All Toggl Track Reviews

1-25 of 2,238 Reviews

Sort by

Reviews are by default sorted by Recommended to software buyers, driven by our proprietary algorithm reflecting the depth and quality of the review, recency of experience, and other factors. As a neutral reviews platform, the star rating of the review is not considered in the "Recommended" ranking, and there is currently no voting mechanism that would allow site visitors to influence the ranking.

Luke

Marketing and Advertising, 11 - 50 employees

Used less than 12 months

Review Source: Capterra
This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

OVERALL RATING:

4

Reviewed April 2021

Simple and easy to use

User Profile

Ema

Verified reviewer

Writing and Editing, 1 employee

Used daily for more than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra
This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

FUNCTIONALITY

5

Reviewed August 2021

An incredibly useful tool for freelancers

I love Toggl Track!! As a freelancer, it's indispensable for keeping track of my hours by project or client so I can create invoices (outside of Toggl Track). It makes it easy to collect the data to calculate the time I need for certain types of work, and helps me keep track of my training hours, which I need for my professional organization. All in all, I can't live without it and recommend it highly.

PROS

Its simplicity. Everything is quite intuitive--you can create multiple projects for each client, add descriptions, and add tags, and it's simple to run reports by those parameters. Generating the reports is straightforward and incredibly useful, and the data can be exported as CSV files (also as PDFs). It's handy having a desktop app (there's also a mobile app, which I don't use as much) with the option of running the timer directly in a browser--handy when I'm working away from my usual desktop.

CONS

Occasionally, I switch from one computer with the Toggl Track desktop app to another computer and have some syncing issues. The timer I thought was still running would have stopped or not stopped and I end up with some odd blocks of time. I haven't yet been able to figure out the exact issue so as to prevent this from happening (not enough time to sync with the cloud?). It can also be a pain to find an older project and start that timer again (e.g., a project that I had to set aside for 2 months and then pick up again)--you have to search for the entry you want through the web interface and copy & paste the description into the timer and manually add the same tags to start recording again.

Reason for choosing Toggl Track

I've heard of a few similar services but am so pleased with Toggl Track that I've not bothered to try the others.

User Profile

Lisandro

Verified reviewer

E-Learning, 2-10 employees

Used daily for less than 12 months

Review Source: Capterra
This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

OVERALL RATING:

4

EASE OF USE

4

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

4

Reviewed October 2019

Toggl is the best time tracking software

We've been using Toggl in our business for over a year. It's key to track the time it takes to do certain tasks. We didn't know that when we started and we weren't tracking anything. When we found that out, we started tracking our times manually (writing the time of start and the time we ended in Evernote) This activity itself took too much time. But when we discovered Toggl it was productivity-changing! It's essential for our daily activities now. We considered many options like RescueTime and others I don't remember but found Toggl to be the most straightforward/easy to use

PROS

How EASY it is to use the features. I love that it remembers past entries so you don't need to retype any frequent activities. Also, the reports are really detailed. And I really appreciate it when I get an email from Toggl because I forgot to stop the timer; really useful!

CONS

The fact that it has not a mobile version of their site. The Toggl app was a total mess since the day I installed even though they tried to fix the issues updating the app several times (and even making a NEW app) but with no results. So when using my phone, I rely on their website to access my Toggl timer and reports but it looks terrible on phones. Also, their reports are not directly accessed via the Toggl desktop program but it opens the website (so when I have no internet access I cannot see it; it would be cool if I could).

Reason for choosing Toggl Track

Toggl looks more easy and intuitive. It doesn't have many robust features but that's what made it the right option for us as what we really wanted was simple: track time and get weekly reports and Toggl is more than capable of doing that.

Michael

Marketing and Advertising, 11-50 employees

Used daily for more than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra

OVERALL RATING:

4

EASE OF USE

4

VALUE FOR MONEY

4

FUNCTIONALITY

4

Reviewed April 2024

Overall Good Product For Time Management

PROS

It's relatively easy to create and track projects, along with adding billable scopes to help ensure we're on track for project timelines within budget.

CONS

Can be some connectivity issues at times or syncing may not always work, but asides from that it works well with what he use it for.

James

Accounting, 11-50 employees

Used daily for less than 12 months

Review Source: Capterra
This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

OVERALL RATING:

3

EASE OF USE

4

VALUE FOR MONEY

3

FUNCTIONALITY

2

Reviewed March 2023

A bit clunky when trying to scale across multiple clients

The team didn't fully embrace it, and it required a lot of checking and forcing them to do it. Which is always a bit of a red flag when rolling out something that we need to assess profitability within the business.

PROS

It seemed to work well covering both desktop and online so making it easy for the team to track time and be sure they were tracking time.

CONS

The tagging or ability to split the time tracked across multiple clients. It became a bit messy when we were trying to link it to Salesforce opportunities and high volume of clients.

Reason for choosing Toggl Track

It seemed cheaper and more focused on the time tracking compared to Zendesk, and a bit more lightweight than Tempo. We ended up not continuing as the team just didn't get on with it. Subsequently we've rolled out Tempo and had more luck with that product.

Pierre

International Trade and Development, 1 employee

Used daily for more than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra
This review was submitted organically. No incentive was offered

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

5

Reviewed January 2024

Best time tracking tool out there

PROS

Free plan Ease of use Mobile app, can be used offline The beautiful timer view Google calendar import integration

CONS

Lack of gamified progress tracking feature

Reasons for switching to Toggl Track

Yast.com They discontinued it, so I had to look for an other easy to use and free alternative.

Anonymous

1 employee

Used daily for less than 6 months

Review Source: Capterra
This review was submitted organically. No incentive was offered

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

4

FUNCTIONALITY

4

Reviewed January 2024

Could be better

In some way, it's made my time tracking experience easier, but in others, I find it less intuitive to use. It didn't convince me it's the best time-tracking app.

PROS

I really like that it's an app and that I can easily start tracking time on the top of my screen, without the need to open the app window.

CONS

I really dislike that I can't edit the tracked time on the app. Especially useful when trying to add some extra minutes bc I forgot to turn it off/on. It's really confusing that each time i click on 'play' on an existing entry, it creates a separate entry, but I can't edit the times.

Reasons for switching to Toggl Track

I missed the computer app experience and I thought it would be less likely for me to forget to turn the tracker on once having it always on the top.

Priyanka

Non-Profit Organization Management, 11-50 employees

Used daily for less than 12 months

Review Source: Capterra

OVERALL RATING:

4

EASE OF USE

4

FUNCTIONALITY

5

Reviewed April 2024

Toggl Time Tracking Review

PROS

I really like the calendar sync feature, where Toggl can pull meetings I already have scheduled and even remember the project code for recurring meetings. The app is also super handy to track one-off projects and coordinate with a fluctuating work schedule.

CONS

I would appreciate an improvement of the UI for the calendar itself in a weekly view- sometimes it is hard to scroll up or down because the calendar only shows up for half the page rather than the whole screen. The option to hide the time clock would be super helpful.

Matthew

Legal Services, 51-200 employees

Used daily for more than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

5

Reviewed April 2024

Great Product!

Great tool, use it every day, would recommend to other companies!

PROS

Ease of use and user functionality is the best part.

CONS

Sometimes Toggl mobile and Toggl desktop do not sync up.

Kate

Accounting, 1 employee

Used daily for more than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra
This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

5

Reviewed March 2024

Great Tool for Keeping Track of Project Time

PROS

It's is easy to use and since it is browser based you can use it on the go. The mobile app is also great.

CONS

I really haven't any downsides to report.

Jake

Online Media, 51-200 employees

Used daily for less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

5

Reviewed April 2024

Easy to use

PROS

It's so easy to use. And it's easy to organize and track a week's work at a quick glance.

CONS

I wish there were more options to zoom in and out of the calendar. Like the amount of minutes that is incremented on the weekly view.

Brian

Marketing and Advertising, 1 employee

Used daily for more than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra
This review was submitted organically. No incentive was offered

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

4

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

FUNCTIONALITY

5

Reviewed October 2020

Since 2015, Toggl has been my only time-tracking app

The basic time-tracking aspect cannot be understated, it's dead simple to use out of the box. I have used other time-tracking apps that turned out to be bundled together with invoicing and I simply don't need that. I bill fixed retainers and only record hours for internal purposes so that I can course correct if I am ahead or behind on work and fix time-sucks. Other tools like Harvest wanted to integrate it all and it was heavy. I can't remember how I found Toggl but it was perfect. I had a hard time understanding the difference between Clients & Projects, at first. It was easy to pick up but I think I got confused with a UI change years ago. No problems since.

PROS

Out of the box, simple to use. Simple pricing and a free tier. The reporting is really simple but has 4 default views. This makes analysis really easy, knowing that I can see my work for an individual client over the course of a week, month, or year with just a couple clicks.

CONS

I have found the latest UI update has made clicking the Start button in the web UI to be pretty slow, I end up having to click it twice a lot and that is annoying.

Reason for choosing Toggl Track

Simplicity. I don't need a bundle. I use Quickbooks for invoicing now and I plan to stick with Toggl until I am forced to move.

Anonymous

501-1,000 employees

Used daily for less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra
This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

FUNCTIONALITY

5

Reviewed November 2020

Simple, elegant, reliable

I've been a Toggl Track user for several years, on and off, and have found it to be one of the most pivotal tools for maintaining my productivity. If I have a timer running for a particular task, I'm far less likely to switch tasks until it's done. It's remarkable how such a simple tool can have such an impact on my stress levels, too. Since I'm a solo user, I've only used the free account, but it's more than enough for my needs. While there are several similar products on the market that will do basically the same job, it's the simplicity, clean interface and integrations that keep me loyal to Toggl. Aside from keeping me on track day-to-day, the data it generates is very valuable when looking at how I'm spending my time over weeks or months. This helps ensure I'm spending the bulk of my time on the jobs that matter most (it's shocking how much time email can suck out of your day if you let it!) The recent addition of the Timeline view makes it easier than ever to fill in the holes throughout the day where you've forgotten to set a timer, giving a complete picture and breakdown of your days.

PROS

The simplicity, clean interface and numerous integrations. I should also highlight the stability and reliability. I can't rate the customer service because I've never needed to contact them!

CONS

There's very little to criticize here. What it sets out to do, it does extremely well. As a fan of the Pomodoro technique, I feel this function could be improved in Toggl. I'd prefer it if it didn't automatically stop the timer, but rather gave me the option to trigger a break after a set time.

Reasons for switching to Toggl Track

Clockify is a good alternative, but I prefer Toggl's UI and the way it integrates with the other tools I use (like Notion).

User Profile

Mir Fida

Verified reviewer

Information Technology and Services, 11-50 employees

Used daily for less than 12 months

Review Source: Capterra
This review was submitted organically. No incentive was offered

OVERALL RATING:

4

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

4

Reviewed August 2022

Efficient and convenient work schedule tracking & management

I would recommend it for any beginner to medium level startup, freelancers or micro-businesses looking to improve work productivity. With generous free version feature one can easily learn and apply all the features required in daily work routine. As requirements grows then shift to paid version to get maximum features at reasonable price, which is worth for growing business.

PROS

Most importantly it helped increase our productivity, decreased business cost and manage workflow efficiently. Best feature is project time tracking. Setting-up and managing employees timesheets is a feature we use on daily basis. One of the useful features we love is to adding tags to time entries for to classify projects. Can be used offline (when internet disconnects) to gather information and sync data when we get online automatically and then Reports generated are well presented and provide quite insightful view for our daily work activities. Easy to log time for tasks & sub tasks assigned to a all members of a team working on a project on different devices. Available as chrome extension and mobile app which we look forward to use for up coming projects. Integration with other collaboration tools like Asana and Trello saves much hassle.

CONS

Some less frequently used features and tools are difficult to find when needed. Minor bugs are encountered when switching workspaces. There are also some tool limitation for planning and management. We hope it will be solved in future updates.

Reason for choosing Toggl Track

A bit expensive for the number of features provided compared to the alternative. Main reason that it was popular in our community and networks who have been using it successfully for similar tasks that we perform on daily basis. Secondly it has a great free trial available so we first tested on trial basis for a month then decided to go to next starter level deployment. Our project clients' positive reviews about Toggl Track billing also increased our trust on this application.

Andualem

Biotechnology, 11-50 employees

Used daily for more than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra
This review was submitted organically. No incentive was offered

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

4

FUNCTIONALITY

5

Reviewed March 2023

Efficient Time Tracking with Toggl Track

So far, my experience has been great! The interface is really easy to use and I can quickly start and stop timers for different activities throughout the day. I also appreciate the detailed reporting, which allows me to see how much time I've spent on each task and project.One thing I've noticed is that the constant time tracking can be a bit distracting at times, but I've found that it's helped me stay more focused and mindful of how I'm spending my time.

PROS

1.Easy to use interface makes it simple to start and stop timers for different tasks2.Detailed reporting allows for in-depth analysis of time spent on various projects and activities3.Integrates with other popular tools like Asana, Trello, and Slack to streamline workflow4.Offers a free version as well as paid plans with additional features and support

CONS

1.Limited functionality in the free version, with some features only available in paid plans2.Reports can be overwhelming for users who are not used to tracking their time3.Some users may find the constant time tracking to be intrusive or distracting

Reasons for switching to Toggl Track

I've been using Google Calendar to track my time for a while now, but I've been considering switching to Toggl Track for a few reasons. While Google Calendar is a great tool for scheduling and managing my calendar, it's not as robust when it comes to tracking my time on specific tasks and projects.With Toggl Track, I would have the ability to start and stop timers for different activities throughout the day, and get a detailed breakdown of how much time I'm spending on each task. This level of granularity would allow me to better understand how I'm spending my time, and identify areas where I could be more efficient or productive.

Michael

Marketing and Advertising, 2-10 employees

Used daily for more than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra
This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

5

Reviewed March 2020

There's no reason to use any other software for your time tracking

I feel like such a freeloader because I've always used the free version of toggl and it has been more than I need for all of my time tracking needs. I started out using it as a freelancer, and it still works at the free level for me even with a couple of team members. I absolutely love Toggl, so the least I can do is leave this review for them.

PROS

I love the simple interface and how it provides the option to discard your inactive time (for those cases where you leave your desk and forget to pause your timer), keep your time as part of your existing time tracking project, or save the time to a new time tracking project.

CONS

I've been using the software for over 5 years. Initially there were some hiccups, but that has all been ironed out now. This is as close as you get to perfect software that does exactly what you want it to do.

Reason for choosing Toggl Track

This is one of those no-brainer decisions. There is absolutely no other time tracking software you should use instead of toggl. This is the one you want.

User Profile

Sagar

Verified reviewer

Computer Software, 2-10 employees

Used daily for less than 12 months

Review Source: Capterra
This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

OVERALL RATING:

4

EASE OF USE

4

VALUE FOR MONEY

4

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

4

FUNCTIONALITY

4

Reviewed September 2020

Easy to use, Effective, Efficient and Productive

I have been using Toggl for more than 6 months. It helps me to see where and how much time I am spending.

PROS

1. Available across all major platforms like Android, Apple, Windows and Chrome. 2. Tags. 3. Reports. 4. Suggestions of time entries based on history as we write to enter new time and task entry.

CONS

1. Lags too much. 2. Errors in automatic tag entries. 3. We have to stop timer first to enter manual entry.

Reason for choosing Toggl Track

Toggl gives proper, more effective and efficient report when we export it.

Reasons for switching to Toggl Track

TMetric also fulfils the purpose. In fact, TMetric shows desktop activities too which is still under development in Toggl. Toggl wins when it comes to UI and TMetric wins when it comes to UX.

User Profile

Dawn

Verified reviewer

Non-Profit Organization Management, 11-50 employees

Used daily for more than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

5

Reviewed December 2022

Great time tracking option

We found Toggl several years ago and have been loyal customers due to cost and ease of use. I do recommend this for any organization that is looking for a more formal way of tracking time and doesn't require a lot of training and minimal set up. We were relying on spreadsheets and paper timesheets - this upped our game several years ago, and we won't turn back.

PROS

We are a church so cost is a high priority for us; We use Toggl Track with the non-profit pricing and that is how we've been able to work with Toggl for so many years. Our part time, hourly employees all use the Track for their time and our team finds it easy to use and a great option for our needs.

CONS

At times, we have issues with syncing and it can be frustrating but that happens infrequently

Reason for choosing Toggl Track

I would say that ease and cost were the determining factors and continue to keep us as loyal clients

User Profile

Rafal

Verified reviewer

Management Consulting, 1 employee

Used daily for less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra
This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

3

FUNCTIONALITY

5

Reviewed May 2022

Great tracking tool

Great tool, has a free tier (great for solopreneurs). Currently I use different app, but I liked a PDF reports that I could send directly to customer (very clean and informative). If Ive forgot to stop some task, system send me an email with notification (miss that in my current app). Great software.

PROS

+ clean interface + quick start (my current app is a little bit lazy) + great mobile app and Chrome extension that keeps me signed in (not obvious comparing to other tools for time trackin) + clear and informative reports (with PDF export) + email message if I will forget to stop time tracker

CONS

- customers are listed as "tags" - in my opinion conventional table would be better - billing options for project should be more intuitive especially if in the same project I use many different billing types (per hour, fixed/flat/onetime etc)

Reasons for switching to Toggl Track

Excel was "unmanagable" at concurrent customers with different projects and billing types.

Agnes

Accounting, 1 employee

Used daily for less than 12 months

Review Source: Capterra
This review was submitted organically. No incentive was offered

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

4

FUNCTIONALITY