All Certent Equity Management Reviews

1-25 of 52 Reviews

Sort by

Reviews are by default sorted by Recommended to software buyers, driven by our proprietary algorithm reflecting the depth and quality of the review, recency of experience, and other factors. As a neutral reviews platform, the star rating of the review is not considered in the "Recommended" ranking, and there is currently no voting mechanism that would allow site visitors to influence the ranking.

Greg

Consumer Goods, 51-200 employees

Used weekly for more than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra
This review was submitted organically. No incentive was offered

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

5

Reviewed April 2024

Easy to use Equity Management and Reporting Platform

Happy with the product and customer service team.

PROS

Certent equity management is user friendly, and easy to navigate. Customer service team is very supportive and always available to support you.

CONS

The link between BAML and Certent isn't seamless - there are some quirks that require workaround.

Reasons for switching to Certent Equity Management

Carta didn't have all the functionality we needed.

Roger

Pharmaceuticals, 501-1,000 employees

Used daily for more than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra
This review was submitted organically. No incentive was offered

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

4

Reviewed April 2024

Certent Equity Management -Financial Reporting

I am more than satisfied with Certent Equity Management. My level of comfort with the accuracy of the accounting/equity reports from Certent is high, as is with our auditors. Between the reporting functions and the customer service team, we are happy customers and we look forward to many more years of business together!

PROS

In my role in our financial reporting department, I solely rely on the accounting/equity reports provided by CEM for our audits, as well as for our SEC reporting (10Q, 10K, and Proxy Stmt). I am extremely happy with the functional capabilities this software provides our Company, as well as very satisfied with the working relationships established with the customer service team over the last 15 years that I have been a user on this platform. The communication and assistance we receive has always been 10/10, and this is a strong reason why we have stayed loyal customers of Certent!

CONS

I honestly do not have any issues and/or problems with any part of Certent Equity Management, as a user. Maybe the only small concern that I can think of is our broker is independent from Certent, so as our employees are vesting their RSUs and/or exercising their stock options, this data is transmitted daily to Certent and since I don't have access to our broker platform. I have to rely on the collaboration of data between these two platforms, which is out of my control.

Brooks

Computer Software, 1,001-5,000 employees

Used monthly for less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra
This review was submitted organically. No incentive was offered

OVERALL RATING:

1

EASE OF USE

1

FUNCTIONALITY

1

Reviewed March 2020

This may be the worst software I have used. Ever.

Awful. Just Awful.

PROS

Through many bugs and a painful login and re-authentication process every single time I access the platform, I have been able to exercise my options through Certent.

CONS

They take something that is already difficult for many people to understand and make it worse by having a terrible UI, and login and authentication process

Vendor Response

Hi Brooks, We appreciate your feedback and want to work with you to improve your experience. We will be in touch to discuss how we can simplify the UI and improve the authentication process.

Replied September 2020

Robert

Retail, 11-50 employees

Used monthly for less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra
This review was submitted organically. No incentive was offered

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

5

Reviewed May 2024

Excellent Software and Support

The software is very robust and handles all of our equity reporting requirements.

PROS

Easy of Use Excellent reporting capabilities Strong Support

CONS

None to speak of. The software is robust so I don't see many cons.

Reason for choosing Certent Equity Management

More features and the reputation for strong support.

Mary

Veterinary, 1,001-5,000 employees

Used daily for less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra
This review was submitted organically. No incentive was offered

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

5

Reviewed April 2024

Completely Solved Equity Management For Our Company!

Our experience has been fantastic. We've never had the need for an Equity Management Platform in the past, but once our company committed to making Ownership Shares a standard benefit for our 1500+ full time employees, Certent was absolutely the solution we needed! We received great support from the Certent implementation, account management and admin team all along the way!

PROS

Certent Equity Management completely solved the issues of issuing and tracking employee shares for our company both from the perspective of administration by our finance team but also from the perspective of visibility and access to this value added benefit for our employees! The Certent Support team has been fantastic helping us setup and use some of their standard features in an "outside of the box" way that fits our company's needs, and our account rep [sensitive content hidden] could not be more accessible or responsive when we have questions or need help with creative solutions!

CONS

Would like to have the ability to do some manual adjustments such as changing email address, mailing address, etc information for participants ourselves rather than submitting those changes requests to the Certent Plan Admin team to do, but, at least their team is fast responding to change requests / tickets usually same day.

Reason for choosing Certent Equity Management

I was not involved in the Platform Selection Process

Dave

Alternative Medicine, 1,001-5,000 employees

Used weekly for more than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra
This review was submitted organically. No incentive was offered

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

5

Reviewed April 2024

Certent Recommendation

PROS

Certent provides great customer service to our organization. We work hand in hand with them in regard to our equity management and upcoming vestings/settlements. Our collaboration with Certent is extremely helpful and integral in providing our employees with accurate results.

CONS

N/A - I have zero complaints or concerns with Certent

Bradford

Defense & Space, 11-50 employees

Used weekly for more than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra
This review was submitted organically. No incentive was offered

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

5

Reviewed May 2024

A software package deep in scope and analytics

I highly, highly recommend that anyone consider this equity management platform. We have a saying in the office when something doesn’t add up, “it’s not the software”. The analytics and depth of product is incredible.

PROS

The Certent software came highly recommended and they have never disappointed. It is an extremely robust and powerful software platform.

CONS

When they got acquired there was decent staff turnover.

Reason for choosing Certent Equity Management

Certent came highly recommended, and has the support staff that is always available 24/7. Their accountants are incredibly skilled and knowledgable. So far there has not been one problem the software couldn’t accommodate. It is extremely robust.

Nabeel

Medical Devices, 51-200 employees

Used daily for more than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra
This review was submitted organically. No incentive was offered

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

5

Reviewed April 2024

Public company contoller perspective

Overall, a great product with great features at a moderate price. Ease of use and intuitive interface is a huge plus. Reporting is highly customizable along with an efficient data transfer interface.

PROS

I like it's ease of use and intuitive interface.

CONS

It's sometime hard to get the consulting hours from a specialist in the event of an unusual or infrequent event.

James

Mining & Metals, 51-200 employees

Used daily for less than 12 months

Review Source: Capterra
This review was submitted organically. No incentive was offered

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

5

FUNCTIONALITY

5

Reviewed April 2024

Great Equity Management System

It is an amazing Equity Management system.

PROS

It has every report you can wish for. The customer service is amazing.

CONS

There is nothing I don't like about Certent

James

Pharmaceuticals, 2-10 employees

Used weekly for more than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra
This review was submitted organically. No incentive was offered

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

4

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

5

Reviewed April 2024

Expensive but best on market

Overall I am pleased with the software. The reporting is excellent and it is very easy software to work with. The customer support is accessible and the response time is good. We have used the professional support consultants on several occasions and they have exhibited good subject matter expertise and delivered the deliverable timely. On three occasions I have worked with Brent Jerolimic and on one occasion Cory McCarty and they were professional. easy to work and most importantly, the product as promised.

PROS

The software is very intuitive and the reporting functionality exceeds that of competitors. Sandbox environments are excellent.

CONS

It is one of the more expensive options on the market.

Reason for choosing Certent Equity Management

Familiarity. Good reputation within the market.

Kenneth

Biotechnology, 1,001-5,000 employees

Used daily for more than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra
This review was submitted organically. No incentive was offered

OVERALL RATING:

4

EASE OF USE

4

VALUE FOR MONEY

4

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

4

Reviewed April 2024

Sr Manager Financial Reporting Review

The product works for what we need it to do. It provides us with reports needed for disclosure support, SBC JEs, Beneficial Ownership calculations, future vesting for forecasting. But the best thing as I mentioned above is our customer service. It's always important to have a good, dependable customer service representative at third-party service providers - especially equity management because some transactions can get complex. We've had many complex transactions that [sensitive content hidden] and the Accounting team have helped us out of.

PROS

My favorite thing about working with Certent Equity Management is the customer service. [sensitive content hidden] Carlson is our Sr. Client Service Manager and she has been since I have been with the company (6 years). [sensitive content hidden] is always available and willing to help and so patient with our team. She set up bi-weekly meetings with HR and Finance teams to talk about any issues. Many times I would ask the same questions but she would answer without hesitation. Running and using reports is easy, and help system with videos is a great idea and has helped me many times with Black Scholes calculations or EVF changes. Accounting team always there to help as well - providing calculations as we need them.

CONS

Not really user friendly if we want to create new reports - Certent would do it for us. Reports already created have a lot of unnecessary columns on them when they are run and there was no way for us to customize to what we needed. Being on the west coast when we are on the east isn't helpful either when we have an early morning question.

Sara

Health, Wellness and Fitness, 5,001-10,000 employees

Used daily for more than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra
This review was submitted organically. No incentive was offered

OVERALL RATING:

4

EASE OF USE

4

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

3

FUNCTIONALITY

4

Reviewed April 2024

Good but not perfect

PROS

Certent has a lot of customization of fields beyond their generic fields. This has allowed us to filter our reports, broker integrations, etc. based on plans and participants, for example. I love that there is a "sandbox" for testing changes and uploading data before doing so in production.

CONS

In the beginning, we had a dedicated account representative, but that person has changed a few times over the years and we've lost touch. Submitting a ticket for urgent help has been frustrating when I really needed help in the moment and couldn't wait 24-48 hours. I've had some very important settings in broker integration suddenly change without my knowledge, which affected grant and vesting data being sent to our broker. We tried to set up the Section 16 module, but with our company having some legacy plans before we spun from our parent, it was becoming too difficult and too costly to properly pull in that data.

Bobby

Biotechnology, 11-50 employees

Used weekly for more than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra
This review was submitted organically. No incentive was offered

OVERALL RATING:

4

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

4

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

4

Reviewed April 2024

Certent Equity Management Review

PROS

The Certent Equity Management is user friendly and easy to navigate and is especially helpful to see the real-time and point in time statistics. The reporting functionality makes it easier to have reliable and efficient reporting. The customer service team is also great to work with, they are very knowledgeable about all types of awards and are timely on their responses. Our customer service representative [sensitive content hidden] has been a great partner to us.

CONS

Just like all systems, there are sometimes minor quirks in the reports, but once you get the hang of functionality, it is easy to use going forward.

Charlynn

Real Estate, 51-200 employees

Used monthly for more than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra
This review was submitted organically. No incentive was offered

OVERALL RATING:

4

EASE OF USE

4

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

4

Reviewed April 2024

Great equity management and reporting tool

Positive, especially our working relationship with our customer care manager.

PROS

Real-time equity management reporting is available on one report. Reports are flexible, and can be filtered in many different ways for different purposes. We use for performance based and time based RSUs and RSAs. We do not use the system for dividend/DEU calculations. Most critical reporting is used for SEC public reports, which are just a click away, and used to be manually calculated maintained in excel workbooks. Certent reporting saves us hours/days of manual tracking in excel. Also, our main relationship manager is extremely responsive and patient with our requests/questions.

CONS

Since Certent is not a broker, when we changes from private to public, the connection with a broker has been very challenging. Almost like duplicative work and coding. Albeit, it seems like Certent's customer services is much better than the broker so we are hoping that once connection is made, we won't have any future broker/record keeper issues. Also, it would be valuable if Certent offered the ability to calculate cash dividends (not DEUs), so that we don't have to track in excel. But this is not a deal breaker.

Reason for choosing Certent Equity Management

we were a smaller size to start out and did not have an option with a bigger firm. still, the reporting seemed pretty straight forward with Certent.

Zach

Alternative Medicine, 51-200 employees

Used daily for less than 12 months

Review Source: Capterra
This review was submitted organically. No incentive was offered

OVERALL RATING:

4

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

3

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

5

Reviewed May 2024

Certent Equity Management

My overall experience has been positive. As I noted above, the software is easy to use and makes SEC reporting and managing both an equity plan and an employee stock purchase plan much easier. From a customer experience perspective, we have been taken care of greatly by [sensitive content hidden] . She is always willing to go above and beyond to meet our needs, even when in a time crunch.

PROS

The platform is fast, responsive, and easy to use. Being able to favorite certain reports makes weekly/monthly tasks that much simpler. Certent equity management is fairly intuitive and doesn't take long to get used to.

CONS

Sometime there are accounting differences or errors generated in reports that are difficult to discover until something goes wrong. But our client service manager is very responsive and the accounting team at Certent has helped us troubleshoot as well.

Christopher

Biotechnology, 51-200 employees

Used daily for more than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra
This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

OVERALL RATING:

4

EASE OF USE

3

VALUE FOR MONEY

3

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

5

Reviewed September 2020

Functional and Supported... but Expensive.

PROS

It does pretty much everything you could want an Equity Management platform to do. And the Support Team is always available and knowledgeable. There hasn't been an issue I couldn't get through with the support and product.

CONS

It is one of the most expensive in the industry. I have tried to justify the cost for a long time and wish they were more flexible on the pricing. It also has some less-than-intuitive menu schemes and data reports that feel would be an easy fix, but they aren't ever addressed.

Vendor Response

Hi Christopher, Thank you for your feedback. We are glad to see that our support team has met your needs and would love to engage further on the topic of reporting.

Replied September 2020

Adam

Hospital & Health Care, 10,000+ employees

Used daily for more than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra
This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

4

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

3

Reviewed September 2020

Solid stable platform

PROS

This platform is sufficiently robust for our uses. The administration and SAS access are easy to use. The financial reporting is good and gets us where we need to be come audit time. Integration with various brokers is helpful for tailoring uses for different company needs.

CONS

The software is missing some key features that will impact the future. There isn't any tax mobility calculation or support. That lags behind other platforms but I'm told it is in development. The integration with multiple brokers limits how fast they can develop new and important features.

Robert

Oil & Energy, 51-200 employees

Used weekly for more than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra
This review was submitted organically. No incentive was offered

OVERALL RATING:

4

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

4

Reviewed April 2024

Exceptional Customer Service!

I really enjoy working with our team as they are very supportive.

PROS

First of all, [sensitive content hidden] and her team are always very responsive to my queries and are ready to assist! The system is very user friendly and the standard reports available meet our monthly reporting needs. We were considering adding these services to our brokerage provider (to consolidate) but decided against it as their Equity Management support does not even compare close. I also like the fact that the File Management features are now within the Certent Equity Management system.

CONS

Just like all systems, there are sometimes minor quirks in the reports, but [sensitive content hidden] and her team address them quickly.

Sandra

Construction, 501-1,000 employees

Used weekly for more than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra
This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

OVERALL RATING: