All KnowledgeOwl Reviews

1-25 of 220 Reviews

Sort by

Reviews are by default sorted by Recommended to software buyers, driven by our proprietary algorithm reflecting the depth and quality of the review, recency of experience, and other factors. As a neutral reviews platform, the star rating of the review is not considered in the "Recommended" ranking, and there is currently no voting mechanism that would allow site visitors to influence the ranking.
User Profile

Kristen

Verified reviewer

Computer Software, 51-200 employees

Used daily for less than 12 months

Review Source: Capterra
This review was submitted organically. No incentive was offered

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

5

Reviewed November 2018

Simple yet robust and OUTSTANDING Customer Service

When looking to replace our current customer support portal, we looked at several options. Knowing that we wanted a self service platform to maintain documentation, videos, demos, etc., Knowledge Owl (KO) came out on top. Their out of the box solution had much more functionality for the money and was solid. Once we started uploading content, we had several questions as new users typically do, but the team at KO was ALWAYS ready, willing, and able to assist. Not being the most technical person, I never once felt like I was bothering them. We also had the KO team assist with integrating our ticketing system and mirroring the CSS of our public site. All was fairly seamless and the team was extremely responsive throughout. Being that we built our KO site as private where our customers need to log in to access company-specific information, we also utilize KO's password management. Overall, I could not be more pleased with this solution and the KO team. They are really fantastic, extremely responsive. And, they are constantly improving the platform! Great product and Great People! Thank you KO. We look forward to working with you for a VERY long time to come...

PROS

- Robust - Easy to use - Customer Service (top notch!)

CONS

None that I can think of right now. This company is really doing a great job and from our standpoint is a leader in the knowledge base space.

Vendor Response

Thank you so much, Kristen! We super appreciate the awesome review! -Marybeth

Replied November 2018

Brian

Used free trial

Review Source: Capterra

OVERALL RATING:

4

EASE OF USE

4

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

Reviewed April 2016

KnowledgeOwl wins on customer responsiveness & functionality implementation

As someone coming from the high-end CMS authoring tools of Madcap Flare, RoboHelp, and HelpStudio, KnowledgeOwl has a lot more of the features that I expect to see from a CMS system with the additional bonus of having a team willing to go the extra mile to implement tweaks for their customers. It's a perk, especially compared to the stand-alone systems, where "can I do this?" usually returns a response of "you get what you get and LIKE it. Oh, we also just rolled out a $1500 update. Go buy that, it has that little tweak you want. Kind of. But not really. Oh, and you should spend eight hours tracking down a solution to the problem you're having in our forums, because what you want to do isn't part of this release. That's in the next release. We promise." Not that I'm bitter. That doesn't seem like much when you're working on a sedate development environment. Having the time to sit down and really chew on some Javascript is part of it, but when your only free time to breathe or do a little research on the site interface issues is during your morning bus commute, it's a huge impact to your daily work routine. When you're trying to slam out content that changes on a daily basis, not having the time to implement a backend code tweak for your site while keeping up with your dev team's amazing ability to crush deploy deadlines like empty Red Bull cans makes it hard to get those tweaks to your backend integrated in a timely manner. But KnowledgeOwl has been responsive, helpful, and reasonable - to the point where I don't mind waiting a day or so to get an answer back or telling my team "I asked KO about it, they're figuring out a fix for that." I am not a huge fan of CMS hosting apps and sites from a purist's standpoint, but KnowledgeOwl makes me think I may become a convert.

Kate

Used free trial

Review Source: Capterra

OVERALL RATING:

3

EASE OF USE

3

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

Reviewed April 2016

Love the Finished Product, Back-End Lacking

I like the way everything looks on the front-end and think the search feature is awesome (could populate options a little faster though). The finished product looks polished and is really effective in helping to make organizational info widely available. I also like the "suggest an article" feature and the rating/feedback option for other articles. The overall layout/look is intuitive and easy to navigate. On the back-end, the format for writing articles could be way better. For example, when editing articles, it's hard to tell what the font is. The roundabout way to add pictures is also inconvenient. Copy/Pasting from another source is also difficult. When you've been inactive for a period of time, Knowledge Owl will kick you out without saving your work which can be very detrimental. The addition of Auto-Save would be amazing!

Dranilda

Verified reviewer

Computer Software, 51-200 employees

Used daily for less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra
This review was submitted organically. No incentive was offered

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

5

Reviewed March 2019

One of the best and most seamless solutions we've implemented

We looked at many vendors before we evaluated Knowledge Owl, and I can't say enough about our experience working with the Knowledge Owl Team. From day one, the team continues to amaze me with the level of service they provide. They worked closely with us throughout the setup and implementation phase of our Help Center launch and continue to assist with our very custom and individual needs. Kudos to the entire team for always being responsive and helpful, but special thanks to the Knowledge Goddess / Chief Executive Owl, for leading the team.

PROS

Software out of the box is easy to use and customize and Knowledge Owl's documentation is thorough and nicely organized.

CONS

I can't think of anything that stands out as a con.

Vendor Response

Yay! Thanks so much for the awesome review! - Knowledge Goddess / Chief Executive Owl

Replied April 2019

Geoffrey

Information Technology and Services, 51-200 employees

Used weekly for more than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra
This review was submitted organically. No incentive was offered

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

5

Reviewed November 2023

Happy KnowledgeOwl Customer

Overall, the experience with KnowledgeOwl has been fantastic and we're happy to continue using and recommending the product.

PROS

KnowledgeOwl is an easy-to-use and robust product that meets our needs wonderfully.

CONS

KnowledgeOwl functions great, but could use some better out-of-the-box UI features/improvements as well as higher file-size capacity.

Josh

Verified reviewer

51-200 employees

Used free trial

Review Source: GetApp

OVERALL RATING:

5

Reviewed November 2014

HelpGizmo is a great product with a great team at a great price.

We were using Zendesk for our knowledge base because they were also our ticketing system, but I got frustrated with slow development timelines for some features core to our organization. We reached a tipping point and needed an alternative solution. After looking into over a dozen options, I discovered HelpGizmo. Not only did they already have the core features we needed, they were genuinely interested in building the best product possible and asked about the other pain points that existed with our previous service. They were willing to iterate on their product quickly and excellently to make it something even better than the great product I had discovered. It was such a different experience to see how quickly they responded and rolled out really great features that create a lot of value. Best yet, we still use Zendesk for ticketing but HelpGizmo is now our knowledgebase and Helpgizmo integrates with Zendesk so we get the best of what each company offers. Going with HelpGizmo was a great decision and working with their team has been a true pleasure. Highly recommend!

PROS

Permissioning by article level Great article WYSIWYG editor Outstanding customer service Variety of layouts Fantastic price Integrates with Zendesk ticketing Fully customizable with a little CSS

CONS

Truly can't think of any

Brianne

Verified reviewer

Market Research, 51-200 employees

Used free trial

Review Source: GetApp

OVERALL RATING:

5

Reviewed June 2014

HelpGizmo helped me to create the documentation I always envisioned

HelpGizmo is super easy. The switch over to HelpGizmo is FAST! Organizing all my content using the drag and drop table of contents was a snap. Depending on your content you should be able to go live with a public site in a day, two tops. HelpGizmo's table of contents organization allows editors and customers to see the "big picture" of documentation. This not only makes documentation management more efficient but, more importantly, it allows customers to help themselves. Customers who search our help documentation for a quick answer can see the other content and are encouraged to come back and use the other resources. Finally, and most importantly, the HelpGizmo team believes in customer-driven development and they're not just saying that. They are bright, energetic customer service gurus who just intuitively understand how to help you help your customers. When it comes to feature requests Marybeth will probably finish your sentences for you. This tools is already packed full of really rad features and the HelpGizmo team is just itching for customer feedback to build more.

PROS

-Easy to use -Fast -Excellent support -Customer-driven development

Tracy

Verified reviewer

Information Technology and Services, 11-50 employees

Used daily for less than 6 months

Review Source: GetApp
This review was submitted organically. No incentive was offered

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

4

Reviewed February 2018

Easy to use, stellar customer support

PROS

We kicked the tires on 5 knowledge base platforms before selecting KnowledgeOwl. The selection was driven by two must-haves: 1) open APIs, and 2) ability to customize the CSS to meet our brand guidelines. After we made the leap, we were pleasantly surprised by the exceptional customer service. (Thank you!)

Maria Ronesa

Verified reviewer

Warehousing

Used free trial

Review Source: GetApp

OVERALL RATING:

5

Reviewed February 2015

HelpGizmo is great and easy to use

Using Helpgizmo for our company's knowledge base is the best decision we made. The pages are easy to edit and manage. I was able to add pages at my first login! It really makes it easier for users to access the data they need, so you won't have to go over and over the same set of instructions to different sets of customers daily.

PROS

Excellent customer support: Quick to reply on any issue and are very enthusiastic to help you. If you need guidance or have a suggestion for a feature, Marybeth got you covered! If the top score for support is 5, these guys deserve a 10!

Josh

Verified reviewer

Business Supplies and Equipment

Used less than 6 months

Review Source: GetApp

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

Reviewed August 2015

Protecting our core values

We have been very lucky to experience rapid growth due to our unique approaches in our industry. Unfortunately, rapid growth is very dangerous for many companies, because the growth distracts them, and they lose sight of what made the successful in the first place. We were desperately searching for a solution that would allow us to retain and promote our culture in a simple, but powerful, knowledge base platform. We tested many products, but Knowledgeowl was the simplest and most effective to use. In addition, the support has been incredible. I really feel like they are in this with us, not just selling a product. I highly recommend this product!

PROS

Clean and simple user interface Powerful back end Incredible support

David

Used free trial

Review Source: Capterra

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

Reviewed March 2016

Knowledge is Power

Pros - Incredibly intuitive Highly customisable Strong customer service ethos Detailed reporting Huge creative space Up time - is excellent NO CONS! We've been with Knowledge Owl since 2014, and have thoroughly loved every day spent with them. We use their product to deliver incredibly important user guides, top tips FAQ's and other general information about our products and services, directly to our customers. All of this is done through three separate knowledge bases, for three separate products. The fact that we allow our products to be supported by Knowledge Owl across three separate KB's should indicate to you that we're serious when we say that their product is excellent. In addition to giving us the creative space and freedom to impart knowledge onto our clients, their customer service has been excellent since day one. I am the person that contacts Knowledge Owl to deal with any situations that may arise around the knowledge bases, but in all honesty - I could probably count on one hand the amount of times I've had to request assistance. The times I have needed to, have been fast and very professional experiences, which is pretty incredible considering we are based across a sea and time zone from them. As a manager the reporting tools and functions behind the scenes in Knowledge Owls KB's are invaluable. The statistics I am able to gather gives us as a company the ability to see what's - working, trending, missing and important to our clients. As a long time user, I would have no problem at all recommending their product to another business or nominating them for an award in excellence.

Vendor Response

Thanks, David! You've been with us since the beginning, and we're so happy to have you as a customer. We greatly appreciate the amazing recommendation; you are the best! -Marybeth

Replied March 2016

Bethany

Insurance, 1,001-5,000 employees

Used daily for less than 6 months

Review Source: Capterra
This review was submitted organically. No incentive was offered

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

5

Reviewed September 2018

Clean UI; exemplary support!

PROS

We tested a few different pieces of software for our company intranet (after being forced to move away from the outdated Google Classic Sites) and chose Knowledge Owl because the UI was simple, clean, and easy to navigate. It gave us enough latitude to shape the way we wanted to present information to our employees while also providing enough structure to maintain a professional, organized site.

CONS

As the "subject matter expert," I needed to be the one to create our site, but I have zero experience with HTML coding. That being said, I can't say enough how incredible the support team has been. They are extremely responsive and excellent teachers to the extent that even someone like me with no coding experience has been able to create exactly what I want with relative ease. Good customer support is a dying art, so Knowledge Owl has really exceeded expectations in this area!

Vendor Response

Thanks, Bethany! We greatly appreciate the feedback and review! - Marybeth

Replied October 2018

Josh

Used free trial

Review Source: Capterra

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

Reviewed November 2014

Stop looking and use HelpGizmo!

We were using Zendesk for our knowledge base because they were also our ticketing system, but I got frustrated with slow development timelines for some features core to our organization. We reached a tipping point and needed an alternative solution. After looking into over a dozen options, I discovered HelpGizmo. Not only did they already have the core features we needed, they were genuinely interested in building the best product possible and asked about the other pain points that existed with our previous service. They were willing to iterate on their product quickly and excellently to make it something even better than the great product I had discovered. It was such a different experience to see how quickly they responded and rolled out really great features that create a lot of value. Best yet, we still use Zendesk for ticketing but HelpGizmo is now our knowledge base and since Helpgizmo integrates with Zendesk we get the best of what each company offers. It made switching such an easy decision for our organization. And you will not find a better customer service team. They are friendly, responsive, and always looking to make their product better. That is probably the most impressive "feature" you'll be getting when you go with HelpGizmo. Going with HelpGizmo was a great decision and working with their team has been a true pleasure. Highly recommend!

Gabriel

Consumer Goods, 51-200 employees

Used weekly for less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra
This review was submitted organically. No incentive was offered

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

5

Reviewed May 2018

Easy to use, great features and amazing support !

It's always hard to capture your employees knowledge but KnowledgeOwl makes it easy !

PROS

Simple web base interface with a lot of options. Easy to manage your articles life cycle and your users access as well. When ever we have a how to question or any question for that matter, there's always someone ready to help us.

CONS

Not much, maybe more language interface (French for example). 1 more admin licence with the basic subscription would be nice.

Vendor Response

Thanks for the review, Gabriel! We are planning to add better translations capabilities in the near future for multilingual knowledge bases, so hopefully that will make your life easier. I also sent you an email about the extra admin license :) -Marybeth

Replied May 2018

Lorna

Computer Software, 201-500 employees

Used daily for less than 12 months

Review Source: Capterra

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

5

Reviewed January 2017

Fantastic

We have had a fantastic experience right from the beginning. The Service, Product, Implementation and ongoing Support has been first class!.

PROS

Very easy to use, You do not have to be very technical to use this product.

CONS

The reporting could be better, which is currently being worked on, so just a matter of time.

Vendor Response

Thanks for the awesome review, Lorna! HOOT! -Marybeth

Replied January 2017

Lisa

Used free trial

Review Source: Capterra

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

Reviewed March 2016

Sensational service and high quality product- Not to mention excellent value!

KnowledgeOwl is a fantastic KM solution. When researching different products in the market we had a long list of requirements, I couldn't believe how many KnowledgeOwl was able to tick right out of the box. Its intuitive, easy to use and excellent value for money. From our perspective KnowledgeOwl is by far the most cost effective KM solution available. It was also super easy to implement with relatively no support required from our IT department. Information stored on the platform is backed up daily and the level of customer support that has been offered to us to help tailor the platform to our specific needs has been second to none (especially considering the fact we're in completely different time zones). Utilising KnowledgeOwl has assisted our business unit to achieve immediate efficiencies and tangible cost savings. The best part is, it just keeps getting better and better with upgrades occurring to the platform on a regular basis. If you're looking for a highly effective KM solution I couldn't recommend this knowledgebase highly enough!

Chitrang

Telecommunications, 11-50 employees

Used daily for less than 6 months

Review Source: Capterra
This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

OVERALL RATING:

4

EASE OF USE

4

VALUE FOR MONEY

4

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

4

FUNCTIONALITY

4

Reviewed November 2022

A great Knowledge manager in town

I think, it is one of the best knowledge management tools in the market currently. It helps save all the relevant documents and information in one place.

PROS

It helps a team, organization, startups among others to manage their data efficiently and cost-effectively. Its user interface is easy to understand. Freshers are easily able to utilize this platform to gain insights of the ongoing works.

CONS

Customer support can be a bit better. Sometimes, simultaneous editing of documents can be of a problem. Otherwise, it is a good product.

Rob

Used free trial

Review Source: Capterra

OVERALL RATING:

4

EASE OF USE

4

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

Reviewed April 2016

KnowledgeOwl - Great tool and excellent customer service

Moving all our internal and external guides on to KnowledgeOwl has transformed our ways of working and hugely reduced the amount of time we devote to one-to-one support. KnowledgeOwl includes a great range of functionality, enabling the creation of everything from very simple 'PDF' style guides to complex resources integrated into other systems. We are still discovering more capabilities and our knowledge base resources keep getting better because of them. Pros: Straightforward interface, easy to produce impressive resources with little previous experience, very customizable, lots of great advanced features, keeps improving, fantastic customer service. Cons: As part of the on-going evolution of the product, parts of the user interface change, which can result in a bit of re-learning how to do some things on occasion (a small amount of pain for the associated system improvements). Exported PDFs do not maintain the fonts used in the on-screen knowledgebase.

Ross

Used free trial

Review Source: Capterra

OVERALL RATING:

4

EASE OF USE

4

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

Reviewed March 2016

Perfect Pure-Play Knowledge Base Tool for Help and Beyond

The Knowledge Base team has focused on doing one thing right: Providing a cloud based tool for knowledge base for Help and beyond. If you've found the perfect help desk (ZenDesk, ServiceNow, etc.) and are looking for a separate knowledge base because those guys don't really do it right, you will have a hard time finding a product that isn't tied to help desk software. These guys have focused on all the key features that a heavy user of knowledge base products would look for. A lot of them are the differentiators that keep me in the app. Customer service is great-- we hear back from them right away There are some features they will need to add as they scale and to make the product truly complete, but for now, I consider them best of breed vs the one-off competitors who limit us too much on styles, structure, etc. It takes very little to get up and running, so if you have any doubts, give them a try.

Kevin

Used free trial

Review Source: Capterra

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

Reviewed March 2015

Excellent help/documentation tool for SaaS product

Its simple really: we have a very complicated and super-generic product that is, to put it mildly, a real challenge to provide clear and useful help documentation for. We evaluated many, many options, and in the end chose HelpGizmo. It has provided just the perfect level of power, customisability, and ease of use. Perhaps best of all, however, has been the stellar customer service we have received - always prompt, friendly, and the solutions almost always go above and beyond our expectations. We've only been live with our documentation for a little while, but have already received glowing feedback from our customers, specifically on the documentation. In terms of product recommendations, this is the easiest choice I've had in a long time!

Vendor Response

Yay! I'm so happy you've gotten glowing feedback from your customers - this made my day. Thanks so much for the review, Kevin!

Replied April 2015

Michael

Used free trial

Review Source: Capterra

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

Reviewed March 2016

Easy to use with fast and very capable support

We use KnowledgeOwl for documenting processes, procedures, and troubleshooting steps for a company that builds automated packing machines. We wanted a KB solution that had a simplified back end to allow multiple authors to simultaneously create content. The KnowledgeOwl back end is easy to use and requires very little experience/exposure to HTML/CSS to successfully write great looking articles. If you ever have a question on how to accomplish something the documentation is easy to find - but if you're like me and sometimes ask before looking Marybeth and the rest of the support team @ KnowledgeOwl are very quick and attentive, and always have the answers. On top of this the modular pricing schemes are well priced and efficient. I would absolutely recommend KnowledgeOwl to anyone who needs an immediate and effective KB solution.

Darren

Used free trial

Review Source: Capterra

OVERALL RATING:

4

EASE OF USE

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

Reviewed April 2016

KnowledgeOwl ticks all our boxes

The first thing you notice about KnowlegeOwl is awesome service. Some people talk about being customer centred and others just do it. These guys do it and it is reflected in their product and how responsive they are to user needs and suggestions. We were able to easily get a up and running, migrate our content and start to benefit from a level of content management capability you get with KnowledgeOwl that you need for a large KB. Being able to quickly create multiple custom versions of the same KB is a huge plus and we look forward to the ability to easily share content across multiple KBs as KnowledgeOwl built that capability. We have been able to easily integrate with our service desk and will soon start to realise the broader benefits of the other API integrations that are available to us.

Anastassia

Used free trial

Review Source: Capterra

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

Reviewed April 2016

Fast and knowledgable customer service, easy to use website

The website layout, design and navigation are very professional, effective and easy to navigate. With no coding skills required and almost zero learning curve, it allows you to create a knowledge base, manual, handbook, or portal quickly and easily. It's extremely powerful, affordable, and customizable documentation software. We have been using their services for several years and very content and happy about it. Any questions are answered fast and with detail. Customer service people are very professional, smart, detail oriented and patient. They are always ready to solve our problem and really know how to treat their customers. Overall very trustworthy and pleasant to work with. Because of them our new Help System looks awesome and easy to navigate.

William

Used free trial

Review Source: Capterra

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT