User Reviews Overview

Ratings Breakdown

5 stars

(8)

8

4 stars

(2)

2

3 stars

(1)

1

2 stars

(0)

0

1 stars

(1)

1

Feature Ratings

Ease-of-use

4.5 / 5

Value for Money

4.5 / 5

Customer Support

5.0 / 5

Functionality

4.5 / 5

Browse Presence Reviews

Filter by:

Sort by:
 

Showing -49 - -38 of 12 results

May 2020

Katie from University of Saint Francis

Company Size: 201-500 employees

Industry: Higher Education

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

5.0

May 2020

Choosing Presence was the best decision we could have made

We began exploring organization management platforms in 2016, and we quickly learned that Presence offered the most comprehensive platform that met our needs. As a combination of an organization management system and student engagement platform, Presence has allowed us to revolutionize the way our student clubs run themselves, how we track and understand student engagement, and how we boost engagement and attendance on campus.

Pros

The customer support experience offered by Presence definitely stands out. Having a personal Happiness Expert who truly understands your institution and its needs helps us get the most out of the platform. From day one of exploring Presence to now, after having been a partner for 3 years, I have always felt personally invested in by their team.

Cons

If I could change one thing about this software, it would be to further develop the app to make it as robust (or more) as the web portal.

Reasons for Choosing Presence

Presence offered the most comprehensive platform that met our institution's needs.

May 2020

Beth from Wabash College

Company Size: 201-500 employees

Industry: Higher Education

Time Used: Less than 6 months

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

5.0

May 2020

Helping connect students, resources, and activities

We wanted to connect students to organizations and activities on campus more seamlessly, allowing them a web presence so that they could find these opportunities more easily. We also wanted to keep better track of which students were getting and staying involved (and importantly, which were not). This system is helping us do a better job and we 're excited to see how this will improve in the future.

Pros

I love how easy it is to generate content that looks professional, is functional for students, and will help to generate student interest in opportunities. The process can be incredibly simple for students to learn and use, definitely increasing their likelihood to engage.

Cons

There's a bit of a learning curve on getting some forms set up (dependent upon the complexity of the form / conditional logic set up).

Reasons for Choosing Presence

We liked that everything that we needed was included, without having to drive up costs due to a la carte features. The training and implementation process was made simpler and more straightforward with Presence than with other products. The reasonable cost coupled with good customer service and support and a host of features that met what we needed really decided it for us.

December 2021

Dean from University of the Pacific

Company Size: 1 employee

Industry: Education Management

Time Used: Less than 12 months

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

1.0

Functionality

1.0

December 2021

Unbearably slow, bugs, unusable

Pros

The front-end design is sleek, and looks good

Cons

However, the speed of the site is unbearably slow. It takes 6-10 seconds to load each page, and the site commonly freezes up without explanation.

May 2020

Angel from LSU Shreveport

Company Size: 201-500 employees

Industry: Higher Education

Time Used: Less than 12 months

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

4.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

4.0

May 2020

Presence has simplified our processes

We have needed to transition from paper records to digital for many years, and Presence was the answer for us. We did not need a complicated platform that was going to overwhelm students and staff. Presence has been straightforward. Also, the staff at Presence genuinely cares about its customers, and higher education advancement in general. They are generous with resources and speak our language.

Pros

The ease of creating custom content (ie forms and events)

Cons

Software sometimes has errors and does not load correctly

Reasons for Choosing Presence

Mobile up did not manage student organization registrations well, and campus labs was too costly, and more than we needed at the time.

Response from Presence

Replied December 2020

Hi Angel, We're really glad you've been able to streamline and digitize your processes with us. Our team loves working with you and are super excited to create more magic on your campus. We're also excited to be resolving some of those errors you mentioned in the coming months. Stay tuned!

May 2020

David from Dallas Baptist University

Company Size: 501-1,000 employees

Industry: Higher Education

Time Used: Less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

5.0

May 2020

The most robust student engagement platform!

Presence has given us a tremendous upgrade to our processes and helped us to be more efficient for student engagement. The data that we can collect and easily display is instrumental in helping keep our budget in tact and even get more funds for the next year since we can show increases in student involvement. The resources that Presence also provides to student affairs professionals is second to none, one stop on their blog is like going to a conference and getting some great insight on current trends in higher education.

Pros

Presence offers multitude of features that we use every day. The form approval process, which lets the flow of app rovers get something pushed through very quickly has given us greater efficiency. Creating and editing a form is very simple and easy for anyone to understand. Another aspect that is a benefit is the amazing customer service. There is always someone available to help you via chat or just a phone call away. We also use all the data and analytics that Presence provides to speak into our goals.

Cons

One thing that could be a benefit to this software is a room reservation piece. With events happening every day on campus, it could be very useful for Presence to have its own room reservation piece. However, we work with a third-party company that helps us and can send people from presence to their site to make that happen. The mobile app is useful but not as practical for students, if they were able to have their digitial ID and be able to submit forms that would be effective for students.

Reasons for Choosing Presence

The price point was lower for the all encompassing features. Other products would require additional fees for each new product. The best thing about Presence is that everything is available to all users.

Response from Presence

Replied December 2020

Hi David, You're making us blush! Of course, we love helping campuses streamline their processes but providing the data that's required to show the value of student affairs and protect budgets is our bread and butter. We couldn't be more excited to partner with you on this. We've made sure to add your suggestions to our list of possible future releases. Looking forward to many more milestones for your campus.

May 2020

Alexander from Manhattanville College- Center for Student Involvement & Leadership

Company Size: 11-50 employees

Industry: Education Management

Time Used: Less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

5.0

May 2020

Changed Our Office/Work!

Having implemented Presence has not only changed our office, but also changed our campus. It has allowed for us to bring the campus together in a cohesive manner to improve communication to all members of our community. In addition, Presence has assumed the role of another staff member within my office which has allowed for us to re-examine our roles within the office to focus on greater initiatives. The team at Presence truly cares about us and constantly pushes us to grow and is always willing to help in whatever way they can!

Pros

Easy and fun interface, user-friendly, variety of customization, levels of permissions, clear articulation of how to navigate platform for basic user, accessibility, seamless integration with business processes, customer service team, budget manager, work flow patterns, self-guided pathways for users Implementing the use of Presence improved our office functions and created automated shortcuts for our work processes. These changes became the base of our office procedures which created new opportunities for us to explore as well as cut down on time and energy spent for various office procedures. Through the schedule feature, we were also able to move to an electronic calendar for programs on campus that can be used via the web or the convenient app

Cons

Not to the fault of Presence, but automated data imports are not supported by our ERM so a manual process is required, but data export to Presence is automated

Response from Presence

Replied December 2020

We'll say it loud for the people in the back. Our campus partners are part of the Presence team! We are driven by the successes of customers like you, Alex. You understand the philosophy of Presence and have been a champion in bringing on your campus. The successes you've had continuously impress us. Thanks for being a part of the family.

May 2020

Sandrine from University of Mary Washington

Company Size: 201-500 employees

Industry: Higher Education

Time Used: Less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

5.0

May 2020

Highly Recommend!

I have been very satisfied with Presence. It has helped us gain a better understanding of student engagement on our campus, which means it has helped our department tell our story better than before. I also appreciate that they are encouraging us to use their software in different ways that will continue to benefit our students, our department, and our university. I can tell they truly care about our success and it is great to feel that support.

Pros

From the start, Presence has continuously impressed me with their customer service. Their staff is so easy to work with, they respond quickly, and it seems like Presence as a company has created a great work environment for their employees. I love the interface, and one of the things I love the most is the analytics piece. It has helped us gather and interpret engagement data so much better than before. We're still learning some of the best practices, and implementing some components of the software, but so far it's been a very positive experience.

Cons

Overall, I appreciate how nimble and current Presence is. They are constantly updating their product and making changes to keep it relevant and productive for our needs. The few concerns we have had are around some aspects that Presence aren't capable of that we were used to with our old software, but the Presence staff has always been willing to explain why it is the way it is. We have also had some technical difficulties with the card swipers, but I think that was more on our end than Presence's.

Reasons for Switching to Presence

It was the end of our OrgSync contract, and as we were not satisfied with that product or the cost, we were looking at other software options.

Response from Presence

Replied December 2020

Hi Sandrine, You really said it better than we could. The data you're collecting through Presence is what's truly needed to tell the student affairs story. And you're right, our team is never satisfied unless our partners are getting the most out of the platform (it's all-inclusive for a reason). As you said, there are a few features that we have chosen not to build but we're proud to be prioritizing what we think will enhance the student experience rather than building for the sake of it. Having said that, we're always open to suggestions for things you think we can improve on! We're pumped to continue working with you and helping you uncover that data.

May 2020

Brandon from St. Olaf College

Company Size: 1,001-5,000 employees

Industry: Higher Education

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

4.0

Value for money

4.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

4.0

May 2020

With Presence, it is about the people.

Overall, we have had a great experience. The hallmark of Presence is their team. Regardless of who I speak or online chat with, I am sure to connect with someone who is kind, personable, and committed to helping us achieve our goals.

Pros

For me, Presence is fresh. In interacting with students who are more and more driven to virtual spaces, having a software that had an energy to it is critical. Presence allows our organizations to do what they need to do with a user interface that is easy to navigate and understand.

Cons

The main frustration that our campus has had with Presence is at times the software can be glitchy or slow. In a go-go-go community like ours, students can easily get hung up on details like that.

Reasons for Choosing Presence

NA

Response from Presence

Replied December 2020

Hi Brandon, You said it best, the team at Presence are united in their passion for helping campuses achieve their goals. This isn't a coincidence, we purposefully hire higher ed professionals who have worked in the field. Beyond that, we consider campus partners like you an extension of the Presence team. You'll also be seeing some of those issues with speed disappearing in the upcoming months.

May 2020

Jamie from Trinity University

Company Size: 501-1,000 employees

Industry: Higher Education

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

4.0

May 2020

Presence platform: great student engagement platform with many uses

Pros

Friendly, helpful staff and easy integration with campus platforms. Intuitive. Helpful data for student engagement purposes.

Cons

It would be extremely helpful to be able to limit some demographic fields from student users for privacy purposes. I know this concept is on a Presence list to consider/develop.

May 2020

Craig from Missouri Southern State University

Company Size: 501-1,000 employees

Industry: Higher Education

Time Used: Less than 12 months

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

4.0

May 2020

MSSU and Presence

Our happiness expert is great to work with. Whenever we come with an idea we’ve never been told no, it’s always how can we do that.

Pros

The data generated by Presence from event check-ins is the biggest value we receive from the software.

Cons

Presence offers all the features we need. The loading speed leaves much to be desired. It takes to long to load a page.

Reasons for Choosing Presence

Cost and data.

Response from Presence

Replied December 2020

Hi Craig, We never shy away from a challenge and like you said, whenever our partners give us new ideas we see it as an opportunity to get creative. You'll be excited to know that page loading times are going to get a speed bump within the next few months and so you'll be able to stay focused on tracking that invaluable data.

May 2020

Christian from University of South Carolina, Aiken

Company Size: 201-500 employees

Industry: Higher Education

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

4.0

Value for money

4.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

5.0

May 2020

My review

very positive

Pros

I like that I can make it how I want it. it is easy to build everything and make it your own and everything is kept all in one place.

Cons

the company is still growing so trying to keep up with everything there is to offer.

May 2020

Jessie from Trevecca Nazarene University

Company Size: 501-1,000 employees

Industry: Higher Education

Time Used: Less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

4.0

Value for money

4.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

4.0

May 2020

Trevecca Nazarene University

Overall I feel it is easy to use and my university could utilize it beyond our current use. We definitely would recommend it to there.

Pros

The product is easy to use and customer service is fantastic!

Cons

The app connected to it could be updated a bit.