All STACK Reviews

1-25 of 1,207 Reviews

Sort by

Reviews are by default sorted by Recommended to software buyers, driven by our proprietary algorithm reflecting the depth and quality of the review, recency of experience, and other factors. As a neutral reviews platform, the star rating of the review is not considered in the "Recommended" ranking, and there is currently no voting mechanism that would allow site visitors to influence the ranking.

Steve

Construction, 11 - 50 employees

Used less than 12 months

Review Source: Capterra
This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

OVERALL RATING:

5

Reviewed June 2022

Title of my review

User Profile

Matthew

Verified reviewer

Construction, 11-50 employees

Used daily for more than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra
This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

5

Reviewed May 2018

Super easy to use and saves your files to the cloud.

PROS

I have used many takeoff programs and this program is the best bang for the buck. I really like that is saves your files to the cloud. You can access the files from anywhere with internet. The program is really easy to use.

CONS

I would like to see hatch patterns added to the area takeoff colors. I feel there needs to be more options. I would also like to have an option to turn on the quantity giver window.

James

Construction, 5,001-10,000 employees

Used daily for more than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra
This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

5

Reviewed October 2021

Streamline our Estimating

I have zero complaints with the program or customer service.

PROS

As a fire protection estimator it is hard to find a program that allows me to do a design build electronically. I could use a Autocad style program to do the base design, but in our world of fast paced turnaround I simply do not have the time to use a program like Autocad. With StackCT I can use the linear drop function to place our sprinkler heads with proper spacing.

CONS

The autocount symbol function is good, but there are times when I get only a single count instead of hundreds needed. It has gotten better, but if there was a way to edit the background noise for the selection it would be nearly perfect.

Reason for choosing STACK

I liked the customer service and training that allowed me to quickly learn the program.

Reasons for switching to STACK

Bluebeam does not allow me as an FP estimator to do what I need.

James

Construction, 11-50 employees

Used daily for less than 2 years

Review Source
This review was submitted organically. No incentive was offered

OVERALL RATING:

3

EASE OF USE

3

VALUE FOR MONEY

4

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

4

FUNCTIONALITY

3

Reviewed June 2018

Does the job but needs improvement

Your take off software needs improvement. We've waited over a year for significant updates and they haven't occurred. We have subscribed again but we won't be unless updates are made shortly as our business is growing rapidly and we need software that will keep up and OST will keep up.

PROS

It's better than a lot of other take-off software. Is in colour and is easily printable. The support is always there.

CONS

There are many things OST does that Stack does not. 1. Being able to select the dimensions of the 'count' function. ie; 2000x500mm rectangle. 2. Being able to re-assign a measurement to another measurement. ie; I measured an area for 10 minutes as turf but it was actually garden. Select the area, right click, re-assign to garden. This means you don't have to delete the item and waste more time. 3. Being able to overlay plans. ie; Your client issues a new set of plans and you need to check the difference between the old and the new. 4. Being able to calculate multiple measurements in one. ie; I want a m2 area with my measurement so I can calculate mulch however, this is in a planterbox and I also need to calculate the soil depth as well as drainage cell to walls so I really need m2, m3 and perimeter functions all engaged. 5. We're not interested in Stack Estimating as it is all Microsoft excel based, like most other programs, making it only based on rates, rather than being able to adjust accordingly for site constraints using different machinery and access requirements. 6. Your legend key needs updating. It doesn't fit correctly on the page nicely.

Jake

Construction, 11-50 employees

Used daily for less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra
This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

4

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

4

Reviewed September 2020

Cloud Takeoff

Stack was a significant upgrade to our takeoff process. The speed and being able to natively use it on Mac make this software great. The development team continues to add great features, some of which bring feature parity with competitors, but others are unique and now classified as "can't live without" around our office.

PROS

The ability to log in and pull up all of our project drawings on any computer. The fact that this software is web based is great and makes this platform agnostic. As we are primarily a Mac based office, this is great and does not require virtualization to run windows based software. Stack is also incredibly fast to navigate and bring up projects. Even though our older software was on computer and not web based, it required long waits to open a project and switch between projects. With stack this is almost instantaneous and it allows multiple projects to be open at once in multiple tabs or windows.

CONS

It still lacks some functionality of our previous takeoff software, especially when we first started using it. Much of that functionality has been added since we started using it, and there are a few additional items they currently show as in the pipeline. Once those are released, all of the features we need will be here.

Reason for choosing STACK

It is web based and can run natively on Mac for that reason.

Reasons for switching to STACK

Planswift was dated, didn't work natively on Mac, had little to no updates of value to us for years, and was slow (loading projects).

Peter

Construction, 51-200 employees

Used daily for less than 12 months

Review Source: Capterra
This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

OVERALL RATING:

4

EASE OF USE

4

VALUE FOR MONEY

4

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

4

Reviewed October 2021

A takeoff platform that continues to improve.

We are currently seeing a 15-20% time savings on this new platform. The user interface allows us to onboard new staff much quirker.

PROS

OCR regonition makes searching drawings for keywords a breeze. Custom variables within the estimate module simplifies building an estimate.

CONS

The Stack team continually publishes important Stack Updates monthly; many of the cons I've seen over the last year have been resolved. With that said the lack of an UNDO function is a continual annoyance (I am told this fix is on the roadmap).

Reason for choosing STACK

Seeing the constant updates from Stack shows me that they are committed to improving the software.

Reasons for switching to STACK

Stack's cloud interface is faster to setup and faster to use. The cloud based setup allows us to hyperlink project takeoffs directly to our CRM; and share that takeoff with colleagues, suppliers and clients.

Jeffery

Computer Software, 11-50 employees

Used weekly for less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra
This review was submitted organically. No incentive was offered

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

5

Reviewed October 2023

STACK: A great product

PROS

STACK frequently rolls out new features and appears to genuinely value user feedback. Within the first week of use, I was able to develop a totally unique library of components and assemblies, and I've been happy with the takeoff procedure

CONS

It does not have as many integration options as some other services.

Reasons for switching to STACK

needed a quicker and easier method for performing takeoffs

Mike

Construction, 11-50 employees

Used weekly for less than 12 months

Review Source: Capterra
This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

5

Reviewed July 2023

Powerful tool for job costing and estimating

Stack has taken our time to create and estimate and cut it in half. We now can produce more accurate estimates, in less time.

PROS

Having everything with the takeoff and estimating process all in one place makes stack stand out from the competition. I can take plans, to an estimate all in one place

CONS

The set up process everything feels a little tedious, but it all functions very well.

Reason for choosing STACK

Stack was the perfect fit for our estimating needs

Reasons for switching to STACK

Stack had more features and the platform to scale our estimating department with.

Ashish

Civil Engineering, 11-50 employees

Used daily for less than 12 months

Review Source: Capterra
This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

OVERALL RATING:

4

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

4

FUNCTIONALITY

4

Reviewed July 2023

Really helpful software

PROS

Its Easy to Use & time saving software..

CONS

Sometimes it takes much time for reload.

Reasons for switching to STACK

stack is much user friendly & time saving than that

Lauren

Construction, 11-50 employees

Used weekly for more than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra
This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

5

Reviewed July 2023

Office Mgr.

plans are easy to find

PROS

Stack is very user friendly and easy to navigate.

CONS

I don't have any negative reviews for stack.

Reasons for switching to STACK

Procore was not user friendly, and much more expensive.

User Profile

Aman

Verified reviewer

Chemicals, 1,001-5,000 employees

Used daily for less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra
This review was submitted organically. No incentive was offered

OVERALL RATING:

4

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

4

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

3

FUNCTIONALITY

4

Reviewed February 2023

STACK is open-source software used for creating online assessments in mathematics, science, etc.

he STACK software is highly regarded for its ability to handle various mathematical expressions and provide immediate feedback to students. Its randomized question generation and compatibility with popular learning management systems are also well-received. However, some users have found the software to have a difficult learning curve and challenging setup and customization. Nonetheless, despite these potential drawbacks, the STACK software is widely recognized as a valuable tool for both educators and students in creating and grading math assessments.

PROS

STACK software has several strengths, including its ability to handle various mathematical expressions and offer randomized questions and answers. It also provides immediate feedback to students, which is crucial for them to comprehend their errors and enhance their comprehension of the subject. Furthermore, its open-source nature and compatibility with popular learning management systems make it a practical tool for educators to use when creating assessments.

CONS

the STACK software has been identified as having some potential drawbacks or limitations. These may include a difficult setup process and customization, as well as compatibility issues with certain web browsers and operating systems. However, the STACK team typically responds to user feedback and provides updates and support to address these issues.

Tyler

Construction, 201-500 employees

Used daily for less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra
This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

OVERALL RATING:

4

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

4

Reviewed October 2021

Great bang for the buck estimating software.

Overall I have been very happy with STACK and its team.

PROS

The customer support is top notch with instant and clear replies with real people. The learning curve for creating takeoff's is very user friendly.

CONS

The proposal generation is limited on what you can show or customize with the layout.

Reason for choosing STACK

Price point

Reasons for switching to STACK

ProEst was very slow and clunky with long wait times for help.

Kyle

Restaurants, 51-200 employees

Used daily for more than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra
This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

OVERALL RATING:

4

EASE OF USE

4

VALUE FOR MONEY

4

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

3

Reviewed April 2022

Our team uses this daily

Its a great tool in our system and we use regularly, with our new addition of ProCore and having these programs linked is huge to make sure we are always working off the most up to date planset without having to do multiple uploads

PROS

Anyone who can operate a computer can get into the program and start doing takeoffs immediately.

CONS

It would really be helpful for there to be a go-back/undo function. I wish there were some more filter options. Most all of these have been listed by our team on the feature requests.

Reason for choosing STACK

web based & ease of use

Reasons for switching to STACK

To get all our team working off the same web based platform

Matt

Construction, 11-50 employees

Used daily for more than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra
This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

OVERALL RATING:

4

EASE OF USE

3

VALUE FOR MONEY

4

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

4

Reviewed July 2023

We love it

PROS

The fact that it is all online and our ops guys can see the plans at the jobsite from their phone.

CONS

I love using your software but there are 2 things that I would like for you to improve.Sometimes I upload multiple pages for a project.When I am working on the takeoff you can see On the left the plans that you are working on listed on listed by plan name . It would be nice to be able to go to the pages that you are working on by simply clicking on the page name that is listed on the left side.Slope factorIts great that we are able to measure the basic slope by using the built in slope factor calculator. But that is only helpful for measuring the basic slope of the roof area and the rake and sidewall. But it would be great if you can add the valley and hip factor as well. It is hard to get the exact measurement without that because the hip / valley slope factor is different than the basic slope of the roof. Please see the link below that will explain what I am talking about in regards to the hip and valley. [sensitive content hidden]

Ray

Construction, 11-50 employees

Used daily for less than 12 months

Review Source: Capterra
This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

OVERALL RATING:

4

EASE OF USE

4

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

4

Reviewed April 2022

Takeoffs for Concrete Subcontractor

Its been wonderful. there have been curveballs when beginning to use it but I've been able to figure out ways to fork around them. I do wish that when looking up help online that it was easier to find. I do not care much to talk to people and having the ability to just search my issue is a must.

PROS

I like that I'm able to work with my team on the same server from anywhere I am. The list of projects help us to keep everything together and I like that I can label the projects with my name and what stage they are. the color change to the tab helps me to find the projects I am bidding and ones that I can start on next.

CONS

The assemblies are very basic, I know how to code in java and in excel but the language to make the items for takeoffs are different just enough to aggravate me. I wish there were more mark up functions and that I could close folders to only see one folder of plans and also the ability to sort my open tabs. Another it the ability to open documents in different windows and they both sync without me having to tell it to. I have used on-screen take off and do find this program more user friendly but having used Bluebeam for takeoffs and to review documents, I find this program to be lacking. I like that its a separate program that you download and do not need internet to use. the tools that are available are more programable and you can duplicate you plans to use for more then just a takeoff or mark up.

Debbie

Health, Wellness and Fitness, 1 employee

Used daily for less than 6 months

Review Source: Capterra
This review was submitted organically. No incentive was offered

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

FUNCTIONALITY

5

Reviewed February 2023

Stack from a Person who is not techie

1. Streamline Business Processes: Stack can help businesses to streamline their processes by providing a comprehensive suite of integrated tools. This can help to automate manual tasks, reduce complexity and save time.2. Improve Productivity: Stack can help businesses to improve their productivity by providing an easy to use, intuitive platform. This can help reduce the time spent on mundane tasks, freeing up time for more important activities.3. Increase Collaboration: Stack can help to increase collaboration between team members. This can help to ensure that everyone is on the same page and working towards the same goals.4. Enhance Data Analytics: Stack can help businesses to gain valuable insights from their data through advanced analytics. This can help to identify opportunities for improvement and drive better decision-making.5. Reduce Costs: Stack can help businesses to reduce costs by providing an efficient and cost-effective solution. This can help to optimize resources and reduce the cost of operations.Benefits1. Scalability: Stacks allow for easy scaling of applications, making them ideal for applications that experience rapid growth.2. Efficiency: Stacks are built with efficiency in mind, meaning they can help with reducing server costs by consolidating many web applications into one stack.3. Security: Stacks provide a layer of security between the application and the server, making them harder for hackers to access.4. Flexibility: Stacks are highl

PROS

- Stack is a cloud-based service, which makes it easy to access, manage, and share information. - It is secure and reliable, with a variety of security measures in place to protect user data. - Stack is designed to be user-friendly, with easy-to-understand menus and options. - It offers a wide range of integrations with other services, allowing for greater flexibility and customization. - Stack is relatively inexpensive, offering plans that are tailored to the needs of individual users or businesses.

CONS

- Stack is not as feature-rich as some of its competitors, such as Salesforce. - It does not have as many integration options as some other services. - The user interface may be somewhat difficult to navigate for those who are unfamiliar with cloud-based services. - Stack does not offer a free trial, so users must purchase a plan in order to use the service.

Nick

Construction, 51-200 employees

Used daily for more than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra

OVERALL RATING:

4

EASE OF USE

4

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

4

Reviewed January 2017

Darn near perfect.

Having used Stack for the better part of two years, I can say it has greatly improved our takeoff speed and provided the ability to accomplish several time consuming tasks quickly. Stack features allow me to achieve a great degree of accuracy, and they seem to constantly improve the product with new tools like the snap feature. In the future we look forward to deploying Stack to an even greater extent to win more work, and generate more revenue!

PROS

First and foremost, I enjoy the takeoff speed and accuracy Stack affords our estimating department. Simply by clicking a link on a plan exchange site, or quickly uploading plans, we can begin a highly detailed accurate takeoff in minutes if not seconds. Likewise, we can complete our takeoff much faster than traditional methods saving valuable time to analyze our bids post takeoff.

CONS

Like any good cost hawk, I would highlight price as my least favorite aspect of Stack Software; though I will say the product represents good value for the price! I would like to see Stack offer the complete product in one package, without the present tiered pricing.

Vendor Response

Hi Nick, Thanks so much for your recent feedback! We are so glad to be able to support the takeoff and estimating needs of Samuel Dean Sheet Metal and so happy to hear that our software is having a positive impact on your bid process. We look forward to sharing your input with the entire STACK team. Have an awesome day & thank you again!

Replied January 2017

Jack

Building Materials, 11-50 employees

Used daily for less than 6 months

OVERALL RATING:

1

EASE OF USE

1

VALUE FOR MONEY

1

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

1

FUNCTIONALITY