User Reviews Overview

Feature Ratings

Ease-of-use

4.0 / 5

Value for Money

4.0 / 5

Customer Support

4.0 / 5

Functionality

4.0 / 5

Ratings Breakdown

5 stars

(22)

22

4 stars

(16)

16

3 stars

(1)

1

2 stars

(0)

0

1 stars

(3)

3

  • Pros

  • "It is very easy to use. Seamless integration with our software."

  • "very easy to setup and configure for everything "

  • "The software is really easy to use and we have not had any issues in over a year."

  • Cons

  • "The software provides us with what we need. If could improve something, it would be the interface. It's easy to navigate but needs a revamp to make it look more up to date. "

  • "We really have not had any issues at all. The only thing I have noticed is that sometimes my login will expire when downloading a large file and so I have to start over."

  • "I would like to see a better API that is also better documented."

Browse SmartFile Reviews

Filter by:

Sort by:
 

Showing -49 - -8 of 42 results

February 2019

Jesse Paul from FreshSpoke

Verified Reviewer

Company Size: 2-10 employees

Industry: Marketing and Advertising

Time Used: Less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Value for money

4.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

5.0

February 2019

Quality FTP for your Business

Pros

I really enjoyed almost every feature provided by SmartFile, including the easy to use interface that can be customized to emulate brand look and feel and the ability to create a hub for my clients to use.

Cons

The only piece that I didn't appreciate was the price. My business is fairly small so the costs can quickly add up but I know SmartFile is the best solution for my business and clients and that is whay matters most.

January 2019

Zach from SDC Publications

Verified Reviewer

Company Size: 2-10 employees

Industry: Publishing

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

3.0

Value for money

4.0

Customer support

4.0

Functionality

4.0

January 2019

Overall really good but room for improvement

Pros

This is a great out of the box solution. It was fairly easy to set up. Nothing difficult to administer. Overall, this is exactly what we needed and I'm very glad we use SmartFile.

Cons

There are so many little things that are easy fixes that would make the experience much more pleasant. I don't have a problem uploading files (i use it nearly every day) but a lot of the people on our team that use SmartFile struggle with certain things. Little things like having to click upload and then dragging and dropping in the the drop zone (that doesn't highlight when you drag a file over it) and then submit. People understand a file system. I would suggest imitating more of the features of a file system, at least for drag and drop. Sorting files takes several steps. It would be nice it this was faster. Uploading and downloading can be painfully slow at times. And no, its not our internet. Its you. We have a dedicated 1Gb download and upload line. Uploading and downloading from other servers are consistently faster. We upload to S3 every day and its always ten times faster. When we are transferring small files this isn't an issue. When we transfer a huge files. It becomes an issue. I really like the activities feed. Its very helpful for reviewing activity on our account. The activity feed works great some times but fails to load at other time or is incredibly slow. Make this just work. Along the same lines, the notifications are extremely helpful but delayed too long. I have a lot of team members who ask me to switch to dropbox. They have various reasons, not all legitimate, but some are. Look at their UI. Look at what they are doing. Its really easy to use.

February 2019

Justin from Alliance Collection Agencies

Verified Reviewer

Company Size: 51-200 employees

Industry: Financial Services

Time Used: Less than 12 months

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

2.0

Functionality

3.0

February 2019

Has potential but need some flushing out of features

We eventually ended up abandoning the product due to other options in the file sharing space providing the needed features and storage requirements. At the time we stopped using the product many of the features were advertised but "coming soon" I do not know if this was the case but the cost of the solution overall with the limited capabilities was an issue that required us to look into other companies for our needs.

Pros

The interface for user management was easy to use and adding external clients was very simple.

Cons

There is a lack of features for the on-premise version. Some of the features that were advertised and sold to us as being available were not on the on-premise version and at the time of our use of this product there was no ETA in bringing those integrations in.

August 2019

Evan from Marquette Transportation

Verified Reviewer

Company Size: 1,001-5,000 employees

Industry: Transportation/Trucking/Railroad

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

2.0

Functionality

4.0

August 2019

Great unlimited sharing platform. FTP and webdav support are a huge plus!

Pros

Ease of use and setup of shares and links. accessibility for users.

Cons

When issues do arise, we have had lackluster support in some cases. we have had this product for over 5 years.

Reasons for Choosing SmartFile

Cost and features.

January 2019

Anonymous

Verified Reviewer

Company Size: 11-50 employees

Time Used: Less than 12 months

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

4.0

Value for money

4.0

Customer support

4.0

Functionality

5.0

January 2019

Review of SmartFile

The business problem that SmartFile solves is allowing lots of file storage which I use for daily backups of mission critical files.

Pros

First and foremost, I like the fact that this service exists. I needed a place to backup files via ftp, and there are few places that allow for using ftp and allow this much file storage. There are a lot of features offered that I was not looking for, but they sure do come in handy. It is nice to have a web based interface and to be able to quickly generate and share a link with an expiration date.

Cons

We have had some issues with a false message saying we reached our limit. I have been working with tech support, and they are assisting with the issue. Tech support responds quickly, and I really do appreciate that.

Response from SmartFile

Replied January 2019

Thank you for taking the time to give us feedback. Our engineers were made aware of this issue and are currently working on a patch to resolve the problem. We do apologize for the inconvenience and will continue to update all customers experiencing this issue with our progress.

January 2019

Mark from Labspot

Verified Reviewer

Company Size: 2-10 employees

Industry: Information Technology and Services

Time Used: Less than 6 months

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

4.0

Value for money

3.0

Customer support

4.0

Functionality

2.0

January 2019

TBD

TBD, building a business process and the single coupling to Okta has made us rethink our approach but in a way it’s a good thing because we’ve decoupled storage from user context.

Pros

The offering provides a very polished interface and the ability to set your own branding are very well implemented in SmartFile.

Cons

SSO provider support is limited solely to Okta which, while one of the larger providers in the space this sole point of support suggests that support and integration are generally intended to focus support, integration, and their business offering to Fortune 500 organizations.

Response from SmartFile

Replied January 2019

Mark - Thanks for taking the time to give us your feedback, and I agree that our SSO options are limited. This limitation is due to SmartFile having one of the largest FTP user bases in the world. Over 75% of our user activities are FTP, and our user permissions are built to support this. Most SSO providers (ie. Google, Facebook, LinkedIn) only support an email as a username and therefore does not permit a non-email login. In order to offer more SSO providers, we would have to require users to use a SSO login for the web interface and a separate login for FTP. We felt having multiple login methods would cause a high rate of confusion to our user base and chose not to move forward with additional SSO providers. Also, you're correct in your assumption regarding enterprises. To meet our enterprise customers security requirements we did integrate with Okta and we just rolled SSO using Azure. Thanks again for your feedback and comments.

January 2019

Max from Sextans

Verified Reviewer

Company Size: 2-10 employees

Industry: Design

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

4.0

Value for money

4.0

Customer support

4.0

Functionality

5.0

January 2019

8 years of use

Almost flawless

Pros

- Wide variety of services and functions - Wide variety of connexion type - Almost no downtime - Automations - Good support

Cons

- Price can be lower (depend on the services you really need) - Access to Custom Branding only for higher price plan

January 2019

Peter from Information Technology and Services

Verified Reviewer

Company Size: 1 employee

Industry: Airlines/Aviation

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Value for money

3.0

Functionality

3.0

January 2019

SmartFile Review

I am required to keep BU off site

Pros

Lots of options to tailor cost to need Just keeps working

Cons

Options don't well match my needs I would like an option for old versions to be deleted so usage does not continuously grow.

February 2019

Joshua from Delta ModTech

Verified Reviewer

Company Size: 51-200 employees

Industry: Mechanical or Industrial Engineering

Time Used: Less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

4.0

Value for money

3.0

Customer support

4.0

Functionality

4.0

February 2019

Smart File

Pros

Very simple to setup Users acclimated with ease

Cons

Confusing platform to share files, The buttons are not obvious on how to use it. (took me a while to figure out i needed to push the upload button, the 0% made me think it was already uploading. I needed to make directions for all of my users on how to use this service, and they were detailed with screenshots.

January 2019

Dan from LogicBox Software, Inc.

Verified Reviewer

Company Size: 11-50 employees

Industry: Computer Software

Time Used: Less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

5.0

January 2019

Simple option for hosted FTP, FTPS, SFTP

Pros

Reasonably priced, easy to use and supports multiple protocols -thus giving us very good ROI by not having to support multiple FTP infrastructures.

Cons

Nothing really. So far it has worked great for us.

February 2019

Arturo from DreamEast Pictures

Verified Reviewer

Company Size: 11-50 employees

Industry: Animation

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

5.0

February 2019

Perfect if you are not setting up your own FTP Server

Our experience with SmartFile has been a positive one. We use it to transport files to and from our sister studios in China and we find that this is one of the only FTP servers that makes it to China.

Pros

My colleges and I love that we can access our files via the web anytime.

Cons

The web portal times out on long downloads and we do get partial downloads that way, smaller files are fine to be accessed that way but when moving project files over 11gigs, we have to use FileZilla or any other FTP clients since those can be set up to continue an upload/download without having to start all over again.

February 2019

Anonymous

Verified Reviewer

Company Size: 201-500 employees

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Value for money

5.0

Functionality

4.0

February 2019

An easy to use FTP file management with powerful features

Pros

What I like about SmartFile is that is easy to use and provides powerful features for companies that rely on FTP as part of their business. I like how we can organize everything and specially how we can give access to clients to upload the files needed to work on their projects. The main reason we had chosen SmartFile is that we do business in China and the US and file transferring is a problem due to China's security wall. SmartFile manages this very well and it was the best service we tried uploading files from the US to download them in China. More than 5 services tried, some of them more expensive, and SmartFile was the fastest.

Cons

The software provides us with what we need. If could improve something, it would be the interface. It's easy to navigate but needs a revamp to make it look more up to date.

January 2019

Donald from GT Software

Verified Reviewer

Company Size: 51-200 employees

Industry: Computer Software

Time Used: Less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

4.0

January 2019

SmartFile Review

My overall experience has been positive. Our customers and prospect appreciate the secure FTP capability. We have found the system very easy to administer, and the tech support has been very responsive.

Pros

The thing I like most about SmartFile is that it provided me a quick way to get out of my on-prem FTP server and easily provide secure inbound and outbound FTP to my customers.

Cons

If I could change anything about SmartFile it would be two things. I would like more control over the configuration of the system generated emails. I would like to customize them more. The other thing would be a more straightforward way of creating common folders that all of our administrators could share.

January 2019

Anonymous

Verified Reviewer

Company Size: 2-10 employees

Time Used: Less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

5.0

January 2019

Smartfile - A Real Solution for File Sharing

Overall, Smartfile has been an absolute gem for me and my colleagues. Uploading and downloading for both employees and client is very easy and intuitive.

Pros

Smartfile does exactly what I need it to do. The ability to send and receive large files in addition to sharing them in vast levels of secure measures.

Cons

My only gripes right now is that you cannot share files and get feedback on the files themselves. For example, if I send a video I am working on with a client, I cannot create a centralized "hub" for feedback like some competitors do. The only other capability that I wish it would have would be having desktop capabilities to upload/manage content.

February 2019

Andrew from Palm Beach State College

Verified Reviewer

Company Size: 1,001-5,000 employees

Industry: Education Management

Time Used: Less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

5.0

February 2019

Great Product, Great Price

They have been very helpful and when we do have problems their support is very timely and they have resolved all of our problems in a very short amount of time. Very happy with the product

Pros

It is easy to use I set up managers for their own areas and let them create their own users. It is easy for people to use, even non technical people.

Cons

As managers create users for their area and when the manager leaves the users are still tied to a manage that is no longer with the company. I wish there was a way to take all of the users who are tied to a manager and move them to a new account.

January 2019

Carol from Wesling Financial Planning Services

Verified Reviewer

Company Size: 2-10 employees

Industry: Financial Services

Time Used: Less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

4.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

4.0

Functionality

4.0

January 2019

Good tool for our business

SmartFile has been a valuable tool for our business, and we use it for document transfer. I am not certain if we are using all of the SmartFile features to our best advantage.

Pros

We like the flexibility of Smart File, where we can set up branded portals for our clients, and provide them with links and passwords for secure access. We can set up our own file structure, and have control over whether clients can download or download and upload.

Cons

We have had several occasions where the site was unavailable due to technical difficulties.

January 2019

Trevor from GARRETT STATE TAX SERVICE INC

Verified Reviewer

Company Size: 1 employee

Industry: Government Relations

Time Used: Less than 6 months

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

5.0

January 2019

Good Service

Smartfile seems to be a small firm, or they just have support who monitors activity. The bottom line, they are very timely in responding to the emails in the past.

Pros

I needed an online service to be able to share confidential files with people I work with. I chose this service because I am able to create the user names/passwords and then I am able to verbally give them the information. All they have to do is login and download the file(s). This seems safer than sending links to websites via email. That system does not seem as secure since those emails could be intercepted.

Cons

The limit of users is the issue for me. In my case, I will need a user from anywhere from 4 to 8 weeks, on average. But that is not in constant use. I may send a file(s) to them a handful of times during that time. So, I rotate the 4 account names quite often, depending on who needs a file at the time. More users at a lower rate might interest me in paying for more users, considering the small file sizes / frequency of access I have.

February 2019

Anonymous

Verified Reviewer

Company Size: 11-50 employees

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

4.0

February 2019

Great service

We use SmartFile to move large image files and CAD files.

Pros

SmartFile helps us achieve the necessary connections with our overseas vendors and our domestic customers. Some services similar to SmartFile could not reliably connect to in some countries, such as China.

Cons

I would like to see a better API that is also better documented.

January 2019

Angela from Perfect Fit

Verified Reviewer

Company Size: 11-50 employees

Industry: Consumer Goods

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

4.0

Value for money

4.0

Functionality

3.0

January 2019

GREAT INTERNATIONAL FILE TRANSFER SOLUTION

My company was unable to effectively share files with our printers in China. Smartfile enabled this necessity for us successfully.

Pros

I really like that I am able to transfer files internationally easily and know that my customer or vendor is able to download the files I send them with little or no problems.

Cons

When generating a shared link I detest having to go in and check a box every single time that says all files within a folder will be shared before I generate a shared link. This should be automatic as it is on other cloud data transfer solutions. Many of my coworkers who don't use smartfile often don't realize this has to be done and miss this important step in sharing files.

February 2019

Rachel from Horizon League

Verified Reviewer

Company Size: 2-10 employees

Industry: Public Relations and Communications

Time Used: Less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

4.0

Functionality

4.0

February 2019

Smart File Review

We are connecting all ten of our members to our files in a very efficient and cost-effective way.

Pros

The software is really easy to use and we have not had any issues in over a year.

Cons

We really have not had any issues at all. The only thing I have noticed is that sometimes my login will expire when downloading a large file and so I have to start over.

January 2019

Ted from Dish Satellite TV

Verified Reviewer

Company Size: 11-50 employees

Industry: Telecommunications

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Value for money

5.0

Functionality

5.0

January 2019

Perfect Fit For Our Company

We use it on a daily basis, Finding files is very easy.

Pros

It is very easy to use. Seamless integration with our software.

Cons

I have never had an issue using Smart File.

January 2019

darshan from LA Kings

Verified Reviewer

Company Size: 51-200 employees

Industry: Sports

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

4.0

Value for money

3.0

Customer support

4.0

Functionality

3.0

January 2019

over all good product

love it but can not replace other services because of Video upload speed

Pros

very easy to setup and configure for everything

Cons

it is running very slow for video files

January 2019

Dan from parksdesign

Verified Reviewer

Company Size: 2-10 employees

Industry: Design

Time Used: Less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

4.0

Value for money

3.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

3.0

January 2019

SmartFile Review

Need more options for smaller business, the upgrade options jump to high for the next level

Pros

FTP and web based uploads and downloads...FTP was important to me

Cons

Downloading folders (as zip...) takes a long time and does not always work.

January 2019

Jon from Strobel Energy Group

Verified Reviewer

Company Size: 51-200 employees

Industry: Construction

Time Used: Less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

4.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

4.0

Functionality

4.0

January 2019

SmartFile - Good Value

Overall the service works good, Support is good.

Pros

Unlimited storage / Unlimited users for the one price

Cons

System is slow. Updates sometimes break features and have to wait until next update to get fixed.

February 2019

Katie from Allivet

Verified Reviewer

Company Size: 51-200 employees

Industry: Internet

Time Used: Less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Functionality

5.0

February 2019

Ease of Use

Pros

I needed this to seamlessly integrate some files via an FTP. Smartfile did the job.

Cons

I can't think of an issues I have had or anything that I don't like, really.

February 2019

Anonymous

Verified Reviewer

Company Size: 51-200 employees

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Value for money

4.0

Customer support

4.0

Functionality

5.0

February 2019

Secure file portal

This solution was perfect for our needs. We used this almost like an extranet and way for sharing sensitive documents with customers. Customers and business able to drag and drop files into a familiar explorer window and share files with ease, while still being secure,

Pros

On premise solution that we used to secure file transfer and storage of customer data.

Cons

The cost seemed a bit high, but you do get what you pay for!

January 2019

Tim from Zest

Verified Reviewer

Company Size: 11-50 employees

Industry: Marketing and Advertising

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

3.0

Value for money

3.0

Functionality

4.0

January 2019

Good product. Subpar interface and customer experience.

We had hoped to provide clients a branded cloud folder they could use for our clients. Serving as an intermediary has been challenging.

Pros

The structure of the software is great, and people really like the user settings and branding options.

Cons

I've been trying to change my subscription status for two years. The customer service has been a runaround between a person saying to use the website and the website saying we have to talk to a person. We'll end up just cancelling as a result.

Response from SmartFile

Replied January 2019

Tim - Thank you for taking the time to fill out a review. I'm sorry to hear you're having issues changing your subscription. Can you please email me at the address I've included and I will make certain we take care of your problem.

February 2019

Elfego from ThinkCERCA

Verified Reviewer

Company Size: 51-200 employees

Industry: E-Learning

Time Used: Less than 12 months

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

5.0

February 2019

Great Tool

Pros

We needed an sFTP service with an easy to use UI for customers to share information with. This platform did the trick!

Cons

The UI could be improved a bit (modernized), but part from that, it works.

February 2019

Matt from Incredible Clings LLC

Verified Reviewer

Company Size: 2-10 employees

Industry: Retail

Time Used: Less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

5.0

February 2019

Great system...but somtimes slow.

Not many complaints here. It's a good system and works with our liasons in China, which was the main purpose of using it over something like Dropbox.

Pros

I like that there's a desktop component as well as a web interface so I can use it almost anywhere.

Cons

It's a little slow to access files on desktop and prohibitively slow to upload files on the desktop. I typically use the web interface to upload docs so that it goes faster.

January 2019

Steven from DCMSoft, LLC

Verified Reviewer

Company Size: 1 employee

Industry: Computer Software

Time Used: Less than 6 months

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Value for money

5.0

Functionality

3.0

January 2019

Good value. Works well with automated process.

An automated process transfers large digital assets to and from the password-protected SmartFile space. The assets need to be unreachable by visitors to websites but easily within reach of authorized users. The SmartFile arrangement is working very well and this is now one less thing to worry about.

Pros

Good value. Everything seems to work well. Very little interaction required with the company.

Cons

Nothing we don't like. Except that I am required to enter 40 characters into this field when I have answered the question using only 22.

April 2019

Victoria from Travel Car Services (Purley) Ltd

Verified Reviewer

Company Size: 11-50 employees

Industry: Transportation/Trucking/Railroad

Time Used: Less than 6 months

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

4.0

Functionality

4.0

April 2019

Think this as a document library

Does what is says on the tin – support is a great for any issues

Pros

This was purchased to centralise all our driver documentation. It was easy to set up and it’s great that we can archive expired documents. It’s great to see who has done what through the activities feed and I was able to set up managers and let them create their own users.

Cons

Uploading files can be slow at times. At first I thought it was our internet but it’s not. Big files take such a long time!!

February 2019

Gennifer from Penn State College of Medicine

Verified Reviewer

Company Size: 10,000+ employees

Industry: Education Management

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

5.0

February 2019

Extremely helpful

Pros

It's easy to use, and makes collaborating very simple.

Cons

I don't have anything to say about this that I don't like.

January 2020

Anonymous

Verified Reviewer

Company Size: 2-10 employees

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

3.0

Value for money

1.0

Customer support

1.0

Functionality

1.0

January 2020

Terrible

Pros

Ease of use.

Cons

No customer support. No web previews. Speed is so slow - its almost unbearable in this day and age. Everything about this FTP service is just below par for the amount of money.

February 2019

Attly from Remington Medical

Verified Reviewer

Company Size: 201-500 employees

Industry: Medical Devices

Time Used: Less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Value for money

4.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

5.0

February 2019

Smart, Simple FTP

SmartFile has been an easy tool to use and does a great job at delivering as advertised.

Pros

The software is easy to setup and gets going. User management is a breeze.

Cons

No real issues with the software. It meets my expectations.

February 2019

Anonymous

Verified Reviewer

Company Size: 11-50 employees

Time Used: Less than 12 months

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

4.0

February 2019

SmartFile

Overall the system works as expected and has proven to be very useful in our development efforts

Pros

The system is very intuitive and easy to use. Setting up new users was easy.

Cons

No Administrator account. If you create multiple users, you cannot see from user to user. There needs to be an administrative access level to allow viewing other users.

January 2019

Warren from Tutu & Lulu Fashion Inc

Verified Reviewer

Company Size: 2-10 employees

Industry: Apparel & Fashion

Time Used: Less than 12 months

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

4.0

Value for money

2.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

4.0

January 2019

Not enough features for the price

If it wasn't for the connectivity with Chinese users, I would not use this software, especially at its current price level.

Pros

It's accessible by Chinese users where other file share systems are blocked

Cons

The rest of the features are equal to or less than I can get for free or $10/mn with other major file share solutions

February 2019

Feng from Word Class Asia

Verified Reviewer

Company Size: 11-50 employees

Industry: Translation and Localization

Time Used: Less than 12 months

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

4.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

4.0

February 2019

Genuine FTP Service that is Fairly Easy to Use

Pros

Complete FTP and SFTP features Relatively Secured Conveniently available

Cons

Not so easy to use for general users Administrator should have more system-wide access rights

February 2019

Adam R from Pechtel Law PLLC

Verified Reviewer

Company Size: 2-10 employees

Industry: Legal Services

Time Used: Less than 6 months

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

5.0

February 2019

Straightforward tool, easy to use

It’s been very helpful and I don’t know what I would do without it.

Pros

I am a solo attorney and I need to send large files to opposing counsel and other persons on a fairly regular basis. File so large that email will not work. SmartFile filled that gap in my tools. It’s straigtforward and relatively not weighed down by confusing options.

Cons

I wish it was a more straigtforward workflow. For instance, starting with who I want to send the file to and then uploading the file (like an email workflow).

November 2018

Chris from Amazing Lash Studio

Verified Reviewer

Company Size: 51-200 employees

Industry: Retail

Time Used: Less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

1.0

Value for money

1.0

Customer support

1.0

Functionality

1.0

November 2018

SmartFile is only consistent in erros and slow speeds

It has been a terrible experience of having to upload files over and over to get one to complete without an error or disconnect. Once you have a few hundred files uploaded the portal slows down to taking 10-15 seconds each click to navigate.

Pros

It has a clean web dashboard and user interface.

Cons

Uploading files via FTP or larger than 500MB takes days to weeks to upload due to constant server errors and disconnects.

July 2019

Anonymous

Verified Reviewer

Company Size: 1 employee

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Functionality

4.0

July 2019

Good file management

Pros

I only used this program for its free trial, but I liked how the interface was built and the fact that you can have permissions and thus, can avoid having leaking information issues.

Cons

Altough I liked the inteface, it can get hard for some people too get the hang out of the upload methods, and it gets just a little confusing

January 2019

Mike from Thirdstream

Verified Reviewer

Company Size: 11-50 employees

Industry: Computer Software

Time Used: Less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

2.0

Value for money

3.0

Functionality

3.0

January 2019

Great concept, confusing features

Once a client is set up, it's easy for them to upload files securely for us.

Pros

Easy to view files and navigate the web interface.

Cons

Confusing to set up users/groups and grant permissions.

February 2016

Nicholas from Medical

Verified Reviewer

Time Used: Free Trial

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

2.0

Customer support

1.0

February 2016

Better and cheaper options than SmartFile are available.

Prepaid SmartFile for 1 year. Was a waste of money. Customer service is poor, tickets were often closed without the questions within being answered. SmartFile is inflexible with their plans, they are not granular as claimed as there are only 3 options and no ability to add or remove features individual features. Based upon my legal advice, the SmartFile terms and conditions contravene Australian law. Better and cheaper options than SmartFile are available.