All Device Magic Reviews

1-25 of 38 Reviews

Sort by

Reviews are by default sorted by Recommended to software buyers, driven by our proprietary algorithm reflecting the depth and quality of the review, recency of experience, and other factors. As a neutral reviews platform, the star rating of the review is not considered in the "Recommended" ranking, and there is currently no voting mechanism that would allow site visitors to influence the ranking.
User Profile

Keith

Verified reviewer

Construction, 51-200 employees

Used daily for less than 12 months

Review Source: Capterra
This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

5

Reviewed August 2021

Device Magic has been a game changer

Device Magic has been great. [SENSITIVE CONTENT] was the one helping us through implementation and it honestly would not have been as great of an experience without him. He is a rockstar!

PROS

Device Magic has streamlined our inspections and allow us to get our reports to our customers quickly with minimal back office administrative work.

CONS

I would love to be able to fill out forms that our technicians missed or need to re-submit from the back office instead of requiring a new user for this.

Reasons for switching to Device Magic

MobileEyes was limiting our ability to scale and did not give us the opportunity to manage deficiencies like Device Magic.

Jason

Food & Beverages, 11-50 employees

Used daily for less than 12 months

Review Source: Capterra
This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

4

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

5

Reviewed February 2020

Very Pleased with Device Magic!

Device Magic has allowed us to implement a custom built in-house inventory management system, greatly enhancing our data on product flows, and saving us money and allowing greater flexibility than using a packaged software.

PROS

The flexiblity DeviceMagic provides in designing forms as well as "exporting" submissions to various other platforms is of great help to our Company!

CONS

An ability to access forms via web or on a laptop would be helpful.

Reason for choosing Device Magic

Great flexibility with Data Sources for lookup fields, and with exporting to other platforms.

Vendor Response

Hi Jason, Thank you for the positive feedback! I'm delighted to hear how Device Magic's flexibility has allowed your team to tailor the product to your unique business needs. We look forward to helping you continue that enhanced workflow momentum! Regarding form access via the web, it looks like your current plan supports that feature. I'm having our customer success manager reach out to you shortly to chat more about how to accomplish this from your end. Best, Miranda Cheatham, Marketing Program Manager

Replied February 2020

User Profile

Chris

Verified reviewer

Renewables & Environment, 51-200 employees

Used daily for less than 12 months

Review Source: Capterra
This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

OVERALL RATING:

3

EASE OF USE

4

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

4

FUNCTIONALITY

3

Reviewed November 2018

Easy to use, better reports from the field

Device Magic has made it easier for our subcontractors to understand and complete our survey forms. We are getting more complete form than with previous mobile form.

PROS

Easy to set up and edit a form. Simple and intuitive to use in the field. Good feature set

CONS

It has had some bugs recently that have impacted end users. Need to have a better computer / browser interface to manage and view reports from the field.

Vendor Response

Hi Chris, Thanks for sharing how Device Magic has improved survey and report completion for your subcontractors. We appreciate your feedback. We have relayed your message to our support and development teams, and are working to ensure you have the best experience possible. For specific issues, or features you'd like to see in the future, please reach out to our support team. Thanks for being a valued customer! Your Device Magic Team

Replied November 2018

Anonymous

2-10 employees

Used daily for less than 6 months

Review Source: Capterra
This review was submitted organically. No incentive was offered

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

5

FUNCTIONALITY

5

Reviewed October 2022

Device Magic is a data capture marvel, extremely well designed with the real life process in mind.

We had some critical needs, tested several data capture apps all of them have good form creation features and data types. Same as Device Magic has all that basic requirements. What sets apart the Device Magic from the rest. Are the automation after the data collection which removes the need of 1 or 2 workers in the office. Plus the field collection process is really fast, including the great geostamp and timestamp features under the radar. The barcode reader is extremely accurate and super fast. We were amazed by its speed. But the automation process was the critical decision breaker. From creating a pdf, to storing in database to sending emails, all automatically.

PROS

We had some critical needs, tested several data capture apps all of them have good form creation features and data types. Same as Device Magic has all that basic requirements. What sets apart the Device Magic from the rest. Are the automation after the data collection which removes the need of 1 or 2 workers in the office. Plus the field collection process is really fast, including the great geostamp and timestamp features under the radar. The barcode reader is extremely accurate and super fast. We were amazed by its speed. But the automation process was the critical decision breaker. From creating a pdf, to storing in database to sending emails, all automatically.

CONS

Will have to get to this question later on. All we needed was satisfied by Device Magic pretty fast. Will see in full production status, how it goes. IT has some interesting question type for the Entreprise plan a little more expensive.

Reason for choosing Device Magic

I explained everything in the questions above.

Reasons for switching to Device Magic

Because of the automation capabilities and ease of implementation.

User Profile

Victor

Verified reviewer

Food & Beverages, 2-10 employees

Used daily for more than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra
This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

4

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

5

Reviewed September 2019

Replaces Paper in any Industry

My clients in the food industry are finding it first rate for keeping records which are always complete, almost always accurate, and don't use any paper. The more I use it the more I like it.

PROS

Easy to use. Easy to train users. Versatile. Excellent traceability of entries.

CONS

Some of the field options require an in-depth knowledge of how they work - the on-line guidance is often not brilliant. This is a pity, because when you master them you realise what you have been missing.

Reason for choosing Device Magic

I judged Device Magic Mobile Forms was able to fulfil my needs and that it appeared to be going forwards rather than stagnating.

Vendor Response

Victor, We're glad to hear both you and your clients find Device Magic to be first-rate for your record keeping! We also appreciate your feedback around our online support documentation for field options. We want them to be of use to you and other customers looking to customize and automate their processes even further, so we'll take this as an opportunity to revisit and clarify some of our existing how-to guides. Thanks again for taking the time to review our solution! Miranda Cheatham, Marketing Program Manager

Replied September 2019

Anonymous

11-50 employees

Used daily for more than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra
This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

5

Reviewed September 2019

Excellent for Offline Data Collection

Our field service representatives have been able to use this within a variety of places. The offline data collection capabilities are very important in areas where wifi or cell coverage is limited. This includes within buildings, basements, and rural areas.

PROS

The offline data collection capabilities, and the variety of integrations available.

CONS

Some of the integrations are limited. It is a bit more difficult to use 'live' data as a source within the forms.

Reason for choosing Device Magic

No other products existed with offline support.

Vendor Response

Hello, Thank you for your specific, invaluable feedback about our Live Resource options. Our developers follow the lead of your needs and allow these to pave the roadmap for future features, so this is good for us to know. It also sounds like leveraging our offline functionality has been a huge win for your field service representatives. Thanks again for sharing your wonderful review! Miranda Cheatham, Marketing Program Manager

Replied September 2019

Linnea

Wine and Spirits, 51-200 employees

Used daily for more than 2 years

Review Source
This review was submitted organically. No incentive was offered

OVERALL RATING:

4

EASE OF USE

3

VALUE FOR MONEY

3

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

4

Reviewed August 2020

One program replacing potentially many apps

PROS

Creating simple forms is so simple, anyone can do the basics. Because it is so customizable, we use it for all sorts of reporting. Its versatility is the key to this app.

CONS

Google "Live" resources. In the ~2 years we have been using this feature they have never consistently updated. At its best it took almost a full day to see the changes and most of the time I cannot even force a sync. Customer service has tried helping multiple times. I do not like that you cannot edit something after its been sent (and it save in the system). I wish we could fill out forms on the computer.

User Profile

Sofia

Verified reviewer

Used daily for less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra
This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

OVERALL RATING:

4

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

3

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

3

Reviewed April 2018

Since I use of this application, it has been very easy to collect data in the field. The user

The facility to obtain data daily in your hands.

PROS

I really like the fact that the role of administrator is very easy to operate and edit, from the forms and catalogs that are added to the selection components.

CONS

I do not like that it does not support different languages, only English, and that is very limiting for users who do not master it. And I do not like at all that it is not possible to edit the data once it was sent to the server. I think that for the price that is being paid annually, the application should have that option.

Vendor Response

Hi Sofia, We greatly appreciate your honest feedback. I've passed your list of features you'd like to see to our development team.

Replied April 2018

Greg

Oil & Energy, 51-200 employees

Used daily for less than 6 months

Review Source: Capterra
This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

OVERALL RATING:

4

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

4

FUNCTIONALITY

3

Reviewed January 2020

Needs More Enhancements

Very good just want more because they are that good. Great product and great programming of it.

PROS

Easy to use and setup. It opened the doors to fast and easy data collection from workers in the field that only use a tablet or phone for their jobs. Help adoption rate of other software.

CONS

Not fully developed with Salesforce. Multi select list do not work with Salesforce. Objects that have a one-to-many relationship (i.e. Subforms/Repeat Group do not work with sales force. For example I create a new account and have a Subform/Repeat Groups for contacts. Because it's only a one direction connection. The related data or sub data will not be created or connected to their parent.

Reason for choosing Device Magic

Our Salesforce mobile application wasn't working as simplistic as we needed it for users that are not technically savvy.

Vendor Response

Hi Greg, Thank you for your glowing review of Device Magic. I'm thrilled to hear that among the benefits of using our software you've cultivated even stronger adoption of additional software. Our developer team is currently working on refining our Salesforce integration to meet the needs of our users as you've described. We appreciate the specific feedback to help our product grow! Best, Miranda

Replied February 2020

Anonymous

Used weekly for less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra
This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

4

VALUE FOR MONEY

4

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

4

Reviewed April 2018

Transformed our business, helped us create our own field app

PROS

I love the user interface for creating our own forms. We've created an incredibly complex form, where only certain sections even show based on the answers to previous questions. The interface on the field collection time is great too, and keeps getting better.

CONS

We would like the ability to add multiple images at the same time, instead of one at a time. We have to go outside the app to the google drive app to do this. They tell me it's on their roadmap however. Also the user interface for dispatching app is functional, but difficult to use versus the form building tools. Presumably improving the is on the road map as well.

Vendor Response

Hi there, We're so glad to hear that our form builder is working great for you. Yes, we are in the early stages of creating a multiple image question type and updating our interface throughout the dashboard. Be sure to check our monthly newsletters for updates of new product releases, timeframes, and access to beta features!

Replied April 2018

Michael

Business Supplies and Equipment, 51-200 employees

Used daily for more than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra
This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

4

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

5

Reviewed September 2019

Easy to Use, Mostly Easy to Configure!

DMMFs have been a bit of a godsend - we've been able to use them with multiple platforms and the product that DFFM has produced is always a usable, easily queried data set. Our drivers have substantially improved quality of service due to no longer having to use paper copies except in extenuating circumstances and our office and administration staff are much happier about being able to simply receive reports from drivers by E-Mail instead of having to wait for them to actually return from the road. It definitely allows us to quickly address customer needs far more efficiently than previous methods.

PROS

Setting up users and rolling it out to mobile devices is a snap. Once the forms are set up, actually getting users up and running is a job that takes barely minutes - and while that doesn't sound like a big deal, when you're in an industry where phones get damaged or lost or where there's any turn over or new hiring, the ability to get a user up and running in literal minutes is phenomenal. (It takes more time to set up a user's E-Mail than it does to get them on Device Magic!)

CONS

Some features aren't as intuitive as I wish they were - which is weird, considering how much of the software *is* intuitive.

Vendor Response

Michael, Thank you for taking the time to share how positive your experience has been with Device Magic! We're delighted to hear how quickly you've been able to get your users up and running as well as implement your forms. Our developers make updates to the product based on feedback from customers like you. Please do let us know any specific feedback you might have on a certain feature so we may explore that a bit more, together. We appreciate your thorough, thoughtful review and look forward to our continued partnership! Miranda Cheatham, Marketing Program Manager

Replied September 2019

Dan

Mechanical or Industrial Engineering, 2-10 employees

Used daily for more than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra
This review was submitted organically. No incentive was offered

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

5

Reviewed February 2020

Timing Saving at its best

Awesome. It makes filling in checklists a breeze.

PROS

We fill in a lot of information for checking ratings of vehicles in excel and then send the information to device magic so that we don't run the risk of making mistakes because we are doing the same thing over and over. I can also get my clients to sign up for a free account and add me as the email recipient so the data always comes in the same format.

CONS

The vba content in the help is very limited so for someone like myself who is self taught it can be a challenge.

Vendor Response

Hi Dan, I loved reading how Device Magic has simplified your time spent on checklists while eliminating any duplicate entries. We appreciate your feedback around our expressions and formulas in the help center. We're constantly working on these documents to ensure they're reflected in a way that's simple and easy to digest for any user. If you're ever unsure of any content from our help documentation, you can always chat with our support team about any questions in the future. Thanks for allowing us the opportunity to improve!

Replied February 2020

Jeff

Used daily for more than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra
This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

1

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

4

FUNCTIONALITY

5

Reviewed April 2018

Great product but more and more overpriced as other options have become available for less...

PROS

Great user friendly product but needs better reporting on the backend. Also has good customer support.

CONS

Way overpriced already and now you are raising the price. We will start looking for alternatives. Also needs alerts and reporting improved.

Vendor Response

Hi Jeff, We understand the frustrations of price increases, but we are developing new features and a better, fast and more efficient product to make us more valuable to our customers and separate us from the alternatives. The good news is we are in the process of developing a reporting and analytics tool. We will have a beta ready for testing in the next few weeks if you are interested in giving that a try, feel free to reach out to our support team.

Replied April 2018

Peter

Information Technology and Services, 2-10 employees

Used daily for more than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra
This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

5

Reviewed March 2019

Great Software for Capturing Remote Data

Have been using device magic for several years and have never found a better piece of software to manage our mobile data capture.

PROS

Very easy to configure new forms, adapt existing forms for new uses. Very easy to streamline workflows for capturing data from mobile users

CONS

Some of the best features require an enterprise license, this is worth the money but would be better if there was a lower tier with some of them included.

Vendor Response

Peter, Thank you so much for your glowing review of the Device Magic platform! We're absolutely thrilled to hear about your experience and that you've found our software to be the best in class for capturing data remotely. I'm looking forward to sharing this with the rest of the team!

Replied March 2019

Casey

Construction, 11-50 employees

Used weekly for less than 6 months

Review Source: Capterra
This review was submitted organically. No incentive was offered

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

5

Reviewed August 2021

Device Magic- The Highly Customized, Organized Time Saver

We use to take 1 hour in the field and 4-5 hours in the office for a single submission. Then once the project is approved it is another 30 minutes to an hour of time to prepare a project control document. With the implementation of this, I was able to get 3 simple submissions out in 2.5 total hours of office time-which includes the completed project control document already. While saving time, this software creates a streamlined form so no matter who it comes from, it is formatted exactly the same for a more quality output and a more professional appearance. Every piece of information will go where it needs to be without timely double checking. Our field crews have more information then we have ever been able to supply them with- while saving so much time! I have worked with [SENSITIVE CONTENT] who have been incredibly helpful! These two are a winning team who seem eager to push the software as far as it can go with me! I send them lists of changes via email, we have a meeting to discuss any items that were unclear and I receive a new sandbox form to play with with the new changes shortly. This software is helping our business to grow and we cannot wait to see what the future holds for us!

PROS

The biggest pro is not having to type anything more than once. It really cuts all the duplication of effort down to none. Just get the piece of information and input it in the app once and it will go on all the forms that need that information. Our output is 20+ pages with repeat groups, LOADS of conditional logic, signatures, dates, picture input, reference photo integrations and more.

CONS

I would like to be able to re-order items / groups on my own. I am unable to as to not "break" the coding and cause things to not link correctly.

Reason for choosing Device Magic

Offline capability. A lot of our projects are in remote, service-less locations.

Starr

Airlines/Aviation, 2-10 employees

Used daily for less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra
This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

4

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

4

Reviewed July 2018

Great product for data capture from mobile

We have designed our entire data collection model around it

PROS

Power and flexibility in form design and functionality. Form Submission Distribution to backend databases and email notifications is excellent. Speed and reliability. Tech support always very responsive.

CONS

Only the licensing model. We have some devices that we only need to use a few times per year to submit data but need to pay for full license for every device.

Vendor Response

Hi Starr, Thank you for the wonderful review. We are glad to hear we are improving your speed and reliability. As for our licensing, we've recently made changes to our plan structure. Be sure to check in with us to see if there is a new plan that works better for you and your organization. Thanks for being a valued customer! Your Device Magic Team

Replied July 2018

CLAUDIO

Environmental Services, 2-10 employees

Used daily for less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra
This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

5

Reviewed September 2019

Versatile tool that delivers fast results

I discovered this tool through a Google search. I had never heard of it or used anything similar. I quickly learned the essentials to get what I needed. Besides all the ease of use, the tech support team is wonderful. I really recommend using this tool.

PROS

Easy to use tables as a database to enhance the form. The form editor is easy to use.

CONS

So far there was nothing I couldn't do with this tool.

Reason for choosing Device Magic

Lower cost, extensive feature set and ease of offline operation.

Vendor Response

Claudio, Thanks for taking the time to review the Device Magic platform! We're thrilled you've found the form builder to be everything you need for your team to excel in their job. Thank you again for recommending us and especially for highlighting your positive experience with our support team! Miranda Cheatham, Marketing Program Manager

Replied September 2019

Steve

Construction, 201-500 employees

Used daily for less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra
This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE