All Nextcloud Reviews

1-25 of 436 Reviews

Sort by

Reviews are by default sorted by Recommended to software buyers, driven by our proprietary algorithm reflecting the depth and quality of the review, recency of experience, and other factors. As a neutral reviews platform, the star rating of the review is not considered in the "Recommended" ranking, and there is currently no voting mechanism that would allow site visitors to influence the ranking.

Randy

10,001+ employees

Used more than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra
This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

OVERALL RATING:

5

Reviewed January 2022

A great option for customizable cloud storage and collaboration

User Profile

Miłosz

Verified reviewer

Information Technology and Services, 501-1,000 employees

Used daily for less than 12 months

Review Source: Capterra

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

FUNCTIONALITY

5

Reviewed August 2019

Best open source software I ever worked with

Nextcloud allowed us to replace many other services from different providers, now we have almost everything in one place.

PROS

- simple to setup, configure, update and use - customizable - many apps and themes available - well documented - possible to connect with other services

CONS

- many features you expect to work by default are only available after installing 3rd party extensions - encryption can be difficult to setup - some features can be configured only from command line

Reason for choosing Nextcloud

Mostly because of community recommendations, it is also open source and seems to be actively developed, not only by its creators but also by volunteers. Now, after almost a year working with it, I am sure it was a good decision.

User Profile

Ana

Verified reviewer

Banking, 10,000+ employees

Used daily for less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra
This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

OVERALL RATING:

4

EASE OF USE

4

VALUE FOR MONEY

4

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

4

FUNCTIONALITY

4

Reviewed August 2022

You can create an online store on your server

Removal of inflated mail files due to attachments. Since sharing per folder unit is possible, it can be used as shared storage with business partners per project unit, and information can be shared in real-time. Information is frequently managed individually because users can be organized.

PROS

Although dependent on the rental server, the system is currently stable and is useful for pulling data and making backups. The build and setup require some skill, but if you can complete it, you can get a low cost and a high degree of freedom. When I was worried about large mail files on each PC, I discovered that I could send files by URL.

CONS

As for the abundance of add-ons and insufficient localization, it is a waste of treasure because it is not possible to expand functions without knowing how to use them. It is not as collaborative as OneDrive versus Microsoft Office or Google Drive versus Google Docs. Similar to Microsoft Office, I would like to have a system that enables multiple users to edit the same document simultaneously.

Reason for choosing Nextcloud

The user interfaces as cloud storage are excellent. And even customers who use it for file sharing can intuitively understand how to use it. can intuitively understand how to use it. It is good that the feel of the OneDrive-level operation can be realized. It is also good that the default functions, such as calendar and photo album, are included and can be used almost in the practical range. Because the calendar complies with industry standards, smartphones can sync with it.

Reasons for switching to Nextcloud

It is an open-source version of a system similar to Dropbox. It has a dedicated application that allows file sharing on Windows, Mac, Android, iPhone, and iPad. The same data is stored on each device and the behavior is similar to Dropbox, so it is easy to get used to. The problem of signing up for a paid plan due to lack of space on Dropbox or Google Drive has been solved.

Roland

Religious Institutions, 201-500 employees

Used daily for less than 12 months

Review Source: Capterra

OVERALL RATING:

3

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

3

FUNCTIONALITY

4

Reviewed February 2020

Easy to use collaboration tool

We use this as an Intranet solution in our church. The most important functions are booking of locals and for filesharing between groups. We also use PicoCMS for the internal communication of news in the organisation. It works as expected but there has been some resistance to change. We plan to set up social login which should facilitate the use. Setting up and keeping your own server is of course an obstacle. You need some computer and server knowledge to keep this running. We use an external VPS-provider for the production server and another for backup. A local NAS-server for testing. This costs us about 7 EUR/month.

PROS

Easy to add new users Easy to upload and download files Possibility to read and edit documents also in the phone Possibility to add blogg-pages for intranet with the PicoCMS app Calendar app works very well Sync with laptop and desktop using the desktop client

CONS

The e-mail app is rudimentary The coupling between Contacts and E-mail app is incomplete Creating and editing documents and adding photos is possible in the phone but a bit slow The risk for conflicting versions if using desktop client, but this may be soved in version 18 as you can locck the file while editing You sometimes need to specifically check that the files are synced, but this also happens to me with other sync solutions (like Box Sync) The calendar app cannot be "swiped" or "scrolled" to the next week or month in the webb-browser. But this works with other optional calendar apps.

