User Reviews Overview

Feature Ratings

Ease-of-use

3.5 / 5

Value for Money

3.5 / 5

Customer Support

3.5 / 5

Functionality

4.0 / 5

Ratings Breakdown

5 stars

(28)

28

4 stars

(46)

46

3 stars

(18)

18

2 stars

(10)

10

1 stars

(5)

5

  • Pros

  • "I love the smartlists. I also love the adding products available to handle situations like sales taxes. "

  • "It's very reliable, scalable, has deep functionality and is well served by a large number of add-on vertical and other solutions"

  • "I am completely in love with program, it has been great to use it. It has been very useful and efficient whenever I find myself in a hurry."

  • Cons

  • "It is not as strong in the manufacturing module as the most famous ERPs as it lacks on some concepts for manufacturing best practices, but for a small or medium company this ERP is more than enough"

  • "The integration is great but it can add on to your overall system cost quickly. It also does not integrate well with non-Microsoft products."

  • "Canned reports not very user friendly. Too many "bolt-on" packages and not enough "built in" functionality, but this improves with every release."

Browse Microsoft Dynamics GP Reviews

Filter by:

Sort by:
 

Showing -49 - 0 of 107 results

November 2020

Anonymous

Verified Reviewer

Company Size: 10,000+ employees

Time Used: Less than 2 years

Review Source: GetApp


Ease-of-use

5.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

5.0

November 2020

User friendly and versatile ERP

I really liked using and implementing this ERP as users tends to like it and adpat very easy to it

Pros

I work for several years as a consultant implementing Microsoft Dynamics and I likes how user friendly this ERP is, is compatible with every Microsoft software, it is versatile and easy to use

Cons

It is not as strong in the manufacturing module as the most famous ERPs as it lacks on some concepts for manufacturing best practices, but for a small or medium company this ERP is more than enough

September 2020

Anonymous

Verified Reviewer

Company Size: 1 employee

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: GetApp


Ease-of-use

5.0

Value for money

3.0

Customer support

4.0

Functionality

4.0

September 2020

Not quite caught up to newer software

I have used Microsoft Dynamics GP for over 20 years for various companies. The distribution modules are pretty strong and I have used those in many industries. There are a lot of options available now for automation and workflows which save time as well as missed opportunities. I have also been able to connect Dynamics GP to many external industry specific programs, saving data entry and errors.

Pros

It has a very strong financial backbone. Users are forced to view and verify accounting data during transactions in many areas. Since the software has been around for many years, there are a lot of ISVs offering add-on products for various needs. The backend is strong in that it is MS SQL Server.

Cons

There are some features that do not automatically come as part of the main package. Reporting, operational and financial, has been all over the place and is still not where it needs to be. There is not a lot of remote capabilities.

Reasons for Choosing Microsoft Dynamics GP

Dynamics GP is more robust than Quickbooks and has more security features. It focuses on maintaining an accurate set of books rather than just speed of entry. Accumatica did not seem to force a lot of awareness about general ledger aspect of transactions and had a lack of tracing/linking to source transactions.

February 2021

Michael from Holiuday Oil Company

Company Size: 501-1,000 employees

Industry: Accounting

Time Used: Less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

3.0

Value for money

4.0

Customer support

1.0

Functionality

3.0

February 2021

Easy to use but some quirks to learn

Its a great product and it allows for massive amounts of data in the form of transactions to be handled and reconciled easily. its a must have for any mid to large sized business

Pros

I love the ability to run smart list and then run specific queries drilling down to specific vendors and dates. it makes reconciling vendor statements a breeze. i also love the integration to be able to run transfers from other software to be able to auto enter retail invoices and gas sales. taking a way the manual entry nightmare of most retail situations.

Cons

I don't like that once something is entered it cant be deleted. you have to void it to remove it but it still will show up on all of the reports. also there are allot of quirky ways you need to learn to use the software that don't transfer over from similar software use.

Reasons for Choosing Microsoft Dynamics GP

we chose dynamics because of the price point for one but we also liked the ease of use of the software to integrate with non intuit products that you cant find on QuickBooks enterprise

September 2016

Una from Rypos Inc.,

Industry: Electrical/Electronic Manufacturing

Time Used: More than 2 years


Ease-of-use

3.0

Value for money

3.0

Customer support

3.5

Functionality

4.0

September 2016

Solid mid market ERP system

Pros

It is a comprehensive solution, with solid add-ons to compensate for deficits in the core system. We run a manufacturing operation with deep. multi level BOMs and FIFO costing, GP manages it very well. AP, AR and GL are solid. The smartlists are a nice reporting tool, where you can drop the data into excel for easy analysis.

