All EmailOctopus Reviews

1-25 of 402 Reviews

Sort by

Reviews are by default sorted by Recommended to software buyers, driven by our proprietary algorithm reflecting the depth and quality of the review, recency of experience, and other factors. As a neutral reviews platform, the star rating of the review is not considered in the "Recommended" ranking, and there is currently no voting mechanism that would allow site visitors to influence the ranking.

David

Pharmaceuticals, 2 - 10 employees

Used less than 6 months

Review Source: Capterra
This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

OVERALL RATING:

5

Reviewed May 2023

Great email marketing tool for low budgets

User Profile

Jeremy

Verified reviewer

Performing Arts, 2-10 employees

Used daily for less than 6 months

Review Source: Capterra

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

4

Reviewed June 2023

Give Four Claps for Email Octopus

We set this up in just over an hour, including adding all our lists. Having used MailerLite, Mailchimp, and other services, this one jumped to the top because of its excellent social mission.

PROS

EmailOctopus is easy to set up, with plenty of handy support from real people who are clearly invested in the product. Most of the features currently meet the industry standard from what I've seen among other services, and they're still building out a lot of features as well. I'm excited for what's to come.

CONS

It's still a little early, but the number one thing needed for our use case is deeper Zapier integration (more triggers, more things to be triggered by).

Reasons for switching to EmailOctopus

MailerLite had a very pesky system for flagging bounce rates and a short leash. Their customer support was unnecessarily punitive.

Thomas

Newspapers, 2-10 employees

Used daily for less than 6 months

Review Source: Capterra

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

5

Reviewed August 2023

Fantastic Newsletter Publishing and List Maintenance Service

After a service I'd been using for eight years started developing functionality problems, I checked out competitors and came to EmailOctopus on the basis of a recommendation. Haven't looked back.

PROS

Everything WORKS. It's easy to import lists. It's easy to set up lead capture pages to get new subscribers. It's easy to create newsletter templates. It's easy to publish campaigns and get them delivered.

CONS

There's nothing I dislike about EmailOctopus, but if I could suggest one feature it would be social media account linking as opposed to having to manually post links to campaign emails to Facebook and Twitter.

Reason for choosing EmailOctopus

The price was right and EmailOctopus handled specific functions I needed better than Sendgrid (I do use Sendgrid for some other projects).

Reasons for switching to EmailOctopus

My previous service was becoming more complex and less functional/reliable.

Billie

Marketing and Advertising, 1 employee

Review Source: Capterra
This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

OVERALL RATING:

3

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

3

Reviewed March 2024

Affordable email platform

It’s affordable and a great start however for the price however it is a bit laggy

PROS

It’s and affordable email platform great for beginners

CONS

It is laggy and buggy could be improved for performance

Tracy

Writing and Editing, 1 employee

Used weekly for less than 12 months

Review Source: Capterra
This review was submitted organically. No incentive was offered

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

FUNCTIONALITY

5

Reviewed January 2024

Easy to use

PROS

The website is very quick and easy to use.

CONS

There's really nothing I don't like about it.

Reasons for switching to EmailOctopus

It was much too expensive for me. I am an indie author and couldn't afford the monthly fee for the number of subscribers I have.

User Profile

Jennifer Lauren

Verified reviewer

Publishing, 2-10 employees

Used weekly for less than 6 months

Review Source: Capterra

OVERALL RATING:

4

EASE OF USE

4

FUNCTIONALITY

4

Reviewed June 2023

Switch from MailChimp to EmailOctopus was a no brainer.

So far, the experience has been wonderful. There have been no issues with setting up or sending out campaigns and it has been easy to learn the platform.

PROS

The ease of account setup and importing contacts from our old provider to EmailOctopus. I also liked the analytics reports. I also like the lists setup.

CONS

I wish there was a mobile app to manage contacts and campaigns.

Reason for choosing EmailOctopus

I liked the ease of use and overall aesthetic of EmailOctopus over the alternatives.

Reasons for switching to EmailOctopus

Mailchimp kept changing the offerings for the free and lowest-tier services. Once Intuit took over, it was obvious they wanted everyone to start paying more for every small thing. As a small business I could no longer afford to use MailChimp.

Anonymous

1 employee

Used weekly for less than 6 months

Review Source: Capterra
This review was submitted organically. No incentive was offered

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

5

Reviewed December 2023

Right fit for us

Glad we went with them. Great customer service too. Very proactive and responsive when we had a question.

PROS

There’s not a bunch of stuff built up over years of product development that make it complicated. It feels fresh.

CONS

There’s limited editing options and templates for content.

Reasons for switching to EmailOctopus

Sick of mailchimp. Too expensive and pushed us into things we didn’t need.

Chris

Publishing, 2-10 employees

Used weekly for less than 6 months

Review Source: Capterra
This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

4

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

4

FUNCTIONALITY

4

Reviewed April 2024

Perfect for beginners or new list building

PROS

We grabbed Email Octopus to use for a new Youtube channel we were deploying and I wanted clean data for building and sending a brand new list without compromising a larger more mature list. This was the perfect solution. Easy to design and build emails and campaigns, super affordable (we got to 2500 subs free, and only $9 a month over that) and scalable. We were very pleased with the results and open rates, plus the emails look good and deliverability was excellent. I would recommend Email Octopus to grow a list and scale up.

CONS

We haven't explored the all in one email marketing for this software yet.

User Profile

Justin

Verified reviewer

Entertainment, 1 employee

Used daily for less than 6 months

Review Source: Capterra
This reviewer was invited by the software vendor to submit an honest review.

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

5

Reviewed February 2024

Very user friendly to use and cheap compared to competitors.

PROS

They support team replies very fast and helped me with all my concerns before i made my purchase.

CONS

Quite literally i dont think there is anything i could think of.

Riccardo

Mechanical or Industrial Engineering, 11-50 employees

Used weekly for less than 12 months

Review Source: Capterra
This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

5

FUNCTIONALITY

5

Reviewed April 2024

Super cost effective

PROS

Best low budget solution for email marketing

CONS

There are more complete tools out there but I hope time will bring more features

User Profile

Dr. Richard H.

Verified reviewer

Health, Wellness and Fitness, 1 employee

Used weekly for less than 6 months

Review Source: Capterra
This review was submitted organically. No incentive was offered

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

3

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

4

Reviewed February 2024

EmailOctopus Review

Positive. Glad I joined! Thank you for your help!

PROS

Support has gone out of their way to help me.

CONS

Difficulty following instructions, but that might be my computer illiteracy.

Ian

Marketing and Advertising, 2-10 employees

Used daily for more than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

5

Reviewed October 2022

Everythin we Need

We have used email octopus for many years. I can't comment on the support - because we have never really needed them - their product just runs properly and without issues. We use it for a lot of things, but primarily for email lists for our users and list management. Their API was easy to integrate into our app, and it makes things really smooth and easy.

PROS

Easy to use, almost never a bug, affordable

CONS

UI can be a bit weird, but is super minor. Its a really great product

Reason for choosing EmailOctopus

We chose email Cotopus for the cost factor originally, but grew to appreciate how well their product works

Reasons for switching to EmailOctopus

Constant contact was expensive, limited, and we always seemed to have to contact support.

Phillip

Retail, 2-10 employees

Used weekly for less than 12 months

Review Source: Capterra

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

4

Reviewed May 2023

A friendly, clean and reasonably priced mailing list company.

I moved from a different mailing list company which had significantly raised its' prices and bloated its' product full of "features" I didn't need. I was nervous switching, but it was completely painless, even though I had to setup templates and sign-up forms from scratch. Moving my list of 1500 subscribers across was also very easy.

PROS

The interface is extremely clean with no clutter or bloat. The website runs smoothly with no lag when I'm adding lots of info to a newsletter. Block management is easy to understand and it's simple to test the emails before deploying. I appreciate the the simplicity of campaign reports and automations are easy to setup.

CONS

It's not quite as feature-rich as some of the big mailing list companies. However, this isn't necessarily a bad thing as it makes it very simple to use.

Reason for choosing EmailOctopus

I really liked the clean interface as soon as I tried it. The pricing seemed fair and I especially liked the option to use Amazon AWS at a reduced cost. I asked customer service many questions before switching and they were always really friendly, fast and quick to sort out any issues. I also like to support a smaller company that's having to compete with the established players.

Reasons for switching to EmailOctopus

I had been grandfathered into legacy pricing with my old company, but they brought out a "new" product which I was not eligible for any discount on - the price as a result was 10x higher! My grandfathered product still existed, but would no longer have new features.They had also introduced a lot of bloat into the product. Many unnecessary features were crammed in and the website was slow and buggy as a result.

Shishira

Publishing, 1 employee

Used weekly for less than 6 months

Review Source: Capterra

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

4

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

5

Reviewed April 2023

EmailOctopus is the best free and VFM mail service I've found after months of searching!

PROS

I love that EO is so easy to set up and use - it took me less than 30 mins to set up my first automation (welcome email to new subs) and prepare my first weekly campaign. The UI was really nice too with the drag and drop builder (for someone like me who has no coding knowledge) and the flexibility to customise the layout even though I'm on a free plan. Also liked how generous EO in the early stages of growth for the user!

CONS

Have not run into any cons, but I would enjoy a more flexible builder UI that could help me standardise fonts and colors for the complete mail and be able to revert to it with a single click if any incorrect formatting exists. Also, pressing backspace to delete a word also deletes the space before that word, which isn't required (it slows down typing speed)

Reason for choosing EmailOctopus

UI/UX, good reviews on the internet and generous starter plan (free)

Reasons for switching to EmailOctopus

I was on the free plan and MC no longer offers the benefits of contact count and mail count it did previously. I am yet to scale my business - hopefully it does soon and I can stick around to upgrade within EO in the future

Ben

Design, 2-10 employees

Used monthly for more than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra
This review was submitted organically. No incentive was offered

OVERALL RATING:

4

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

4

FUNCTIONALITY

4

Reviewed February 2023

Better than the monkey!

EmailOctopus has allowed us to have bigger lists (compared to the monkey) before hitting a paid limit. It's allowed us to target smaller but more effective segments of our lists with different campaigns.

PROS

The limits on free accounts are higher than the famous Monkey brand and the reports are nicely detailed. Custom fields allow good segmentation of lists and it's super simple to use them in the email content.

CONS

The builder for email is sometimes a little convoluted with the side panel that pops out to edit details like buttons etc. It's not always clear if a change has been saved.

Reason for choosing EmailOctopus

Price, simplicity.

Reasons for switching to EmailOctopus

Price initially. Then ease of use when we actually used it!

Sumeet

Retail, 2-10 employees

Used monthly for more than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

4

Reviewed November 2020

Best Email Marketing System

Overall, I think I am using EmailOctopus for more than 3-4 years now I think. I have been very satisfied with their product and haven't found any other service which gives me such good features at this price point. All the best to their team and hoping they take EmailOctopus to new heights.

PROS

I have been using this since it was a very small product. I have seen it grow and add new features with time. They have definitely grown for the better and added some really nice automated marketing features without increasing the cost too much.

CONS

Amazon SES reputation management is the biggest issue I have faced. Though, it's not their part of the product directly but there should be some way of managing the reputation and fixing those issues from within their product. Whenever I had doubts, their team did help me out a lot.

Reasons for switching to EmailOctopus

The pricing for simple email newsletter in MailChimp is too expensive for our business. Though they are actually shifting from just email newsletter to a complete e-commerce marketing platform. But the cost was too high for our subscriber base.

Brian

Automotive, 2-10 employees

Used monthly for more than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

4

FUNCTIONALITY

4

Reviewed September 2020

Small Agency ESP Review

Very positive.

PROS

We use EmailOctopus for our small agency to send our newsletters and other targeted email campaigns. Their tool is extremely easy to use and is very cost efficient for small agencies that have to watch every penny. Plus the are continually adding new features to the platform which makes the value increase every quarter!

CONS

Would like the ability to create sub-accounts. And it's a bummer to pay a foreign transaction fee every month.

Reason for choosing EmailOctopus

Easy decision. EmailOctupus offered the best value for our agency.

Reasons for switching to EmailOctopus

Better value

Matt

Marketing and Advertising, 2-10 employees

Used daily for less than 6 months

Review Source: Capterra
This reviewer was invited by the software vendor to submit an honest review.

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

4

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

5

Reviewed July 2022

Email Octopus Is A Top Notch Service Provider

Good overall and I will continue to be a client as long as I can be.

PROS

From the ease of signing up, uploading my leads, and creating my first campaign I have really enjoyed using this service. Their support staff is very personal and they work one-on-one with me in a prompt and polite manner. They listen to my issues or concerns and take the time to explain the answers to me. It has been a pleasure working with Email Octopus and I plan to continue to do so for many years to come.

CONS

When configuring the lead capture form I could not figure out how to set the width of the form fields, or design the form to fit the area on my page for it. I had to instead remove a paragraph on necessary information from the page and design my page around their form.

Reasons for switching to EmailOctopus

Email Octopus came highly recommended, and for the most part, our testing confirms that they are the better service.

Pamela

Publishing, 2-10 employees

Used monthly for more than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT