User Review Highlights

Overall Rating

4.60

Ratings Breakdown

Secondary Ratings

Ease-of-use

4.5

Customer Support

5

Value for money

4.5

Functionality

4.5

  • icon"A great product for managing events staff and volunteers which can be used easily on the go via mobile."
  • icon"Very easy to learn and set-up, easy for volunteers to use, great reporting features and mass communication features. Excellent customer service and support."
  • icon"I love the integrated app and how easily you can reach volunteers during the event. I like that the database is downloadable to excel so we can edit as we see fit."
  • icon"When constructing the schedule, the lack of cut and paste or duplication of program elements across multiple days made that process very laborious."
  • icon"As a planner it was hard for me to not be able to test the app before the event went live."
  • icon"The e-mail portion is weak. We need to be able to see e-mails sent, we need to be able to resend to those who did not open and we need to be able to send follow-up messages."

All InitLive Reviews

1-25 of 77 Reviews

Sort by

Reviews are by default sorted by Recommended to software buyers, driven by our proprietary algorithm reflecting the depth and quality of the review, recency of experience, and other factors. As a neutral reviews platform, the star rating of the review is not considered in the "Recommended" ranking, and there is currently no voting mechanism that would allow site visitors to influence the ranking.

Mike

Verified reviewer

Company size: 201-500 employees

Industry: Events Services

Time used: Less than 12 months

Review Source: Capterra

This review was submitted organically. No incentive was offered

EASE OF USE

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

4

May 2019

Great for creating schedules where users can select their own schedules.

Working with InitLive has been a great experience, the customer service is unparalleled and the software meets our requirements extremely well. I can highly recommend InitLive to anyone looked for a reliable scheduling software capable of large-scale self-scheduling (I've used it to create a schedule for up to 3000 people) where the schedule does not require significant alterations post-import.

Pros

The self-scheduling feature has drastically lowered the amount of time we spend on tedious and repetitive scheduling tasks.

Cons

The software is not well-suited for scheduling tasks that require numerous detailed changes.

Response from InitLive

Hi Mike, we are so glad to hear that you and the Web Summit team have had such a great experience using InitLive. It's especially wonderful to hear how much time the self-scheduling tool has saved you. As for your concerns about more detailed manual scheduling, our next release is focused on improving that. I know you had expressed interest in participating in the BETA trial for this, so we'll be reaching out shortly. We're eager to continue working with you and the team for all of the upcoming Web Summit events! Cheers!

Replied May 2019

Heather

Company size: 2-10 employees

Industry: Museums and Institutions

Time used: Less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra

This review was submitted organically. No incentive was offered

EASE OF USE

4

VALUE FOR MONEY

4

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

4

FUNCTIONALITY

5

November 2021

My experience using InitLive

I am still trying to understand several of the features on the application.

Pros

InitLive is a robust volunteer management application, but it is not without bugs at the moment.

Cons

Email logs. I'd like to have a listing of who I sent emails to, their content, and when they were sent.

Reasons for switching to InitLive

Company Board and [SENSITIVE CONTENT] decided to switch for the reporting capabilities.

Response from InitLive

Hello Heather, thank you for your review. I am happy to share that we have released email logs. One of our team members will be in contact with you to chat about this new feature.

Replied November 2021

Andrew

Company size: 11-50 employees

Industry: Hospital & Health Care

Time used: Less than 6 months

Review Source: Capterra

EASE OF USE

2

VALUE FOR MONEY

3

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

4

FUNCTIONALITY

2

August 2016

The Ride 2016 - The Ottawa Hospital Foundation

Hard to tell given that we cant really test it until its live in the field. So far I believe it is OK but team reports some features are limiting such as the import (only certain fields) and a really limiting feature that everyone needs a unique e-mail (response/solution was weak)

Pros

Increased of in-the-field communications with volunteers. Volunteers have quicker access to schedules and info pre-event and on site

Cons

Requirement of unique e-mails instead of a login name

Response from InitLive

Hi Andrew. Thanks for sharing your experience so far. We're really excited to be working with The Ottawa Hospital Foundation and input like yours helps us continue to improve. We offer custom data imports for our customers. While the current import option is only for select fields, your designated Customer Success Representative has the ability to import any information you'd like them to. We're sorry to hear that you've been limited by the requirement of individual email addresses. This certainly isn't our intention; we simply want to ensure that communications at your event are directed to the correct person as quickly as possible. Because of this, an accurate and unique email address is crucial. Thank you and best of luck for event day! You and your team have done very well getting set up so we're sure things will run smoothly for you! :)

Replied August 2016

Wolfram

Company size: 501-1,000 employees

Industry: Information Technology and Services

Time used: Less than 12 months

Review Source: Capterra

EASE OF USE

4

VALUE FOR MONEY

4

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

3

August 2016

InitLive at EMC 2016

InitLive was used to manage 60 volunteers at a 5 day conference in the Ottawa Shaw Centre. Over 100 initially signed up but many did not remain to participate, a common problem. In the past volunteer recruiting and management was performed with spreadsheets, email and telephone, an onerous process for more than 20 people. InitLive automated this process considerably making the size of the volunteer team almost irrelevant. It also shifted responsibility for shift and role selection entirely to the volunteers, previously it was with the event manager. This took a big load off. Communication was also simplified with the integrated communication features, and I could instantly tell who was where with a simple touch on my tablet. Compared to other volunteer management software I've seen, InitLive has the best interface by far.

Pros

The end to end management of people and the program within the Web interface. You can see at a glance, in the web interface, where there are openings in the program staffing. Signup to roles and shifts is easy, though some of the older volunteers found it challenging. Visually it looks good, especially for the administrator. So I like the interface. In the device app it is nice that it informs the administrator instantly of staffing problems in the current shift. The various reports were useful, especially after the event when compiling the conference reports. The volunteer app seemed almost trivial to operate. The young people, especially, took to it very well. Volunteer communications pop up as notifications, so the admin can address them immediately. It works well as a central communications hub for all volunteer communication before, during and after.

Cons

When constructing the schedule, the lack of cut and paste or duplication of program elements across multiple days made that process very laborious. The volunteers see the shift selection schedule as one long list. It would be good to delineate it, perhaps with tabs, into days. There are some fundamental controls missing such as enforcing minimum and maximum shift selection, and cutting off when changes may be made by the volunteers. In the mobile app, there wasn't a clear way to tell at a glance if there are upcoming staffing problems - not attendance, but staff bookings. This is possible in the web app. For the administrator the mobile app filter features make it very powerful, but it also makes for a shallow learning curve. I.e., some features are not obvious to find. The mobile app is optimized for smartphones but not tablets. It will work on tablets, my preferred device, but emulating a phone. It notifies you when people cancel from the event, but not when they join. This should be selectable. Many volunteers select multiple roles up front which can quickly saturate the overall maximum role signup setting. Beware of this. It can block additional signup for a role despite shifts still being available. Email broadcasts from the web app don't have customizable subject wording. That risks them being ignored or channeled to spam.

Response from InitLive

Hi Wolfram. Thanks for taking the time to share your experience with us. Copying shifts and improving the staff scheduling interface are 2 of our priorities this Fall. We'll definitely be in touch as these features are developed. Cheers!

Replied August 2016

Allison

Company size: 2-10 employees

Industry: Events Services

Time used: Less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra

This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

EASE OF USE

4

VALUE FOR MONEY

4

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

3

December 2018

Mixed Emotions

We used them for two years until we decided that it wasn't going to work as well as we hoped since we have a changing shift and the time to input all the information took someone quite awhile.

Pros

I love the ability to customize schedules for groups of people and that works great if you have a steady schedule and need to assign shifts, etc. It is still a growing company so they are easy to work with and customer service is great. It does give good report option for review but the reports aren't customizable so you still have to edit them after you download content.

Cons

The downside is that as a growing company, they don't have all the kinks worked out for ease of changing/saving or rotating shifts and people. It takes a lot of prep time to set up. It was okay, but not the easiest and any emails send are not saved in the system so you can resend later to a different contact group meaning you have to keep up with them on a different platform and remember who you emailed, etc.

Response from InitLive

Hi Allison, Thanks for taking the time to review your experience with InitLive. We definitely hear you regarding the issues you've experienced with the schedule. This is why overhauling the scheduling process is our highest priority for early in the new year. Please be sure to reach out to your Customer Success Rep if you'd like a sneak peek of what's to come in just a few short months. Thanks! :)

Replied December 2018

Adam

Company size: 1,001-5,000 employees

Industry: Education Management

Time used: Less than 12 months

Review Source: Capterra

This review was submitted organically. No incentive was offered

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

5

October 2019

Solved so many of our problems!

So impressed with the software and the staff who helped us put it into play. This was an all-in solution for us and the team really walked us through each stage of the setup. At no point did we feel like a burden on them.

Pros

We used this software to organize our student orientation volunteers. Previous to using the software, we used a pen & paper approach. We wanted to solve our scheduling issues but moving to a digital solution. In the end, we got so much more. What did I like most? That everything was now contained in one place - we could allow our volunteers to select their own shifts, change them as needed, see gaps in our schedule, and COMMUNICATE with volunteers from the app. It was a remarkable.

Cons

We had some hiccups on the human side during our implementation. It was somewhat challenging to introduce a new process for 100 volunteers. There is a discrepancy between the app and the web version of the software. A few features are only available on the website for the early stages of setting up user's schedules. We've reported this to InitLive in hopes it can be changed for future releases.

Response from InitLive

Thank you for the excellent review, Adam! It was a pleasure working with you and your team, and we're looking forward to working with you again! We have passed along your request to align the mobile app and web portal features better. Our product management team will be working your valuable feedback into our product roadmap. Cheers!

Replied October 2019

Caroline

Company size: 11-50 employees

Industry: Non-Profit Organization Management

Time used: Less than 12 months

Review Source: Capterra

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

4

August 2016

InitLive - loving working with this team and their software!

Wow. What an amazing, hard-working team to work with. We've been a client of InitLive's since January 2016 and they have been incredible so far. The customer service is fantastic and sets an example. The company is quite new and so the InitLive software continues to evolve, but what's great is that it's evolving in no small part down to the feedback, suggestions and operational requirements of the clients. It's terrific to be included in the process; we've already seen suggestions incorporated into software updates. The software is intuitive, looks great and simplicity is the backbone value of the software, which is key.

Pros

We've been using the software so far to collect volunteer applications and sort them, and I have no issues to report with that. I'm looking forward to moving into Live territory where we'll be using the event app with our volunteer teams. I love the 'Live chat' facility - the support is right there!

Cons

I wouldn't say "like least" as I have so much faith in this software and can see its huge potential. The only issues at the moment come naturally with the evolving nature of the software, which clear as each update takes hold.

Response from InitLive

Hi Caroline. Thank you for your lovely review. We're very excited to work with Ottawa 2017 and appreciate the care you put into planning your events. See you soon!

Replied August 2016

Anonymous

Company size: 11-50 employees

Time used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra

This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

FUNCTIONALITY

5

December 2018

Excellent event management software

We have used this for about five years within my current company for our annual Gala event.

Pros

Very user friendly, intuitive and a great tool to schedule and communicate with staff, volunteers. They offer live webinars, in person training and support is always available. Signing up and registering for roles , shifts is easy. The reports are helpful and the interface is attractive and modern. Some of the volunteer management features include group, event, membership, attendance, scheduling, training. They offer a variety of event management and employee scheduling tools.

Cons

Some features are not so easy to find in the mobile app version. Doesn't notify you when someone joins an event. Unable to test before going live.

Response from InitLive

Thank you for taking time to review InitLive. We actually do have a way to test things out before going Live now, be sure to reach out to your Customer Success rep for an update on new features before your next event. :)

Replied December 2018

Serena

Company size: 2-10 employees

Industry: Arts and Crafts

Time used: Less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra

This review was submitted organically. No incentive was offered

EASE OF USE

4

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

5

April 2022

A big help!

Pros

I feel it is very user-friendly. A great tool to schedule and communicate with staff, volunteers.

Cons

I wish I could personalize my emails so people could reply back, or have it link to my work email like what Mailchimp does

User Profile

Tyler

Verified reviewer

Company size: 51-200 employees

Industry: Transportation/Trucking/Railroad

Time used: Less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra

This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

EASE OF USE

4

VALUE FOR MONEY

3

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

5

December 2017

Live Concert Festival Planning and Organization

Pros

All your tracking of the Event in one Place Easily organize Volunteers and event details Mobile App is a life-saver for day of event use Being able to track problems is a huge benefit of the software Makes the recruitment of volunteers a breeze

Cons

If you are a large production company pricing can get a little bit high People Looking to view the software before committing are forced to request demos and pricing.

Response from InitLive

Hi Tyler, thanks for your review of InitLive - happy that we could help with your live concerts! :)

Replied December 2017

Sarah

Company size: 51-200 employees

Industry: Education Management

Time used: Less than 6 months

Review Source: Capterra

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

3

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

4

August 2016

Good for organizing volunteers pre-event, not as great for day of application

All in all the app is great for organizing volunteers, especially in large numbers but for a smaller group of volunteers we found our current method of organizing volunteers on an excel spreadsheet worked just as well. We were hoping that we'd get more communication functionality from the app but think there is still room for improvement in that respect.

Pros

The back end website is user friendly. It is easy to upload an excel template of your volunteers or add people individually. If you are looking for a way to organize volunteers and schedule volunteers that's where the product shines most. You can build roles, assign individuals and set schedules easily. There is a good deal of customization in this area which is helpful. You are able to assign multiple event managers so they also have the "power" to make changes on the website and within the app once your event goes live as well.

Cons

Shifts are built by location rather than by role which wasn't logical for us because we pre-assign roles and the location isn't relevant. It would have been nice if there was more automatic assignment rather than manual when it came to putting volunteers into specific shifts once you had already assigned them a role. As a planner it was hard for me to not be able to test the app before the event went live. You see nothing in the app until it is live but at that point all your volunteers see what you are seeing and any changes being made get broadcast out. Day of we found communication via the app was limited. Only event managers can send messages to everyone or filter and send messages to specific groups. Individual volunteers can only send messages to their shift supervisor or the event managers. They weren't able to send even within their role assignment.

Response from InitLive

Hi Sarah! Thank you so much for sharing your experience. We look forward to working with you and the team at Johns Hopkins University again. There have already been great improvements to InitLive since your commencement event in the Spring. Some highlights: you are able to create one general Location to help you organize the event by Roles. Now we also have a system in place for volunteers to communicate with each other one-on-one through the InitLive app. Let's reconnect and go over the changes! Your designated customer success rep will reach out via email. Cheers!

Replied August 2016

Al

Company size: 2-10 employees

Industry: Sports

Time used: Less than 6 months

Review Source: Capterra

EASE OF USE

3

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

3

FUNCTIONALITY

3

August 2016

InitLive Feedback

Used the software project at the Marshes last year during the World Girls Juniors. We used the software application to acquire, register, and track around 100 volunteers for a 3 day international golf tournament.

Pros

The application handled a lot of the volunteer registration and shift scheduling well. It gave us a good idea of where we required additional volunteers. It assisted us in tracking volunteers shifts and determine when volunteers were late or did not show.

Cons

I found that because a lot of the volunteers were seniors who did not use current computer applications regularly, many were confused with initial emails that were sent to them. Also, because of the lack of computer application knowledge of the users, many of the volunteers did not register on-line by themselves but were entered onto the system by Initlive staff or team leads. I do not believe many of the team leads utilized the mobile on-line during the event. It was interesting to find out the many spouses had registered as volunteers but only used one email address. This became very confusing since the system was geared on the email address as and id and communication was through emails regarding shift assignments.

Response from InitLive

Hi Al. Thanks for taking the time to share your experience. We were thrilled to work with the World Junior Girls Championship last year and happy that we were able to be on site to see InitLive in action. A lot has changed since then and we continue to make improvements to InitLive based on input like yours. In regards to the issues with users being required to have an individual email address, InitLive needs this information to ensure efficient and accurate communication, especially in the case of an accident or emergency. Additionally, as Event Managers, all team leads have easy access to input and update volunteer information and schedules. We hope to work with you again and show you all of the great changes to the system. :)

Replied August 2016

John

Company size: 2-10 employees

Industry: Education Management

Time used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra

This review was submitted organically. No incentive was offered

EASE OF USE

4

VALUE FOR MONEY

4

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

5

November 2021

Powerful, professional voluteer platform

Choosing InitLive was our first step into a serious volunteer management system for our regional science tournament. We reviewed many competing platforms, and even though it was a bit pricey for our limited budget, we have been pleased with our choice. Every year the features get better.

Pros

One of the unique aspects of InitLive was its mobile device capability, which we hope will improve how we manage our tournaments. And hands-down, it has the most attractive user interface. It helps us put forward a professional image to our audience.

Cons

Every platform has it's limitations. Quite honestly, I don't think about this anymore. We have integrated InitLive into how we manage volunteers, and it is part of our normal processes.

Reasons for choosing InitLive

Professional appearance, mobile capability

Response from InitLive

Hi John, Thank you so much for your kind words. We are excited to continue to work with you and your team.

Replied November 2021

Danielle

Company size: 501-1,000 employees

Industry: Non-Profit Organization Management

Time used: Less than 12 months

Review Source: Capterra

EASE OF USE

3

VALUE FOR MONEY

4

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

4

September 2016

Management of our Annual Meeting external staff

When I had a new shift opening up on site, I specifically needed to identity which staff were available. Following discussion with InitLive, I learnt that they added an icon that will display next to the name of any staff who are already scheduled in another shift. This will save you time and allow you to see exactly who is available at a glance... a feature i look forward to testing at out next annual meeting.

Pros

The broadcast feature made it easy to communicate a message with exactly the right group of volunteers, this made connecting with my team much easier on event day

Cons

The accents in Swiss names did not appear correctly, this was a sensitive issue and required time consuming manual updates on the exports. Never the less this was corrected quite rapidly!

Response from InitLive

Hi Danielle, thanks for taking the time to share your review! It was such a pleasure working with the World Economic Forum for your 2016 Annual Meeting. We're excited for 2017! :)

Replied September 2016

Maggie

Time used: Free Trial

Review Source: Capterra

EASE OF USE

4

VALUE FOR MONEY

3

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

3

January 2017

Customer Service

I looked into using InitLive for a college concert band festival that I run. A smaller event, we manage about 150 volunteers and host around 3,000 high school musicians. InitLive has a beautiful interface, is very easy to use, and offers a wonderful introductory experience. I love that there is an app that is designed with the user in mind - simplicity at the fore. The only deterring factors I experienced were in regards to being able to control certain features. The basics are set-up very well (volunteer sign-ups, scheduling, messaging, etc.), but there were minute details that I would have changed to better suit my festival's needs. As well, the price unfortunately was the end-all determining factor that obstructed our ability to use InitLive. Even after working personally with Avery to find a compromise price, we were still unable to justify the cost. Because the festival runs through a university, which also hosts seven other festivals, our goal was to find a great software that could be used for all festivals, providing a consistent volunteering experience for our students. The hope is that one day, the university will be able to afford a quality program like InitLive for all festivals and events. I highly recommend InitLive if you are looking for a beautifully designed interface with exceptional customer service.

Response from InitLive

Hi Maggie, thank you for taking the time to share your experience. We're sad that you won't be moving forward for WindFest but are eager to keep you up to date as we continue developing new features. It's been a pleasure working with you and I hope we have the opportunity to do so again. -Avery

Replied January 2017

Heather

Company size: 11-50 employees

Industry: Sports

Time used: Less than 12 months

Review Source: Capterra

This review was submitted organically. No incentive was offered

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT