FootPrints Software Reviews

FootPrints Software Reviews

Find out more:

Find out more:

User Review Highlights

Overall Rating

3.42

Ratings Breakdown

Secondary Ratings

Ease-of-use

3.5

Customer Support

3.5

Value for money

3.5

Functionality

3.5

  • icon"Low cost due to the possibility of using named licenses and shared licenses."
  • icon"Ii guess if i had to pick one thing it would be i like the color scheme."
  • icon"System was very easy to use and was easy to navigate. All the bells and whistles that automated processes was extremely beneficial for our company."
  • icon"I dislike the fact that attachments need to be downloaded and opened rather than a double click to open."
  • icon"At first it can seem a little confusing, with a seemingly outdated UI. Even with the recent upgrade to 12, it looks and feels a little dated."
  • icon"Every time there is an issue, ends up it's usually a know defect. There are so many known defects with this garbage software that it causes memory leaks."

Browse all FootPrints Reviews

  • Have you used FootPrints and would like to share your experience with others?
  • Write a Review

Apply Filters:

User Industry

Company Size

Time Used

User Rating

Showing 1 - 25 of 33 reviews

User Profile

Alessandro

Verified reviewer

Company size: 201-500 employees

Industry: Computer Software

Time used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra

This review was submitted organically. No incentive was offered

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

4

FUNCTIONALITY

5

March 2020

Excellent process and project support tool

We acquired Footprints at the bank where I worked in 2004, and they still use that system today. It is used for Basically helping in IT Demand Management processes (Incidents, RFCs, RFSs, etc.). And we quickly discovered that the tool would be useful to support other business processes as well. We then use Footprints in IT Project Management (Footprints forms are super customizable and this was very useful for registering and monitoring projects). It was a happy surprise when we were able to implement Footprints in other departments besides IT, we had not planned this, the IT department won many points for that. Because we had a fast implementation solution and we became one of the main suppliers of operational performance reports (from the different sectors of the company). So we start to used Footprints in the area of Internal Controls and Compliance, where we made forms specialized in these activities and methodologies (5W2H for example). Our Legal department has also adopted the tool. Because the alert configuration features (based on elapsed time or status) worked very well to support their activities, in addition to the feature of recording time spent by activity, for billing of lawyers' hours to be separated by cost center, this was very cool.

Pros

Extremely easy customization of support forms page; We use it in several sectors of the company, such as: IT Infrastructure, IT Projects, Internal Controls, Legal, Compliance, Accounting, Administrative, Customer Service and HR; Low cost due to the possibility of using named licenses and shared licenses; Low hardware cost, you don't need anything dedicated. So, to complete the pros. A good administrator of the tool must know the company's processes, once this professional knows the company's processes, he will have in hand a quick implementation solution (Footprints) to control processes and projects, without having to wait for the development of a software to support such a need.

Cons

As for cons, we can note that the tool is not so easy to integrate and the support team is not very good at suggesting solutions for this. It is important to have a well-trained person who knows the business processes of the company to be able to make the most of Footprints' features. If the company does not have this type of professional, there is a risk of not being able to make good use of the tool. Don't expect Footprints support to offer you a super solution, they usually have a vision limited to technical aspects of the tool, the ideal technical profile to manage this system is someone with some background in IT and who knows business processes well.

Anonymous

Company size: 5,001-10,000 employees

Time used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra

This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

EASE OF USE

4

FUNCTIONALITY

3

July 2022

Dependable

Footprints is reliable and does its job, even if it's a bit old-fashioned and clunky.

Pros

I liked that we could configure forms to request needed information based on request type and details, as well as configure automatic routing to correct teams. Fields and routing were automatically filled out upon selecting specific details. It was nice that we could automatically create tickets from incoming emails to service account mailboxes. Tickets could track time spent working on the issue. Notifications were automatically sent to stakeholders based on status.

Cons

Unable to resend attachments from previous ticket updates. Inadequate size limit on attachments; failure to update by email if attachment exceeded limit. Instructions to reply by email are unclear; if reply message was not precisely formatted, response text is cut from ticket update. Have to take the system down to publish changes or apply updates.

Alvin

Company size: 1,001-5,000 employees

Industry: Education Management

Time used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra

This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

EASE OF USE

4

VALUE FOR MONEY

4

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

4

FUNCTIONALITY

4

October 2022

Footprints helped our Service Desk!

Pros

Great features at a very affordable annual cost, the ease of configuration and customization to fit our needs was well suited for our environment. The number of knowledge base articles and community support was very good.

Cons

The dashboard needs a revamp of it, it looks outdated and not as streamlined as other ITSM solutions. Chat feature needs to be improved on.

Debra

Time used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra

EASE OF USE

2

VALUE FOR MONEY

3

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

3

FUNCTIONALITY

3

May 2017

Footprints 12 was a big step backwards. The interface is much more complex to learn

Pros

I liked Version 11 with five stars but they are dropping support next June 2018. The Escalations that automate processes was also very nice. System was very easy to use and was easy to navigate. All the bells and whistles that automated processes was extremely beneficial for our company. I was really pleased with this product.

Cons

We were pushed into a new version that is basically a shell and you have to create most processes that are pre-built in other products. What was BMC thinking? Up to this version I have always had a great experience. They took away several features that are going to cause us a lot of work, no quick descriptions and no quick actions which was one of the reasons we bought this product. I think their level 1 desk is in India they only take ticket info. What happened to supporting the USA economy?

Response from BMC Software

Hi Debra, it sounds like there has been a miscommunication or misunderstanding here. FootPrints 11 Support We have no plans to end support for FootPrints 11. It is still fully supported. There are also no plans to force anyone to move to FootPrints 12. Tech Support To better support our global customer base, we added capacity in the US, UK, Mexico & India as well as a global triage center to ensure that everyone is served effectively, especially those with severity 1 issues who are routed to the front of the queue during triage. Configuration FootPrints 12 is more powerful & customizable than ever before & includes many automation features. Most customers use FootPrints as their Service Desk & it includes built-in templates for this. If you dont mind, we will follow up with you directly to get more clarity on the support issues and to provide help with configuration.

Replied June 2017

Gerardo

Company size: 11-50 employees

Industry: Information Technology and Services

Time used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra

This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

EASE OF USE

4

VALUE FOR MONEY

4

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

5

October 2022

An excellent Help Desk tool but expensive too

I'm a Footprints user but I have knowledge about IT and there's not a problem for me to use this software but if you don't have IT notion, it could be a problem to use the interface because it is not friendly or intuitive like some other Help Desk softwares.

Pros

The customization level for work areas and dashboards.

Cons

The interface is very cold, ugly, not friendly or intuitive for the end user.

User Profile

Heather

Verified reviewer

Company size: 1,001-5,000 employees

Industry: Transportation/Trucking/Railroad

Time used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra

This review was submitted organically. No incentive was offered

EASE OF USE

3

VALUE FOR MONEY

3

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

4

FUNCTIONALITY

5

November 2018

Not What It Used to Be

Footprints was once a great application, but since being rebuilt for version 12, it has lost much of what made it once so successful. While workspaces are fully customizable, they are built in several 'containers' that must match identically across various parts of the application to connect and function. For example, if you connect it to Active Directory for user authentication, you must create each field you want to appear in the ticket type, in that appropriate workspace, and then create a relationship between them. The navigation is not intuitive and requires quite a bit of digging around to find these settings. Footprints is very flexible, however. If you can think of something, you can probably create it and automate it here. My company was able to use it as a ticketing platform across several departments, each with their own custom fields and features. The reporting is very versatile. It allows you to build nearly any type of chart or graph and export it with the ticket data. They can also be scheduled to send to anyone by email address or user name. My biggest issue is the way attachments are handled mostly because if an attachment is added to a ticket, you cannot add it to outbound email by selecting it. It must be downloaded and uploaded to the ticket a second time as Footprints only sends out attachments on the update when they're added.

Pros

Flexibility and Customizable Functionality Reporting

Cons

Complicated Setup Performance Advanced Searching Attachments

Michael

Time used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra

This review was submitted organically. No incentive was offered

EASE OF USE

1

VALUE FOR MONEY

1

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

1

FUNCTIONALITY

1

November 2017

Version 12 has been the most painful experience in my IT career

Pros

There is very little to like about this product. Ii guess if i had to pick one thing it would be i like the color scheme.

Cons

Support is horrible, there are only a couple (literally two at the time of this review) senior support staff that have any knowledge about this product. The API does not work consistently. Random business rules stop working after a publish and supports only answer is to recreate the rules. We have consistent deadlock errors on the database, we have tracked it down to the table that contains ALL of the relationships for every item in the system. Support says they are looking at it, but we have seen this for about a year now and there is no resolution as of yet. If you don't believe my review, check the BMC communities and look at the idea section for footprints. You will find scads of suggestions about returning out of the box functionality that were in older versions of FP that is missing in v.12.x. The migration was extremely painful it consisted of rebuilding everything from the start and the finished product is in such a bad state that the suggestion about what it would take to go back to version 9 has been discussed. it is not about bad logic in the rules, because when they work, it works. you just don't know what you will have after you publish. BMC needs to rethink what they did to the FP product.

Response from BMC Software

Thank you for sharing this feedback. If you ever have an issue with our support team, please ask to speak to management immediately so we can address it. Our support team has consistently high satisfaction ratings so the experience you describe is not typical nor something we would be happy with. As for the product issues, during a recent visit by one of our partners to your site, we were able to join and conduct an in-depth analysis of your setup. During that evaluation we identified a number of configuration issues and based on those findings we provided several recommendations that your team is in the process of implementing. We are confident that when this is completed you will have a much improved situation. Please reach out to us directly once the work is completed and we will continue to work with you and your team until you are satisfied.

Replied January 2018

Anonymous

Time used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra

This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

EASE OF USE

2

VALUE FOR MONEY

2

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

2

FUNCTIONALITY

3

February 2018

Heavy Use at Wrok

Pros

It functions and allows for a lot of customization. We are using a slightly older version. But being a member of multiple assignee groups is helpful. Assigning different teams as they are needed to a ticket while keeping yourself on is helpful in monitoring the problems completion.

Cons

Dated interface. Slow to respond at times. The need for Java to be installed, but no real use for it. The extra cost of a mobile interface, no mobile app.

Anonymous

Company size: 10,000+ employees

Time used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra

This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

4

April 2019

Solid Ticket Tracking Solution

We have used this software to track helpdesk tickets, system access requests, and change management for many years now and it's overall worked very well with very little trouble. Support when needed has always been great too.

Pros

I like that we've been using it for over 10 years now with not 1 major issue with it.

Cons

The licensing cost seems a little steep I feel like there should be some sort of a discounted price for use over time as well.

User Profile

Jaleel

Verified reviewer

Time used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra

This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

EASE OF USE

3

VALUE FOR MONEY

2

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

3

FUNCTIONALITY

3

July 2018

This is one of a few ticketing systems I've used in my helpdesk career. Nothing special

Pros

customizable fields depending on how the company intends to use it Very lightweight on the client side, in fact so lightweight you can allow your customers to put in their own tickets without a significant lag on their side, or strain server-side.

Cons

Too many fields to populate to get a case started. When it does lag, watch out because there's no autosave feature, or quick save feature

Rocky

Company size: 10,000+ employees

Industry: Automotive

Time used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra

This review was submitted organically. No incentive was offered

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

5

August 2017

For over 3 years, I have administrated multiple BMC FootPrints Service Core workspaces.

FootPrints Service Core is a robust tool that improves efficiency for many departments at O'Reilly Auto with at current total of 22 workspaces. Almost on a daily basis, processes are improved using capabilities FootPrints Service Core offers. The efficiency gains helps the corporate departments accomplish more in less time with streamlined processes. This helps the company save money on payroll for additional corporate employees even though several additional stores are opened each day. We don't have to hire as many people on the corporate level to keep up with the store growth due to the improvements of processes related to this software.

Pros

Footprints has become one of the most important software packages many departments in the company use. What I like most is how the workspaces can be adapted to suit the needs for any department. We started using it for IT help desks, which is our most complex workspaces, but we keep identifying other departments in need of a new workspace for various needs. For example, several departments used to keep track of requests in emails and track requests on shared Excel workbooks. Service Core provides a workspace to receive, store, provide trackable accountability, report, and develop workflow previously unavailable for incidents handled by each department. The abilities of Service Core has improved processes for every department we have implemented.

Cons

While the software almost always accomplishes desired workflow for new tasks, I sometimes have to come up with a workaround to accomplish the desired advanced workflow. On the positive side, Service Core is flexible to allow manipulation of the workspace to allow workarounds when necessary.

Robert

Company size: 10,000+ employees

Industry: Information Technology and Services

Time used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra

This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

EASE OF USE

3

VALUE FOR MONEY

3

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

3

FUNCTIONALITY

3

December 2020

Mediocre Software

Being part of IT, our department used the software for it's intended purpose; IT help desk tickets. But then when our audiovisual software was taken away, administration wanted to use it for daily AV scheduling. Because tickets are meant to be entered for on-demand issues, scheduling of future setups and events is not possible. It can only be used for record keeping and to enter tickets for past happenings

Pros

The software is not super complicated to use. I would say, however, it would require a bit of brief instruction from a colleague to get started.

Cons

Again the software is not overly complicated, but navigation can be tricky at first. Finding past tickets, however is fairly easy IF you know how to do it.

Reasons for switching to FootPrints

Job change

Anonymous

Company size: 11-50 employees

Time used: Less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra

This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

EASE OF USE

3

VALUE FOR MONEY

3

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

3

FUNCTIONALITY

5

March 2018

A complete ITSM solution for Enterprise Companies

Pros

FootPrints is the ITSM Solution Ferrari, as it may be adapted not only for IT processes but also for any other not IT process such as HR, Legal, Field Services, etc. configuring as many instances or workspace as you need in your organization for every of these processes. Its licensing is adaptable to the customer needs. It also has Mobile and web browser access, Graphical Workflow designer to configure your processes in an easy and fast way.

Cons

For asset management it is necessary the integration with BMC Client Management which means to pay for additional licensing in terms of number of assets and it increase the investment in comparison with other solutions that has asset management included.

Ray

Company size: 1,001-5,000 employees

Industry: Higher Education

Time used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra

This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

EASE OF USE

2

VALUE FOR MONEY

4

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

4

FUNCTIONALITY

3

November 2021

Basic ITSM Incident Management tool

BMC has been helpful to work with. Tool interface looks like something out of the 90s. It has been meeting our needs and it is a fraction of the cost of other full suite ITSM tools.

Pros

Cost. A fraction of other ITSM tools. There are 3 supported platforms to choose from

Cons

Reports are clunky, lack of intuitiveness, not much for self serve portal, the KB won't accept images, no option for end users to get ticket statuses on demand, etc.

Harold

Company size: 11-50 employees

Industry: Primary/Secondary Education

Time used: More than 2 years

Review Source

This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

EASE OF USE

3

VALUE FOR MONEY

3

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

4

FUNCTIONALITY

4

August 2017

Footprints does a great job keeping your help desk tickets in order.

Footprints does a great job managing help tickets.

Pros

Configuration can be granular and specific for your needs Includes Knowledge base library Good query for tickets Email tickets are very descriptive Can assign roles to users

Cons

Initial configuration is involved, but straight forward. A bit of a learning curve for those who are not tech savvy.

Stacey

Time used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra

This review was submitted organically. No incentive was offered

EASE OF USE

4

VALUE FOR MONEY

4

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

4

FUNCTIONALITY

4

August 2017

I am the Footprints admin and part of the set up/customization team for our company

Pros

Customization and the ability to have different work spaces or containers. Different work spaces allow multiple teams to have their own ticketing space. Support team is great

Cons

Opening a ticket via phone - the first group you speak with is out sourced and they don't always comprehend English well

Angie

Time used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra

EASE OF USE

3

VALUE FOR MONEY

4

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

4

FUNCTIONALITY

3

June 2017

Footprints is a great tool that helps us track interactions with our clients.

Pros

I like being able to do searches on previous calls. Working support, it is invaluable to be able to look at previous solutions to aid in today's issues.

Cons

Sometimes the fields get out of index and I see the wrong data in the fields. I can delete the ticket and start a new one to correct the problem.

Teresa

Company size: 51-200 employees

Industry: Information Technology and Services<