All Layer2 Cloud Connector Reviews

1-25 of 48 Reviews

Sort by

Reviews are by default sorted by Recommended to software buyers, driven by our proprietary algorithm reflecting the depth and quality of the review, recency of experience, and other factors. As a neutral reviews platform, the star rating of the review is not considered in the "Recommended" ranking, and there is currently no voting mechanism that would allow site visitors to influence the ranking.
User Profile

Roy

Verified reviewer

Mining & Metals, 10,000+ employees

Used daily for more than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

4

VALUE FOR MONEY

4

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

4

Reviewed March 2022

Easy to use for transferring data between Systems

Layer2 is easy to use and high flexible to transfer data between different sources.

PROS

It was easy to implement the layer2 connector. and to setup data connections and exchange data between systems.

CONS

The Layer2 could connector didn't measure our expectations for data migration for Lotus Notes platform.

Vendor Response

Hello Roy B., thank you very much for your feedback - it would help us if you tell us more about your expectations for Lotus Notes. Nevertheless we are happpy Layer2 Cloud Connector helps you to transfer data between different sources. Greetings from your Layer 2 team

Replied November 2023

Andy

Food & Beverages, 1,001-5,000 employees

Used daily for more than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

4

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

5

Reviewed May 2023

Robust Product that meets our data sync needs

It's been great overall, we can get data we thought we previously could not as it was stored in a different database. Have had no reason to engage with the support team until the upgrade, and the support has been same day and great, much appreciated.

PROS

The ability to schedule syncs, to have multiple syncs. We use it to bring SQL data into SharePoint online which we loved as there was no other way to achieve what we needed. With Layer2, we can schedule syncs to take place overnight without interrupting business activity. We can then do an afternoon sync and switch data sources in our in-house apps so we have 24/7 data availability. Integration with SharePoint is great!

CONS

Found on occasion the job would fail due to throttling (429s). Have just upgraded from v8 to 10 and hopeful that some tweaks have been made. Ran one job already and no errors. This was annoying as it had to be communicated to relevant users within the business whilst the job re-ran taking around 2 hours to complete.

Reason for choosing Layer2 Cloud Connector

There was quite a bit of hype around Layer2 at the time I believe.

Vendor Response

Dear Andy W., thank you very much for the good review and we hope that everything is running smoothly again since the update. We are pleased that the support is so appreciated and that we were able to help. Best regards from your Layer 2 team

Replied November 2023

Michael

Mechanical or Industrial Engineering, 201-500 employees

Used daily for less than 6 months

Review Source: Capterra

OVERALL RATING:

3

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

3

FUNCTIONALITY

5

Reviewed January 2022

L2CC for sharepoint

syncs randomly fail. JSON script error... or other. then sync fine next. no indication as to the cause.

PROS

quick and easy setup to get local files synced with sharepoint site

CONS

program sometime just does not respond. High memory usage!!!

Reason for choosing Layer2 Cloud Connector

did not know there were other products

Vendor Response

Hello Michael W., our support team will be happy to help you if you need assistance or if something does not work. Usually the cause can be found and the problem can be solved. Thank you for your review. Many greetings from your Layer 2 team

Replied November 2023

David

Business Supplies and Equipment, 10,000+ employees

Used daily for less than 6 months

Review Source: Capterra

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

FUNCTIONALITY

5

Reviewed August 2021

Developing SharePoint Smart Solutions

We develop "smart solutions" in SharePoint online to meet a variety of business needs. This could include submitting purchase requisitions or requests for a new hire with the use of SharePoint forms and workflows to handle approvals, notifications and processing. The forms include lookup fields from data we maintain in other SharePoint lists. These lists needed to be manually maintained by the process owners since we had no way to sync the data from our business systems. With Layer2, we can now automate the sync of data from our business systems to the SharePoint lists. This frees the process owners from having to manually maintain them. This also ensures that the data is up-to-date and accurate since it now comes from the systems of record.

PROS

Layer2 has connectors to a large variety data sources, which makes it easy to extract data from line-of-business systems for import into SharePoint. We use the SQL database connection the most, and being able to write custom queries to pull the data for import into SharePoint lists allows us to use the same database table for multiple SharePoint sync jobs. If columns in the database do not match the names of the columns in SharePoint, Layer2 allows you to customize the mapping. Finally, the sync process is very fast, and I like that it only updates records when there are changes.

CONS

It was a little difficult to initially get the connections set up because of the security settings we have in place. We are using the Layer2 software on a virtual computer with SharePoint online with access to our databases and the VMs with a service account. It was a little tricky to get all the permissions set up correctly, but once we figured it out everything worked very smoothly. We probably should have contacted Layer2 support for guidance, but we wanted to figure it out on our own so that we are more likely to remember how it works.

Vendor Response

Dear David C., we are glad that Layer2 Cloud Connector is helping you. If you have any questions, we're happy when you reach out to our support - but of course we understand if you want to figure something out on your own. Best wishes your Layer 2 team

Replied November 2023

Pelle

Computer Software, 51-200 employees

Used daily for more than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

5

Reviewed October 2023

Best support ever!

We needed a product that copied files from SharePoint online to a local drive, for processing the files to a server based software program. Layer2 Cloud Connector worked perfectly and was easy to set up for this purpose.When contacting support, the response was Quick and the answers given have always solved our issues.

PROS

The Cloud Connector works quick and is easy to set up. The support response is awesome!

CONS

For our purpose, we haven't found any issues. A licence had to be renewed after a software upgrade, but we assume this as a natural prosedyre in the life cycle prosess of software products.

Vendor Response

Dear Pelle K, you are right. From time to time the software needs to be updated because of changes and improvements. :) Thank you for your understanding. And many thanks for the compliment to our support. Your satisfaction is very important to us. Kind regards from your Layer 2 team

Replied November 2023

Pilvilampi

Computer Software, 2-10 employees

Used daily for more than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra

OVERALL RATING:

4

EASE OF USE

4

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

4

Reviewed August 2023

Layer2 Cloud Connector

PROS

The Layer2 Cloud Connector ensured that the integration between our ERP and SharePoint was smooth. The support team at Layer2 deserves a special mention. Whenever we had questions or faced minor hiccups, their team was right there, ensuring we had the answers and solutions we needed.

CONS

The current UI gets the job done, but there's potential for a more modern, intuitive, and visually appealing interface. A more refined UI could make the process even smoother.

Vendor Response

Hi Pilvilampi H., many thanks for your review. Great that our tool and our support are helpful for you. Offering good support is very important to us. :) We are happy to continue working on improving our tool and for this reason your comment about the UI is also very relevant for us. Greetings from your Layer 2 team

Replied November 2023

Eoin

Legal Services, 11-50 employees

Used daily for more than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

2

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

5

Reviewed January 2024

Review of Layer2

OK but as a new server live we couldn't transfer the original license from the decommissioned server

PROS

Works in background, allows clients connect and review their data we host

CONS

Original license non transferable when server upgraded

Vendor Response

Dear Eoin M, thank you very much for your review. We are happy when Layer2 Cloud Connector helps you and your clients. Regarding your comment about moving the license: when moving the license to a new server, a new license file is required. Because the file contains the server name, the file must be changed. We will continue to improve and optimize such topics. Best wishes from your Layer 2 team

Replied January 2024

Ranjith

Maritime, 51-200 employees

Used daily for more than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra

OVERALL RATING:

4

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

4

Reviewed September 2022

Fantastic product suites your pocket

Overall its good, But lot to improve in terms of stability and memory management.

PROS

Ease of use and price was ok compared with other products

CONS

It was stable a year back and latest versions started giving errors in terms of data types of special characters in the data. application is crashing once after your connections increases

Reason for choosing Layer2 Cloud Connector

Communicating with sales team was much faster those days compared with other. Also was not aggressive for chasing and disturbing after an enquiry made.

Vendor Response

Hello Ranjith P., thank you very much for your review. We are glad that you like our support team and our tool so much. There is a potential for improvement and we are happy to work on it. Many greetings from your Layer 2 team

Replied November 2023

Anonymous

1,001-5,000 employees

Used daily for more than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra
This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

5

Reviewed May 2021

Great Data Extraction tool

We have solved the issue of not being able to directly query our SharePoint data by being able to extract it into another database. This also allows us to read data from this extracted database using code quicker than when reading directly from a SharePoint list

PROS

I like how you can easily sync data from a SharePoint list or document library to a SQL database. It’s also great how it splits out lookup columns into their ids and values.

CONS

Syncing data from SharePoint can be slow, especially for document libraries and large lists and libraries.

Vendor Response

Thank you very much for the nice feedback. For larger amounts of data, it may actually take a little longer. But we are glad that your problem can be solved with Layer2 Cloud Connector. Many greetings from your Layer 2 team

Replied November 2023

Guy

Non-Profit Organization Management, 51-200 employees

Used daily for more than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra

OVERALL RATING:

4

EASE OF USE

3

VALUE FOR MONEY

4

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

4

FUNCTIONALITY

3

Reviewed August 2023

L2 usage

PROS

It’s stable and doesn’t involve too many releases

CONS

Debugging issue remains a challenge and understanding the functionality is not always intuitive.

Vendor Response

Hello Guy S., thank you for your review and your comments. We will continue to improve and automate our tool. :) Many greetings from your Layer 2 team

Replied November 2023

Mario

Mechanical or Industrial Engineering, 201-500 employees

Used daily for less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra

OVERALL RATING:

3

EASE OF USE

4

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

3

FUNCTIONALITY

4

Reviewed March 2023

Gute Alternative für die Cloud

Gute Grundlage um die Kollegen / Kolleginnen mit Daten im Homeoffice zu versorgen

PROS

Eine gute Alternative, wenn es nicht gewünscht oder möglich ist, den kompletten Datenbestand der Firma in der Cloud vorzuhalten.

CONS

Ein transparenteres Management bei Synchronisationsfehlern wäre wünschenswert. Wenn von den Usern mehrere Dateien gleichzeitig geändert werden, an beiden Seiten, gerät das System an seine Grenzen. Leider kein Telefonsupport.

Reason for choosing Layer2 Cloud Connector

Wurde mir empfohlen

Reasons for switching to Layer2 Cloud Connector

Keine Möglichkeit mehrere User zu versorgen

Vendor Response

Hello Mario D., thank you for the review. We are pleased that Layer2 Cloud Connector improves your everyday work. A constant improvement of the tool is very important for us. If you need support beyond the included email support, you can find it here: https://www.layer2solutions.com/support Greetings from your Layer 2 team

Replied November 2023

Justin

Computer Software, 2-10 employees

Used daily for more than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

4

FUNCTIONALITY

5

Reviewed August 2021

Fantastic Product - Easy to use and rock solid

PROS

I have some processes that sync 100K+ rows. Prior to this we had to utilize SSIS to do these syncs which was cumbersome to create and the performance was terrible. What used to take 1 hour to complete in SSIS takes less than 10 in Layer2.

CONS

Parameterization of the data selections (at the destination) would greatly improve this product. Example, when sending data to a SharePoint list, I have to create (and maintain) a separate configuration for each folder that I want to send data to. If we could parametrize the select statement in the destination based on the source I could populate the folder in the source and have 20+ connections consolidated into one. Also, the ability to launch a job remotely (via a webhook or some other method) would be fantastic. If there was some way to trigger the jobs other than the schedule, this could be a game changer of a product.

Vendor Response

Hello Justin M., thank you very much for your ideas to improve the software and also for the feedback. Great that we can save you time. Many greetings from your Layer 2 team

Replied November 2023

Reto

Information Technology and Services, 11-50 employees

Used daily for more than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

4

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

5

Reviewed September 2021

Der Support ist awesome

Das Produkt, die Firma und vorallem der Support sind einsame Spitze. Hatte schon lange nicht mehr solch einen guten Support bei anderen Produkten. Macht weiter so.

PROS

Die vielen Sync und Einstellungsmöglichkeiten. Obwohl es so vielfältig ist, ist die Einrichtung von neuen Verbindungen ein Klacks, auch die Dokumentation im Internet dazu ist sehr gut.

CONS

Keine, kann aber auch nicht gross welche nennen, da wir zuvor noch niche mit einem anderen Sync Tool oder ähnlichem gearbeitet haben. Abgesehen von selbst geschriebenen Scripts. :)

Reason for choosing Layer2 Cloud Connector

Wir hatten dieses Produkt einmal getestet und es hatte uns auf Anhieb gefallen. Daher haben wir andere Produkte nie in Betracht gezogen.

Vendor Response

Dear Reto R., thank you very much for the great praise to our support. We are very concerned about good support and happy when you are satisfied with it. Kind regards from your Layer 2 team

Replied November 2023

Chris

Hospital & Health Care, 501-1,000 employees

Used daily for more than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

5

Reviewed February 2022

Layer 2

PROS

Layer 2 makes it very easy to keep data in sync between multiple sources. Our primary use for this product is syncing data between SharePoint and SQL and it does this flawlessly. The product is very reasonably priced and support is quick to respond if you need help. We have used this for about 4 years now and it is one of the few product we have that you can set and forget.

CONS

I think the only improvements would be an improved interface that offers help right in the window you need. I don't end up in this application very often though so this is a pretty small con.

Vendor Response

Dear Chris S., great that Layer2 Cloud Connector simplifies your everyday work. We'll keep your comment about the interface in mind, because we want to improve the tool constantly. Thank you very much for your review. Greetings from your Layer 2 team

Replied November 2023

Keith

Construction, 201-500 employees

Used daily for more than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

4

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

4

FUNCTIONALITY

4

Reviewed December 2021

Cloud Connector meets our needs!

Was very easy. I downloaded the trial and within 15 minutes was syncing data between SharePoint online and local data sources. I found it to be very intuitive and easy to use.

PROS

When we moved to SharePoint Online, we needed the ability to "sync" data between multiple sources/targets. Working with 3rd party consultants, they wanted to custom develop ways to do this. We had previously used your BDLC with SharePoint on-prem, so I looked and that's when I found Cloud Connector and it did exactly what we needed it to.

CONS

For what we need, I honestly do not have a 'CON' to list.

Reason for choosing Layer2 Cloud Connector

Cost, ease of use, and not being responsible for maintaining it.

Vendor Response

Dear Keith S., amazing that Layer2 Cloud Connector helps you with data synchronization. We are happy our software is intuitive to use. Best wishes from your Layer 2 team

Replied November 2023

Anonymous

1,001-5,000 employees

Used daily for more than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

4

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

5

Reviewed March 2024

Super Software mit allen gewünschten Connectors und top Support

PROS

- Unzählige Connectors - Tolle Anpassbarfähigkeit durch Custom Columns und Select Statements - Vorlagen - Top Support für sehr spezifische Fragen

CONS

- Logs sind manchmal etwas kryptisch, falls etwas aber unklar ist, ist der Support sehr hilfreich

Vendor Response

Thank you for the great review. We note your comments on the logs for our improvements to Layer2 Cloud Connector. Our Support is very happy about your kind words - thank you very much. Kind regards from your Layer 2 team

Replied March 2024

Vera

Mental Health Care, 1,001-5,000 employees

Used daily for more than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

3

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

5

Reviewed February 2022

layer2 review

Layer2 helps us to sync SharePoint data to external websites. We also use it to import data from databases in to Sharepoint. This all works great.

PROS

Product is easy to use. We use it to connect SharePoint to external databases. The product makes sense.

CONS

In case of errors, it's sometimes difficult to figure out what exactly goes wrong. Also, one connection became kind of corrupt: we couldn't remove the corrupt field and still haven't figured out why the field was giving trouble.

Vendor Response

Hello Vera V., great to read your nice feedback. :) Thank you very much. Thanks also for the hint with the errors. We will include it in improvements of our tool. Kind regards from your Layer 2 team

Replied November 2023

Simon

Marketing and Advertising, 51-200 employees

Used daily for more than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra

OVERALL RATING: