User Reviews Overview

Feature Ratings

Ease-of-use

4.5 / 5

Value for Money

4.5 / 5

Customer Support

5.0 / 5

Functionality

4.5 / 5

Ratings Breakdown

5 stars

(9)

9

4 stars

(2)

2

3 stars

(0)

0

2 stars

(0)

0

1 stars

(0)

0

  • Pros

  • "Very user friendly, saves a huge amount of time."

  • Cons

  • "When looking initially it can be a little confusing as it looks complicated, that soon goes away once you understand the layout. The web portal could look a bit nicer."

  • "At times we find that the reporting is a bit clunky, but we are told this will be resolved when we upgrade. "

  • "SO FAR I HAVE NOT COME ACROSS ANY CONS, THE ONLY ISSUE WAS TRANSFERRING FIGURES ACROSS TO SAGE WAS NOT POSSIBLE BUT THE ISSUE WAS RESOLVED VERY QUICKLY"

Browse Protean Reviews

Filter by:

Sort by:
 

Showing -49 - -39 of 11 results

November 2019

Matthew from Bennie

Company Size: 51-200 employees

Industry: Machinery

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

4.0

November 2019

Software

Pros

I love what (Sensitive Content Hidden) are doing with Protean. For us Protean is not just a piece of software we use everyday. It is central to our business operating and performing and the team at Protean understand this. We feel valued as a customer, it is a personal relationship and every staff member at Protean cares about Bennie and our success, which is phenomenal. As a Group we have many many software suppliers and Protean rank at the very top. Protean is more than a software company, they are a business Partner of Bennie.

Cons

I still looks a bit legacy, and has a couple of quirks. But Protean are engaging with customers on the roadmap and we know this is changing, so we are looking forward to the future.

February 2020

Timothy from C.R. Cleaning

Company Size: 2-10 employees

Industry: Facilities Services

Time Used: Less than 2 years

Review Source


Ease-of-use

5.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

5.0

February 2020

Organize and prioritize experts

I have been on since day one contact in integrating their software and our business and have to say they are really responsive and we have a dedicated rep that is there and responds quickly and efficiently. If there is something I have a question on he answers promptly or if he is unsure he gets back usually same day if not within the hour. Great software, Customer service, Excellent product.

Pros

This software can help track jobs customers invoices paid and past due balances and you can even set past due balance limits that when your customer owes more than $100 for example it won't let you schedule service. Good way to keep track of invoices paid and unpaid. also keep tabs on expenses milage and many many more features already recommended to mechanics delivery drivers and other service professionals that are sole proprietors. I feel this software can work for hvac, maintenance companies, cleaning services, if you have customers and contractor or employees, this will work for you.

Cons

Haven't found any down side yet and I'm going on 2yrs of daily usage.

January 2018

Jonathan from Ideal Lifts Service Ltd

Company Size: 11-50 employees

Industry: Mechanical or Industrial Engineering

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

4.0

Value for money

4.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

4.0

January 2018

Protean has transformed how we operate and do business

Much quicker to issue jobs, get them done, get the info, quote for repairs and invoice on the completion. Complete traceability of events, no lost emails or 'who's dealing with this' scenarios. The engineers can take photos on their phone and send them straight to the office via Protean to ensure we quote for and order the correct replacement part.

Pros

All relevant modules in one place with live data and analysis using the Protean Intelligence feature. No need for additional spreadsheets to support it, it's all here in one package. Excellent telephone and email customer support with webinars, videos, and online help also available. Easy to use app which isn't web based so doesn't rely on network connection for continued usage Regular software updates. Protean are receptive to enhancement requests for future updates to their software.

Cons

Enhancement requests can take a while to implement, but any bugs found are usually ironed out quickly. Bespoke reports or specific software changes can be quite costly. Learning curve can be steep for new software users due to power of software (it doesn't hold your hand through processes), but classroom training is available in Coventry.

November 2019

Richard from Workspace Technology

Company Size: 11-50 employees

Industry: Facilities Services

Time Used: Less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

4.0

Value for money

4.0

Customer support

4.0

Functionality

4.0

November 2019

Great Time Saver

Protean has allowed us to produce far more accurate records and reports, and makes the general day to day job for our staff much easier. It also allows us to plug gaps where the previous processes could have had things slip through the net. It's not perfect, but compared to other companies in our field, the functionality and value is far beyond many of the competitors alternatives.

Pros

The software has allowed our company to keep an accurate record of all works completed, and services due. Previously this was much more of an issue, and it has helped to streamline our processes, in turn making the team more efficient, and providing our clients with a much more fluid and improved service.

Cons

There are a few areas where the software can be slightly frustrating, the way our contracts are set up can sometimes cause us minor issues within the system, but on a whole the positives hugely outweigh any negatives.

April 2019

Barrie from Servio Ltd

Company Size: 51-200 employees

Industry: Facilities Services

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

4.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

4.0

April 2019

Very Happy Customer

From the initial discussion we had through to the implementation and eventual roll out of the system Protean were absolutely brilliant, I remember the go live day, we had one of their support guys on site to help deal with any last minute issues, there were none !!! by 10am we were drinking coffee and chatting. As a business owner you need to be sure you have good systems in place so that staff can undertake the work quickly and efficiently. I have no problem recommending Protean, we are all very happy with the system.

Pros

It is tried and tested so when a new release comes out it works every time. Once you understand the system it is very powerful and can produce a lot of very useful information. The quality of the end result paper work that the customer sees is very good. although this is an off the shelf product it can be adapted to most situations. (more than others on the market)

Cons

When looking initially it can be a little confusing as it looks complicated, that soon goes away once you understand the layout. The web portal could look a bit nicer.

November 2019

Simon from Construction

Company Size: 11-50 employees

Industry: Mechanical or Industrial Engineering

Time Used: Less than 12 months

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

5.0

November 2019

Excellent software and a great, innovative company to partner with

This software has brought large operational improvements already and we can see that it will continue to benefit our business in the forthcoming years.

Pros

Protean caters for all our business & operational needs thank to the large variety of modules available from CRM through Job, Planner, Mobile App. The software makes it easier for staff to carry out their daily duties efficiently & paper free and has the flexibility to allow us to configure it to cater for our needs. The support we get from Protean is excellent, always providing great customer service. Protean Software are a great business partner and are continually enhancing their software functionality to benefit us. An additional bonus to us is that they offer a bolt-on Hire module. This allows us to specifically manage this aspect of our business. We initially reviewed and considered several other software platforms but are very pleased we choose to select Protean. It is a great business solution.

Cons

Non particularly. We should have spent more time practicing, prior to going live. We were advised very clearly to do this but did not allocate sufficient time to our team.

December 2017

Simon from Hiremech Ltd

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Value for money

4.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

4.0

December 2017

Protean is core to our operations and their support is excellent.

Pros

Protean is very user friendly and intuitive for the users. New users find it very easy to work with and can quickly get a grasp of the basics. The support we get from Protean is very good, the help desk team are very responsive and can usually resolve any issues very quickly. The engineer PDA's are simple and clear to use and we are looking forward to the improvments in the planner board. Protean are evolving their product and listen to our feedback positively.

Cons

At times we find that the reporting is a bit clunky, but we are told this will be resolved when we upgrade.

February 2018

Nigel from Infinity Lifts

Company Size: 11-50 employees

Industry: Construction

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

4.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

5.0

February 2018

Have been using the software for over 10 years, would not consider using anything else

Control of our operations, invoices out on time, visibility of our performance

Pros

The ability to extract data to Excel and to do the acrobatics thereafter, quick and easy analysis is possible. There is a full audit trail to satisfy the finance auditors. Support is excellent, the support staff know their product inside out.

Cons

Getting non standard reports can be costly and takes time, but that's about it. We use multi currency features which was a challenge to get it working properly, but it works perfect now

June 2019

Andy from Airia Compressed Air

Company Size: 2-10 employees

Industry: Facilities Services

Time Used: Less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

5.0

June 2019

One year in

we have combined all our separate systems into protean with great success

Pros

Very user friendly, saves a huge amount of time.

Cons

multi equipment jobs can be difficult to make corrections if not done correctly first time

July 2017

James from JDS Compressors

Company Size: 2-10 employees

Industry: Mechanical or Industrial Engineering

Time Used: Less than 6 months

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

5.0

July 2017

EXCELLENT PRODUCT, MADE MY BUSINESS EFFICIENT AND SAVES SO MANY HOURS

MY BUSINESS LOOKS MORE PROFESSIONAL AND MOVING WITH TECHNOLOGY. I HAVE SAVED ENDLESS HOURS ON PAPER WORK AS THIS SOFTWARE SAVES THAT WORRY. MY DATABASE GETS BUILT BY THE DAY USING THIS SOFTWARE - MAKING MY BUSINESS MORE VALUABLE.

Pros

I FIND THE EASE OF QUOTING & INVOICING INVALUABLE, AND SAVES ME HOURS OF TIME ON ADMIN, WHICH WHEN YOU ARE A NEW BUSINESS THAT EXTRA TIME CAN BE USED TO MUCH GREATER BENEFIT. TRACKING STOCK AND PLANNING THE ENGINEERS DAY FOR WEEKS AHEAD IS ALSO GREAT.

Cons

SO FAR I HAVE NOT COME ACROSS ANY CONS, THE ONLY ISSUE WAS TRANSFERRING FIGURES ACROSS TO SAGE WAS NOT POSSIBLE BUT THE ISSUE WAS RESOLVED VERY QUICKLY

March 2017

Bryn from All Tail Lifts

Time Used: Free Trial

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

4.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

5.0

March 2017

Protean, 6 years on.

We are a Tail Lift repair and maintenance company, and have been using Protean for six and a half years. The beauty of this system is everything is in one place, for us being able to type in a registration number and find all the information on the type of lift fitted, model, serial number, year of manufacture etc, pull up every job we have done, who did it, when it was done, who signed it off, what parts were fitted, where the parts came from, in a few seconds allows us to provide our customers with outstanding service and back up. One of our biggest customers fleet department recently had an audit, and our job sheets and examination reports were commended for being the most concise and easy to follow the auditor had seen. We have just started the process of becoming ISO 9001 accredited, the consultant commented on how much easier the process will be, because of protean with its ease of traceability and proof of processes. We highly recommend Protean