Cons

The front end has a clunky feel. On the back end trying to find the table the data is stored in takes a lot of time so the learning curve from a reporting sense is very long. The SQL tables are sparse - so you could end up having to add several tables to a query just so you can connect the one table you need. Report writing process is long and arduous initially. It is really expensive to upgrade. Other solutions in past lives have required minimal tech support to upgrade, this is a major process to upgrade and therefore very expensive.

September 2017

James from Biocare Medical LLC

Company Size: 51-200 employees

Industry: Electrical/Electronic Manufacturing

Time Used: Less than 2 years

Review Source


Ease-of-use

3.0

Value for money

3.0

Customer support

3.0

Functionality

4.0

September 2017

Senior Corporate Accountant

I love GP. I have for years. I've been a GP consultant, and have been a user for eight years. Before making the decision to select an accounting package, ask such questions as: What types of financial statements do I want? How detailed do I want them? Do I want to create separate entities or will departments work? GP has a very simplistic, onboard report writer. But if you need the ability to customize your reports, you should consider FRx. I believe FRx may be called something different now. It has a very advanced set of allocation accounts that I highly recommend to anyone that has to allocate expenses.

Pros

t's role tailored software that's easy to implement and use It looks and feels familiar to software your people use every day: Microsoft Office Excel, Outlook, and Word It enables fast, relevant access to current and complete information about your business activities and operations It goes beyond basic reporting and extends insight across your entire organization It seamlessly integrates with your other technology platforms It permits one to over 1,000 concurrent users It's highly customizable with dozens of industry-specific solutions It automates and standardizes recurring tasks It's scalable, versatile and flexible

Cons

With respect to the allocations, once the expense is entered into the allocation account, you lose the ability to run any detail on just the total of the expense. It would be nice if you could run a trial balance on the allocation accounts the same way you can with regular accounts. I've always thought security set up could be a bit simpler. It actually has gotten better through the years. Specifically, with eight separate entities, it would be nice to have a "master" setup where you could call up one group entity, assign the users rights, and then be finished. Currently, whenever I have a new user, I have to call up each individual entity and select all of the features I want the user to have. That means I have to do eight steps for each user.

April 2018

Thanh T. from FrontStream

Verified Reviewer

Company Size: 201-500 employees

Industry: Philanthropy

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: GetApp


Ease-of-use

4.0

Value for money

4.0

Customer support

4.0

Functionality

4.0

April 2018

GP is a functional product, but the user experience is not the best

Pros

The software is relatively easy to use. The biggest advantage of GP is probably it is a Microsoft product, meaning GP works well with other Microsoft products, such as the Office suite. The learning curve is also not that steep if users are willing to learn through various blogs, videos (especially YouTube), and through Microsoft web site. The price is very competitive, comparing to leading-edge solution such as Intacct or NetSuite.

Cons

I am a big fan of anything on the Cloud. Our controller spends lots of time to upgrade GP through different version over the years (GP is hosted either on premise or through third-party vendor's server. Of course the upgrade or any troubleshooting is not that bad with the right support from a third vendor. However, this is not value-added function in accounting/finance. If I have a choice nowadays, I will go with Intacct or NetSuite. With a Cloud solution, users will have very little downtime. With an on-premise solution, at least in our experiences, we have lots of downtimes. Also for some reasons the software requires us to reboot the backend server from time to time due to software bugs.

August 2020

Wassim from Computel

Company Size: 51-200 employees

Industry: Computer Software

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

2.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

1.0

Functionality

5.0

August 2020

Reliable software

Good experience

Pros

It's very reliable, scalable, has deep functionality and is well served by a large number of add-on vertical and other solutions

Cons

The user interface is quite old and does not resemble what modern day users would expect

Reasons for Choosing Microsoft Dynamics GP

Deeper functionality

December 2016

Judith from Camex Equipment Sales & Rentals Inc.

Company Size: 51-200 employees

Industry: Industrial Automation

Time Used: Less than 6 months


Ease-of-use

3.0

Value for money

4.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

3.0

December 2016

Microsoft Dynamics GP Manufacturing Rave

I am a true believer in Microsoft GP products. This accounting software, although a bit cumbersome to initially learn, is well worth the education. The ease with which you can navigate from customer related transactions, to back end AR functions, and over to strictly financial entries, is incomparable. Many accounting software systems, although quick and easy, do not give you a clear overview of distribution and coding layout. GP allows you to clearly access what has been recorded, and makes it easy to reverse anything if necessary. The "Smart List" is one of it's finest features. This tool allows you to not only access reports, but to streamline, and create reports that are tailored specifically for your needs. I believe this is one of the best systems out there for processing of manufactured goods, and inventory control. I highly recommend Microsoft Dynamics GP - Manufacturing!

Pros

Report Building Distribution and coding clarity Easy navigation Excellent Customer support

Cons

Product does bog down occasionally, if too many people are on it ( usually more a month end kind of issue) Very detailed - makes for slower learning of system **However, in the end is worth the work**

January 2021

Basil from Kitex Garments Pvt ltd

Company Size: 5,001-10,000 employees

Industry: Textiles

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

5.0

January 2021

Microsoft dynamics GP is a good ERP software package.

Very good experience with this software.very easy to use and good speed

Pros

Microsoft dynamics GP has a very effective PP module.It is used for production Planning and very easily everyone can make Master production schedule & Material Requirement plans..

Cons

It requires more updates and developments

February 2021

Meghan from Cornell College

Company Size: 201-500 employees

Industry: Education Management

Time Used: Less than 2 years

Review Source


Ease-of-use

1.0

Value for money

1.0

Customer support

1.0

Functionality

1.0

February 2021

DO NOT USE FOR PAYROLL

I hate it so much that I am writing this review on a Friday night, while I wait to see if I anything I or IT can do will make it possible for my workers to get paid on time next week.

Pros

Nothing. I even hate the cutesy "wait while we get things ready for you" splash screen.

Cons

This is a terrible, horrible, very bad way for people to turn in timecards. I don't know whether it is actually saving the accountants any time, but it has turned the bi-weekly chore of turning in my own timecard and approving my subordinates' timecards a nightmare. It is kludgy and confusing, and about every other pay period something breaks and it takes hours to figure out what is wrong. This is a universal experience with the system for every employee and supervisor I have spoken with, except that many folks have had worse problems--some of our employees have gone up to two months without getting paid! It's incompetence bordering on criminal negligence.

Reasons for Switching to Microsoft Dynamics GP

No choice--IT thought this would be better, I guess.

September 2017

Arshad from MS Society of Canada

Company Size: 201-500 employees

Industry: Philanthropy

Time Used: Less than 2 years

Review Source


Ease-of-use

5.0

Value for money

3.0

Customer support

3.0

Functionality

3.0

September 2017

Easy to use, convenient to have web access, but lack of features

A decent system to use, but was disappointing due to the lack of flexibility in terms of generating reports/export functions - not as great as I would have expected from a Microsoft product.

Pros

-Web access -Single database -Integration with a variety of reporting suites -A widely use system since it is Microsoft based, and a huge community to get help with if there are any issues

Cons

Not truly web-based as it relies on the program to be housed on a server; -Limited in terms of GL reports - cannot jump ranges of accounts, or have multiple ranges in a single report like our old system -takes a while to load reports like SmartList Favourites, and does not have as much flexibility as our old system -freezes quite a lot -tax limitations on the Accounts Payable module -Desktop version slow

November 2018

Carson from Cudmore Group Inc

Company Size: 51-200 employees

Industry: Retail

Time Used: Less than 12 months

Review Source


Ease-of-use

3.0

Value for money

4.0

Customer support

1.0

Functionality

5.0

November 2018

Dynamics GP High end accounting software thats usable

Great product, huge upgrade over SBM, but could be so much better if they streamlined the processes, and made it easier to find help in setting everything up. typical microsoft where user friendliness is a concept they simply dont understand

Pros

Can do most everything you can think of, workflow makes sense, cheque writing and invoice entry features are easy to use, once youve got the report functions figured out, can customize them to your needs for the most part

Cons

way too many keystrokes to perform the entries you need to make, some reports such an income statement are incomplete with no way to create them the way you want, error messages are pretty much useless unless youre an experienced user, even then, they can be difficult to cipher, looking for answers for how to do things is very poor, and because they keep updating/changing the interface without warning, many of the steps shown are out of date, thereby useless

March 2015

Shane from GT LLP

Industry: Accounting

Time Used: Less than 12 months


Ease-of-use

3.5

Customer support

2.5

Functionality

4.0

March 2015

ERP with a familiar MS Office feel

Pros

Microsoft Dynamics GP does a great job of integrating into the other mainstream Microsoft productivity applications many organizations implement, and it offers some great familiarity that helps someone new to the software feel more comfortable with using the application. Because it is a Microsoft product, there is also healthy mainstream/community support via online forums. And, of course, logical access is simplified thanks to integration with Microsoft's Active Directory but you may also opt for SQL Server database logical access as well.

Cons

Microsoft Dynamics GP is very light on Customer Relationship Management (CRM) features. Customer accounts and details can be stored in the software for invoicing and other accounting functions, but much is left to be desired. Microsoft instead points you to buying additional software, such as their Dynamics CRM product which integrates nicely with Dynamics GP but adds on additional licensing costs.

November 2018

Jana from Lifeways Inc

Company Size: 201-500 employees

Industry: Civic & Social Organization

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source


Ease-of-use

4.0

Value for money

4.0

Customer support

4.0

Functionality

4.0

November 2018

2018 Is Better than the last

Pros

I like the fact that I can sort things easier. For example when I'm looking for a specific invoice I can sort by date document type, number, etc. It makes things much easier. I know there are many things as a company we are not utilizing and would like to be able to.

Cons

I feel like there should be more advanced options when it comes to running such things as Trial Balance. I also wish there was more help with smart list. Maybe some kind of training video in the help module.

April 2016

Tony from Lifetime Products

Industry: Management Consulting

Time Used: Less than 12 months


Ease-of-use

2.5

Functionality

4.5

April 2016

Very Powerful Tool that can be Difficult to Use

Pros

Overall, Microsoft Dynamics GP is a powerful and complex accounting and financial management tool. My favorite parts of the software is that the reports are customizable, and there is a lot you can do with them. Another positive is that the forms and records offer a tremendous amount of detail. An important feature of MS Dynamics GP is the multiple dashboards available, though they can be overwhelming. One of the more useful ones is the Business Analyzer, which gives multiple options of which KPIs and other bits of data are shown and displayed in separate windows. These can be re-sized and moved around on your monitor so that what you need to see can be seen when you need to see it, if that makes sense.

Cons

The main negative is that it can be difficult to use. The processes for doing thing are not intuitive and are unlike other similar systems. The entire user interface feels like something from the early 2000s. Compared to some of the similar products, I believe Dynamics GP would require a bit more training for the general user.

May 2018

Linda from PSCU

Company Size: 501-1,000 employees

Industry: Banking

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source


Ease-of-use

5.0

Value for money

4.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

5.0

May 2018

Microsoft Dynamics GP

Pros

This system is laid out like a folder on your PC, making it intuitive for most users to learn. The import/export functionality is robust and allowed my organization to seamlessly integrate external website sales into the order processing/accounting module. This was possible because the solution is sequel based.

Cons

In order to share reports, the solution requires SharePoint, and there are times when the system processes slowly.

February 2017

Elaine from Digital Ally Inc

Company Size: 201-500 employees

Industry: Electrical/Electronic Manufacturing

Time Used: More than 2 years


Ease-of-use

4.0

Value for money

4.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

4.0

February 2017

I recommend Microsoft Dynamics GP

I've used this software for 6 years and expect to keep doing so. There is so much support from our Microsoft partner and GPUG.

Pros

I love the smartlists. I also love the adding products available to handle situations like sales taxes.

Cons

There are many different reporting options available to use but are there ever really enough.

September 2017

Lee from IC System Inc

Company Size: 501-1,000 employees

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source


Ease-of-use

4.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

4.0

Functionality

5.0

September 2017

Great ERP for Small to MidSize Businesses

Dynamics GP is an ERP that is flexible and dynamic. it provides all the tools a small to midsize business needs.

Pros

Easy and Intuitive UI that leads to quick learning curve for all areas of Accounting. GL, AP, and AR modules are top notch. Integrates with many 3rd party applications for seemless sharing of data to enhance BI needs.

Cons

Lots of windows and a slightly confusing card structure. SmartLists can be cumbersome to create, save, and manage.

December 2017

Summer from Clarkson Chemical Company

Company Size: 2-10 employees

Industry: Retail

Time Used: Less than 12 months

Review Source


Ease-of-use

2.0

Value for money

4.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

4.0

December 2017

A challenge to learn

Each portal operates under the same method which makes it easier to understand when moving through the many facets.

Pros

It has many functions and levels to operate a multifunctional facility. It includes Financials, Purchasing, Sales, Administrative, and a multitude of reports, inquiries, and lists that can be customized and modified to the users preferences.

Cons

There’s a lot to learn about the functions of this software. It’s difficult to correct errors and delete particular transactions. It can become very expensive depending on user support services and the number of users allowed to be on at the same time. Make sure that this is the right software for the functions of your company Before purchasing. The annual renewal can be quite expensive as well.

August 2018

Michael from Inacio

Company Size: 11-50 employees

Industry: Management Consulting

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source


Ease-of-use

3.0

Value for money

1.0

Customer support

2.0

Functionality

2.0

August 2018

Dying product

It is too bad that this product is being left behind as the push becomes for Dynamics 365, which is a completely different product and will require a complete reimplementation (if the features we need are even in there).

Pros

Used to be very easy to use and was cutting edge for several years. Great functionality for distribution.

Cons

Microsoft is no longer developing the product, so it has become very stale. Hardly any new features and no current online resources.

September 2018

Tesa from Groupe Nouveau Concept

Company Size: 2-10 employees

Industry: Construction

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source


Ease-of-use

3.0

Value for money

4.0

Customer support

4.0

Functionality

4.0

September 2018

Simple and easy to add SKU bulk tool. Appreciable dynamic data integration

Pros

The easiness to start even if you've never used a ERP before and tracking things (contracts, clients and other documents) in one place for your clients is a plus.

Cons

Limits in the customization areas. licenses are restricted to full access or read only. Not knowing the amount of data which is stored in entities is also a minus (Especially when you have a lot of data integrations and add-ons).

February 2017

Ron from Montgomery YMCA and Alabama 911 Board

Company Size: 501-1,000 employees

Industry: Philanthropy

Time Used: More than 2 years


Ease-of-use

3.0

Value for money

3.0

Customer support

4.0

Functionality

5.0

February 2017

Great Program

Very good program Functionality is better than any program I have used

Pros

Extremely easy to use for a variety of situations. Never had any unexpected errors as we did with other programs. Used it for 23 Branches and 15 program areas. The ability to design your on statements with the report writer was great

Cons

Pricey Needs its own budget program. We had to design one and import/integrate the numbers in which was a headache

March 2017

Desiree from Charming shark

Company Size: 11-50 employees

Industry: Logistics and Supply Chain

Time Used: More than 2 years


Ease-of-use

4.0

Customer support

4.0

Functionality

4.0

March 2017

GP Dynamics

I have been using Great Plains product for over 25 years. It was one of the first companies to offer flexibility for company growth without limitations.

Pros

I love the security , and reports that can be created and exported to excel. Works great with Microsoft office suite since it is Microsoft owned

Cons

Learning curve getting use to. Very detailed setting up. Requires partner to install and support.

July 2018

Tiffany from AmChar

Company Size: 51-200 employees

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source


Ease-of-use

4.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

2.0

July 2018

2 years in to using GP16 and am comfortable navigating

Pros

Our company has been able to implement many customizations for our needs. Once you learn where everything is, there is almost no end to how you can view data. The smart lists are amazing for compiling what you need in particular.

Cons

The interface is not the most user friendly. There can be many clicks before you get to where you need to be.

February 2018

Lauren from appneta

Company Size: 201-500 employees

Industry: Computer Software

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source


Ease-of-use

3.0

Functionality

5.0

February 2018

Great software with great reporting functionality

Pros

- ease of use once you know what you're doing - ability to build smart lists, which is super helpful - multi entity functionality

Cons

- no direct integration with tax software - need to pair with reporting software to get accurate financial reporting - need to log out to switch entities

November 2017

Lewis from UNEECO Paper products

Company Size: 51-200 employees

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source


Ease-of-use

5.0

Value for money

3.0

Customer support

2.0

Functionality

4.0

November 2017

Microsoft Dynamics Solomon Iv

Pros

Has all accounting features, Best for manufacturing/production Accounts for all raw materials for manufacturing through ease of use in the inventory

Cons

Poor customer support No ease of upgrade Frequent error messages after longterm use which freeze or quits the system

April 2017

Vinay from Prime Communications

Company Size: 1,001-5,000 employees

Industry: Retail

Time Used: More than 2 years


Ease-of-use

2.0

Value for money

3.0

Customer support

4.0

Functionality

3.0

April 2017

Needs better built in reports

Pros

Good controls with audit trail. Has good importing function for Journal entries and inventory receipts to facilitate a 3 way match.

Cons

Needs better reports built into the system and not reply solely on Management Reporter. Preexisting list of reports added to smartlist.

July 2018

Katie from BST

Company Size: 201-500 employees

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source


Ease-of-use

5.0

Functionality

5.0

July 2018

Dynamics GP is a great Software for my needs.

This software is very user friendly.

Pros

Easy to use, very functional for our needs. Customer services is great and alwasy quick to respond.

Cons

The help function is a little hard to navigate which is why I either submit a support ticket or call when help is needed.

August 2020

DIEM from Today's HR

Company Size: 10,000+ employees

Industry: Accounting

Time Used: Less than 12 months

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

5.0

August 2020

This software is easy to function for daily accounting tasks

I use this software for daily accounting tasks such as recording journal entries, keep tracks of payments and invoices. It is super easy to function the software. I have such great experience using this software and would recommend it to mid-size businesses.

Pros

This software is very easy to use compare with other accounting software such SAP. The price is reasonable. The worksheet is clear, understandable, less complicated. I would recommend this software to a medium size business.

Cons

The least things about this software is it cannot show the entire balance sheet of a period.

December 2018

Anthony from AACE

Company Size: 11-50 employees

Industry: Philanthropy

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source


Ease-of-use

4.0

Value for money

4.0

Customer support

4.0

Functionality

4.0

December 2018

User friendly, would like more ability for slight customization.

Pros

Ease of usability. Like the ability to reconcile to General Ledger functionality. The ability to paste Journal entries.

Cons

Lack of customization. Would like ability to do small customization. Able to update accounts with ease.

June 2015

Heather from Choate Rosemary Hall

Industry: Primary/Secondary Education

Time Used: More than 2 years


Ease-of-use

4.5

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

4.5

June 2015

Microsoft Dynamics GP

Pros

Microsoft Dynamics GP is user friendly. It is easy to print trial balances and perform inquiries. Creating new accounts and entering journal entries are very straight forward. Management Reporter - the reporting package with Microsoft Dynamics GP is a step up from FRx.

Cons

One thing I find a bit confusing is creating smart lists. I'm sure with additional training, it would be much easier but this is the one area that I find not quite intuitive.

March 2017

Tracey from Kitsap Public Health

Company Size: 51-200 employees

Industry: Government Administration

Time Used: More than 2 years


Ease-of-use

3.0

Functionality

3.0

March 2017

Dynamics GP for Government (Version GP 2010)

The basic accounting functions are fine and compares well to peers.

Cons

We have yet to find an add-on to handle our grant billing that isn't either too simple or too complex for our needs. Reporting sucks. Annual maintenance is expensive.

June 2017

Eileen from Mizuho America Inc

Company Size: 11-50 employees

Industry: Logistics and Supply Chain

Time Used: More than 2 years


Ease-of-use

4.0

Functionality

2.0

June 2017

User

Like to have drilldown function

Pros

We use Microsoft Dynamics as our accounting software. We are a wholesale industry. We feel it is easy to use.

Cons

We think it has a limited search function. Like drill down the information to the original entries.

October 2016

Helen from Calgary Immigrant Women's Association

Company Size: 51-200 employees

Industry: Management Consulting

Time Used: Less than 6 months


Ease-of-use

4.0

Value for money

3.0

Customer support

3.0

Functionality

4.0

October 2016

Purchasing and Sales Module

I use Purchasing and Sales Module for the most of my time. Purchasing Module is excellent and easy to use. That will be even better if I could write more words in the description area. I really like the document Number setting. It avoids duplicate invoices. Sales Module has more functions which we don't need. But I like the automatic invoice emailing function. You don't have to print the invoice, scan it and send it. It saved us a lot of paper and time. The most useful part would be financial reports. You could generate any report you like and save them in your favourite smart list.

Pros

It could avoid duplicate invoice payments and it also could send invoice automatically. It could generate report very quickly and save it as your favourite Smart report.

Cons

The words size for viewing is too small and the words which you could write in description area is not enough sometimes. It's complicated to get a report at the beginning when you are not familiar with it.

April 2018

Matt from AB May

Company Size: 51-200 employees

Industry: Consumer Services

Time Used: Less than 12 months

Review Source


Ease-of-use

3.0

Functionality

3.0

April 2018

Behind the times

In today's world, there are dozens of better accounting programs out there for a similar price that operate on a cloud system and are continually updated so that you are never behind the times. GP just feels obsolete.

Pros

It is cheap and gets the job done. There is a lot of help online if you need to figure out how to do something.

Cons

It is the least user-friendly software I may have ever seen. The reports are awful, not in places you would assume, and they dump out to excel in a way that makes me want to punch something.

July 2017

Jamie from CISPRI

Company Size: 11-50 employees

Time Used: Less than 2 years


Ease-of-use

2.0

Value for money

3.0

Customer support

4.0

Functionality

2.0

July 2017

Complex

Pros

The internal controls are great. It overs security for the company because every step is tracked. It's also a big enough program for larger companies.

Cons

It is very difficult to navigate through and get the reports you want. We're always having to use other software programs to get the financial reports we need.

October 2017

Joseph from Neundorfer, Inc.

Company Size: 11-50 employees

Industry: Mechanical or Industrial Engineering

Time Used: Less than 2 years

Review Source


Ease-of-use

3.0

Value for money

2.0

Functionality

3.0

October 2017

Good ability to drill down it details.

Pros

The software is relatively friendly for accountants. It allows you to drill down in the details of transactions.

Cons

The software is not as friendly or intuitive for those inputting transactions. You really have to search when trying to find what all needs updated or input.

June 2015

Sean from East Texas Copy Systems, Inc.

Time Used: More than 2 years


Ease-of-use

4.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

5.0

June 2015

Moved from QuickBooks to GP!

Pros

Express Information Systems out of San Antonio, Texas worked REALLY hard with me and had me up and running in no time! I didn't miss the cut over and was even able to process my first payroll ON TIME!

Cons

A bit difficult to set up the way I needed it, but works great now!

March 2016

Terry from Catalyst4Change

Industry: Food & Beverages

Time Used: Less than 2 years


Ease-of-use

1.5

Customer support

1.5

Functionality

2.5

March 2016

Underwhelming Business Optimization

Pros

GP has the potential to do much of what you would expect from an enterprise software system.

Cons

Inspite of its potential to integrate many of the essential information activities within a business, GP falls short in making this an easy or intuitive task. A particular problem for our business is that we receive product in cases; however, GP apparently works in pounds. Therefore, we have had to purchase a third party software to dual track / translate cases and pounds --- this is a clunky process. Substantial custom Sequel code had to be written give users visibility to key data. Although we operate in the Seattle area, high quality VAR support options are limited.

December 2017

michael from Interra Homes LLC

Company Size: 51-200 employees

Industry: Transportation/Trucking/Railroad

Time Used: Less than 2 years

Review Source


Ease-of-use

5.0

Value for money

4.0

Customer support

4.0

Functionality

5.0

December 2017

Accountant

Pros

-GP has a great user interface -It is easy to both teach and learn the software -Can generate lots of reports -

Cons

-It can be time consuming to correct simple keying errors -The training did not cover all the aspects we needed

September 2016

Daniel from Tivol

Industry: Retail

Time Used: More than 2 years


Ease-of-use

3.5

Value for money

4.0

Customer support

4.0

Functionality

4.5

September 2016

Use Great Plains for our Accounting needs

Pros

Microsoft has developed and maintained a great product to help businesses with accounting. Easily integrates into our point of sale system. Also with a great history, it is easy to find resources to help in any need.

Cons

For us we only scratch the surface of the software. It would be great if they had a scaled down version.

August 2016

Jeffrey from Hodgson Mill, Inc.

Industry: Electrical/Electronic Manufacturing

Time Used: More than 2 years


Ease-of-use

4.0

Value for money

4.0

Customer support

4.0

Functionality

4.0

August 2016

Great Package

Pros

I have used GP in several companies and I find it to be one of the easiest packages to use and to train employees on.

Cons

Canned reports not very user friendly. Too many "bolt-on" packages and not enough "built in" functionality, but this improves with every release.

January 2015

Joel from Summit Group Software

Industry: Computer Software

Time Used: Free Trial


Ease-of-use

4.5

Customer support

4.5

Functionality

4.5

January 2015

Consultant perspective of Microsoft Dynamics GP

Pros

Microsoft keeps adding more and more features to Dynamics GP. Between the use of the GP Web Client now, as well as opening up other integration options, getting data in and out of the application is becoming much easier.

Cons

It takes a lot to stay on top of the newest features, but that is more of just making sure we as consultants keep up on our skills to best suit our customers' needs. The loss of Business Portal is a slight setback; using the Web Client enhances some features, but it has become expensive again for customers that want to have an employee portal.

May 2018

Sequoia from KLM Marketing

Company Size: 2-10 employees

Industry: Management Consulting

Time Used: Less than 2 years

Review Source


Ease-of-use

2.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

5.0

May 2018

Powerhouse CRM

Pros

We use this platform through our clients to update our regions projected projects. The program is a power house and allows our client to segment different departments/regions and isolate us to just that region. We had problems with uploading content into a project but a recent update made it extremely easy for use to update content and automate other section.

Cons

We required training to use this program. The login process and overall navigation was a bit confusing at first.

February 2017

Madubuchi from City Harvest

Company Size: 51-200 employees

Industry: Food & Beverages

Time Used: Less than 2 years


Ease-of-use

2.0

Value for money

3.0

Customer support

4.0

Functionality

3.0

February 2017

Microsoft Gp

This software is decent for accounting but becomes difficult to use when it comes with the distribution.

Pros

The customer service.

Cons

Difficult to use

September 2016

Michael from Blue Beacon Int

Industry: Transportation/Trucking/Railroad

Time Used: More than 2 years


Ease-of-use

3.5

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

4.5

Functionality

5.0

September 2016

Great plains

Pros

Microsoft based SQL. The vendors were quick to suggest everything was supported. It wasn't until we released the product that we found its short commings

Cons

Does not easily support multiple companies. We had to write multiple enhancements to support all of our companies

February 2016

antonio from AmWINS Group Benefits

Industry: Insurance

Time Used: More than 2 years


Ease-of-use

3.5

Functionality

4.5

February 2016

Great product.

Pros

Great product that works with other Microsoft products

Cons

reporting is not great out of the system. there are smartlists that can be used, but as far as creating management reports, you may want to use another software.

January 2019

Veronica from Income Over Expense

Company Size: 2-10 employees

Industry: Management Consulting

Time Used: Less than 2 years

Review Source


Ease-of-use

5.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

5.0

January 2019

Excellent Enterprise Software With Dynamics GP!

Pros

Microsoft Dynamics GP has been a great tool for us when working with our enterprise clients. It seems like this is one of the biggest stumbling blocks for companies when really growing. Dynamics GP is the tool to manage your accounting and financial management!

Cons

The training process to get all your staff accountants will be the biggest time investment. However, once everyone is trained up it's a smooth process!

April 2019

laura from MINISO Dominican Republic

Company Size: 51-200 employees

Industry: Retail

Time Used: Less than 6 months

Review Source


Ease-of-use

5.0

Value for money

5.0

Functionality

5.0

April 2019

easy and organized overview

Pros

I really enjoy using this ERP, since i work in retail it offers me dashboards that gives me an overview of the finances. I can access into the real-time information anytime and from anywhere. It has an AI that keeps a record of the information you put in so It also helps in cutting down on entering information manually by automating daily tasks and include tracking abilities

Cons

at th beggining it requires a lot of money, so for an startup or a small company its a big investment though it will be compesanted in the use of the ERP

May 2018

Tina from Reliable Bookkeeping Services

Company Size: 51-200 employees

Industry: Accounting

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source


Ease-of-use

4.0

Value for money

3.0

Customer support

3.0

Functionality

3.0

May 2018

Good accounting software

Pros

The reports export to excel format nicely and are easy to customized the columns to meet your needs.

Cons

The GL account description does not show up when entering the account codes in any module so you wouldn't really notice if you keyed in the wrong account.

Displaying 1 - 50 of 107 reviews