All DataSnipper Reviews

1-25 of 127 Reviews

Sort by

Reviews are by default sorted by Recommended to software buyers, driven by our proprietary algorithm reflecting the depth and quality of the review, recency of experience, and other factors. As a neutral reviews platform, the star rating of the review is not considered in the "Recommended" ranking, and there is currently no voting mechanism that would allow site visitors to influence the ranking.

Anja

Accounting, 11-50 employees

Used weekly for more than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

5

Reviewed June 2023

Datasnipper is worth it!

Datasnipper solves the time problem in audit by eliminating the need to capture support manually and also human error where mistakes are made when documents are captured. These documents are imported and the detail thereon is either extracted or snipped instead of being captured manually by retyping from physical documents. Which saves alot of time and also does not leave juniors stuck on tasks for hours and hours.

PROS

Datasnipper eliminates phantom ticking - one of audit engagements worst threat (the threat that an audit member will state that it is correct without checking the support or substance) Due to the ability of the software to import the support and then allow the manager to check it that what is tested is correct is fantastic. Also significantly reduces capturing errors made by junior staff when capturing a lot of support.

CONS

Some features are not available and require additional expansion or products to get the use of the functionality. The standard model is great but is not really competing with all the additional features that are available and you are limited to the subscriptions purchased by the organization as a user.

Harischandra

Accounting, 51-200 employees

Used daily for less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra

OVERALL RATING:

4

EASE OF USE

4

VALUE FOR MONEY

3

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

3

FUNCTIONALITY

4

Reviewed March 2023

Auditing with DataSnipper

Our team has been using DataSnipper for several months now, and it has considerably improved our efficiency in audit work. The automation features have saved us a significant amount of time on repetitive tasks, allowing us to focus on higher-risk areas. The intelligent audit features have also helped improve the accuracy and quality of our work. However, there are some functional issues, such as the Validation Snip and Table Snip, that need improvement. Additionally, the pricing structure can be prohibitive for small and medium practitioners with low license volumes. Despite these issues, DataSnipper remains a valuable tool for auditors looking to streamline their workflow and improve efficiency.

PROS

DS has truly impacted the way we audit over the last year. We have been using the tool for a few months now, and we can confidently say that it has saved us a considerable amount of time on repetitive tasks. This has allowed us to shift our focus towards more high-risk areas and tasks that require the attention of senior resources. As a result, we have been able to improve the quality and accuracy of our work.One of the key benefits of DS is its automation features. The tool automates many of the manual tasks that we used to perform, such as vouching, verifying, copying and pasting data, and reconciling data. This has freed up a lot of our time and resources, which we can now allocate towards more valuable tasks that require our attention.Another benefit of DataSnipper is its seamless integration with Excel. Most of our audit work is done in Excel, so having a tool that integrates with it is incredibly convenient. This also makes it easy for us to get started with the tool without extensive training, as we are already familiar with the Excel interface.The user-friendly interface of DataSnipper is another advantage. The tool is intuitive and easy to use, even for those who are not Excel experts. Overall, DataSnipper is a tool that any auditor should consider. It streamlines our workflow and improves our efficiency, which allows us to provide better value to our clients.

CONS

While DS has been a useful tool for automating certain audit tasks, there are some areas for improvement that could impact its overall effectiveness. One issue is the high price, which may be prohibitive for small and medium practitioners with low license volumes. Additionally, the pricing structure can be discriminatory towards customers with lower volumes, which can be frustrating.There are also some functional issues that could potentially affect the reliability and accuracy of the tool. For example, the Validation Snip does not actually validate amounts and users may unintentionally mark something as validated when it is not. The Table Snip also has issues when editing rows, which can cause data to be merged incorrectly.Another area for improvement is the lack of formatting options and inability to change general settings of functions, such as font size and color. Additionally, it would be helpful to have the ability to insert audit ticks into imported documents.While the FIND ALL SUMs function is useful, it does not always accurately check the totals when there is a net total, and the SUM Snip may pick up some numbers with a minus sign when they should be positive. Overall, while DS can be a helpful tool for automating audit tasks, users should be aware of these potential issues and weigh them against their specific needs and preferences. DS's use may cause Excel to freeze and it's incompatible with older versions of Office, but doesn't detract from its overall value.

Rochelle

Accounting, 201-500 employees

Used weekly for more than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra

OVERALL RATING:

4

EASE OF USE

4

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

3

Reviewed January 2023

Overall positive but improvements desired

Overall the software provided efficiencies in the audit and FS review processes. Though it does not fully provide what we need, the pros outweigh the cons, so we continue to use the software in out day to day audit and FS review processes.

PROS

Reduced the amount of time reviewing financial statements, reduced audit documentation time, and increased efficiency in reviewing audit documentation

CONS

There were multiple issues identified with the automated results of the financial statement suites, and reduced functionality of some features with the latest version issued made certain aspects of FS review more difficult than in previous versions.

Maureen

Accounting, 1,001-5,000 employees

Used daily for more than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

5

Reviewed January 2023

Datasnipper saves time and money in audit

I do enjoy all the benefits of DataSnipper, as it saves a lot of time, which I can spend on more important tasks in my work.

PROS

I do enjoy that this software allows things to be easier in the form of importing documents, and importing specific lines of information into excel. It's very good that I can set the format of the first page of the documentation, and it can import information into excel from multiple pages. This makes testing much easier, and saves a lot of time. This enables me as the user to focus on analytical tasks in my work, rather than retyping information from various sources for my audit documentation.

CONS

Nothing comes to mind. I cannot think of any specific shortcomings of this software.

Graham

Accounting, 10,000+ employees

Used daily for less than 12 months

Review Source: Capterra

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

5

FUNCTIONALITY

5

Reviewed March 2023

Datasnipper Fanatic

Sensational, probably my favorite tool to use while completing testing. Genuinely get excited when I find a good opportunity to use it!

PROS

Datasnipper allows everyone to work faster through testing in audit. Whether it's using it for manual snips to avoid typing, or using document matching or form extraction to pull information quickly from hundreds on invoices... Datasnipper is a time saver for all parties from staff to partner.

CONS

Not much, I think they need to publicize training videos or make more of them so people understand how to use it more. I've been teaching alot of poeple within my firm personally. I want everyone to use it!

Upasak

Accounting, 201-500 employees

Used daily for more than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

4

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

4

Reviewed April 2023

Great tool

Good.

PROS

Great tool for recognizing OCR data, snips are really useful, efficient and effective.

CONS

At times file becomes heavy, Sum snip lacks at times.

Nguquko

Accounting, 1,001-5,000 employees

Used daily for less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

5

Reviewed January 2023

DataSnipper has made auditing so efficient as it saves so much time and improves on accuracy.

PROS

Document matching, form extraction and the Financial Statement tick-up are the best functionalities that have ever happened for an auditor. They are easy to use and can be performed on whatever the size of the data or engagement.

CONS

At the moment the product has surpassed my expectations and I do not have any reservations. Infact the latest version that was implemented around October 2022 has even improved the DataSnipper functionalities.

Arlinda

Accounting, 51-200 employees

Used daily for less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra
This review was submitted organically. No incentive was offered

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

5

Reviewed July 2023

Great tool

Very good experience.

PROS

Easy to use, very fast and gets the job done.

CONS

I liked the full package. No dislikes. I think that the tool has every characteristic required from such tool.

Runjing

Accounting, 11-50 employees

Used daily for less than 6 months

Review Source: Capterra

OVERALL RATING:

4

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

4

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

4

Reviewed April 2023

Highly Recommended to use for audit work

Very good experience! Easy to get on hands quickly and straightforward. It does not require an extensive trainings or advanced IT skills to be able to use it. It is so simple but so efficient to use.

PROS

It is highly efficient to use for making cross references for test work, matching documents, reconciliation and financial statement process in audit procedures. Good text recognition!

CONS

1. The table recognition function could be enhanced, especially when the table is in two pages of one pdf. There are occasions that the recognition would miss a line near the broken page.2. Text recognition for long paragraphs now show in one cell, would be great if it does the formatting directly as well. But this is minor issue.

Chinomso

Accounting, 5,001-10,000 employees

Used daily for less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

5

Reviewed January 2023

Seamless substantiative Auditing with Datasnipper

Am glad i used data snipping tool, is wonderful and have helped my work immensely

PROS

The ability to read data from invoices, Pdf, word document etc. Is a happy snipping exercise and experience

CONS

The table snipping needs to improve. Sometimes the table will not ready properly and it will lead to manually adjusting the work. Outside this overall is a good experience

Amy

Accounting, 1,001-5,000 employees

Used daily for less than 12 months

Review Source: Capterra

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

5

Reviewed June 2023

Using Data Snipper is a help

PROS

Ease of use and improve efficiency in audit considerimg we have always large data to audit.

CONS

None so far. I just need to attend more trainings to know more of its features. I heard, its interesting

Waleed

Accounting, 10,000+ employees

Used daily for less than 12 months

Review Source: Capterra

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

5

Reviewed June 2023

Amazing!

PROS

It's integration with excel makes it super easy to use

CONS

Table Snip option can be enhanced to use correct Rows

Jess

Accounting, 1,001-5,000 employees

Used weekly for less than 12 months

Review Source: Capterra

OVERALL RATING:

4

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

4

Reviewed March 2023

Saves so much time

PROS

-Datasnipper saves so much time when casting accounts, and comparing to prior year figures as most of the work is done for you -Really good for importing figures from PDFs where it's not possible to copy and paste things accurately, such as lists or split columns

CONS

-Doesn't always pick up all of the information or may set it out weirdly (but this is easy to adjust)-Can take some time to get used to

Bronwyn

Financial Services, 501-1,000 employees

Used daily for less than 12 months

Review Source: Capterra

OVERALL RATING:

4

EASE OF USE

4

VALUE FOR MONEY

4

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

4

FUNCTIONALITY

4

Reviewed January 2023

With Datasnipper, you working smarter and not harder

PROS

The convenience of bathprocessing and cutting out time in the time spent to draft and gathering all information.

CONS

When you have alot of files in batch processing it takes a bit longer for it to populate

Christopher

Accounting, 51-200 employees

Used daily for less than 6 months

Review Source: Capterra

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

5

Reviewed July 2023

Speeding up audit procedures

PROS

The software is very easy to use and implement. The way that the software helps our audit teams speed up testing and vouching to external documents is amazing. We use the software in all aspects of the audit process and other areas of our practice. Glad we found this product!!!

CONS

We have not come across any cons to using the software yet.

Aubin

Financial Services, 1,001-5,000 employees

Used weekly for less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

5

FUNCTIONALITY

5

Reviewed July 2023

Great tool

PROS

Easy to use and saves our time.They also keep updating the software with bug fixing and new features.

CONS

Sometimes some "snips" stop working and we don't always understand why.

Ronny

Accounting, 51-200 employees

Used weekly for less than 12 months

Review Source: Capterra

OVERALL RATING:

4

EASE OF USE

4

FUNCTIONALITY

4

Reviewed March 2023

Review

PROS

Makes the job quicker and easier to review.

CONS

That when i use document matching on f.example. dates, if many invoices have the same date, one document gets all the snips. Maybe there could have been a place to "hook" that you want max one snip per document when you use document matching?

Annalea

Financial Services, 201-500 employees

Used daily for less than 6 months

Review Source: Capterra

OVERALL RATING:

4

EASE OF USE

5

FUNCTIONALITY

4

Reviewed June 2023

Data analytics and linking made easier

makes data analytics and data management easier to link and follow

PROS

vouching documents and linking them together to perform data analytics was made easier and more accurately recorded amounts.

CONS

snipping manually amounts especially if there are numerous documents to filter

Srikanth

Accounting, 1,001-5,000 employees

Used weekly for less than 6 months

Review Source: Capterra

OVERALL RATING:

4

EASE OF USE

4

FUNCTIONALITY

3

Reviewed April 2023

Great time saver

Definitely changes the way I would work on my audit engagements. Massive leg up from doing things manually. Great software to use.

PROS

The text recognition feature is really good.

CONS

Customization is less, I would like to be able to choose the font of the input.For Tables, only 1 cell is linked to the source document, I would like for that to be the full table (so anywhere I click on the table, I am able to view the source file). Also, would LOVE the ability to link cells to documents manually.There should also be a default option to keep the data snipper window closed until required when a file is opened.

Mmatsie

Accounting, 5,001-10,000 employees

Used daily for less than 6 months

Review Source: Capterra
This review was submitted organically. No incentive was offered

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

5

FUNCTIONALITY