Service Assistant Software

Find out more:

PriceDemo

FrontRunners 2021

Find out more:

PriceDemo

About Service Assistant

Service Assistant is a cloud-based solution designed to help service businesses such as lawn care, landscaping, carpet cleaning, HVAC or pest controllers manage field technicians, create estimates and maintain customer data on a centralized platform. Features include vehicle tracking, route optimization, mapping, call log and invoice processing. The application enables organizations to schedule multiple jobs and identify optimal routes for technicians. Marketers can use Service Assistant to promote businesses and connect with customers through emails. Field workers can use mobile devices to access work orders, enter payments details and utilize voice navigation to discover locations. Using the Referral Assistant, customers can also promote services and receive rew...
Close

Image 1 of 3

Service Assistant customer history

Service Assistant User Reviews

OVERALL RATING

SECONDARY RATINGS

Ease-of-use

3

Value for money

3

Customer support

3.5

Functionality

3.5

Showing 1 - 5 of 32 reviews

Carey

Company size: 11-50 employees

Industry: Environmental Services

Time used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra

This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.
4

Ease-of-use

out of 5
4

Value for money

out of 5
5

Customer support

out of 5
5

Functionality

out of 5

March 2020

Extremely In-Depth Lawn Program with MANY Features!!!

We are able to keep such detailed history on our customers, and even better that our technicians can even access that in the field with Mobile Live!

Pros

This software has so many different "layers" that allow you to do so many things. There are tons of reports, on top of everything else it has to offer. It is a huge time-saver for our company, and I can't imagine we would be able to handle the amount of current customers we have without a program like this. We use so many features in the program as well as extended features (CAW for payments only, Mobile Live, Routing...).

Cons

We currently still have SA4, so there are no longer any updates. It is also a VERY complicated program to learn, but sooo worth it!! The technicians at Real Green are wonderful at helping you get through any stumbling blocks you may run into.

Reasons for switching to Service Assistant

More options with Service Assistant.

Response from RealGreen Systems

Thank you for the kind words, Carey!

Replied March 2020

Larry

Verified reviewer

Company size: 11-50 employees

Industry: Facilities Services

Time used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra

This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.
3

Ease-of-use

out of 5
3

Value for money

out of 5
5

Customer support

out of 5
3

Functionality

out of 5

February 2020

Overly Complicated

Customer support group is excellent. Why the development group can not, or have chosen not to correct the 2 issues that I just addressed, is beyond me.

Pros

It is fully integrated, customer management software. What it does well, it does very well. Routing work and allowing us segment out customers for marketing purposes.

Cons

Vastly over complicated in how it handles customer deposits. Software does not always apply payments to the invoice number that we type in. It will automatically apply payment to the oldest open invoice, which can cause absolute chaos in our accounting and when we communicate with a customer about an open balance and find out that there last several payments have been applied to the wrong invoice. It sews seeds of doubt in customers' minds as to whether we know what we are doing or not, or if we are somehow trying to take advantage of the. It does little to calm their concerns to tell them that our software program assigned their payment to the wrong invoice. It seems pretty straight forward fix to us. If we type in an invoice number for the payment to be assigned to, assign it there, every time.

Reasons for choosing Service Assistant

More complete integration re: marketing. Very strong customer support

Reasons for switching to Service Assistant

Web based product. More complete integration. Better interface with Quickbooks. Better customer support.

Response from RealGreen Systems

Thank you for the review, Larry! If you're using SA4, your comment on deposits and payments is true. However, SA5 is vastly improved in that area. You can apply payments to specific invoices and services, eliminating any doubt in your customers' minds as to the validity of your accounting and setting your own mind at ease, that everything is as it should be. Contact us for a no-obligation SA5 consultation!

Replied March 2020

Lisa

Company size: 11-50 employees

Industry: Consumer Services

Time used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra

This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.
2

Ease-of-use

out of 5
3

Value for money

out of 5
4

Customer support

out of 5
4

Functionality

out of 5

March 2020

Service Assistant Software

Pros

Being a user of Service Assistant Software since 2002, we have come to rely on it for our business management software. The software is all encompassing and runs our business well. We are in a self hosted environment and have control over our computer system. The software on our self hosted service has been quite stable. We will continue to run in this environment until a time that we feel the online hosted software is comparable.

Cons

What I am quite disappointed in is the switch to online hosted software run by Real Green. They are pushing companies to use their online software at a ridiculous cost. To use their online software would run us almost 10 times the monthly maintenance cost. The online hosted software is NOT STABLE and users are being used as guinea pigs while Real Green tries to work the bugs out. An example would be TODAY where the system was down for most of the day for many users. In this day and age where users have come together to form user groups online, Real Green is making a huge mistake rolling out software with continued issues. We've heard from more than 10 different online users in our group that there was limited and NO access to the software today. This is the start out our busy season for most companies in the lawn care industry. It is unacceptable to have a system go down for all the online users. I am glad that we made the decision to stay self hosted. I returned from the conference in January almost convinced to switch to their online hosted software but the reviews from users are far from good. It is too bad becuase Real Green software has been good and stable up until this major change. Maybe they should stick with what they know, software and let users continue to self host. THank you.

Response from RealGreen Systems

We are sorry for any inconvenience you experience as a result of last week's slowdown and temporary outage. The problem has been fixed and all functions are stable and operating at optimal speed.

Replied March 2020

Patty

Company size: 51-200 employees

Industry: Building Materials

Time used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra

This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.
4

Ease-of-use

out of 5
3

Value for money

out of 5
4

Customer support

out of 5
3

Functionality

out of 5

February 2020

SA5 Falls a little short for a full service company

The database and customer history is the biggest plus for SA. We have historical data on all of our maintenance customers which makes it super easy to provide maintenance estimates and do contract renewals each year.

Pros

I love that it is internet based and I am able to log in anywhere. The functionality is a big improvement over the SA4 version.

Cons

Reporting is always an issue. For a simple customer list - every time you run the report - you get a different result/number. You clear out the report, start over - and again a different number. It's difficult to provide accurate numbers to your boss when you aren't sure yourself if they are correct. Also - our we are a full service landscape company - and the software cannot handle the landscape division. We need to Create estimates for landscape jobs that will populate each individual plant, flower, tree, shrub, hardscape material, sand, etc.; thousands of different items with pictures of these items too. Unfortunately - SA cannot handle this amount of customization - so we need to use multiple software programs in our company instead of one. One of the BIGGEST nightmares with SA - is that it doesn't play well with QuickBooks. Almost everyone in our industry uses QuickBooks - and it is the biggest pain in the butt - and I mean HUGE that SA doesn't integrate with QuickBooks. In fact - we are actually researching other software programs that will address all of these issues I have listed. Logging time in twice (once in QuickBooks and once in SA), payments, etc. - it's double duty for a lot of items - which is a big waste of admin time.

Reasons for switching to Service Assistant

Our company was growing and Access couldn't keep up.

Response from RealGreen Systems

Thank you for your review. We appreciate your candid observations. To clarifyReporting in SA4 and SA5 is robust and offers users multiple ways of viewing their data using filters. If users save their desired data report parameters to favorites, and generate the report from the saved favorite profile and it will generate the same data each time. SA5 has an internal billing system, which functions much like QuickBooks, and allows users to push their general ledger to QuickBooks to create a P&L.

Replied February 2020

Amanda

Company size: 51-200 employees

Industry: Consumer Services

Time used: Less than 6 months

Review Source: Capterra

This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.
4

Ease-of-use

out of 5
3

Value for money

out of 5
4

Customer support

out of 5
3

Functionality

out of 5

February 2020

Good Product, Not 100% Ready

It's a lot more user friendly than SA4, but considering we don't have full functionality it's disheartening.

Pros

The aesthetics of the website and advertised functionality were very appealing during sales pitch. Most of us like the fact we can see a good bit of the customers account information from the Customer Details screen without having to hop from tab to tab like in SA4. The accessibility is convenient as our other branches no longer have to remote in to access a program, but can instead access SA5 from the web.

Cons

There are several tasks we're unable to complete in SA5 because it's not an available feature and we're having to resort back to SA4 to do them. Sending statements to Real Green via direct mail through SA5 is unavailable, printing Group Billing Statements with our custom form is unavailable. We also cannot export Route Loose Work report to customer search screen. The speed of SA5 has also posed an issue, in general when entering new estimates/sales as well as posting payments. Lastly, the font size for printed invoices in SA5 is a lot smaller than SA4 and we've had quite a bumpy start trying to get everyone's printer settings formatted properly. Invoices used to also show if another service invoice was printed and that is no longer available. The CALL AHEAD message was a lot larger on the invoice and now it's not.

Reasons for switching to Service Assistant

We were previously hosting on our own server and were looking at options to use a cloud based network instead of a physical server. We were assured time and again that switching to SA5 would be better than SA4. The pitch was great, but two months in to use SA5 has not been as great as we anticipated. We've been told on a few of our issues we would have to do that in SA4 because it's not available in SA5...not what we wanted to hear.

Response from RealGreen Systems

Thank you for the review, Amanda! We're sorry you're experiencing issues becoming accustomed to SA5's updated screens and workflows. Real Green will pull statement files for users for processing. This functionality should be available soon. To export 'loose work' to the customer screen, users may generate the Unserviced Report and export. Our Customer Support team can jump on a quick call regarding how to post payments and enter new estimates and sales. It's a more straightforward process in SA5 than SA4; however, it may not initially seem so to users due to the updated workflows and screens. If users were using highly customized forms and type sizes when printing, unfortunately, many of those settings were not transferrable and do have to be reset during the initial run; however, once saved should remain intact.

Replied March 2020

Popular Service Assistant Comparisons