All MasterControl Quality Excellence Reviews

1-25 of 389 Reviews

Sort by

Reviews are by default sorted by Recommended to software buyers, driven by our proprietary algorithm reflecting the depth and quality of the review, recency of experience, and other factors. As a neutral reviews platform, the star rating of the review is not considered in the "Recommended" ranking, and there is currently no voting mechanism that would allow site visitors to influence the ranking.

Deanna

11 - 50 employees

Used less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra
This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

OVERALL RATING:

5

Reviewed May 2021

Implementation of Doc and Training

User Profile

Joanne

Verified reviewer

Hospital & Health Care, 10,000+ employees

Used daily for more than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra
This review was submitted organically. No incentive was offered

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

4

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

4

Reviewed January 2020

MasterControl Quality Management system

MasterControl has allowed us to replace book shelves of policy binders, file cabinets of employee training and competency forms. Staff can all access the same document at the same time instead of waiting for the binder to be free. Regulatory requirements are easy to track within the system.

PROS

This system is flexible enough for a any regulated industry. It includes a document management module, employee training module, Quality module that included Deviations, CAPA, Change Control, non-Conformance; Quality, risk management, etc.

CONS

The suite of modules has not been certified as HIPAA compliant, except for the Documents module. Full HIPAA compliance is on their timeline for 3rd quarter 2020.

Reason for choosing MasterControl Quality Excellence

MasterControl provided the most flexibility as we needed to implement a document management & quality system in a variety of clinical and non-clinical healthcare departments. Each department needed different standards and is regulated by different organizations. Some manufacture goods, others do not.

Deanna

Medical Devices, 11-50 employees

Used daily for less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra
This review was submitted organically. No incentive was offered

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

4

VALUE FOR MONEY

4

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

4

FUNCTIONALITY

5

Reviewed December 2020

Implementation of Doc and Training

We had a paper training process and used PDM for document control, which was not ideal because the user had access to prior control document revisions. Once we were able to inventory our procedures and forms, we were able to implement a solution that is long term sustainable We know we hit the jackpot, when the [SENSITIVE CONTENT HIDDEN] of the company said that was able to do training very easily because the document was attached to the training. He didn't need to attend training on how to use the software to figure out how do complete his procedure assignment training.

PROS

1) For the user, it was very easy for the user to complete training. Steps are very intuitive 2) Implemented a document control solution that prohibited certain users from seeing archived versions of the documents. 3) each to find document by searching by datacard elements

CONS

didn't set up data card structure as best that we could.

Reason for choosing MasterControl Quality Excellence

functionality

Reasons for switching to MasterControl Quality Excellence

paper controlled process for training and change control that was not regulatory compliant and couldn't be sustained.

Tyler

Pharmaceuticals, 201-500 employees

Used daily for less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra
This review was submitted organically. No incentive was offered

OVERALL RATING:

3

EASE OF USE

4

VALUE FOR MONEY

3

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

4

FUNCTIONALITY

2

Reviewed September 2023

Decent Document/Training module

MasterControl works as a document management and training module. It is not as robust as I would like but it is relatively easy to work with. The customer service is above average.

PROS

The strength of MasterControl is that it is easy to configure. For documents and training someone new to MasterControl can take the free online training and be at a module admin level in 2-3 months. For the most part changes do not need to be validated because the configurations are so limited that the OQ/PQ can justify functions.

CONS

The weakness in MasterControl is that the configurations are so limited. There are often times when you expect the system to be able to do something only to find out that it is not fully capable of what you expected. And example would be setting up prerequisite courses. This would be a great feature for creating an entire curriculum. But a course can only have 1 prerequisite, when you might have expected to be able to assign multiple prerequisites. Since this feature/configuration is so simple the admins end up having to play a greater role in assigning training, because the system can't be configured in a complex fashion. While about 80% of the configuration make sense, the other 20% does not. Some features and configurations are just not intuitive.

Charles

Medical Devices, 501-1,000 employees

Used daily for more than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

5

Reviewed February 2024

Excellent Product and Customer service

The customer service and technical service has been excellent!! I've never worked with a friendlier or more helpful partner. The overall experience with MasterControl has been superb!!

PROS

I like the seamless integration between the Documents and Training modules. We have totally eliminated paper training records, eliminated manual record tracking and filing, and we have ready access to all required records during audits and inspections. As FDA registered facilities we needed FDA part 11 compliance and audit trails. MasterControl has given us all these capabilities in an intuitive and easy to use paltform for all users.

CONS

We had to do our homework when initially configuring the software to understand how to make the right decisions and allow the system to scale with our own evolution and growth. We knew where we wanted to end up, but didn't understand all the new terminology, or exactly how the system worked. We hired a third-party consultant recommended by another MasterControl user and leveraged their expertise to bridge the knowledge gap between us and MasterControl. The initial configuration took longer than we originally planned, but we ended up with a configuration that works very well for us.

Richard

Medical Devices, 201-500 employees

Used daily for less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

4

VALUE FOR MONEY

4

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

4

Reviewed March 2023

One of the best value for your money

Master Control has revolutionized the amount a single document controller can process. Prior to implementation there was a massive backlog of ECNs, now it rare to see an ECN take more than a day or two. I'm no longer going from desk to desk searching for documents.

PROS

Master Control automates a lot of our processes that were manual and paper based. Routing ECN/DCN have been a breeze within the software compared to how we manually did it in the past. The automation has allowed our company to process more changes at a faster rate which has made our customers very happy.

CONS

The only set back is not being able to fully customize everything to my liking. It's rather small and has not caused any significant issues, it's more of a personal preference.

Reason for choosing MasterControl Quality Excellence

Master Control was by far the easiest to use and had the most scalability for our business.

sharon

Research, 201-500 employees

Used daily for more than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra
This review was submitted organically. No incentive was offered

OVERALL RATING:

4

EASE OF USE

3

VALUE FOR MONEY

4

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

4

Reviewed May 2020

With A Quality Eye

It maybe confusing at first but once you understand how all the modules work and how you can adapt it to meet your needs it's great.

PROS

All documentation is in one place and excellent traceability. Electronic signatures reduces paper and time gathering wet signatures.

CONS

The system does require daily administration which needs to be recognised by business owner. The audit module isn't user friendly and could do with some improvements.

Reason for choosing MasterControl Quality Excellence

MasterControl offered a one stop shop with the various modules and reporting process.

Reasons for switching to MasterControl Quality Excellence

Needed to be regulatory compliant

Mark

Biotechnology, 51-200 employees

Used daily for less than 6 months

Review Source: Capterra
This review was submitted organically. No incentive was offered

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

4

VALUE FOR MONEY

3

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

5

Reviewed September 2023

Qx is beginning to revolutionize our QMS

PROS

Document control, change control, and review workflows are among the biggest challenges facing our organization. MasterControl provides the means to apply industry best-practices, and excellent control and compliance, with intuitive, out-of-the box solutions. MasterControl Qx also integrates with MasterControl's Mx (Manufacturing Execution) system, a critical reason we chose it.

CONS

Onboarding has been challenging. This is not a flaw in MasterControl, but rather a feature: Connections, workflows, training, responsibilities, review cycles ... all have to be specified in detail. We didn't necessarily have all the information arranged in such a way as to make its entry into MasterControl 'easy'. However, once put together, the MasterControl system is far superior to its antecedent.

Reason for choosing MasterControl Quality Excellence

Integration with Mx was a huge factor. We want fewer integration requirements. Also, MasterControl really understands businesses like ours.

Shaun

Chemicals, 51-200 employees

Used daily for more than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra
This review was submitted organically. No incentive was offered

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

4

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

4

FUNCTIONALITY

4

Reviewed October 2023

Solves problems

MasterControl solves a lot of problems for us but it’s difficult to sell to our employees

PROS

QMS required training verification and retention

CONS

The difficulty in transitioning to new upgrades.

Reason for choosing MasterControl Quality Excellence

Purchased through our sister company at first

Katelind

Biotechnology, 501-1,000 employees

Used daily for more than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra
This review was submitted organically. No incentive was offered

OVERALL RATING:

4

EASE OF USE

3

VALUE FOR MONEY

4

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

3

Reviewed August 2021

Good System

PROS

- Easy to configure and modify when necessary - Very responsive customer service

CONS

- Process module is not very customizable (When customized, lose MC support if "breaks" during update) - Jump start package created a mess for our documents module

Reason for choosing MasterControl Quality Excellence

Qualityze was newer to the industry at time of selection, MasterControl has years more of experience.

User Profile

Rachael

Verified reviewer

Pharmaceuticals, 1,001-5,000 employees

Used daily for more than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra
This review was submitted organically. No incentive was offered

OVERALL RATING:

4

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

3

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

4

Reviewed May 2020

MasterControl - Where Quality Changes Everything

PROS

We have been using the Audit, Process, Documents and Training modules and find the interconnection between the modules to be the most useful functionality that we did not see with our other systems. MasterControl is easy to use and in most cases is intuitive in terms of the workflows and visibility to end users. The MasterControl Support team have been one of the best I've worked with and they will work quickly and effectively to ensure any issues are resolved and applicable feedback given.

CONS

Analytics / Reporting has been one of our main pain points and although there are many reports across the system and modules which show individual elements etc, there are not many reports which contain a full data set of information needed especially in terms of Training or Process reports. We also have some wishes for future enhancements to the software and this is where the MasterControl User Voice forum comes in most handy where users can submit ideas for enhancements as well as vote on other use voices.

Jonathan

Hospital & Health Care, 51-200 employees

Used daily for more than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra
This review was submitted organically. No incentive was offered

OVERALL RATING:

4

EASE OF USE

3

VALUE FOR MONEY

4

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

4

Reviewed September 2023

MasterControl User Feedback

Overall experience is good! Their customer service is definitely top-notch.

PROS

It's definitely a great quality compliance QMS that helps to control the quality. Everything has a record and cannot be simply removed or revised without a reason or explanation which makes it easy for auditing purposes.

CONS

Ease of use. I think this is the downfall of MasterControl Quality Excellence. The system itself is not intuitive and sleek. It's definitely a system designed based or how an engineer thinks but not so much of a normal everyday user will be using. User Experience (UX) is extremely important as more people are using digital applications and platforms.

Elias

Medical Devices, 201-500 employees

Used daily for less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra
This review was submitted organically. No incentive was offered

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

4

VALUE FOR MONEY

4

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

4

FUNCTIONALITY

5

Reviewed October 2023

Paper to MasterControl user

Excellent, we are going into Mx in 2024

PROS

Ease to use and customize, being able to track progress and audit trail

CONS

It took a bit of time to create the base line for migrating all doc from previous platform

Reason for choosing MasterControl Quality Excellence

Capability to keep growing

Matthew

Hospital & Health Care, 51-200 employees

Used daily for more than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra
This review was submitted organically. No incentive was offered

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

5

Reviewed October 2023

MasterControl Quality Excellence

Overall, my experience with MasterControl has been very positive. From the product to the overwhelming customer support, if we don't have what we need it is probably because we don't understand or know about all the capabilities or haven't implemented a module yet.

PROS

We currently use docs and training and having all of that automated has been super helpful. Tracking metrics around training and docs has been much easier with data that can be downloaded at any time. Time spent chasing down training has been significantly reduced and has made the quality team more effective overall.

CONS

With the modules we currently use, I wish classes worked a little better. They are a bit difficult to set up and don't seem to integrate well with employee calendars, so extra invites are sent outside of MasterControl.

Reason for choosing MasterControl Quality Excellence

We chose MasterControl due to the ease of use of the product and the support we knew we would receive during implementation and everyday use.

Donna

Hospital & Health Care, 11-50 employees

Used daily for more than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

4

FUNCTIONALITY

5

Reviewed September 2023

Master Control Quality Excellence is a compliance gem

My overall experience has been great and the support team always has a live person to speak to for any questions or problems you run across.

PROS

I've been working with Master Control for over 20 years as a end user. I've seen the product and services grow over the past 2 decades. It is a robust software that allows me to centrally control all Quality Management System activities. When faced with a regulatory body audit, we are able to quickly retrieve documentation and satisfy the requests. I have been complimented on how easy the system is adaptable to our companies needs as we grow.

CONS

The only con would be Master Control has recently been modulating costs, so my advice is to be sure you are asking for explanation of what is and what is not covered when requesting a service.

Reason for choosing MasterControl Quality Excellence

prior experience with the Company

Lindsey

Biotechnology, 501-1,000 employees

Used daily for less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra
This review was submitted organically. No incentive was offered

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

4

VALUE FOR MONEY

4

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

4

FUNCTIONALITY

4

Reviewed October 2023

MC Review

I am the sysadmin and have learned a lot about the system. I think it is a powerful tool once you know how to use it.

PROS

It routes our documents along a workflow and it allows us to manage training in one platform

CONS

If a user hasn’t had a lot of experience with the system, they easily get lost.

Reason for choosing MasterControl Quality Excellence

It’s features and the price

Reasons for switching to MasterControl Quality Excellence

We could not manage training in our old DMS

Gen

Pharmaceuticals, 201-500 employees

Used daily for more than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra
This review was submitted organically. No incentive was offered

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

4

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

3

Reviewed January 2020

MasterControl Multisystem User

PROS

The customer service for any and all software issues simply cannot be beat. Employees are generally timely and knowledgeable in their responses. Although in the past, the fixes that the company has had to issues were sometimes just work-arounds, recently any representative I've worked with has been extremely thorough in resolving issues. System has undergone several huge improvements where I am much happier using the system as an administrator. System has decent logic to resolve issues for end users.

CONS

When the system gets upgraded, it always brings out a ton of unexpected issues. We know that we will have to dedicate a couple of days just to watching for problems. Casual end users have a hard time understanding the system often, and there isn't a ton of training content available from the company for basic users to help ease the transition.

William

Medical Devices, 1,001-5,000 employees

Used daily for more than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra
This review was submitted organically. No incentive was offered

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

4

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

4

Reviewed October 2023

MasterControl Qx is a great tool for compliance in documents management

PROS

Integration into other hubs in MasterControl

CONS

Some of the confirmations can have better data sharing and reporting.

Reason for choosing MasterControl Quality Excellence

Integration

Donna

Biotechnology, 51-200 employees

Used daily for more than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra
This review was submitted organically. No incentive was offered

OVERALL RATING: