All ownCloud Reviews

1-25 of 58 Reviews

Sort by

Reviews are by default sorted by Recommended to software buyers, driven by our proprietary algorithm reflecting the depth and quality of the review, recency of experience, and other factors. As a neutral reviews platform, the star rating of the review is not considered in the "Recommended" ranking, and there is currently no voting mechanism that would allow site visitors to influence the ranking.
User Profile

Mohammad

Verified reviewer

Civil Engineering, 51-200 employees

Used daily for less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra
This review was submitted organically. No incentive was offered

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

5

Reviewed January 2023

ownCloud is a robust utility for anyone looking to access & manage their own cloud storage

ownCloud is by far the best cloud solution I've tried for managing my data without any hindrances in terms of setup or drive configurations. The utility is silky-smooth across the entire interface & sharing data conveniently via link (with custom accessibility permissions) makes it the most versatile cloud software for fulfilling my productivity purposes.

PROS

ownCloud offers a state-of-the-art GUI to navigate, share & manage my data with ease on mobile & desktop. Setting up my 2TB NAS drive into ownCloud & configuring my partitions exclusively for work & personal use proved to be an unchallenging task. Ever since I've lost all my data due to internal SSD failure, it was second nature of me to perform daily backups of my computer to avoid such catastrophe. This utility suits my backup (& sharing) demands as it doesn't have to cost me a small fortune for annual or monthly subscription. Moreover, I'm really amazed by the upload speeds ownCloud can reach on my home 2.5 gigabit ethernet as it takes me mere seconds to upload some of my favourite movies or series for sharing & streaming.

CONS

The only gripe I have with ownCloud is the time it takes to create a new user on the web application. I doubt it's a network-related issue from my end as it's noticeable on both my office & home networks. Perhaps a future update will resolve the matter.

Reason for choosing ownCloud

ownCloud seemed to be the most reputable software recommended online when compared to other alternatives, & so I went with it.

Reasons for switching to ownCloud

I found ownCloud to be easier to setup & navigate through compared to the previous self-hosting solutions I've tried before. Another major reason for making the switch is the tremendous transfer rate improvement noticed when using ownCloud on my phone (Galaxy Note 20 Ultra).

Vendor Response

Hello Mohammad, Thank you so much for your detailed and kind review. We are absolutely delighted to hear that you find ownCloud useful and it fits your needs. Best regards, Team ownCloud

Replied January 2023

User Profile

Alson

Verified reviewer

Design, 2-10 employees

Used daily for more than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra
This review was submitted organically. No incentive was offered

OVERALL RATING:

4

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

FUNCTIONALITY

5

Reviewed April 2022

Cheap and Good Alternative to Dropbox

We have been using ownCloud as a Dropbox alternative for my company for years now. We find that owning our own data is better than leaving it on the cloud. Our installation is not accessible without VPN.

PROS

Open-source means lots of plugins and support for the software.

CONS

Not as well contributed lately as compared to NextCloud

Reason for choosing ownCloud

Nextcloud was a fork of ownCloud, so we decided to use the original software instead of the fork.

Reasons for switching to ownCloud

Open-source (free) and does the same things as we need from Dropbox.

Vendor Response

Dear Alson, Thanks a lot for your review. We are so happy to know that you find ownCloud convenient and affordable. The Enterprise version of ownCloud offers a host of extra features and support. Perhaps you would like a free trial? https://owncloud.com/get-started/ If you have any further feedback or questions, please feel free to get in touch with us at community@owncloud.com. We also welcome you to join our community.

Replied April 2022

Giovanni

Information Technology and Services, 10,000+ employees

Used daily for more than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra
This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

OVERALL RATING:

3

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

2

FUNCTIONALITY

3

Reviewed November 2021

Good file share and collaboration platform

installation instruction are quite good. But you need some expertise to setup several configuration like secure access. Great point. it is completely free and work really well

PROS

The main pro is that this platform is open, the cons is that you need to have good skill to deploy it and configure. Globally most of the feature work really well like the cloud storage, that has a really good access through web, client and mobile app. Nice also the feature to integrate your mail, calendar, food task manager. Integrated editor for document is quite difficult to install. Beware cause you need to have a good machine where to install, with enough resource to make the service reliable

CONS

Owncloud has become a minor stream of this project. Mostly Nextcloud is the new evolution with more update and feature.

Reason for choosing ownCloud

Owncloud has been my first choice untill I have discovered that Nextcloud has a new branch of featured and update development

Vendor Response

Dear Giovanni, Thank you so much for your review! It's great to hear that you found many features of ownCloud to be useful. If you ever face any issues while using ownCloud or need assistance, you are welcome to discuss it in our forum (https://central.owncloud.org/) and submit notifications regarding bugs in GitHub. If you have any questions or further feedback, feel free to contact us at: community@owncloud.com

Replied April 2022

Eric

Computer Software, 2-10 employees

Used daily for more than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra
This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

3

FUNCTIONALITY

5

Reviewed December 2020

OwnCloud instead of DropBox

Besides being a "better DropBox", OwnCloud has the ability to use plugins. It has a MarketPlace where you can search for various types of plugins. Most of the plugins are free too.

PROS

OwnCloud is wonderful. It runs on your own server so the only limitations to the amount of storage space you have is the amount of disk space on your server. You can create public links with or without password protection, and you can schedule the link to automatically deactivate. You can have as many synchronized folders as you want (not just one like DropBox). You can share each of these folders with different people or groups, and you have full control over the type of access: read only, write only (drop box), or read/write. Best of all, OwnCloud is an open-source product and it's all absolutely free.

CONS

OwnCloud has an automatic update feature but I've had it fail more times than I've had it succeed. It's not all that hard to upgrade manually, but an automatic update would be much much nicer.

Reason for choosing ownCloud

Nextcloud is a spin-off from OwnCloud. While I like the fact that Nextcloud is less commercialized than OwnCloud, it wasn't as stable as OwnCloud, at least a few years back when we were making our decision.

Reasons for switching to ownCloud

We have a LOT of disk space on our server. And hard drives, even multi-terabyte drives, are relatively cheap... much cheaper than paying for DropBox space. We also wanted to have the file-sharing site branded with our own domain name, emsquared-inc.com. Some of the files we share are sensitive in nature and we didn't want to give custody to any intermediary services.

Roberto

Information Technology and Services, 1 employee

Used daily for less than 12 months

Review Source: Capterra
This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

FUNCTIONALITY

5

Reviewed October 2019

Great platform with a divided community

The software is great. It does its job and it does it perfect.

PROS

It's great to have autonomy on your cloud. You can get file storage that adapts to your very own infrastructure, plus it has a lot of plugins to interact with your data.

CONS

At some point the community divided and the product was forked, which left the people that uses it with two choices.

Reason for choosing ownCloud

It runs on my own infrastructure.

Reasons for switching to ownCloud

I switched to another product. (Nextcloud). I didn't know which version of the software would get more track from the community and I had to bet on the other. My preference was due my perception of where the community would go, which is important in a community driven software.

Jennifer

Internet, 11-50 employees

Used daily for less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra
This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

OVERALL RATING:

3

EASE OF USE

3

FUNCTIONALITY

3

Reviewed November 2021

Great option for collaboration

My experience was good. It is easy to organize files, share certain files with certain people and keep confidential files confidential. The easy drag and drop features allows for document migration to happen quite quickly. I also love that I can access files anywhere.

PROS

This software is great for office sharing and collaboration. Considering we have remote employees, I can upload a document and they instantly have access to it. It also does not take up a ton of bandwidth space like Dropbox is known for.

CONS

There were some features that it did not have that we wanted.

Reason for choosing ownCloud

We liked most of the features that it offered.

Reasons for switching to ownCloud

Dropbox is a bandwidth hog when it comes to back ups. OwnCloud does not.

Vendor Response

Dear Jennifer, Thank you so much for your review! It's great to hear that you found many features of ownCloud to be useful. The satisfaction of our users is our biggest achievement. If you have any questions or further feedback, feel free to contact us at: community@owncloud.com

Replied April 2022

Anonymous

1 employee

Used daily for more than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra
This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

OVERALL RATING:

4

EASE OF USE

4

FUNCTIONALITY

4

Reviewed January 2020

ownCloud or Nextcloud

PROS

It's great to have your storage in house. The piece of mind that you know where your data is at all times is important, but also, nothing beats local for speed. The clients (I use Windows, Linux and Android clients) make it super easy to sync across different devices - set up once and forget about it!

CONS

I've been going back and forth between ownCloud and Nextcloud (an ownCloud fork) for a couple of years. Started out with ownCloud, switched to Nextcloud, then found out that ownCloud development had caught up and then some, and switched back. Luckily switching is easy but ideally, you want the best of both.

User Profile

Abdelkadir

Verified reviewer

Education Management, 51-200 employees

Used daily for less than 12 months

Review Source: Capterra
This review was submitted organically. No incentive was offered

OVERALL RATING:

4

EASE OF USE

4

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

3

FUNCTIONALITY

5

Reviewed February 2022

OwnCloud honest review

We often have to send large files to our students This process has always been difficult, and we've tried a variety of approaches throughout the years. None has proven as user-friendly and dependable as ownCloud. It has made my life much easier.

PROS

I believe that ownCloud is one of the greatest products for securely sharing files,  the software is accessible from all major platforms. It's simple to set up and easy to access and find my stored materials.

CONS

- Time-consuming to set up - Low storage capacity - Performance issues and bugs

Vendor Response

Dear Abdelkadir B., Thank you very much for your review! With regards to the setting up of ownCloud and your experience of it being time-consuming, this is something we are continuously improving. You mention some bugs and issues: our product is open source and we therefore rely on getting feedback from the community: we highly appreciate it when users report any bugs to us via GitHub! Feel free to visit our community section on our website for information on how you can contribute feedback or reach out to us directly. Best Regards, Katrin Giza Community Manager, E-Mail: community@ownCloud.com

Replied March 2022

Anonymous

51-200 employees

Used daily for less than 12 months

Review Source: Capterra
This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

OVERALL RATING:

4

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

FUNCTIONALITY

4

Reviewed April 2019

So Cool!

Great software and a great idea for anyone who wants their own self-hosted cloud storage. No sharing, and you keep full control over your data. What's not to love?

PROS

OwnCloud is seriously cool. I used it for a few years on my personal server, making use of that storage for my cloud hosting. It was surprisingly easy-to-install, no hiccups or weird configuration problems with my server (I had it running on BlueHost), and the user interface was straightforward and easy to use. I didn't purchase the smartphone app, although that would have been really cool to try out.

CONS

The software is available at no charge, so it's silly to complain, but I would have liked the interface to be a bit less sterile looking. I imagine the paid platform probably targets enterprises that want on-premise, self-hosted solutions and don't care about having a fun and attractive UI, and to be fair, ownClouds UI is super clean and it is appealing, but it would have been nice if it was just a little less "Microsoftey." That's a pretty minimal complaint though.

Bodounrin Joël

Design, 2-10 employees

Used daily for less than 6 months

Review Source: Capterra
This review was submitted organically. No incentive was offered

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

4

FUNCTIONALITY

4

Reviewed September 2023

Wais-Benin

The software is not bad, it is good and it is recommended for data transfers even from any browser of your choice. It's just the level of storage that needs to be reviewed

PROS

It is a good software because it allows me to transfer audio, visual or other file data to my customers, partners and friends. In addition, it's still fast.

CONS

The least appreciated aspect of owncloud software is the weakness of the platform when storing a lot of data

Jose Alfredo

Telecommunications, 11-50 employees

Used weekly for more than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra
This review was submitted organically. No incentive was offered

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

5

Reviewed May 2023

Sincronización de archivos efectiva y almacenamiento seguro de nuestra documentación en nube.

PROS

La sincronización real online que realiza, el cifrado seguro que ofrece punto a punto entre usuarios que comparten información sea por intranet o la red de internet.

CONS

La instalación muy delicada y morosa para https.

Vendor Response

Hello! Thank you for your review. We really appreciate that you are using ownCloud. May I add, if you haven't done so already, do check out Infinite Scale (https://owncloud.com/infinite-scale-4-0), the latest and most advanced version of our real-time collaboration platform yet. It is packed with new features and enhancements. Best regards, Team ownCloud

Replied October 2023

Anonymous

11-50 employees

Used daily for more than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra
This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

OVERALL RATING:

4

EASE OF USE

3

VALUE FOR MONEY

4

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

5

Reviewed December 2022

Owncloud: ogni tuo desiderio è un link

Per la totalità delle funzioni comunque mi sento di consigliarlo, è un ottimo prodotto sopratutto per un utilizzo professionale fra professionista e clienti, in cui la condivisione del materiale spesso e volentieri dev'essere immediata e giornaliera.

PROS

Il suo punto forte sono assolutamente i link personalizzabili da poter inoltrare esternamente: posso creare una cartella e passare un link ad un soggetto esterno per far sì che lui possa vedere o scaricare o modificare tali file - a differenza dell'autorizzazione che gli stiamo dando - senza far sì che 1. lui abbia scaricato il programma 2. che lui abbia l'accesso a tutto il percorso per arrivare a quella singola cartella, bensì gli posso rendere disponibile solamente una parte isolata, e questa è una funzione davvero ben progettata!

CONS

Alle volte ci sono dei problemi si sincronizzazione fra l'Owncloud online e sul server del proprio pc. Quasi sempre no, ma basta che capiti una volta per non capirci più niente.Infine, l'interfaccia dell'Owncloud online è totalmente da rivedere, molto lenta e ormai vecchia.

Vendor Response

Hi there! Thank you for your kind review. We are delighted to hear that you are finding ownCloud useful. We will be sure to pass on your concern regarding the online interface to the relevant team. Regards, Team ownCloud

Replied January 2023

Tim

Information Technology and Services, 11-50 employees

Used daily for more than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra
This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

OVERALL RATING:

4

EASE OF USE

3

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

2

FUNCTIONALITY

4

Reviewed July 2022

As inexpensive as Cloud sync can get

PROS

Ceding control of your files to cloud service providers does not fit every situation and own cloud solves this. Especially when you then have to share the items, the custom link based of our domain was a nice feature.

CONS

Technical ability is mostly required to setup and your system and to update. Auto update is a pain and mostly pushes one to manual process.

Reason for choosing ownCloud

Inexpensive and stable existence.

Reasons for switching to ownCloud

Own cloud seems to have existed longer

Vendor Response

Hi Tim, Thank you so much for your response. We are glad that you found ownCloud features useful. As for the technical aspect of ownCloud, it is going to get much better and easier with the launch of Infinite Scale - so stay tuned! In the meantime, you are also welcome to sign up for a free trial instance of Infinite Scale beta. Best regards, Team ownCloud

Replied August 2022

Telmo

Computer Software, 2-10 employees

Used daily for more than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra
This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

OVERALL RATING:

4

EASE OF USE

4

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

3

FUNCTIONALITY

4

Reviewed January 2023

A sua pórpria Cloud

Continua a ser uma cloud que podemos personalizar com a nossa imagem e dar ao cliente a possibilidade de usar a aplicação no seu windows/mac assim como no seu telemóvel android ou Iphone.

PROS

A facilidade de criar contas e personalizar acessos para cada cliente

CONS

Temos tido alguns problemas com a usabilidade em browsers.

Reason for choosing ownCloud

Personalizavel

Reasons for switching to ownCloud

Preço mais económico e possibilidade de tornar a imagem adatada à empresa

Vendor Response

Hello there! Thank you so much for your kind review. We are delighted to hear that you are finding ownCloud to be useful and fitted to your need. Best regards, Team ownCloud

Replied January 2023

John Paolo

Telecommunications, 201-500 employees

Used daily for more than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra
This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

5

Reviewed August 2020

Best alternative for Dropbox

We're very satisfied with OwnCloud considering the price we pay for it. We're not considering to move out of it in the next coming years.

PROS

We've switched from DropBox due to one feature it miss which is on-prem support. We use OwnCloud in an on-premise deployment method and now we're more comfortable that our files are more secured unlike before. Also OwnCloud supports server-side encryption as well

CONS

It doesn't have any support for file locking. Lack of ability to detect duplicate changes on the same file by 2 different users.

Reasons for switching to ownCloud

Cost

User Profile

Octavi

Verified reviewer

Research, 1,001-5,000 employees

Used daily for more than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra
This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

1

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

1

FUNCTIONALITY

5

Reviewed August 2018

Free cloud DIY

Having the capacity to get to every one of my documents from anyplace is incredible. I have a few terabytes of documents on my server, more than I would ever store with any of the cloud suppliers out there, in any event not at a sensible cost. When it is set up and designed it is entirely strong and does the activity I require it to do.

PROS

It has phenomenal capacities which encourages me keep my work all together, with my associates, I can synchronize every one of the records on various PCs, it's super sheltered since I can encode the documents, has online music peruser, online content tool, watcher of online archives (PDF, OpenDocument), among numerous different capacities.

CONS

The confounded method to coordinate different advances like FTP. The documentation for the execution of different techniques like FTP is somewhat confounded in comparisson with different instructional exercises.

Anonymous

2-10 employees

Used daily for more than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra
This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

4

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

4

FUNCTIONALITY

4

Reviewed April 2022

Plattformübergreifende Benutzung

Möglichkeit des einfachen Dateiuploads durch Mandanten

PROS

Sehr gute Dateifreigabe an Externe User. Top Kalenderfunktion.

CONS

Zu bearbeitende Dokumente müssen immer downgeloadet werden, wenn man an einem Gerät arbeitet ohne Clientsoftware.

Reason for choosing ownCloud

Integration in bestehende Systeme und Preisgestaltung

Vendor Response

Hello! Thanks a lot for your review. We are so happy to know that you find our ownCloud features convenient to use. With the integration for Office 365 Desktop, you can open a file from the ownCloud Web interface directly in Office 365 securely without downloading. Read more about it here: https://owncloud.com/owncloud-and-microsoft/ If you have any further feedback or questions, please feel free to get in touch with us at community@owncloud.com. We also welcome you to join our community.

Replied April 2022

Arnaud

Oil & Energy, 5,001-10,000 employees

Used daily for more than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra
This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

OVERALL RATING:

4

EASE OF USE

5

FUNCTIONALITY

3

Reviewed December 2020

Secured sharing platform

Multi-language is supported on the web interface but is not available on the desktop client as far as I know.

PROS

Synchronization of local documents with the online web platform is automatic, very efficient and fast. You can manage rights on your shared folders. You can be notified by mail when someone change a file on a shared folder. You can send a download link to an external user with a validity limit. OwnCloud is a WebDAV server, so files can be opened thru a web url in Microsoft products and other tools. You can have your own OwnCloud server on-premises. SSO authentication and Custom branding make a great integration with internal tools.

CONS

The solution is not optimized for very big files.

Anonymous

11-50 employees

Used weekly for less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra
This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

5

FUNCTIONALITY

5

Reviewed September 2018

Easy file sharing

We frequently have to share very large files (zip files, videos, etc.) with our clients for their approvals. This process was always complicated and we employed a number of solutions over the years. None has been as easy to use and as reliable as ownCloud. It has literally made my life easier. I am able to organize files into folders with separate passwords and urls allowing me to share only what is needed to specific people. I know that my clients will be able to access and download what they need, when they need it. That gives me great piece of mind.

PROS

This software makes it very easy and RELIABLE to share files with our clients and others. It offers a very easy to use interface and has NEVER failed to upload or download. Prior to getting this tool, we struggled with method for sharing (especially large) files with our clients. Once our IT dept got a hold of ownCloud and customized it for our use, my life got measurably easier.

CONS

The only issue I have ever had with it is when I was surprised by a site expiring. Now, I know it was my fault to set a date and then forget it...but it would be nice to receive a notice when an expiration date is nearing. I have learned how to manage that better, but would still appreciate a notification.

moncef

Photography, 1 employee

Used daily for less than 12 months

Review Source: Capterra
This review was submitted organically. No incentive was offered

OVERALL RATING: