Aimeos Software Reviews

Aimeos Software Reviews

Find out more:

Find out more:

Review Highlights

Overall Rating

4.78

Ratings Breakdown

Secondary Ratings

Ease-of-use

4

Customer Support

5

Value for money

5

Functionality

5


Have you used Aimeos and would like to share your experience with others?

Write a review

All Aimeos Reviews

1-18 of 18 Reviews

Sort by

Reviews are by default sorted by Recommended to software buyers, driven by our proprietary algorithm reflecting the depth and quality of the review, recency of experience, and other factors. As a neutral reviews platform, the star rating of the review is not considered in the "Recommended" ranking, and there is currently no voting mechanism that would allow site visitors to influence the ranking.
User Profile

Dominik

Verified reviewer

Company size: 11-50 employees

Industry: Information Technology and Services

Time used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra

This review was submitted organically. No incentive was offered

EASE OF USE

4

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

4

April 2020

Modernes Shop-System mit hoher Integrationsfähigkeit

Pros

Die Möglichkeit das Produkt in ein Content-Management-System zu integrieren, in unserem Fall in TYPO3. Womit Content und Produkte wirklich sinnvoll kombinierbar werden. Viele "alte" Produkte bieten zwar Optionen Content im Shop-Backend zu pflegen, aber den Funktionsumfang eines CMS erreicht keines von Ihnen.

Cons

Das Backend ist noch recht nüchtern und manches mal komplizierter als es sein müsste. Dies ist aber ein

Reasons for switching to Aimeos

- Verbindung von Content und Produkten - Flexible Schnittstellen zur Anbindung von Dritt-Systemen - OpenSource + gute Entwickler Basis in der Community

Anonymous

Company size: 2-10 employees

Time used: Less than 6 months

Review Source: Capterra

This review was submitted organically. No incentive was offered

EASE OF USE

3

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

3

February 2019

Aimeos review

Pros

Developer-oriented

Cons

poor documentation for Typo3 Fortunately, there is an excellent support

Response from Aimeos

There's a lot of documentation especially for the Aimeos TYPO3 integration available and we got no feedback what we could improve :-/ https://aimeos.org/docs/TYPO3

Replied February 2019

Gabriel

Company size: 11-50 employees

Industry: Retail

Time used: Less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra

This review was submitted organically. No incentive was offered

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

5

September 2022

Very Professional Platform

Pros

after changing from many platform, finally the Aimeos was the one which i looking for.

Cons

it was the theme part, but recently they improve it so now its fantastic

Ranko

Company size: 11-50 employees

Industry: Automotive

Time used: Less than 6 months

Review Source: Capterra

This review was submitted organically. No incentive was offered

EASE OF USE

4

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

5

April 2021

I wish I could give 6 stars for customer support

Our old Magento developers could not deliver a working solution in 3 months. Importing 10 million products with their system took days. With two weeks left to our launch date we decided to scrap the old project and start from scratch with Aimeos. Best decision ever. In two weeks we were able to launch our new ordering platform. Currently we import the 10 million products in around 30 minutes. None of it would have been possible without extensive help from Aimeos. Greetings to [SENSITIVE CONTENT HIDDEN]! He's a real professional.

Pros

With the #gigacommerce extension Aimeos can easily work with over billion products. That is 1 with 9 zeroes. I don't know of any other software that can do it out of the box. We currently have around 10 000 000 products in our database and Aimeos does not even break a sweat. In addition to that, the software package is extremeley customizable and extensible. Our requirements are in some aspects quite different from a regular e-commerce site but we have been able to get all the needed functionality up and running in no time.

Cons

The user base is obviously smaller than that of Woocommerce's or Magento's. So you get less results when googling how to do something in Aimeos. But there is a comprihensive documentation available and user support is the best I have ever encountered.

User Profile

Alessandro

Verified reviewer

Company size: 2-10 employees

Industry: Food & Beverages

Time used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra

This review was submitted organically. No incentive was offered

EASE OF USE

4

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

5

December 2018

A robust solution for e-commerce

Pros

Aimeos is a huge system to build e-commerce solutions: from simple shops to complex marketplaces, it has a host of features to accommodate every need. Multi-language, multi-currency, multi-site projects with hundreds of thousands of products are possible, plus it is compatible with multiple PHP frameworks like Laravel, Symfony etc. It's very fast, is costantly updated and support is good.

Cons

Depending on the type of project and on the amount of customizations to do, the learning curve can be steep, but I guess this is normal for such big software packages. Documentation is extensive but not always helpful. Fortunately the dedicated online help forum is a good resource to receive tips from the package creators.

Joel

Company size: 11-50 employees

Industry: Internet

Time used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra

This review was submitted organically. No incentive was offered

EASE OF USE

4

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

5

June 2019

Great Professional shop package

Aimeos is our default go to shop system.

Pros

- Open source. Can be used for very small shops because no license is needed - Good software architecture build with extensibility in mind - Supports multiple frameworks. Learn it once and use on a variety of projects - Scales to very large shop systems (https://aimeos.com/de/gigacommerce/) - Free support forum - Professional support option directly from the developer available - Regular updates, new features (https://aimeos.org/business/roadmap/)

Cons

Reserve some time to fully understand the framework and its architecture before you start to extend it’s functionality - it’s worth it.

Max

Verified reviewer

Company size: 11-50 employees

Industry: Internet

Time used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra

This review was submitted organically. No incentive was offered

EASE OF USE

3

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

4

April 2019

Flexible E-Commerce solution

Pros

- Useable for laravel and TYPO3 - very easy to integrate into the respective system. - Very flexible data model - highly customisable - Complex b2b/b2c projects possible - clean code/architecture - No real alternative system on the market which is capable to realize content heavy ecommerce (typo3+aimeos)

Cons

- not that easy to use for frontend developers - young system with some bugs - but everything gets solved fast

Aleksandar

Company size: 2-10 employees

Industry: Information Technology and Services

Time used: Less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra

This review was submitted organically. No incentive was offered

EASE OF USE

4

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

5

December 2018

Flexible E-Commerce Solution

Aimeos allowed us to quickly adapt to a client's very custom needs without much fuss. We wrote our own frontend, and were able to turn it into a headless E-Commerce solution. The integration with a CMS (Typo3) was good, and one of the main selling points of our product.

Pros

Very customizable, good performance, sane and very flexible database layout. Neat backend interface.

Cons

The templates are messy. The API around creating and updating records for products and their attributes is somewhat unwieldy, but that was apparently addressed in a newer version. Having mandatory attributes and attribute sets would be nice, but I hear it's in the works.

Rubén

Company size: 11-50 employees

Industry: Information Technology and Services

Time used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra

This review was submitted organically. No incentive was offered

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

5

October 2019

Probably the most scalable Ecommerce framework

It was and is a very positive experience and our customers love it, specially because we managed to connect Aimeos with Vue Storefront, creating this way a PWA ready Ecommerce, prepared for the future.

Pros

Very robust and scalable framework with loading times below every Ecommerce system we have seen in the market. Super fast!

Cons

The backoffice design is functional, although it could be more attractive and user friendly.

Reasons for choosing Aimeos

Customizability

Reasons for switching to Aimeos

Licence fees of Magento + Oportunities with Aimeos

User Profile

Andreas

Verified reviewer

Company size: 2-10 employees

Industry: Computer Software

Time used: Less than 12 months

Review Source: Capterra

This review was submitted organically. No incentive was offered

EASE OF USE

4

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

5

January 2019

A top e-commerce framework

We created a shop using aimeos with TYPO3, some products only but currently growing.

Pros

Aimeos is a large and nevertheless very fast e-commerce system. It is suitable for small to giant shops and contains all kinds of sales possibilities ("normal" articles, download articles, variant articles ...) The possibilities to create and combine languages, countries, regions, payment and shipping methods are highly configurable, so that there is no application that cannot be covered. The connection to several PHP frameworks is also good (TYPO3 is fine for me ;-)). The support is very good and fast!

Cons

The documentation is large, but partly still a bit complex. But you can get help in the forum easily.

Jonathan

Company size: 11-50 employees

Industry: Internet

Time used: Less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra

This review was submitted organically. No incentive was offered

EASE OF USE

3

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

5

May 2020

Flexible and well integrated Shopsystem (used with TYPO3)

Having a setup up-and-running quickly sets the tone for working with aimeos. It is possible to dive right into things. After the initial hick-ups that happens with most unfamiliar software are a thing of the past after a couple month work with the framework. Support from the lead developers in Slack is quick and helps a lot (even reading through previous problems and solutions).

Pros

This is our second review after some time with the software. The main advantage remains: Aimeos integrates very easy and very well with TYPO3. The provided Extension for TYPO3 and example Page-Tree with pre-configured Plugins and Demo-Data helps a lot.

Cons

Our view has changed a bit since the last review. The class structure and documentation still need a bit of getting-used-to as developer. We find a lot of Libraries use similar approaches and conventions (TYPO3, Symfony) which Aimeos does differently. Mainly the use of very generic class names makes it difficult to navigate the code with tools like PHPStorm. Since our last review our internal process has changed to fit the needs of Aimeos. We set our expectations accordingly and plan a possible longer turn-around time for developers when switching projects.

Kurt

Company size: 1 employee

Industry: Internet

Time used: Less than 6 months

Review Source: Capterra

This review was submitted organically. No incentive was offered

EASE OF USE

4

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

5

October 2019

Not easy to start with

We replaced a small Magento 1 multi-language shop with Aimeos. After a short introduction and help of the Aimeos support, the new shop was running. Also the additon of some common changes was possible - sometimes with help of the Aimeos support (thanks to Norbert).

Pros

I like the feature scope of the software. The support is very good, too.

Cons

The documentation could be better to understand, and there should be some examples.

Reasons for switching to Aimeos

First, because Magento 1 was running out, and something has to be done. Second, because we already had TYPO3, and there is an extension which integrates Aimeos into TYPO3. Third, because Magento nowadays is too big and very uncomfortable for me to maintain.

Ralf

Company size: 1,001-5,000 employees

Industry: Government Administration

Time used: Less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra

This review was submitted organically. No incentive was offered

EASE OF USE

4

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

5

August 2021

Fast, customizable e-commerce framework for Symfony based applications

The aimeos e-commerce framework is a stable, complete out of the box web shop component for Symfony based PHP applications. Due to its architecture, it can be adapted and expanded as required. With the market place extension we have built a fully functional marketplace.

Pros

The open source code contains all the features of a web shop . The range of functions is very large. The code is well structured. The architecture is modular. The shop can be adapted and expanded as required. Great support with fast response times. The backend user interface can be operated intuitively. Editors don't need any programming knowledge to manage products and orders.

Cons

If the aimeos framework needs to be extend, the architecture should be understood.

Ralf

Company size: 11-50 employees

Industry: Information Technology and Services

Time used: Less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra

This review was submitted organically. No incentive was offered

EASE OF USE

4

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

5

December 2018

A very good shop framework / system with a great feature set

It works very good, never had big problems and the performance feels really, really good.

Pros

It is written to fit in multiple existing frameworks. Such as for us, it was easy to get a working setup by integrating Aimeos into TYPO3. It was even possible to use an existing product domain model in combination with Aimeos which mainly added the basket and checkout process, and also does some more shop specific things. Contact to a usergroup or directly to Aimeos works very good and they have very fast response times. Help is appreciated, and as we could offer some small bugifxes on Github, too, there was a very fast response time on the "how to contribute" issues.

Cons

Well, while being familar with TYPO3, the MVC pattern and the Extbase framework, it was a bit hard to find the ways to extend Aimeos. But as documentation is becoming more and more completed, this is not a rel "Con" but more a task for us to update our skills.

Robert

Company size: 1 employee

Industry: Information Technology and Services

Time used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra

This review was submitted organically. No incentive was offered

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

5

February 2019

Great ecommerce solution with broad feature set

Pros

First and foremost the extensibility and integration in other frameworks and software packages. From a TYPO3 point of view it´s in my opinion todays best possible ecommerce solution to accompany the CMS. The manufacturer offers quality and fast support. In my cases this were development related questions when integrating functionality extending Aimeos already broad feature set.

Cons

I haven´t encountered any real problems until today.

Moritz

Company size: 11-50 employees

Industry: Program Development

Time used: Less than 6 months

Review Source: Capterra

This review was submitted organically. No incentive was offered

EASE OF USE

4

VALUE FOR MONEY