All Carbonite Reviews

1-25 of 166 Reviews

Sort by

Reviews are by default sorted by Recommended to software buyers, driven by our proprietary algorithm reflecting the depth and quality of the review, recency of experience, and other factors. As a neutral reviews platform, the star rating of the review is not considered in the "Recommended" ranking, and there is currently no voting mechanism that would allow site visitors to influence the ranking.

Michael

Hospital & Health Care, 2 - 10 employees

Used more than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra
This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

OVERALL RATING:

5

Reviewed March 2022

Great Peace of Mind, but expensive

User Profile

Susan

Verified reviewer

Marketing and Advertising, 1 employee

Used daily for more than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra
This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

FUNCTIONALITY

5

Reviewed April 2022

249,576 Files Are Safe from Natural Diaster

Since it runs in the background and I don't need to do anything with it - my experience is awesome! I love seeing the reports pop on the screen saying my system just backed up XXXXXXX number of files. And at any time, I can open the software and see the files and view my backup on the Cloud. I am using Carbonite Safe CE 22.2 -- I have clients that say they have a backup to Google or other service, and quite frankly they don't understand the complexity they will go through to try to retrieve their data. I highly recommend Carbonite not only for business but also personal home computers.

PROS

Peace of mind. At any point in time, I know if my hard drive system were to be compromised, by disaster or stolen or other calamity--I could be back in business with all documents and files uploaded into a new computer hard drive system. I have stored in my system at this moment in time 249,577 files - work from over 10 years is compiled here for my marketing clients. My invoices and accounting are backed up. My IRS files are backed up.

CONS

As I was recommended to Carbonite by my IT guy, he is the one installed the software and also uploaded all of the docs and files when I purchase new hardware. So if I were to lose my data I would need to figure out how to do it and/or pay him to help me. I trust experts when it comes to my data and security, so this is not a huge issue for me.

Vendor Response

Glad you're seeing the benefit of our product! Thanks so much for leaving us a positive and detailed review!

Replied May 2022

mike

Military, 51-200 employees

Used daily for more than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra
This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

4

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

5

Reviewed December 2020

Information and file redundancy is key

My experience with Carbonite has been entirely positive. The few times that I have had to restore a file or several files were just a minor inconvenience compare to recreating the information from scratch. I would definitely recommend using this backup platform.

PROS

After a small learning curve the platform's UI is easy to configure and is intuitive. I can retrieve a backup copy of a lost file through the software's pop up in a matter of minutes and continue on with the project.

CONS

Unfortunately, any older files which are in my back up must be restored by a Carbonite representative. This involves a phone call and some time with the representative. Not a bad experience, just a minor inconvenience compared to the do-it-yourself newer backed up files.

Reason for choosing Carbonite

After my research was complete I felt that Carbonite better met the needs of my organization. The service plan was exactly what I was looking for and the brands industry reputation speaks for itself.

Anonymous

10,000+ employees

Used monthly for more than 2 years

Review Source: GetApp
This review was submitted organically. No incentive was offered

OVERALL RATING:

3

EASE OF USE

2

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

1

FUNCTIONALITY

2

Reviewed May 2022

Deletion of backup

PROS

I found nothing positive about this software. Software was not as user friendly as the backup company Carbonite bought out. Sorry I kept with it but also shocked to see their deletion policy.

CONS

Carbonite has a 30 day policy to delete all data and is not recoverable if your subscription laps. Unfortunately my computers had to be reimaged due to malware, my credit card was compromised and I was just starting over when I found out Carbonite had deleted my data 5 days before. I had one email that stated my subscription had expired because my Credit card had changed. I didn' see it as I was caught up getting everything back on line. But my real problem with carbonite is this 30 day policy of wiping my backups off the server when you have been a customer for years. I totally was confident my data would be there. About 20 years of data was wiped out .I talked to a manager and she said that it is industry standard practice. I checked with several backup companies and none of them were definitely more reasonable. In most they were still recoverable. I didn't expect this type of service. Things happen unexpectedly and you would like to think the company you trusted your data with would have some archive. computers are being hacked every day and a company that cant hold on to your data during replacements etc is not customer friendly and not standing behind what they promise. By the way this company bought out my past backup company I had for years that definitely did not have a policy like this one. Go look for their policy. You will be frustrated finding it. But its been my pleasure to hear that multiple times as their excuse. I hope [SENSITIVE CONTENT] sees this review

Vendor Response

Sorry to hear you've had a poor experience - Please reach out to support for assistance: https://www.carbonite.com/contact-us

Replied May 2022

Matthew

Consumer Services, 1 employee

Used daily for more than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra
This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

5

Reviewed July 2020

Great tool for backing up your computer files

You can choose which files/folders I want to include. A few times, I have needed to do either a file restore or a complete system restore and you are happy you have Carbonite since restoring is also easy.

PROS

It works automatically in the background.. I have mine set up auto-backup daily at 4pm. Nice that it does its thing in the background and you don't have to manage it.

CONS

Nothing really bad to say.. the interface is basic and pretty easy to understand. There is nothing I would chance.

Reasons for switching to Carbonite

Norton Security's backup feature isn't as easy to use or straightforward as Carbonite. I can also buy 2 or 3 year plans of Carbonite and save money.

Lori

Publishing, 2-10 employees

Used daily for more than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra
This review was submitted organically. No incentive was offered

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

4

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

5

Reviewed November 2022

I've Tried Others But Came Back To Carbonite

Overall, you get what you pay for with data backup. I quit Carbonite for a couple of years and struggled. I finally came back to them this last year and felt such relief when I implemented the program.

PROS

Carbonite is easy to implement. I don't have to worry about it keeping my data safe with the automatic backups.

CONS

It's a little more expensive than some of the others.

Reasons for switching to Carbonite

iDrive was simple to use, but I really liked how Carbonite handled my account consistently and securely.

Anonymous

2-10 employees

Used daily for more than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra
This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

OVERALL RATING:

4

EASE OF USE

2

VALUE FOR MONEY

4

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

3

FUNCTIONALITY

3

Reviewed December 2018

Love that Backup, Hate the Slowdown

PROS

Carbonite has saved my butt a few times when I've lost files. You used to be able to also see files on your iPhone but that feature was discontinued. I do like that you can choose what specifically to back up.

CONS

It slows down my computer A LOT. I've talked with tech support and they've tried to help but no matter what, it's slow. I set Carbonite to only run while in the middle of the night and that helps.

User Profile

Jessica

Verified reviewer

Accounting, 1 employee

Used daily for more than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra
This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

OVERALL RATING:

4

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

4

FUNCTIONALITY

4

Reviewed September 2018

Set it and forget it while having peace of mind

I've had them for over 10 years in my personal computer and I've been very happy. I didn't care for the business version so chose not to use it for my business as there are other products that offer a better value.

PROS

Once you configure your initial backup, Carbonite will take care of everything for you on auto pilot. New files and changed files will automatically be backed up without you having to remember to. Restoring files after a catastrophic hard drive failure took a while due to the size of the backup but worked well.

CONS

Price has been increasing steadily over the years without adding value, other providers are now more competitive price wise.

User Profile

Andrew

Verified reviewer

Food Production, 201-500 employees

Used daily for more than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra
This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

OVERALL RATING:

4

EASE OF USE

4

FUNCTIONALITY

5

Reviewed October 2022

Easy to use cloud backup solution

PROS

Once setup it is hands off and if you need to do a restore it is easy to do.

CONS

For us it just worked. We have not had any issues taking backups. We then use carbonite to restore to new systems as we rotate out hardware

Vendor Response

Thanks for leaving a review - glad to hear that the setup has been easy and straightforward!

Replied October 2022

User Profile

Lester

Verified reviewer

Used daily for more than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra
This review was submitted organically. No incentive was offered

OVERALL RATING:

4

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

4

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

4

Reviewed July 2018

Great online backup service

It helps me to sleep at night.

PROS

You can backup your server and desktops using the locally installed software. You have great control over what and when everything is backed up.

CONS

When I needed to do a full server restore, it would have taken days to restore. I contacted Carbonite which sent me a hard drive with our backup on it, which save me many hours.

User Profile

Phillip

Verified reviewer

Used daily for more than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra
This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

OVERALL RATING:

4

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

3

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

5

Reviewed February 2018

Set it and forget it.

Stress free off site backup solution.

PROS

Easy setup, easy upgrades. Product is easy to navigate. It's file icon feature easily lets you see what has or hasn't been backed up.

CONS

Pricing structure has recently changed, not offering previous plan. Pricing model has increased without offering explanation of what current plan covered.

Joni

Verified reviewer

Entertainment, 1 employee

Used daily for more than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra
This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

OVERALL RATING:

4

EASE OF USE

4

VALUE FOR MONEY

4

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

4

FUNCTIONALITY

4

Reviewed March 2019

Carbonite is great, but could be better

For the price, it's worth the piece of mind.

PROS

The security of having my files automatically backing up to the cloud.

CONS

Files aren't always uploaded as they exist on your computer. For instance, instead of files being in a folder, Carbonite sometimes uploads the folder (empty) and files individually. Very annoying.

Willie

Telecommunications, 2-10 employees

Used daily for less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra
This review was submitted organically. No incentive was offered

OVERALL RATING:

1

EASE OF USE

2

VALUE FOR MONEY

1

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

3

FUNCTIONALITY

1

Reviewed February 2019

Buyer beware !!!

Last year I dumped my external backup drive to have a "more secure" off site backup alternative. (BIG MISTAKE) I saw many promotions on their service, everything made sense. Cost was reasonable and all that. So I enrolled. Made sure that all my files were backed up through their app and all of that. One day My hard drive crashed... OMG,,, well no worries, Carbonite has my files backed up. I proceeded to restore my files. Surprisingly I noticed that my restore was going WAY SLOOOOOW. I diagnosed my network, new hard drive and internet connection. I have 400 mbps internet service... Well I found our that after all my download was not exceeding 3 mbps. I proceeded to call tech support and after many attempts and escalations the told me that that was the maximum throughput I will ever need. That no matter which plan I enrolled their technology will not allow for greater speed because they do one file at the time,,, they encrypt and then decrypt,,,, they cant do it any faster. So, be prepared to wait weeks for your download to complete. Just don't expose yourself to this scam... It will NOT save you when you really need it.

PROS

Price and easy to configure. Customer support was very courteous and professional

CONS

It doesn't perform as advertised and/or expected. Restore function takes forever no matter how much bandwidth you have available.

Jacob

Law Practice, 2-10 employees

Used daily for more than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra

OVERALL RATING:

3

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

4

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

2

FUNCTIONALITY

3

Reviewed November 2016

Good experience with Home version, poor experience with Business version

I purchased two separate licenses at the same time. One was for my home and another for my business. I have been satisfied with the home version, but ended up cancelling my business license after a year. I just kept getting error after error. Each time I called customer support, they had me uninstall then reinstall the software. It never fixed the problem. Eventually, I gave up calling customer support because they didn't try anything new. I don't really know that the difference is between the two, but I had nothing but trouble with the version installed on my work server. The home version, on the other hand, has worked great. It runs quietly in the background. I gave my parents a license for Christmas one year, and they have enjoyed the piece of mind knowing their files are being backed up.

PROS

The home version works great. I like the ability to access my files remotely from any computer with internet connection.

CONS

When running, this Carbonite slows down my computer a little. However, I understand this is a problem with all cloud based backup storage.

Kathryne

Non-Profit Organization Management, 2-10 employees

Used daily for more than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra
This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

FUNCTIONALITY

5

Reviewed February 2022

Reliable Choice

I have used Carbonite with the exception of one short period for over 10 years. It has gotten me back up through crashes and new computers flawlessly.

PROS

I have tried another "famous" product and found it extremely difficult to get everything backed up. With Carbonite I can see the status immediately and change settings as needed without having to go through a number of pages.

CONS

Not anything. Having used this product for over 10 years I have never had a complaint or recommendation for improvement. This software performs exactly as advertised and as I need.

Reasons for switching to Carbonite

IDrive was terrible. No matter how many settings I changed, It never backed up all of my files. I gratefully returned to Carbonite.

Vendor Response

Thanks so much for leaving a positive review! We appreciate it!

Replied February 2022

Felicia

Health, Wellness and Fitness, 2-10 employees

Used daily for more than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra
This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

5

Reviewed February 2020

Great Customer Support

My employees are not IT people, so when we have a backup problem we get on the phone with Carbonite. They take over the computer and find the problems. It's as simple as that. They are so respectful to my team when there are issues and they have taught us how to do simple problem solving checks that can solve the problem! We are very happy with Carbonite.

PROS

We use Carbonite as our backup program for our computer system. On occasion when our computers update it will change settings on the computer. Carbonite has the ability to let you know via email if it backed up successfully or not. This way we can catch a problem as soon as it arises.

CONS

On occasion there are issues with the computers backing up because of new computer updates. This is solved by alerting us via email when our server does not backup properly.

Monique

Government Relations, 51-200 employees

Used daily for more than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra
This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

4

VALUE FOR MONEY

4

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

4

FUNCTIONALITY

5

Reviewed December 2019

Worth the Money

Carbonite is definitely worth the money. Yes, it may be a little pricey; however, the cost is relative if you ever need to recover information/data from several PCs.

PROS

We use Carbonite in our office and it is a great program to have. The software runs in the background and doesn't slow your computer down. I also appreciate the friendly reminders of when we're either running out of space or didn't backup a computer during the week.

CONS

Make sure each machine has a specific profile name because the system will get confused. Also, please don't attempt to duplicate machine names (i.e. if your computer is completing an IT replacement) as this also confusing the system.

William

Retail, 2-10 employees

Used daily for more than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra
This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

3

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

4

FUNCTIONALITY

5

Reviewed July 2020

Carbonite keeps your information safe

Carbonite is a great product that's very reasonably priced and does an excellent job backing up your information. We have personally relied on them more than once to backup information that was lost in a computer crash and we have never been disappointed.

PROS

Carbonite makes keeping a record of your valuable information extremely easy and reliable. In the past when we have had a computer crash and vital information was lost from the unit we were able to easily find and backup the information from Carbonite.

CONS

We really have not had any negative experience with using Carbonite. It is easy to set up and to download your lost information.

sharon

Computer Software, 2-10 employees

Used daily for more than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra

OVERALL RATING:

4

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

4

CUSTOMER SUPPORT