All Egnyte Reviews

1-25 of 97 Reviews

Sort by

Reviews are by default sorted by Recommended to software buyers, driven by our proprietary algorithm reflecting the depth and quality of the review, recency of experience, and other factors. As a neutral reviews platform, the star rating of the review is not considered in the "Recommended" ranking, and there is currently no voting mechanism that would allow site visitors to influence the ranking.
User Profile

Jeffrey

Verified reviewer

Design, 11-50 employees

Used daily for more than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra
This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

4

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

4

Reviewed September 2020

The biggest offering for cloud storage on the market

It literally makes an all cloud central server possible.

PROS

Everything it does. Google Docs and O365 docs in the same ecossytem. Version control. SUPER granular access privilege control. Trash for up to 6 months. AND Protect as an optional add on that give AMAZING levels of data security. And on top of all that the support team is super helpful and fast to respond.

CONS

It has its buggy moments. The mobile offering is definitely weaker than the desktop. Deployment can be tricky because it has its quirks you have to train users on.

Reasons for switching to Egnyte

1000% better features.

User Profile

Tamas Hunor

Verified reviewer

Motion Pictures and Film, 51-200 employees

Used daily for more than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra
This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

4

VALUE FOR MONEY

3

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

4

Reviewed January 2022

Good and robust solution, but higher priced

Overall we had a great experience with Egnyte. Works fast, the sync and sharing features are good. But we divided our storage solution into two different parts (high volume video files and corporate docs). We found that the maximum file size limit for Egnyte was too small for us.

PROS

There are a lot of great features including authentication, sync with 3rd party NAS devices, easy sharing.

CONS

I would say we found it too expensive for ourselves. Maybe we didn't used all of the functions that Egnyte allows.

jose

Construction, 11-50 employees

Used daily for less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra
This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

OVERALL RATING:

3

EASE OF USE

4

VALUE FOR MONEY

4

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

4

FUNCTIONALITY

3

Reviewed February 2019

Egnyte for superintendents

I used it in my previous job in Beverly hills as a Superintendent to get pictures of day to day work to my Project managers.

PROS

Very easy to load up a large quantity of pictures at one time.

CONS

ouldn't do other things like Daily Reports or Schedules

Jeffrey

Verified reviewer

Insurance, 11-50 employees

Used daily for more than 2 years

Review Source: GetApp
This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

OVERALL RATING:

4

EASE OF USE

3

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

2

FUNCTIONALITY

5

Reviewed April 2018

Egnyte Does the Job, but That's it.

PROS

Egnyte is a cloud storage service with some basic admin controls and a desktop app that allows you to treat it as a network drive, as well a browser-based service. It functions perfectly fine in its role as a cloud service. Data is stored without any issue and the cost is reasonable.

CONS

The customer service leaves a lot to be desired. The best way to actually get assistance is to dial in and press the button for sales, you'll be assigned a lot more value. It's not the best customer retention strategy, but in my experience, the dedicated support folks are difficult to get ahold of and have to escalate your issue more often than not because they are third-party. The Salesforce API fails periodically leaving the office high and dry if I (IT Director) am not around. It's a quick fix, but the process isn't something that can be done without admin access and a decent base of knowledge.

User Profile

Susang

Verified reviewer

Information Technology and Services, 1,001-5,000 employees

Used daily for less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra
This review was submitted organically. No incentive was offered

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

4

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

3

FUNCTIONALITY

4

Reviewed November 2022

Simplest way to share files with peers

I have had a very good experience so far with Egnyte. The platform is very simple to use. Also creating shareable links is very straightforward and it is easy to keep track of everything through Egnyte.

PROS

One of the things that I like very much about Egnyte is the ability to upload files in bulk. Also, we can access files from any device, and the cloud storage security is top-notch.

CONS

I do not have any major dislike for Egnyte. Everything is to my liking, and I hope it stays that way

Riley

Hospitality, 51-200 employees

Used weekly for more than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra
This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

5

FUNCTIONALITY

5

Reviewed January 2024

Organization is Key

PROS

Our Team heavily relies on Egnyte services. This is where we store all of our updated information that everyone on the team has access to. The thing that I like most about Egnyte, is the sense of security it offers. I take comfort in the fact that all of our company information is in a safe place that only team members can access.

CONS

I think one thing Egnyte can work on, is the navigation between different folders. It would be convenient if there was a way to switch over quickly to a new folder, without having to navigate to the home screen. Other than that I have no issues, Egnyte is a great tool for our company.

Genna

Real Estate, 2-10 employees

Used daily for less than 12 months

Review Source: Capterra
This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

5

FUNCTIONALITY

5

Reviewed August 2023

Easy cloud storage

Honestly we have had no issues with the program. This program has been able to link all of our staff from various offices and create a fantastic common space to share and upload all data mitigating a lot of paper storage.

PROS

A very user friendly platform that works seamlessly to share data with a remote team, and be used as a cloud for all data within the office. Very easy to navigate, share, and edit all files within Egnyte.

CONS

The only critique would be the quick access panel on the left hand side have clearer icons or sub headings

Andrew

Construction, 51-200 employees

Used daily for more than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra
This review was submitted organically. No incentive was offered

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

5

Reviewed November 2023

Great For File Transfer and Collaboration

Excellent product

PROS

Ease of Use and price point are the main features we prefer

CONS

We have had no issues therefore no dislikes for any reason

User Profile

Priyansh

Verified reviewer

Animation, 2-10 employees

Review Source: Capterra
This review was submitted organically. No incentive was offered

OVERALL RATING:

4

EASE OF USE

5

FUNCTIONALITY

5

Reviewed December 2022

A reliable and user-friendly cloud storage solution with a few drawbacks

Overall, I would recommend Egnyte to other small business owners as a reliable and user-friendly cloud storage solution, despite the drawbacks mentioned above.

PROS

I have been using Egnyte for my small business for the past 6 months and have found it to be a reliable and user-friendly cloud storage solution. The platform is easy to navigate, and I appreciate the ability to store and access my files from anywhere with an internet connection. The integration with other business tools, such as Google Drive and Microsoft Office, has also been very helpful. I synced all my devices to it to make my workflow smoother.

CONS

However, there are a few drawbacks to using Egnyte that I have encountered. Firstly, the pricing can be a bit steep for smaller businesses like mine, especially if you need to store a large amount of data. Secondly, the search function could be improved - I have found it to be somewhat unreliable at times. Thirdly, the customer support could be more responsive - it can take a while to get a response when you have an issue that needs addressing. Finally, there have been a few instances where the platform has experienced downtime, which can be frustrating.

Anonymous

51-200 employees

Used daily for more than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra
This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

OVERALL RATING:

4

EASE OF USE

4

VALUE FOR MONEY

4

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

4

FUNCTIONALITY

4

Reviewed December 2018

Egnyte for Secure Online Storage

PROS

Egnyte does a great job for online secure document storage. With tight hierarchal permissions, it's a great option for remote companies who don't have local offices to secure sensitive documents. It's easy to set up and manage.

CONS

On occasion I find it can be slow to load.

Anonymous

11-50 employees

Used daily for more than 2 years

Review Source: GetApp
This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

3

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

5

Reviewed April 2018

Absolute must for fast growing companies

PROS

Egnyte and its various integrations is an absolute must for a shared file system in any startup. As a growing company, employees have their favorite tools - Engineers seem to prefere Google, Marketing and Sales and Administrative generally need MS Office, etc. Egnyte allows everything to be accessible from a single interface. "where is that slide deck? was it Google Drive or One Drive or just local to your computer?" is a major problem in a fast moving, growing company. Egnyte solves that as part of everyday business. User administration is simplified with straight forward AD integration and also key is inviting outside consultants to share documents is trivial as well. All huge workflow advantages.

CONS

The robust feature set can sometime confuse folks who's user behavior has been set by Google Drive or OneDrive (or even Box or DropBox).

NICOLE

Law Practice, 2-10 employees

Used daily for less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra
This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

5

Reviewed August 2018

Egnyte is helpful

I've been using egnyte for some time now and I find it to be secure to contain all of my clients information easy-to-access anytime I need to look up there paperwork and well worth the price for all that I gained from using the software I recommended egnyte for other law practices

PROS

Egnyte is a great software to store files it is very user-friendly I have a lot of clients within my law practices and anytime I need to find a police report disclosure or any other information that I need everything is easily stored and Egnyte I have found it to be the best site for file story

CONS

Sometimes it appears that there are duplicate files created and causes a little confusion when I'm searching for just one document within the search bar this has been a little frustrating but it doesn't happen often and it hasn't changed the fact that I really enjoy using egnyte software

Tom

Marketing and Advertising, 51-200 employees

Used daily for less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra
This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

4

FUNCTIONALITY

5

Reviewed April 2019

Cloud solution with top notch sharing options

I'm very happy with Egnyte. Once I got the touch on how to use it I have found it easy. The desktop version works really well and sync my files automatically.

PROS

Egnyte is a super cloud solution that have a nice folder structure with a really manageable permission scheme. It's easy to share files - internally and externally. I really appreciate the option for changing url when sharing files. I can also backtrack all my shared links and I can see who have accessed it when. The applications also do the job.

CONS

The application have required manually installed updates. I think they might have solved this now. The reports option should maybe have some more options and flexibility.

John

Biotechnology, 11-50 employees

Used daily for less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra
This review was submitted organically. No incentive was offered

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

5

FUNCTIONALITY

5

Reviewed January 2020

Egnyte Database

Happy with the service they provide. The software is simple and efficient.

PROS

Really happy using this product. It is our company's primary data repository and offers us an efficient way to manage our data. As a user, setup was incredibly easy with just a link to follow and within a minute I had a z-drive set up and and it was just like accessing a normal folder on my hard drive. Happy to be using it. It is simple and efficient, yet powerful.

CONS

Didnt work so well over the web as there appears to be default privilege restrictions in editing/changing folders but once a z drive is set up it was fine

delaney

Construction, 501-1,000 employees

Used daily for more than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra
This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

5

FUNCTIONALITY

5

Reviewed March 2019

Great document manager

Very, very easy to organize and manage file, doc, pdfs. super easy to move them around and download. I really like how you can send invites for others to view a document.

PROS

I love that is can make multiple folders and put permission on it. I like how i can construct a filing system that meet the job needs/criteria and able to keep it a standard.

CONS

the favorite star, it never seems to work for me to go to a shortcut folder fast

Anonymous

201-500 employees

Used daily for less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra
This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

5

FUNCTIONALITY

5

Reviewed September 2019

Ease of use with powerful capabilities where needed

Overall, Egnyte is great, it's made it simple for me to access and store files in the cloud, but also integrate into automated workflows via command line tools.

PROS

Egnyte makes it easy to store files in a cloud based storage area, but has additional enterprise level capabilities that make it possible to integrate into powerful workflows.

CONS

Really the only thing I dislike about Egnyte is that there are no data sovereignty capabilities as far as I can tell. You can't specify where data is stored geographically.

Ramya Kaumudi

Oil & Energy, 51-200 employees

Used daily for less than 12 months

Review Source: Capterra
This review was submitted organically. No incentive was offered

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

3

FUNCTIONALITY

4

Reviewed March 2022

Egnyte

PROS

We use Egnyte as our file repository and cloud storage platform. The new feature that allows co editing is the one I like the most. While allowing us to use MS native apps and not use Google for simultaneous collaboration, I think it is a wonderful tool. It also syncs well with Mac and Windows folders allowing access on computer directly than having to go to web each time it needs to be accessed.

CONS

The collaboration feature edits sometimes are delayed not giving the live and current updates being made by other parties.

Seth

Used daily for more than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra
This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

OVERALL RATING:

4

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

3

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

1

FUNCTIONALITY

5

Reviewed April 2018

Great for what it does.

PROS

Very easy to access files on the go. The app makes it super easy. Very happy with the software and ability to get to my files

CONS

Customer service is pretty terrible. Very hard to reach, not very helpful, not very quick at responding.

Drew

Used daily for less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra
This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

5

Reviewed February 2018

Egnyte has been a great asset to our overall document storage strategy.

Easy management of document storage for our company.

PROS

This software is easy to use. Users were trained quickly. Has great application integrations with many top level software companies.

CONS

Very little, which is a great think. The link sharing is not quite as clear and clean I would like it to be. Can be confusing for most users or they could share public links easily on accident.

Anonymous

501-1,000 employees

Used daily for less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra
This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

OVERALL RATING:

4

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

3

CUSTOMER SUPPORT