Review Highlights

Overall Rating

4.96

Ratings Breakdown

Secondary Ratings

Ease-of-use

5

Customer Support

5

Value for money

5

Functionality

5


Pros and Cons

  • icon"Customization that is offered for us and the ability to track our numbers."
  • icon"I really appreciate the ability to customize the tool's user interface and features to meet our business needs."
  • icon"EE offered a suite of products to help us better manage our country. The start-cost were fair and reasonable."
  • icon"I suspect the EE team will work this out at some point."
  • icon"No custom-field reports, must be requested through customer service. Time for auto sign out really short."
  • icon"The only downside that comes to mind is that they are located on the West Coast and we are on the East Coast."

Have you used Event Essentials and would like to share your experience with others?

Write a review

All Event Essentials Reviews

1-25 of 68 Reviews

Sort by

Reviews are by default sorted by Recommended to software buyers, driven by our proprietary algorithm reflecting the depth and quality of the review, recency of experience, and other factors. As a neutral reviews platform, the star rating of the review is not considered in the "Recommended" ranking, and there is currently no voting mechanism that would allow site visitors to influence the ranking.

Jon

Company size: 2-10 employees

Industry: Events Services

Time used: Less than 12 months

Review Source: Capterra

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

5

November 2020

Customizing a flexible event management platform

Our experience has been very good. Custom configuring a management system like ours is not for the feint of heart. Nor does it happen overnight. I think the EE team underestimated the complexity of our business process. We worked through that. I think a stronger guiding hand from EE's project manager would have helped us better organize ourselves. However, I commend their dedication and follow through because in the end, we have what we envisioned.

Pros

Event Essentials enabled us to take an existing event management platform and configure it to our specific and quite unique needs. The flexibility of their platform is amazing. The EE team configured the system to accommodate our workflow. No more work-arounds. And that is a huge plus. The other farmers market management platforms were not able to be as responsive to customization. Interface is important to me and Event Essentials is quite good. Search and filtering are robust and snappy making it easy to view data as desired. Organizing content under a tab system is very helpful and essentially provides pre-filtered data sets. They have a robust Portal allowing our market vendors to access their accounts, view their applications, their registrations, email history and soon, invoices and payments. Vendors may initiate changes through their portal. And, the system has customized email notification that are associated with specific actions confirming status to vendors and notifying our staff action is required. We develop and manages about 15 seasonal farmers markets. We needed to integrate our management system tying together the two primary functional areas of our company -- Vendor sales & management and Market Operations management. We deal with a large amount of data and lots of moving parts. We needed to integrate a robust daily market reporting system. We needed a robust reporting system with great filters. Event Essentials is doing this for us

Cons

There a couple of things that could be better. We do a fair amount of data entry in the field and the display on smaller screens, i.e. iPad Mini's needs some attention. I suspect the EE team will work this out at some point. It is important to us to be able to self manage some back end features. Currently they are giving us that ability incrementally which is probably a good thing. It would be helpful to be able to create report templates, update more text areas, ourselves. That too, I think come in time.

Reasons for choosing Event Essentials

The other products were less open to configuring to our needs. They were crowd sourcing their road map mostly for smaller markets. We were an outlier for them. Event Essentials committed to configuring their systems specifically for our business process.

Reasons for switching to Event Essentials

Cvent is a robust platform but we had to do significant work-arounds to get where we needed to be. They did a fine job when there were fewer other options available. The work-arounds became tiresome and there was lots of unneeded functionality that we were paying for. Even Essentials gives us what we need so it's way more streamlined.

Maribel

Time used: Less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra

This review was submitted organically. No incentive was offered

EASE OF USE

4

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

4

November 2017

The platform is easy to use. It has a lot more features than one at first realizes.

Pros

the customer service is very professional and kind; Customer rep was super helpful at a moment of crisis in our organization. the customizable forms are great. The interface the public sees resembles our website graphics.

Cons

have to wait for centralized staff to do changes --takes more days sometimes than we needed once you are in a doc reviewing an application there is no easy way to proceed to the next one -have to go back to the full menu

Nelson

Verified reviewer

Company size: 51-200 employees

Industry: Philanthropy

Time used: Less than 12 months

Review Source: Capterra

This reviewer was invited by the software vendor to submit an honest review.

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

5

May 2019

Transformative Experience

Event essentials has been great for allowing us to fully automate our online ticketing, while giving us fully flexible ticketing options as well as a way to manage the sign up and tracking of a variety of different vendors and competition groups at our event. Going from a manual method to online database management also allows us to retain customer information for future events, and get an accurate assessment of our advertising campaigns and the value of our ticket options.

Pros

In my third year in running this event, we brought on Event Essentials. The amount of volunteer hours their software has freed up has given flexibility back to our organization, and made efficiencies possible that we once only dreamed of. Automating portions of our event that have been done by hand for over four decades, has created a sea change in how we are getting the job done. I am so grateful we partnered with the Event Essentials team.

Cons

My biggest disappointment was that we didn't get started sooner. I am already looking forward to next year's event knowing we have these tools at our disposal from day one.

Sue

Verified reviewer

Company size: 2-10 employees

Industry: Events Services

Time used: Less than 6 months

Review Source: Capterra

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

5

October 2018

Perfectly Personalized

EE has automated our vendor application process while still allowing us to personalize and approve each application. I used to bring applications into a spreadsheet, prepare individual invoices, and keep a record of payment in the credit card processor account as well as the spreadsheet. Now, everything is integrated. I can customize a response and hit "approve", and the vendor receives an email with a payment link. We were also able to set up a payment plan which was super helpful.

Pros

We are able to keep all of our event information in one place, personalized to exactly fit our needs. It is a relief to know that when our event opens, we'll have everything at our fingertips, accessible to everyone on our team. The EE programmers patiently worked with us to tweak every last form, field and font to our satisfaction. Our EE pages match our web site exactly, looking professional and easy to use.

Cons

Everything is working as we expected and I haven't found anything disappointing.

User Profile

Ryan

Verified reviewer

Company size: 51-200 employees

Industry: Real Estate

Time used: Less than 12 months

Review Source: Capterra

This review was submitted organically. No incentive was offered

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

5

October 2017

Ticket sales/sponsor/vendor management for a 400 person fundraiser

Pros

HTML. Lots of useful tools, great customer service. Nice reports, ticket sales by type/coupon code, etc. Additional options to manage workers, vendors, sponsors. Built in safeguards to prevent costly mistakes. Can use your companies own credit services. Ticket fee revenue sharing. You keep all the data.

Cons

No custom-field reports, must be requested through customer service. Time for auto sign out really short. Seemed like 15 minutes or so.

Brian

Company size: 11-50 employees

Industry: Non-Profit Organization Management

Time used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra

This review was submitted organically. No incentive was offered

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

5

June 2022

ViVa! Vienna! - Rotary Club of Vienna VA

Promoting and managing our festival fundraising event that attracts over 60,000 visitors over Memorial Day weekend; 100% of the proceeds go to charities.

Pros

The responsiveness of the team to make timely changes on the fly.

Cons

I do not have anything to comment for Cons.

User Profile

Larry

Verified reviewer

Company size: 51-200 employees

Industry: Broadcast Media

Time used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra

This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

5

October 2018

Easy and seamless

They understand how to create a great experience at point of check in.

Pros

For a volunteer organization, the software program was easy to understand and gave us up to date and pertinent data. The check in process with bar codes is fast and efficient.

Cons

There is nothing I can think of at this time.

Larry

Time used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra

This review was submitted organically. No incentive was offered

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

5

October 2017

Event Essentials has been a tremendous asset to our main fundraiser BrewFest. 5 star experience!

Pros

It is easy to administer which allows us to capture the data needed to help us internally manage our event. It is very user friendly and easy to grasp a hold of from an end users point of view.

User Profile

Kyle

Verified reviewer

Company size: 2-10 employees

Industry: Events Services

Time used: Less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra

This reviewer was invited by the software vendor to submit an honest review.

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

5

October 2018

Event Essentials is great for small businesses

I have really enjoyed working with Event Essentials. They have taken the time to get to know our needs and modified their based products to develop a custom solution that meets our needs. They are

Pros

The main thing I love about this product is how it can be, and has been, customized to meet our needs. I love the ability to automatically have vendor bios (business name, contact information, description of services and products, and a photo) to be automatically posted to a web page once we approve the vendor. I really like the easy to use interface to view and manage vendors. I can quickly find vendors, view their status, make changes and approve or reject them. Our vendors love the "Returning Exhibitor" feature that allows the vendor to submit an application using most of the data they entered on their prior application. This saves them a lot of time.

Cons

The system does not (currently) allow vendors to make changes to content. This requires us to make changes on their behalf. Fortunately, this is not difficult to do.

Richard

Verified reviewer

Company size: 51-200 employees

Industry: Civic & Social Organization

Time used: Less than 6 months

Review Source: Capterra

This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

5

September 2018

Small Agricultural Fair Application

In my opinion I don't know if we could have found a better company to take from knowing little to nothing about event software through to the development of our unique application, implementation, and use.

Pros

EE offered a suite of products to help us better manage our country. The start-cost were fair and reasonable. They leased the required hardware which allowed us to not have to make a large capital investment while learning and trialing the benefits of the product. EE modified the software to fit our needs. They made almost instant changes when requested. Provided us with ended suggestions and advice about the implementation of the process.

Cons

I cannot think of any problems with the way the software performed.

Amber

Company size: 2-10 employees

Industry: Events Services

Time used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra

This reviewer was invited by the software vendor to submit an honest review.

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

5

July 2020

Event Essentials is THE multi-purpose tool you never knew you needed to have in your event arsenal!

EE is extremely user friendly and intuitive. Without any training whatsoever, I got thrown into EE and surprisingly, navigation was easy and adding information, exporting data, reports, etc. was straightforward and uncomplicated. Considering the sheer size of data over a multitude of areas, it is amazing how simple their program is to use. Besides all that EE has to offer and how they truly work with clients as a team, I have been impressed with their ability to pivot during Covid-19. In the event industry, social distancing is an obvious issue (among many) so we have been continually changing policies, adding new information, etc. and EE has not only responded swiftly in implementing our changes but were crucial in our decision making as well. They were also able to offer extremely helpful advice as well as create new opportunities when the world went on lock down. Overall, EE has been a game changer by creating our different types of computer programs designed to perform specific tasks in a variety of areas. Each with different principle goals that we required our programs to achieve. We are continually impressed with EE’s quality and professionalism and are very happy with their product and customer service. Give them a try and add them as a supplement to your team. You’ll be surprised how much your efficiency will soar while reducing stress. And you will not be disappointed.

Pros

We use EE as our platform for our festival (two-day event w/200,000 + attendees) and it manages three important yet completely different areas for us: volunteers, vendors and our parade. With over 564 shifts in 120 different positions, we rely on EE to manage the 350+ volunteers for our event with additional management of other smaller events associated with our festival offsite and/or before the festival (i.e. Golf Tournament, stages, etc.). In our vendor program, we handle roughly 577 vendors of various types such as Arts & Crafts, food, sponsors, non-profits, etc. EE works with us in creating and implementing all 7 of our vendor applications as well as manages all the information as a result. As for our parade, we average around 75 different entrants ranging from bands and floats to horses and VIPs. It is a varied yet entertaining parade and having EE keep track of each participant is effortless.

Cons

As is the case with anything, sometimes things come up and there isn't a feature or option to capture it on EE. That said, whenever it has happened to us, we let EE know and they immediately come up with a solution(s) and tweak our program. I don't consider this a complete con, though, since events are fluid and as such, the software must be as well and EE definitely works well for this.

Reasons for switching to Event Essentials

It had some limitations and not cost effective.

Kyle

Company size: 2-10 employees

Industry: Entertainment

Time used: Less than 12 months

Review Source: Capterra

This review was submitted organically. No incentive was offered

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

5

November 2017

It has been a pleasure to work with Event Essentials. They've made our festival management so easy!

It's very easy to use and it integrates well into our current website. Managing festivals used to be a pain. Now, it's a breeze. No more trying to keep track of a bunch of data in different spreadsheets. The Event Essentials dashboard makes it easy to get a quick view of approved vendors, ticket sales and sponsors. And, everything is very automated. When we approve a vendor they are automatically sent an email that provides them with the link to submit a payment. I did my homework before selecting Event Essentials and it paid off! I truly think they are the best value when it comes to event management software!

Pros

It was very easy to get this product customized and integrated into our current website! The Event Essentials team was very responsive any time we had and requested changes that they needed to make. I am very pleased at how much easier it has become to manage our festivals, including reviewing and approving exhibitors, receive payments and selling ticket online. I also love their exhibitor profile feature that allows each exhibitor to have their own bio page. Best of all, their prices were very competitive.

Cons

The only downside that comes to mind is that they are located on the West Coast and we are on the East Coast. Regardless, they have been very responsive and I am amazes at how quickly they respond to any change requests.

Jessica

Company size: 11-50 employees

Industry: Non-Profit Organization Management

Time used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra

This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

5

September 2018

Wish we discovered EE sooner!

Tucson Meet Yourself is a Multi Cultural festival that attacks over 120,000 people over the span on 3 days. We host over 60 different food vendors, 160 performers, & 700 volunteers. Event Essentials fits our needs and allows us to use 1 software for multiple components of our sign up/managing needs.Rep is wonderful to work with! I would highly suggest Event Essentials.

Pros

We love how Event Essentials has created a software that is customizable to our specific needs. They are prompt to address the issues that may arise or adjust things that we need changed.

Cons

I can hardly think of any cons. Hopefully this business can grow and expand. I think it would be wonderful for a representative to visit/physically interact each organizations within Event Essentials to completely understand and have a good grasp of what we do.

Randy

Time used: Free Trial

Review Source: Capterra

EASE OF USE

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

March 2016

It was so easy to use and our attendees were impressed with how fast they got into our event.

Dear Event Essentials I wanted to take a moment and thank you and your staff on behalf of the Kiwanis Club of Thousand Oaks and our Charitable Foundation. Your support and customer service were outstanding before and during our BrewFest event this year. When we first discussed our needs with you for more efficiently handling our check in process and our vendor registration, your solution sounded like it would solve our needs. It in fact was better than we hoped for. Our vendors found the system easy to use and had no issues using it. We actually received more complete information so we could make a decision on them attending the event and also with the information provided; we were able to update our own BrewFest and Facebook web sites in a manner of minutes. The check in process and how it would work on event day was a major concern of ours. The software not only streamlined our check-in process, our attendees entered our event even quicker than we dreamed possible. Checking in over 400 attendees in 20 minutes was over the top successful and helped make the customer experience extremely enjoyable. The 3rd area of concern for us was the online ticketing process. Not only was this easy for our attendees, the tracking capabilities of the Event Essentials back office is just fantastic. All of the information we were looking to capture is there and very easy to work with. We now have a complete mailing list so we can stay in contact throughout the year. We understand that we have only use just a portion of the capabilities of your system and we look forward to integrating it more next year. Thank you again for the customer service, support and especially the marketing help with our event. Feel free to contact me at 805-490-4024 for an outstanding reference anytime. Sincerely, Randy Senzig Immediate Past President 4th Annual BrewFest Co-Chairperson

Judith

Company size: 2-10 employees

Industry: Events Services

Time used: Less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra

This reviewer was invited by the software vendor to submit an honest review.

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

5

October 2018

Great tool with full customization and personalized customer support!

Working with Event Essentials has been great! They have been very responsive to our needs and generally implement our change requests within a few days.

Pros

I really appreciate the ability to customize the tool's user interface and features to meet our business needs.

Cons

The software doesn't currently allow us to approve several vendors at once. But, to be fair, we haven't requested this ability. I'm willing to bet they will be able to add this feature once we request it.

Anonymous

Company size: 201-500 employees

Time used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra

This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

EASE OF USE

<