User Reviews Overview

Feature Ratings

Ease-of-use

4.0 / 5

Value for Money

4.0 / 5

Customer Support

4.0 / 5

Functionality

4.5 / 5

Ratings Breakdown

5 stars

(8)

8

4 stars

(6)

6

3 stars

(0)

0

2 stars

(1)

1

1 stars

(1)

1

  • Pros

  • "Nothing is good in this firewall. When you require support they only generate ticket that time they cant provided the support"

  • "Its an easy to use firewall with excellent support. If you have used Cyberoam before then you will this product similar to use."

  • "Easy to use. The interface is clutter-free and clear. Deployment was also very easy."

  • Cons

  • "As of now, we have not faced any issues or limitations in our day-to-day work. "

  • "The overall application is good , however you may notice that the device takes time to respond when clicked on an icon. This may improve eventually with firmware upgrades."

  • "You can write detailed security rules in Sophos. If you synchronize with the Endpoint product, you will provide even more detailed user security. "

Browse XG Firewall Reviews

Filter by:

Sort by:
 

Showing -49 - -33 of 17 results

September 2019

User Profile Picture

Dennis from COPY CAT GROUP

Verified Reviewer

Company Size: 1,001-5,000 employees

Industry: Information Technology and Services

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Value for money

4.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

5.0

September 2019

Better insight to Network and internet usage

Bandwidth control, intrusion prevention and network security

Pros

The indepth reports on the users activity with ability tonrestrict access to specific network resource in a user friendly interface.

Cons

The enduser access to their usage report. It would be great if the user can have a portal to check on activities on their account

September 2019

Thierry from MICROPRO

Company Size: 11-50 employees

Industry: Computer Networking

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

4.0

Value for money

4.0

Customer support

4.0

Functionality

5.0

September 2019

Sophos XG Firewall

Le rapport qualité/prix comparé à ceux des autres marques offrant des produits de cette qualité fait de Sophos un très bon choix en matière de pare-feu.

Pros

La gamme XG des pare-feu Sophos comporte des produits de qualité et aux performances très élevées. La gestion intégrée des Access Points Wifi pour le mesh est un plus intéressant pour les environnements comportement de nombreux AP.

Cons

Les sites devant permettre la gestion distantes des équipements est actuellement très lent et compliqué à utiliser.

Reasons for Choosing XG Firewall

Sophos est moins cher et plus simple à paramétrer.

March 2021

Sunkanmi from Teksphere Global Services Limited

Company Size: 2-10 employees

Industry: Information Technology and Services

Time Used: Less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

3.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

5.0

March 2021

XG Firewall Review

One of our clients used XG Firewall to limit the usage of network on some non-beneficial websites to prevent large data consumption. We have a great visibility into the network and pull out unnecessary connections. XG Firewall team always provide updates to latest cyber attack malware to keep us updated and informed. This is a wonderful customer satisfaction and product plan.

Pros

The XG Firewall has a highly graphical user interface which is user friendly. The XG Firewall can be used with other firewalls as the first firewall. It has this great feature. The rapid updates and patches sent by the response team is commendable.

Cons

The solutions configuration and complexity could still be broken down. We has issue setting up XG in a bridge mode for one of our clients. I would still suggest that the configuration of the solution should be made easier.

August 2019

User Profile Picture

Juan Martin from Netuy

Verified Reviewer

Company Size: 11-50 employees

Industry: Information Technology and Services

Time Used: Less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

1.0

Value for money

1.0

Customer support

4.0

Functionality

3.0

August 2019

Disappointing

Not good. Used it for a year, before that used Kerio Control, after many problems and failures went back to Kerio.

Pros

Support is good, also the warranty. Bought 2 XG 210 appliances for HA, had to replace them on warranty 3 times, it was done without issues. Antivirus and overall filtering is good.

Cons

Used it on versions 15 and 16, each update broke something, even minor ones. HA in paper sounds good but it was a risk, almost every time we updated it crashed and had to force a restart. Interface is slow and poorly designed. Its almost impossible to get a clear view of what traffic is passing in real time. Overly complex and limited at the same time.

Response from Sophos

Replied August 2019

I'm sorry to hear you had such a disappointing experience with early versions of the product. We've invested heavily in our quality and testing processes since then. I hope you'll consider giving us another chance in the future.

October 2020

Anonymous

Verified Reviewer

Company Size: 51-200 employees

Time Used: Less than 6 months

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

2.0

Value for money

4.0

Customer support

4.0

Functionality

4.0

October 2020

Takes Getting Used To...

I realize that it sounds overall negative, but I do actually expect to have a positive term (committed to a minimum of 3 years). Learning curves are inevitable. I really enjoy the flexibility, the power, and the ability to keep multiple firewalls in sync with each other. Security is complicated, and so far I feel like it will get the job done, and done well.

Pros

I feel pretty confident in its ability to keep the network secure. Ours is connected to the Sophos UTM and Endpoint Protection software, and I do really like how they are able to talk to each other. There is good amount of customizability, and since switching to Sophos from our previous vendor, I've enjoyed that ability to better differentiate the networks and even time-based access on a per network basis.

Cons

There's a few things I wish were different. The biggest gap is that it doesn't have any sort of mDNS reflector. Our previous router had that, and needing to configure a separate server for that purpose has been far more involved that I would like. If the router had the feature built-in, it would bring me much joy. The other big one is the logging. It's really designed more for a business environment where you "trust" your employees. So the logs aren't designed to help you figure out if someone is trying to break rules, but rather to find potentially compromised devices. Since I work at a boarding school, we really want to work with the families to correct bad behavior, not just set up some obstacles and walk away. And then, coming from Ubiquiti, I have found the interface cumbersome to understand. It's taken a fair amount of getting used to. While there are many features, I feel like I have to do a lot of clicking and hunting to get changes implemented, confirmed, and troubleshot.

Reasons for Choosing XG Firewall

They were able to provide a device that didn't compromise performance for security, and they were willing to work with us regarding budget, needs, and support. Ubiquiti's device loses a lot of performance when features are enabled, and still only provides medium security. Untangle looked fantastic, but they refused to budge with the payment options/costs if we wanted support. PfSense physical devices are a bit pricey, but their software is a blizzard of options, and I just couldn't see finding the time or energy to learn it and then teach it to others. Our Sophos vendor was willing to work with us all around help us meet our budget, along with help us get everything configured to our needs. And that... is worth a lot.

Reasons for Switching to XG Firewall

I wanted something that provided better security without a major hit to over network throughput.

February 2021

satish from AKG & co

Company Size: 51-200 employees

Industry: Accounting

Time Used: Less than 12 months

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

1.0

Value for money

1.0

Customer support

1.0

Functionality

2.0

February 2021

Customer Support

Sohpos have a very bad customer service. When you will on the toll-free number that is only for ticket generation they will not provide support. After your ticket generation they will call you 10 to 12 days later for your query or solution. I am totally unsatisfied from the services

Pros

Nothing is good in this firewall. When you require support they only generate ticket that time they cant provided the support

Cons

functionality is not good everything is not working unfunctional. Firmware is too slow. login takes too much time

Reasons for Choosing XG Firewall

Sophos has very bad customer service. When you will on the toll-free number that is only for ticket generation they will not provide support. After your ticket generation, they will call you 10 to 12 days later for your query or solution. I am totally unsatisfied with the services

November 2020

Anonymous

Verified Reviewer

Company Size: 51-200 employees

Time Used: Less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

4.0

Functionality

5.0

November 2020

The best Next Generation Firewall

As an administrator level, I have had good results offering and implementing XG Firewall Sophos, first with an easy installation, in addition to the equipment configuration and the different nat rules, it also has a very intuitive and friendly interface in which you can make any configuration for keep your network more secure, compared to other equipment such as Fortinet, Sophos at the moment of its installation in the network of your company, in the dashboard it shows the statistics of attempted attacks that are being registered, and not only shows that, it shows more description such as the ips of where they attack you, what type of attack is the one they are trying to carry out, there is no vulnerability if the equipment is properly configured. Best of all, is the synchronization technology, since you can have a centralized console to manage more than one XG Firewall, this central console, you do not need to be in a VPN to enter your firewall, from the centralized console you can access your equipment without any problem.

Pros

It is very easy to administer, with the best security against attacks on your network, keeping your equipment always updated from any type of attack, the web interface is very friendly in which you can manage any rule to keep your infrastructure more secure.

Cons

There is nothing I don't like about the firewall.

August 2020

sunny from MNP

Company Size: 5,001-10,000 employees

Industry: Computer & Network Security

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

5.0

August 2020

One of the best firewalls

Overall a good investment to protect your network against attacks.

Pros

The product demo was amazing and the team really liked the product. It's easy to implement and comes with number of features.

Cons

based on appliance size if you turn all the features on it can become a bottleneck hence one needs to be very careful.

February 2020

User Profile Picture

Umair Ali from Pak Suzuki Motor Company

Verified Reviewer

Company Size: 1,001-5,000 employees

Industry: Automotive

Time Used: Less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

5.0

February 2020

A cost effective and feature rich UTM

Sophos is one of the best UTM devices in the market and it is a reliable product. we have been using it in our remote offices to control internet traffic and it has never let us down.

Pros

it has all UTM features in a single box like web filtering, IPS, anti-virus, URL filtering, application filtering, VPN and even anti-spam. the GUI is very user friendly and you can easily navigate through basic features without any training or tutorial. the software updates are regular and easy to deploy. web and URL filters are simple and straight forward to apply and works the way you want them to.

Cons

the only drawback is lack of local support in different countries and lack of training material and training centers available to users.

Reasons for Choosing XG Firewall

it was the best solution within our budget

March 2020

Faiza from University of Nottingham

Company Size: 1 employee

Industry: Computer Software

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Functionality

5.0

March 2020

Sophos review

Pros

It doesn't slow my PC and protects it from virus

Cons

I havenot had any issue. This is the best software I have used.

June 2019

Frank from Jeroboam Group

Company Size: 11-50 employees

Industry: Information Technology and Services

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

4.0

Value for money

4.0

Customer support

4.0

Functionality

4.0

June 2019

SOPHOS XG Firewall - Sync Security at its best

Pros

Outstanding Firewall, that allows you to tie in the Sophos Endpoint/Intercept X/EDR solution. To protect your organization from Endpoint to Firewall. The product line has been winning many awards this past year.

Cons

Probably one of the best keep secrets, that once people find out about it, and do a trial. They fall in love with the solution.

July 2019

Dan from Jeroboam Group

Company Size: 11-50 employees

Industry: Information Technology and Services

Time Used: Less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

4.0

Value for money

4.0

Customer support

4.0

Functionality

4.0

July 2019

Sophos XG Firewall

Pros

Sophos XG Firewall ties in very nicely with our Endpoint solution from Sophos, it allows us to utilize Sync-Security, between all the Endpoints and Servers, working directly with the XG Firewall to protect all the managed devices.

Cons

Takes a little time to set up, support does an excellent job of helping and support with any new changes. Once it is up and running you and monitor and maintain everything thru Central.

July 2020

Julio from Formas Inteligentes

Company Size: 51-200 employees

Industry: Printing

Time Used: Less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

4.0

Functionality

4.0

July 2020

Great Firewall

Have Sophos XG and fount it esay of use, very robust in user management, aplication and web filtering, the logs system also work very good.

Pros

Sophos XG has a complete web adn application filtering, also the reports are very usefull.

Cons

like many firewalls, does not work with ultrasurf

February 2020

Anonymous

Verified Reviewer

Company Size: 1,001-5,000 employees

Time Used: Less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

4.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

4.0

Functionality

5.0

February 2020

Security is necessity.

I personally found very good product for my company and my other remote sites for security.

Pros

Protraction from Unknown application and threats & suspicious attacks, Reporting is best (centralized resorting among different firewalls via Sophos iView

Cons

Hanging issue is occurred any time, end user face issues so its hard to resolve quickly.

October 2020

Abhishek from PCRA

Verified Reviewer

Company Size: 51-200 employees

Industry: Oil & Energy

Time Used: Less than 6 months

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Value for money

4.0

Functionality

4.0

October 2020

Sophos XG Firewalls-Elegant security solution

It has been a very steady experience with the device. The UI information is very straightforward with no requirement of going through manual or training. The web filtering also works very well. The box itself is very compact and elegant.

Pros

Easy to use. The interface is clutter-free and clear. Deployment was also very easy.

Cons

As of now, we have not faced any issues or limitations in our day-to-day work.

Reasons for Choosing XG Firewall

Comparatively low price with all required functionalities.

Reasons for Switching to XG Firewall

old and outdated system

September 2019

Sameer from CMG

Company Size: 51-200 employees

Industry: Marketing and Advertising

Time Used: Less than 12 months

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

4.0

Value for money

4.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

4.0

September 2019

Excellent Product

We are using the Sophos firewall with Endpoint protection for the overall security of the IT infrastructure.

Pros

Its an easy to use firewall with excellent support. If you have used Cyberoam before then you will this product similar to use.

Cons

The overall application is good , however you may notice that the device takes time to respond when clicked on an icon. This may improve eventually with firmware upgrades.

June 2020

Anonymous

Verified Reviewer

Company Size: 5,001-10,000 employees

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Value for money

3.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

4.0

June 2020

sophos xg firewall usage

It is a preferable product with ease of use and pricing for computing.

Pros

The cyberoam product, formerly known as Sophos, is a simple product to integrate with other easy-to-use products for the IT department. The interface performance of the system allows you to see everything.

Cons

You can write detailed security rules in Sophos. If you synchronize with the Endpoint product, you will provide even more detailed user security.