User Reviews Overview

Feature Ratings

Ease-of-use

4.0 / 5

Value for Money

4.5 / 5

Customer Support

4.5 / 5

Functionality

4.5 / 5

Ratings Breakdown

5 stars

(15)

15

4 stars

(4)

4

3 stars

(0)

0

2 stars

(1)

1

1 stars

(1)

1

  • Pros

  • "The simple easy to use platform makes updating and editing our site a breeze."

  • "Allows for customization, order specific actions are easy to use "

  • "Ease of use, flexibility, and more robust than you can imagine. But their secret sauce is how willing and capable their whole organization is from accounting to sales, support and engineering."

  • Cons

  • "Custom modifications are very pricey but rarely, if ever needed."

  • "Lots of moving parts to set up an item. Too many screens to go through. But once you do it a couple times it's easy. "

  • "backend is a little clunky, some of the verbiage is quite confusing, there are multiple ways to customize product/settings which can get a little confusing "

Browse AmeriCommerce Reviews

Filter by:

Sort by:
 

Showing -49 - -29 of 21 results

January 2019

Cydnie from MaryJanesfarm

Verified Reviewer

Company Size: 11-50 employees

Industry: Farming

Time Used: Less than 12 months

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

4.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

5.0

January 2019

Software for All Users

I'm very pleased with the service AmeriCommerce has provided. I really like that their site is approachable by people of all tech skill levels. Their customer support is outstanding as well.

Pros

AmeriCommerce caters to a wide variety of users. If you have no coding background at all using one of their many templates might be for you. However if you are savvy with code and want to add customized features, you have a great deal of access to do so.

Cons

There is a steep learning curve when you originally begin using AmeriCommerce and it's not always intuitive but their support is often helpful when you need to find something. One feature I wish could be added to the site is for there to be an option for adding items to your cart and instead of being redirected somewhere, you simply receive a notification saying the item was added.

Response from AmeriCommerce

Replied January 2019

Cydnie, Thanks for the review! We wanted to mention that the feature you are requesting already exists! If you navigate to Themes > Global Theme Settings > Shopping Cart you will see a navigation setting with multiple options on where to redirect the user after adding an item to cart. As always, our support team is standing by to help if you need any assistance. Happy Selling!

April 2020

Colin from Last Best Supply Co

Verified Reviewer

Company Size: 2-10 employees

Industry: Apparel & Fashion

Time Used: Less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

4.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

5.0

April 2020

Incredible piece of software and great company

Overall extremely positive. Ive certainly had a couple of frustrating moments, because there is definitely a learning curve, and there are a couple features I really wish it had. However that is to be expected with any platform. It seems every day I uncover a new method or technique to get what I want out of the platform, and that keeps me intrigued and excited to keep using it.

Pros

The features!! Americommerce is hands down the most native feature packed B2B ecommerce platform out there that I'm aware of. I can't tell you how difficult it is to find a solution out there that *out of the box* comes with the capabilities to build and manage a multi-store / multi-customer type (B2B, B2C, C2C) ecommerce operation without having to frankenstein together a bunch of 3rd party apps that may or may not work well together and/or slow down the system. If we're talking about my most favorite feature, that would be the rule engines for advanced pricing, orders, customers, analytics, etc. The amount of control over tiny details in the customer experience that comes with the rule engine is so vast I have not yet discovered the full spectrum of possibilities after a full year of use. Additionally, the API works extremely well for everything i've used it for, and like everything else on the americommerce platform, runs FAST.

Cons

The documentation... I generally consider myself to be pretty good at navigating documentation and finding the right solutions quickly, but I frequently run into issues with out of date docs and missing or difficult to locate information, and often find that I miss information that WAS in the documentation only after I talk to support which ends up wasting both our time. HOWEVER! this negative is balanced and even overshadowed by the extremely positive interactions i've had with the support team, who are quick to respond and very friendly and knowledgeable. Also, the documentation thing is understandable when you're dealing with such a feature rich platform. As a front end developer, i'm constantly amazed at how much work must have gone into the development of Americommerce to make such a complex piece of software run so quickly and smoothly and I know documenting multifaceted fast evolving platforms can be a nightmare, so ultimately Im understanding to this issue, plus Im aware that they are currently developing a new format for documentation anyways, so i'm excited to see improvement.

Reasons for Choosing AmeriCommerce

Other platforms seem to just serve up a NORMAL experience tailored to your AVERAGE business. but as anyone who joins the e-commerce realm quickly discovers, everyone's needs are very unique down to the tiniest of details and the way Americommerce is built makes it possible for complex and unique business models to thrive right out of the box without having to endlessly stack expensive plugins and integrations on top of it. Americommerce hands down provides the most control over my catalog and user experience (without having to do a bunch of custom development) of any other software I checked out. Thereby saving my dev's skills to be used on more of the *Extra bonus customizations* rather than fundamental functionality.

October 2018

Chad from MOZAY

Verified Reviewer

Company Size: 11-50 employees

Industry: Internet

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

1.0

Value for money

1.0

Customer support

3.0

Functionality

3.0

October 2018

An outdated and unintuitive mess of software that falls short in every regard

CONS continued: Not safe, not smart, not secure, but that's the only way a blog editor can use their blog on Americommerce. Reports are a joke. No customization, primitive filtering, no DOWNLOADING, and the designs are horrendous. File management is a glorified FTP interface. That means search is slow and there's no mass-editing tool. It's missing simple stuff like "copy file URL" and "delete folder". Last thing I'll say: in a world run by search engines, Americommerce charges you for bandwidth. Every bot that crawls your site is costing you money. BOTTOM LINE: STAY AWAY FROM AMERICOMMERCE. There is SO much better in literally any platform. I had to delete about half of my cons because it wouldn't even FIT in the review.

Pros

There are a few good things about Americommerce. Their customer support staff is friendly. The custom rule engine is power, albeit hard to use. The API integrations allow for some deeper integrations with old custom and oracle-based software. Their recent integration with Cloudflare allows for automatic SSL renewal, and there's a photo cropper tool in case you need it. The CON list didn't have enough room, so here are my CONs: Americommerce doesn't adhere to basic CSS3 standards and can't handle responsive design or modern styling techniques. Responsive design has to be included in a separate file in the head tags, and can't be integrated into a single page. You have to put all your media queries into the head tags, so they load on every single page of your site. All the themes I've used (even the Americommerce-made Base theme) look like trash compared to modern web competitors like SquareSpace, WordPress, Wix, etc. The themes are poorly coded and don't follow good design principles. "Magic numbers" are everywhere, and that's bad code. Bottom line: getting your site to look good on Americommerce is a painful and arduous process. The page content editor's WYSIWYG preview is wildly off - making it completely useless. Good luck previewing any changes before pushing live updates to the page. The ubiquitous "pane" system is slow and wastes screen real estate...

Cons

CONS continued: Editing a content pages uses a 1/3 pane that's not resizeable. Editing products, content pages, categories, discounts, users - literally everything - wastes 2/3 of your screen real estate. Editing products is slow and painful, and the mass editor just allows you to edit product basics one at a time a tiny bit faster. You can't drag-and-drop photos to rearrange. The theme editor is comprehensive but unintuitive and fragile. Keep local copies of each page you edit, because Americommerce WILL lose your changes. No version history and no backups. One "error" in your CSS will discard all updates. I say "error" because the CSS linter is WAY too strict. For example, having a -webkit prefix alongside a fallback (a standard in forward-thinking design) will return an error. Comments aren't allowed either. Whoever arrange the Settings hierarchy needs to be fired and shot. Editing users is in the security tab. Changing one setting (like a favicon) may find you traveling to 2 or 3 different sections to complete. The contact forms are limited at best and don't support placeholder text. Americommerce doesn't store entries on the site, so once it sends that admin email, the entry is gone forever. I've been burned badly by this. Adding forms to content pages is troublesome and has been solved better on other platforms. User permissions are buggy. Long story short, every single user is an admin for all of the multi-store accounts...

Response from AmeriCommerce

Replied January 2019

Chad, Thank you for providing this feedback. A lot of these concerns have actually already been addressed or are on our product roadmap for future development. For example: We just published a new feature allowing you to restore backup theme html, css, and widgets. The WYSIWYG has been updated and improved. Several new themes are on the roadmap for 2019, although not sure how much that affects front end developers. Bulk actions such as mass folder delete is currently in production and set to release in next software update. The issue where you mention that "one CSS error will discard your changes" was originally put in place as a protector users that weren't code savvy. However, we are reviewing that component and will be either upgrading it or removing it very soon (this was already planned). We value all of your feedback as a customer and it hurts to see this review. We would love to have you back and put our new features to the test. Happy Selling!

April 2018

Philip from Rvinyl

Verified Reviewer

Company Size: 11-50 employees

Industry: Automotive

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

5.0

April 2018

AmeriCommerce has been our eCommerce platform of choice for over decade. Great service. Great team.

AmeriCommerce allows us to deliver a great experience for our customers. The ability to customize this platform with reasonable development times allows us to concentrate on our own product development rather than programming. It's easy to manage large data sets, make daily site updates and fulfill orders. It's mobile friendly themes, top-notch security and fast servers make it a great option for those companies just starting out and those that need just a little extra care.

Pros

The platform is constantly improving, rolling out new features monthly at no additional cost to their customers. We have grown from a basic subscription plan to a platinum custom plan that meets and exceeds our customer demands. We attribute much of our growth to their ability to customize the platform to meet our needs. We offer products with hundreds of variations and need to serve up that information in digestible formats for our customers and with their developer's help we have grown 300% year over year for the past three years. Not a small feat for a mature site!

Cons

We really have not had too many issues with their service or platform that could not be addressed in a timely fashion. The only issue we have had in the past year was a single instance of excessive downtime, greater than 24 hours. This has only happened once in a decade of service.

January 2019

Ellen from Mags Inc

Verified Reviewer

Company Size: 2-10 employees

Industry: Publishing

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

5.0

January 2019

Nothing but praise for AmeriCommerce

A long time ago, I created a website for this company from pure html and css. The orders were processed via a simple email script that would send the order to the office to be charged and filled. For the time, it was effective and made the company a lot of money. Unfortunately the owner of the server passed without leaving the sign in information and the company was stuck. I did research and found AmeriCommerce and it is so much better as well as less wear and tear on yours truly. I don't have to focus on code any longer. Furthermore the built in ability to sell digital products has taken this company into the future of publishing through the internet.

Pros

I like the huge array of features available but most of all the support and customer service is the best. The team is responsive as well as forgiving and understanding of my own errors.

Cons

It's not about the software so much as the documentation. I cannot always find the instructions that I need to implement a feature and sometimes it is old. When I started out, it was kind of a nightmare wading through everything. Now that I have seen it all, I can usually remember on my own or sometimes ask for a hint from a customer support person. I'm not sure that an online manual, instead of just a searchable support system of articles would help sell the product but it might.

January 2019

Anonymous

Verified Reviewer

Company Size: 2-10 employees

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

5.0

January 2019

The Real Deal

Happy happy happy.

Pros

I have been with Americommerce for almost 10 years. I started out a complete novice with no idea of making my website a business as circumstances changed I needed to up the game and my website became the source of income for my family. We have been able to grow and thrive with Americommerce. We have changed our site, changed products lines and always been able to adapt within the Americommerce system. I looked at other services and found out what a phenomenal value I was getting at Americommerce. Other shopping carts have everything a la cart ie. templates, design services, shipping integration so you end up paying MUCH more. Also, Americommerce has their own templates so they can build, change and correct issues. Other services do not have that. You have to buy a template that is not supported by an in house team like Americommerce can do. Enjoying my Americommerce experience and highly recommend it.

Cons

Over the 10 years I am with Americommerce I have not had any negative issue that was significant or couldn't be easily resolved.

April 2018

Dolores from Tru Supply Company

Verified Reviewer

Industry: Construction

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

4.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

5.0

April 2018

Great value and customer control

Complete flexibility and control over the function and appearance of the website. Ability to expand our business. Great value.

Pros

After looking at other site to see if we were missing something we soon discovered what a great deal we have with Ameriommerce. Other platforms seem to offer a a lot of features but you have to buy other apps and integrations, have custom coding done or you simply can't accomplish what you can with Americommerce. There are many features and flexability to accomomdate any type of business.

Cons

I would love to see 24 / seven support. We make changes on weekends so if anything goes wrong off hours there is no one to help out.

January 2019

Ryan from Texas Beard Company

Verified Reviewer

Company Size: 2-10 employees

Industry: Retail

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

3.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

5.0

January 2019

AmeriCommerce

Pros

* Tons of features * Nearly unlimited levels of flexibility/customization * Handful truly unique/powerful features that no other carts have * Integrated Cloudflare CDN/SSL * Great rate on credit card processing * Great support

Cons

* Not that many integrations with popular 3rd party software (however this is somewhat made up for by the fact that the system is so flexible. It just requires a lot of custom coding to integrate) * Sometimes random bugs popup out of nowhere but hey, it's software, bugs happen. * Some admin screens/editors are cumbersome with nested overlays and such.

January 2019

John from g2 Catalog Design

Verified Reviewer

Company Size: 2-10 employees

Industry: Graphic Design

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

4.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

5.0

January 2019

Powerful Features

AmeriCommerce is our favorite platform for eCommerce. All of our stores use AmeriCommerce and all of our clients are, or are switching to AmeriCommerce from other providers. It is truly exceptionally capable yet mostly fairly easy to use.

Pros

Multi-store ability from one admin, powerful product configuration, great order handling, wonderful content pages and blog ability, complete SEO configuration, merge codes, server speed, customer service, and so much more.

Cons

Custom modifications are very pricey but rarely, if ever needed.

January 2019

Brian from BuyAV / ProjectorScreen.com

Verified Reviewer

Company Size: 2-10 employees

Industry: Consumer Electronics

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

5.0

January 2019

Best Value in eCommerce platforms

I've been an AmeriCommerce customer for close to 15 years working for several companies. I've run tens of millions of dollars of sales through their platform and continue to run my own business on them today. The team there is not only accessible but are truly vested in the success of my eCommerce business.

Pros

It is highly scalable and with API access virtually anything can be done.

Cons

Occasional bottlenecks in server load causing less than ideal load times.

January 2019

Rupal from Linen N' Chair Covers

Verified Reviewer

Company Size: 2-10 employees

Industry: Textiles

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

5.0

January 2019

Great Customer Service

Customer support has never failed. Each person at Americommerce is very helpful and they always have resolved our issues or concerns.

Pros

Ease of use. Software covers wide range and offers lots of flexibility to build the website.

Cons

We offer rental and purchase items. I wish it would give us the option so as customer can not mix rental and purchase items on the same order and will not allow customer to check out.

January 2019

Rob from Vcom IMC

Verified Reviewer

Company Size: 51-200 employees

Industry: Retail

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

4.0

Value for money

4.0

Customer support

4.0

Functionality

4.0

January 2019

Great Platform

Our overall experience has been good with Americommerce. The customer support has been very helpful.

Pros

The simple easy to use platform makes updating and editing our site a breeze.

Cons

We would like to see when Americommerce agents log into our site on the audit history as this would be very helpful. As of now it does not show up when we export the history.

January 2019

Sarah from NicVape

Verified Reviewer

Company Size: 11-50 employees

Industry: Wholesale

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

3.0

Value for money

3.0

Customer support

3.0

Functionality

4.0

January 2019

Love

Mostly great. Their price point is acceptable and since Capital One sold, we've seen major improvements with Customer service

Pros

Allows for customization, order specific actions are easy to use

Cons

backend is a little clunky, some of the verbiage is quite confusing, there are multiple ways to customize product/settings which can get a little confusing

January 2019

Paul from Hogtrainz.com

Verified Reviewer

Company Size: 2-10 employees

Industry: Retail

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

5.0

January 2019

Fantastic customer suppoert

The best part about Americommerce is their customer support. If am an unsure how to use some of the many feautres - I call tech support. They are friendly - patient - and always achieve what you wanted to have done with shopping cart. FIVE STARS all the way!!!

Pros

Software has a lot of functionalities built in

Cons

Nothing at all. It has all the features needed in a shopping cart

December 2019

Aaron from Thrive Web Designs

Verified Reviewer

Company Size: 11-50 employees

Industry: Internet

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

4.0

Value for money

4.0

Customer support

4.0

Functionality

4.0

December 2019

AmeriCommerce has a lot of power under the hood but can be a lot of work

We've supported 2 different sites on the AmeriCommerce platform. We migrated one to a custom PHP platform.

Pros

AmeriCommerce can handle a ton of products out of the box, with lots of options for product customization and managing customers and product options. It's all in an online platform that doesn't require programming or hosting. Great for the non-technical.

Cons

For the project that we've been working on, we needed custom programming. You can do this with their template files but you can't share assets as easily between different subsites easily and programming can be time intensive. AmeriCommece has a smart tech support team but it may take weeks for some issues.

January 2019

Nicole from Leick Furniture, Inc.

Verified Reviewer

Company Size: 2-10 employees

Industry: Furniture

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

2.0

Value for money

1.0

Customer support

1.0

Functionality

2.0

January 2019

Make sure to update your email

Garbage company with garbage customer service who do not and cannot help, they will just regurgitate the same handbook answers back to you. DO NOT USE THIS COMPANY. They will delete your information without notification.

Pros

I did like that I didn't have to visit a portal, but since I didn't visit the portal I did not know to update incorrect email addresses that are essential for receiving and paying the annual invoice. without payment they will delete all of your data no matter how long you have been a customer

Cons

They deleted ALL of our data and files due to an incorrect email address. We had stored data for nearly 7 years with this company and they NEVER picked up the phone to get a payment. They just deleted all files without notification by mail only by email to an incorrect domain. Then they said none of the files could be recovered as all had been purged two weeks after deletion, which I was one week too late for recovery. All data lost for all items we had produced.

Response from AmeriCommerce

Replied January 2019

Nicole, We understand you may be upset that your account was deleted. It's our standard policy to delete accounts for non-payment after a set period of time and is a standard practice among software everywhere. "They will delete your information without notification." is not an accurate comment as we notified the only email on file multiple times. If you stop using that email address, it falls on your responsibility to update it in your AmeriCommerce account or at minimum inform us by chat/phone/email. It is clearly mentioned in our terms of service that paying for an account is the responsibility of the customer or services may be lost. https://www.americommerce.com/tos.aspx This being said, we'd still be more than happy to work with you to re-create your online store from scratch although past data may not be possible to recover. Our support team is always ready to help customers such as yourself return to the platform and start selling again. - AmeriCommerce

January 2019

Lori from APS

Verified Reviewer

Company Size: 2-10 employees

Industry: Marketing and Advertising

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

5.0

January 2019

Easy way to do a website.

My experience has been very good and the program works for what my private site.

Pros

Someone set this up for me, however, I have made lots of product edits and added products to my selection. The cloning feature is very helpful, and when I've had to do graphic changes the tech support person was great and walked me through everything. I enjoy using the back end of the program. So easy once you do it a couple times you're a pro!

Cons

Lots of moving parts to set up an item. Too many screens to go through. But once you do it a couple times it's easy.

January 2019

Rockne from VMware

Verified Reviewer

Company Size: 11-50 employees

Industry: Computer Software

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

5.0

January 2019

Outstanding in every way

Americommerce has helped our organization have a professional website and marketplace while keeping our costs very reasonable.

Pros

Ease of use, flexibility, and more robust than you can imagine. But their secret sauce is how willing and capable their whole organization is from accounting to sales, support and engineering.

Cons

It's payments provider integrations are slightly better than okay, though I've heard there is more selection now.

January 2019

Anonymous

Verified Reviewer

Company Size: 2-10 employees

Time Used: Less than 12 months

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

4.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

5.0

January 2019

Powerful Shopping Cart

Pros

Highly customizable Control multiple stores with one admin console Competitave Pricing Stellar tech support

Cons

I think that the admin navigation could be more intuitive. Because this program is so powerful, settings and features can be difficult to locate.

February 2019

Larry from Joe lawrence enterprises

Verified Reviewer

Company Size: 11-50 employees

Industry: Consumer Goods

Time Used: Less than 6 months

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

5.0

February 2019

The best I have found

This is by far the bast program I have found. I do over $2,000,000 a year in online sales guru multiple websites and have tried everything that is out there. AmeriCommerce fills ALL of my needs.

Pros

Ease of use. Multi function. Amount of features.

Cons

Could use a scan tool for entering tracking info. Wish it would automatically print out orders.

July 2019

Diane from davdi

Verified Reviewer

Company Size: 1 employee

Industry: Consumer Goods

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

5.0

July 2019

AmeriCommerce is a Powerful eCommerce Platform for all Levels of eCommerce

Free Trial so far.

Pros

The free trial allows an user to discover the capabilities inherent in this software that includes, importantly, the ability to create and maintain multiple online stores. It is user friendly and even a novice will be able to navigate while professional sellers will delight in the various options.

Cons

I found nothing to dislike about AmeriCommerce.