User Reviews Overview

Ratings Breakdown

5 stars

(241)

241

4 stars

(110)

110

3 stars

(8)

8

2 stars

(0)

0

1 stars

(0)

0

Feature Ratings

Ease-of-use

4.5 / 5

Value for Money

5.0 / 5

Customer Support

4.0 / 5

Functionality

4.5 / 5

Browse Nextcloud Reviews

Filter by:

Sort by:
 

Showing -49 - 0 of 360 results

January 2020

User Profile Picture

Sam from phpList

Verified Reviewer

Company Size: 11-50 employees

Industry: Computer Software

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Value for money

5.0

Functionality

5.0

January 2020

The all-in-one platform for business applications

Pros

Its easy to use, stable and dependable, extremely customisable, and works across all mobile and desktop operating systems. Perhaps most importantly, through the built in app store, it serves as a platform for many other key business applications which we need, such as collaborative document editing, calendar and contact sync and share, internal knowledge base (wiki), and more.

Cons

It could be easier to get set up. The video conferencing features so far didn't work reliably on our installation.

Reasons for Choosing Nextcloud

Open source, better local clients, more features, much larger app ecosystem.

Reasons for Switching to Nextcloud

Faster development cycle, more features, more responsive security updates.

July 2021

Oliver from Oliver Pifferi

Company Size: 1 employee

Industry: Information Technology and Services

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

5.0

July 2021

The Number One-Solution for your personal and private cloud!

It has been a great journey from the very beginning to the current Nextcloud Hub 22. The solution worked out of the box and can be extended with many stable plugins so that there is anything you can dream of which can be implemented - even with writing an app on your own while the number of apps increased week by week!

Pros

Nextcloud appeared from the vast ruins of ownCloud which I always liked, but always hassled with once there was an update. It was vital from the very beginning, it was more open, it was more stable - and everything you needed to get if up and running worked like a charm straight from the scratch. With each version there was not only an evolution, but a refinement of features, an open conversation with the community (something ownCloud really lacked of) and a visible progress. Besides, working and using Nextcloud is just wonderful.

Cons

Nothing that would be worth mentioning - indeed there are no negative aspects regarding my use case and the use case of my customers. It would be nice to get a fully-featured IMAP-server integrated in Nextcloud, but this is a luxury issue. Besides, the company should take its time to grow and to keep the platform stable and maybe there will once be a Nextcloud-Talk app for macOS and Windows?

Reasons for Switching to Nextcloud

ownCloud got stuck in a dead end while Nextcloud was on the move, pushing steadily forward with updates, information and flawlessy upgrade routines that ownCloud never managed to handle. It was just user-friendly from the very beginning and - instead of ownCloud - vital since the day it started.

December 2019

Vitalii from Information Technology

Company Size: 11-50 employees

Industry: Financial Services

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

2.0

Functionality

5.0

December 2019

Pure UX (user experience)

As mentioned in the last point above: 3. UI is poorly integrated with the OS. It is usable, but it can be better. Compare scrolling in browser and scrolling in a list there. You will see the difference. 4. android upload/share is not reliable. User experience in the android app leaves much to be desired. For example on fairly modern phone and on wifi connection, the UI hangs on every screen for some time (sometimes fractions of seconds, but sometimes for multiple seconds). This is unacceptable. If I want to show my friends a funny picture that fits into conversation and can not open it very fast. It is a frustrating experience. 4.1. What is more important is that the file sync function works reliably. And that is not a case, at least not in the android app. When my wife selects some photos or videos that she wants to move to nextcloud folder and only a subset of it actually gets moved. What can I say, please check which of 100 photos were uploaded and retry those that were not uploaded. First, have fun finding them. Second, watch that it works this time, or you have to repeat. What do you think she tells me? Oh, I like how this peace of software works. Definitely not. And that's frustrating to me because I setup and maintain the nextcloud instance.

Pros

That it exists! And it is on the market for a while now. Free, and more importantly self-hosted, alternative to Dropbox. I know it is more than dropbox, but more on that later.

Cons

Initially it was a software to share files between different computers and possibly with other people. Managing files is nextcloud's core competence. And even after years using it, it is sad to see that it doesn't always work reliably! I can tell couple of examples from experiences. 1. constant conflicts. I use a diary software to keep notes and often get conflicts when doing notes. Luckily it is in plain text so I can resolve conflicts, in contrast to binary files where it is mostly not trivial at all. While keeping doing notes it is tiresome and tedious to being obligated to solve these conflicts although it is just an ongoing stream of changes. 2. Activity view is not usable. It is just frustrating to not being able to see and find the information you need. Sometimes it is just a list of files that are being ignored on top of the list. I don't care about the files that are ignored all the time. A dropdown menu can be provided to select the files I want to see. Filter the conflicts or ignored files or whatever else is there. 2.1. File(s) that are being synced right now, where are they? If it's a big iso image being synced now and if I interrupt have to start over. The main tab with folders gives me only numbers like "syncing file 5 out of 72". 2.2. In the same Activity tab so much space is wasted. You could move this date of sync to the right on the same line if it fits, and only if it doesn't fit into one line move it to the next. Ok, this box is limited to 1500 symbol

Reasons for Choosing Nextcloud

open source, self hosted

March 2021

Adam from Fisher College of Business

Verified Reviewer

Company Size: 10,000+ employees

Industry: Computer Software

Time Used: Less than 12 months

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

3.0

Value for money

5.0

Functionality

5.0

March 2021

Take back control of your data

I was skeptical of how well a self hosted cloud platform would work as well as how many features it would actually offer over simple file storage with a web interface, but I was genuinely impressed and excited about the possibilities it opened up and the features it offered.

Pros

Nextcloud offers, in my estimation, about 90% of what Google or other services offer. Cloud storage, document editing, note keeping, password and bookmark backups, collaboration via chat or video, and a ton more via the rich plugin market. The best thing is that it can be hosted on prem, so no worries about how your data is being used. It is definitely a best in class piece of software

Cons

I haven't found any functionality that is missing, however it was somewhat difficult/cumbersome to setup syncing to mobile devices for notes, calendars, contacts, etc... The mobile app for Android isn't the best and often 3rd party solutions were needed.

Reasons for Choosing Nextcloud

While the products are related and offer some cross compatibility, we were swayed by the open source philosophy and ethos of the Nextcloud community.

Reasons for Switching to Nextcloud

Concerns over data and personal privacy as well as support and life span of Google products.

January 2020

Joachim from AXXCON GmbH u Co KG

Company Size: 51-200 employees

Industry: Management Consulting

Time Used: Less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

4.0

Customer support

4.0

Functionality

4.0

January 2020

NC as private cloud solution

We have our critical data in our own controlled cloud environment. Our teams are spread all over the place in Germany, therefore NC is an excellent solution to support our collaboration.

Pros

Easy to setup and ease of use. Clients available on all plattforms (W10, OSX, iOS, Linux). Integratrion with Active Directory is quite essential for us. Easy to administrate. UNIX Platform. It is very robust!

Cons

That there is no integration with MS-SharePoint or MS-o365. This is really neccessary in todays world, although I am not a MS fan at all, but for business purposes this is really essential!

Reasons for Choosing Nextcloud

We wanted to have full controll over our data, because we have not much trust to the big public-cloud providers. After comparing the options, NC provided exactly what we wanted. When we made the decision, the future of Onwcloud seemed to us quite uncertain. We use o365 for our office collaboration. NC provides our cloud-based file-storage and archive. Remark: please do not try to compete with the full o365 functionality (Teams, Exchange, Office etc.), from my point of view, this isn't worth the effort and it is unlikely thy you are going to win this race. A clever cooperation/integration would be something really usefull. This is a user speaking, I know the developers do not like this, but I can not see the point of ignoring the reality...

Reasons for Switching to Nextcloud

Sharepoint was to complicated and resource intensiv. It addtion it is not fully usable on other plattforms than MS-Windows.

May 2021

Anonymous

Verified Reviewer

Company Size: 11-50 employees

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

4.0

Value for money

5.0

Functionality

5.0

May 2021

Highly useful for users like me

Been using since OwnCloud and since handed over to NextCloud, i can see lots more improvement. Very happy with this software.

Pros

1. It does what it advertises and does it well 2. Free 4. Security conscious to some extent. The software does recommended as well as let you know what needs to be fixed (Self Hosted) 5. Lots of plugins, for eg. Ability to edit excel document right through your browser or phone without additional software. 6. Documentation for installing on self hosted systems and information is quite variant and easy to understand 7. Applications for mobile devices with very nice features, for eg. When taking a video or photo with your phone, you have the ability to upload the img/vids automatically to your server

Cons

Just one issue. If your server needs an update (Self Hosted) it would be great to have the desktop software notify you rather than login with your admin account on the self-hosted system and look in there.

August 2019

User Profile Picture

Adrian from APE Consulting Ltd

Verified Reviewer

Company Size: 2-10 employees

Industry: Management Consulting

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

3.0

Functionality

4.0

August 2019

Why not

I love it

Pros

I've been using Nextcloud since v11-12, but before that had been using ownCloud since v5. It's a brilliant way of sharing files across multiple devices and sharing files with others. I was looking for my own version of Dropbox and Nextcloud fits the bill, and some. Some of the more recent Apps really could make this a complete solution, with the Collarora/Onlyoffice integration, Decks, Circles, Passwords, Email, Talk, etc. And it's open source. Like I said at the start, why not?

Cons

I'm not a fan of the new forum/support platform but am struggling to find something I least like about the software

Reasons for Switching to Nextcloud

Nextcloud offered more features and benefits than ownCloud.

July 2021

Mathieu from MHX

Company Size: 1 employee

Industry: Information Technology and Services

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

4.0

Functionality

4.0

July 2021

An full stack solution for enterprise

I have been using nextcloud for more than five years now, and it has only got better on every release.

Pros

Nextcloud regroups a file sharing, messaging and organization solution in one. It can be completed by many plugging like encryption, antivirus for files, nextcloud Talk, or even collabora and other for file editing.

Cons

Sometimes, I observe some bugs in the mobile app, where my photos don't get uploaded.

Reasons for Choosing Nextcloud

With nextcloud I can store my data, wherever I want. The solution is secure by design and very easy to set up. It has a growing reputation and tends to be used in europe in administratives offices and some companies.

January 2021

André from Engemax Eletricidade

Company Size: 2-10 employees

Industry: Electrical/Electronic Manufacturing

Time Used: Less than 12 months

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

4.0

Value for money

5.0

Functionality

5.0

January 2021

Nextcloud - A Secure and Powerful file and team software

Nextcloud made managing users and shared projects and deadlines very easy with its calendar and its real time collaborative document editing feature, making it a necessity on my daily use.

Pros

The biggest use case for Nextcloud is the file server itself. Admins can create users for the employees or setup registration with plugins and define how much storage and access each user has, how they communicate with others on the network with the Talk app plugin and integrate all of Nextcloud's features together with projects, which are similar to workspaces with a dedicated chat with voice and video calling, a project file space with realtime document editing (similat do Google Docs) and calendar integration all in one place. All of these features are free and can customized for your own personal use case and it is very high quality.

Cons

Setup can be quite difficult for someone with no experience on setting up Virtual Private Servers (VPS's) and with custom domain management, as it requires the Admins to create their own server and configure it with a GUI (in respect to configuring users and projects) and within the terminal for the VPS and domain provider (for a custom domain and SSL encryption, which is required for audio and video calling).

Reasons for Choosing Nextcloud

Microsoft Teams, while beeing a great option for a company to manage its users it is not recommended for small businesses due to its high price.

Reasons for Switching to Nextcloud

Better control, privacy and customizability.

May 2020

User Profile Picture

Wilco from Code Blauw

Verified Reviewer

Company Size: 2-10 employees

Industry: Marketing and Advertising

Time Used: Less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

4.0

Functionality

5.0

May 2020

Great self hosted cloud solution

It's a great piece of open source software with a ton of functionality. It is a great alternative to platforms like Google Drive or OneDrive.

Pros

NextCloud is very easy to set up and allows a great amount of customization. There are a ton of apps available to add to your configuration so you can set it up just the way that works for you. You can integrate Nextcloud login with your own website using OAuth. The customization is almost endless so you can set it up just how you like it.

Cons

The pricing can become complicated and quite expensive when using Nextcloud with some paid apps. Other than that I can't really complain about the functionality of the software, it has everything it should have.

Reasons for Switching to Nextcloud

GDPR, control over hosted files because Nextcloud is self hosted.

January 2021

Paul from Freelancer

Company Size: 2-10 employees

Industry: Photography

Time Used: Less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

5.0

January 2021

The best replacement for Google Drive, iCloud or OneDrive

Very good, would recommend all the time.

Pros

The software is very great to deploy and maintain; Every user likes using the software. The build-in addons are a huge win. From my perspecitve one of the best choices you can do as a system adminsitrator if you want to deploy a software like nextcloud.

Cons

Sometimes, there are really strange speed problems nextcloud, on which the logfiles don't include a lot of information about possible reasons.

Reasons for Switching to Nextcloud

Less expencive and better privacy protections.

August 2019

User Profile Picture

Miłosz from TTMS

Verified Reviewer

Company Size: 501-1,000 employees

Industry: Information Technology and Services

Time Used: Less than 12 months

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Value for money

5.0

Functionality

5.0

August 2019

Best open source software I ever worked with

Nextcloud allowed us to replace many other services from different providers, now we have almost everything in one place.

Pros

- simple to setup, configure, update and use - customizable - many apps and themes available - well documented - possible to connect with other services

Cons

- many features you expect to work by default are only available after installing 3rd party extensions - encryption can be difficult to setup - some features can be configured only from command line

Reasons for Choosing Nextcloud

Mostly because of community recommendations, it is also open source and seems to be actively developed, not only by its creators but also by volunteers. Now, after almost a year working with it, I am sure it was a good decision.

January 2021

Neeraj from Staxxyz

Company Size: 1 employee

Industry: Information Technology and Services

Time Used: Less than 12 months

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

4.0

Functionality

5.0

January 2021

Great way to get back control of your data

A+ 10.5 out of 10

Pros

- Its very easy to use and setup. - large number of apps (plugins) that increase functionality - this allows you to have a light install and add features based on your hardware capabilitie

Cons

Sometimes certain plugins and apps break the nextcloud and the admin needs to manually go and disable it

Reasons for Choosing Nextcloud

it was easier to setup and maintain also vast community support

Reasons for Switching to Nextcloud

wanted to take control back my control from big tech

February 2020

User Profile Picture

Kevin from eCommunities

Verified Reviewer

Company Size: 2-10 employees

Industry: Online Media

Time Used: Less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

5.0

February 2020

Great stack!

Great product that's useful to more than just business clients.

Pros

Clean and consistent interface with good integration due to lots of third party addons.

Cons

The installation process is disconnected between the CLI, and the "autoconfig.php", the supported features in the latter are far more capable despite the development focus on the former.

Reasons for Switching to Nextcloud

More "open" development environment, and seemingly faster progress in areas that are more important to the general public rather than simply Enterprise clients.

Response from Nextcloud

Replied March 2020

Thank you for your review! :)

December 2021

Steven from Podrouzek Computer Consulting

Company Size: 2-10 employees

Industry: Information Services

Time Used: Less than 6 months

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

5.0

December 2021

Nextcloud is Excellent

I really love this product. Its easier to use than other products.

Pros

Easy setup and ease of use. Setup on my own server. Love the desktop client and it does not take a lot of resources.

Cons

Mobile features are not too great. But good enough to use daily.

January 2021

Anonymous

Verified Reviewer

Company Size: 10,000+ employees

Time Used: Less than 12 months

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

4.0

Value for money

5.0

Functionality

5.0

January 2021

Nextcloud collaboration platform

keep the data stored locally. secure file sharing.

Pros

Nextcloud Hub is full collaboration suite including file sharing, collaborative document editing, calendar, contacts, chat, audio and video conferencing. Locally hosted cloud solution gives you a confidence only authorized people can access your data. In opposite to global cloud providers the organization gain full control of the data.

Cons

user interface is designed for beginners, power-users feel too many actions are hidden behind options menu.

Reasons for Choosing Nextcloud

user have no control what happens with data stored in public cloud and who has access to this data.

January 2021

Henk from The Future Group

Verified Reviewer

Company Size: 1 employee

Industry: Information Technology and Services

Time Used: Less than 12 months

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

4.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

4.0

Functionality

5.0

January 2021

Most comprehensive cloud software

I have to say, where Microsoft tries hard with their one-drive and SharePoint, Nextcloud outperforms them completely, that is, if you want to switch to LibreOffice for your documents ;-). Since I installed Nextcloud on my own Apache server I have been working with it daily without any interruption. Updates are installed on the fly (as an administrator I've to push the button occasionally) without any downtime for other users. What I like the most is that I don't have to use an external cloud share. I can share project data securely without the fear that I don't know how /if cloud providers can/will access my data!

Pros

What I like the most is the complete integration of Nextcloud with other devices like mobile telephone and all OS-platforms. For an administrator Nextcloud provides a 'one button' check on all security aspects of your server. Next to that, Nextcloud provides very good documentation on to how to harden your server. Updates are very easy with the GUI, I had not one single issue since I use Nextcloud (approx 1 year). Occasionally you must complete some actions by the command line (the occ program) but that is also very well documented. The Nextcloud client both on Linux (Kubuntu) and Windows 10 works like a charm. On my Android phone I don't need google stuff, photos and contacts are directly synced with my Nextcloud. Due to the integrated e-mail client, separately to be activated, I don't need to run a web client on my server anymore (Roundcube), it saves administration work. It is very easy to set up a project environment to share with external users. I like the integration of draw.io, within the project, all project members can use draw.io from the browser for our project. Nextcloud is very precise on updates. This means that if you use the stable channel, as I do, you get only a new major version after a few .x releases of a new major release as to be sure that it is really stable. What can I write more, there are numerous applications that can be activated like Talk (video conferencing), calendar, activities on your drives and so on.

Cons

Hardening my Apache server was a bit difficult, although Nextcloud provides also quite good documentation for that issue.

January 2021

David from Microboss

Company Size: 2-10 employees

Industry: Information Technology and Services

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Value for money

5.0

Functionality

5.0

January 2021

Your own private cloud

File upload/download is a strength. I use Nextcloud with Raidrive to permit easy access to files from my laptop when working from a remote location. The auditing features are very useful to see when shared links have been used. We have deployed with back end storage through to Windows servers and access is controlled via Active Directory groups.

Pros

Installation and deployment of Nextcloud is straight forward and logical. If you've ever installed any other web based application under Linux, you'll feel right at home. Integration with Active Directory via LDAP was very easy. The system status page advises if any post-remediation work is required after upgrades. Multiple web server options are supported, such as Apache or nginx. There is a plethora of add-on apps. File sharing the is major strength in this product, although it extends to in-browser document editing as well via Collabora or Only Office. I regularly use Nextcloud for both file download and upload to transfer files with external parties. Draw.IO is one of my favourite apps for network and diagram design. Shared file links have an automatic date expiry option which I find very useful.

Cons

If you wish to stay cutting edge and on the latest version, you may find that some of your favourite apps are a bit slow to keep up with the latest release. This is not an issue if you prefer to stay on a more stable build which will give the external parties time to catch up.

January 2021

Fabian from VDI Verlag GmbH

Verified Reviewer

Company Size: 11-50 employees

Industry: Media Production

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

4.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

4.0

Functionality

4.0

January 2021

Best free Google / Dropbox / Onedrive alternative

It's a reliable Cloud solution, also for files, calendar and contacts. It comes as free software and you can extend it to your liking. There are no forced upgrades or changes. If used internally once Set up Nextcloud can run for decades.

Pros

The Software is easy to set up, transparent and easy to extend with a multitude of features.

Cons

If you want to host Nextcloud yourself you need your own hardware and some sysadmin skills. Or you just spend some time googleing the error messages. There is a lot of support for Nextcloud on the internet.

Reasons for Choosing Nextcloud

Because it is free software, with free as in freedom.

Reasons for Switching to Nextcloud

Because it is free software, with free as in freedom.

December 2020

Richard from Fourth World Systems

Company Size: 1 employee

Industry: Computer Software

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

4.0

Functionality

5.0

December 2020

My Client Project Portal

Nextcloud has exceed my expectations. The breadth of apps alone, all well integrated with one another, make it a must-have. But looking under the hood reveals a well-documented set of APIs, all consistently designed and many based on open standards. This is opening up new doors for us, making front-ends that integrate with other services, and using Nextcloud as the backend foundation for user management and more. All this is characteristic of my ever-deeper relationship with Nextcloud: it's great out of the box, nicely tailorable, and deeply modifiable.

Pros

I was initially impressed with how Nextcloud keeps all of my computers synced with far fewer conflict files than anything else I'd used. But the apps - oh the apps! Now I've come to rely on Nextcloud as the hub for managing my client projects. We can share and sync work files easily, but Dash, Calendar, and other tools installed with it makes a a must-have for small development shops like mine. And bonus points that I can tailor the branding with my company logo. Clients love it, I love it, and my colleagues are getting use to hearing me rave about it.

Cons

I hope to be able to find more US-based companies offering VPS hosting with Nextcloud preinstalled. There seem to be plenty in Europe, and if we can get more in the US I have some clients who would appreciate a turnkey, managed service.

December 2020

Joshua from Caluette Family

Company Size: 1 employee

Industry: Information Technology and Services

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Value for money

5.0

Functionality

5.0

December 2020

Best in-house Cloud that money can (or cannot) buy

As stated previously, my intent when switching to Nextcloud was to keep all control of my data in-house so I know wherey data is stored, who can or is accessing it, how secured it is being stored and handled, and the ability to ensure proper updates are being applied on a regular basis. I have used Nextcloud in various environments from Cloud hosted VPS, to physical on-prem server, and currently in an on-prem VMWare ESXi server. Migration my instance has always been super easy. Migration is nothing more than setting up a new instance and then copying the data, database, and configuration file.

Pros

I've been using Nextcloud for well over two years just for personal files. I began using Nextcloud as an alternative to the other big guys in the game (you know who I am talking about) mainly because I prefer to keep as much control over my data as possible and having it stored in-house (literally) is important to me. Nextcloud is very flexible and offers many great features, some of which are built-in and some added by simply installing "apps" from the Nextcloud market (all free). These include security, collaboration, education, and functionality related features. Nextcloud can be integrated with just about anything. It is very simple to configure. You just need a webserver (Apache or Nginx) with PHP and a database server to get Nextcloud up an running. With proper knowledge of these technologies, you can have a basic instance up and running in no time. In addition to the convenient and very pleasant web UI, there are also official client apps available for Windows and MacOS as well as mobile apps for iOS and Android. My overall favorite thing is that Nextcloud is completely FREE! Of course, if you want support behind the software, they do have an Enterprise license available. The only costs are the actual hardware/storage requirements. Lastly, I appreciate the hard work that obviously goes into developing Nextcloud and the associated apps. I see regular updates for both the server and client apps which include bug fixes and security patches on a very regular basis.

Cons

I honestly have no cons to list here. All aspects of Nextcloud have been perfect.

Reasons for Choosing Nextcloud

At the time of switching a few years back, I found the Nextcloud mobile apps to be much further along in development with more stability and features. Nextcloud in general has seemed to regularly be more mature.

Reasons for Switching to Nextcloud

Costs and preference for in-house storage and hosting.

December 2020

Eric from EM Squared

Verified Reviewer

Company Size: 2-10 employees

Industry: Computer Software

Time Used: Less than 6 months

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Value for money

5.0

Functionality

5.0

December 2020

Nextcloud is the BEST cloud

Nextcloud was easy to find and download, easy to install and get running, and super easy to use. I love having all of my groupware (web meetings, contacts, calendars, and email client) all in one place.

Pros

I've been eyeing Nextcloud for a few years now. Until recently, I would have said that Owncloud is more stable and has better features. But that's all changed... big time! I recently installed Nextcloud to re-evaluate it and it's gotten better... a LOT better... even better than Owncloud. For one thing, right out of the box, Nextcloud includes groupware features like an browser-based email client, shared calendars, and shared contacts. But one plugin stands out - the web-meeting / screen-share plugin! And it's nice! Besides having better features, I like the community better. While Owncloud is open source and free, many of the plugins are not and the community has gotten more commercially oriented as a result. The Nextcloud community is more helpful and user based.

Cons

Wishes: * I wish Nextcloud was themeable. As far as I know, none of the groupware products out there are but that would be a very nice feature. * I wish Nexcloud had better documentation for replacing Owncloud while preserving user accounts.

Reasons for Choosing Nextcloud

Nextcloud is a better ownCloud. Unlike Dropbox, Nextcloud is open source and free. Also unlike Dropbox, Nexcloud comes with a great set of groupware features.

Reasons for Switching to Nextcloud

I was setting up an email server and I wanted to set up shared calendars and contacts to go with it. Owncloud has plugins for calendars and contacts so I tried that first. The plugins seemed a bit clunky to me so I was looking for an alternative. That's when I discovered all of the groupware features that have been added to Nexcloud since I looked at it last.

December 2020

Todd from Rhode Island Service Company

Verified Reviewer

Company Size: 1 employee

Industry: Legal Services

Time Used: Less than 12 months

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

4.0

December 2020

Great solution for small business

Nextcloud has helped me consolidate my work into a lot fewer online resources. The Hub has really reduced the need to log into multiple services at the beginning of the work. So wonderful a resource.

Pros

I chose the VPS version of Nextcloud through a hosting partner and found that I have access to almost every service I need except bookkeeping. The hosted service costs me less than $10 a month and has allowed me to replace my subscriptions to GSuite and MS Office 365, saving me hundreds of dollars per year. I love that an online office suite, a to-do function, calendar and e-mail all come as part of the Nextcloud Hub. Not to mention Nextcloud Talk, a great Zoom replacement. It is unbelievably convenient to work through a single interface for almost all of my needs - and all with enhanced security. Don't need to worry anymore about Google or Microsoft having access to my business and client files.

Cons

I think this would be very difficult for someone like me (not a techie) to set up on his own. I thought about trying to run my own server in my office, but way too hard for me. So glad they have partners who help get you set up.

Reasons for Choosing Nextcloud

Nextcloud seemed to have a more active development community and a lot of support available online.

Reasons for Switching to Nextcloud

G Suite got way too complicated - and the help and support was abysmal. Microsoft - again - horrible support. They may have leading edge technology, but they both suffer on the service side.

December 2020

Hagen from Vereinigung Jugendburg Ludwigstein e.V.

Company Size: 51-200 employees

Industry: Museums and Institutions

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Value for money

5.0

Functionality

5.0

December 2020

A great piece of software for small businesses and associations

Pros

Nextcloud really becomes a grown-up alternative to Dropbox and a lot of Google Services. From private, single-user use to our deployment in an association with >50 users, the functionality covers most of the usual functionality like file sharing, sharing calendars and contacts and especially collaborating on writing documents with different Office-Plugins. The builtin Talk app might be a well-integrated alternative to Slack and, up to 3-4 users, also for Zoom. The fact that Nextcloud is open-source makes it a very budget-friendly choice (we rum it for <10€/month), as long as you have someone setting it up and administrating it, which does not take a lot of time, since kyrofa from nextcloud-snap does a great job in assuring automatic updates and upgrades and in QA. Also, the diverse App-Ecosystem is very great. I would say that, combined with a separate mail server (the built-in Mail App is not that great anyway), you will be able to replace most of the standard software in your small business.

Cons

Nextcloud is often kind of unstable and slow. Follow the issues in nextcloud-snap and you will notice that development velocity seems to have priority over a thorough testing. That's not too bad since previous versions of Nextcloud are supported for a while, but just because they push a X.0.1 version, that doesn't mean that the upgrade will run smooth and the new major version runs stable. This is somewhat disappointing, maybe including all official app developers and kyrofa better in the release and QA process would make a difference. Also, the Talk video feature is mostly unusable for >5 people since it's a n:n connection. The high-performance-backend was open sourced recently and might solve the problem.

December 2020

Pelle from Tillväxtanalys

Company Size: 11-50 employees

Industry: Government Administration

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

4.0

Functionality

4.0

December 2020

Nextcloud ås filé server, and more

What we used Nextcloud for is as a file server, server for sharing files with internal and external users, functions such as Deck, Flow, simultaneous editing of MS Office files with Onlyoffice and MS Office online. I have also recently started Talk with the signal server to be able to use as a chat and video solution.

Pros

Some of the things I like most are the ease of installing and configuring, the ease of managing and sharing files, the wide range of apps, the ability to integrate with other systems, the ability to change the code to suit us and the rapid pace of development.

Cons

I lack the support of virtual files in the sync client. To my knowledge, there is no info on what the bottleneck in the system is. It would have been good if there was a tool that could give an indication of choices in the system that are slow. Now I have tested myself to see which software or hardware has been too slow.

December 2020

Stefan from Stadtwerke Dachau

Company Size: 51-200 employees

Industry: Oil & Energy

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

4.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

5.0

December 2020

Great software and even better customer support

It was super easy to build up a test environment (VM image, Docker, ...) Even with other apps like Onlyoffice for collaboration it worked all well. No costs, everything on our site. Then it became bigger and bigger and we purchased the subscription to get support and a professional setup. Now we cannot afford an outage of the service, as the whole company uses the different features of the software.

Pros

Nextcloud has the best customer support I have ever seen. Every ticket gets solved quickly and with a lot of additional information from the developer. They are super precise, no questions gets lost. Essentially you are talking directly to the developer of the code. It is really the best support experience I had so long. I also want to mention the Talk feature for video conferencing. It works quite good and with no privacy concerns. It is the one feature every employee needs, now during corona crisis.

Cons

For regular users, that have never used a software to share files, the process of sharing can be complicated because of the many posibilities. Nextcloud could make thist process a bit easier.

Reasons for Choosing Nextcloud

Due to licensing considerations and the feeling, that Nextcloud will better fit our business goals.

March 2020

Daniel from Daniel Hertrich Fotografie

Company Size: 1 employee

Industry: Photography

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

4.0

Value for money

5.0

Functionality

4.0

March 2020

Best free cloud option that I could find

As a photographer, I use Nextcloud to share photos and entire works with clients, models etc. and in general to share information with people I work with. Also, I use it for sharing private stuff with my family and friends. It works, without much maintenance. From time to time I need to update it, but that's it. I never had any issues with being hacked or with updates breaking functionality.

Pros

Relatively easy to set up, very flexible and versatile, via apps more functionality can be added. File sharing works very reliably, and the automatic file versioning in Nextcloud has saved me various times when I accidentally made a wrong change to a file or deleted it by accident.

Cons

The interface is sometimes not very intuitive and needs more clicks than necessary. Also, if you are not a PHP / web server expert, some optimizations that Nextcloud suggests are cryptic to the user (admin). That's a bit sad, as I think it could be made easier for the admin, if Nextcloud would analyse its server surrounding a bit more deeply and give more concrete hints to the admin. But - I am not a PHP expert, so I could be wrong. Also, one "bad behavior" of the Nextcloud sync clients is that in case of a file conflict, the server-side file is downloaded and the local file is renamed to "...conflict...". This can cause data loss in case the local file is a database file (e.g. sqlite) and currently opened and in use. I opened a ticket, but it was closed by the developers with the argument that other sync solutions do it similarly and that changing this behavior would cause other difficulties.

January 2020

Steven from Internet

Company Size: 1 employee

Industry: Internet

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

4.0

Value for money

5.0

Functionality

5.0

January 2020

Great file sync and share offering

Nextcloud is awesome because it allows me to backup personal and financial information on my own storage system so that I am in control of the data. It also makes it easy to share that data between computers and users.

Pros

The software is easy to setup and keep up to date. It notifies you when new version are available and makes it easy to quickly install the updates. Creating user accounts is simple and allows different users to store their data on Nextcloud. Sharing between users is quick and painless and makes it easy for information to be made available to the people who need it.

Cons

Updating user clients can be a challenge some times but eventually I have been able to get them to work.

Response from Nextcloud

Replied February 2020

We're happy to read such reviews! Thank you a lot for your feedback!

January 2020

Niket from Piatika India Private Limited

Company Size: 11-50 employees

Industry: Consumer Goods

Time Used: Less than 12 months

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

5.0

January 2020

Taking back Control of our Data.

We were looking to get control over how we shared, stored and backed up our data. We are a small enterprise which needs every penny to make a bang, Nextcloud gives you more than that bang. Super efficient user interface and easy installation make it a perfect replacement for other commercial competitors. Extremely satisfied with Nextcloud.

Pros

Absolutely everything about Nextcloud is extremely well thought of and can cater to needs of small as well as large companies which need complete control over their data for all the various reasons concerning data privacy and data storage. Nextcloud gives you unparalleled control over everything that you need to do with your data. Nextcloud is a dream come true.

Cons

Nothing. What can be bad when you are in complete control over your own data.

January 2020

Martin from SIB

Company Size: 51-200 employees

Industry: Biotechnology

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

4.0

Functionality

5.0

January 2020

Self hosting - taking back control

Pros

I can self host my own cloud in a secure environment and retain the flexibility of storage limits, user accounts, plugins and access methods. Client software exists for all major platforms - Linux, macOS, Windows, iOS and Android. Configuration on the server side is quite straight forward and by having access to the command line tool on the server I could fix problems that arose. Documentation and user information is very good.

Cons

Some earlier version upgrades had the potential to cause problems. Intervention on the command line was needed to fix things. Recent improvements have made upgrades pretty much seamless. With a large number of plugins installed the need to frequently update the plugins becomes greater. This is done using an admin account in the web interface and is usually a one click operation. Synchronisation can get confused with multiple clients and manual resolution is usually required to resolve conflicts in versions of files.

January 2020

Olav from Datenschutz individuell

Company Size: 2-10 employees

Industry: Legal Services

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

4.0

Functionality

5.0

January 2020

A common ground for documentation and ideas

We need to work on documents together with our customers. Prior to using Nextcloud, they were e-mailed back and forth, a nightmare. Only few of our can provide their own cloud storage, so we help out. It's easy enough to administer and by providing that service, we don't have to work in multiple customer clouds. In the context of a nonprofit association, we use Nextcloud to work on ideas, and to collaboratively keep the minutes of our meetings. Another functionality most important to us is contacts, calendar and tasks. That way, all data remains private and under our sole control.

Pros

That it's open source, focussed on security and privacy and VERY actively developed (in terms of bugs reported being fixed).

Cons

There ARE rough edges and I tend to hit them all. I eagerly await the PC client that allows to sync some directories on demand only.

December 2019

Jeff from BetaLeaf.net Computer Services

Company Size: 1 employee

Industry: Computer Software

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

4.0

Functionality

5.0

December 2019

A completely free alternative to G Suite and Sharepoint/OneDrive

Providing cheap solution for hosting files to friends and family. Installing for professional customers.

Pros

Once installed, it just works. There are many plugins to expand functionality. More importantly, it is open-source.

Cons

It can be very intimidating to set up for non-technical customers. Also, no email server available.

December 2019

Joseph from Healing For The Heart Ministries

Company Size: 2-10 employees

Industry: Non-Profit Organization Management

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

3.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

2.0

Functionality

3.0

December 2019

Nextcloud review

Overall it has been good. There have been problems with upgrades but thankfully there have been others who upgraded before me and put tips on how to proceed. There should be one forum that deals with each upgrade by number and all solutions can be found there. If there is a solution, it should be marked as such so we can easily find the solutions we need.

Pros

I like that I have control over my data and can adjust things a bit for my needs.

Cons

Not all the things work right. I have serious problems with the client. I get many error messages about sync, favorites don't work, and it is not very intuitive for the average non-techie.

December 2019

Matthew from Information Technology & Services

Company Size: 1 employee

Industry: Graphic Design

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

5.0

December 2019

Awesome Office and Picture Sync

All in all, this allowed me to work remotely, schedule things, and to have my data at hand. It does serve as an easy backup too. When I bring on someone else, we will be able to easily keep in sync, as scalability is builtin.

Pros

What I really like is how it will sync my photos from my phone to my cloud, which I can then have on my computer. I can take a picture, and then have it on my laptop or desktop. It allows me to have my own set of personal notes on it, that are not scanned nor data mined. They are simple to use and allow me to jot down ideas and things to do. I can sync my calendar to it, allowing me to schedule things on my computer or on my phone. Personally, I like the Docker image that they have, as it allowed me to quickly set it up and get it working.

Cons

As the software is self-hosted, sometimes it has given me trouble, but mainly because it's running on a very small computer (comparable to a Raspberry Pi). But it's been a few months since that's happened, and if I had an HA setup, that wouldn't be an issue.

December 2019

Anonymous

Verified Reviewer

Company Size: 1 employee

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

4.0

Value for money

5.0

Functionality

3.0

December 2019

Keep control on your data

At the beginning I was using it to store my online courses to have a centralized point to consult them. Progressively I used it to backup automatically my personal pictures from my phone, numerised official documents, to share documents with friends and family. Really no more use of dropbox or things like this now

Pros

This is quite easy to set up and administrate. Updates are very easy to install. Great overall functionnalities and good documentation Open source FTW

Cons

The client may need some upgrades and a better integration with desktop maybe ?

August 2019

Renaud from Fédération des Sgen-CFDT

Company Size: 2-10 employees

Industry: Civic & Social Organization

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

4.0

Value for money

5.0

Functionality

4.0

August 2019

Nextcloud does the job

Nextcloud allows us to collaborate with 150+ team members to build our organization's before we release it to our audience.

Pros

Multiple accounts / instances synchronization works seamlessly on different desktop OSes. Nextcloud manages document versions quite well and can restore documents that were mistakenly / accidentaly deleted on synced desktops.

Cons

It's sometimes hard to know why conflicting versions appear.

August 2019

Stéphane from Stedan

Company Size: 2-10 employees

Industry: Electrical/Electronic Manufacturing

Time Used: Less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

3.0

Value for money

4.0

Functionality

2.0

August 2019

analrchy when mutliple folder sharing

The client is good, but it is difficult to uses the history of synced files. Everything is marked as "updated now", and there is no indication if the files have been sent, updated, received, and especially by which user ... In that matter, tools like sharepoint does it better.

Pros

It works on raspberry pi (20 Watts only) and therefore it is possible to build a local storage inside my organization with unlimited disk storage and only on intranet (speed up the transfer and uses less bandwith and energy).

Cons

The sharing of multiple folders to multiple users is difficult to follow. About 100 filders are quickly shared in the owncloud root folder. One should add a folder synchronization to each of them manually on each client to really share the files (otherwise, it is just an authorization to access the files, that usually never reaches the several clients even if available in the root folder). A solution to really share (and put the files on the final user hard drive) should be perfect. example : start the sharing of a folder and select which user and where (in which folder of the final user hierarchy) it should start to synchronize : no action on the final user client (mayba an approval ?)

August 2019

Anonymous

Verified Reviewer

Company Size: 2-10 employees

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

4.0

Value for money

5.0

Functionality

4.0

August 2019

A Solid Cloud Hosted Storage

Pros

It was an easy PHP web app to setup that is fairly extensible. It has a large selection of plugins that let you add basically all functionality you’ll need to parallel something like DropBox Enterprise. I have only used the self-hosted version, so I can only speak to that, but so far, it has been fairly stable, running on an 8core 12GB VM with Ubuntu 18.04 (past 6 months) and Ubuntu 14.04 (for the past 3-4 years). Given that it’s self-hosted though, you’ll get no official support, except from the community forums which have been friendly and helpful. The devs are also fairly active there, so you’ll get good answers. It maintains great integration with iOS and desktop devices (can’t speak for Android), and using it together with a SAML setup is quite a breeze. So far, it has scaled to about 150K small files and 1.5TB of storage. It’s built-in authentication system is also quite robust, with support for TOTP and FIDO 2FA via the plugin system. It also maintains solid integration to Collabora Online and OnlyOffice, allowing real-time document editing with multiple users and guests, which has come in handy quite a few times. Great software overall!

Cons

Can be a bit difficult to set up initially. You’ll need a solid understanding of SysAdmin basics to even get off the ground, since it’ll rely on you having a properly configured web server. You’ll also need to know how to properly secure both the installation, as well as the database Nextcloud runs on. A compromise to either of those points would cause a security issue.

August 2019

Greg from NWMichiganLand

Company Size: 1 employee

Industry: Real Estate

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Functionality

5.0

August 2019

An Unexpected Gem

I installed Owncloud about 4 years ago, and moved to Nextcloud after the fork. Originally it was kind of a lark-- I had low expectations. Almost immediately I discovered it was a service I use every day, and would never want to do without. Since the fork I've been amazed at the continuing updates which bring better functionality and new features. I'm a committed privacy advocate, and Nextcloud gives me file sharing, contacts, and calendar, in an easy to use interface, all on my own server. Nextcloud Talk, with which I can video conference with my family and business clients, is just icing on the cake. If you haven't tried it, you should, it works amazingly well.

Pros

I'm a big privacy advocate, so it is important to me to keep control of my own files, contacts, and calendar, away from the prying eyes of Google and their ilk. The ability to quickly create a password protected folder, and share it with any client or customer, with full read-write capability, is a feature I've come to depend on, on a daily basis.

Cons

I miss the ability to link my Google Drive and Dropbox storage but, honestly, I didn't use it that much anyway (privacy issues). Less of a big deal anyway, since I've now been able to upgrade my home internet service, and I can run a second version of Nextcloud on a Raspberry Pi at home, and Federate the connection to my main VPS. That means I can connect as much storage as I need. In the past I've had trouble with some of the updates, but that hasn't been an issue for more than a year. I guess I really have no complaints.

August 2019

Robert from Fraternal Order of Eagles 3389

Company Size: 2-10 employees

Industry: Philanthropy

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Functionality

5.0

August 2019

Next Cloud Over Time

Pros

We have been using Nextcloud from version 9 or so. It does what i says plus a lot more with little to no interaction from the administer (me). We host our own instance so we have it set up the way we want, and, "We know where our data is".

Cons

It is a bit tricky to be hosted in a shared host environment not having a great deal of access ie. sudo. We seem to manage though.

August 2019

Oliver from Information Technology and Services

Company Size: 1 employee

Industry: Information Technology and Services

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

5.0

August 2019

The Number One-Solution for your personal and private cloud!

It has been a great journey from the very beginning to the beta-status of Version 17 (currently in Beta 2). The solution worked out of the box and can be extended with many stable plugins so that there is anything you can dream of which can be implemented - even with writing an app on your own!

Pros

Nextcloud appeared from the vast ruins of ownCloud which I always liked, but always hassled with once there was an update. It was vital from the very beginning, it was more open, it was more stable - and everything you needed to get if up and running worked like a charm straight from the scratch. With each version there was not only an evolution, but a refinement of features, an open conversation with the community (something ownCloud really lacked of) and a visible progress. Besides, working and using Nextcloud is just wonderful.

Cons

Nothing that would be worth mentioning - indeed there are no negative aspects regarding my use case and the use case of my customers. It would be nice to get a fully-features IMAP-server integrated in Nextcloud, but this is a luxury issue ;) !

August 2019

Ben from Information Technology and Services

Company Size: 1 employee

Industry: Information Technology and Services

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

5.0

August 2019

Excellent Tool!

The sync workflow is seamless, and have nothing but great things to say about it, and the add-on plugins are excellent, and the ability to share files with customers and friends is most useful. It's excellent to be able to put aside tools like Dropbox and gain data freedom.

Pros

I like the ability for NC to seamlessly sync files between systems, allowing easy access to my files anywhere.

Cons

There are a few small features which would be really nice to have, such as automatic selective stub sync to workstations as OneDrive does, allowing you to have a dataset which appears local but only the used files are synced.

August 2019

Mark from Netstarter

Company Size: 1 employee

Industry: Information Technology and Services

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Value for money

5.0

Functionality

4.0

August 2019

The best out there

I use Nextcloud for syncing files. To have full control over who and where they are stored is crucial for me and my clients. I also use Nextcloud for its calendar and syncing

Pros

Open source Free Scalable Secure Versatile Expansible with apps

Cons

It is hard to convince people that they can have control over their digital files. Not really a con of Nextcloud, but more a problem with peoples attitude over software and big companies

August 2019

Andrew from EXPLOINSIGHTS Inc.

Company Size: 1 employee

Industry: Defense & Space

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

4.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

4.0

August 2019

Managing Confidential Data with Nextcloud for a Small Business

We manage data that has RESIDENCY requirements. We cannot use public cloud companies for data storage. Nextcloud solves that problem for us: we use it for all of our client and company data, and we have high confidence in our ability to keep confidential data PRIVATE. We share our data with customers using Nextcloud 2FA and this just works so well. We use the Nextcloud apps to replace the privacy-mining apps that our standard Android phones otherwise steal from us. Nextcloud rocks!

Pros

Robustness. It just WORKS, and it's layered approach to security (where you can add your own layers) gives it World Class security management for your data, if you go to the trouble of implementing it. Simple and intuitive for users and customers to navigate. Incredibly good file sharing capabilities, with 2FA so easy to implement you'd be crazy not to do it! File restore...for when things go wrong at the Users end. Ability to integrate third-party apps and services (Cryptomator, Mountain Duck, sftp file servers) to create a server so easy we WANT to use it (most are so hard to operate but require you to use it...making it less attractive and thus likely not used properly).

Cons

Updates are too frequent and sometimes break things that were not broken. Update cycle needs to be a lot slower OR old versions need to be kept running for longer. The update cycle is the thing we fear the most. Sometimes I do so hate engineers. But in fairness, Nextcloud offer subscription options that buy more stability - they just don't offer such options that are attractive for small businesses (sorry guys). Never blindingly fast (but fast enough to not frustrate anyone). Native E2E encryption has not worked well for us, but arguably that makes it BETTER as we now add our own layer: we use CRYPTOMATOR instead as it's vastly superior to any other cloud encryption software.

August 2019

Nick from Cognize LLC

Company Size: 1 employee

Industry: Marketing and Advertising

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

4.0

Value for money

5.0

Functionality

4.0

August 2019

NextCloud is a Productivity and Collaboration Powerhouse

NextCloud is an incredible piece of software and community of people. It allows you to replace replace big tech monsters like Dropbox, Google docs, Hangouts, and more by hosting NextCloud yourself. You are in complete control of your data.

Pros

Self-hosted, easy to install and manage, reliable functionality, quality mobile apps.

Cons

Not much! I wish more of the apps/plugins were usable in the mobile app. Sometimes I run across occasional sync conflicts with the desktop apps, which can be resolved, but it could be a smoother and more intuitive process to fix.

August 2019

Anonymous

Verified Reviewer

Company Size: 51-200 employees

Time Used: Less than 12 months

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Value for money

5.0

Functionality

5.0

August 2019

For those concerned with digital autonomy is a must

Pros

Apparently, Nextcloud does not offer any new or suprising feature: files synchronization and sharing with teams, calendar, contacts, tasks, videoconferences, collaborative document edition... However, not only does each and every of those aforementioned features (and more) within an integrated app and login, but it does so putting users' data and privacy on top. After all, Nextcloud is not a regular service but an opensource software that can be installed and run in your own server/nas and therefore, user has full control of their own data (and, yes, for those who do not want to tinker and manage the software, there are plenty of companies that offer Nextcloud as a service). Some features I like the most are: * File sync and sharing (of course) * Real-time document collaboration using LibreOffice * Calendars * Contacts * Mobile apps * Great community and ecosystem * It's free. It's FLOSS

Cons

It may seem as a simple clone of Google Services at first sight, even though their approach is totally different. While the software is free, the setup (server, management...) is not free. Some people may think of Nextcloud as a cheap replacement for Dropbox or Drive who may be disappointed if they want to do the move just for money, as it may not be as cheap as those services if they do not consider other reasons such as privacy concerns.

July 2018

Anonymous

Verified Reviewer

Company Size: 501-1,000 employees

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

3.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

1.0

Functionality

5.0

July 2018

A great solution for folks that want more control over their data.

Centralization of my files and documents, ease of management and use, and desktop/mobile clients for every platform that I use (Windows, Mac, iOS). Additionally, it's completely free and does all the things that I need it to do.

Pros

I've been using Nextcloud as a replacement for Google Drive and Google Docs for the last four or five years. It has a ton of really great apps that I can install that can replicate popular Google services. For instance, I can use the Nextcloud desktop and mobile sync clients to have Google Drive like functionality. I can install a calendar app that gives me Google Calender functionality. There are apps for tasks, documents, and e-mail that all work really well, and again, replicate that Google functionality that we've all come to be fans of. However, my favorite feature is the "News" app that lets me setup all of my RSS feeds and view them in a browser. Previously I had used Google Reader, but when Google shut down that product, it left me searching for a replacement. I tried several other options, but eventually stumbled onto Nextcloud. Initially I only wanted to use Nextcloud for the News app, but when I saw everything that it could do, I migrated away from Google entirely and now use my self hosted Nextcloud instance which gives me full control over my documents and files.

Cons

The biggest con for me with this application is it never upgrades properly. I use a third party hosting provider called Dreamhost, and whenever I attempt to do an automatic or manual upgrade to my Nextcloud instance, I end up breaking it and have to rebuild it from scratch. I don't know if this is due to something on my hosting provider's end, but every single time I've attempted to do an upgrade it has failed. Additionally, community support can sometimes be lacking. Since this is an open source product, you have to rely on a lot of forum posts and blog entries to find solutions to your problems. Sometiems that can be frustrating.

Response from Nextcloud

Replied October 2018

Dear user, Thank you for the review on Capterra! We're very glad you are happy with Nextcloud! Nextcloud upgrades should absolutely not give any issues - there must be a problem at Dreamhost if they do. In addition, we offer our customers stand-by support when doing upgrades to make sure even large installations upgrade smoothly. Our experienced team is extremely adept at identifying and fixing them quickly! If you want to get the most out of Nextcloud, consider a Nextcloud Subscriptions to benefit from our expertise and additional functionality like Outlook integration. The community forums are - well that, community forums, only really suitable for home users.

December 2020

Randy from Atlantic BT

Company Size: 11-50 employees

Industry: Computer Software

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

4.0

Value for money

5.0

Functionality

5.0

December 2020

A great option for customizable cloud storage and collaboration

I've been using NextCloud since it's initial release (I started with OwnCloud before it forked). I love that it is open source and I can set it up on my own server, which is exactly what I've done for both personal use and a non-profit I support. I've been using it in both of those roles for a couple of years now and have been very satisfied. I've even used hosted versions for personal use as well.

Pros

It gives me more flexibility than other cloud storage options in terms of defining different users and user access to different content. Also, the federated storage model is fantastic - I can use much more cost-effective, S3 compliant storage solutions than standard web server storage pricing.

Cons

A few of the user interface design choices are non-standard, such that new users don't always intuit how to use it; but there are only a few such issues.

December 2020

Maximilian from MMN Systems

Company Size: 2-10 employees

Industry: Computer Networking

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

4.0

Functionality

4.0

December 2020

A platform for almost every data

Nextcloud today is getting to be our centralized information storage, management and sharing plattform. The possibilities of collaboration are making many business processes easier and more efficient.

Pros

Nextcloud gives you a feature rich platform for data storage, organisation and sharing but also many integrations like an Elasticsearch or LDAP connector and many more. These integrations work flawlessly and the built-in apps like the E-Mail Client, an hosted Calender and even a Password Manager are now replacing many commercial apps we used before.

Cons

The installation of Nextcloud is at some points a little tricky and nothing for completely unexperienced users, but with basic knowledge in Linux and the LAMP Stack this should be no big deal. Some Apps like the "Passwords" app are missing some major Features like sharing a Folder of Passwords, but hopefully this will change soon.

August 2019

Tim from BwanaNet

Company Size: 2-10 employees

Industry: Computer Networking

Time Used: Less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Value for money

5.0

Functionality

5.0

August 2019

"Own your Bits" is more than just a motto...

From a simplistic view, having company reference material available on both laptop and mobile devices is key to our teams success. Nextcloud allows us to arrange the data in a way that fits our needs, not how the app wants it. Flexibility - Within hours of a users request, we can have a new "feature" implemented. As a simple example, one of our consultants suggested having field data (draft source, notes, pseudo code, proposed architectural designs, etc) available as they are generated in the field. With just a simple directory structure and defining the parent app, we now have real-time data from draft designs that allows early collaboration.

Pros

Free, open source, versatile. After years of paying for data sharing and collaboration tools, Nextcloud provides these (and more) features while allowing our company to "own" the files. The data never leaves our private network, which these days is more important than ever. For less than the cost of a one month subscription to our old plan, our company purchased all the hardware needed to stand-up a Nextcloud Server that we control. Sure, there are some small monthly costs associated with maintaining the server, archiving backups, and performing updates, but it's small in comparison to the security and reliability of keeping our data on site.

Cons

Although there's considerable documentation, we experienced a few quirks during installation and deployment. Some are likely a result of our specific system configuration, but overall these were small and with a little internet searching, were quickly resolved

Reasons for Switching to Nextcloud

As an experiment to lower both recurring monthly costs as well as developmental cost. Security of the data starting as a lower priority, but due to recent events worldwide, is now the top reason.

Displaying 1 - 50 of 360 reviews