osTicket Software Reviews

osTicket Software Reviews

Find out more:

FrontRunners 2019

Find out more:

User Review Highlights

Overall Rating

4.33

Ratings Breakdown

Secondary Ratings

Ease-of-use

4

Customer Support

4

Value for money

5

Functionality

4

  • icon"Open sourced, customizable, very easy to use and multi-user."
  • icon"It's fairly easy to customize and is very intuitive. It has an active support forum and community supporting it."
  • icon"I love their free platform and allowing self hosting."
  • icon"Initial installation can be difficult if you have never do this before. There are many services to be setup just to get it work."
  • icon"Too difficult to install, its not abandonware but its close, even when its can be modded and have some community behind it. Again... will need a full time programmer to do so and will take some time."
  • icon"It does take time to get used to the interface, but once you get the hang of it, the software is set and forget style."

Browse all osTicket Reviews

  • Have you used osTicket and would like to share your experience with others?
  • Write a Review

Apply Filters:

User Industry

Company Size

Time Used

User Rating

Showing 1 - 25 of 46 reviews

Kyle

Verified reviewer

Company size: 501-1,000 employees

Industry: Construction

Time used: More than 2 years

Review Source: GetApp

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

FUNCTIONALITY

5

June 2017

Great Help Desk Ticket System

Pros

oS Ticket has been a great IT Help Desk system for our company. Users can easily send in a help request via email, and oS ticket automatically creates a ticket and alerts our help desk. The system allows for tickets to be assigned to different technicians, change hands, and keeps a detailed note/tracking of everything associated with the ticket. There are a lot of great reports as well, including # of tickets closed, average response time, etc.

Indrawan

Company size: 201-500 employees

Industry: Hospital & Health Care

Time used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra

This review was submitted organically. No incentive was offered

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

4

September 2021

OsTicket can provide what we need

my experience use this osticket is satisfy. this can very useful especialy if you are the first time use ITSM and ticketing management.

Pros

this ticketing system can have many categorized and element. so it is more easier to you while make your own form.

Cons

i think os ticket must build some business intelegent dashboard or make a decision report for management.

Reasons for choosing osTicket

osticket is usefull if you compare with the price. the price is lower than manage engine. but in the feature, osticket is not bad at all.

Anonymous

Company size: 11-50 employees

Time used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra

This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

EASE OF USE

5

FUNCTIONALITY

3

November 2022

An easy Ticket system

We use Osticket more than five years. I highly recommend it.

Pros

You don't need a knowledge translation to start using it. It's simplier than others.

Cons

The release of new versions is slow. The User Interface is old.

Giorgi

Time used: Free Trial

Review Source: Capterra

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

3

November 2016

Probably Best Free Customer Support Platform ever.

OSTicket is so far my beloved customer support system when it comes to free platforms and easy of use functionality. I have spent over 1 year of managing and using OsTicket with 18 different agents and 4 separate departments. Thus, I will share my review of the system below in few words. (Please note this is about the self-hosted package of OsTicket, not Cloud-based.) The main advantage of the system is its nature of being equipped with all the necessary functions to maintain the medium sized companies support platform. It is a convenient system to carry out daily support-related tasks, answer tickets, have an unlimited number of cases/departments/agents, etc. In terms of simplicity, OSTicket is really user-friendly and easy to use platform that perfectly realises its own purposes of being reliable ticketing system. It is easy to install and maintain, the internal admin and agent user face are user-friendly as well. The main disadvantage of the system might be its lack of statistical measurements. It was the main aspect I was lacking while using the OsTicket. It is really hard to get the valuable statistical data from OSTicket regarding the agents, their working levels, times, etc. Basically, there is just one simple page of "Statistics" that shows the quantity of the tickets and some basic stuff and that's all. Nothing else about the statistics. Furthermore, another disadvantage is its lack of social integration. The reason I decided to move my company to another platform was that I couldn't integrate the OsTicket with Facebook & Twitter platforms. There are other little disadvantages, however, not worth mentioning as they don't make a big different. All in all, if not the aforementioned disadvantages of the system, OSTicket would be one of the best solutions for the small and medium-sized companies' support system needs. However, as it's completely free I'm nothing but grateful to the developers who developed this wonderful system and share it for free.

User Profile

Tristan

Verified reviewer

Company size: 2-10 employees

Industry: Computer Games

Time used: Less than 12 months

Review Source: Capterra

This review was submitted organically. No incentive was offered

EASE OF USE

3

VALUE FOR MONEY

4

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

3

FUNCTIONALITY

3

September 2022

BEST help desk software 2022

good experience overall and i would recommend

Pros

Easy to customize or edit forms and configurations for workflow

Cons

there is a limit to features but still not too bad

Reasons for switching to osTicket

Trying out different software

Anonymous

Company size: 2-10 employees

Time used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra

This review was submitted organically. No incentive was offered

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

FUNCTIONALITY

5

November 2021

If Issue tracking and Ticket management is your requirement, osTicket is your choice.

