you out of the application.

March 2019

Samuel from T. Mina Supply East Inc.

Verified Reviewer

Company Size: 51-200 employees

Industry: Construction

Time Used: Less than 6 months

Review Source


Ease-of-use

4.0

Value for money

4.0

Customer support

3.0

Functionality

4.0

March 2019

EPICOR Potential

Pros

Because EPICOR uses windows base it makes navigation easy for first time users. Also its DOS orgins still offers the speed of keyboard fast paths.

Cons

What I like least is actually a function of the restrictions my company puts on us being able to reach peak potential. It takes a lot of training to truly understand the functionality

December 2019

Josh from Marketing and Advertising

Verified Reviewer

Company Size: 51-200 employees

Industry: Marketing and Advertising

Time Used: Less than 6 months

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

4.0

Functionality

4.0

December 2019

great software for b2b distributors

Great software, just make sure you have the right parts to handle a quality integration.

Pros

It's ability to be integrated once you have a development team to support the ecommerce integrations

Cons

Out of the box it is weak without a strong development team because it integrates poorly initially. However with a good team it is best in class.

Response from Epicor Software

Replied December 2019

Hi Josh, thank you for your feedback about Prophet 21. We're glad to hear the ecommerce integration capability is working well for you and note your comments regarding the 'out of the box' integration. Your feedback is invaluable. Please email us at customerreferences@epicor.com to share additional comments and learn about our customer reference program.

September 2018

Doug from Qualbe Marketing Group

Verified Reviewer

Company Size: 51-200 employees

Industry: Music

Time Used: Less than 12 months

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

3.0

Functionality

3.0

September 2018

Epicor Prophet 21 is still around and breathing

Pros

Still functions and can help your company get business done.

Cons

Outdated and seems a bit de-emphasized by the software manufacturer.

Response from Epicor Software

Replied September 2018

Hi Doug, Thank you for taking the time to post a review. We appreciate the feedback you have provided. At Epicor, we are committed to the continual improvement and investment in Prophet 21. We will share your feedback internally. Thank you.