ChangeGear Software Reviews

ChangeGear Software Reviews

Find out more:

Find out more:

User Review Highlights

Overall Rating

3.97

Ratings Breakdown

Secondary Ratings

Ease-of-use

4

Customer Support

4

Value for money

4

Functionality

4

  • icon"The software is also easy to maintain. It's pretty much set it and forget it other than licensing changes each year."
  • icon"I like the functionality. We used it for helpdesk and change management, worked great in both scenarios."
  • icon"The licensing model is flexible and can scale easily. We selected the combine both the single user and site license option and this work great for our It team of 300+ users."
  • icon"Every single time I try to do anything my tickets end up getting incorrectly assigned or routed. No one seems to understand the logic of their workflow."
  • icon"There are no error messages when two technicians are in the same ticket trying to update the ticket."
  • icon"Email connector service has broke at least 3 times and its currently been down for a week. Now we cannot close or edit tickets so its nearly impossible to track our work."

All ChangeGear Reviews

1-25 of 50 Reviews

Sort by

Reviews are by default sorted by Recommended to software buyers, driven by our proprietary algorithm reflecting the depth and quality of the review, recency of experience, and other factors. As a neutral reviews platform, the star rating of the review is not considered in the "Recommended" ranking, and there is currently no voting mechanism that would allow site visitors to influence the ranking.

praveen

Company size: 1,001 - 5,000 employees

Time used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra

This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

October 2021

change gear ticketing system

User Profile

David

Verified reviewer

Time used: Less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra

This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

5

December 2017

Excellent Customer Service Throughout The Entire Process Of Implementing ChangeGear!

Our Change Management process was over-hauled and we now have the tools in place to track/manage our changes. End Users now have a knowledge base they can access to assist in resolving their own issues. The email notification and rules within the Email Connector allow tickets to be worked/processed/closed all through email responses. The use of the Service Catalog allows the End User to enter tickets and decide from a list of our services what they actually need to be able to efficiently do their jobs.

Pros

Everything. ChangeGear has made an immediate impact in our facility by allowing us to create relationships between different ticket types, engage with the End User via Self Service/Surveys and has allowed us to enhance our Change Management process. We now have a Service Catalog that details our services and is published to our Customers. The ability to customize the ChangeGear application to meet our environment made the implementation process very smooth. The Sales team did a great job in meeting our financial needs as well as facilitating a smooth transition to the implementation team. The implementation team was quick to answer questions and ensure our initial setup/installment was flawless. The Professional Services Team has been informative and patient while configuring the application and teaching our technical lead. The Support Team has been courteous and diligent in making sure any issue is resolved quickly. Access to their Self Service Portal provides a multitude of knowledge base articles that allows me as a customer to resolve many of our issues by myself.

Cons

There are no error messages when two technicians are in the same ticket trying to update the ticket. Sometimes you cannot find exactly what you are looking for in their Knowledge Base but a submitting a ticket to their support team will get you the answers you need to any issue you might encounter. The user manual and administrator manual can lack information; however, what you don't find there you can find in MySunviewSoftware Support KB articles. The manuals need the screenshots updated as well.

Anonymous

Company size: 5,001-10,000 employees

Time used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra

This review was submitted organically. No incentive was offered

EASE OF USE

4

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

4

FUNCTIONALITY

5

February 2021

change gear ticketing system

goof

Pros

easy to understand the flow and good in getting alerts and notifications .very good as a ticketing system

Cons

upgrade from 6 to 8 6 is 32 bit and 8 is 64 bit move to 7 and then 8

Laetitia

Company size: 10,000+ employees

Industry: Hospital & Health Care

Time used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra

This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

EASE OF USE

3

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

3

FUNCTIONALITY

3

December 2019

Functionality

Considering our budget constraints, ChangeGear is currently a great tool for our organization. We are exited about the new and improved service catalog module.

Pros

Compared to other ITSM tool, ChangeGear very cost-effective. The licensing model is flexible and can scale easily. We selected the combine both the single user and site license option and this work great for our It team of 300+ users. The platform aligns with the ITIL framework so integrating the tool with our ITIL processes (Change, Incident, Problem Management, Service Request fulfillment, etc ) did not require any customization.

Cons

The Task functionality can be improved. We are experiencing some barriers with reporting of tasks. The other challenge is that we can only apply 1 SLA to tickets ( for example, we can only apply the Response Time SLA OR Resolution Time to incident tickets. Not both)

Reasons for choosing ChangeGear

Cost and simplicity of licensing and support models.

Charles

Verified reviewer

Company size: 501-1,000 employees

Industry: Government Administration

Time used: Less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra

EASE OF USE

4

VALUE FOR MONEY

4

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

5

March 2019

Daily User Review

Overall, we are extremely pleased with the software. The support staff and professional services are always on top of their game. When there is a problem, follow-up is quick and resolution comes shortly afterwards. Highly professional across the board. If you meet them at a conference, they are pleasant to work with on your issues and always open to suggestions. It's nice to know that there is a good team behind the product.

Pros

There is plenty out-of-the-box forms that follow ITIL standards which made it helpful for our organization to jump start into it. The simple end-user front-end, the Self Service Portal, makes users feel comfortable with entering requests without the need to look over complicated. We have had no complaints from our end users about the product. It is very "easy on the eyes" with a clear and precise web interface for our service desk technicians. The knowledge base along with the smart technology makes it easy for technicians to find resolutions much quicker than in the past.

Cons

Customization can be a challenge. Creating forms is rather clumsy and if you make a mistake, it takes some time to correct it. Updating from one version to another is also challenging since it is an update in place and not a migration. There is a roadmap where this will be updated in a future release of ChangeGear.

Jonathan

Company size: 501-1,000 employees

Industry: Utilities

Time used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

4

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

4

FUNCTIONALITY

4

April 2019

ChangeGear Product Review

We use ChangeGear for the primarily application within our Business Technology group (IR, RFC, CMDB). Since having a stable and very utilized product within BT, we have started to development the application for various other business units around the organization. Overall, ChangeGear has been a great tool for NWE and we plan on growing the use of the application in the future.

Pros

Great, easy to use tool that provides customization capabilities to fit almost any business need.

Cons

Transport structure and method between environments (DEV, TST, PRD). OID's and other configuration seem to get misaligned which causes the testing team to always have to perform thorough testing, even with the most simple changes.

Safi

Company size: 201-500 employees

Industry: Financial Services

Time used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra

This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

EASE OF USE

1

VALUE FOR MONEY

3

FUNCTIONALITY

2

February 2019

Change Gear

I think software can be used effectively if configured in its full capacity. The customization is nice but requires a dedicated person which e do not have the resources for. I like the features but did not have time to learn how to make the best use of it.

Pros

ITIL format... that has came handy for us. Service Request to problem Solving to RFC part is nice. Customization is nice as well.

Cons

Learning curve.. It requires dedication and set up. Probably better to have the vendor set it up for you. Also software is latent so difficult to use in a high speed work environment.

Nicole

Company size: 501-1,000 employees

Industry: Paper & Forest Products

Time used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra

EASE OF USE

4

VALUE FOR MONEY

4

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

4

FUNCTIONALITY

4

June 2018

Great Product and Great Customer Service

We are better able to manage our incidents, service requests and changes.

Pros

ChangeGear is easy to use and customize for our needs and anytime I have had to contact Customer Support I have gotten quick knowledgeable responses and resolutions to my issues. SunView listens to their customers suggestions and is continually working to improve the product.

Cons

There is not really anything that we dislike about the ChangeGear product or services provided by Sunview.

Jean

Company size: 1,001-5,000 employees

Industry: Utilities

Time used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra

EASE OF USE

4

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

4

FUNCTIONALITY

4

April 2019

ChangeGear

Our overall experience with the software is great. The vendor is a valued business partner and is always making improvements and asking how they can be better.

Pros

The self service portal for our customers is very well received.

Cons

The version that we are currently on makes it difficult for Service Desk staff to know what is in their workload, but the next version of the software is changing this.

User Profile

Aaron

Verified reviewer

Company size: 501-1,000 employees

Industry: Financial Services

Time used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra

EASE OF USE

4

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

5

December 2017

Flexible software that will meet your needs quickly

Tracking of all Incidents, Requests, Problems, and Changes in our environments is easy to track and report upon. I'm able to take requests from our business and turn out solutions quickly and efficiently.

Pros

The software is very flexible in what it can do, allowing us to meet business demands quickly and efficiently in an ever changing environment.

Cons

The automation for forms could be streamlined some more, but this appears to be an issue that will disappear, as with each release they're improving the automation.

Anonymous

Company size: 501-1,000 employees

Time used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra

This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

EASE OF USE

3

VALUE FOR MONEY

2

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

1

FUNCTIONALITY

3

June 2018

Don't judge a book by its cover

Pros

Very impressive looking user interface. From the ITSM standpoint, all expected functionality is present.

Cons

The biggest struggle was the implementation and the post sales support. It seemed that the folks doing the implementation weren't as experienced as i would have expected. The technical support is sub-par. Software is buggy.

User Profile

Tylene

Verified reviewer

Company size: 1,001-5,000 employees

Industry: Education Management

Time used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra

EASE OF USE

3

VALUE FOR MONEY

4

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

3

FUNCTIONALITY

5

June 2019

ChangeGear in K12 Environment

Pros

It is very versatile and IF you know what you are doing, could handle just about any scenario.

Cons

Unless we have a lot of money for services, for a typical technology user, the software is very complex. K12 environments don't have the money or resources to get the most out of this software.

Anonymous

Company size: 1,001-5,000 employees

Time used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

4

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

3

FUNCTIONALITY

3

April 2019

ChangeGear - it's good enough

Pros

Ease of use. Creating incident tickets is quick and intuitive.

Cons

Customer support. the only time I hear from my support contact is at renewal time.

Ben

Company size: 501-1,000 employees

Industry: Business Supplies and Equipment

Time used: Less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

5

October 2016

ChangeGear - Great Product Delivered by a Great Company

My company has been using ChangeGear for approximately two years. We love the product's ease of use, administration and feature sets. The initial price tag was VERY competitive. We found that the product can deliver Enterprise level capabilities at the price point of a typical SMB product. The support of the product has been great when we have to use it (which is almost never). They deliver the product in many forms including Public cloud, Hybrid or on-premise. SunView is highly committed to product development as evidenced by the latest features inherent to ChangeGear v7. Many would consider them a visionary or leading-edge company in the ITSM industry. SunView is also easy to do business with and you will be treated like a family member. Go just buy it. You won't look back.

Pros

Ease of use (for end-users and agents/admins alike) Ease of administration Feature sets Flexibilty of installation (Cloud, Hybrid, On-Premise) Pricing Ease of configuration

Cons

Remote manageability of certain features on full Public Cloud instance (requiring SunView support to interact)

Brandon

Company size: 1,001-5,000 employees

Industry: Utilities

Time used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

5

March 2019

Easy to manage a manipulate

We came from a paper change process before but change gear allowed us to move to digital approvals with an audit trail and a centralized place to store evidence for every change that takes place. Overall, from approval to completion the time it takes is nothing like it was before. We get results instantly.

Pros

I can configure everything in the change management system from the GUI to the backend workflows. Change gear is by far one of the most stable out of the box experiences i have come across.

Cons

The reporting could be a little more detailed out of the box to make compliance easier to manage. although Sunview provided us with a SSRS plugin to give us the details we need to meet our compliance requirements.

Pam

Company size: 1,001-5,000 employees

Industry: Higher Education

Time used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

5

January 2018

We would have