As a free opensource tool, osTicket is great. We used it in our startup and my current company which is really good. It does ticket management really well. There are loads of customization, it's easy to use and can even work in a small hosting environment.

Pros

Fast, quick and easy to setup. OpenSource so can be self-hosted.

Cons

Some file types are not supported as attachments. A bit obsolete in terms of technology but does the job.

Reasons for choosing osTicket

Open Source community and well tested by the community.

User Profile

William

Verified reviewer

Time used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra

This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

EASE OF USE

3

FUNCTIONALITY

4

June 2018

Support tickets, email notifications, mobile app, all relatively easy to use

Support ticket software, for free. But not the best feature set around.

Pros

Ticket tracking and email notification Tasks can be added to tickets for additional steps before a ticket can be closed. User management is fairly easy, and users can be organized by teams and departments Files can be attached to the ticket. A Paid Mobile app allows for simple ticket management.

Cons

Notifications and team/department access seems haphazard and a bit of an afterthought. It could be much better organized. Mobile app is very limited and very pricey for what little it actually accomplishes.

User Profile

Eric

Verified reviewer

Company size: 11-50 employees

Industry: Telecommunications

Time used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra

This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

EASE OF USE

4

VALUE FOR MONEY

4

FUNCTIONALITY

4

August 2018

Great tool forticketing

Pros

Solution that is free, lightweight, reliable, open source, and easy to setup and use. Has most of the features of the paid solutions. Easy to tie to company websites for customers to open tickets.

Cons

You need to know how to set it up and host it your self.

User Profile

Adam

Verified reviewer

Company size: 51-200 employees

Industry: Legal Services

Time used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra

This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

2

FUNCTIONALITY

5

May 2018

Best open source Ticket system EVER!

love it Free and Great helpdesk software !

Pros

I love this software. We use to use Zendesk but at a user, it wasn't worth it. osTicket save us a ton of time with the FAQ feature that allows our end users to look up and answer without submitting a ticket. We have about 500 FAQ's entered into the system. The ticket system has great integration with gmail allowing tickets to be emailed of submitted via a form. The software is open source so if you are tech savvy you can just install it for free. We run in AWS for / month and have 5 IT Techs on the system. Regular updates are released so we won't be left with an outdated product

Cons

No major cons. I wish they would modernize the UI. The UI is about 10 years behind as of 5/2018. Also the API is not full featured on certain actions can be done in the API :( IF you don't want to integrate into existing software this will not matter for you.

User Profile

Alejandro

Verified reviewer

Company size: 11-50 employees

Industry: Telecommunications

Time used: Less than 6 months

Review Source: Capterra

This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

EASE OF USE

2

VALUE FOR MONEY

3

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

3

FUNCTIONALITY

3

February 2018

Difficult to install, you need a webmaster to do so, very proficient on Apache and php.

Only for companies that have almost zero budget but have a good developer in-house

Pros

Its free, most of the features are in there. if you have the time nas resources you can modded to become what you want but as it is is too simple and not intuitive, interface is too simple and not intuitive sometimes. still. its free.

Cons

Too difficult to install, its not abandonware but its close, even when its can be modded and have some community behind it . again... will need a full time programmer to do so and will take some time.

Anonymous

Company size: 201-500 employees

Time used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra

This review was submitted organically. No incentive was offered

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

4

June 2018

Rock solid, no problems or outages related to the software for over 9 years!

This software gives our employees a place to report problems to multiple departments and receive timely answers to their technical issues. It allows us to measure metrics for performance, and see trends in issues. Importantly it also allows us to have a historical reference of all problems, outages, etc.

Pros

osTicket is the best open source ticking system out there. Did I mention that it's free? It's fairly easy to customize and is very intuitive! It has an active support forum and community supporting it. There are third party developers that have created (free and paid) plugins and modifications to help others customize their system to their environment and companies needs. Need paid support or hosting? Need custom installation services? Have a feature that isn't available that you need? Enhancesoft, the parent company that owns and pays developers to work on the project, offer all of that.

Cons

There are a couple of features that I think are important that this type of product has, and they [the developers] have been really slow to implement them. Responsive Themes being the biggest of these. While you can modify it to make your own themes this type of feature is needed. note: Devs have promised this with the forth coming 2.0 release.

Anonymous

Time used: Less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra

This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

EASE OF USE

4

VALUE FOR MONEY

4

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

2

FUNCTIONALITY

4

January 2018

Free and easy to setup support ticket system to deliver a great user support experience.

Pros

Being free to use and easy to implement and setup, osTicket is suitable for non-profit and small business. osTicket offers large set of features and options that enables to customize and deliver great user support experience for example you can create custom departments, customize support system pages and modify ticket fields like adding additional ticket fields. osTicket is a very customizable support ticket system that offers many options to help customize all aspects of user support experience like the ability to customize departments, emails sent to user, pages and alerts. osTicket offers an easy to setup knowledge base of frequently asked questions to help minimize support requests.

Cons

osTicket lacks some important options and features like the option to automatically close tickets after a certain period of time, an option to disable Overdue behavior and the lack of custom themes of both user and agent interfaces.

Anonymous

Company size: 1,001-5,000 employees

Time used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra

This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

5

July 2018

Perfect software for my ecommerce website support portal

Pros

When my ecommerce business started to take off and we were placing 400 orders a day, we needed something better than just an email inbox to manage customer service. With osTicket, I can manage my several customer service managers and inboxes to ensure we are utilizing our time in the best way possible, and serving our customers needs effectively. osTicket was the perfect addition to our toolbelt, and after trying alternatives, this was still the front runner.

Cons

The setup is a bit involved. There are a lot of out of the box settings that need modified in various places in the interface. It does take time to get used to the interface, but once you get the hang of it, the software is set and forget style. Works well for me anyway.

Eva

Company size: 51-200 employees

Industry: Information Technology and Services

Time used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra

This review was submitted organically. No incentive was offered

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

4

FUNCTIONALITY

5

April 2021

osTicket - Issue Tracking Made Easier

Pros

It's the best open source ticketing system. Claiming and reassigning tickets is very easy, as well as email notification is sent out, once a ticket is overdue. User is able to export tickets quickly using the filtering option of, Assignee, ticket status, and date. From the exported report one is able to see when a ticket was raised and closed. This helps to track on the SLA's

Cons

OSticket, does not show how long a ticket took to be escalated to the next level, i.e from level 1 to level 2. It lacks the option to automatically close an overdue ticket after a particular time. There should be an option to reassign a ticket to the next person, if its overdue

Anonymous

Company size: 51-200 employees

Time used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra

This review was submitted organically. No incentive was offered

EASE OF USE

4

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

FUNCTIONALITY

5

February 2019

Backbone Ticketing For Tech

Overall OSTicket lets our tech and maintenance teams address issues in a timely fashion. It is pretty simple to use and therefore easier than some systems for our less technical staff.

Pros

The software allows our staff to create trouble tickets for both tech and maintenance. The incorporation into out email system (Gmail) easily lets staff create these tickets through simple emails. More advanced users can log into the portal and track all of their open tickets.

Cons

Our previous software was harder to setup but had a few more features. It would be nice to have a heftier reporting feature or trend management built in. Inclusion of asset tracking would be a plus too.

Tyler

Time used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra

This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

5

March 2018

Free and Easy!

Pros

This software is easy to deploy, just git clone from https://github.com/osTicket/osTicket Feature packed and ready for SMB deployment on your own servers. Community support is active and easy. Also available as an install package on Synology NAS

Cons

For out of the box ticketing system, this software has no real downsides. Some have said its hard to install but I did not have any issues getting it up and running. The fact that you can install this as a package direct from Synology package store makes it even easier.

Anonymous

Company size: 11-50 employees

Time used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra

This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

EASE OF USE

5

FUNCTIONALITY

5

August 2019

It suited our needs at the time

Like a I said in the title it fitted our needs at the time, but as we improved our system we found that we had outgrown the software.

Pros

It's easy of use is second to none. Everything is very intuitive and you can't fault it for that. It does the job it sets out to do, provide a space to view any issues that come into your service desk

Cons

The system just lacks a polished finish. From a visual perspective it looks out of date and it's lacking feature which people nower days probably want like reporting.

Shawn

Company size: 51-200 employees

Industry: Industrial Automation

Time used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra

This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

5

December 2019

osTicket

Overall osTicket has significantly helped me streamline our IT support in a mid-sized company.

Pros

osTicket is an open-source help desk ticketing system. It has all the best features, is easy to set up, deploy, and maintain and is fully customizable. I needed a help desk platform that could be hosted on-site and osTicket has fit the bill perfectly.

Cons

I really don't have any cons for this software. It's open-source and the developers monitor their support forums well so issues can be resolved in a timely manner.

Anonymous

Company size: 201-500 employees

Time used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra

This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY