User Reviews Overview

Feature Ratings

Ease-of-use

4.5 / 5

Value for Money

4.5 / 5

Customer Support

4.0 / 5

Functionality

4.0 / 5

Ratings Breakdown

5 stars

(10)

10

4 stars

(4)

4

3 stars

(0)

0

2 stars

(0)

0

1 stars

(1)

1

  • Pros

  • "Ease of use, reliability are fantastic. So much simpler to use than windows FTP or some of the other competitors"

  • "This software was very easy to install and start providing a great solution for basic managed file transfers."

  • "Serv-U FTP is comprehensive and easy to use. Also very affordable for our company."

  • Cons

  • "Could be cheaper. But then again - good software costs. This is my go-to application for FTP."

  • "Honestly, since we've implemented a few months ago we have yet to run into anything we don't like."

  • "The tool suffers from some slowness in certain conditions, also the GUI does no always provides interactive transition and proper logging capabilities."

Browse Serv-U MFT Reviews

Filter by:

Sort by:
 

Showing -49 - -35 of 15 results

April 2019

Kurt from Northern Light Health

Verified Reviewer

Company Size: 10,000+ employees

Industry: Hospital & Health Care

Time Used: Less than 12 months

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

4.0

Functionality

5.0

April 2019

A great, full featured FTP/SFTP platform

Solid offering from Solarwinds!

Pros

Very robust platform with all the expected bells and whistles of a FTP server. Easy setup providing a number of different setup options (DMZ, Proxy, etc). Intuitive management console.

Cons

Honestly, since we've implemented a few months ago we have yet to run into anything we don't like.

December 2017

Anonymous

Verified Reviewer

Company Size: 501-1,000 employees

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

4.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

4.0

Functionality

5.0

December 2017

Excellent FTP/SFTP/HTTPS file transfer server software that is Enterprise ready.

Excellent Enterprise-Ready File Transfer Server software. If you keep up with the new releases; you should be able to minimize any major security threats.

Pros

We really like the multiprotocol support including SFTP w/ SSH Key and/or Password Authentication, FTP (if you're stuck in the past) and HTTP/HTTPS is good for those users that can't figure out how to run a File Transfer Client on their machine. We utilize the database backend functionality to store our user authentication so multiple servers can share it. I've used Serv-U for > 15 years. It's my favorite Solarwinds product purchase; though we bought it from RhinoSoft back in the day.

Cons

Long ago, they didn't have a good automated user creation system for the database backend. We brewed our own solution using some guidelines they mentioned. I haven't looked to see if that has improved over the last 12 years or so. I'd also like to see a tool that can find individual or groups of full session logs related to a search string (user, or filename/directory). I brewed my own version of that as well. Perhaps they have something. The Solarwinds support site/community is tough to navigate; so it's hard to know what accompanying tools are available.

December 2017

Greg from Macro Helix

Company Size: 201-500 employees

Industry: Hospital & Health Care

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

2.0

Value for money

1.0

Customer support

1.0

Functionality

1.0

December 2017

They have the worst support i've ever experienced in my 15 years of IT.

None

Pros

Serv-U FTP is an after thought for SolarWinds if you call there support it in the other category in there list of products and its displayed in the support that they provide. They will submit your support tickets to there development team then you'll never get an update I have a critical support case that has been open for six months with no responds. I reached out to them 3 times a week no updates. Due to the lack of responds we had to migrate to GoAnyWhere MFT. Please know that im not ranting but im so frustrated with Serv-U FTP support or lack there of.

Cons

Please don't wast your time with Serv-U FTP, to get support from them i had to reach out to product management via linkedin because the normal path for support was not providing me with any answers. six months we had a ticket open with no answers, six months. If anyone from serv-u would like to discuss please reach-out to me

Response from SolarWinds

Replied January 2018

Hello Mr. Philips, We appreciate you taking the time to share your opinion. We¿re sorry to hear about your experience in reaching our support team. We serve thousands of customers and we always strive to create the best possible experience for our community of IT professionals. Our Product Management Team is reviewing your case and will reach out to you shortly. You are also more than welcome to contact us via: https://support.solarwinds.com/Success_Center Sincerely, SolarWinds

December 2017

Anonymous

Verified Reviewer

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

4.0

December 2017

Serv-U FTP allows us to host our FTP server with basic features that satisfies our requirements.

For a low-volume user, I get all the features I need without a big price tag! With Serv-U FTP, I can host my own FTP server for my frequent clients, and receive large image files from my them, eliminating a few steps that frustrate me when users send images via DropBox or We Transfer.

Pros

It is easy to set up user accounts, and allow users to access only the folders that I specify. I also appreciate the icon in the task bar that changes its look to indicate when users are connected, and when files are being uploaded or downloaded -- a very helpful indicator that is always visible on screen, avoiding the need to open the management console. That's a time saver! Note: I received compensation for my honest review. All thoughts and opinions expressed herein are my own and not influenced by the developing company and/or its affiliates in any way.

Cons

Support for this version of Serv-U is technically available only through email. However, the support team has called me back several times to work through some issues that needed extra attention -- much appreciated!!!

December 2017

William from McCoy Ltd

Verified Reviewer

Company Size: 51-200 employees

Industry: Printing

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

5.0

December 2017

The Serv-U ftp is a solid part of the company I work for. We/our clients use it daily.

Pros

The ftp is easy to setup and use. We hardly ever restart the pc that it resides on, it is very stable. Most of our clients do not have any issues connecting to the ftp. I received compensation for my honest review. All thoughts and opinions expressed herein are my own and not influenced by the developing company and/or its affiliates in any way.

Cons

The only issue I have ever had with the ftp is the blocked ip listing was extremely large. This caused the ftp to start acting odd and blocking approved clients. Once the list was cleaned up and reduced in size the ftp has been stable again.

December 2017

Richard from Pacific Publishing Company, Inc.

Company Size: 11-50 employees

Industry: Newspapers

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

4.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

4.0

December 2017

One of the best software purchases we have made

Eat setup and administration. It allows our 200+ customers (we are newspaper printers and publishers), to quickly send their page files to us for printing.

Pros

Very easy to set up, we run over 220 accounts on a single domain, with very few problems. We receive files from our customers 24/7 and rarely lose anything. The ability to login from desktops, laptops, Macs, PCs, Tablets and even smartphones has impressed or customer base. We have found it easy to setup and administer, and it serves or purposes very well.

May 2018

Gilad from CheckPoint

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

4.0

Value for money

3.0

Functionality

5.0

May 2018

Establishing private FTP server to work along with scripts and automated testing

Pros

A near perfect FTP server for most of the basic users, can provide end to end solution using most of the required features providing nice GUI, seems to be RFC compliant.

Cons

The tool suffers from some slowness in certain conditions, also the GUI does no always provides interactive transition and proper logging capabilities.

December 2017

Anonymous

Verified Reviewer

Company Size: 201-500 employees

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

4.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

5.0

December 2017

We use this in our production and test environments. Fast and simple to use!

Pros

Ease of use, reliability are fantastic. So much simpler to use than windows FTP or some of the other competitors

Cons

Could be cheaper. But then again - good software costs. This is my go-to application for FTP.

August 2019

Cheryl from Northern Light Health

Company Size: 10,000+ employees

Industry: Hospital & Health Care

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

5.0

August 2019

Serv-U FTP Review

Pros

Serv-U FTP is comprehensive and easy to use. Also very affordable for our company.

Cons

Nothing I can think of-it meets all of our needs.

February 2019

Anonymous

Verified Reviewer

Company Size: 51-200 employees

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

4.0

Functionality

4.0

February 2019

Great feature set for the price

We switch from WSFTP Server as we needed an option to run some more advanced batch files and notifications. This provided exactly what we wanted with a much lower price point than the others we looked at.

Pros

This software was very easy to install and start providing a great solution for basic managed file transfers.

Cons

This product can be difficult to configure if you are working with a highly available configuration and multiple hosts and the ports become confusing with the Gateways in the middle.

February 2019

Raun from DWL Architects

Company Size: 51-200 employees

Industry: Architecture & Planning

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

4.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

4.0

February 2019

FTP and SFTP and a great value

Considering it has never crashed and the management side is not crazy. Its a win for me and my company.

Pros

They say on prem is out. I think not. I have been running this software for about 10 years and it just works. Setup is pretty easy. I have only had to take it offline for updates. Never has crashed. 90 percent of the calls I get with users having issues it's on there end. Has a nice File Share feature you can setup.

Cons

The interface can be a little more updated but this is just appearance. Haven't found anything really wrong.

December 2017

Jarrod from Symplr

Time Used: Less than 6 months

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

4.0

Value for money

3.0

Customer support

3.0

Functionality

3.0

December 2017

Product works as expected, support and design documentation could be better

Pros

Serv-U-FTP is cost effective and scales well in both designs. Good authentication and logging options. I received compensation for my honest review. All thoughts and opinions expressed herein are my own and not influenced by the developing company and/or its affiliates in any way.

Cons

Serv-U-FTP has poor design and implementation documentation, lack of fine tuning options for many things.

October 2018

Anonymous

Verified Reviewer

Company Size: 51-200 employees

Time Used: Less than 12 months

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Value for money

4.0

Customer support

3.0

Functionality

4.0

October 2018

Serv-U is secure

Pros

It is a very secure file transfer program. We use this to exchange sensitive information to and from clients. Our users like it. It's possible to do AD integration so that's a huge plus for us since we don't have to set up everyone as a user.

Cons

I have no complaints with this software. It is secure and fits our needs.

December 2017

Guman from Consumer Goods

Company Size: 5,001-10,000 employees

Industry: Health, Wellness and Fitness

Time Used: Free Trial

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

4.0

Value for money

4.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

4.0

December 2017

I am a Network engineer that deels with routing , switching anf firewalling . also with Solarwinds

Pros

Its very secure in terms on encryption and file transfer protocol. It can aslo be integrate with LDAP or AD account.

Cons

Some times its very complecated to integrate with LDAP and lots of time file transfer session time out automatically.

August 2019

Justin from Northern Light Health

Company Size: 10,000+ employees

Industry: Hospital & Health Care

Time Used: Less than 6 months

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

4.0

Functionality

3.0

August 2019

Does what we need it to

Needed to replace unsupported SFTP server and this fit the bill for the right price.

Pros

Good event logging options, simple setup.

Cons

No file watcher feature for automation, awkward AD integration.