Protean Software Reviews

Protean Software Reviews

Find out more:

Find out more:

Review Highlights

Overall Rating

4.67

Ratings Breakdown

Secondary Ratings

Ease-of-use

4.5

Customer Support

5

Value for money

4.5

Functionality

4.5


Pros and Cons

  • icon"Technical support is very good, they seem to have an efficient team there. The client portal is particularly useful, clients being able to log in online to get live updates on jobs."
  • icon"I love what (Sensitive Content Hidden) are doing with Protean. For us Protean is not just a piece of software we use everyday."
  • icon"The technical support and customer service is very good. The security access rights are role based and very granular which is useful."
  • icon"Multi equipment jobs can be difficult to make corrections if not done correctly first time."
  • icon"Getting non standard reports can be costly and takes time, but that's about it."
  • icon"Enhancement requests can take a while to implement, but any bugs found are usually ironed out quickly. Bespoke reports or specific software changes can be quite costly."

Have you used Protean and would like to share your experience with others?

Write a review

All Protean Reviews

1-18 of 18 Reviews

Sort by

Reviews are by default sorted by Recommended to software buyers, driven by our proprietary algorithm reflecting the depth and quality of the review, recency of experience, and other factors. As a neutral reviews platform, the star rating of the review is not considered in the "Recommended" ranking, and there is currently no voting mechanism that would allow site visitors to influence the ranking.

Matthew

Company size: 51-200 employees

Industry: Machinery

Time used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra

This review was submitted organically. No incentive was offered

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

4

November 2019

Software

Pros

I love what (Sensitive Content Hidden) are doing with Protean. For us Protean is not just a piece of software we use everyday. It is central to our business operating and performing and the team at Protean understand this. We feel valued as a customer, it is a personal relationship and every staff member at Protean cares about Bennie and our success, which is phenomenal. As a Group we have many many software suppliers and Protean rank at the very top. Protean is more than a software company, they are a business Partner of Bennie.

Cons

I still looks a bit legacy, and has a couple of quirks. But Protean are engaging with customers on the roadmap and we know this is changing, so we are looking forward to the future.

Reasons for choosing Protean

Customer service, ease of use and familiarity.

Reasons for switching to Protean

Decision was before my time, but we are now looking at putting into other business units.

Timothy

Company size: 2-10 employees

Industry: Facilities Services

Time used: Less than 2 years

Review Source

This review was submitted organically. No incentive was offered

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

5

February 2020

Organize and prioritize experts

I have been on since day one contact in integrating their software and our business and have to say they are really responsive and we have a dedicated rep that is there and responds quickly and efficiently. If there is something I have a question on he answers promptly or if he is unsure he gets back usually same day if not within the hour. Great software, Customer service, Excellent product.

Pros

This software can help track jobs customers invoices paid and past due balances and you can even set past due balance limits that when your customer owes more than $100 for example it won't let you schedule service. Good way to keep track of invoices paid and unpaid. also keep tabs on expenses milage and many many more features already recommended to mechanics delivery drivers and other service professionals that are sole proprietors. I feel this software can work for hvac, maintenance companies, cleaning services, if you have customers and contractor or employees, this will work for you.

Cons

Haven't found any down side yet and I'm going on 2yrs of daily usage.

Reasons for choosing Protean

I was contacted by sales rep and they gave me a demo and I saw immediate implications and results for what the software could do for my business and free up so much of my already jam packed day. I called both companies and they don't return calls promptly and they don't come out to give demos or troubleshoot in person if needed.

Reasons for switching to Protean

System was multiple platforms and had lots of holes and very expensive. This was a one stop shop for excellent service and great product.

Andy

Company size: 51-200 employees

Industry: Automotive

Time used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra

This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

EASE OF USE

4

VALUE FOR MONEY

4

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

4

November 2022

Very good product to a point, and await next version for major advancements

Goog company, UK based, and friendly helpful implementation and support staff.Feels like their focus is moving away from the locally hosted to cloud based ServiceSight product, so I'd advise anyone looking at Protean to ensure the solution they choose is the correct future-proofed solution for the business, as moving into or from Protean (or similar products) is not a small project.

Pros

This was an upgrade from Service Director who no longer supported their desktop product, and at the time (2019) when we did an appraisal of alternatives in the market Protean was the only one that ticked all the boxes and met all business requirements. Moving to Protean allowed the business to grow further than could have been possible with Service Director.

Cons

The integration with Sage200 was disappointing. We began to integrate to Sage50 but were assured that when we moved to Sage200 that it would be much better integrated, especially in terms of parts/stock, however that was not true and so we could only expand so far with Protean and are now looking for alternatives.

Reasons for choosing Protean

Based on business requirements, cost and migration ease, which Protean seemed to fit best with.

Reasons for switching to Protean

Service Director ceased to support their desktop product adequately to meet our business needs, and at the time (2019) when we did an appraisal of alternatives in the market Protean was the only one that ticked all the boxes and met all business requirements.

David

Company size: 51-200 employees

Industry: Facilities Services

Time used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra

EASE OF USE

4

VALUE FOR MONEY

3

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

4

August 2022

LMC FM Protean Customer Review.

Very positive overall but particularly from a consulting and support perspective. WE feel like we can explain our problem /challenges and have a partner that listens, understands and directs us to practical solutions.

Pros

Product is very intuitive -easy to use and very easy integrate with our exciting Financial software Sage 50

Cons

Looking forward to newer Staged payment module to allow us to do live Project P@L analysis.

Nick

Company size: 11-50 employees

Industry: Machinery

Time used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra

This reviewer was invited by the software vendor to submit an honest review.

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

4

February 2021

Protean - Solid, reliable & dependable after 6 years of using it

We supply and service commercial and industrial cleaning machines and we use Protean for: Job management Stock management Order management, Machine fleet management, Maintenance contract management Hire contract management The job and stock management modules have absolutely transformed our business. It has automated so many processes within our company, helping us provide a better service to our clients and improve operational efficiencies

Pros

- The engineer interface is simple and straight forward to use which was one of the key reasons we went with Protean. - The ability to bulk import and amend data was very important to us and Protean handles this very well. - Technical support is very good, they seem to have an efficient team there. - The client portal is particularly useful, clients being able to log in online to get live updates on jobs. - Automatic job reports being sent to our clients on job completion are very well received, also saving us a great deal of time needing to provide those update. - History of clients, jobs, parts fitted, etc is easily accessible -The most important feature for us is how reliable the software has been. Protean has been really solid for us with zero downtime in almost 6 years! The data always add up too which is of course vital.

Cons

It could do with some additional user access rights options, being able to restrict certain users from amending parts of the system. I understand this is currently being developed. We also don't use the CRM side of the software as this didn't match our needs, granted this was a number of years ago so it may have been updated.

Jonathan

Company size: 11-50 employees

Industry: Mechanical or Industrial Engineering

Time used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra

This review was submitted organically. No incentive was offered

EASE OF USE

4

VALUE FOR MONEY

4

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

4

January 2018

Protean has transformed how we operate and do business

Much quicker to issue jobs, get them done, get the info, quote for repairs and invoice on the completion. Complete traceability of events, no lost emails or 'who's dealing with this' scenarios. The engineers can take photos on their phone and send them straight to the office via Protean to ensure we quote for and order the correct replacement part.

Pros

All relevant modules in one place with live data and analysis using the Protean Intelligence feature. No need for additional spreadsheets to support it, it's all here in one package. Excellent telephone and email customer support with webinars, videos, and online help also available. Easy to use app which isn't web based so doesn't rely on network connection for continued usage Regular software updates. Protean are receptive to enhancement requests for future updates to their software.

Cons

Enhancement requests can take a while to implement, but any bugs found are usually ironed out quickly. Bespoke reports or specific software changes can be quite costly. Learning curve can be steep for new software users due to power of software (it doesn't hold your hand through processes), but classroom training is available in Coventry.

Rachael

Company size: 11-50 employees

Industry: Facilities Services

Time used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

5

May 2022

Great CRM and core business system

When we looked at the initial implementation of the system we were allocated our own project manager from Protean, to understand our business functions and agree the data to be migrated from existing system and the configuration requirements for Protean to provide the functions and more for the day-to-day tasks of our business. Once implementation complete, they have a Support team on had to assist and a technical team for escalations to be made to. They are always open to improvement ideas for potention future development into the system. There is a comprehensive reporting database and a specalist team on hand to provide bespoke reports if needed.

Pros

The data flows and links throughout the entire system, CRM, job management, equipment records, regular servicing schedules, stock control, purchase and sales invoicing and ultimately integrates the financial aspects with Sage 50 Accounts

Cons

Any areas identified for improvement or change are passed to the developent team to be considered for future updates

Reasons for switching to Protean

To have improved functionality and sock control with Protean

Barrie

Company size: 51-200 employees

Industry: Facilities Services

Time used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra

This reviewer was invited by the software vendor to submit an honest review.

EASE OF USE

4

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

4

April 2019

Very Happy Customer

From the initial discussion we had through to the implementation and eventual roll out of the system Protean were absolutely brilliant, I remember the go live day, we had one of their support guys on site to help deal with any last minute issues, there were none !!! by 10am we were drinking coffee and chatting. As a business owner you need to be sure you have good systems in place so that staff can undertake the work quickly and efficiently. I have no problem recommending Protean, we are all very happy with the system.

Pros

It is tried and tested so when a new release comes out it works every time. Once you understand the system it is very powerful and can produce a lot of very useful information. The quality of the end result paper work that the customer sees is very good. although this is an off the shelf product it can be adapted to most situations. (more than others on the market)

Cons

When looking initially it can be a little confusing as it looks complicated, that soon goes away once you understand the layout. The web portal could look a bit nicer.

Kirk

Company size: 51-200 employees

Industry: Construction

Time used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra

EASE OF USE

4

VALUE FOR MONEY

4

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

3

May 2022

Pacific Fire & Security Protean Review

We migrated over to Protean in 2018 and now its difficult to imagine our operation without it. Protean has enabled us to improve in all areas including admin efficiency, customer service and feedback, engineering support and reducing down the workload in our accounts department significantly. The customer service and technical support team at Protean are always available and very helpful.

Pros

The most important and impactful modules in protean for our company are Maintenance Contract Management, Engineer Scheduling , Job Management & Invoicing/billing. The software has improved efficiency in the office and out in the field, and allowed us to scale up our operation whilst reducing administration expense and errors.

Cons

Job/Inspection Sheets outdated in comparison to other software with more dynamic report sheets. CRM system does not have as many features/reporting as other CRM software available.

Reasons for switching to Protean

We were looking for a system with a more user friendly platform which Protean provides.

Simon

Company size: 11-50 employees

Industry: Mechanical or Industrial Engineering

Time used: Less than 12 months

Review Source: Capterra

This review was submitted organically. No incentive was offered

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

5

November 2019

Excellent software and a great, innovative company to partner with

This software has brought large operational improvements already and we can see that it will continue to benefit our business in the forthcoming years.

Pros

Protean caters for all our business & operational needs thank to the large variety of modules available from CRM through Job, Planner, Mobile App. The software makes it easier for staff to carry out their daily duties efficiently & paper free and has the flexibility to allow us to configure it to cater for our needs. The support we get from Protean is excellent, always providing great customer service. Protean Software are a great business partner and are continually enhancing their software functionality to benefit us. An additional bonus to us is that they offer a bolt-on Hire module. This allows us to specifically manage this aspect of our business. We initially reviewed and considered several other software platforms but are very pleased we choose to select Protean. It is a great business solution.

Cons

Non particularly. We should have spent more time practicing, prior to going live. We were advised very clearly to do this but did not allocate sufficient time to our team.

Reasons for switching to Protean

Limited functionality and not enough control of stock and materials.

Laura

Company size: 11-50 employees

Industry: Mechanical or Industrial Engineering

Time used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra

This review was submitted organically. No incentive was offered

EASE OF USE

4

VALUE FOR MONEY

4

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

4

FUNCTIONALITY

4

July 2022

Great Maintenance Management

Pros

As a company who have a high volume of preventative maintenance contracts, Protean have a great system for programming and maintaining these. Protean offer a web portal for our customers to access their job reports/invoicing 24/7 which is a big plus for our company. Great features for attributes. I also like the mapping feature to see where our engineers are in real time, but also travel history is very useful. There is also scope for personalisation to suit our company's reporting and formatting.

Cons

Tablet issues with our mobile engineers can be tiresome but Protean do have a support team available during normal working hours to help. There can be a lack of feedback/knowledge on what caused the errors. There can also be long wait times for the development team to address faults within the system.

Greg

Company size: 201-500 employees

Industry: Security and Investigations

Time used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra

This reviewer was invited by the software vendor to submit an honest review.

EASE OF USE

4

VALUE FOR MONEY

4

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

5

February 2021

Long time satisfied Protean user

Overall we have been very satisfied with Protean since its deployment back in 2011.

Pros

We have been using Protean software for the past 10 years. Protean has a comprehensive set of features and the technical team are very efficient when it comes to bespoke changes. The system is reasonably configurable and being based on SQL Server database relatively easy to integrate with. The mobile engineer application has been critical to us. The technical support and customer service is very good. The security access rights are role based and very granular which is useful.

Cons

A more comprehensive web based interface for some functions would be very useful. I understand from the road map that Protean is moving in a SAAS direction and we are keen to move with them.

Richard

Company size: 11-50 employees

Industry: Facilities Services

Time used: Less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra

This review was submitted organically. No incentive was offered

EASE OF USE

4

VALUE FOR MONEY

4

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

4

FUNCTIONALITY

4

November 2019

Great Time Saver

Protean has allowed us to produce far more accurate records and reports, and makes the general day to day job for our staff much easier. It also allows us to plug gaps where the previous processes could have had things slip through the net. It's not perfect, but compared to other companies in our field, the functionality and value is far beyond many of the competitors alternatives.

Pros

The software has allowed our company to keep an accurate record of all works completed, and services due. Previously this was much more of an issue, and it has helped to streamline our processes, in turn making the team more efficient, and providing our clients with a much more fluid and improved service.

Cons

There are a few areas where the software can be slightly frustrating, the way our contracts are set up can sometimes cause us minor issues within the system, but on a whole the positives hugely outweigh any negatives.

Simon

Time used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra

This review was submitted organically. No incentive was offered

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

4

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

4

December 2017

Protean is core to our operations and their support is excellent.

Pros

Protean is very user friendly and intuitive for the users. New users find it very easy to work with and can quickly get a grasp of the basics. The support we get from Protean is very good, the help desk team are very responsive and can usually resolve any issues very quickly. The engineer PDA's are simple and clear to use and we are looking forward to the improvments in the planner board. Protean are evolving their product and listen to our feedback positively.

Cons

At times we find that the reporting is a bit clunky, but we are told this will be resolved when we upgrade.

Nigel

Company size: 11-50 employees

Industry: Construction

Time used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra

This review was submitted organically. No incentive was offered

EASE OF USE

4

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

5