Reason for choosing Nextcloud

As far as we could see G-suite and Office365 works best if all users are from one single organization and e-mail addresses from the same domain, whereas our users are individuals with private e-mail addresses from many different providers. We also found the setup and administration of Nexcloud very easy - adding users, setting up groups-folders, giving permissions, sharing files to external users, allowing upload and download to external users.

Reasons for switching to Nextcloud

Fronter was remaking their service so we needed to either reconstruct our service or change. We needed to set up a solution within a short time. Nextcloud was the only alternative to do that. And it has worked very well for almost a year now.

Vendor Response

Thank you a lot for this detailed review!

Replied March 2020

Anonymous

1 employee

Used daily for more than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

4

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

FUNCTIONALITY

3

Reviewed December 2019

Keep control on your data

At the beginning I was using it to store my online courses to have a centralized point to consult them. Progressively I used it to backup automatically my personal pictures from my phone, numerised official documents, to share documents with friends and family. Really no more use of dropbox or things like this now

PROS

This is quite easy to set up and administrate. Updates are very easy to install. Great overall functionnalities and good documentation Open source FTW

CONS

The client may need some upgrades and a better integration with desktop maybe ?

Reason for choosing Nextcloud

The real innovation and open source spirit were in Nextcloud

Reasons for switching to Nextcloud

no more real innovation, not really open source anymore

Anonymous

2-10 employees

Used daily for more than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

4

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

FUNCTIONALITY

4

Reviewed August 2019

A Solid Cloud Hosted Storage

PROS

It was an easy PHP web app to setup that is fairly extensible. It has a large selection of plugins that let you add basically all functionality you’ll need to parallel something like DropBox Enterprise. I have only used the self-hosted version, so I can only speak to that, but so far, it has been fairly stable, running on an 8core 12GB VM with Ubuntu 18.04 (past 6 months) and Ubuntu 14.04 (for the past 3-4 years). Given that it’s self-hosted though, you’ll get no official support, except from the community forums which have been friendly and helpful. The devs are also fairly active there, so you’ll get good answers. It maintains great integration with iOS and desktop devices (can’t speak for Android), and using it together with a SAML setup is quite a breeze. So far, it has scaled to about 150K small files and 1.5TB of storage. It’s built-in authentication system is also quite robust, with support for TOTP and FIDO 2FA via the plugin system. It also maintains solid integration to Collabora Online and OnlyOffice, allowing real-time document editing with multiple users and guests, which has come in handy quite a few times. Great software overall!

CONS

Can be a bit difficult to set up initially. You’ll need a solid understanding of SysAdmin basics to even get off the ground, since it’ll rely on you having a properly configured web server. You’ll also need to know how to properly secure both the installation, as well as the database Nextcloud runs on. A compromise to either of those points would cause a security issue.

Reason for choosing Nextcloud

I was more looking for a traditional Dropbox/Box/etc... alternative, than purely a file syncing system. Further, the Seafile app for iOS is garbage and given I’m primarily mobile-oriented, having a solid app is of great importance.

Reasons for switching to Nextcloud

Nextcloud was a fork from OwnCloud and after some drama regarding the direction that OwnCloud was taking their primary product, w.r.t. licensing and features, a switch to a fully open sourced product was warranted

User Profile

Adam

Verified reviewer

Computer Software, 10,000+ employees

Used daily for less than 12 months

Review Source: Capterra
This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

OVERALL RATING:

4

EASE OF USE

3

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

FUNCTIONALITY

5

Reviewed March 2021

Take back control of your data

I was skeptical of how well a self hosted cloud platform would work as well as how many features it would actually offer over simple file storage with a web interface, but I was genuinely impressed and excited about the possibilities it opened up and the features it offered.

PROS

Nextcloud offers, in my estimation, about 90% of what Google or other services offer. Cloud storage, document editing, note keeping, password and bookmark backups, collaboration via chat or video, and a ton more via the rich plugin market. The best thing is that it can be hosted on prem, so no worries about how your data is being used. It is definitely a best in class piece of software

CONS

I haven't found any functionality that is missing, however it was somewhat difficult/cumbersome to setup syncing to mobile devices for notes, calendars, contacts, etc... The mobile app for Android isn't the best and often 3rd party solutions were needed.

Reason for choosing Nextcloud

While the products are related and offer some cross compatibility, we were swayed by the open source philosophy and ethos of the Nextcloud community.

Reasons for switching to Nextcloud

Concerns over data and personal privacy as well as support and life span of Google products.

User Profile

Wilco

Verified reviewer

Marketing and Advertising, 2-10 employees

Used daily for less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra
This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

OVERALL RATING:

4

EASE OF USE

4

FUNCTIONALITY

5

Reviewed May 2020

Great self hosted cloud solution

It's a great piece of open source software with a ton of functionality. It is a great alternative to platforms like Google Drive or OneDrive.

PROS

NextCloud is very easy to set up and allows a great amount of customization. There are a ton of apps available to add to your configuration so you can set it up just the way that works for you. You can integrate Nextcloud login with your own website using OAuth. The customization is almost endless so you can set it up just how you like it.

CONS

The pricing can become complicated and quite expensive when using Nextcloud with some paid apps. Other than that I can't really complain about the functionality of the software, it has everything it should have.

Reasons for switching to Nextcloud

GDPR, control over hosted files because Nextcloud is self hosted.

Stefan

Verified reviewer

Information Technology and Services, 1 employee

Used daily for more than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

5

FUNCTIONALITY

5

Reviewed December 2019

Your own personal cloud under your control

PROS

The easy setup and use and the reliable synchronisation. It doesn't trip with millions of small files. It's also great that I got my data completely under my control without anyone else having any access to it.

CONS

The encryption does pose some issues sometimes and especially during upgrades. When using multiple machines that synchronize the same account NextCloud creates conflicted copies in folders that weren't changed in years. Large files are synchronized completely (for example Outlook PST) instead of just the changes.

Reasons for switching to Nextcloud

Too many unsolvable issues with operation, upgrades and backup / recovery.

User Profile

Kevin

Verified reviewer

Online Media, 2-10 employees

Used daily for less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

5

Reviewed February 2020

Great stack!

Great product that's useful to more than just business clients.

PROS

Clean and consistent interface with good integration due to lots of third party addons.

CONS

The installation process is disconnected between the CLI, and the "autoconfig.php", the supported features in the latter are far more capable despite the development focus on the former.

Reasons for switching to Nextcloud

More "open" development environment, and seemingly faster progress in areas that are more important to the general public rather than simply Enterprise clients.

Vendor Response

Thank you for your review! :)

Replied March 2020

User Profile

Romaric

Verified reviewer

Computer Software, 2-10 employees

Used weekly for less than 6 months

Review Source: Capterra
This review was submitted organically. No incentive was offered

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

5

FUNCTIONALITY

5

Reviewed November 2022

Nextcloud

The next cloud technology is very efficient with the oracle free tier program and it does help me in managing many things with hassles. I will advise you to purchase one of its pricing plans if you run a team and you'll like to provide a simple and easy collaboration workflow.

PROS

Next cloud is a better self-managed cloud storage alternative for small or independent businesses. It's quite easy to use and manage.I run a self-managed account on the oracle free tier ( with over 200 GB of SSD) and I haven't faced any issues with it so far. It offers a better storage capacity as compared to other cloud servers.The next cloud storage technologies help me to store and manage my business files and I'm very content with its quality of service and server download and upload speeds are very good.

CONS

Even though for self-managed tiers there is no premium support, however, It's still very great (if you are comfortable with coding and all other techy stuff)...

Reasons for switching to Nextcloud

the mega cloud storage technology works pretty well---however, I don't trust the company that much. I mean there is no convincing information about this company so far and sincerely, I don't really trust the mega cloud.

Nick

Marketing and Advertising, 1 employee

Used daily for more than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

4

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

FUNCTIONALITY

4

Reviewed August 2019

NextCloud is a Productivity and Collaboration Powerhouse

NextCloud is an incredible piece of software and community of people. It allows you to replace replace big tech monsters like Dropbox, Google docs, Hangouts, and more by hosting NextCloud yourself. You are in complete control of your data.

PROS

Self-hosted, easy to install and manage, reliable functionality, quality mobile apps.

CONS

Not much! I wish more of the apps/plugins were usable in the mobile app. Sometimes I run across occasional sync conflicts with the desktop apps, which can be resolved, but it could be a smoother and more intuitive process to fix.

Reason for choosing Nextcloud

Self-hosted, open source, data and privacy control, better features.

Reasons for switching to Nextcloud

Privacy, security, control, cost savings, better features.

Robert

Philanthropy, 2-10 employees

Used daily for more than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra

OVERALL RATING:

4

EASE OF USE

5

FUNCTIONALITY

5

Reviewed August 2019

Next Cloud Over Time

PROS

We have been using Nextcloud from version 9 or so. It does what i says plus a lot more with little to no interaction from the administer (me). We host our own instance so we have it set up the way we want, and, "We know where our data is".

CONS

It is a bit tricky to be hosted in a shared host environment not having a great deal of access ie. sudo. We seem to manage though.

Reason for choosing Nextcloud

ownCloud was the predecessor to Nextcloud.

Reasons for switching to Nextcloud

We were not crazy of the idea that should something happen at OneDrive we may not be able to retrieve our data easily. Also the chance of our OneDrive being compromised and perhaps not even knowing of it. No way to lock down our data.

Renaud

Civic & Social Organization, 2-10 employees

Used daily for more than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra

OVERALL RATING:

4

EASE OF USE

4

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

FUNCTIONALITY

4

Reviewed August 2019

Nextcloud does the job

Nextcloud allows us to collaborate with 150+ team members to build our organization's before we release it to our audience.

PROS

Multiple accounts / instances synchronization works seamlessly on different desktop OSes. Nextcloud manages document versions quite well and can restore documents that were mistakenly / accidentaly deleted on synced desktops.

CONS

It's sometimes hard to know why conflicting versions appear.

Reason for choosing Nextcloud

Nextcloud Features that Pydio lacks : Calendars & Contacts (& so much more)

Reasons for switching to Nextcloud

OC sync clients were unstable. Nextcloud has more features, evolves more rapidly, is favoured by FOSS community and providers.

Jeff

Computer Software, 1 employee

Used daily for more than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

4

FUNCTIONALITY

5

Reviewed December 2019

A completely free alternative to G Suite and Sharepoint/OneDrive

Providing cheap solution for hosting files to friends and family. Installing for professional customers.

PROS

Once installed, it just works. There are many plugins to expand functionality. More importantly, it is open-source.

CONS

It can be very intimidating to set up for non-technical customers. Also, no email server available.

Reason for choosing Nextcloud

Ultimately, it came down to costs and versatility. Nextcloud is completely free and had many great plugin options. Seafile is has a free community version, but lacks features which are important to me. Synology was another great candidate, but the lack of cost-efficient and powerful hardware made me look elsewhere.

Reasons for switching to Nextcloud

Looking to save costs

Steven

Internet, 1 employee

Used daily for more than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

4

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

FUNCTIONALITY

5

Reviewed January 2020

Great file sync and share offering

Nextcloud is awesome because it allows me to backup personal and financial information on my own storage system so that I am in control of the data. It also makes it easy to share that data between computers and users.

PROS

The software is easy to setup and keep up to date. It notifies you when new version are available and makes it easy to quickly install the updates. Creating user accounts is simple and allows different users to store their data on Nextcloud. Sharing between users is quick and painless and makes it easy for information to be made available to the people who need it.

CONS

Updating user clients can be a challenge some times but eventually I have been able to get them to work.

Reason for choosing Nextcloud

It allows for on premise file sync and share capabilities.

Reasons for switching to Nextcloud

Having full control of my own data makes it so I can be sure the data is being stored and archived correctly.

Vendor Response

We're happy to read such reviews! Thank you a lot for your feedback!

Replied February 2020

Pelle

Government Administration, 11-50 employees

Used daily for more than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra

OVERALL RATING:

4

EASE OF USE

4

FUNCTIONALITY

4

Reviewed December 2020

Nextcloud ås filé server, and more

What we used Nextcloud for is as a file server, server for sharing files with internal and external users, functions such as Deck, Flow, simultaneous editing of MS Office files with Onlyoffice and MS Office online. I have also recently started Talk with the signal server to be able to use as a chat and video solution.

PROS

Some of the things I like most are the ease of installing and configuring, the ease of managing and sharing files, the wide range of apps, the ability to integrate with other systems, the ability to change the code to suit us and the rapid pace of development.

CONS

I lack the support of virtual files in the sync client. To my knowledge, there is no info on what the bottleneck in the system is. It would have been good if there was a tool that could give an indication of choices in the system that are slow. Now I have tested myself to see which software or hardware has been too slow.

Reason for choosing Nextcloud

More features, much easier to manage for both administrators and users, more customizable.

Reasons for switching to Nextcloud

We lacked the ability to share documents, especially with external users. We also lacked the ability to edit Office documents at the same time.

Diggaj

Information Technology and Services, 2-10 employees

Used daily for less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra
This review was submitted organically. No incentive was offered

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

5

Reviewed March 2022

Best collaborative software I've used personally and for business

PROS

First and foremost, I like the Transparency. I am relieved to know that my data is owned by MYSELF and my data doesn't travel across the advertisement companies to profit Tech Giants. Secondly, I love the UI elements of the software of how easy it is to get things done inside the applications, how few clicks it is to require to do such and such task, everything right on my face and all the useful applications you can install within the "app store" kinda thing to boost productive. Then, things like Collabora, Nextcloud Talk, News, Announcement Center is what bounds me within the software. I don't have to use different applications to communicate with my colleagues, don't need different application to sync my files, don't need different application to reed my atom feeds, etc. You know where I'm going. Nextcloud is the complete set of application. It has indeed replaced Dropbox, Google Drive, Zoom, Google RSS Reader, and tons of other software from my life.

CONS

While I like most of the things around Nextcloud. I hope it gets better with UI/UX. Sometimes the UI can be very non-friendly, glitches here and there and not very sleek experience. But, overall I'm happy with what I have.

Reasons for switching to Nextcloud

Open Source. Privacy. Security. No-ads. Self Hosted Solution.

Mark

Information Technology and Services, 1 employee

Used daily for more than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

FUNCTIONALITY

4

Reviewed August 2019

The best out there

I use Nextcloud for syncing files. To have full control over who and where they are stored is crucial for me and my clients. I also use Nextcloud for its calendar and syncing

PROS

Open source Free Scalable Secure Versatile Expansible with apps

CONS

It is hard to convince people that they can have control over their digital files. Not really a con of Nextcloud, but more a problem with peoples attitude over software and big companies

Reason for choosing Nextcloud

The development of Nextcloud is much faster and the community behind it much larger.

Reasons for switching to Nextcloud

I want to have control over where my files are stored. And i don't like big companies like Google watching my files.

Maximilian

Computer Networking, 2-10 employees

Used daily for more than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

4

FUNCTIONALITY

4

Reviewed December 2020

A platform for almost every data

Nextcloud today is getting to be our centralized information storage, management and sharing plattform. The possibilities of collaboration are making many business processes easier and more efficient.

PROS

Nextcloud gives you a feature rich platform for data storage, organisation and sharing but also many integrations like an Elasticsearch or LDAP connector and many more. These integrations work flawlessly and the built-in apps like the E-Mail Client, an hosted Calender and even a Password Manager are now replacing many commercial apps we used before.

CONS

The installation of Nextcloud is at some points a little tricky and nothing for completely unexperienced users, but with basic knowledge in Linux and the LAMP Stack this should be no big deal. Some Apps like the "Passwords" app are missing some major Features like sharing a Folder of Passwords, but hopefully this will change soon.

Reasons for switching to Nextcloud

We made the switch because of expensive license costs with SharePoint and the more open Plattform with much more integration possibilities with Nextcloud.

Joe

Information Technology and Services, 11-50 employees

Used daily for more than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra

OVERALL RATING:

4

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

4

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

4

Reviewed December 2019

Fantastic Product.

Fantastic. I use it for communication, sharing, news, calendar, contacts, pretty much everything. I use this software every chance I get.

PROS

Mostly it's extensibility. I find the ability to extend and personalize Nextcloud for your purposes the most valuable thing about it. I use it as a central hub to work with many other features within the organization.

CONS

The cost of the paid versions of collabora office and nextcloud talk. I wish there was a tier for non-business users who what to simply set up a private service for their friends. The current price model puts these features out of reach for very small organizations or even for personal use. I also wish password reset emails, or other email from the server could be encrypted via pgp keys. There's a plug in to allow this I think but it's held up by a pending merge request.

Reason for choosing Nextcloud

Nextcloud is the more complete solution.

Reasons for switching to Nextcloud

I switched when Nextcloud forked from ownCloud because I viewed Nextcloud as the future of the project and where all the development would be happening.

Ryan

Information Technology and Services, 1 employee

Used daily for more than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra

OVERALL RATING: