All FileWave Reviews

1-25 of 38 Reviews

Sort by

Reviews are by default sorted by Recommended to software buyers, driven by our proprietary algorithm reflecting the depth and quality of the review, recency of experience, and other factors. As a neutral reviews platform, the star rating of the review is not considered in the "Recommended" ranking, and there is currently no voting mechanism that would allow site visitors to influence the ranking.
User Profile

Mirko

Verified reviewer

Media Production, 11-50 employees

Used daily for less than 12 months

Review Source: Capterra
This reviewer was invited by the software vendor to submit an honest review.

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

4

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

5

Reviewed January 2019

A new way of our “deployment-thinking”! And still a great choice...

Our impressions on FileWave: Sureley it is all about technology. But we are only a small team of 5 admins for all our apple clients. So we need a strong partner with an outstanding support. 
This includes various in-house and almost worldwide (even if only sporadically) departments with several demands on software, settings and needs. Before the decision to FileWave, various adjustments were only possible to a limited extent and with considerable effort. It already started with an elaborate process to create, test, re-adapt, and distribute packages to the right places. Without a meaningful booster process in a DMZ this was hardly possible. We can now finally rethink - filesets replace the time-consuming use of packages in almost allplaces. And this in a mostly simple but always complex way to expand. Includes all software, preferences, setting, access permissions and pre-post-whatever scripts. Thus complex installations can be summarized wonderful simply and still be arranged in individually. 
This was one of the outstanding features of Filewave, as it saves us a lot of time and takes our thinking about the distribution of needs of all kinds to a new level. Second: With the booster technology, we now have access to all our employees, no matter where, at what time or in what network. The Internet is all it takes for our IT to act. For changes and updates of security settings and innovations of our production software, this procedure is unremitting and gives us an time advance

PROS


Self-service and kiosk - in the future we will increasingly focus on supporting the end users in their independence. With a well-structured self-service and an IT-supported kiosk, end users should have more control. 
 DEP - the integrated DEP Manager will support us in the introduction of DEP with new and"old" devices and will facilitate the initial inclusion of new hardware in our client management. 
FileVault Key Management - We are already using Institutional Recovery Keys, but want touse the personal key solution in FileWave in the future. 
 License Management - For administrative overviews of compliance reports, we will useFileWave in the future. This gives our administrators a quick overview of the licenserequirements. 
with our external procurement solution including various release processes, license softwareshould be automatically made available to authorized persons in addition to the previousmostly free software. 
 MDM - In addition to the daily challenge of smaller requirements, we will continue to expandthe DEP integration with FileWave and guarantee a smooth integration of the iOS devices. 
 Network - Exchange with other IT colleagues from other companies to get to know manyother possibilities. In many cases the problems are comparable, the solution does not always have to be reinvented.

CONS

I am just worried about the fact, that it took us such a long time for choosing this product.

Bert

Computer Software, 51-200 employees

Used daily for more than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

5

Reviewed July 2020

Must Have for a hybrid environment

Overall the experience with FileWave and their staff have been a good experience. Their solutions engineers and professional services team have went above and beyond to help us get to where we need to be for device management.

PROS

Being able to manage Windows, macOS, and iOS devices with one tool was a must. Being able to enroll machines with Apple's DEP into FileWave and enroll Windows machines with Group Policy made it a very easy deployment. It was instrumental in helping us achieve a fully remote-work environment to be able to deploy software, and gather device information from their Custom Field features.

CONS

Having a cloud based administrative portal would be a huge plus. There is some scripting knowledge that is needed in order to accomplish the things you want to do with Windows machines, as there is no native "profile manager" or GPO-like menu like for macOS.

Reason for choosing FileWave

We chose FileWave because it can manage both operating systems used in our environment and the cost was very comparable to either vendor.

