About Portant Data Merge

Portant Data Merge is a tool to give operators an efficiency edge through document automation. By removing manual data entry, Portant Data Merge ensures accurate documents and is built into Google Workspace, allowing the functionality of commonly known tools such as Google Docs, Sheets, Slides, and Forms. Portant is a document merge and workflow add-on available in the Google Workspace Marketplace.

Ideal for sales teams, HR, operations,lLegal teams, education and teachers, and more, Portant Data Merge has features covering many needs. From a document generator, custom email messages with Mail Merge, document sharing and email notifications from email with Gmail, creating multiple documents, and creating approval workflows, Portant Data Merge automates all featu...


Read More

Supported Operating System(s):

14 Reviews of Portant Data Merge

Average User Ratings

Overall

4.93 / 5 stars

Ease-of-use

5.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

5.0

Ratings Snapshot

5 stars

(13)

13

4 stars

(1)

1

3 stars

(0)

0

2 stars

(0)

0

1 stars

(0)

0

Likelihood to Recommend

Not likely

Very likely

Showing 1 - 5 of 14 results

November 2021

Greg from Gideons

Company Size: 51-200 employees

Industry: Non-Profit Organization Management

Time Used: Less than 6 months

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

4.0

November 2021

A versatile tool with a responsive development team.

Pros

I do a lot of mail merging for a non-profit that has over 100 units in Ohio alone. Many of the people that I work with do not have Word, Excel and Outlook, so it becomes problematic sharing templates and teaching them how to generate all of those 20+ some documents that are generated by mail merge. I found a nice addon that can merge from Sheets to Docs, but could not do text boxes so I looked for a way to merge to Slides. I did a search and found a way to write a script, but really didn't want to get into that. Looking in the Market, I found Portant, along with some others. So far, it has worked beautifully. I can merge to text boxes and even rotated or animated text boxes. By resizing the slides, I can generate templates for #10 and #9 envelopes, postcards, and letters. Portant can then export those documents and envelopes as either individual .pdf's or as one large .pdf containing all of the merged documents. Because Portant works on the Google platform, everyone in my organization can have access to the templates since we all use a similarly formatted spreadsheet. In addition, I can easily collaborate in real time, unlike in Word, which can collaborate, but can not do mail merge in the online version.

Cons

This company is less than a year old. They have a great tool, and have been extremely responsive to suggestions for improvements. Right now most of the limitations are related to the Google API limitations, so there are workarounds that can be used.

Reasons for Switching to Portant Data Merge

Each persons needs are unique, so it is possible that another product might be more suitable for others. For me, the ability to merge into a rotated text box is what first drew me to the product. Later I discovered capabilities and uses that even the developers had not considered, such as creating a personalized animated .gif to embed in an email.

Response from Portant

Replied November 2021

Hi Greg, Thank you so much for the review! I'm glad we saved yo the time of writing a bespoke script! Looking forward to seeing the other things you build with Portant. Cheers, James | Co-founder

November 2021

Alec from CHE Proximity

Company Size: 201-500 employees

Industry: Marketing and Advertising

Time Used: Less than 6 months

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

5.0

November 2021

The most valuable tool I never knew I needed

Being a marketing professional, my role is part craft, part keeping clients happy. Most of the latter is achieved through high levels of communication, and that requires constant updates across many projects. Portant allows me to takes tonnes of raw data - contacts, PowerPoint files, contracts, invoices etc - and turn them into something useful via their workflows. It's basically automation without the setup labor cost. It was so easy to get started and even understand the advanced features - plus they're highly responsive with their customer service. Couldn't recommend more highly.

Pros

Until I discovered Portant, so many of my MailMerge (and related) functions are work were done either by hand, or by cumbersome combinations of automation technology. This obviously had a high cost associated with it, and my employees found the work menial. Portant took all that and made it streamlined through a single platform. Now we output thousands of documents at a fraction of the time/cost, and my team are much happier that they can spend that time on strategic tasks. The fact that I can onboard any new user in a matter of seconds is a fantastic bonus.

Cons

I know the platform is in its incipient stages, so it would be great to see what's possible with the evolved version. I'd love a native app for my iPad, for instance.

Reasons for Choosing Portant Data Merge

Streak simply had less features.

November 2021

Russell from Russell Lee Consulting

Company Size: 1 employee

Industry: Insurance

Time Used: Less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

5.0

November 2021

Using Portant for custom workplace safety solutions.

Great product and creative people. Fun to work with.

Pros

The key to building effective workplace safety process solutions for small businesses is a digitalization software that integrates with Google Forms and Sheets, supports a digitized paper trail, leverages conditional logic for email triggers that drive processes, and includes a user-friendly, accessible UI that encourages client involvement and creativity. Portant ticks all those boxes.

Cons

There is no perfect software, and at times I have had to use custom script, rather than Portant, to solve functionality issues.

Reasons for Choosing Portant Data Merge

Functionality, price, and most importantly, responsive Portant developement team.

Response from Portant

Replied November 2021

Hi Russell, Thank you so much for the review. I'm really glad we can help providing solutions for Workplace Safety! Great working with you! Cheers, James | Co-founder

November 2021

Maicon from CBMMS

Company Size: 201-500 employees

Industry: Government Administration

Time Used: Less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

5.0

November 2021

A sensational tool

my experience was sensational, automated documents and procedures, helps a lot in redundant tasks

Pros

This software helps a lot in redundant tasks

Cons

Some features missing but the developers implements in record time

Reasons for Choosing Portant Data Merge

Because is simple, fast and meets the needs

Response from Portant

Replied November 2021

Hi Maicon, Thank you for writing this review. You're very kind. You have been using Portant since the beginning, thank you for your comments and guidance in those early days! You have helped form Portant into what it is today. Cheers, James

November 2021

Siti from UNIVERSITI TEKNOLOGI MARA, UiTM

Company Size: 1,001-5,000 employees

Industry: Education Management

Time Used: Less than 6 months

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

4.0

November 2021

My personal experience using the software

This software definitely helped with my certificate problem. Before I encounter with this software, providing people with certificate have been the hardest job because I have to type manually the email address and too much error occur. Thus is software really minimize the errors.

Pros

I am currently trying to use this software to distribute certificates after each events that my university held and this software came out to be the easiest for me to handle. The instructions can be easily followed and if there were problems regarding the instructions, you can always ask directly and they will patiently help you. so I am so excited to further explore this software later on.

Cons

Sometimes, the certificate did not get delivered to certain people. That, I am not so sure what might be the problem. Probably due to an incorrect email or else. However, when this problem occur, I cannot detect who did not receive the certificate unless the participant itself came up to me. and thus I will personally email them their certificate.

Response from Portant

Replied November 2021

Hi Siti, Thank you so much for your review. Your problem is exactly what we designed Portant to solve, so I'm glad it's working well. We will investigate what is going on with the emails and see if we can make any improvements on our end. I'll message you if we find anything. Cheers, James | Co-founder