All Folder Lock Reviews

1-25 of 585 Reviews

Sort by

Reviews are by default sorted by Recommended to software buyers, driven by our proprietary algorithm reflecting the depth and quality of the review, recency of experience, and other factors. As a neutral reviews platform, the star rating of the review is not considered in the "Recommended" ranking, and there is currently no voting mechanism that would allow site visitors to influence the ranking.

Mark

Computer & Network Security, 11 - 50 employees

Used less than 12 months

Review Source: Capterra
This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

OVERALL RATING:

4

Reviewed October 2021

Great folder management system

User Profile

Fredric

Verified reviewer

Financial Services, 1 employee

Used daily for more than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra
This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

3

FUNCTIONALITY

4

Reviewed February 2019

Great bang for the buck

Being a registered rep it is essential that my data is protected. Folder lock allows me to have multiple protection for my device. It works so well that even Microsoft couldn't "crack" it.

PROS

Very easy to set up, implement and maintain.

CONS

Sometimes the auto protection feature fails to "kick in" so I routinely activate when I leave my office.

User Profile

Narayanachar

Verified reviewer

Health, Wellness and Fitness, 2-10 employees

Used daily for less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra
This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

5

Reviewed February 2019

Folder lock is a must for your phone

I don't carry my wallet with cards everywhere... That says it all

PROS

1) Easy to use ( no instruction needed) 2) Robust. Locks user out if password is not right 3) offers local or Cloud versions 4) Keeps vital documents that should to be exposed to public safe. 5) reasonably priced for a lifetime of support

CONS

Can be more secure in completely erasing the folder or locking it without master PW if 5 attempts fail. More so for mobile devices

Shelly

Publishing, 2-10 employees

Used daily for less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra
This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

OVERALL RATING:

3

EASE OF USE

2

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

4

FUNCTIONALITY

3

Reviewed February 2019

Good product with quirks

They are nice--but too knowledgeable. In other words--because they understand how the product works, they can't understand why a lay person doesn't understand simple functions. I code webpages and do all kinds of digital products so I am not ignorant--but I could not get the basic function for using a folder on a flash drive. There is somehting wrong when I can't figure out a basic function of a product.

PROS

I like the concept but found it difficult to use. The customer support was quick, but they understand the product and how to use it and so have difficulty understanding what the lay person does not get. I worked my way through getting it set up on the computer. I am fairly satisfied. My biggest complaint on the computer is that when you shut down computer and have the program off (you need to turn it off to work) it does not remind you to lock the folder again.

CONS

--I never could get it to work on an flash-drive--i asked for help and they simply repeated what the instructions said and could not get what I couldn't get. I gave up on the flash-drive and just use it with my computer

User Profile

Satyanarayan

Verified reviewer

Oil & Energy, 11-50 employees

Used daily for more than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra
This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

3

FUNCTIONALITY

5

Reviewed February 2019

Value For Money

It helped me to hide important documents in the offucial laptop where it was used by my secreatory.

PROS

It helped me to hide my private photos and videos from my family

CONS

You cant use this for other device , It whould be better if it could be used for another device in case of device stolen.

User Profile

Ahmed

Verified reviewer

Accounting, 1 employee

Used daily for less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra
This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

5

Reviewed April 2021

best for securing files

overall file lock makes my files secured so it can never be opened by someone without me .

PROS

its makes our file secure and saved passwords as it is never been forgotten . we can rely on this software and makes our encrypted files more saver by coating security of this software.

CONS

nothing to change as it is already have all the features for making a software to been used daily without any discomfort.

User Profile

Tobel

Verified reviewer

Law Practice, 11-50 employees

Used daily for more than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra
This review was submitted organically. No incentive was offered

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

1

FUNCTIONALITY

5

Reviewed December 2021

Folder Lock review

Easy to use and Ability to secure a whole drive is cool, despite of the inconsequentials.

PROS

Easy protect files, folders and drives. It's a good file shreder.

CONS

Having only one factor authentication, this should be worked upon.

User Profile

Candace

Verified reviewer

Writing and Editing, 1 employee

Used weekly for less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra
This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

FUNCTIONALITY

5

Reviewed December 2019

Peace of Mind is Mine

Frankly, I wonder how I existed before I found it. I am so used to locking and hiding, shredding, saving my files and information that I feel sorry for those who don't have it yet.

PROS

I love that I can lock my folders and the information within them and not worry about it again.I love being able to hide them as well! As a freelancer, I have many folders with sensitive information, project ideas, book outlines, etc. I want to know that nobody can hack in and get those ideas. It is not common, but it does happen. it is also great that I can save and secure passwords with this software.

CONS

For me the learning curve was a bit stiff, but that might have been just me. Once I learned to navigate and all the things the software is capable of doing, it was amazing!

User Profile

Chris

Verified reviewer

Marketing and Advertising, 1 employee

Used daily for more than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra
This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

OVERALL RATING:

4

EASE OF USE

4

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

FUNCTIONALITY

4

Reviewed February 2019

Folder Lock is dependable, reliable, and straightforward.

This goes back over several years of use, is used frequently, and it has just sat there and worked.

PROS

Simplicity of use, and confidence in the engineering.

CONS

Trip up sometimes on setting a folder size.

User Profile

Grant

Verified reviewer

Marketing and Advertising, 2-10 employees

Used weekly for more than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra
This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

OVERALL RATING:

4

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

4

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

4

Reviewed June 2020

When it works, it is very solid

It's been fairly reliable for the time I've had it, but I do wish cloud and transfer options were improved.

PROS

I like that it truly locks content, so if my phone were to get lost, even if I had it open in an android "tab", the second the screen closes or another tab opens, you have to relog in. I feel safe with it.

CONS

Twice the cloud backup has failed me. It doesn't automatically do cloud backup, must be manual. So I lost some content 2x with 2 phones that crapped out. Transferring between phones is a joke as well.

User Profile

José Eduardo

Verified reviewer

Wine and Spirits, 11-50 employees

Used daily for less than 12 months

Review Source: Capterra
This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

OVERALL RATING:

4

EASE OF USE

4

VALUE FOR MONEY

4

FUNCTIONALITY

4

Reviewed February 2019

Worried about Privacy of your document and files?

PROS

The ease of use and of setting up the software. It became part of my daily routine in keeping my files and documents safe and complying with the new EU privacy regulations. Take my word. Use it!

CONS

This is not a Con but more a recommendation. Allow one more device with the same license. It would be great if I could also have it on my mobile device sync.

Rob

Computer Software, 51-200 employees

Review Source: Capterra
This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

4

FUNCTIONALITY

5

Reviewed November 2019

Folder Lock - Secure your File System

I have been using this program for personal purposes. I needed to protect my files on my personal Laptop. I met my needs with this program. It brings me enough features to protect me even with the free version. Of course, for everyone who wants more, there is a paid version that supports much more. I think the price is very cool for this kind of product and it is worth it. So I pretty recommend the program for all of you that want to be protected at home or even in their business.

PROS

I think the software is cool because: 1. It has a lot of features - for me one of the most powerful are folder locking, folder hiding, encrypting your entire drives, even encrypting and protecting your flash-drives. 2. The program can destroy your files which you want not to be recoverable. 3. There is an option to archive your files on secure cloud servers where you can access your files from everywhere. 4. The app can work as a background process and no one will understand it is working. 5. All the management of your folders, encrypted drives or USBs are in one place which I think is very intuitive and you can easily work and manage them. Of course, when you start the app you cannot access it without entering your strong password. 6. The encrypting is 256 bit which for my knowledge is very hard to be broken and decrypted. Most programs work with 128 bit, so this one supports dobule more security. 7. Finally, one powerfull feature for me is that it can clear all your history - either browser or even your windows history and clipboard copies. For me, at this dynamic days, you frequently forget to clear some browsing history which decreases your privacy but with that program, you won't forget and you will clear everything with just one click.

CONS

Through my use, I did not find any difficulties using the program. I think it is easy to use, easy to manage all your private things and you can feel comfortable for protecting your files. Of course, you cannot always be 100 % secured but it is your responsibility to take small care of how you protect yourself. So this program is cool for those people who want to prevent them from stealing their files.

Bryan

Medical Practice, 201-500 employees

Used daily for more than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra
This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

FUNCTIONALITY

5

Reviewed February 2019

Excellent encryption software, easy and complete

Physician: Keep all of my consult dictations in an encrypted folder. easy and great to have all of my consults at my fingertips for rounds etc... Researcher: have to keep data for 10 years... simple and safe. Assessor for Medical College: perfect as I receive LARGE folders full to confidential client information that I am to review... and can move all in to an encrypted folder lock folder kept discretely from all of my other folders and can delete it after my report is complete

PROS

Ease of Use. this encryption software could not be easier to use. as a physician, and a researcher, who also does reviews and audits for our College, I am completely happy with its ease of use. It is exactly what I was looking for in a product.

CONS

Not strictly a con, but in this day of biometrics I'd like to be able to use my finger-print scanner instead for the password... or a 2 stage security process... this will make things more secure as I'm quite certain people are using easy to remember passwords for their main entry which defeats the purpose... there are a ton of extra features that I would be interested in using, if there were a video "hot to" circulated to familiarize us with the products....

Bernard

Mining & Metals, 1,001-5,000 employees

Used daily for more than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra
This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

OVERALL RATING:

4

EASE OF USE

4

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

4

Reviewed February 2019

Bernard's review

I used Folder Lock to protect my files at the office and at home, however, being now retired, I am using it for my personal use at home. The risk of having the files leaving home is nonexistent now, and I do not know if an outside hacker can access the lockers both when opened and closed. In overall, I always had very good support from the Folder Lock team in the past and I thank you them for their appreciated help at that time.

PROS

The version 7 is easy to use and clear. The French version that I am using is perfect( with regard to the language). I do not use all the topics offered by the software; just the file encryption topic, however, I intend to explore the other topics as well.

CONS

1. Sometimes, an open locker cannot be closed by the main Folder Lock window and the directory where the unlocked files are placed cannot be closed; 2. The portable Folfer Lock execution file automatically placed in an USB key does not seem working properly 3. The two above points were not observed with the versions 6.xx of the software

Yacoub

Banking, 11-50 employees

Used daily for more than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra
This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

5

Reviewed February 2019

Excellent Reliable

Privacy and access to certain files are guaranteed. It's not possible for anyone to tamper with any files.

PROS

Easy to use, very simple user interface. Easy to select which files to lock. If you are accidentally in Cap Lock mode, it will inform you so that you don't have to retype the password. Customer service is superb and helped me resolve registration issues when I had to reinstall the OS

CONS

You have to disable it and move your files out if you need to do system restore. Otherwise it will prevent the restore. Although ehen a file is licked its supposed to be invisible, you can still see the name of the file in app specifi directory trees. You can't access it, but you can see it. Then if you go to the D drive directory, you will notice its not there. That alerts that you are hiding something to an intruder.

LEROY

Information Technology and Services, 2-10 employees

Used less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra
This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

FUNCTIONALITY

5

Reviewed February 2019

Good, solid security at a reasonable cost

I work in Healthcare Cyber Security. My first line of defense is to stop invasion. My second line is to make certain all data is securely encrypted against any invasion. If anyone manages to get to my data I want it to be useless to them. Folder Locker does the job in trained hands.

PROS

Initially some issues, mostly due to updates and feature changes and bugs attributed to Windows10 Pro updates. I am a Windows troubleshooter. I was able to workaround most issues until Windows10 finally became somewhat, or should I say, more stable. Haven't had any issues since 10/18. Software is now working as designed and performing well on HDs, SSDs USBs and NAS. No problems and No data loss. Can't say I got any help from Tech support. I am pretty self sufficient on computers, but I bought the software from Amazon. I never expect a lot from free stuff but when I spend money I expect things to work. Folder Locker Does work with the current updated Windows Pro version. Keep it current and its smooth running.

CONS

As with most software issues you have to make sure you recognize the source of the issue. If a problem is found I had to sometime realize I had to wait for an update from Microsoft to fix the bug or for another software update. Caused by security issues and software companies trying to keep up.

Karlee

Retail, 2-10 employees

Used weekly for more than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra
This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

4

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

FUNCTIONALITY

5

Reviewed March 2019

Never have to worry about what others might see again!

My overall experience with Folder Lock has been outstanding. This software is simple to use, reliable, and I have peace of mind knowing my private and valuable documents are safely "locked away."

PROS

This software is great! I store all of my financial documents here along with personal letters, pictures, etc. ~ I also like that I can hide the fact that I even have this program on my computer and I can pull it up by using hot keys. My computer is password protected, but sometimes other people end up using my computer for a bit so it's nice to know there is nothing snooping eyes might uncover. It's also nice to know that if my computer is hacked, my financial information is safe.

CONS

This is so minor in comparison to the advantages; I wish I could upload multiple documents vs. one document at a time. Since I do have to do it one at a time, it would be nice if when I am uploading multiple documents from the same folder, the software would default to the last visited folder as an upload location so I don't have to keep re-navigating to that folder over and over again.

Jerry

Construction, 2-10 employees

Used daily for more than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra
This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

OVERALL RATING:

4

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

4

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

4

FUNCTIONALITY

3

Reviewed February 2019

Love it with Exceptions

Overall, I do like the program. It's easy to use, but I'd love the option, if possible, to set a default Drive Letter for my locked folder so that you don't have to keep selecting it each time.

PROS

Ability to have a hidden/locked folder for company financial files as I travel about the county

CONS

The one frustrating thing about this program is that most times I cannot lock the folder once it is open. Sometimes a reboot won't even solve the issue, then the next reboot or shutdown/startup, the locker will be closed and locked. I will also get several error log files showing in my locked folder, which at this moment, I have six. I've sent these in before, but now I just delete them.

Hanna

Verified reviewer

Law Practice, 11-50 employees

Used daily for more than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra
This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

4

FUNCTIONALITY

5

Reviewed May 2019

My own personal virtual vault

I use this software for my personal benefit as well as our office operations as it provides for an extra layer of protection for sensitive information. And through the USB encryption feature, I have used it to protect company files on occasion I had to lend my USB drive to a friend.

PROS

Folder Lock comes with a simple user interface that makes it so convenient to operate. Moreover, not only does Folder Lock encrypt folders on the computer but also on the USB drive, this is a huge plus for me.

CONS

The precious versions were less secure but I do not have any reservations about the recent version. However, the price is a bit expensive for personal use.

Dennis

Government Administration, 1 employee

Used weekly for more than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra
This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

OVERALL RATING: