All DriveCam Reviews

1-25 of 31 Reviews

Sort by

Reviews are by default sorted by Recommended to software buyers, driven by our proprietary algorithm reflecting the depth and quality of the review, recency of experience, and other factors. As a neutral reviews platform, the star rating of the review is not considered in the "Recommended" ranking, and there is currently no voting mechanism that would allow site visitors to influence the ranking.
User Profile

Igor

Verified reviewer

Logistics and Supply Chain, 1 employee

Used daily for less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra
This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

4

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

5

Reviewed November 2023

Real life footage.

It is very easy to use the quality is great and i can always go back and check the past occurrences

PROS

When accidents happend on the road i can go back and replay and see who's fault it was.

CONS

The worst thing about Drivecam is i have to unplug it every night and if not it drains my batteries

Reason for choosing DriveCam

They had a greatl deal at the time and it was within my price range

Phillip

Transportation/Trucking/Railroad, 501-1,000 employees

Used daily for less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra
This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

4

VALUE FOR MONEY

4

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

5

Reviewed May 2019

Lytx has been a game changer for us

Lytx has been great in communicating and answering any questions. Their Client Success Manager has always been available to answer any questions or direct me to the right person.

PROS

I like the ability to review footage in Live Stream/Video Services. Whenever there is an incident/accident, I'm able to go in a search the date/time in question.

CONS

I would like it to be integrated with a telematics/Hours of Service provider so we don't have to have extra equipment in the trucks, since this information is already being captured in the on board computer system.

Reason for choosing DriveCam

Video Services. The ability to search for recorded video over the competition was the deciding factor.

Gracie

Transportation/Trucking/Railroad, 51-200 employees

Used daily for more than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra
This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

OVERALL RATING:

3

EASE OF USE

3

VALUE FOR MONEY

2

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

1

FUNCTIONALITY

3

Reviewed August 2021

Lytx Cameras are great. Lytx GPS software is awful.

The camera system is great. The GPS system needs lots of improvement. When our contract is up, we will be switching GPS providers, even if they cost more.

PROS

The dash cameras are great. They provide us with exactly what we were wanting. We can see live view of drivers, and if there was an incident it will trigger an alert and let us know.

CONS

The GPS system is awful. I would highly advise against going with them if this is a feature that is important to you. The state mileage tracking is fine because that is tracked a different way, but the GPS system is hard to navigate and understand. The odometer readings are not correct. Also, we installed the camera/gps system. I would highly advise against that as well. It is more difficult than the simple Lytx cameras we had before. And tech support doesn't help at all. They appear to be reading off a script. If your question is not on there, you might as well just try to Google a solution. Customer service is just as bad.

Reason for choosing DriveCam

We thought DriveCam would meet our needs better than the rest.

Reasons for switching to DriveCam

We wanted to combine some of our services together. We had Lytx already for the cameras, but had Nextraq for the GPS.

John

Verified reviewer

Utilities, 501-1,000 employees

Used daily for more than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra
This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

5

FUNCTIONALITY

5

Reviewed May 2019

DriveCam

PROS

Recognize this was the first product that we tested and implemented and we are very happy with it. The software is easy to use, and if I have any questions the support is very fast. Very versatile with reports in different formats. Alerts via email are great, and timely.

CONS

I haven't found anything I don't like. Maybe the only drawback is the laptop version only works with Internet Explorer and not Chrome. Not a show stopper but I do get questions from new users who are used to Chrome.

Vendor Response

Thank you for your review! We heard you regarding browser compatibility. We recently released a redesigned experience that is now mobile-friendly and available from any major browser?including Chrome! Give it a try with your same credentials at https://login.lytx.com/ or contact your account manager for assistance.

Replied June 2019

Henry

Transportation/Trucking/Railroad, 2-10 employees

Used monthly for more than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra
This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

OVERALL RATING:

4

EASE OF USE

4

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

FUNCTIONALITY

4

Reviewed July 2022

Drive Camera

PROS

What I like about the Drive Cam was the ability to pull the SD card and verify what my driver was doing on the road. I liked that I could check and verify accidents that may have happened and the fact that I could check and see if a complaint came in on the actions of the driver to see if the claims were false or accurate.

CONS

What I didnt like is the SD card has to be replaced frequently to ensure it works. I had times I Would check and The SD card would not even work. I am assuming that maybe it overheated due to the defroster in winter or the heat in summer.

Reasons for switching to DriveCam

The ELD company offered it.

Vendor Response

Thank you for taking the time to leave us a review, it means a lot to us!

Replied July 2022

Cory

Consumer Services, 11-50 employees

Used daily for less than 6 months

Review Source
This review was submitted organically. No incentive was offered

OVERALL RATING:

3

EASE OF USE

3

VALUE FOR MONEY

3

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

1

FUNCTIONALITY

3

Reviewed May 2022

Seemingly great product, but cant get it installed to use it.

PROS

the one stop shop for gps, on board cameras, and fleet management. the all in one solution.

CONS

Let me start off by saying, I am not one to leave a review like this, but I am out of options, and want others to know what I dealt with so they can plan accordingly if they need a quick solution. I reached out at the end of 2021, and after some poor communication on my end in the beginning of 2022 due to me being out with covid and then my contact at company having it as well. We got a tentative install date of 02-14-22, then that got moved because of some communication issues that I cannot remember who dropped the ball on that one. then I got an updated quote with all the options I had originally asked for, and was told an install of mid JUNE! Now its a month or few weeks out and I reached out to my sales contact and just wanted to confirm we are still good for install and he told me he would follow up and get back with me. That has been almost two weeks and several follow up emails from me, still nothing. Then I get an email saying my signed DocuSign contract was voided, to which i sent another follow up email and got nothing. All I want is dash cams for my truck with integrated GPS, what do I need to do to get this taken care of. If anyone at the company sees this, please get ahold of me, I run a small business and understand that things happen and people fall thru the cracks, especially in a fast growing company. But I need something in place soon.

Vendor Response

Hi Cory, we apologize for this frustrating experience. If you could please let us know what company you are reaching out from we can have someone follow up with you. You can private message us on Facebook with that information.

Replied May 2022

Rick

Transportation/Trucking/Railroad, 11-50 employees

Used daily for more than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra
This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

OVERALL RATING:

3

EASE OF USE

4

VALUE FOR MONEY

3

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

3

FUNCTIONALITY

3

Reviewed January 2022

Decent Camera, But Just Not For Me

PROS

The actual footage is clear and useful when you need it. The GPS tracking is legit as it allows you to see where your driver is when you need to. Customer service was good and handled issues fairly quickly.

CONS

I had issues with retrieving videos when I needed them. Having to request a video which sometimes took 24 hours to get was not ideal when the camera didn't pick up an accident. When the driver can use the footage to show they weren't at fault that was a real letdown.

Vendor Response

Rick, Thank you for taking the time to leave us a review. We're disappointed to hear that your driver wasn't able to access video footage in their time of need and sincerely apologize. We invite you to email Support@lytx.com with your company name, the best way to contact you, and your case number if you have one. From there we will have someone get in touch with you with more details about your video request.

Replied January 2022

Christian

Verified reviewer

Transportation/Trucking/Railroad, 11-50 employees

Used daily for less than 12 months

Review Source: Capterra
This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

5

Reviewed May 2019

Safety Program Results

I have been able to identify all the problem areas in which driver habits will lead to accidents. Through the video events being shared with the drivers, they have had eye opening reactions to their behaviors. Through the coaching sessions we have been able to dramatically reduce events and have seen positive results with behavior changes.

PROS

I enjoy the easy layout and access to all features. The ability to customize the homescreen and to manage the program features easily. Everything from managing events, people and vehicles, to the reporting features.

CONS

When you click inside a tab you cannot easily go back to the previous screen

Vendor Response

We appreciate your feedback! Our new user experience makes it much easier to navigate. Give it a try with your same credentials at Login.Lytx.com or feel free to contact your account manager for assistance.

Replied June 2019

Sheila

Logistics and Supply Chain, 11-50 employees

Used weekly for less than 12 months

Review Source: Capterra
This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

OVERALL RATING:

4

EASE OF USE

3

VALUE FOR MONEY

4

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

4

Reviewed May 2019

Delivery business using LYTX to monitor safe driving practices

It has definitely come in handy when we had a minor accident. It was originally deemed dual fault but upon looking at the video, it was clear the other driver was at fault. LYTX has also started to help change some bad behaviors among my drivers because it has given me information to discuss with them.

PROS

I love that it automatically records events that are triggered. It has helped me avoid fault in minor accidents. Additionally, I think the drivers are better behaved just knowing someone can log on and see their driving behaviors. It's an effective deterrent for bad and unsafe driving practices.

CONS

The software does not work very well on a mac. I cannot assign drivers or change them unless I call customer service to do it for me. Additionally, although the dashboard looks inviting and easy to maneuver, the tabs aren't as obvious. I have trouble finding exactly what I'm looking for sometimes.

Vendor Response

Thank you for your review! Our new user experience is compatible with Macs, as well as all major browsers. Our system lets you assign and change drivers without the assistance of customer support, and if you're having trouble please contact us so we can help you troubleshoot. www.lytx.com/en-us/support

Replied June 2019

User Profile

Steven

Verified reviewer

Transportation/Trucking/Railroad, 501-1,000 employees

Used weekly for less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra
This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

OVERALL RATING:

4

EASE OF USE

4

VALUE FOR MONEY

4

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

4

FUNCTIONALITY

4

Reviewed July 2021

DriveCam

Very happy and positive.

PROS

This is a great tool to manage your fleet and driver behaviors. You can get ahead of the curve and actually create competition between teams or drivers to see who can get the best score when using this.

CONS

Nothing really it works as expected though not customizable to user needs

Amanda

Transportation/Trucking/Railroad, 201-500 employees

Used daily for less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra
This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

OVERALL RATING:

4

EASE OF USE

4

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

4

Reviewed September 2019

Wonderful

Lytx has helped us determine fault when it comes to MVAs

PROS

easy to use and understand it has up to date technology overall good quality great customer support

CONS

the challenges we have with the software are the triggers and not being able to change them. we should be able to pick and choose our own triggers

Dusty

Transportation/Trucking/Railroad, 51-200 employees

Used weekly for more than 2 years

Review Source
This review was submitted organically. No incentive was offered

OVERALL RATING:

1

EASE OF USE

2

VALUE FOR MONEY

1

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

1

FUNCTIONALITY

2

Reviewed July 2020

Useless in its time of great need.

We have just experienced the single most devastating crash of our history, and can not get any video of it from Lytx. A driver died in this crash. We made multiple attempts to "force upload" the video while on the phone with Lytx, and finally mailed them the camera. They have sent me videos from the day of the crash that occurred before the event, and after the event, but have only vaguely said that it "appears" the camera was without power at the time of the crash. All other electronic devices on the truck functioned during the crash and the truck never lost electrical power. Multiple calls and I am still being told "someone will email me more info" but have made no headway in speaking to anyone in charge.

PROS

Simple, with a degree of privacy offered to the driver

CONS

Only receive a video if the device deems it worth sending. The recording is proprietary to Lytx, which means if there is video on the camera and it will not upload you must send the camera to Lytx to get the videos from it. If you call in with a problem someone is prompt to answer, but when you request to speak to someone else because the problem is not handled you are told they can not transfer or direct you to anyone, but they will send out a case and someone should call you back.....

Reason for choosing DriveCam

Ryder Insurance pushed for the use of this company.

Katie

Business Supplies and Equipment, 11-50 employees

Used daily for less than 2 years

Review Source
This review was submitted organically. No incentive was offered

OVERALL RATING:

1

EASE OF USE

1

VALUE FOR MONEY

1

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

1

FUNCTIONALITY

1

Reviewed May 2022

Abysmal Customer Service, Backordered Products, Do not recommend!

We have been working with Lytx for almost two years now. Unfortunately it has been nothing but a headache. They have continually failed to provide the customer service they promise and their lack of communication leaves us without any assistance or means of handling any issues. They are now backordered over 4 MONTHS on their product, leaving us without any options. The only way out? Pay $45,000 to enter an early termination contract because their company cannot supply the one product they offer. The only choice we have is to either not have dash cams in our vehicles or pay them $45k for failing to fulfill their end of the bargain? If you're a growing company, do not work with Lytx or you'll be just as screwed as we currently are. Lytx, please either provide us units in our vehicles or let us go from the contract.

PROS

Supposedly the ease of installment of the product. That became very apparent it wasn't the case very quickly.

CONS

Customer service. Lack of product. Provided no alternatives.

Karen

Government Administration, 501-1,000 employees

Used daily for more than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra
This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

4

FUNCTIONALITY

5

Reviewed May 2019

Experience with Lytx Drive Cam Program

We have seen a decline in accidents and injuries. Drivers tend to adhere to company policies when they feel that big brother is watching so it's been a good experience thus far.

PROS

It is so very easy to use and I am able to see what my employees are doing to take corrective actions before and prevent a liability or workers comp injury. I am a strong proponent of behavior modification and this program helps me to change undesirable behaviors.

CONS

As with any product, you have to learn it and stay on top of it to obtain the results you are seeking. I always say that the program is as good as the time you invest in it. Sometimes this becomes a challenge with other pressing needs that are demanding attention.

Steven

Food & Beverages, 1,001-5,000 employees

Used daily for more than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra
This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

3

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

5

Reviewed May 2019

Good Program

PROS

What I like about this software is that it has everything we need, from GPS location, everything on the home page, easy to coach events. I have started to use the new user interface and it’s easy and fast. Also when doing a driver coaching session it will give you the history of the driver, and the location where the event happen.

CONS

What I like least from this software is that they don’t have an app for ISO or Android, on the new user interface need to have a search event on the home page. Other than that everything is great.

Mac

Construction, 51-200 employees

Used daily for less than 12 months

Review Source
This review was submitted organically. No incentive was offered

OVERALL RATING:

1

EASE OF USE

3

VALUE FOR MONEY

3

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

1

FUNCTIONALITY

4

Reviewed April 2022

Great technology, Lousy support and fulfillments

PROS

Good technology and their in cab verbal alerts is amazing and a wonderful idea.

CONS

We have about 50 cameras on contract with them and it’s a huge headache dealing with their reps mistakes, from their engineers, level 3 reps and even managers. If your considering purchasing their cameras for your fleet their in cab verbal alerts and technology is amazing but be prepared to be on hold for long periods of time, invoicing errors, headaches, empty manager promises, shipment mistakes and character issues where no one takes responsibility and pushes you off to the next rep only to make more mistakes.

Reason for choosing DriveCam

In cab verbal alerts.

Vendor Response

Hi Mac, thank you for taking the time to provide us with this feedback. We're sorry for the negative customer service you have experienced. We have passed along this feedback to better serve you and other customers in the future.

Replied April 2022

Randy

Food Production, 10,000+ employees

Used daily for more than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra
This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

4

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

5

Reviewed May 2019

Lytx DriveCam Works!

We are reducing accidents and driving down our repair costs. By treating all events as something that needs to be reviewed, not just coachable events, we are able to find patterns that help our drivers improve.

PROS

I love that we can look at the events, respectfully coach and teach our drivers, so that we can be safer tomorrow than we are today. DriveCam give us access into driver behaviors that we never had before.

CONS

There is nothing I like "least" about the software. It has been a game changer for us.

craig

Transportation/Trucking/Railroad, 201-500 employees

Used daily for more than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra
This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

<