All GIMP (GNU Image Manipulation Program) Reviews

1-25 of 3,418 Reviews

Sort by

Reviews are by default sorted by Recommended to software buyers, driven by our proprietary algorithm reflecting the depth and quality of the review, recency of experience, and other factors. As a neutral reviews platform, the star rating of the review is not considered in the "Recommended" ranking, and there is currently no voting mechanism that would allow site visitors to influence the ranking.

Jordan

Retail, 11 - 50 employees

Used less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra
This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

OVERALL RATING:

5

Reviewed July 2022

Incredible option for ad creation without a lot of expense

User Profile

Simon

Verified reviewer

Media Production, 2-10 employees

Used daily for more than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra
This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

4

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

FUNCTIONALITY

5

Reviewed May 2021

Go Open Source! It's a lot easier to run a media start-up.

Being community driven alone makes this product feel so much better. And it has come a long since we first tried it a few years ago. GIMP has evolved as we've learned our way around it. Looking forward to a future with greater updates to the UI and workflow.

PROS

The fact that it can almost do everything that Photoshop can do and for no charge at all - this helped us a ton. We did not have to pay a monthly subscription that over multiple users, adds up to quite a fee. Adding functionality that isn't otherwise provided is easy thanks to a large collection of assorted extensions.

CONS

For all the features it provides, one very important feature is missing. The ability to edit and render CMYK images, without having to run through a few hoops. Since most of our work is for online use, we do not see it as a limitation. But for someone looking at print media work alone, they might have to wait a few months before the official release has this functionality baked in.

Reasons for switching to GIMP (GNU Image Manipulation Program)

Monthly subscription model did not work for us.

User Profile

Nitin

Verified reviewer

Information Technology and Services, 1,001-5,000 employees

Used daily for less than 12 months

Review Source: Capterra
This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

OVERALL RATING:

4

EASE OF USE

4

VALUE FOR MONEY

4

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

4

FUNCTIONALITY

3

Reviewed April 2022

Remarkable easy to use photo editing software for beginners

Overall gimp is nice to have software for designers but its a life savour for deveopers who needs lots of images to add on websites. Its best for linux system and really helpful for developers and beginners.

PROS

Even if it lacks features, I loved that I can import photoshop plugins in gimp and extends its capability. Ultimately it reolace photoshop on Linux system for high end photo editing work. Also its really easy to learn the software even if you don't have any design background.

CONS

For large file size system gets freezed or slowed down. Needs restarting several times resulting frustration. Their online version needs lots of improvements like uploading and exporting multiple formats.

Reasons for switching to GIMP (GNU Image Manipulation Program)

Canva is a freemium online tool that requires premium subscription to export high quality files. Gimp is free to use editing tool and hence made mw switch to this.

JOSEPH

Media Production, 1 employee

Used monthly for more than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra
This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

3

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

3

FUNCTIONALITY

5

Reviewed January 2024

One of the best Intros to Open Source Software

PROS

It's always up to date with the latest and best features.

CONS

It can be a little complicated and overwhelming for a new user.

Reasons for switching to GIMP (GNU Image Manipulation Program)

wanted to see what was available in the FOSS world; pleasantly surprised

Lori

Health, Wellness and Fitness, 51-200 employees

Used monthly for more than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra
This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

5

Reviewed September 2023

Great Image Editing Software

PROS

In a world where something like photoshop costs a fortune this is perfect for the editing we need to do to manage our business website.

CONS

There are none, the program has everything we need.

Reason for choosing GIMP (GNU Image Manipulation Program)

It's a free program and it's substantial. It's not like some free programs that give you limited capabilities. This is a full feature program.

Cindy

Marketing and Advertising, 1 employee

Used daily for less than 12 months

Review Source: Capterra
This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

OVERALL RATING:

3

EASE OF USE

3

VALUE FOR MONEY

3

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

3

FUNCTIONALITY

3

Reviewed January 2024

GIMP Gets the Job Done- For Free

Overall GIMP is an excellent program. Especially since it's free to use.

PROS

Gimp is a very well made FREE alternative to Photo Shop. I downloaded it to use while I was taking a Photo Shop course, and have used it ever since.

CONS

I really wish the had a CMYK colour option. I'm not good with plug ins and extras. I have to use a different program when I'm creating for print rather than online.

Ryan

Fine Art, 1 employee

Used daily for more than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra
This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

OVERALL RATING:

4

EASE OF USE

3

FUNCTIONALITY

4

Reviewed November 2023

GIMP as a cheaper alternative

PROS

That it captures most all of the tools of the major editing outlet for free.

CONS

Having to adjust to the new tools and less features.

Reasons for switching to GIMP (GNU Image Manipulation Program)

Cheaper to maintain while having most of the same gadgets.

Darrel

Sports, 2-10 employees

Used weekly for more than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra
This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

4

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

FUNCTIONALITY

5

Reviewed October 2022

Best Alternative to Adobe Photoshop

Once I got the hang of the software (took a little bit of time switching from Photoshop) I absolutely love it and have no intention of going back.

PROS

Besides the cost (free) I love that it is identical to Photoshop and does everything I need that I used to use Photoshop for

CONS

I had a tough time at first in my switch from Adobe Photoshop as the various tools and such were using different names and icons, but luckily there were plenty of resources online to use for people switching from Photoshop to GIMP. I wish the support provided by GIMP was easier to follow but like I said there are plenty of resources on the internet to help especially YouTube that provides plenty of tutorials from users

Reasons for switching to GIMP (GNU Image Manipulation Program)

Trying to cut down on costs

Autumn

Marketing and Advertising, 51-200 employees

Used daily for less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra
This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

5

Reviewed January 2024

My Go-TO For All Image Editing

I am very satisfied with their service and the variety of tools it provides.

PROS

It is highly accessible and useful for a variety of projects.

CONS

There is a decent learning curve when you haven't used any comparable editing software.

Reasons for switching to GIMP (GNU Image Manipulation Program)

Gimp is more affordable and accessible.

Cassie

Graphic Design, 1 employee

Used daily for less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra
This review was submitted organically. No incentive was offered

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

FUNCTIONALITY

5

Reviewed January 2024

Would Highly Recommend

Gimp was easy to use, versatile, and cost effective to get my own freelance graphic design business going. Quality product and output!

PROS

The cost was so affordable and made it possible to start my own business.

CONS

I do not think there is anything negative I have to say about GIMP.

Anonymous

1 employee

Used monthly for more than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra
This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

OVERALL RATING:

3

EASE OF USE

4

FUNCTIONALITY

3

Reviewed January 2024

An amateur photographer's view on GIMP

PROS

GIMP is easy in use and therefore perfect to make small corrections of photos when you are not familiar with or don't want to spend money on other editing programs such as Adobe Photoshop.

CONS

I don't recommend GIMP when you want to make advanced edits as it is a rather basic program.

RaeAnn

Photography, 2-10 employees

Used weekly for less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra
This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

3

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

5

Reviewed January 2024

Honest Review - my prospective

I use it to make designs for my laser cutter and DTF

PROS

It has some powerful image manipulation tools

CONS

Not very intuitive. At least not for me. It is difficult to learn the flow but when you do it’s pretty powerful.

Oleksandra

Gambling & Casinos, 1,001-5,000 employees

Used monthly for more than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra
This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

3

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

FUNCTIONALITY

5

Reviewed December 2023

Like Photoshop only better

PROS

It fulfills all the requirements I have and is not that difficult to handle

CONS

It's not the easiest to work on - I had to take a course before

User Profile

Tibor

Verified reviewer

Entertainment, 2-10 employees

Used weekly for more than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra
This review was submitted organically. No incentive was offered

OVERALL RATING:

4

EASE OF USE

4

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

4

FUNCTIONALITY

4

Reviewed October 2022

GIMP, a free high standard image editor

We used GIMP for years at the beginning of our business because it was a free app that competes even with some of highest industry standard apps, we only switched to other - paid - apps because additional functions were not available in GIMP and GIMP also has a slow version update time.

PROS

It's FREE! The best thing about it it is free and also has functionalities that are comparable even with the industry leading image and photo editor apps such as Photoshop. Although it does lack some of the additional features other higher standard apps have, this is a great free alternative to others. The app also has a community forum where you can talk to others including the developers, you ask questions and make suggestions, they are always willing to help and listen.

CONS

Updates are kind of slow to happen, new features we read about them on their support sites can take many months until implemented so there is a longer wait time for any new and improved features. Also a bit tedious to install or update, the download and installation steps are a bit complex.

Reason for choosing GIMP (GNU Image Manipulation Program)

Because it was free and had most of the functions Photoshop did.

Anonymous

1 employee

Used daily for less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra
This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

4

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

4

FUNCTIONALITY

5

Reviewed February 2019

Free Photo-shop Alternative

In conclusion, when using Gimp you will learn how to create fantastic site graphics and compelling WEB to graphics. Gimp educational online videos are the best way to learn how to use Gimp.

PROS

GIMP is also known as the GNU Image Manipulation Program. It is a great photo editing program that is stress-free to use. It has a lot of things to do with unlimited options on what to do for a picture to make it look cool. The wonderful thing is, it's free! Advantages, As you can expect, GNU Image Manipulation is used to edit images. This program makes photo editing very enjoyable and easy. Sure, there are essential things you should learn before you become an expert, but when you learn these first tips for beginners, you start with the start of stunning photo editing plans. Unlike photo editing, the GNU image manipulation program can also create small videos and animations. Despite the difficulty of creating these images, they are still fascinating and really fun. GNU Image Manipulation is one of the best images editing software available. All you have to do is go to the GIMP site and download it for free. Gimp is always available and updates are often shown with fun things to do and discover them in the program. Another great thing about GNU Image Manipulation is that you can add new things to the program. Unlike waiting for an updated date, you can go ahead and download some plug-ins from their site right away! Also, you can add different fonts and different brushes to the program to make your photo stand out.

CONS

GIMP has limited 8-bit depth, making it an unexpected choice for professional use in the first place. Gimp has disadvantages when compared to Photoshop in trivial issues the fact that it lacks the advantage of color management and does not provide control layers.

Anonymous

11-50 employees

Used weekly for more than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra
This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

OVERALL RATING:

4

EASE OF USE

2

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

3

FUNCTIONALITY

4

Reviewed April 2019

Lots of capability for no money at all

For business applications, it's hard to recommend GIMP for any serious work. While capable, investing in more user-friendly and functional software would be better overall.

PROS

GIMP is an image manipulation program in the same vein as Adobe Photoshop, with many of the same features and tools to allow you to get very similar results to its more professional counterparts. There are many benefits to being free open source software. On top of serving GIMP for free, the code freely available for viewing and modification. Having many decentralized developers means that many improvements such as features and bug-fixes happen quickly. So long as there are people passionate about the project, development will continue. Also, documentation and tutorials are plentiful for GIMP, as the community for this program is very passionate. Simple searches will yield basic start-up tutorials as well as advanced tutorials for more complicated tasks. GIMP development stagnated for a few years, but with more recent development GIMP has made strides to become more modernized and easy to use. In earlier days of GIMP, it wasn't even possible to draw a circle without a significant number of steps, but this and much more has been added to the program!

CONS

GIMP is not as intuitive as competitors like Photoshop, requiring scripting and additional steps to accomplish certain functions. If you plan to become a designer or graphics artist and need to do image manipulation professionally, then GIMP will hinder your abilities to do so. Software parity is important in the professional world, and while GIMP can handle .PSD files it would be better to just use the first party application that the rest of the industry is using. GIMP gains a lot of leeway for being free, since there is no development being backed by a major company. The UI is comparatively clunky and features less accessible compared to paid alternatives. Do not think that you'll be getting the same results as easily in GIMP as you would in other programs.

Joel

Animation, 1 employee

Used daily for more than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra
This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

5

Reviewed June 2020

Gimp: Illustration and Photo Editing for Everyone

Gimp is a resource with endless possibilities. As an artist I use this program to create textures for character models both in cartoon and realistic styles. I’ve used Gimp to create 2D animations which were later imported into a UI (User Interface). I’ve gone as far as create digital portraits for clients. This software is flexible and reliable and I have continued to use it for over 5 years now.

PROS

As an illustration and image editing program, the advantage that Gimp provides is software that rivals Adobe’s Photoshop. Users can create illustrations from scratch utilizing various brushes and a palette that allows users to manipulate bit depth and color settings such as RGB and CMYK. Gimp can edit several image files including GIFs, PNGs and JPEGs. The program goes a step further and allows users to import PSD files a format native to Photoshop. If a designer cannot access Photoshop and they have a PSD they can resume work in Gimp. Using a drawing or image, 3D modelers and animators can craft tileable textures in Gimp. Users can view the final result without saving over the original file. Lastly additional pros of Gimp are that the program is free to download, it does not require that users log into a service to use it and it can run on lower end computers.

CONS

The program comes with a steep learning curve. There are several buttons and menus that may intimidate first time users. However with time this program can be mastered. Also the Gimp website features several resources to assist in learning the software.

Reasons for switching to GIMP (GNU Image Manipulation Program)

I switched over because no log is necessary to use between computers and it runs on lower end hardware.

Joshua

Fine Art, 2-10 employees

Used daily for more than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra
This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

5

Reviewed February 2022

Doesn't get much better

This software has been a godsend to my art. No more making ten versions of something and then extracting outlines by hand, using hundreds of dollars in expensive colored pencils to adjust an unwanted color scheme, wasting all that time and damaging nerves for what is not a quick selection away.

PROS

Quick tools for removing unwanted colors from images for monochrome printing. It's a huge time and money saver in the tattoo industry. I can pull a full color image and have a basic outline stripped in less than two minutes.

CONS

Text on a path. The bane of my existence is the massive effort it takes to print text on a simple curve in GIMP. It's the ONLY thing I dislike about it.

Reason for choosing GIMP (GNU Image Manipulation Program)

Price and better EULA

Reasons for switching to GIMP (GNU Image Manipulation Program)

Price point and licensing issues with EULA

Martin

Information Technology and Services, 1 employee

Used weekly for more than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra
This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

3

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

4

Reviewed February 2018

Mr

Free Photoshop replacement!

PROS

GIMP can do just about anything Photoshop can do, plus a few of it's own unique tricks. It easily converts between image formats including SVG files, and can read & write Photoshop PSD files. GIMP can also import Photoshop color pallet files. Some examples of GIMP's advanced features include layer styles (various effects that you can apply including shadows, borders, an emboss effect, and more), content-aware resizing (resize background elements without affecting foreground object), face swap, change object colors, cartoonify your photos, and create animated GIFs. Other useful features include red eye removal, make your own watermark, create custom brushes, and remove colors from some objects (like background). There are many useful plugins you can add to extend GIMP's functionality, for example image compression for web, and batch processing for adding a change to many files automatically. The PSPI plugin the adds the ability to use third party Photoshop plugin filters within GIMP on Windows and Linux. There is also GIMP Portable, a no-install, portable version of GIMP. GIMP Portable can be added to a USB key or hard drive drive, letting you bring the image editor with you. You can keep your favorite plugins and brushes with this package in order to have your entire working suite of image tools with you. GIMP is open source and has a large, active community of developers and users. This means GIMP will continue to evolve but will remain free for all.

CONS

As is the case with a lot of free software, some features feel less polished than their commercial counterparts. Some user interface elements may not appear as pixel-perfect as Photoshop, and some interactive features not as smooth. While the GIMP on a Mac feels more stable, the Windows version can be buggy and prone to crashing when using some plugins. The Windows version can also be very slow to start on older PCs, especially when you have a lot of plugins installed. I think the most common critique I've heard about GIMP is the steep learning curve. In my experience, GIMP wasn't really any harder to learn than Photoshop but a lot of users find Photoshop to be more user friendly. In some ways I agree, for example Photoshop seems to be better at guessing where I want to crop an image, or where I'm trying to position a layer so I spend less time fiddling with these controls. Photoshop also feels faster than GIMP when run on the same Windows PC. Loading images, and launching plugins are noticeably slower, although batch processing is at least as fast as Photoshop.

User Profile

Nimanthi

Verified reviewer

Computer & Network Security, 2-10 employees

Used daily for less than 12 months

Review Source: Capterra
This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

OVERALL RATING: