What are Microsoft Dynamics GP users saying about the software?

Read what people like you have said about using Microsoft Dynamics GP software through verified user reviews

User Review Highlights

3.87

121 Reviews

5
32
4
53
3
21
2
10
1
5
3.5

Ease-of-use

out of 5
3.5

Customer Support

out of 5
3.5

Value for money

out of 5
4

Functionality

out of 5
  • icon"Easy to use, very functional for our needs. Customer services is great and alwasy quick to respond."
  • icon"Ease of use once you know what you're doing. Ability to build smart lists, which is super helpful."
  • icon"The price is very competitive, comparing to leading-edge solution such as Intacct or NetSuite."
  • icon"Licenses are restricted to full access or read only. Not knowing the amount of data which is stored in entities is also a minus (Especially when you have a lot of data integrations and add-ons)."
  • icon"It’s difficult to correct errors and delete particular transactions. It can become very expensive depending on user support services and the number of users allowed to be on at the same time."
  • icon"Microsoft is no longer developing the product, so it has become very stale. Hardly any new features and no current online resources."

Jump to:

Browse all Microsoft Dynamics GP Reviews

  • Have you used Microsoft Dynamics GP and would like to share your experience with others?
  • Write a Review

Apply Filters:

User Industry

Company Size

Time Used

User Rating

Showing 1 - 25 of 121 reviews

User Profile

Stacy-Ann

Verified reviewer

Company size: 201-500 employees

Industry: Education Management

Time used: Less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra

This review was submitted organically. No incentive was offered
5

Ease-of-use

out of 5
4

Value for money

out of 5
4

Customer support

out of 5
4

Functionality

out of 5

November 2021

Microsoft Dynamics GP - " Achieveing all of your Accounting needs"

Microsoft Dynamics GP has allowed me to perform several accounting tasks efficiently in my previous role as an Accounts Clerk. Therefore, I was able to prepare and process payments and journals, and track costs.

Pros

The software is relatively easing to use and it has a variety of features, which allow users to carry out tasks related to Accounts Payable, Accounts Receivable and Bank Reconciliation.

Cons

The product is a bit expensive. Additionally, if the software crashes or stops working, it may take some time for the issue to be resolved.

Anonymous

Company size: 10,000+ employees

Time used: Less than 2 years

Review Source: GetApp

This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.
5

Ease-of-use

out of 5
5

Value for money

out of 5
5

Customer support

out of 5
5

Functionality

out of 5

November 2020

User friendly and versatile ERP

I really liked using and implementing this ERP as users tends to like it and adpat very easy to it

Pros

I work for several years as a consultant implementing Microsoft Dynamics and I likes how user friendly this ERP is, is compatible with every Microsoft software, it is versatile and easy to use

Cons

It is not as strong in the manufacturing module as the most famous ERPs as it lacks on some concepts for manufacturing best practices, but for a small or medium company this ERP is more than enough

Anonymous

Company size: 1 employee

Time used: More than 2 years

Review Source: GetApp

This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.
5

Ease-of-use

out of 5
3

Value for money

out of 5
4

Customer support

out of 5
4

Functionality

out of 5

September 2020

Not quite caught up to newer software

I have used Microsoft Dynamics GP for over 20 years for various companies. The distribution modules are pretty strong and I have used those in many industries. There are a lot of options available now for automation and workflows which save time as well as missed opportunities. I have also been able to connect Dynamics GP to many external industry specific programs, saving data entry and errors.

Pros

It has a very strong financial backbone. Users are forced to view and verify accounting data during transactions in many areas. Since the software has been around for many years, there are a lot of ISVs offering add-on products for various needs. The backend is strong in that it is MS SQL Server.

Cons

There are some features that do not automatically come as part of the main package. Reporting, operational and financial, has been all over the place and is still not where it needs to be. There is not a lot of remote capabilities.

Reasons for choosing Microsoft Dynamics GP

Dynamics GP is more robust than Quickbooks and has more security features. It focuses on maintaining an accurate set of books rather than just speed of entry. Accumatica did not seem to force a lot of awareness about general ledger aspect of transactions and had a lack of tracing/linking to source transactions.

Larisa

Company size: 51-200 employees

Industry: Food Production

Time used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra

This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.
4

Ease-of-use

out of 5
4

Functionality

out of 5

April 2022

Helpful Software

Pros

Use this program to manage feed company and useful program

Cons

Sometimes this program is difficult to navigate, but eventually you are able to find what you are needing.

Una

Industry: Electrical/Electronic Manufacturing

Time used: More than 2 years

3

Ease-of-use

out of 5
3

Value for money

out of 5
3.5

Customer support

out of 5
4

Functionality

out of 5

September 2016

Solid mid market ERP system

Pros

It is a comprehensive solution, with solid add-ons to compensate for deficits in the core system. We run a manufacturing operation with deep. multi level BOMs and FIFO costing, GP manages it very well. AP, AR and GL are solid. The smartlists are a nice reporting tool, where you can drop the data into excel for easy analysis.

Cons

The front end has a clunky feel. On the back end trying to find the table the data is stored in takes a lot of time so the learning curve from a reporting sense is very long. The SQL tables are sparse - so you could end up having to add several tables to a query just so you can connect the one table you need. Report writing process is long and arduous initially. It is really expensive to upgrade. Other solutions in past lives have required minimal tech support to upgrade, this is a major process to upgrade and therefore very expensive.

Michael

Company size: 501-1,000 employees

Industry: Accounting

Time used: Less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra

This review was submitted organically. No incentive was offered
3

Ease-of-use

out of 5
4

Value for money

out of 5
1

Customer support

out of 5
3

Functionality

out of 5

February 2021

Easy to use but some quirks to learn

Its a great product and it allows for massive amounts of data in the form of transactions to be handled and reconciled easily. its a must have for any mid to large sized business

Pros

I love the ability to run smart list and then run specific queries drilling down to specific vendors and dates. it makes reconciling vendor statements a breeze. i also love the integration to be able to run transfers from other software to be able to auto enter retail invoices and gas sales. taking a way the manual entry nightmare of most retail situations.

Cons

I don't like that once something is entered it cant be deleted. you have to void it to remove it but it still will show up on all of the reports. also there are allot of quirky ways you need to learn to use the software that don't transfer over from similar software use.

Reasons for choosing Microsoft Dynamics GP

we chose dynamics because of the price point for one but we also liked the ease of use of the software to integrate with non intuit products that you cant find on QuickBooks enterprise

Gerardo

Company size: 11-50 employees

Industry: Information Technology and Services

Time used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra

This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.
4

Ease-of-use

out of 5
4

Value for money

out of 5
4

Functionality

out of 5

February 2022

Almost an excellent ERP, except for one little thing

It is very usefull to keep the tracking up to date and is so easy to use. I really love the mobile app because it synchronize with my contacts list on the phone.

Pros

I really like the ease of use for register the tracking of marketing opportunities and leads.

Cons

The Outlook add-on to synchronize taskts never worked properly, it hangs the Outlook console and I had to uninstall it, I tried it many times across 3 years and I already gave up.

Anonymous

Company size: 201-500 employees

Time used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra

This review was submitted organically. No incentive was offered
4

Ease-of-use

out of 5
4

Value for money

out of 5
4

Customer support

out of 5
5

Functionality

out of 5

March 2022

Functional for accounting purposes

Great accounting software back then and still functional but there are better options nowadays.

Pros

Upgrading from SAM accounting software, Microsoft GP seemed a great step up to a strong accounting software.

Cons

The onboarding of finance stuff into MGP was not easy and required a lot of training. This consequently made talent acquisition unattractive.

Isaac

Company size: 51-200 employees

Industry: Information Technology and Services

Time used: More than 2 years

Review Source

This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.
5

Ease-of-use

out of 5
5

Value for money

out of 5
5

Customer support

out of 5
5

Functionality

out of 5

March 2022

Nice application for digital experience

Working well as a hub between my team has brought in an automated work experience.

Pros

Application is easy to use and configure for any type of customer.

Cons

A bit expensive though but nothing good comes easy.

Reasons for choosing Microsoft Dynamics GP

Because it came through a high referral, afterwards, it was worth it.

Gregory

Company size: 1,001-5,000 employees

Industry: Construction

Time used: Less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra

This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.
2

Ease-of-use

out of 5
3

Value for money

out of 5
4

Functionality

out of 5

October 2021

So many options so little taste

Microsoft Dynamics can be a great tool with many options and greatly integrates with all Microsoft Products, but it feels like working on a decade-old software , some customisation and general overhaul would be great

Pros

The software is robust and has plenty of options as well as what you've to expect from Microsoft products - ease of use and integration.

Cons

UI/UX is not the best and lacks taste as well can feel overwhelming. Without a good internet connection, the program lags a lot(hard to say where the fault is in this case).

Zahid

Company size: 201-500 employees

Industry: Utilities

Review Source: Capterra

This review was submitted organically. No incentive was offered
4

Ease-of-use

out of 5
4

Value for money

out of 5
5

Customer support

out of 5
5

Functionality

out of 5

March 2022

POC & POV of the Product

one system for finance and Payroll

Pros

easy to use resources are easily available online fits to our organization

Cons

not easy to integrate with other systems i.e. on-premises

Reasons for switching to Microsoft Dynamics GP

unifying the systems for HR & Finance departments

User Profile

Randy

Verified reviewer

Company size: 1 employee

Industry: Accounting

Time used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra

This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.
2

Ease-of-use

out of 5
1

Value for money

out of 5
4

Customer support

out of 5
4

Functionality

out of 5

December 2021

Microsoft Dynamics GP - Great product in its day (27 years ago)

Started supporting GP in 1994 when the product was in version 1.X. Back then, it showed promise but was slow, unstable and buggy. After GP was acquired by Microsoft in 2000, the mandatory switch to SQL server helped with stability, but technology it was based on never really improved. Starting in 2006, I converted ALL of my GP clients to various versions of Quickbooks. No client regretted the switch,

Pros

Owned by Microsoft, the largest player around.

Cons

GP was developed in the early 90s. Still uses same technology. Other platforms developed later runs rings around GP.

Reasons for choosing Microsoft Dynamics GP

At the time (in the 90s), Windows based accounting software was a rarity. Today, QuickBooks dominates teh market of small and medium sized businesses. That market was abandoned by Microsoft when it raised prices out of reach by those business. GP is designed for the midmarket, which can be served by QB Enterprise which similar functionality and lower cost.

User Profile

Rao

Verified reviewer

Company size: 501-1,000 employees

Industry: Railroad Manufacture

Time used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra

This review was submitted organically. No incentive was offered
5

Ease-of-use

out of 5
4

Value for money

out of 5
3

Customer support

out of 5
4

Functionality

out of 5

August 2021

Ease of Use

Excellent product and highly recommended for use

Pros

excellent product available in the market and have been using over 10 years and suits our business needs

Cons

UI can be better and we found that the support is not that great

Reasons for choosing Microsoft Dynamics GP

It has better business support needs for us

Basil

Company size: 5,001-10,000 employees

Industry: Textiles

Time used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra

This review was submitted organically. No incentive was offered
5

Ease-of-use

out of 5
5

Value for money

out of 5
5

Customer support

out of 5
5

Functionality

out of 5

January 2021

Microsoft dynamics GP is a good ERP software package.

Very good experience with this software.very easy to use and good speed

Pros

Microsoft dynamics GP has a very effective PP module.It is used for production Planning and very easily everyone can make Master production schedule & Material Requirement plans..

Cons

It requires more updates and developments

Edis

Company size: 11-50 employees

Industry: Transportation/Trucking/Railroad

Time used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra

This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.
3

Ease-of-use

out of 5
2

Value for money

out of 5
2

Customer support

out of 5
2

Functionality

out of 5

March 2022

Not for Small Business

Good overall.

Pros

Available features worked well for our needs

Cons

Adjusting entries could be time consuming when necessary

Maci

Company size: 51-200 employees

Industry: Hospital & Health Care

Time used: Less than 12 months

Review Source: Capterra

This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.
3

Ease-of-use

out of 5
4

Value for money

out of 5
4

Functionality

out of 5

December 2021

Accounts Payable = Microsoft GP

Pros

I appreciate the ease of access to all functions in payroll and accounts payable all within the Microsoft GP interface.

Cons

The program integrates well with Greenshades... I just wish it would integrate with PlanSource.

Mike

Company size: 51-200 employees

Industry: Construction

Time used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra

This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.
3

Ease-of-use

out of 5
4

Functionality

out of 5

October 2021

Takes some getting used to

Pros

Dynamics has all the features necessary for financial management and reporting

Cons

It has taken our team quite a while to get up to speed with Dynamics, I think the UI could be more intuitive and some of the tools could be better laid out

Terry

Industry: Food & Beverages

Time used: Less than 2 years

1.5

Ease-of-use

out of 5
1.5

Customer support

out of 5
2.5

Functionality

out of 5

March 2016

Underwhelming Business Optimization

Pros

GP has the potential to do much of what you would expect from an enterprise software system.

Cons

Inspite of its potential to integrate many of the essential information activities within a business, GP falls short in making this an easy or intuitive task. A particular problem for our business is that we receive product in cases; however, GP apparently works in pounds. Therefore, we have had to purchase a third party software to dual track / translate cases and pounds --- this is a clunky process. Substantial custom Sequel code had to be written give users visibility to key data. Although we operate in the Seattle area, high quality VAR support options are limited.

James

Company size: 51-200 employees

Industry: Electrical/Electronic Manufacturing

Time used: Less than 2 years

Review Source

This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.
3

Ease-of-use

out of 5
3

Value for money

out of 5
3

Customer support

out of 5
4

Functionality

out of 5

September 2017

Senior Corporate Accountant

I love GP. I have for years. I've been a GP consultant, and have been a user for eight years. Before making the decision to select an accounting package, ask such questions as: What types of financial statements do I want? How detailed do I want them? Do I want to create separate entities or will departments work? GP has a very simplistic, onboard report writer. But if you need the ability to customize your reports, you should consider FRx. I believe FRx may be called something different now. It has a very advanced set of allocation accounts that I highly recommend to anyone that has to allocate expenses.

Pros

t's role tailored software that's easy to implement and use It looks and feels familiar to software your people use every day: Microsoft Office Excel, Outlook, and Word It enables fast, relevant access to current and complete information about your business activities and operations It goes beyond basic reporting and extends insight across your entire organization It seamlessly integrates with your other technology platforms It permits one to over 1,000 concurrent users It's highly customizable with dozens of industry-specific solutions It automates and standardizes recurring tasks It's scalable, versatile and flexible

Cons

With respect to the allocations, once the expense is entered into the allocation account, you lose the ability to run any detail on just the total of the expense. It would be nice if you could run a trial balance on the allocation accounts the same way you can with regular accounts. I've always thought security set up could be a bit simpler. It actually has gotten better through the years. Specifically, with eight separate entities, it would be nice to have a "master" setup where you could call up one group entity, assign the users rights, and then be finished. Currently, whenever I have a new user, I have to call up each individual entity and select all of the features I want the user to have. That means I have to do eight steps for each user.

Thanh T.

Verified reviewer

Company size: 201-500 employees

Industry: Philanthropy

Time used: More than 2 years

Review Source: GetApp

This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.
4

Ease-of-use

out of 5
4

Value for money

out of 5
4

Customer support

out of 5
4

Functionality

out of 5

May 2018

GP is a functional product, but the user experience is not the best

Pros

The software is relatively easy to use. The biggest advantage of GP is probably it is a Microsoft product, meaning GP works well with other Microsoft products, such as the Office suite. The learning curve is also not that steep if users are willing to learn through various blogs, videos (especially YouTube), and through Microsoft web site. The price is very competitive, comparing to leading-edge solution such as Intacct or NetSuite.

Cons

I am a big fan of anything on the Cloud. Our controller spends lots of time to upgrade GP through different version over the years (GP is hosted either on premise or through third-party vendor's server. Of course the upgrade or any troubleshooting is not that bad with the right support from a third vendor. However, this is not value-added function in accounting/finance. If I have a choice nowadays, I will go with Intacct or NetSuite. With a Cloud solution, users will have very little downtime. With an on-premise solution, at least in our experiences, we have lots of downtimes. Also for some reasons the software requires us to reboot the backend server from time to time due to software bugs.

Wassim

Company size: 51-200 employees

Industry: Computer Software

Time used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra

This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.
2

Ease-of-use

out of 5
5

Value for money

out of 5
1

Customer support

out of 5
5

Functionality

out of 5

August 2020

Reliable software

Good experience

Pros

It's very reliable, scalable, has deep functionality and is well served by a large number of add-on vertical and other solutions

Cons

The user interface is quite old and does not resemble what modern day users would expect

Reasons for choosing Microsoft Dynamics GP

Deeper functionality

Judith

Company size: 51-200 employees

Industry: Industrial Automation

Time used: Less than 6 months

3

Ease-of-use

out of 5
4

Value for money

out of 5
5

Customer support

out of 5
3

Functionality

out of 5

December 2016

Microsoft Dynamics GP Manufacturing Rave

I am a true believer in Microsoft GP products. This accounting software, although a bit cumbersome to initially learn, is well worth the education. The ease with which you can navigate from customer related transactions, to back end AR functions, and over to strictly financial entries, is incomparable. Many accounting software systems, although quick and easy, do not give you a clear overview of distribution and coding layout. GP allows you to clearly access what has been recorded, and makes it easy to reverse anything if necessary. The "Smart List" is one of it's finest features. This tool allows you to not only access reports, but to streamline, and create reports that are tailored specifically for your needs. I believe this is one of the best systems out there for processing of manufactured goods, and inventory control. I highly recommend Microsoft Dynamics GP - Manufacturing!

Pros

Report Building Distribution and coding clarity Easy navigation Excellent Customer support

Cons

Product does bog down occasionally, if too many people are on it ( usually more a month end kind of issue) Very detailed - makes for slower learning of system **However, in the end is worth the work**

Arshad

Company size: 201-500 employees

Industry: Philanthropy

Time used: Less than 2 years

Review Source

This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.
5

Ease-of-use

out of 5
3

Value for money

out of 5
3

Customer support

out of 5
3

Functionality

out of 5

September 2017

Easy to use, convenient to have web access, but lack of features

A decent system to use, but was disappointing due to the lack of flexibility in terms of generating reports/export functions - not as great as I would have expected from a Microsoft product.

Pros

-Web access -Single database -Integration with a variety of reporting suites -A widely use system since it is Microsoft based, and a huge community to get help with if there are any issues

Cons

Not truly web-based as it relies on the program to be housed on a server; -Limited in terms of GL reports - cannot jump ranges of accounts, or have multiple ranges in a single report like our old system -takes a while to load reports like SmartList Favourites, and does not have as much flexibility as our old system -freezes quite a lot -tax limitations on the Accounts Payable module -Desktop version slow

Carson

Company size: 51-200 employees

Industry: Retail

Time used: Less than 12 months

Review Source

This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.
3

Ease-of-use

out of 5
4

Value for money

out of 5
1

Customer support

out of 5
5

Functionality

out of 5

November 2018

Dynamics GP High end accounting software thats usable

Great product, huge upgrade over SBM, but could be so much better if they streamlined the processes, and made it easier to find help in setting everything up. typical microsoft where user friendliness is a concept they simply dont understand

Pros

Can do most everything you can think of, workflow makes sense, cheque writing and invoice entry features are easy to use, once youve got the report functions figured out, can customize them to your needs for the most part

Cons

way too many keystrokes to perform the entries you need to make, some reports such an income statement are incomplete with no way to create them the way you want, error messages are pretty much useless unless youre an experienced user, even then, they can be difficult to cipher, looking for answers for how to do things is very poor, and because they keep updating/changing the interface without warning, many of the steps shown are out of date, thereby useless

Shane

Industry: Accounting

Time used: Less than 12 months

3.5

Ease-of-use

out of 5
2.5

Customer support

out of 5
4

Functionality

out of 5

March 2015

ERP with a familiar MS Office feel

Pros

Microsoft Dynamics GP does a great job of integrating into the other mainstream Microsoft productivity applications many organizations implement, and it offers some great familiarity that helps someone new to the software feel more comfortable with using the application. Because it is a Microsoft product, there is also healthy mainstream/community support via online forums. And, of course, logical access is simplified thanks to integration with Microsoft's Active Directory but you may also opt for SQL Server database logical access as well.

Cons

Microsoft Dynamics GP is very light on Customer Relationship Management (CRM) features. Customer accounts and details can be stored in the software for invoicing and other accounting functions, but much is left to be desired. Microsoft instead points you to buying additional software, such as their Dynamics CRM product which integrates nicely with Dynamics GP but adds on additional licensing costs.

Showing 1 - 25 of 121 reviews
Microsoft Dynamics GP

Microsoft Dynamics GP

3.87/5 out of 121 reviews