All Current RMS Reviews

1-25 of 80 Reviews

Sort by

Reviews are by default sorted by Recommended to software buyers, driven by our proprietary algorithm reflecting the depth and quality of the review, recency of experience, and other factors. As a neutral reviews platform, the star rating of the review is not considered in the "Recommended" ranking, and there is currently no voting mechanism that would allow site visitors to influence the ranking.

Jesse

Events Services, 2-10 employees

Used daily for more than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra
This review was submitted organically. No incentive was offered

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

4

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

4

Reviewed March 2024

Our Experience with Current RMS

Current RMS has been great for us so far, but we make up for the lack of pretty key features like payment integration, and online booking with lots of hours of extra admin and processes that we'd love to see automated and integrated into Current, to make it streamlined for our customers and free us up to spend time improving our business rather than maintaining it by being buried under lots of computer time.

PROS

Current RMS provides our company with a great asset management tool and the necessary systems to ensure that stock is managed well by our team and delivered properly to our clients.

CONS

It would be great to see a credit card payment link integrated into the invoices produced by Current, much like Xero integrates a payment link using Stripe on the invoices it produces. This would reduce steps in the workflow for our administration team and reduce confusion with our customers. Currently we have to post an invoice in current and then generate another invoice in Xero to create a credit card payment link when our customers want to pay that way. Another issue that would be great to see resolved is part payments. When a customer pays a deposit and it is credited towards the invoice, it would be ideal if the next invoice that is generated automatically takes what has been paid and applies it to the invoice so that when the outstanding amount invoice is generated, it shows the amount left owing automatically. Currently it seems that it needs to be worked out manually. Another feature that we are desperate to see is website integration for online bookings. Currently we have a website that accepts equipment orders, then we get the order and have to manually add it to Current RMS. The issue is that customers can't check if the product is actually available before booking, can't book for multiple days and have to wait for us to check and confirm the order after we've manually done it on Current. We would gladly pay more for the service if this feature was integrated, much like what Booqable offers, but with the features that Current provides.

Reason for choosing Current RMS

Referral from industry friends who use Current to manage their event businesses.

Reasons for switching to Current RMS

We needed more accurate asset management and check in and out processes to ensure stock is returned and managed properly, not being double booked etc.

Alex

Motion Pictures and Film, 2-10 employees

Used daily for more than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra
This review was submitted organically. No incentive was offered

OVERALL RATING:

4

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

3

Reviewed March 2024

Enjoying our experience but room for improvement

Overall we are very happy with current-rms and the few cons are vastly outweighed by the pros of the system. It's a good fit for our company and it's been a pleasure to use for these past ~5 years.

PROS

The UI and UX on current-rms is fantastic and very intuitive. It's very easy for us to onboard new hires onto the system and the support materials and tutorials online are good. It has a good level of functionality for our needs and does almost everything we need to operate our business. The cloud based design is also very convenient and the ability to customize documents within the software ourselves is very appreciated. It is also great to see new features and improvements consistently implemented. It's a joy to use everyday!

CONS

My biggest area of frustration with current-rms are with the inventory checking module and functionality, while it does work it's very bare bones and when we do our annual inventory check it's constantly causing us headaches and we often have to use other tools simultaneously (spreadsheets, documents etc.) to properly keep track of where we are in the inventory check process. The way the inventory module is laid out makes it very difficult to look up the status of a specific item during an inventory check. My other frustration is the lack of custom reports, you can create custom fields and lists of values, however reporting on those is not possible, we had to hire an outside developer to implement a tool via the API in order to achieve the full functionality we needed for our business. The software would be pretty much perfect in my mind if it had a robust inventory checking module and the ability to do custom reporting.

Reason for choosing Current RMS

I really appreciated the great UI/UX design on current-rms and by using the free trial I was able to quickly determine it would meet almost all our needs. The integrations with quickbooks and the open API were also selling features for us.

Reasons for switching to Current RMS

Studio Suite's rental module was a frankenstein mess and when I started at the company one of my first priorities was to switch us to a more robust system that met all our needs and would allow us to grow in the future. Current-rms met those needs.

sean

Entertainment, 2-10 employees

Used daily for less than 12 months

Review Source: Capterra

OVERALL RATING:

3

EASE OF USE

3

VALUE FOR MONEY

4

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

4

FUNCTIONALITY

3

Reviewed July 2017

we need more functionality without waiting for peer review

not enough

PROS

it is meeting the needs of our hire business and RMS have a dedication to the product development and interested in how it works for us. If you believe in your product and your customers and actively support both you cant lose. your response to our needs is personal and quick .. you rock

CONS

we need changes to how the software works and changes only occur if you think thats what everyone wants and will only develop on that basis. we know what we need and our ideas are intellectual property development from us for free. we need recognition of our contribution where functionality will increase the value of your product. we are effectively your partners in business adding value to your delivered product. we need change and growth in functionality our ideas will benefit everybody, make change happen quicker.

Vendor Response

Hi Sean, Thanks for your review, we are keen to have a chat with you about the changes you are looking for so we'll be contacting you shortly. The Customer Wishlist is the main source for our development roadmap as it enables us to gather feedback from over 3,000 users worldwide in one central location. However, we are always happy and keen to listen to personal, one on one feedback from our customers. If there's an idea which we feel would benefit all users and wouldn't take up too much development time or steer us away from other major, key features we plan to release then we'd consider the change. We really do appreciate all the voluntary feedback put forward by industry experts so we can ensure we are building the right features, in the right way for our users. Continuously working as hard as possible to ensure we are updating the system to customer requirement whilst staying true to the design and ease of use of Current - keeping it affordable and flexible. Thanks

Replied July 2017

Yke

Broadcast Media, 11-50 employees

Used daily for more than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra
This review was submitted organically. No incentive was offered

OVERALL RATING:

4

EASE OF USE

4

VALUE FOR MONEY

4

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

3

FUNCTIONALITY

4

Reviewed March 2024

Keep up the development.

Overall I am happy with Current-RMS. Stability is good. Support is

PROS

I like Current-RMS for rental, but what they do good is to make use of strong integration partners and not try to invent everything themselves.

CONS

There has been a long period of no development and new features. It seems to be picking up now. Some obvious functions are still not in there. They are on the 'under consideration' list but would love to see them released.

Reason for choosing Current RMS

Current covered the most important features needed and the import and export functions are very open.

Reasons for switching to Current RMS

We moved from our own server based software to cloud based.

Neil

Media Production, 1 employee

Used daily for more than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra
This review was submitted organically. No incentive was offered

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

5

Reviewed March 2024

Current_RMS, Best Rental Software EVER!!

Best!! wish i met them sooner. always warm and friendly.

PROS

EVERYTHING, including the staff. keep saying, i wish i met CRMS sooner!!

CONS

cant think of anything at the moment. fear of cost cutting, effecting the product in the process.

Reason for choosing Current RMS

Gave them a try and also, they did free document design.

Reasons for switching to Current RMS

CRMS was the last throw of the dice before slitting my throat. At least 2 others are missing from this list. TBS Software Inc. RentalPoint3

Sarah

Events Services, 11-50 employees

Used daily for less than 12 months

Review Source: Capterra
This review was submitted organically. No incentive was offered

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

4

FUNCTIONALITY

5

Reviewed March 2024

Easy to implement software

Overall, happy with the software. The only times we've had struggles, it was down to us needing more training rather than the system itself.

PROS

30 day trial - Full ability to try the software before making a commitment to it The price includes YouTube videos and live zoom sessions The support team gave me import templates to easily upload my equipment Not locked into any contracts Can access the system on mobile whilst out on the road Ability to speak to the support team instantly on the phone

CONS

There's been a couple of times I haven't had the response I wanted from support, but when I escalate this, the senior members of the team are very knowledgeable and happy to help.

Reason for choosing Current RMS

There was more self-serve content available for us to implement the software ourselves

Brad

2-10 employees

Used daily for more than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

5

Reviewed July 2016

Current is the extra person we can actually afford...

Current has totally revolutionised our business and been with us right from starting as a one man business all the way to where we are now. I always get asked, is this software just for big businesses OR is this business just for small businesses. Truth is Current RMS is both, and everything in between. I strongly believe that Current has enabled us to grow from a small business to a larger business because Current has taken the place of the extra office employee we could never afford. Whether it's on the road, at the gig, in the warehouse or in the office. Current always has everything organised and looks absolutely beautiful both from our end, and more importantly from the customer's end. Current's customer service has been second to none. The Current team even sent us a Christmas present last year - that's how you can know that you're dealing with REAL people on the other end.

PROS

This software is absolutely sensational. It looks good, it operates even better, it's cloud based, integrates straight with our accounting package, AND the creators are forever after your feedback to improve the package. Unlike most provider's they actually listen to what the consumer wants and then they deliver it. Never have I found a software package that makes me actually enjoy managing a business, until now.

CONS

Every time I find a con, shortly after Current RMS brings out an update that fixes the con. So I'm going to leave this box blank, because If I fill it, chances are by next week it will be irrelevant!

Vendor Response

Hi Brad, We love having you and the whole team at PCC Productions on board. Thanks so much for taking the time to review Current RMS. Take care

Replied July 2016

Chris

Events Services, 2-10 employees

Used daily for more than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra
This review was submitted organically. No incentive was offered

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

5

Reviewed March 2024

Core Event Hire Ltd - Current RMS Booking System For Hires

Been great over the years, never had any crashes or issues and the team are always available and on hand for any advice, updates or general advice.

PROS

The inventory system is very helpful for our company, holds pricing, weights, replacement charges and sub hire stocks. Navigation is straightforward, generally user friendly.

CONS

Sometimes found it hard to find a login link from another device as in an actual landing platform to login as a user without our unique link at the ready.

Dan

Events Services, 11-50 employees

Used daily for less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra
This review was submitted organically. No incentive was offered

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

5

Reviewed March 2024

One feature that will help a lot

PROS

Well organized and user friendly. Helps us have all information at hand whenever we need it.

CONS

Doesn't have an "undo" button. The number of times we accidentally delete something and we want to go back.

Vendor Response

Thanks for taking the time to leave us a review Dan! We'd be interested to understand if there's any specific pages on Current where you accidentally delete things. From here, we can evaluate what's possible around an undo button, or look at the possibility of putting more warning screens in place to prevent users deleting something accidentally. If you could drop us an email on help@current-rms.com, we can then pass that to the relevant department for consideration.

Replied April 2024

Christopher

Entertainment, 11-50 employees

Used daily for more than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra
This review was submitted organically. No incentive was offered

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

4

Reviewed March 2024

A Valuable Asset

PROS

Current RMS has a clean modern layout with easy to use interfaces and functions that allow me to track, rent, and sell equipment easily. The customer service is quick and responsive and always a pleasure to deal with. I don't know how we ran the business without it.

CONS

A couple of small QoL things. They are so small that I can't think of them at the moment.

Paul

Used daily for less than 6 months

Review Source: Capterra
This review was submitted organically. No incentive was offered

OVERALL RATING:

4

EASE OF USE

3

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

4

FUNCTIONALITY

4

Reviewed February 2018

Solid foundation but needs to mature

PROS

Looks great. Generally intuitive. LOVE the weight tracking of orders - great for booking trucks. Handles shortages and sub-hires well. Friendly, helpful staff. Solid Xero integration - minus recurring invoices.

CONS

Lacking in features we needed, namely; - doesn't support recurring rentals - especially the billing aspect - no web store for customer self-service - no iOS/Android app (don't let the screen shots fool you, this is not designed for an iPad experience) - not terribly sophisticated when it comes to managing services, utilisation and margins (it's core strength seems to be as a great resource tracker) None of this is their fault - they don't claim to do any of this - we needed to spend more time evaluating them vs. the competition. The only serious criticism I have is that their feature backlog is too democratic, driven by a free-for-all of community suggestions and "voting" vs. a clear vision for what they want the product to be. The result is there's no real sense of direction or roadmap which, if you are betting your business on their business, makes it hard to know if you're ever going to get what you want and should hang in for the ride, or do what we're doing and start looking at alternatives.

Vendor Response

Hi Paul, Thanks for providing us with your feedback. We appreciate that the features you have mentioned are important to your business, and we work extremely hard to ensure we're building features that the industry wants and needs. Since we launched in 2014, we've implemented almost 100 updates from our wishlist into all users' systems and are continuing to work hard to add more throughout 2018. With over 1,400 companies now on board, all with their own requests for features, the wishlist is the best way for us manage these requests in a fair way. The ideas that receive the most votes get built first, so we're responding to the industry's needs. As you mentioned, we are very open and transparent about what Current can do now and in future. We update ideas on our wishlist, so users can see when ideas are in different development stages. I can see our Product Specialist, Michael, is in contact with you, so we look forward to discussing your feedback further. Many Thanks.

Replied February 2018

Liam

Performing Arts, 11-50 employees

Used daily for less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra
This review was submitted organically. No incentive was offered

OVERALL RATING:

4

EASE OF USE

4

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

4

Reviewed April 2024

Great user inferface

PROS

Current is great at keeping track on inventory whether its in the warehouse or out on jobs. Having a web based system means I can open it wherever I am.

CONS

Because of the web based system I've found that barcode scanning can be slow as you have to wait for the page to load. It would be cool if multiple things could be scanned before submitting in some circumstances like serialised containers and preparing/booking out etc

Vendor Response

Thanks Liam, it's great to see that you're enjoying the cloud-based nature of Current alongside the friendly user interface. Barcode scanning/the warehouse process is a key process for the majority of our customers. We recently launched some small quality-of-life warehouse improvements and would love to understand more around how you feel barcode scanning could be done faster. Please can you email your feedback to help@current-rms.com and our dedicated product management team can have a chat with you about this?

Replied April 2024

Tom

Motion Pictures and Film, 2-10 employees

Used daily for less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra
This review was submitted organically. No incentive was offered

OVERALL RATING:

4

EASE OF USE

4

VALUE FOR MONEY

4

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

3

Reviewed March 2024

Current has a lot of potential but is lacking in certain critical areas.

I am reasonably happy with Current, but wish we could address all the items I mentioned above.

PROS

I love the ease of working on Current using any device, from anywhere. It makes remote management of my rental business possible when I can’t be in the office, or am traveling.

CONS

My least favorite aspects of Current are: - lack of payment processing within Current - inability to customize Current screen data to match our internal process/terminology - inability to track vital customer data like insurance status - inability to completely customize forms without extensive coding knowledge - inability to give inventory items “permanent” subrental status - Complexity of making “packages”

James

Media Production, 2-10 employees

Used daily for more than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

4

VALUE FOR MONEY

4

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

4

Reviewed September 2016

SImple setup and easy to implement with no upfront cost

Before we started using Current-RMS most rental systems wanted a site license and server with a large initial outlay. Current-RMS enabled us to get a better system going without that up front cost and a simple per user pricing model. Easy to use, links into our Xero accounts system easily and now with an API so we can start integrating with our website. Great support from the team.

PROS

Ease of implementation and use.

CONS

Availability calendar not currently possible to embed in client facing website but new API may now allow customisation.

Vendor Response

Thanks for your great feedback James. You can indeed access product availability information in client facing websites using our new API. We¿ve dropped you a quick message about how to do this. If you do have any more questions, please don't hesitate to contact the support team. They are more than happy to help :)

Replied September 2016

Paul

Entertainment, 2-10 employees

Used daily for more than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra
This review was submitted organically. No incentive was offered

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

5

Reviewed November 2017

It's a great piece of software that has enable our margins to grow

It's brilliant for making a business efficient and smooth in running

PROS

The fact it makes us more efficient in the warehouse and the prepping and shipping of new work. The system also allows you to see not only your equipment but your staff and vehicles whereabouts too this enables us to plan efficiently for future work

CONS

No internet no system this can cause an issue of working on the cloud however touch wood it hasn't happened yet :-)

Vendor Response

Hey Paul, Thanks for your great review :-) It's such a pleasure having EWPSL on board. Great to hear how you're able to plan more efficiently for future jobs with the help of Current RMS.

Replied November 2017

Gerard

Entertainment, 1 employee

Used daily for less than 12 months

Review Source: Capterra

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

4

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

4

Reviewed February 2017

Excellent bang for buck.

I moved my small rental business to current from a much older legacy platform that required me to maintain a local server. Cloud access was not an option. Having moved to current, I can now maintain my assets much better, and with the new API I have been able to create custom tools to further improve my workflow.

PROS

Flexibility, constant updating and improvements.

CONS

Lacking a couple of core feature sets (overall job pricing, test and tag) that most other platforms support.

Vendor Response

Hey Gerard, thanks so much for taking the time to review Current. In terms of the "overall job pricing" - I wonder whether you're referring to the following idea on our Wishlist: https://goo.gl/zXXQXB ...If so, this idea is currently in planning stages, and is in the pipeline to be released in the not so distant future. Also, in terms of testing (which I assume is PAT testing), we will be more than happy to share a document on how to use custom fields to store the info. We'll send you over an email shortly with a bit more information.

Replied February 2017

Natasha

Used daily for less than 6 months

Review Source: Capterra
This review was submitted organically. No incentive was offered

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

4

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY