All Customer.io Reviews

1-25 of 77 Reviews

Sort by

Reviews are by default sorted by Recommended to software buyers, driven by our proprietary algorithm reflecting the depth and quality of the review, recency of experience, and other factors. As a neutral reviews platform, the star rating of the review is not considered in the "Recommended" ranking, and there is currently no voting mechanism that would allow site visitors to influence the ranking.
User Profile

Joana

Verified reviewer

Computer Software, 11-50 employees

Used daily for less than 12 months

Review Source: Capterra
This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

4

VALUE FOR MONEY

4

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

5

Reviewed May 2023

Complete feature-set and excellent support

PROS

Even though at first it might have a longer learning curve (because there are several functionalities we can make use of), I think it compensates having the ability to create complex workflows for email campaigns: there are several functionalities available, and we're always able to create the flows we ideate. I particularly like the “draft” option to test campaigns I've just set up and made live and that we're able to integrate with other data platforms, that enrich our trigger and filter capabilities.Excellent customer support. Even though we're not on the Premium plan, any of the queries we submit are answered within 24 hours and have detailed explanations or workarounds for the issues presented.They also have interesting webinars from time to time, with quite specific topics and tips.

CONS

Unfortunately, we're unable to move a contact manually within a workflow; which is particularly important for exceptional cases that we might want to override the rules because of a human or sync error. Another feature I'd like to have (but also seems to be missing from most similar tools), is the ability to have custom reports – though I wouldn't need this very often, thus it's not a dealbreaker at this point.The pricing is somewhat expensive, and we're not able to temporarily downgrade the plan (if by any chance our business has a seasonality).

Reason for choosing Customer.io

Customer.io had more functionalities and/or better deliverability rate than GetResponse, Sender, Omnisend and Drip. It had also much better support than Sendgrid. It was less expensive than Salesmanago, Mailchimp and ActiveCampaign, though these options seemed also very complete and with excellent support. Mailjet was close when taking the final decision, as it also served well our needs and would be cheaper; that would be most likely our plan B. Finally, Intercom was also considered, but we ended up discarding the option as there was no specific email marketing plan. The functionality is available, but ends up not having a competitive price at all.

Kar Wing

Electrical/Electronic Manufacturing, 51-200 employees

Used daily for less than 12 months

Review Source: Capterra
This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

5

Reviewed May 2023

Smooth experience

Extremely positive

PROS

The UI/UX is very smooth and clean, and customer service is spectacular. As someone who has used many ESPs, it's very important to me that I can work smoothly without interruptions. In my career, CIO stands alone in UI/UX among competitors. Our account representative is always available for help and consultations, and is always bringing value to our relationship.

CONS

It would be nice if there was an out-of-the-box solution for opt-in forms, but it integrates well with our third party app so this isn't a big deal. What they lack here is completely made up for in the quality of their platform and their integrations

Reasons for switching to Customer.io

CIO does everything we need, integrates better with our tech stack, and has a much better user experience.

User Profile

Shilpa

Verified reviewer

Internet, 10,000+ employees

Used daily for less than 6 months

Review Source: Capterra
This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

OVERALL RATING:

3

EASE OF USE

2

VALUE FOR MONEY

1

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

1

FUNCTIONALITY

1

Reviewed September 2019

Email automation tool

I don’t find this product very easy to use but it’s one of the best so far I’ve used in the email automation space.

PROS

I liked that I could run my drip campaigns on this tool. The complexity of the drips could be managed.

CONS

It requires a dedicated developer which might not always be possible. There should be a few automated codes.

Anonymous

51-200 employees

Used daily for less than 12 months

Review Source: Capterra
This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

4

Reviewed August 2019

A very useful tool for non-developer, tech-savvy marketers

I've tried many marketing automation tools and this hits the spot in terms of what a tech-savvy non-developer can do. There's a fine line between an eye-candy platform that scores low on customization and a fully fledged tool that requires constant support from a developer. Customer.io walks that line gracefully, allowing me to control onboarding and loyalty processes and much more.

PROS

I like that I have yet to hit its limitations. Usually if a feature isn't readily available, the platform is open enough for me to find a workaround that gets the job done. Kudos for customer support, a real win! :)

CONS

It could use more or better filtering and search options, as the segments, campaigns and attributes can turn into chaos if multiple people use it for different purposes. The learning curve was a bit steep. Except for the quite useful knowledge base and great customer support, I would have enjoyed some video tutorials/onboarding experience.

Reasons for switching to Customer.io

Not enough customization available, more focused on the design than the workflow.

Anonymous

11-50 employees

Used daily for less than 12 months

Review Source: Capterra
This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

5

Reviewed June 2022

Awesome marketing platform!

It's great and does everything we need it to!

PROS

The automations are the best part of the software. We can easily create any type of campaign and manipulate it for our needs.

CONS

It would be cool if we could just duplicate a workspace entirely with all the segments and campaigns instead of recreating everything. Another thing that would be cool is being able to do a dynamic wait. Or have a queue type of system built-in for webhooks.

Reason for choosing Customer.io

It auto-populated the customer attributes when we linked up Segment. It also had better logic control.

Jeremy

Information Technology and Services, 51-200 employees

Used weekly for less than 12 months

Review Source: Capterra
This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

4

Reviewed January 2023

The marketing campaign tool for any startup, scaleup or e-commerce that want a reliable tool to work

PROS

The UI/UX is really great and intuitive. It comes with a lot of features and different channels. It can be used by many different types of people, from not knowing how to code at all, to more advanced users. Enabling complex possibilities.

CONS

Setting up our dedicated preference center required quite some time and resources. Plus it did break native campaign tracking as well as the native unsubscribe button. But they are coming with a new feature on this side really soon.The second pain is focused on data analysis. There is quite some interesting data point, but it can quickly get tough when you try to extract specific behavior or data point. They know about it and are working also on this big part of the product.

Reason for choosing Customer.io

The core product strength, the great UX, a comprehensive and competitive pricing

Anonymous

11-50 employees

Used weekly for less than 12 months

Review Source: Capterra
This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

4

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

5

Reviewed June 2022

Great product

PROS

Customer.io is very catered towards SAAS products like ours. Very easy to integrate our data sources like Segment, and simple to get attributes and events. Perfect for running onboarding campaign or lead nurturing campaign. It's the most simple to use product compared to everything else I've tried. Dashboard is also very fast despite a lot of data. Not clunky at all. This lets me create and send campaigns in a much shorter time.

CONS

Quite a bit of jargons in the dashboard, which can be a little confusing. It'll be great if there's more explanation on certain features. Easy to overlook some of their outstanding features because they are hidden.

Reasons for switching to Customer.io

Customer.io is much easier to use, and interface was much faster. ActiveCampaign was very slow and clunky in comparison.

Anonymous

51-200 employees

Used weekly for less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra
This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

5

Reviewed December 2022

A Great Marketing Automation Platform with an amazing support team

We are mainly using C.io for lead nurturing purposes. We are quite confident with the fact they will improve their product with better reporting features.

PROS

I've tried many marketing automation tools and Customer.io is clearly making a difference in terms of UX, documentation, and customer support!

CONS

It can be quite complex sometimes according to your needs but thanks to their great UX, documentation, and support team, you'll find solutions. There are some missing features (eg. cohort analysis) but hopefully, they are working on it.

Reasons for switching to Customer.io

We needed a tool with true Marketing Automation Platform features.

Joanne

Telecommunications, 51-200 employees

Used weekly for less than 6 months

Review Source: Capterra
This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

5

Reviewed January 2023

Customer.io has changed our marketing processes for the better

Its been so easy, [purchase, set up and launching I cant complain at all.

PROS

I like you can easily integrate with other platforms, with the open API makes it so very easy!

CONS

Nothing! It has just been amazing, I love this software

Reason for choosing Customer.io

Cost, had every feature we wanted, easy to use, scalable. We have over 10,000,000 contacts and the other systems couldn't handle that easily.

Reasons for switching to Customer.io

HubSpot was just cumbersome, not easy to use, could not integrate with our other email sender and was so very expensive.

User Profile

Li Rou

Verified reviewer

Information Technology and Services, 2-10 employees

Used daily for less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra
This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

OVERALL RATING:

4

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

4

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

4

Reviewed June 2023

Good for non tech savvy user

Everything is perfect

PROS

I like going to customer.io to crease sub segment of our users. The ability to filter user by attributes is very simple to use.

CONS

User filtering options can be more flexible

Reason for choosing Customer.io

More tailored to the use case of SaaS industry

Nessim

Marketing and Advertising, 2-10 employees

Used daily for more than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra
This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

4

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

FUNCTIONALITY

4

Reviewed September 2022

Great Tool for Marketing Automation

Great tool. Not made for beginners but if you are willing to spend time on masterising, I highly recommend. I have been using it in several companies for the past 5 years.

PROS

- Easy to use - Integrate with Segment - Constant updates

CONS

- Could be complicated if it's your first Marketing Automation tool but you get the hand of it quickly

Anonymous

51-200 employees

Used daily for less than 2 years

Review Source: GetApp
This review was submitted organically. No incentive was offered

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

4

VALUE FOR MONEY

4

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

4

Reviewed September 2017

Very versatile segmenting, triggers and campaign flows.

PROS

I've been using CIO for an year and a half, and from the start I liked their clean UI and how visible everything is. Customer.io lets me be very creative when it comes to engaging people with emails. Their approach based on users behavior is fantastic and can create a lot of scenarios which would be hard to do with other tools. I can create really long flows that stretch for months, have each email in there be triggered or filter out users on the fly. Did I mention the awesome A/B tests? Very helpful support team as well.

CONS

I'd like an easier way to delete user profiles instead of mailing support to delete in bulk. Also, would love to have a way to download an automated report for all the campaigns instead of doing it manually.

Bryson

Consumer Electronics, 51-200 employees

Used daily for less than 12 months

Review Source: Capterra
This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

3

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

4

Reviewed March 2018

Providing Unique Customer Interactions for Business

A highly efficient setup for automating emails to our customers. This individualized attention has vastly improved our relationship with our customers. They feel front and center and we save hours of time!

PROS

This software has been easy to use for setting up customer emails that are specifically targeted to their individual needs. Conversion tracking and other metrics for analyzing customer behavior are helpful for our team and its insights into what our customers want throughout their lifecycle journey. This software streamlines the process that would take hours upon hours of tedious work. This is a highly efficient tool to solve complex problems.

CONS

I think that one of the cons would be pricing. If pricing wasn't as steep for larger customer lists, this platform would be preferable.

James

Computer Software, 1 employee

Used weekly for less than 12 months

Review Source: Capterra
This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

5

Reviewed June 2023

Amazing and must-have product for startups!!!

PROS

I'm kn the startup plan, and this product is an absolute requirement in my toolbelt. If Customer.io went away I would ne lost .

CONS

Nothing. This product is completely amazing lol.

Reason for choosing Customer.io

The Startup Plan is amazing

Emmanuel

Financial Services, 51-200 employees

Used daily for less than 12 months

Review Source: Capterra
This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

5

Reviewed June 2023

Great product for Growth, Marketing and Product teams

The experience has been great

PROS

1. Ability to customise communications using events and segments2. Responsive customer support

CONS

1. Very expensive for a start up2. Flow for within branches still need optimisation as users can not move from one branch to another if their status/attributes changes.

Lucie

Sports, 2-10 employees

Used weekly for less than 12 months

Review Source: Capterra
This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

4

FUNCTIONALITY

4

Reviewed December 2021

Customer.io for Weekly Newsletters

Overall, very happy with the user experience. It’s saved me a lot of time in developing our newsletter.

PROS

I love using Customer.io for our weekly newsletters because it allows me to replicate the same format each week. This saves me time each week because I can just make individual tweaks to content each time, rather than having to redo the entire process. I also appreciate the metrics on open and click rate, to know what content sparks our audience’s attention and what doesn’t hit so strongly.

CONS

I don’t like that it is difficult to copy a message from one “workspaces” to the next. I wish there was a possibility to duplicate a template across workspaces without having to recreate the whole thing. We use different workspaces to separate different audiences, but often want to send them similar emails.

Sarah

Financial Services, 11-50 employees

Used daily for less than 12 months

Review Source: Capterra
This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

OVERALL RATING:

4

EASE OF USE

3

FUNCTIONALITY

4

Reviewed July 2022

Good for segmentation and all forms of email, SMS, and push notification campaigns

PROS

I like how the drip campaigns are very simple to set up and implement. The segmentation tool helps to identify which customers to put into these campaigns and when they should exit the campaign.

CONS

I like how easy it is to build emails, though there could be better design/templates for this. Additionally, setting up segments might be confusing for someone without a data background, which I have.

Ludwig

Internet, 11-50 employees

Used weekly for more than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra
This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

4

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

FUNCTIONALITY

5

Reviewed June 2023

Best customer engagement tool

PROS

Possible to make super complex flows. Pretty much replaces doing everything custom in our backend.

CONS

Nothing to dislike really. A bit complicated to use for new users, but probably because it's so powerful.

User Profile

Alec

Verified reviewer

Publishing, 11-50 employees

Used weekly for less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra
This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE