All StarChapter Reviews

1-25 of 617 Reviews

Sort by

Reviews are by default sorted by Recommended to software buyers, driven by our proprietary algorithm reflecting the depth and quality of the review, recency of experience, and other factors. As a neutral reviews platform, the star rating of the review is not considered in the "Recommended" ranking, and there is currently no voting mechanism that would allow site visitors to influence the ranking.

LaToya

Management Consulting, 1 employee

Used more than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra
This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

OVERALL RATING:

4

Reviewed April 2022

Local CMSA Chapter

User Profile

Patrick M.

Verified reviewer

Real Estate, 1 employee

Used daily for more than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra
This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

5

Reviewed July 2021

Service, Price and Functionality

PROS

I've used StarChapter for more than 10 years. The platform is very user-friendly and customer service is top notch. The knowledge base is thorough and easy to navigate.

CONS

When membership dues are variable based on size, the platform isn't intuitive. Flat dues work great!

Reason for choosing StarChapter

We never received a response from the other provider.

Reasons for switching to StarChapter

We switched because we needed an actual member directory and event registration.

Vendor Response

Wow thank you for being a long time StarChapter user and for taking the time to share your experience, we really appreciate your feedback.

Replied August 2021

Forrest

Non-Profit Organization Management, 201-500 employees

Used weekly for more than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra
This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

4

VALUE FOR MONEY

4

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

4

Reviewed November 2023

Good integrated system

StarChapter has streamlined our website management with its extensive proprietary integration. Although they have just raised their prices, it is still a reasonable value and the simplest way for us to pull all of our functions together.

PROS

We went with StarChapter because it integrates website, membership management and email into one system. StarChapter is based on WordPress, which makes for easier learning for users already familiar with WordPress. Event management is a plus. There's an extensive knowledgebase for help and StarChapter support department is very responsive.

CONS

1. The system is so feature rich that there is a substantial learning curve to master the full capabilities. 2. Although webpage editing is based on WordPress' block editor, the content editing and navigation editing is a bit clunky. Fortunately, there is a source code (HTML) option, but StarChapter inserts additional tags based on its CSS. 3. The elimination of 3rd party payment processors in favor of its proprietary (and extra cost) StarPay system means we have to use payment links to the processor instead of keeping everything within StarChapter.

Reasons for switching to StarChapter

We had started with a custom programmed website and the migrated to Concrete CMS to have a website that wasn't reliant on a particular programmer, so multiple people could make content changes. However, the website was separate from mass email system (Constant Contact) and membership management (mySQL database). StarChapter provides an all-in-one solution.

Vendor Response

Thank you for your feedback, we appreciate it as it helps us improve our offerings.

Replied January 2024

Pamela

Non-Profit Organization Management, 11-50 employees

Used monthly for more than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra
This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

OVERALL RATING:

4

EASE OF USE

2

VALUE FOR MONEY

3

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

1

FUNCTIONALITY

2

Reviewed March 2024

Star Chapter use

rocky... no immediate user assistance...have to email and wait for a return... not convenient .

PROS

pre-designed templates are attractive... meets the requirements of the national organization

CONS

not at all user intuitive...takes a long time to find things and upload/update items

Vendor Response

Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback. If you need additional training, please reach out to our team it is included in your subscription and we will schedule that for you.

Replied April 2024

Edna

Health, Wellness and Fitness, 51-200 employees

Used weekly for less than 6 months

Review Source: Capterra
This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

OVERALL RATING:

3

EASE OF USE

1

VALUE FOR MONEY

2

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

1

FUNCTIONALITY

2

Reviewed March 2024

Starchapter review

PROS

Has many features to assisy managing an organization

CONS

The features are not easy to manage, customer service is lackluster with self learning videos.

Vendor Response

Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback. If you need additional training, please reach out to our team it is included in your subscription and we will schedule that for you.

Replied April 2024

Sheila

Professional Training & Coaching, 51-200 employees

Used weekly for less than 12 months

Review Source
This review was submitted organically. No incentive was offered

OVERALL RATING:

4

EASE OF USE

2

VALUE FOR MONEY

3

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

2

FUNCTIONALITY

2

Reviewed February 2024

If I knew then what I know not, I would not have recommended them

It was at first highly recommended by a colleague. However, that colleague is now pulling out of StarChapter for the same issues that makes our organization unhappy. We have brought our concerns to StarChapter and have received no response.

PROS

Everything in the same place. Didn't need a separate bulk emailer. Registration for events could be handled.

CONS

We are international. They did not tell us up front that there were certain countries they would block and refuse to unblock (Hong Kong, for one). Their suggestion: tell our members in HK to get a VPN--which means extra cost for the members. It isn't user friendly. There is a steep learning curve.

Reason for choosing StarChapter

Recommendation by a trusted colleague who later changed his mind (once it was too late for us).

Vendor Response

Thank you for taking the time to share your experience, we appreciate your feedback.

Replied April 2024

Logan

Non-Profit Organization Management, 11-50 employees

Used daily for more than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra
This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

5

Reviewed July 2023

Great Value

I've worked with Star Chapter since 2010. They have been responsive, easy to work with and great to problem solve with. I like the ease of use for my staff as well as our volunteers that want to dig in on the admin side. We have about 20 clients on the platform which allows all of our staff to work on something in StarChapter. We are able to enhance other websites based on new features we see or something a client asks for on one we can implement for others. They have been a great partner.

PROS

For an affordable price, your association can host their website and manage it easily. It has all of the features needed where you don't have to have 1000 platforms and systems to manage and keep track of logins for.

CONS

The biggest complaint I hear is that the meeting registration has one to two too many pages to click through vs. being a one page sign up. That would be a great feature to enhance.

Reason for choosing StarChapter

Combination of features, ease of use, cost

Reasons for switching to StarChapter

Expense, ease of use, needed features, combining systems

Vendor Response

Thank you for your feedback, we appreciate it as it helps us improve our offerings.

Replied November 2023

User Profile

Stephanie

Verified reviewer

Information Technology and Services, 10,000+ employees

Used weekly for less than 12 months

Review Source: Capterra
This review was submitted organically. No incentive was offered

OVERALL RATING:

4

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

4

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

4

FUNCTIONALITY

4

Reviewed November 2023

A comprehensive chapter Management Solution

It has significantly improved our chapter's efficiency in managing memberships, events, and communications. The consolidated platform has made our administrative tasks more streamlined and accessible.

PROS

StarChapter offers a comprehensive solution for chapter management, making it a go-to for association leaders. The membership management features are robust, providing seamless tracking of member data, event registrations, and communication.

CONS

Customization options for the website design could be more extensive. While the provided templates are functional, more flexibility in design elements would be appreciated.

Reasons for switching to StarChapter

We evaluated alternatives like Wild Apricot and MemberClicks. StarChapter stood out for its integrated approach, offering a complete suite of features crucial for association management.

Vendor Response

Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback.

Replied January 2024

User Profile

Christine

Verified reviewer

Education Management, 2-10 employees

Used weekly for more than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra
This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

OVERALL RATING:

4

EASE OF USE

4

FUNCTIONALITY

2

Reviewed January 2020

Easy to Use

PROS

Easy to use, works well with payment processers, integrates well with APICS Corporate to pull in member information in a timely manner

CONS

The Lite version has limited functionality. Help documents do not apply as they are written for other non-Lite versions. Spend way too much time trying to find some parts for updating the site.

Reasons for switching to StarChapter

APICS Corporate wanted the Chapters to be uniform and recommended the change so offered a discount to switch and provided an initial format for a template

Vendor Response

Thank you for your feedback. We are always expanding our Knowledgebase. If you have any suggestions, we'd love to get your input. Please enter a support ticket so our team can work on it.

Replied February 2020

David

Design, 11-50 employees

Used weekly for less than 12 months

Review Source: Capterra
This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

OVERALL RATING:

4

EASE OF USE

3

VALUE FOR MONEY

4

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

4

FUNCTIONALITY

3

Reviewed April 2024

ASHRAE StarChapter Review

Overall experience has been positive. StarChapter looks so much better than our previous website. Even with its cost and difficulties I believe StarChapter still allows for easy updates for the important things like events.

PROS

StarChapter makes it easy to schedule events and email reminders about the events.

CONS

The emails all have the same sort of bland look to them and they seem hard to customize. Certain file storage options are not easy to use on the website. Creating and managing pages can be difficult and the content customization seems to crash frequently.

Reasons for switching to StarChapter

We could not customize our website with any frequency.

Vendor Response

Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback. If you need additional training, please reach out to our team it is included in your subscription and we will schedule that for you.

Replied April 2024

Joseph

Mechanical or Industrial Engineering, 1 employee

Used monthly for more than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra
This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

OVERALL RATING:

4

EASE OF USE

3

VALUE FOR MONEY

3

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

2

FUNCTIONALITY

3

Reviewed April 2024

ASPE BC Chapter StarChapter Reviews

Good days and bad days. There are still a lot things to learn. Knowledge based learning is good. Unfortunately time is a big thing when we all do the job as a volunteer.

PROS

Set up the meeting and the registration for the meeting. Check up the statistic of the use of the website.

CONS

Unfortunately Board member changes every year and new members needs training. An annual introductory training sessions would help.

Vendor Response

Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback. If you need additional training, please reach out to our team it is included in your subscription and we will schedule that for you.

Replied April 2024

Tracey

Marketing and Advertising, 51-200 employees

Used weekly for less than 12 months

Review Source: Capterra
This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

4

VALUE FOR MONEY

4

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

4

FUNCTIONALITY

5

Reviewed August 2019

Choose StarChapter for a Streamlined, Easy-to-Use, Time-Saving Association Management Software

Before StarChapter, we had a website that we built and maintained ourselves. It was outdated and hard to administer. We used an email campaign software, an invoicing software, paid hosting fees, used a security software, and tracked attendees at our events in a spreadsheet — it was a bulky way of operating. Our organization looks so professional now! We were able to consolidate all our other systems into one which is such a time saver! I'm not sure we're saving any money, but the time, ease of use and professional image is worth it. I highly recommend that anyone in an association consider StarChapter. I couldn't be happier with a management software.

PROS

StarChapter has streamlined our volunteer organization's processes and saved each of us time — which is important as volunteers! It's eliminated the use of an email campaign system and invoicing system. It has streamlined our communication with the newsletter feature, and contacting members and non-members with the email templates makes our roles simpler. I love that each of our board members are learning how to maintain their own pages through StarChapter's Knowledgebase. Everything you need to know is in there and it's presented in a style that's easy to read, follow and understand. I've had to request support for a couple items that were more complex than what I could handle, and their support team has responded within a day or two to resolve the challenge.

CONS

I've been using the software for about eight months. I think I still have so much to learn — it's a very robust software — yet they do make it easy to use. I just wish I could dedicate more time to really diving in to understand the connections between the modules and how to maximize the software.

Reasons for switching to StarChapter

Fortunately our national organization partnered with StarChapter and offered to help us make the switch to promote a more consistent look among our regional chapters. They gave us three great templates to choose from and we ran with it from there.

Heather

Education Management, 2-10 employees

Used daily for less than 6 months

Review Source: Capterra
This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

OVERALL RATING:

1

EASE OF USE

1

VALUE FOR MONEY

1

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

1

FUNCTIONALITY

3

Reviewed October 2021

Horrible customer service and glitchy system

Our onboarding experience was HORRIBLE! Zero support, zero expectation management, and the SC team linked our membership page TO THE WRONG WEBSITE > as in, visitors to our membership page were redirected to another chapter that is in our geographic area and is OUR COMPETITOR. When we let our customer service lead know and asked her to fix the error, she responded with a one-word answer - "done".

PROS

I thought we would like that it was an all-in-one solution, but even that isn't worth the headaches of trying to use it.

CONS

Too many pros to list here but this box is requiring more characters . . . it doesn't integrate with any other tools, the website design options are incredibly limited, outdated and stale looking. Check out their website and have a look at the one positive testimonial listed - if you visit that site, you will see they are no longer using StarChapter!

Reason for choosing StarChapter

I wish we had chosen otherwise! We will be ending our membership immediately and starting over with another solution.

Vendor Response

Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback.

Replied November 2021

Polly

Non-Profit Organization Management, 2-10 employees

Used daily for more than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra
This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

5

Reviewed February 2023

I love StarChapters

Amazing! StarChapters staff is super friendly and willing to help. I enjoy working with the team.

PROS

I use StarChapters for multiple things. Website, Bulk Email, track membership, Meeting registration & so much more. Its easy to use and user friendly even if your not tech savey.

CONS

For tickets - You don't have a live chat option. I have to put in a ticket and wait, and hope you get to me quickly. There's no phone number to call when your stuck and need just a little bit of help to keep moving forward.

Reason for choosing StarChapter

I use both. Star Chapters doesn't have a swipe option yet for onsite, day of sales.

Vendor Response

Thank you for taking the time to share your experience, we appreciate your feedback.

Replied November 2023

Desiree

Higher Education, 11-50 employees

Used weekly for less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra
This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

OVERALL RATING:

4

EASE OF USE

3

VALUE FOR MONEY

4

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

4

FUNCTIONALITY

3

Reviewed July 2019

Useful tool for Chapter management

Overall, it’s a vast improvement from how we were managing our chapter. However, there are definitely parts that could be better.

PROS

This tool greatly helps us manage our chapter and events by automating processes that we used to do manually. Gone are the days of tracking everything with spreadsheets. New member sign ups and membership renewals are a breeze, we are able to link to a payment gateway and accept payment directly though or website, and best of all, members can update their contact information at any time. Event registration, sign-in, and payment is also easy. And being able to run reports from the software is great.

CONS

It’s difficult to update the website unless you have prior experience. The reporting function is lacking by not being able to include all data that we want. And while sending emails from the software is great, having to manage this or respond using an outside email provider is very cumbersome. It would be better if we could read emails in the software. Also, not being able to create and send continuing education credit certificates through the software is a huge miss!

Reason for choosing StarChapter

It has the most components and was one of the more affordable options.

RaeAnn

Non-Profit Organization Management, 1 employee

Used daily for more than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra
This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

5

Reviewed July 2019

Star Chapter is the best ASM system!

Great public website that allows online meeting registration.

PROS

Love the ease of ease and the professional facing website and features. Star Chapter customer service is wonderful to work with.

CONS

I honestly do not have any. Wonderful software for the price. Has paid for itself in removing the tedious administrative tasks as well as the human error mistakes.

Reason for choosing StarChapter

Better looking website and the customer service!

Josh

Environmental Services, 51-200 employees

Used weekly for more than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra
This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

OVERALL RATING:

4

EASE OF USE

3

VALUE FOR MONEY

4

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

4

FUNCTIONALITY

4

Reviewed January 2021

Honest Review

Overall it has served us very well. There are many "work arounds". From the perspective of someone who has done some software design, the navigation of star chapter is built on the concept the administrators don't want to see or understand the logic behind the scenes. This leads to a lot of confusion and as more and more people are forced to learn computers and programming type of understanding, it makes many navigational tabs very clunky, unnecessary, and confusing. For example, there is a very nice section for "Board Transition" which is somewhat of a hand holding to set up new profiles for board/leadership members and remove old or outdated members. It would be much easier to just have a section that says "Email Routing" where you can see the logic that "Treasurer@abcorg.com" routes to "JohnDoe@abccorp.com". Instead it is a clunky process similar to a turbo tax style of question and answer that is not as easily understood.

PROS

This is great for organizations and non profit that need something simple to get them going. We use this to manage members, as well as host our e-commerce type transactions for events.

CONS

It is a bit clunky and not as intuitive when wanting to do more advanced level organizational management. For example, if a member has not renewed their membership there is a grace period and then the member gets moved to a different list. If that member wants to renew- they have to create a whole new login which adds to confusion when the user expects to just to be able to login and renew their membership. Since starchapter has membership level built into their pricing, it makes it very hard for organizations to keep a seemless record of "active" and "inactive" members. This makes a big difference when doing complex registration or selling of items on the e-commerce site. For example a member may get a certain discount versuses a non member. It is very clunky if a user wants to pay for a membership and get membership pricing of an event registration all at the same time. It is very limited in that logic.

Reasons for switching to StarChapter

We needed event registration and a way to easily and securely do transactions.

Vendor Response

Thank you for your feedback, we really appreciate it as it helps us improve our product.

Replied February 2021

Debbie

Legal Services, 2-10 employees

Used weekly for more than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra
This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

3

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT