User Review Highlights

Overall Rating

4.33

Ratings Breakdown

Secondary Ratings

Ease-of-use

4

Customer Support

4.5

Value for money

4

Functionality

4.5

  • icon"Bought 2 XG 210 appliances for HA, had to replace them on warranty 3 times, it was done without issues. Antivirus and overall filtering is good."
  • icon"I feel pretty confident in its ability to keep the network secure. Ours is connected to the Sophos UTM and Endpoint Protection software, and I do really like how they are able to talk to each other."
  • icon"The product line has been winning many awards this past year."
  • icon"Functionality is not good everything is not working unfunctional."
  • icon"Used it on versions 15 and 16, each update broke something, even minor ones."
  • icon"The only drawback is lack of local support in different countries and lack of training material and training centers available to users."

All XG Firewall Reviews

1-21 of 21 Reviews

Sort by

Reviews are by default sorted by Recommended to software buyers, driven by our proprietary algorithm reflecting the depth and quality of the review, recency of experience, and other factors. As a neutral reviews platform, the star rating of the review is not considered in the "Recommended" ranking, and there is currently no voting mechanism that would allow site visitors to influence the ranking.
User Profile

Dennis

Verified reviewer

Company size: 1,001-5,000 employees

Industry: Information Technology and Services

Time used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra

This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

4

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

5

September 2019

Better insight to Network and internet usage

Bandwidth control, intrusion prevention and network security

Pros

The indepth reports on the users activity with ability tonrestrict access to specific network resource in a user friendly interface.

Cons

The enduser access to their usage report. It would be great if the user can have a portal to check on activities on their account

Thierry

Company size: 11-50 employees

Industry: Computer Networking

Time used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra

This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

EASE OF USE

4

VALUE FOR MONEY

4

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

4

FUNCTIONALITY

5

September 2019

Sophos XG Firewall

Le rapport qualité/prix comparé à ceux des autres marques offrant des produits de cette qualité fait de Sophos un très bon choix en matière de pare-feu.

Pros

La gamme XG des pare-feu Sophos comporte des produits de qualité et aux performances très élevées. La gestion intégrée des Access Points Wifi pour le mesh est un plus intéressant pour les environnements comportement de nombreux AP.

Cons

Les sites devant permettre la gestion distantes des équipements est actuellement très lent et compliqué à utiliser.

Reasons for choosing XG Firewall

Sophos est moins cher et plus simple à paramétrer.

User Profile

Juan Martin

Verified reviewer

Company size: 11-50 employees

Industry: Information Technology and Services

Time used: Less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra

This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

EASE OF USE

1

VALUE FOR MONEY

1

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

4

FUNCTIONALITY

3

August 2019

Disappointing

Not good. Used it for a year, before that used Kerio Control, after many problems and failures went back to Kerio.

Pros

Support is good, also the warranty. Bought 2 XG 210 appliances for HA, had to replace them on warranty 3 times, it was done without issues. Antivirus and overall filtering is good.

Cons

Used it on versions 15 and 16, each update broke something, even minor ones. HA in paper sounds good but it was a risk, almost every time we updated it crashed and had to force a restart. Interface is slow and poorly designed. Its almost impossible to get a clear view of what traffic is passing in real time. Overly complex and limited at the same time.

Response from Sophos

I'm sorry to hear you had such a disappointing experience with early versions of the product. We've invested heavily in our quality and testing processes since then. I hope you'll consider giving us another chance in the future.

Replied August 2019

Brijesh

Company size: 11-50 employees

Industry: Warehousing

Time used: Less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra

This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

5

September 2022

Secure your organization network with Sophos XG firewall

We are using Sophos xg firewall since last 3 years. It is helping us to optimise bandwidth uses, restrict user's web access. It is also helping us to protect our organization network from malware attacks.

Pros

1) It protects organization network from malware attacks. 2) It helps to restrict web and application uses. 3) it helps to optimise bandwidth uses. 4) It's load balancing feature helps to use both primary and secondary links simultaneously. 5) It has option to automatically switch to backup link after primary links gets down.

Cons

We are using Sophos xg firewall since last 3 to 4 years and we didn't faced any single issue with it.

Anonymous

Company size: 51-200 employees

Time used: Less than 6 months

Review Source: Capterra

This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

EASE OF USE

2

VALUE FOR MONEY

4

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

4

FUNCTIONALITY

4

October 2020

Takes Getting Used To...

I realize that it sounds overall negative, but I do actually expect to have a positive term (committed to a minimum of 3 years). Learning curves are inevitable. I really enjoy the flexibility, the power, and the ability to keep multiple firewalls in sync with each other. Security is complicated, and so far I feel like it will get the job done, and done well.

Pros

I feel pretty confident in its ability to keep the network secure. Ours is connected to the Sophos UTM and Endpoint Protection software, and I do really like how they are able to talk to each other. There is good amount of customizability, and since switching to Sophos from our previous vendor, I've enjoyed that ability to better differentiate the networks and even time-based access on a per network basis.

Cons

There's a few things I wish were different. The biggest gap is that it doesn't have any sort of mDNS reflector. Our previous router had that, and needing to configure a separate server for that purpose has been far more involved that I would like. If the router had the feature built-in, it would bring me much joy. The other big one is the logging. It's really designed more for a business environment where you "trust" your employees. So the logs aren't designed to help you figure out if someone is trying to break rules, but rather to find potentially compromised devices. Since I work at a boarding school, we really want to work with the families to correct bad behavior, not just set up some obstacles and walk away. And then, coming from Ubiquiti, I have found the interface cumbersome to understand. It's taken a fair amount of getting used to. While there are many features, I feel like I have to do a lot of clicking and hunting to get changes implemented, confirmed, and troubleshot.

Reasons for choosing XG Firewall

They were able to provide a device that didn't compromise performance for security, and they were willing to work with us regarding budget, needs, and support. Ubiquiti's device loses a lot of performance when features are enabled, and still only provides medium security. Untangle looked fantastic, but they refused to budge with the payment options/costs if we wanted support. PfSense physical devices are a bit pricey, but their software is a blizzard of options, and I just couldn't see finding the time or energy to learn it and then teach it to others. Our Sophos vendor was willing to work with us all around help us meet our budget, along with help us get everything configured to our needs. And that... is worth a lot.

Reasons for switching to XG Firewall

I wanted something that provided better security without a major hit to over network throughput.

Jakub

Company size: 201-500 employees

Industry: Automotive

Time used: Less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra

This review was submitted organically. No incentive was offered

EASE OF USE

5

FUNCTIONALITY

5

June 2022

great NGFW

Pros

Migration to XG firewall was quite tedious, but it was mostly just because we was moving from "stupid" firewall to NGFW. Otherwise XG is one of the better solutions on the market, with greate value and whole portfolio of network products.

Cons

with SOFOS v19 i cant say there is much to improve atm.

Reasons for choosing XG Firewall

better value, simplicity

Ali

Company size: 51-200 employees

Industry: Facilities Services

Time used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra

This review was submitted organically. No incentive was offered

EASE OF USE

5

FUNCTIONALITY

5

September 2022

Sophos Firewall Examination

The sophos firewall log system works very well. Thanks to this feature, I can see everything and every step every user takes. This makes our job easier.

Pros

If you want to set or create a rule, the assistant provides ease of use to the user and more stable rule creation is provided.

Cons

my least favorite interface needs further development and more features to be introduced in response to competing products.

Frank

Company size: 11-50 employees

Industry: Information Technology and Services

Time used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra

This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

EASE OF USE

4

VALUE FOR MONEY

4

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

4

FUNCTIONALITY

4

June 2019

SOPHOS XG Firewall - Sync Security at its best

Pros

Outstanding Firewall, that allows you to tie in the Sophos Endpoint/Intercept X/EDR solution. To protect your organization from Endpoint to Firewall. The product line has been winning many awards this past year.

Cons

Probably one of the best keep secrets, that once people find out about it, and do a trial. They fall in love with the solution.

Dan

Company size: 11-50 employees

Industry: Information Technology and Services

Time used: Less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra

This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

EASE OF USE

4

VALUE FOR MONEY

4

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

4

FUNCTIONALITY

4

July 2019

Sophos XG Firewall

Pros

Sophos XG Firewall ties in very nicely with our Endpoint solution from Sophos, it allows us to utilize Sync-Security, between all the Endpoints and Servers, working directly with the XG Firewall to protect all the managed devices.

Cons

Takes a little time to set up, support does an excellent job of helping and support with any new changes. Once it is up and running you and monitor and maintain everything thru Central.

User Profile

Umair Ali

Verified reviewer

Company size: 1,001-5,000 employees

Industry: Automotive

Time used: Less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra

This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

5

February 2020

A cost effective and feature rich UTM

Sophos is one of the best UTM devices in the market and it is a reliable product. we have been using it in our remote offices to control internet traffic and it has never let us down.

Pros

it has all UTM features in a single box like web filtering, IPS, anti-virus, URL filtering, application filtering, VPN and even anti-spam. the GUI is very user friendly and you can easily navigate through basic features without any training or tutorial. the software updates are regular and easy to deploy. web and URL filters are simple and straight forward to apply and works the way you want them to.

Cons

the only drawback is lack of local support in different countries and lack of training material and training centers available to users.

Reasons for choosing XG Firewall

it was the best solution within our budget

Anonymous

Company size: 51-200 employees

Time used: Less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra

This review was submitted organically. No incentive was offered

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

4

FUNCTIONALITY

5

November 2020

The best Next Generation Firewall

As an administrator level, I have had good results offering and implementing XG Firewall Sophos, first with an easy installation, in addition to the equipment configuration and the different nat rules, it also has a very intuitive and friendly interface in which you can make any configuration for keep your network more secure, compared to other equipment such as Fortinet, Sophos at the moment of its installation in the network of your company, in the dashboard it shows the statistics of attempted attacks that are being registered, and not only shows that, it shows more description such as the ips of where they attack you, what type of attack is the one they are trying to carry out, there is no vulnerability if the equipment is properly configured. Best of all, is the synchronization technology, since you can have a centralized console to manage more than one XG Firewall, this central console, you do not need to be in a VPN to enter your firewall, from the centralized console you can access your equipment without any problem.

Pros

It is very easy to administer, with the best security against attacks on your network, keeping your equipment always updated from any type of attack, the web interface is very friendly in which you can manage any rule to keep your infrastructure more secure.

Cons

There is nothing I don't like about the firewall.

sunny

Company size: 5,001-10,000 employees

Industry: Computer & Network Security

Time used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra

This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

5

August 2020

One of the best firewalls

Overall a good investment to protect your network against attacks.

Pros

The product demo was amazing and the team really liked the product. It's easy to implement and comes with number of features.

Cons

based on appliance size if you turn all the features on it can become a bottleneck hence one needs to be very careful.

Lanell

Company size: 51-200 employees

Industry: Information Technology and Services

Time used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra

This review was submitted organically. No incentive was offered

EASE OF USE

3

FUNCTIONALITY

4

August 2022

Conifguring

Pros

These little boxes are a breeze to configure not quite a plug in play but pretty close

Cons

The site itself if you have to log onto Sophos website it is just slow it works and works well but be patient

Faiza

Company size: 1 employee

Industry: Computer Software

Time used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra

This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

EASE OF USE

5

FUNCTIONALITY

5

March 2020

Sophos review

Pros

It doesn't slow my PC and protects it from virus

Cons

I havenot had any issue. This is the best software I have used.

Julio

Company size: 51-200 employees

Industry: Printing

Time used: Less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra

This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

4

FUNCTIONALITY

4

July 2020

Great Firewall

Have Sophos XG and fount it esay of use, very robust in user management, aplication and web filtering, the logs system also work very good.

Pros

Sophos XG has a complete web adn application filtering, also the reports are very usefull.

Cons

like many firewalls, does not work with ultrasurf

Sunkanmi

Company size: 2-10 employees

Industry: Information Technology and Services

Time used: Less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra

This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

5

January 2022

XG- Review

Pros

The XG firewall have a good user-friendly interface to navigate, it is has a robust interface and it solved many of our network security problems.

Cons

Setting up different network interface seems a little stressful in XG

Anonymous

Company size: 1,001-5,000 employees

Time used: Less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra

This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

EASE OF USE

4

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT