About Service Assistant

Service Assistant is a cloud-based solution designed to help service businesses such as lawn care, landscaping, carpet cleaning, HVAC or pest controllers manage field technicians, create estimates and maintain customer data on a centralized platform. Features include vehicle tracking, route optimization, mapping, call log and invoice processing. 

The application enables organizations to schedule multiple jobs and identify optimal routes for technicians. Marketers can use Service Assistant to promote businesses and connect with customers through emails. Field workers can use mobile devices to access work orders, enter payments details and utilize voice navigation to discover locations. Using the Referral Assistant, customers can also promote services and ...


Read More

Supported Operating System(s):

Web browser (OS agnostic)

32 Reviews of Service Assistant

Average User Ratings

Overall

3.31 / 5 stars

Ease-of-use

3.0

Value for money

3.0

Customer support

3.5

Functionality

3.5

Ratings Snapshot

5 stars

(8)

8

4 stars

(8)

8

3 stars

(6)

6

2 stars

(6)

6

1 stars

(4)

4

Likelihood to Recommend

Not likely

Very likely

Showing 1 - 5 of 32 results

March 2020

Carey from Commercial Turf Fertilization

Company Size: 11-50 employees

Industry: Environmental Services

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

4.0

Value for money

4.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

5.0

March 2020

Extremely In-Depth Lawn Program with MANY Features!!!

We are able to keep such detailed history on our customers, and even better that our technicians can even access that in the field with Mobile Live!

Pros

This software has so many different "layers" that allow you to do so many things. There are tons of reports, on top of everything else it has to offer. It is a huge time-saver for our company, and I can't imagine we would be able to handle the amount of current customers we have without a program like this. We use so many features in the program as well as extended features (CAW for payments only, Mobile Live, Routing...).

Cons

We currently still have SA4, so there are no longer any updates. It is also a VERY complicated program to learn, but sooo worth it!! The technicians at Real Green are wonderful at helping you get through any stumbling blocks you may run into.

Response from RealGreen Systems

Replied March 2020

Thank you for the kind words, Carey!

February 2020

Larry from Lawn Perks Inc.

Verified Reviewer

Company Size: 11-50 employees

Industry: Facilities Services

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

3.0

Value for money

3.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

3.0

February 2020

Overly Complicated

Customer support group is excellent. Why the development group can not, or have chosen not to correct the 2 issues that I just addressed, is beyond me.

Pros

It is fully integrated, customer management software. What it does well, it does very well. Routing work and allowing us segment out customers for marketing purposes.

Cons

Vastly over complicated in how it handles customer deposits. Software does not always apply payments to the invoice number that we type in. It will automatically apply payment to the oldest open invoice, which can cause absolute chaos in our accounting and when we communicate with a customer about an open balance and find out that there last several payments have been applied to the wrong invoice. It sews seeds of doubt in customers' minds as to whether we know what we are doing or not, or if we are somehow trying to take advantage of the. It does little to calm their concerns to tell them that our software program assigned their payment to the wrong invoice. It seems pretty straight forward fix to us. If we type in an invoice number for the payment to be assigned to, assign it there, every time.

Reasons for Choosing Service Assistant

More complete integration re: marketing. Very strong customer support

Response from RealGreen Systems

Replied March 2020

Thank you for the review, Larry! If you're using SA4, your comment on deposits and payments is true. However, SA5 is vastly improved in that area. You can apply payments to specific invoices and services, eliminating any doubt in your customers' minds as to the validity of your accounting and setting your own mind at ease, that everything is as it should be. Contact us for a no-obligation SA5 consultation!

March 2020

David from Custom Lawn & Landscape, Inc.

Company Size: 11-50 employees

Industry: Environmental Services

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

4.0

Value for money

3.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

5.0

March 2020

Good product but needs constant work

It is mixed because there are so many great features, but as I said above, the company tries to be the entire solution to every service business, and it falls quite short in this capacity. Operating a small business myself, I have found that finding what you are great at and focusing on that is the key to success. It seems to me that RG is working awful hard on trying to stretch beyond their wheel-house.

Pros

I like the idea of SA. It does things many other solutions in my industry don't offer. SA manages our customer's services very well. It handles billing and service dispatch very well. It allows us to give nearly instant quotes to many many people in our service area. It is quite accurate with day to day operation based services.

Cons

It doesn't integrate with other marketing software like Hubspot. SA tries to be a marketing company, a printing company, a customer service company, an accounting company, essentially it tries to be too many things. If SA would focus on getting the service scheduling and dispatch and billing 100% correct, I feel like they would easily be the best in the industry. There are often errors when running reports out of SA. Some of the information dispersed through the reports needs to be verified because it is so often incorrect. There are times when the program is slow to operate (web based version). There are some essential features such as entering a day of production, that simply don't work and are not fixed. The scheduling feature doesn't work when trying to schedule 2 services in the same time slot for the same customer which happens frequently in our area. Their marketing solutions are not that good overall.

Reasons for Choosing Service Assistant

The pain of switching would have outweighed the benefits at this time. We're kind of locked in without investing an enormous amount of time and energy into learning a completely new system.

February 2020

Patty from Ricci's Landscape Management

Company Size: 51-200 employees

Industry: Building Materials

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

4.0

Value for money

3.0

Customer support

4.0

Functionality

3.0

February 2020

SA5 Falls a little short for a full service company

The database and customer history is the biggest plus for SA. We have historical data on all of our maintenance customers which makes it super easy to provide maintenance estimates and do contract renewals each year.

Pros

I love that it is internet based and I am able to log in anywhere. The functionality is a big improvement over the SA4 version.

Cons

Reporting is always an issue. For a simple customer list - every time you run the report - you get a different result/number. You clear out the report, start over - and again a different number. It's difficult to provide accurate numbers to your boss when you aren't sure yourself if they are correct. Also - our we are a full service landscape company - and the software cannot handle the landscape division. We need to Create estimates for landscape jobs that will populate each individual plant, flower, tree, shrub, hardscape material, sand, etc.; thousands of different items with pictures of these items too. Unfortunately - SA cannot handle this amount of customization - so we need to use multiple software programs in our company instead of one. One of the BIGGEST nightmares with SA - is that it doesn't play well with QuickBooks. Almost everyone in our industry uses QuickBooks - and it is the biggest pain in the butt - and I mean HUGE that SA doesn't integrate with QuickBooks. In fact - we are actually researching other software programs that will address all of these issues I have listed. Logging time in twice (once in QuickBooks and once in SA), payments, etc. - it's double duty for a lot of items - which is a big waste of admin time.

Response from RealGreen Systems

Replied February 2020

Thank you for your review. We appreciate your candid observations. To clarifyReporting in SA4 and SA5 is robust and offers users multiple ways of viewing their data using filters. If users save their desired data report parameters to favorites, and generate the report from the saved favorite profile and it will generate the same data each time. SA5 has an internal billing system, which functions much like QuickBooks, and allows users to push their general ledger to QuickBooks to create a P&L.

February 2020

Amanda from King GREEN

Company Size: 51-200 employees

Industry: Consumer Services

Time Used: Less than 6 months

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

4.0

Value for money

3.0

Customer support

4.0

Functionality

3.0

February 2020

Good Product, Not 100% Ready

It's a lot more user friendly than SA4, but considering we don't have full functionality it's disheartening.

Pros

The aesthetics of the website and advertised functionality were very appealing during sales pitch. Most of us like the fact we can see a good bit of the customers account information from the Customer Details screen without having to hop from tab to tab like in SA4. The accessibility is convenient as our other branches no longer have to remote in to access a program, but can instead access SA5 from the web.

Cons

There are several tasks we're unable to complete in SA5 because it's not an available feature and we're having to resort back to SA4 to do them. Sending statements to Real Green via direct mail through SA5 is unavailable, printing Group Billing Statements with our custom form is unavailable. We also cannot export Route Loose Work report to customer search screen. The speed of SA5 has also posed an issue, in general when entering new estimates/sales as well as posting payments. Lastly, the font size for printed invoices in SA5 is a lot smaller than SA4 and we've had quite a bumpy start trying to get everyone's printer settings formatted properly. Invoices used to also show if another service invoice was printed and that is no longer available. The CALL AHEAD message was a lot larger on the invoice and now it's not.

Response from RealGreen Systems

Replied March 2020

Thank you for the review, Amanda! We're sorry you're experiencing issues becoming accustomed to SA5's updated screens and workflows. Real Green will pull statement files for users for processing. This functionality should be available soon. To export 'loose work' to the customer screen, users may generate the Unserviced Report and export. Our Customer Support team can jump on a quick call regarding how to post payments and enter new estimates and sales. It's a more straightforward process in SA5 than SA4; however, it may not initially seem so to users due to the updated workflows and screens. If users were using highly customized forms and type sizes when printing, unfortunately, many of those settings were not transferrable and do have to be reset during the initial run; however, once saved should remain intact.