Matt

Design, 51-200 employees

Used daily for more than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra
This review was submitted organically. No incentive was offered

OVERALL RATING:

2

EASE OF USE

1

VALUE FOR MONEY

3

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

1

FUNCTIONALITY

2

Reviewed May 2022

A buggy and directionless mess

We purchased FileWave because we needed a cross-platform endpoint management solution for our environment, and it was less expensive than other options at the time. Plus, we were forced to look for a new solution after our former one, "Absolute Manage" was discontinued, and several engineers for that product reportedly ended up working with FileWave. After basic deployment was finished and we began shutting down our Absolute Manage services, the issues started adding up. Basic client information missing, inability to customize display, issues with duplicated clients, issues with MDM enrollment &/or profile installation for new devices...the list of issues over the years is longer than I can even summon in my head. We've begrudgingly been able to customize the product over the years to do the basic things you might want from an endpoint management software, but the number of outstanding issues is still significant. Support sessions frequently involve rescheduling at the last minute or joining a session only to sit for 10-15 minutes with nothing happening, or watching a support technician flounder around in the CLI, checking in with their team to figure out how to run commands... Basic things will occasionally break or get replaced with options purchased from other vendors (such as the remote session 'Observe' function being replaced with TeamViewer, which requires more money if you want to license more than the 2 users granted to each FileWave deployment).

PROS

Cross-platform (Windows, macOS, iOS, tvOS)

CONS

BUGS, ENDLESS BUGS, with no 'Known issues' documents published Very little is ready "out of the box" - prepare to build all automation/commonly-used information items yourself Support is SLOW and lackluster at best Product development is slow and generally problematic with each release

Reason for choosing FileWave

Cross-platform capabilities, cost

Reasons for switching to FileWave

Product discontinued

Ben

Education Management, 10,000+ employees

Used daily for less than 12 months

Review Source: Capterra
This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

OVERALL RATING:

4

EASE OF USE

4

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

5

Reviewed January 2022

Filewave, the technicians tool

We have had a great experience, I would definitely recommend

PROS

there's not some overly built GUI with flashy colors, but i've found nost anything I want to do MDM wise, you can make it happen, and usually there are several ways you can make it happen depending on what you need. I love the customization. I built my device hierarchy from nothing and have been able to confugre how I want to see things, add custom fields, multiple locations, etc etc.

CONS

While having that customization is great I do feel as though custom reports are not as readily available as i'm used to, I would like to be able to export device info on spreadsheets when needed and i've had trouble generating specific reports for certain rollouts when needed.

Reason for choosing FileWave

seemed to cover all the bases as far as our needs and the cost per device.

Reasons for switching to FileWave

cost issues

Heidi

Education Management, 51-200 employees

Used daily for more than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra
This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

5

Reviewed September 2019

FileWave Endpoint Management

FileWave has saved so much time with distributing software, updates and managing our iPads.

PROS

The software is easy to use, it works quickly. Years ago we had to re-image computers to distribute updates. With FileWave, you just create the file set and update the model, off it goes to all of the client devices. It is a top quality MDM and makes managing iPads a breeze. Another nice feature is device location. Once enrolled a device sends a location. It makes locating lost devices easier.

CONS

Honestly, I can't think of anything at the moment. This product has made life so much easier in our department.

Reason for choosing FileWave

Recommendations from other school districts convinced us FileWave was the best product for our needs.

Jeffrey

Education Management, 201-500 employees

Used weekly for less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra
This review was submitted organically. No incentive was offered

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

5

Reviewed June 2020

Awesome software for IOS

The software has been a real help in managing our iPads in one place without the need to touch devices. Long as a device has internet I can manage it from anywhere.

PROS

The ability to manage IOS updates and software in one place over the internet without the need to touch devices again after initial setup.

CONS

There is a setting that allows the name of the devices to be in the middle of the lock screen which is easier to read that isn't available with Filewave. Filewave does allow for the name at the bottom of the lock screen but it is smaller and harder to read. Not a deal breaker and users have adapted :)

Reason for choosing FileWave

The biggest reason for the choice of Filewave was the ability to control IOS updates for us. We use software on the iPads for speech and when IOS updates happen before testing can be done it causes problems. At the time when we purchased Filewave none of the other companies had a really good way of doing this.

User Profile

Terry

Verified reviewer

Higher Education, 1,001-5,000 employees

Used daily for more than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra

OVERALL RATING:

4

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

4

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

4

Reviewed June 2020

Filewave helps make System Management easier.....

Filewave Management has drastically cut down our time in all areas of system management. We can now be more productive and more engaged with our end users, & it enables us to be able to no longer dread putting some features into the hands of the users. We can now trust our users to do their updates, download their necessary software, and yet still have the granular control we need over our deployed technology. Overall, we are very happy with Filewave!!

PROS

The Filewave Management Tools make it easy to implement and update technology in our district with ease. The ability to set up filesets, schedule updates, and push out features to users who need it is a blessing, and cuts down on the amount of run around we normally use to do, having to touch each device, some times two or three times. With Filewave and ASM, we have gotten our Mac and iPad fleet down to zero touch management, and can deploy and re-deploy machines as needed in less than 4 hours, most times at about 2 hours easily. And we can also support our users at home, by supplying updates via the App Portal for them to Self-Service update their machines.

CONS

There are aspects that could be approved, which I see some of which Filewave is actively working on. But the four BIGGEST things I personally would like to see are: (1) the ability to color code filesets, so that our junior admins can know at a glance which items are CRITICAL and which are MEDIUM and LOW Priority items; (2) the ability to Duplicate Filesets within the Filesets window, (3) the ability to manage or remove duplicates without the need for scripting and (4) the ability to lock users into updating their machines, as we still have a few stubborn users who keep using the 2 hour delay button repeatedly. IT would be nice to just give users ONE CHANCE at the two hour delay, and then after they use that one time, be locked into having to do their update.

Reason for choosing FileWave

Cost per Device, Support Contract.

Anonymous

51-200 employees

Used daily for more than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra
This reviewer was invited by the software vendor to submit an honest review.

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

5

Reviewed December 2018

Filewave is the complete device management suite for multi platforms.

FileWave is the all in one Swiss army knife of device management tools. We chose this product because of its ability to help us with managing our iPads, MacBooks and Windows PC's. The support and leadership are also the reason our company chose FileWave. They really listen to the customer and want to make the experience a positive one. They believe the product is the what makes "IT the Easy Button". In many ways FileWave has done that for us. I am not sure how we could manage over one thousand devices on a daily basis with out it!

PROS

The fact that we can manage all devices from a single pane of glass is the key. Working with PC's, Macs, iOS, Android, Chrome devices makes this product above any other. I can manage devices, distribute packages and patches, I can remote into a device and run queries on device performance. What more do you need!

CONS

I have not had any issues that would warrant a negative response. The support team is great and would take care of any concerns.

Anonymous

201-500 employees

Used daily for more than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra
This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

OVERALL RATING:

4

EASE OF USE

3

VALUE FOR MONEY

4

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

4

Reviewed January 2019

Filewave claims to do it all, and it does...not everything well

Overall a mixed bag of useful and painful. Could have used better advice for setup such as what hardware/server OS to use. Apple is to blame for a lot of any issues we've had, Filewave stays up to date and has the best support I've ever dealt with.

PROS

I like the versatility of Mac or PC management. I like remotely pushing out software, to whichever computers I want...makes managing over 10k computers a LOT easier.

CONS

Sometimes slow, sometimes installs software without any reason visible (hard to see what is going to be installed on certain clients because of hierarchies of folders). Should have an easier way to create software packages to push out (like Ninite).

Vendor Response

Thank you for providing your review of our software. We are always pleased to hear about how helpful our Support team is - they truly are a great group. Please keep giving us your feedback about your experience and be sure to let us know if we can help with any Apple-related issues.

Replied February 2019

User Profile

Jeffrey

Verified reviewer

Religious Institutions, 51-200 employees

Used daily for more than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra
This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

5

Reviewed January 2019

Ultimate Flexibility

3-year FW user with experience using the platform to manage a complex environment across 6 campuses.

PROS

Filewave allows the LCSS technology department to respond in real time to the various challenges we face. From creating new filesets to deploy necessary programs to modifying user settings, Filewave truly does it all. I've found the platform to be user-friendly and the Filewave support team to be knowledgable, patient, and thorough.

CONS

Continued buildout of the knowledge base and documentation of best practices for administration would be appreciated.

Michael

Education Management, 1,001-5,000 employees

Used daily for more than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra
This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

OVERALL RATING:

4

EASE OF USE

3

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

4

Reviewed January 2019

For what you pay -- Great Software

There are 2 of us in charge of administering FileWave at our company. One guy is over the Apple side of things and I take care of the Microsoft side of things. Both of us like Filewave though we both are learning new things everyday. The pricing of the program was the last consideration we looked at, but I must say that it was what swayed us to go with Filewave. There are other MDMs out there that are better and more intuitive, but they are all triple the cost. For the price, you can't go wrong with Filewave.

PROS

The WYSYWIG GUI is easy to navigate and gives you the ability to create custom folder groupings for organizing your devices. The fact that we can manage PCs, Macs, and iOS devices from one tool gives a price advantage of not having to buy and maintain multiple managements programs. The "Observe Client" feature is super handy to remote into and control Macs and PCs. One super feature is the "Magic Fileset" feature that allows you to create filesets using only the changes a program or file makes in a device when installed or transferred. I'm not a great scripter, so this feature helps a lot. Now, you are able to include scripts that can be activated pre, during, and post flight of a fileset. The imaging works fairly smoothly if you can figure out what all you can get away with in Windows 10 that won't prevent sys-prepping. The ability to have boosters to aid the main Filewave server allows you to maintain relatively large architectures. Their support team is prompt and will go step-by-step with you to resolve issues. I like how you can set up multiple users and give specific levels of permission to each user.

CONS

It seems a little prejudiced on the side of favoring Apple over Microsoft. I am told this will be changing with the transfer to the new CEO. There is a whole lot of documentation, but the online versions are not very user friendly. Again...documentation is light on the Windows side and tends to not be properly and thoroughly updated to the current operating systems. For instance, when I look up how to do a certain item on Windows 10, it will show how to to do it on Windows 7 but say that the same process can be done on Windows 8.1 and 10. Well...maybe it can, but you really need to know Windows in order to make the adjustments since they aren't exactly the same in their processes.

Vendor Response

We're excited to hear about how you're using FileWave to streamline your work with Filesets and other key functionality. Thank you for your honest review - please keep directly providing us your ongoing feedback so we can consider it when developing future updates.

Replied February 2019

Anonymous

1,001-5,000 employees

Used daily for more than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra
This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

OVERALL RATING:

4

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

3

FUNCTIONALITY

5

Reviewed January 2019

Perfect in multiplatform environments!

I find Filewave to be a compelling solution for cross-platform client management. It's reliable at getting software installed and does a good job reporting back client information. I simply wish QA could be improved.

PROS

Filewave does a very good job consolidating all the platforms of devices - iOS, Windows, Chromebooks, macOS. Filewave's foundation is built with a strong Apple focus but has definitely been working over the years to build it's Windows and Chromebook feature set. Also compared to many competitors, I find it to be the most reliable in terms of successfully pushing software to machines.

CONS

QA issues have plagued this software for many years. I've yet to do an upgrade and not have some major functionality break. We try postponing upgrades until the .1 or .2 patch releases typically but often we have no choice in order to get support for latest versions of iOS/macOS.

Vendor Response

Thank you for your honest review. We¿re pleased to hear that you find our multi-platform functionality reliable and effective. We strive to provide the best product with key functionality to coincide with new platform releases on short notice - please keep providing use your direct feedback so we can keep providing the most stable and effective endpoint management solution in the market.

Replied February 2019

Leon

Primary/Secondary Education, 201-500 employees

Used daily for more than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra
This review was submitted organically. No incentive was offered

OVERALL RATING:

3

EASE OF USE

4

VALUE FOR MONEY

3

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

3

FUNCTIONALITY

3

Reviewed October 2020

Less impressed as time passes

It's about time to search for a different product.

PROS

As another reviewer wrote, "when it works, it's great".

CONS

There are several feature requests I've made that just seem too obvious to not already be in place. Reports on fileset status are poor meaning we have very little idea who has gotten the fileset. Vague "Handled by MDM" with no documentation online to understand it. Filesets that cannot be removed from devices--"Upgrade Server" or "Apple's fault". Unable to connect remotely to multiple devices daily. This is one of the most needed features and right now I'd estimate 80% of our remote sessions do not connect.

Reason for choosing FileWave

mostly budgetary

Reasons for switching to FileWave

mostly budgetary

Dan

Graphic Design, 51-200 employees

Used daily for more than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra
This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

5

Reviewed January 2019

Hours Saved = Money Saved

The big issue I was facing was being able to manage all the IT assets as well as being able to setup new machines in a timely manner. Before when I would have to setup a new machine or setup an existing machine, it would take almost 6 man hours because i had to do all the settings manually. Now, All I need to do is take it out of the box, add it to FileWave, designate the machine to a specific group and then FileWave does the rest. It installs all the specific apps and configurations I want. Each machine doesn't have admin access so it's very important that the machines are configured with a standard build across the board. Because of FileWave, I know what each machine has installed on it both hardware and software with a quick glance.

PROS

It's super easy to use. Software updates and patching is now a breeze compared to before. I use to go to each machine manually and spend easily 2 nights just patching. Now I can do it in one night in less than 5 mins. Having the ability to deploy a patch or software update, set a timer on when to deploy and then get a report after it finished... makes life so much easier when it comes to managing IT assets.

CONS

The tracking features could be a bit better.

David

Education Management, 501-1,000 employees

Used weekly for more than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra
This review was submitted organically. No incentive was offered

OVERALL RATING:

4

EASE OF USE

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

5

Reviewed June 2020

Filewave Review

PROS

It functions very well for both iOS and Windows. Plenty of tools and deployment options for both. The remote viewing tool is always incredibly useful, particularly with much of the remote support we're doing in today's environment. The support staff for this product is top notch. The folks I'm paired up with definitely know what they're doing and thankfully I'm not just shuttled off to some third-rate call center who simply read a script and know very little about the product they're working with.

CONS

1) Reliability of service can be an issue. There are always a handful of our Windows machines that stop checking in after a while and it's always when I need to be able to remote connect haha! It's a fairly common occurrence, but I'd wager the total number of PCs it happens to is roughly 3-5%. 2) The constant requirement of updating our Admin server/clients. I just wish the entire update process was so much more seamless. Every. Single. Update. Is. A. Big. Howdayado. I wish I could just press a button (or automatically) and it just does its thing. Like ChromeOS or MalwareBytes Endpoint Protection. 3)

Nick

Education Management, 201-500 employees

Used daily for more than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra
This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

OVERALL RATING:

2

EASE OF USE

4

VALUE FOR MONEY

3

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

3

FUNCTIONALITY

4

Reviewed January 2019

Easy to use, but doesn't always work

When it works, this saves so much time. But when it does not want to install updates properly, then it can be pretty frustrating.

PROS

Making filesets is very easy. The process of making a fileset and deploying it to clients is very self-explanatory.

CONS

We have about 30% of clients that randomly stop checking into our FileWave server, and therefore do not get any updates that we push out. It can be frustrating tracking down ~150 devices every time I have an update to push out to make sure that it lands on their devices properly.

Vendor Response

We are glad to hear that you find Fileset creation and deployment intuitive, and appreciate your candor on the troubles you are facing. We would be happy to help troubleshoot the client-side issue. Please reach out to us through our support portal at https://www.filewave.com/support/alliance-support. Thank you again for your business, and always feel free to provide direct feedback.

Replied February 2019

Mitchell

Education Management, 501-1,000 employees

Used daily for more than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra
This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

OVERALL RATING:

4

EASE OF USE

4

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

4

FUNCTIONALITY